(2008/09) Sep 2008

i haven't try to bring bb out alone too far. at the most, i bring her down to market to eat. have to try to bring her along cos when i start working, i need to bring her child care by myself. wonder if i can handle.

Goldfish,
Sincerely hope ur bb is ok !!

SarahMay,
I'm using Avent ISIS UNO which has both manual and electric function. I love it !!

Bigtoes,
Can i know how much is the Sum Assured for Whole life ? How much r u paying mthly ?

Avent Isis
Oooh didnt know it could mimic your pumping preference...my nipples are so sore from pumping...they turn purplish after pumping. thought had thrush! But doc said doesnt look like it...gotta ease up on the pressure I think.

Gathering
Look fwd to seeing u tomorrow, those who are turning up. again sorry i have to limit numbers...additional one or two should be fine, esp if all dont turn up at same time, but I think my plce cannot handle more than 15 families right now.

heehee i am the one with the baby hiding in sling all the time. i m just glad she sleeps thru the gathering else i would be spending all my time trying to entertain her than talking to you gals ...

not sure if can join the next gathering because going to start work on monday! =(

Hi Bigtoe,

Really interested to find out more from on the car seat ! Cos i thought i need to buy different car seats for differnt age of the baby. Not aware that there is one which can used from newborn to 4 to 5 years old... Can you point me to anywhere of the website on the carseat ? I am bvery keen to invest in one good one.

Jo Jo
I bought a safe n sound Royale, which is one step down from Bigtoes' Meridien. Under $400. also from birth to 18kg (around 3 to 4 years old) available at cheong choon, kaki bukit babys hypermart/kingdom (can't remember which one) and robinsons.

Hi Ave,

Thanks... I will go and check out on Safe n Sound series then... Sound good...
Beside Robinson, is it available at isetan or takashimaya ? Cos i have some isetan and taka voucher

JoJo

Safe and Sound is the UK or Aussie version of Britax... Mothercare carries the S&S models. As for Britax(US models), it's available at MotherWorks which is having a 20% discount. I actually ordered thru a BP in the forum but sadly it was cancelled due to some logistic problems... I dun mind getting it frm SG but am disappointed they dun carry the color i want for Britax Boulevard.

Hi Sunray,

So what is the different between safe and sound and britax beside then ? Motherwork is at Tanglin right ?

I just call takasimaya, their is Britax royale. So what is the dfferent betweem safe and sound royale and britax royale then ?

<font color="0077aa">Millie &amp; chantelle sun: Am buying NTUC Vivolife for Zane as it includes child illness, hospital benefit (not a lot) and also has 125% higher cover for the 1st 15yrs. I basically based on benefits as premiums is more or less the same.

mandy

correct..i oso only bought the hospitalisation plan 1st coz tts v impt...u got any fren who in ntuc income?

Hi Sunray,

Thank you... I just call up motherwork, Boulevard can sit up to 20 over kg... It is $500 plus with 20% discount is $400 plus.. Think is worth it, I am going down to grab the last piece now. Thank you for your info

Ange,
yes, my fren rep many ins co n NTUC is 1 of them. 1 thing i like is smaller bill is easier to claim. plus i buy their rider and it further reduce the amount i would nid to fork out in the end.

storeberry: I also bought NTUC Vivolife for my son. With the financial/insurance market as volatile as today's, I'd better stick to good ol NTUC. But then it takes a while for it to be effective. Fingers cross...

shazz/ava/bigtoes: I guess my gynae is just trying to play safe by telling me just tell yourself whatever you can't do/eat during pregnancy, the same applies to TBF moms. Anyway, the after small of the dye sucks

sarahmay: I bought my Medela Mini electric Plus from Taka. They were having the same package thingie that shazz mentioned, i.e. pumps, plus 3 storage bottles, plus purelan cream.

bigtoes: we only go to orchard at 10am on weekends. The malls are quite empty and roads are less congested.

<font color="ff0000">THE (RETURN OF) THE WRATH OF ELEVATORS/ESCALATORS</font>: TOday we took Isaac and maid to Paragon to shop...I can't believe after taking the lift a few times with us, my maid still doesn't know how to differentiate the OPEN and CLOSE buttons. We had told her several times to hold the door open for baby &amp; us first before stepping into the lift herself, but she just doesn't get the sequence right.

Guess what? This morning, she happily followed me and stepped into the lift first, ditching Sir &amp; baby outside. Inside the lift, she pressed the DOOR CLOSE button and crushed my DH and baby in his arms! I yelled at her at the top of my voice (the neightbours must hv wondered what happened!) and scolded her for pressing the wrong button! THANK THE LORD my DH's shoulders are broad enough, otherwise the baby's skull will be protruding beyond the breadth of his shoulders and get banged by the closing lift doors!

She was trembling with fear as I lambasted her in fury for such a reckless act!

Then we decided to train her again at those Paragon lifts, but she JUST wouldn't get the sequence right. She never seems to remember holding the lift doors open for her employers...

Right. That is the lift for u.

1843264.jpg

Then, those fearsome escalators are back to haunt her after the Vivo accident 2 weeks ago...I really didn't know she is afraid of escalators until today! At one juncture, she had to push the P3 UP the escalator...I thot of lending her a helping hand (cos I know P3 is heavy for a woman) by grabbing the front bar and stablising it onto the first moving step for my maid.

Assuming that Ma'am wld drag the stroller to safety when it reached the top, she happily let go of the stroller's handles and left the P3 to be transported to the top on its own. All this while I was facing upwards and didn't notice she had already released my P3. It was only when I stepped off the escalator at the top that I saw that she didn't hv both hands on my P3 but on the escalaor railings!!!!

That means, the P3's front wheels were just left to rub against the edge of the topmost moving step (if u can imagine what I'm trying to describe here!). Upon seeing that, I quickly grabbed the front bar and 'rescued' my P3 to safety so that other commuters behind could get off the escalators!

I was quite mad at her and chided her (yep, cant yell at maids at a place like Paragon) for blocking the way and for not holding on to the P3.

Anyway, I decided to train her again by asking her to move up to the next level one more time, but this time I watched over her and gave her a verbal cue, "OK, we're reaching the top soon, watch the step, OK, 123, NOW PUSH!" and push she did, and the P3 glided smoothly onto the next level landing.

As my DH was actually shopping with Isaac downstairs, I thot why not train her to do it DOWN the escalator as well. At the top of the escalator, I instructed her to push the P3 onto the next moving step such that the BACK wheels rest on that step while the front wheels are suspended in mid-air as the front steps open up.

My goodness! My maid was trembling in fear with her eyes welled with tears! She told me "No No Ma'am!" It was soooooo embarrassing for me cos many tai-tais &amp; parents with todds in tow were waiting for this zombified maid to get off the way from the escalator! I had to pull her aside and let others board the escalators first before trying to get her to board it with me again.

Little did I know when I stepped onto the down-going escalator, my maid freaked out at the last minute and remained frozen at the top!!! I turned around and glared at her for not following closely behind me!

She then patted her own chest to signal to me she was F**king scared (pardon my language cos I really buaytahan) of the "Abominable Invention of the 19th century"! I was gritting my teeth and went round looking for my DH at Level 4 first.

Then together we went back up to Level 5 again to meet her, who was still standing at the start of the escalator like a goondu. She was sooooo scared and begged me not to let her do it again!

Ladies, that was at Level 5 (KIDS 21, SUSHI TEI) where a full lunch crowd at an open-space cafe facing the escalators was bemused by this maid who was contemplating whether to ride or not to ride on the escalator! What a laughing stock. Then my DH asked her to fold up the P3 as we assumed it'd easier for her to place a standing stroller on the step.

To our astonishment, she STILL couldn't bring herself to ride on the escalator with the "standable" and "flatter" stroller. We were stunned to see her lift up and carry the 8.5kg P3 to ride on the down-going escalator. What an odd sight to lug bulky strollers under your arms when u can push them?!!!!!!!

Anyway, we spared her from her phobia and used the lifts to access the diff levels afterwards.

I can only conclude it wasn't my P3 that she couldn't handle. Rather, it was her phobia for escalators and elevators. At Spaggedies, I had to draw the DOOR OPEN (<>) and DOOR CLOSE (><) icons for her at Paragon and made her commit them to memory!

STILL, this maid still couldn't get it. When we reached home just now, she absent-mindedly stepped out of the lift first and didn't press the button to hold the door for baby and us. So the lift door SHUT in our face!!! My DH and I were dumbfounded! I had to press the internal buttons to re-open the lift door for ourselves. When we stepped out of the lift, we asked her why she didn't hold the lift door as we've instructed her umpteen times at Paragon just now.

She replied, "Sir, this button is GO DOWN" *FAINTZZZZZZZZZZ*. OF COURSE it's either UP or DOWN buttons on the outside of the lift! U only need to press one of the two buttons to hold the lift doors open for the rest of the people to get off lah! ISN'T THIS UNIVERSAL??????

Maybe the malls shd hv separate escalators for strollers like this supermarket...

1843265.jpg

Or maybe I should buy a treadmill to train her?

I'm fed up...and therefore I am mean. Can Manila be that backward?

sorry flos not sure if u meant it to be but ur post was really hilarious

goldfish
hope that the test results for ur bb turn out ok.

Flos: I can't help but laughed out loud when I reading your story about your maid's phobia with the escalator! haha

Hospitalisation plan: I'm not trying to sell any policies here but just want to highlight that for NTUC's hospitalisation plan + rider plan, you still need to fork out some money, 10% of claimable amount, up to a max cap of $3k, depending on which plan you took up. There are other companies that offers the rider that takes away the deductible (1st 1.5 or 3k) and co-insurance (10% of remaining bill), meaning, you do not need to fork out any cash (unless you're staying in private hospital, some requires you to settle payment in cash before you're discgarged). The premium is only slightly higher than that of NTUC's, which I deem is worth it, as compared to having to pay up to $3k for NTUC, in times of claims.

Millie: the premium and sum assured that Bigtoe is paying may differ from the quote that you get from let say, the same Prudential agent, because premiums are basically derived from the person's age and sum assured desired, non-smoker or smoker (for insured (child), and in this case the payer (either daddy or mummy) as some policies covers waiver of premium should anything happen to the payer.

SarahMay: I saw the Medela promo in Metro's yearly Christmas magazine, Metropolis.

springz,
I would love to make it for the next gathering but bringing J to Disney Live show on 21 Nov..

flos,
Can really emphathize with u. I wanted my maid to learn to use the sling as well and she says "NO, I'm scared mum."

shazz,
thanks for the sound advice. In addition, I understand that not all insurance companies offer guaranteed annual renewal for hospitalization plans (not NTUC, not AIA etc.). That's another point to take note of. I bought GE for ourselves and FB which 2 independent advisor have told me is a good plan (not sure which company you are with).

Lok: That's a great point as well! Most importantly, I do think that whichever plan you took up, so long as it meets your needs and the adviser is offering great service, and you can claim when you need to, that's the best plan!

Flos ... U lucky le , my maid from manila 2 years ago don't even dare to take the elevators. Cried when we went Tampines Mall and the lift was so crowded so no choice we ended up taking the elevators, and she cried and squat down as the elevator goes down. So can u imagine how embarrass I was -_-" ppl thought I was bullyin her.

Abalone/Bigtoes
Thanks for the reassurance, thought something wrong with my boobs cos I never experienced this pain before when I TBF my FB.

Flos
The way you put it is really funny but I can imagined how frustrated you are.

Shazz,
Thanks for ur advice. Ya my independent agent told me the same too. It's the premium on the rider tat makes the diff rite assuming the sum assured and other factors remain constant ,

Flos,
Actually i can understand how ur maid feels on pushing strollers on escalators as i oso sometimes scared scared though i hv done it q a few times on my own.

Millie (millie22) - i took up policy with AIA for my boy. One that covers accident and hospitalisation and another for education.

The education one is interesting. Pay 12 years for 18 years policy. This one cost more as it depends on your budget.

The accident policy is cheap less than $20/mth
The hospitalisation is from medisave.

I had a tough time deciding before deciding on the AIA policies.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Hi Mummies, sorry to intrude. I have a very good book on weaning to sell. It's the SUPER BABY FOOD book.
It's BRAND NEW. Selling at $28.90 include postage.

Though it seems early to buy a book on weaning now, you can start reading up while you are free (baby still slping most of the time
) and start preparing cos weaning is really a big challenge!!

more details here: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1843668.html?1225558279

thanks</font>

hi yummy mummies...

ok..thanks for all your input on breast pumps. hve decided i will get the avent isis iq uno cos that fits my budget. hehe...and it sounds really cool all those functions, read great reviews online. can't wait to try it! and i figured i only need the single cos my main concern is to minimise the time i spend pumping after feeds so i can sleep more. so i can use the single while BFing my baby on the other boob.

flos: wah!!! realy farneee la . so what are you intending to do with your maid?

shazz: thanks for your help!

EBM feeds outside home: Does anyne know if we can defrost our frozen EBM and take it out with us on short shopping trips so that DH can feed bb EBM? If so, how do we deal with the transport to preserve freshness? I've got the Avent thinsulate bag that can keep cool milk cool. Will that work? THen i just bring along hot water to warm it up?

VACCINES: I realise that after the immunisations, my bb had wonderful 3 hour sleep-feed cycle. Aiyo...like angel! Wonder how long it will last. Hehe.

<font color="0000ff">Flos
goodness!!! u muz have been exasperated by ur maid. hehe, i can't help laughing when reading ur post.

hhhmm... so tat was not ur period. den wat was the fresh bleeding about?

Dr Cheng told me my period would not be less than 2-3 wks when i saw him. but my period came about less den a week after tat. unless it's not my period? but can't be.. gotta put pads leh.. n it lasted a good 5-7 days

Baby's Sleeping
gosh.. Max has been sleeping thru the nite these past 2 nites. His last feed at around 10pm and he can slp thru tho it wasn't a full feed leh. esp when these days he tend to regurgitate some amount of milk when burping...

Milk Bottle Teats
Anyone using Pigeon Peristaltic Teats for wide-neck bottles here? What's the difference between the M and the Y size?? Currently am still using the S size. Tried the Y on my boy and he doesn't seem to adapt well to it. Leaks a whole lot. Ends up after every feed gotta change the towel and change his shirt. Till I got so desperate I wore a bib for him</font>

Just Me
Congrats on Max sleeping thru the nite! Hope it lasts...! and why u change nic?

Going back to work
Sigh...am not looking fwd to this. I have a week before I return to office. I am basically letting my maid do most of the basic care (bathing, feeding) as she will be looking after the girls when I go back.

but part of me worries they'll think of her as their mother, instead of me. I think they smile at her more than they do at me and their eyes follow her as she gets up to leave the room...whereas I feel they are more bochap about me. My own mom said the same thing yesterday, which made me very depressed. Called my hb in India to cry about it. sigh...

sarahmay,
I also hv the same qn on feeding EBM outside.
Last time, I used to bring the pump out and pump the milk, and feed to bb within 4 hrs (no need to warm up, just keep in insulated bag)

But as for frozen EBM/ chilled EBM, i also dunno leh...maybe best to warm up with hot water and consume with 2-4 hrs after bringing out(in an insulated bag)???

Just Me/Flos
my lochia very funny too...totally stopped at wk 2...then came back (1st dark brown, then cream colour) in wk 3-4. Then suddenly fresh red again for 4-5 days! Then pink, then dark brown, then pink again, dark brown again.....till now at wk 6, i'm still having the dark brown/pink discharge.....

when i had #1, lochia stopped by wk 3. With #2, it stopped by wk 5. This time round it seems to be there 4ever....

Y size is variable flow...think it's still too fast for our bbs now...Last time my #2 also cldnt adapt to Y teats, leaked a lot too.

ava
*nodding head non-stop* yes, i feel the same wat too...i had my maid for half a year only....but my 18 mth old is soooooo attached to her now! I used to be THE ONLY ONE for him, when i was on no pay leave to take care of him...but i went back to work when i was pregnant with #3 (so as to get paid maternity leave!). Got a maid then and she took care of him most of the time as my #1 is very attached to me and i'm also heavily preg with #3. Now my #2 wants to be carried by my maid all the time...will even push me away when i approached him dur his vulnerable moments like after a fall/just woken up/wanting milk/abt to sleep.....
I feel very hurt too..

TRaz
Sigh...at least my #1 is also still close to me and hb...it's probably cos he was already 3 yrs old when we hired our maid. And funnily enuf he was not overly attached to his former babysitter...mebbe cos they dont live in the same house day in day out.

I am seriously thinking of stopping work or finding some way to work from home...but I also need the money. Such a dilemma..I'm sure there are others who are going thru the same thing...sucks huh.

ava
sigh...well, if we hv to work, then we hv to accept the fact that our maids will be the ones at home for the kids most of the time...to sayang them when they fall, to feed them, bathe them, play with them, put them to bed....so it's natural that they are closer to the maids and the maids are the ones they first look for when they want comfort...
which is why i've chosen to stop working aft this...but still my time is most spent on bfding the bb...maybr when things are more settled down, i'll leave the bb (who cant recognise ppl yet) to the maid and spend more time with #2 and #1.

oh ya, anyone bringing cakes/pastries this afternoon? If not, I'm thinking of getting some cakes/pastries to ur pl later.

shazz/lok

u mean its not guarantee renerwal for the hospi plan? oh...tink better call my pru agent to check on my prushield..coz i thought its auto renewal every yr so long as u paid the premium...i bought the rider as well as tt pays for everything from the 1st dollar...

sasa

Pigeon M &amp; Y teats difference is that Y is leak proof..tt means the baby have to suck the teats then milk will flow..unlike for M,the milk will slowly drip out even without sucking..

Hi Sunray,

Thanks for your information. I bought the carseat at 20% from mother works at tanglin. The sales lady help us to install into my DH car straight. Marcellus seem to be enjoying the seat as well (so far, have not wail in the seat yet)... keep my finger cross ....

By the way, what color you are looking for ? I did not buy the boulevard as i thought it is too bulky so we went for diplomat instead... Still at 20%

Hi, Bigtoes

Went to your facebook to peek
your boy is really really cute :

Hi,Ageline

You answer my question on the Pigeon M &amp; Y teats too..

FEEDING - do we count three hours for the next feeding when baby finishes the milk or when we start feeding? Errrr.. sound stupid..

STERLIZATION - DO you sterlize the bottle cap as well?

Sasa
Charlotte also sleeps through the nite since 2 weeks ago. Last nite was record breaking...slept 8.5hrs!!

LC/Mandy
should count from the starting time of the feed, not ending time.

JoJo
Wow..u are fast!! Not indecisive like me,hehe... I wanna get Boulevard in Shannon but they dun carry this color anymore. Did u see an older model-Decathlon at tanglin? Cos i dun mind buying that either but i only like the color Hampton... i sound shallow but i am deciding based on the color,hehe!!

1845015.jpg
<font color="ff0000">Boulevard(Shannon)</font>
1845016.jpg
<font color="ff0000">Decathlon(Hampton)</font>

Gathering
Hi ladies, nice meeting you all. Hope u had fun!

Someone left behind a blanket/baby wrap (light blue stripes if I'm not wrong - i'll check again) on the sofa...lemme know if it's yours

Hi Ava,

I think is mine. If not wrong, the blanket is polo ralph right ? I left them behind... blur me ! Lucky i am so near you, i will drop by probably on monday to pick up ?

Had fun too at ava house. opps my boy no manner fart so loud hehe. sob his tummy a lot wind duno can get medicine from PD to get rid of it a not.

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Yah, understand that NTUC has the 10% co-insurance that will not be claimable but done my comparison &amp; rider is alot cheaper (half the price of the cheapest rider that covers both deductible &amp; co-insurance) so decided to get NTUC in the end. Pru rider is cheaper than GE supreme rider..

Feeding: Calculate when bb start feeding. And I sterilise bottle cap as well.

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - a belated Happy Halloween from Kieran

1845151.jpg

Ava - thanks for opening up your place for the gathering earlier, and mommies - was great catching up!!
We forgot to take a group photo this time!</font>

Hi Hi.. yap I calculate from time of feeding (though hubby thought it was from end of feeding! After he knew it was start of feeding I think he realised quite tiring for us! so little time in between!) I also sterilise the bottle cap..

Flos Flos - whoa after reading your post I'm extra careful when holding baby to enter lifts!!! I'm surprised - thought city ones should be ok... I know most are from villages in Philippines thats why have to explain how to use electrical stuff..

On the gathering - I'm on ML till Jan 09 so anytime/ any day is fine with me.. would mummies prefer weekend so hubbies can come along? ok if I order simple finger food for the high tea?

<font color="ff6000"> great meeting u mums earlier at ava's place!

isabelle: wow, u totally went back to your pre-pregnancy weight?? u look so good.
good to learn from u how to use the carrier more effectively</font>

dracwy
you not afraid bigtoes will be jealous ah...compliment isabelle so nicely
but you're right of course...

isabelle, I'm so totally jealous!!

Jojobar
Yup thot it was yours. I will be out tomorrow from 11am - 3pm but you can come anytime and pick up as my maid will be in. But if u come when i'm around bring little one along for playdate

hi Sunray,

I am the gancheong type loh. I can understand the important of asthetic so buying the car seat in the right color is important.
Hmm hmm I am not sure of the availability of the stock but i think saw Decathlon. Why not you call them to check before going down.

hi Ava,

I am keen on a play date since my Marcellus seem to like to "talk" to girls... hahahha
I will drop by tomorrow probably to pick up the blanket when my part time maid is around.

RE: Gathering at Ava's pl this afternoon

Nice meeting all of u! Was feeling a bit tired and sleepy, so didn't talk much...moreover all of u seem to know one another so well, felt a bit awkward if i interupt ur conversation...

ava, thanks for hosting us. U look very "steady" despite having a pair of twin newborns and a toddler to take care of, with husband in India somemore!

Great meeting all of you at Ava's place.. had to leave early as Devon was so cranky! Now you all know how loud his crying can be! Lol..

sunrays
Wow.. so shiok.. Char sleeps through the night.. I am still hoping for that day to come for me!

Ava
Thanks for opening up your place! Your twin gals are so sweet looking!

Isabelle
Agree with the rest, you look fab! Can even wear little shorts! *envy*

Bigtoes &amp; dracwy
I love that Halloween greeting.. Kieran &amp; Devon are so similar.. Kieran's cries reminds me of Devon's..

TRaz
Join us for more gatherings in future &amp; you'll be as chatty as us next time!

Angeline: Prushield offers guranteed renewability.

sasa: congrats on Max sleeping thru the night!

sunrays: wow, 8.5 hours is fantastic! I'm still waiting for Eamon to do that, his record is only 7 hours! She slept in her cot or your bed for the 8.5hrs?

darwcy: I agree with u that isabelle looks fantastic! My hubby said she didn't look like she just gave birth, and certainly doesn't look like a mummy of 2 adorable gals!

Ava: I can understand how you feel! When my boy preferred my CL, I was so upset and jealous!