(2008/09) Sep 2008

Lok (lok): Jonas is such an easy-going baby! Sometimes when Eamon is in a good mood, like yesterday, he can lie on the sofa and kick box by himself, or drift to sleep by himself.

Ergo - can get it at 20% off when there's metro sale, if not, if you have metro card, can get 10% oiff.

Lanolin: thank God Eamon doesn't shed any tears yet! hehe ... but his crying is really heart wrenching type, and he's very forceful, I wonder where he learnt to cry with such angst! Must be in the daddy's family blood, cos my niece also cry the same way, think she's the champion when it comes to crying! During sleep training, my hubby would be the one who put him in the cot to cry, he'll bar me from going into the room. Sometimes, he make me wear my ear plugs or take a shower when he's crying. Usually, by the time I'm done with my shower, he would have fell asleep within 7 mins.

But when he's asleep and suddenly cry, I would pick him up to assure him and pat him a little and put him back to sleep.

Noise when sleeping: My boy makes noise too when he's sleeping, sometimes he would let out some cries too, something that sounds like he's falling! I've learnt not to jump out of bed whenever he makes noise already! Used to do that in the first 2 weeks he started sleeping with us. Now, I'll wait for the real cry before I attend to him. Cos I know he's capable of self-soothing himself back to sleep, I just leave him alone.

Lok: r u not at the east gathering? You're very lucky to hv an 'accommodating' and adaptable bb like Jonas...

BAD DREAMS: yep, mine will wake up startled when he has a bad bad dream...he jolts suddenly too.

TEARS: it's heart-wrenching and heart-breaking. I'll normally pick him up when I see him awashed with his tears...ohhh poor baby...

Bigtoes: How much did Kidslink charge u for the 6-in-1? Is it the one at Sengkang MRT station? Do u hv a designated PD? There is a clinic at Sengkang MRT station which is perpetually crowded.

lanolin: u hv started training Declan already? Mine is quite routined. He is sleeping more and playing less. I feel bad not playing enuff with him. Usually by 9pm, he i very groggy and sleeps thru till his morning wash at 8am. He does, however wake up punctually every 2-3 hrs for his feed.

He is most active between 10am-12pm...He usually naps in the afternoon with me. At about 5-8pm he is wakeful again...

Bigtoes: Kieran is growing well at the rate he's drinking!
4 mths old? my PD didnt mention anything even though Eamon is in the 90th percentile. His statistics when we went to the PD at 6 weeks plus: Weight: 5.55kg Length: 59.5cm Head circumference: 39.5cm

Flos: Isaac is a great sleeper!

Eamon can sometimes sleep for a long stretch too. Last night was one of the best scenario for us! He slept last night from 1030pm after taking his milk till 9 plus in the morning! We picked him up for milk at 130am and he drank it with his eyes closed. Then he slept thru and only make noise for milk at 655am! Again, fed him with him still half asleep and then put him back in his cot till 9 plus! Hope this will continue and the feed at 130am will be dropped!

<font color="0077aa">LC (faintz): I went to a Japanese buffet with my frens to celebrate our birthday last sat. Hubby sent me there &amp; left so I wasthere alone with baby. Halfway thru Zane also fuss &amp; I gotta carry him. I made him sit up with his back on my tummy holding him with my left hand &amp; ate with my right.. Keke.. End up some soya sauce fell on his mitten! After a while he is ok then I put him back to stroller &amp; have my dinner again.
Its a challenge but fun!

I only saw my bb's tears todAY! aiYOO.. So Kelian!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">lanolin
yah lor.. intend to stop le.. but prob will persevere for awhile more. at the moment onli yielding 90ml each pump. Am pumping 4 times a day lor. so it works out to be every 6 hrly. even if i drag it for 8 hrs.. i stil dun feel engorged. Not Anymore!!!

it's getting tiring n inconvenient and esp when the yield is not good, it bcomes very demoralising. but these days.. i onli take 30min so not so much time wasted

Huggies Diapers
Anyone done any research on it? Like Bigtoes, i'm oso very confused by all the different variations. But I personally like Huggies Ultra!!!

Lok
wah.. u lucky mummy. Jonas is so easy to look after.

Xuanting
hhmm.. thanks for the decipher. Will go back tonite n see if i can understand wat my boy wans..

Lok
haha.. my couz managed to help mi find a 2nd hand Bjorn at only USD10...
but it's the original Bjorn lah.. not the fancy synergy wor...

Shazz
day time in office u not pumping le ah??? wah.. den u'll have terrible engorgement rite?</font>

limay / jasmine
brought Cristian to the PD last Monday too. But poor boy suffered from mild fever so fed him infant panadol. Otherwise he's doing great. HE's grown quite a bit and very well according to PD. He is now 61 cm in length and 6.28kg at 2 months! No wonder my back and wrists are starting to feel the strain. It seems everytime we go out strangers will comment he looks like 4 -5 mths old baby haha
As for pnuemococcal and rotarovirus PD advised to take pnuemo early only if there will be other kids or i am sending him to infant care otherwise will take it at 7 mth otherwise will have to take 4 times instead of twice. As for rota will take next mth.

Mummies!
I have been experimenting with all sorts of diapers and in my opinion i will be sticking to Pampers / Huggies and GOON. Hubby and I love GOON so much we are thinking of phasing out the rest totally. We ordered it online and mummies may want to try. It hasnt leaked on us and altho the fitting for S seems big, the size actually helps to prevent leakage.And unlike other diapers, its not the thick and hot kind. TRy it!
http://www.diapers.com.sg/home.php

preggie: poor thing! no wonder your wrist hurts! you got wrist guard already? my wrists are much stronger now after using wrist guards and applying Gucosamine cream, and also alternating the various ways of carrying my boy.

sasa: no engorgement if I dun pump for 14hours even! that's how pathetic my MS is lah! haha

hey shazz!
no........ planning to go out and get a few. Should i be looking for wrist guards of any particular kind? i just need a massage from Mrs Sharifah really soon... waiting for my new helper to arrive tomorrow so that i can be relieved of some baby duties during the day hehe

<font color="0000ff">preggie
wow... ur boy is HEAVY!!!! Mine is only 5+kg and my hb is already complaining.

After hearing ur good comments about GOON diapers.. am so convinced to give it a try. but still waiting for my samples to arrive. already requested for it sometime last wk or the wk b4. oops.. Size S is big for ur boy??? I requested for M some more leh... :p

Shazz
hhhmm... mayb coz ur breasts have been programmed le.. so no more engorgement. like mine!!!</font>

bb weight
mine will turn 6wks this sat but she's only either 3.4kg or 3.9kg (stupid osim digi scale keeps giving 2 results). she's drinking 600ml daily and doesn't seem to want anymore. but pee and poop wise, A LOT. she was 2.6kg upon discharge fr hosp.

StefSeanSharbabes- sorry for not turning up. Last minute, some home emergency on my in laws end. Will see you gals at the next gathering , i hope you had fun.

Lanolin - my little one's baptism will be at St Francis Xavier on 9 November. This is the earliest i have sourced around. Initially i wanted it at OLPS but their earliest is in December as well.

Clothes - am happy to say i can fit into some of my clothes, the loose ones, keh keh keh. Am hoping i lose more in the months to come. Time really flies, am in my 6th week of ML already. Dread the day i start work..sigh.

Rashes
Just to update: am fully recovered from my rashes. Am glad the Dermatologist was good. Kudos to him.

preggie (preggieblues): i just try out all that is available in the market, and got the one from a shop that specialise in selling badminton stuf at bras brasah! you can check out the ones at Watson, Royal Sporting House. Yes, I need a massage soon too!

sasa: perhaps my breasts are really programmed to give only that much ... sigh, despite spending so much time pumping and starting out at regular intervals, still am not successful at getting more milk. Fenugreek and nursing tea didn't help.

Is the baptism at OLPS full ? Oh, I am not sure if he can wear just white. I just being kiasu wanted to dress him in the tradition baptism gown.

<font color="119911">Noises during sleep – okie, so its normal. Wonder what they dream about, so much drama and tears.

Flos (flos) – charges for 6-in-1 at Kidslink are $470 (including consultation &amp; GST). Yes, went to the one opposite Seng Kang MRT and its mega crowded (but so are most PD clinics). Especially bad in the evening, cos all the parents are back from work, and bring their kiddies over even though its just slight flu/fever. There is only one PD on duty there, a Dr Venessa Tan, think she is in her late 30s.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - Eamon is growing pretty well for a 6 week old baby! Even bigger than Kieran! The PD didn’t say Kieran was overweight or anything, just that he is a big boy, cos her padded table top can accommodate babies up to 4 months, and that he is already about that size, based on the table space.

preggie (preggieblues) – wow, 6.28kg at 2 months! Kieran will be taking his rotavirus vaccine at the next visit (4 months) and pnuemococcal at 7 months since we are not sending him to infantcare.</font>

shazz - u r not alone. at least u managed to TBF for 1st month? mine is PBF since day 1. mine is like programmed to give this much only. tried fenugreek and nursing teas, drank alot of fish papaya soup, also increase a bit nia. so now i just take things easy and give wat i can. :D

koras - could be u r not ard cos even tho they don't recognise pple yet.. they recognise voices and surroundings..

flos,
I skipped the gathering cos of my maid problem. Need to jaga her and my MIL is now here at my place. U know, these 2 days, she can feed jonas halfway and then take her meals. Her excuse is Jonas doesn't want any more milk. In the end, I continue the feed cos it's my precious EBM (60ml !!).

And on Sunday which is our family day, she wanted to cook lunch for herself (without even asking me whether we are going out). Stopped her in time and told her to get ready to go out. We had late lunch and Jonas was crying for milk at 2pm. Asked her to feed and she shoved Jonas to my MIL, complaining she's hungry. My MIL retorted that she's herself haven't had lunch. Guess what, she started crying on the spot! So I had to feed J myself and b4 she could even sit down to eat the chicken rice we tabao for her, I'm done with feeding J.

And her sis-in-law called my residence one day from Dubai. Asked her how she got my home number and she's not sure. Decided to close 2 eyes since I'm sending her back next week.

sasa de mouse,
Yah, can get really good deal from the States. Is your cousin going to bring it back personally for u or u just ship it back? Even with shipping, it will be very worth it! Too bad I don't go to the US for biz trips anymore, otherwise, it will be shopping madness!!

shazz,
I am thankful for my blessings. I also attribute it partly to my CL's good training such that J doesn't need to be carried much or pat to sleep!

nelc (nelc) : yeah, we made it! I just take it a day at a time, so was surprised when I made it past 2 mths!

bigtoes: I think eamon's size is partly due to him being a big baby at birth, his growth rate is rather consistent, with 200grams per week or so 2 weeks. He's drinking only max of 120ml but usually on 80 or 100ml per session.

Lok: my CL trained Eamon well, then after she left, he began to have his own preference and style! and it doesn't help that my in laws love carrying him, spoilt market! So tougher for me now!

<font color="0000ff">Shazz
Mine too.. programmed to onli drip tat much. Mine comes out in drops.. so can be quite depressing to see it flow... sometimes I even wonder how i can manage to get 100ml. I give up taking Fenugreek coz like u.. onli increase by abit.. if not at all. sighz...

Lok
oh yah manz.. i tot it's quite a good deal tho its the Original version. Oh another couz of mine is there on honeymoon so gonna tompang him to bring back for mi lor. My couz will be back in Dec tho...

Nelc
Mine oso PBF since Day 1 wor...</font>

no time to read all posts.

gathering
my hb's trip is extended till next week, so i hv less time than i thot to buy stuff...any contributions welcome...i'll get some dimsum like stuff like siew mai n paos...

traz
i'll pm u my address.

anyone else need my address? i pmed koras n jojo already...

sleep training
yes, done for nites only.

lanolin
4 hrs sleep in daytime is recommended for this age in order for baby to sleep well at nite so no need to worry.

nelc - I was reading that babies about 8-12 weeks old should only sleep about 3.5 hours max from 7am to 7pm so that they can sleep well through the night. Not that it is happening to me yet...haha

Flos - Dec's got some sort of routine in the day but he is still waking up twice in the night though it gets easier to get him to sleep. Does Isaac wake up 3 hourly at night too?

Limay - soaking his pillow with tears??? WAH...u can allow him to just cry? I know it is probbably the right thing to do coz he is just wanting to be pampered. I shall ask husband to be more hard-hearted coz both of us r softies.

Lok - u r blessed with Jonas indeed!! We would all like to have babies like that but I guess God has other plans...hahah.. Good luck on ur search for a new helper. I think it is 90% luck!

breadmum - big reminders from the BIG GUY that I should get Dec's baptism date soon. hahaha....I haven't been able to go to church as I need to latch him on and he always feeds during the mass times!! hahaha...

To mamas from the East - great meeting you even though I had to run off early. So impressed that all of you came with ur babies urself. I must master the sling!!

For those who need Ava's address, can also PM me and I will send it to you.

Ava - how come D's trip extended? I will bring some finger food and drinks for all.

Sasa - Let's both try to tahan to 4 months ok?

Shazz - can I buy GOON from NTUC? I just don't recall seeing it at all....

Traz - hey, welcome back and see u on Sunday!

Lanolin
If u wanna try Goon, I have three packs here (ordered 4 so free delivery) in Small (4-8kg) - the cutting is quite big for the girls, so I can sell u a pack or give u a few pieces to try on Sunday. Thx for helping me with the address PMs.

Trip extended cos having additional sessions.

Shazz &amp; Storeberry,
Recalled u asked abt Kaiden's weight..I went to the PD today for his 6 in 1 jab + Rotavirus and Pneumcococal vaccinations. Kaiden is weighing 5.728 kgs now and 61 cm in length..

The after-effect of the vaccination is chaotic..Kaiden has been v cranky..crying for no reason..I need to cuddle n carry him for hours..once we put him down, he cries..aiyoh..v jialart..lucky weekend is coming soon...

Shazz, how long did Eamon take to recover from the jabs?

Jojo, i wun be getting the gown. My fren bought my bb a white dress fr Chateau de Sable. Think it's good enuff.

Lanolin, I'm oso thinking of registering for my gal's baptism at Holy Fam in Dec. Will be gg down this weekend to get the form.

Traz,
u ok boh? I didn't know u were having some problems with your hubby.. now that u have Jvel, hope that things work out for u n hubby. Hmm, too bad i can't go to Ava's place else we can catch up a little. U bringing Hippo n Gor-Gor too? or just mei-mei?

<font color="119911">lanolin (lanolin) - not totally soaked in tears lah, but his tears flow very easily. Worst thing is that, most of the time its pretending. Very drama (like his mama)!! Can pretend cry then fall asleep the next minute.

Btw, can you PM me Ava's address? thanks!</font>

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg): Eamon took about a week to be himself again. I was told that they are cranky and crying for no reason cos of the medication from the jab that is going through thir body.

bigtoes &amp; lanolin: my boy's tear ducts are not developed yet, so I have yet to witness a downpour!

Just now, when we put him to sleep. He cried and all but when we went into the room to pacify him, he smiled at us a few times! So clever right? We can't help it but talked to him! and he coo and smiled at us again! this boy hor, so young knows how to get his way around us liao!

wow so many posts

mummies in the east, nice meeting you gers!!!

GOON
im now a GOON convert liaoz. going to convert huggies to goon. but then use mostly at night, CH still on clothe diapers in the day...

ERGO
lok, im using it. but will only put ch in it when she is much older. i personally like it coz it can be used till toddler. the back is low unlike bjorn or beco. but good for singapore weather...

only prob is it is rather bulky, so if you dun wanna look like you are carrying a backpack always, dun get it...

lok
understand what you mean by 'easier bb'...ch seems better than her brother so far. maybe she is not better, but her bro was arghhhhhhhh....he is still an arghhhhhhhh toddler...

Lok, Lilboymum,
my baby girl now is not as easy baby as her gor-gor.. that's why now, sometimes i feel very frustrated with her. somehow i can't help but compare.. cos my FB was much easier to take care of.. i just hope she outgrow this difficult period soon!

Lok,
your maid is really really terrible. It's a good thing that your Jonas is an easy baby now!

lanolin
Devon sleeps very little in the day too.. like less than 4 hours.. &amp; in short spurts like 30 mins.. if I am lucky, 45 mins to an hour.

Ava
Can you please sms me your address? I misplaced it.. thanks!

Baby tears
Devon cries with tears on the day he was born.. I was surprised to see tears flowing down his cheeks on day one.

Jab
Devon will be going for his 6-in-1 tomorrow.. hope he doesn't get too cranky.

shazz
These little ones sure know how to pull at our heartstrings.. Devon has been smiling &amp; grinning a lot lately too.

1838066.jpg

Mei: devon is getting cuter each day!
Eamon will squeal in delight sometimes when he's watching tv! hehe, a tv addict like me! er-oh! Sometimes he's like laughing, giving me a big wide smile and make his mouth a big round O! hehe ... and these days, he'll smile sweetly after his night feed, when I'm burping him, he's half asleep, he'll smile sweetly. Makes me think the late nights are worth it!

shazz,
thanks 4 the info..a week is a long time..
just tonite is keeping my back and arms v ache...

Smiling bb
Kaiden would smile whenever I change his diaper...super active and happy whenever we place him on the changing table...strange!

Jojo - i can find out for you cause my good friend is the one arranging the baptism for my boy since she is going to be his godma. Making her work for her title. LOL.

Am just going to dress my boy in white. For girls , if dress in the baptism gown would be nice.
Lanolin - i have not gone to church as well since my boy was born as well. Feeling a bit guilty too. Just say a prayer or 2 each day with my boy.

EBM
Am expressing lesser times now, cause i can hardly get a breather from my boy. He fusses so much and screams when not carried so am latching him on when he is not so agitated.

Mine also drinks 80-90ml each feed at 6 weeks.So total consumption a day is approx 800-900 ml.

I think i must master the art of the sling. Pity i miss the gathering else i can get tips from some of you.

Anyone experiencing pain in the the other breast when baby is latched on? I have this pain which kind of hardens the breast for a few seconds when baby first latch on. I did not have this with my FB.

Lok
You are lucky to have an easy baby. I have a not so easy baby and a very monkey tot that can sometimes drives me up the wall. Raphael loves to be carried and pat to sleep and I can only put him down on his cot without him waking up when he's in a deep sleep, otherwise he'll open his eyes and stare at me again. Arg...!

Now that school holidays are coming, #1 will be at home everyday, no rest for me. Faint!

GOON
I also asked for sample from GOON yesterday after hearing so many good reviews, waiting for the samples.

yest I went shopping and bought 3 pairs of shoes! And a few pices of clothing. So happy!!! But i won't be too happy when my credit card bill comes though... =p

jas
how come ur fren's baby can fall out of the combi? I thot combi has 5 point safety harness belt? It's supposed to keep baby in even if the pram/stroller topples over. I think she must have forgotten to buckle the baby in. That's very dangerous!

lilboymum
I saw Cheri and Cat at the Mandeville class too last fri. We r in the same class!

BREASTFEEDING
Now I dun use pump anymore. Too lazy to wash the pump and i dun wanna add to my maid's workload. So I just put my 2 bottles into the cooler bag and bring it to work and express by hand. But I'm quite worried that my SS will start to drop now that latching on is less often. Hopefully this weekend I can do full latch on to maintain supply!

And BF doesn't mean won't fall ill. Baby will only have the antibodies that mummy has, so stronger in that sense. Doesn't mean immune to everything!

BAPTISM
Not sure if Katong Catholic bookshop or Wellsprings sells christening dresses. Can call to enquire. For Gabbie's baptism, I just reused a white dress Isablle wore.

Lok
hope u get a good maid soon. Ur maid is really terrible!!!

Meie
Devon looks so handsome!

Yah man, if jonas is a difficult bb, I think she would have abused him by now. She herself said Jonas is very guai (just drink milk and sleep) whilst her own kids need to be carried the whole day. This morning she wasted 130ml of my EBM cos it was warmed up at 7am even though J wasn't crying for milk. He only woke up at 9.30am! (last feed at 4am).

Lanolin, yep, I bring her to church every sunday. but depending on her waking up &amp; feeding times on the particular sunday, I'll go either holy fam or olps..

ava,
got ur addy...thks!
Can take NEL to ur pl? Which station?
I will bring some finger food/snacks to ur pl.

lanolin/alovera/xuanting/autumn
thks for ur concern. I'm fine. I'm way past the stage when I would cry buckets. Think I spent half my pregnant days crying...was so upset that I had premature contractions at wk30 and was in the hosp for observation.
Now, I keep myself busy and occupied...was still giving tuition when in confinement! However, when it's late at night and I'm trying to sleep, feelings of hurt and loneliness will creep in and tears still flow...
But I've to be strong for my 3 kids and I know I can't afford the time to hide in a corner and self-pity.
I try to participate in the forum but all of u r so fast in the threads! I can only come in once in the morning..hopefully can come in more often when things are more settled with the bb.

btw, i'm bringing only 1 kid on Sunday. dunno which one yet...depending on who's napping and who's awake then...

see u!

I'll sms addresses to those who asked.
Traz. Take NEL to potong Pasir station, but then need to take feeder in. or a 10 min walk. take 142 to town council bus stop, then cross the road.

Hi Breadmun &amp; Lanolin,

As i am not a catholic, my hubby and his family are catholic. So i leave the arrangment of the batispm to them loh. But yesterday, my FIL told us he just submit the registration for us and confirm the baptism for my son is 3rd sunday of Nov which is 16th Nov at OLPS.

In that case, I will not buy a gown as well. I will just get him to wear white. No need pure all white right ?

Hi, Storeberry

fun?? dun feel so.. me felt sad with a half fulled stomache and aching arms.. somemore after that dinner, baby refused to zzz that night ang i have to carry him again till 12plus..