(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0077aa">Lanolin: 8-12weeks baby only sleep 3.5hours max?? So little? I hope my baby sleep more else I don't know what to entertain him with! Haha! But yday Zane was really sleeping little, he wake up like after half an hour of sleep...

Any mummies can explain reflux again? Cos yday &amp; today, whenever I burp Zane, he will let out a loud burp then follow by some vomit. But he is not fussing nor upset, should I be concern &amp; see a PD?

Shazz: Zane also smeile very sweetly when I am burping him &amp; he is half asleep! Super cute lo!</font>

<font color="119911">sunnysunny (sunnysunny) – your pain on the other breast and hardening would be the let down effect. I get that too, then it starts to leak.

isabelle (isa_belle)- u express your milk by hand? Wow, how long does that take, and don’t your fingers get cramps?

Ava – Sorry, cant bring any cooked food, cos we have to attend my niece's birthday lunch just before the gathering at your place on Sunday, so I will bring some Pringles and chips over. Hope that is okie

Ava,
u are really near me actually! I stay near to Serangoon mrt.. Don't mean to be irritating, but u think u can PM me your addy too? if I can, i really want to drop by (but still not confirmend).. but if u want to limit to 10mummies, I can understand.. then next time then.

Traz,
actually i did hear u have some premature contractions from Michelle.. but didnt know it's because u were upset.. whatever it is.. be STRONG and POSITIVE. Jia You!

re: EV's first month assessment
I brought my girl for Hep B jab today.. her weight now is 4.6kg n length 56cm. She has grown! Time really flies..

Thanks mommies for all the encouragement. I finally took a step forward and called AWARE for counselling. I was told many things like what you gals have told me and one thing I am comforted to know is that I am certainly being strong by retaliating and not being defiant like what my HB said. However, it is sad to know that my HB will most probably never change his ways and he just want to control me. I think I will just take one day as it comes now, try to make myself less stressed and be more open minded on things so that I will be less miserable. Trying to be more positive in life.

It's really strange, but I feel really possessive towards my baby whenever both MIL and HB are around. But if only MIL is around, I don't feel that possessive, I wonder why. I wonder if it's because HB tends to lean towards MIL so whenever they are both around, I get upset as everything is her, her and her. Does anyone feel the same way as I do? How do I learn to let go when it comes to MIL?

Actually, I'm thinking of 'giving in' and bringing my BB to MIL's house for dinner today but I just can't bring myself to tell my HB. It would be like giving in to him in a way. He keeps saying that I keep thinking about my family, keep wanting to bring BB there, and insists that I bring BB to his parents' house instead. But how is it I side my family when I've not brought her there even once and he brings BB to his parents' house when I happen not to be around and still keep saying that I am being unfair.

alabone, I did think of bringing BB to my parents' house when he is out the whole day but then, he will call home and when no one answers the phone, then he will start all the questioning when he comes home. Also, my mom would definitely ask me to stay for dinner and if I'm in a rush, she will wonder what is wrong and I wouldn't know how to explain to her.

Bigtoes, I think I will give this Sunday's gathering a miss and instead, 'gather' myself together first. I think I am a nut case these days. I kicked up a fuss when MIL fed BB my EBM yesterday and again got into a quarrel with my HB. I was going to keep that for the night feed but my HB asked her to feed BB. Like I said before, I have no idea why but my HB likes to get his mom to feed BB yet whenever my parents are over, HE would be the one doing the feeding. I'm so scared that my BB won't recognise my parents as her grandparents when she grows up given the circumstances. My MIL will be taking care of BB when I return to work too.

Thanks. It will be nice to have your future girl named Kaitlyn too.

nelc, thanks for the concern. As mentioned to Bigtoes, I had another encounter with HB. I'm just trying to take things easy now and keep telling myself to be more open minded and be less stressed.

Hi Wingkei,

Why not you bring your bb to your inlaw one day and the next day to your parents house. TO BE FAIR...tell your hubby, you want to be fair and you love two sets of the parents..
I have been following your posting and i felt that your hubby is emotionally blackmailing you (e.g. threaten to walk out etc)
It is really no point argueing with him, just do what ever you think you want to do. THe more independent you are, the more freak out he will be in the process. However, to a point that he realize you are totally independent from him. He will react either for good or u need to prepare for the worst....
Just my two cents worth. Be strong and believe in yourself. I hope u do not lost yourself in this struggle. All the best !

Hi Ava,

SInce you buy the pao and dimsum from the coffeeshop i presume, i will get either the BBQ chicken wing or the bengawan solo kueh... Depending on my schedule on the day
See u then

Jo Jo,

I did think of dong that too. But my HB doesn't want that kind of fairness. He feels that since we stay nearer to his parents, we should go there more often instead, which upsets me too. He always tells me nothing is fair in this world.

You know what? What you said was what I was told during my phone counselling, that my HB is trying to control me and he is scared when I get more and more independent. I think I will just need to prepare for the worst.

Thanks for the encouragement, I also hope I do not lose myself in the meantime. It's also very comforting to know that there are so many people who are concerned about me.

My HB talks to his friends about babies and get ideas from them about how to take care of babies, etc. I wonder how come they don't tell him how he should treat his wife!

Hi Sunray,

i like the dog picture.. you know what ? i used to dress up my two dogs before i have marcellus... So now, i spend all effort dressing up marcellus and spare the dogs their agony... hahhahah

hey, you going to AVA gathering ?

Quiling, I already enquiry about the gymboree. so most likely i will be going for the trial in November...cos if i sign up for the package, it will for 12 session for new borh to six months....if start in 4th month, not in time to complete the cos by 6th month leh...WHat is your plan for the trial class ? See whether we can organize something together ? I know there is one session on every thursday and sunday for level 1 at Tanglin mall

JoJo

dressing up marcellus is more fun ya?? Would love to join tis sun's gathering but sundays are reserved for my hb to bond with his precious gal.. darn...I keep missing the gatherings!!!

Hi sunray,

Oh dressing up Marcellus is more fun for sure ! So have you been driving bb alone in the car ? I am stil not very successful in it. Unless he is sleeping, else cannot put him on car seat ... he scream

errr...most of the time Charlotte is sleeping when I put her in the seat, so it is ok..and as long as she has the pacifier, it's fine...i juz pray hard the passy dun drop out,tats all...hehe.. oh, i also play her CD, think it calms her too..

She lovvves going out...and i bring her wherever i go..i dread the day i have to leave her for my france trip in 3mths' time!!

sometime, i am not able to get Marcellus to sleep so i cannot drive him out...I have been bring hin out more now.... He is used to the idea of going to the mall... but he still geeting used to..
You going france next year..cool... I don't think i can travel soon
gone with yearly long vacation and impromptus shopping trip...

so many posts!

how was the gathering at PP yday? So sorry i cldn't join as i had high fever. temp of 38.5! dunno what the cause is...i went to see a male GP and i told him my boob feels sore..he didn't check my breasts. but anw i'm on antibiotics in case it is mastitis. praying hard it is not.

went to PD today for Elisha's jabs - 6in1 ($115), pneumococcal ($150) and rota ($90). Spent 364 incld consult &amp; medication -paracetemol &amp; nose drops.

wow! so many of your bbs are sooooo LONG! my Elisha is only 53 cm!(only 3cm from birth- only 1.5cm from wk 2. he was 51.5 at 15 days old), head circum 39.5cm, but weight is in 90 percentile 4.99kg. i hope he will be a lanky boy and have major growth spurt in terms of height! he is in the 70+percentile range fo height and h/c... will this change over time? dun want him to be a shorty. hehe.

xuanting: nope i'm not done yet, barely 50% through. i got a call for a project in jan...which i also said ok to tentatively. but shall see if i can manage cos by that time i will be all on my own in macau. i'm going to apply for writing job in a while too for a parenting mag. funny how things can really change once u have a bb. i always wanted to be SAHM. but now that i have a bb i realise that while i still want to be around for my child, i do need some work for mental stimulation.
Bigtoes: removing them at 2 mths? oops i took them off like when he was 3+ weeks old. heh. does kieran like to touch his face with his hands? notice mine likes to touch his face, somtimes grab his own cheeks and pull his hair! kieran getting more talkative?

BB tears: mine sheds tears but only see a little trickle at the corners of the eyes. but still very heart wrenching to see him bawling sometimes.

CHEEKY BABY: are your babies getting more interactive? mine has taken to 'playing' with us during poo poo times on the changing table. we make this 'ngggg' sound as a signal for him to poo cos we first noticed that he likes to make that noise when trying to poo. Now, he seems to mimic us when we do that and he doesn't poo at all. and he gives us this cheeky look out of the corner of his eyes, sticks out his tongue and grins.

electric pump: i'm seriously considering buying one. anyone got reviews of the avent electrical one? also does anyone know if tangs sell medela pumps? which medela pump is in the 200-300 price range? dun want to spend too much in case doesn't work.

electric pump rental: anyone has contact for the rental of medela pumps? hinkin of renting to try before buying.

Haiz, I today itchy fingers, tried to feed her back on Nan Ha cos there's like 1/2 a can left. &amp; she started her whole screaming &amp; fussing session again. I think she's really lactose intolerant cos when the PD put her on Soy, she drinks really quick &amp; smooth.. so sad cos hb &amp; I are such milk guzzlers!

lanolin.. my bb oso didn't used to zzz much. drove us all nutz. then i brought her for tui na at yuguo (opp kembangan mrt) &amp; aft tt she slept alot better. i think partly oso cos she wasn't feeding very well, fussed alot. whilst the tuina may 've helped, it cld oso be the med for her reflux &amp; the switch fr cow to soy milk :p.

btw, i oso read tt for BF, if bb is lactose intolerant, mommy oso gotta abstain fr dairy products..

Wow.. such long thread to catch up..
Ya.. nice meeting some of the new mummies yesterday.. it was really nice catching up..
thought not a big group maybe 9-10 of us.. but we sure had a great time learning from each other..
To all mummies yesterday.. think you gals were
StefSEanbabies
Dmbb
Llttle Cy
Springz
KymTeo
Crayonshincan
Lanolin
Ehh.. and 1 more.. whose baby were hiding in the sling whole time.. kekeke..
CAn't even bear to part with each other when we were outside.. so shall we have another 1 in the next 2 wks time???
For the NEL gathering,
Hope u mummies have a good time catching up too.. :p

wingkei: am glad you plucked up the courage to call AWARE despite your initial fear. So proud that you're stronger now. Hang in there ok? Find some time for yourself. Happy mummy = happy baby. you need to be strong so that you can take good care of Kaitlyn.

Hi Hi...

Ya it was nice meeting up again! If not for the gathering would not have found out that I should not be driving with infant seat beside me!!! Also good to hear from crayon that I am not alone in playing with baby only about 10 minutes and at a loss on what to do after.. haha

Actually I just played peek-a-boo with shauna and she was happily laughing.. crayon can try!! Also put her in front of those fisher-price thingys with lights and music and she was transfixed!!!

This girl-- went downstairs with her to buy lunch and she was happily looking around.. once home started crying.. sigh and you know what - it was not very loud crying just eh eh kind so I let her be and surfed... minutes later I checked on her and realised she had this white cloth over her whole head and face!!! I was so upset and angry with myself.. had she not been ehk-ing I would have thought she was sleeping and she could have been strangled!! Very upset with myself..

Anyways, as mentioned.. mummies can come to my place for another gathering.. I'm sort of east but open to all la (actually abt 5-10 min bus ride from sun-tec/ city hall).. prob 21 Nov (Fri)? My helper will be here by then

<font color="119911">Momoko - any photos from the PP gathering? So did passer-bys stare cos there were like 15 yummy mommies and their babies all together? hehe...

SarahMay - where is Elisha's PD? His jabs are cheaper than the one we are taking Kieran to at Kidslink ($470 for the 6 in 1 package).
On mittens, i am thinking if i should put them back on - cut Kieran's nails but they are still scratchy and he leaves scratch marks all over his face! So yes, he loves to touch his face and sometimes pulls his hair and ears too!

On Medela pump in that price range, get the Medela Mini Electric Plus - its $305 (price tag still on the box from my SIL). Its light and portable (I bring it along to express when i am at my ILs place cos i get engorged in as little as 3 hours). I however, recently spoilt the motor for the mini electric (milk went into it) - and am using a Medela PIS from my sis now. This is a hand me down from her friend to her, to me, so its a kinda old and abit squeaky. Suction is not as strong as it would be when brand new, but the PIS is quicker then the mini electric cos the dual pumps work simultaneously (mini electric is on alternate sides).</font>

hello everyone,
hard to login in day time now and only read through those post at night when my hubby take care of him. cause my baby keep wake up or always need to pat him when he sleep..now I really look like 'huang lian po'.

I also missed Ava's place gathering, wasted!

Springz, your gathering will be afternoon time?

Huggies diaper
Huggies Ultra absorb most urine if compare the Huggies Dry Comfort or Huggies Dry. I found that Huggies Dry Comfort( the cover is blue + red) not bad and can use for night time too but Huggies Dry ( the cover is light blue only) suitable to use at day time.
Huggies Ultra as good as Mummy Poko.

Car Seat
Which brand car seat is good? Actually don't intend to buy one cause one friend pass me down but till now still haven't pass to me yet.
My boy almost 2 month, I still have to buy the infant car seat right?
I saw some at Kiddy Palace, Combi quite expensive, almost $700.00. Any suggestion?

wow-wee...so many posts to catch up on...no time to read. Me just finished my last consultation with my gynae, did the pap smear, vaginal scan to see that my womb has gone back to its original size, and that my BP has gone back to normal (that means I can drink alcohol soon!!!!). Dr Cheng also told me to waste no time to try for my second baby cos I'm not getting any younger!!! ARGHHHH...

Also asked if I could colour my hair now, he said NO if I'm still BF-ing. RATS...

lanolin: how come an 8 week old bb only sleeps 3.5hr? Thot the no. of sleeping hrs should increase as the bb grows older? Only NB bbs are wakeful rite?

Ava: dear, i won't be able to attend your house party..sorry. now waiting for hubs to arrive at the airport this evening. Isaac misses his dad for a week...they need to bond this weekend.

Diapers: my bb's poo leaked out from his Pampers this morning and stained his shirt!!! It's my bad...I was so sleepy last nite that I didn't fasten it around his waist properly...

shazz: how do we know if the tear ducts are not developed or not? Thot they already tear when they are born?? kekeke, cos mine has been shedding his tears as early as week 3 or 4 I recall. poor isaac...

sunrays: hey u r back and happy birthdy! Saw your nice pics on FB

Sneaked to Orchard for quick shopping. Bought something from Warehouse, discovered Topshop has shifted to Isetan, glad to know Sephora is coming to Ngee Ann City, The 2008 X'mas tree at Ngee Ann podium is up (purple tinsel balls this time), and the new linkway to Orchard ION is within sight now.

Also got the latest Distillations series from Crabtree &amp; evelyn, plus a wide array of ciabattas from Peck, Taka.

Lok: hope that u can find a better maid. I think she might hv used your phone to call her own mobile to get your tel. That's why her SIL in Dubai can call her back.

PP gathering: any photos to show us who didn't turn up?

Sarahmay: I also hv the Mini Electric Plus but like Bigtoes pointed out, it pumps on alternate basis, so it's not as fast as I want it to be. But it's very light and portable. It's noisy though

Hi,Bacon&amp;Egg

Of course remember you lar
the lady who sat beside me during the first gathering and who has lost a lot of weight :p I just posted my baby photos on facebook.. add me in [email protected]... I am sure I can find other mommies in your face book too..

bigtoes: my pd is in tampines st 11. both PDs in tampines have similar price range and inclds consultation charges covering developmental checks tog with the jabs. i guess kidslink is a chain right? so more ex. this PD i go to is v popular but affordable in my opinion.

bb length: after reading how much all your bbs have grown, i'm a bit concerned abt my bb's height. PD didn't say anything. how can i boost his height growth? any tips?

Back from Devon's 6-in-1 jab.. Devon is now 5.455kg, 59.5cm &amp; head circumference 40.5cm.

Jojo
I bring Devon out by myself all the time. The initial few times he will wail when I put him in the car seat but after a few times, he's alright &amp; will keep quiet or doze off when I put him in the car seat. Now he gets the idea that when I put him in the car seat means it's time to go gai gai.

ava: yeah lor...I hv to cancel my appt for tomorrow. Or, maybe...just maybe, I shd just take the risk since I'm not a serious TBF-mom in the first place?

Isaac's "week 4" checkup: W-4.995kg/L-56cm/HC-39cm

week 7 (home scales: W-5.6kg)

sasa: it turned out that the 'fresh blood' on 17 Oct that lasted for 4 straight days wasn't my period, as Dr Cheng has confirmed this afternoon. He scanned my ovaries and said my period isn't here yet.

simply lee: I also hv a box of Pigeon Disposable Breast Pads...

<font color="0077aa">Meie: i really hope to have the courage to bring baby out one day!
Tmr I want to visit my mum, hopefully he will enjoy his car seat!

Wow, all the baby are very long! Zane haven't gone for his vaccination yet, his daddy is too busy! Haiz..</font>

storeberry,
the first time i drove my FB out alone, he cried so hard that i end up crying! it was very traumatic.. cos i was stuck in a traffic jam n baby was screaming away, in the car-seat behind. It was meant to be a 5-minute drive to pick my hubby.. but because of the jam, it became a 25min drive.. but that was more than a year ago.. haha.. memories.. hmm, but i haven't tried driving my bb girl out yet. :p

SarahMay,
Wow Elisha's pneumococcal and rota jabs are cheap. My GP charges penumococcal at $180 and rota at $95. My son took his on mon liao. No choice but to go to this PD cos there's only 1 GP near my residence and there's no PD here.

Flos,
Cannot colour hair if BF ? Oops, i had rebonding and coloured my hair !!!

Hi BlackberryB,

Am thinking of a high-tea-ish gathering after 2pm.. ample time for mummies to bathe baby and prepare etc...

anyone interested? actually on hindsight 21 nov is very near the NEL gathering.. mentioned 21 as momoko was itching for another gathering soon!!

we can have it on a later date (just need to be after 17 nov coz my helper will only come in then)...I'm couple bus-stops away from sun tec... dun have condo facilities (big toes mentioned next time when our babies are bigger can go swimming).. but hubby and I bought old flat for gatherings .. so can fit quite a no. of telams for babies to lie on!

high tea anyone?

btw, PP gathering forgot to take pics!

Flos: oops! googled for answer after u asked the question, turns out that they do have tears after all! it's only a matter of when psychic tears kick in! read more here: http://wondertime.go.com/learning/article/why-babies-cry-without-tears.html

but most babies cry without tears during their first 2 mths!

SarahMay: just saw Metro's magazinee, they're selling Medela Mini Electric Plus (dual) with 3 bottles for $268, can check it out. Not sure if it's available at Metro Tampines, which is near your place. You can call them to check.

You may also want to check out BMSG's demo sets before buying, they have many brands for trying: http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

their price seems reasonable too

oh no i also colored my hair liao! even tho i am PBF, think still got effect right? alamak..

shazz, sasa - i am also glad that i made it till 2 months.. initially supply so miserable that i thot most likely will call it a day within 1 mth.. but happy that i can continue even tho is PBF.. i jus tell myself, if PBF for 2 mths same as TBF for 1 mth... haha

wingkei - glad that u called someone to talk abt it... try telling him that you want to go back to ur parents' place... and u also want to go back to your ILs... just need to spend more effort in travelling cos i am sure both side grandparents will want to see their grandchild just as much..

lanolin - really? wk 8 onwards bb only need 3 hr of sleep? today my mum saw my girl and mentioned that she seem to have lost weight, asked me if it is due to not enuff sleep... i also dunno lei...

koras - ur bb is really power lei.. go diff place looking for diff pple.. haha.. very smart bb..

Hairdye &amp; BF - I read and saw on tv, gynaes said that very little of the chemicals will go into our bloodstream when we dye our hair, and it shouldn't get into our breast milk. But most mummies who wld rather play safe would discard their breastmilk after dyeing their hair, say 3 hours after dye.

If you've done it already, no worries! Probably got no effects since your babies are ok yah?

Hello Mummies, I am a Jan 09 MTB, currently looking for post natal massage. Just wondering if anyone have a good experience with your massage lady? Would appreciate if you can recommand to me?

Please email me at [email protected]

P.S. Congrats to all your newborns! I can't wait for my turn in Jan! =)

My bb platelet level has gone up which is a good news but was diagnosed that he got a CMV virus strain. He might have got it from me during the pregnancy period or after birth.

KK took my blood samples to test whether am i CMV positive or not. I hope the bb did not get the virus from me cos there is a higher chance of having eyesight or hearing defects if bb got it from me!!!!!

Aiyoh... i am so dreadful to wait for the lab test results. Suddenly, it dawned on me that i have been taking my bb well-being for granted lo until this ting happened...

Haiz...

Goldfish: *hug* no mummies would expect something to go wrong with their precious little ones! everyone will naturally assume that their babies are in pink of health, so dun think that you've been taking it for granted ok? Think positive, keep yourself healthy as well so that you can take good care of your boy. Will continue to pray for him and your family.

Lok ,
your maid rally sounds terrible ... Hope your new maid is better .. is all pure luck ... My maid will always wait for us to finish before she eat .. even eating at 3pm for lunch or 9 pm for dinner , she never complain ... hmm .. not that we dun let her eat earlier but sometimes , she will just tell me that she will wait till zac is settle and sleep first before her meals ... she is more caring than me wait first .. keke .. maybe becos she is trying to slim down ?? cos i realised some nights she will just eat a little only.. i will just eat when i am hungry .. haha ..

Sarah May ,
think can rent pumps .. but i forget where .. check teh brestfeeding website ?

Goldfish ..
hugs ,. hope ur bb is okay ..

Removal of mittins ,
i have done only for a few hours a day.

shazz: thanks for info on metro. checked their site but don' see that promo. where did you see the promo? is it only for members? the tampines metro closed down already so nearest is sengkang. but dun want to run down there and discover they don't have it. their site doesn't give no for their stores.

medela: does ck tang or john little sell them?

medele electric pump dual: anyone has reviews on this?

avent electric pumps: any good? i really want to use my 200 bucks TANGS vouchers...and i think they only have avent.

Devon had his 6-in-1 jab yesterday.. so far so good, no fever, he's just more cranky than usual last evening, that's all.

storeberry
Just go ahead &amp; bring baby out. First few times may be tough.. but once you get the hang of it, it's pretty manageable. Babies are smart.. after a few trips, they'll know &amp; won't scream anymore once you place them in the car seat. Got to train them while they're young so it's easier to 'condition' them.

Goldfish
Baby will be ok, don't be too worried.

SarahMay
I'm using Avent Isis Duo pump.. I like it a lot as I can first manually pump to the suction &amp; strength comfortable for me &amp; it'll mimic it &amp; I can pump electrically from there.

<font color="0077aa">I hope to make it for next gathering as well since I miss the last two!

Mei: Yah, but MIL &amp; hubby have been very discouraging, say I will be flustered when baby cry! Told me to take him out when he is older!

Autum: When baby cried that is the most difficult part! And my house is all the way expressway! Can't stop &amp; comfort baby!

Goldfish: Take care, bb will be strong &amp; well soon! Don't beat yourself yah? Hug!</font>

Goldfish: Hope your bb will be fine n healthy!

hair dye: its ok to dye hair. http://www.llli.org//FAQ/hair.html

millie: i feel tat life policy can wait till BB around 1yr old. Now we bought NTUC hosp &amp; surgical plan for our BB. Cos they will be more prone to illness n may go in n out of hosp more often. *touchwood of course*

<font color="119911">blackberryB - thanks for explaining the variants for huggies. Kieran is now using Huggies dry and dry comfort and Pampers. Am also using up the last of Nepia cos I bought a whole carton last time. Nepia doesn’t fit him anymore and if he does mega poo-poo, then the risk of leakage is pretty high!

On your question on car seats – we love our Safe &amp; Sound (Britax) – this is the Meridian version in dark grey. Bought from Cheong Choon for $599. Kieran falls asleep the moment we put him in, cos its all soft and plush. This can be used up till 4/5 years of age.

Flos (flos) – wow, I feel so suaku. Have not been to Orchard for shopping for ages now!

Meanwhile, I have already colored my hair. No one mentioned not being able to when BFing. Oh well, I colored my hair when preggers (2nd trimester onwards) anyways!

LC (faintz) – I just invited you on facebook!

Millie (millie22)- we just bought 2 policies for Kieran from Prudential – one for whole life/critical illness/childhood diseases, another which is an endowment (Savings) plan, but includes coverage for illness etc as well.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) – hugs! Praying for good results from the test results!</font>