(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mummies, relax! anyway, if write in also no use then just try to forget it and start planning for next pregnancy? lol! anyway, i agree with Shazz that the real gem is our baby! all the others are just extras le!

haha.. ya loh, agree with Goldfish and Mrs Yap! If infant/child care centre increase price, the increase of the subsidy really is of no help! SO CRABBY! Feeling hot now.. got to take off my jacket man!

Pity those due in Dec man! They are really so close!!!

GOldfish: I think gov prepared the answer already..anyway they need a cut off time. If want to fair to everyone this new rules should apply at least after 10 months...this is mean to encourage parents try to have kid now!!!
OR effective on Aug that day itself for all the unborn mummies can enjoy it. Why half can enjoy and the other half CANT!

oh no.. read about wat u all write..
for me, i'm a 2nd time mummy.. i really feel for all of u..
for me.. I'm sales person.. so no difference for me..
dun let this affect all of u k.. take care mummies..

Can ask anyone know wad is this - Grandparent Caregiver Relief (GCR) (Working mothers whose children aged 12 and below are cared for by their grandparents can claim the GCR of $3,000)

wad is this ar? is it for tax relief????

another thing is, we are entitled to the new tax relief for Parenthood Tax Rebate (PTR) and Qualifying Child Relief (QCR) and Handicapped Child Relief (HCR)?? it states that its effective for tax assessment 2009. Applies to us or not?

<font color="119911">yan (bbfam) - YA2009 refers to your income earned in calendar year 2008, so yes, applies to us all.

The Grandparent Caregiver Relief also applies if we send babies to the ILs.
The $3k is offset from your chargeable income before tax amt is calculated.
Not that bad overall, did a quick calculation &amp; am saving quite a fair bit in income tax for FY2009</font>

Bigtoes, is the parenthood and qualifying child relief for BOTH parents? cos if its just for my income is so low. no need these. need it for my hubby's income!!! i think Grandparent Caregiver Relief is only for the mother's income tax relief ba. disappointed that its not for father. no point deducting from me since i dun need to pay much tax. zzz...

Another announcement: sunrays just delivered Princess Charlotte at 1408. Both mummy and baby are fine. Will update later when birth details comes in!

Congrats to the Pangs!

GRATZ SASA! baby max's soooo cuddly! sasa's in the background ya? saw bb's mouth look like her!! So exciting ya!

GRATZ TO SUNRAYS TOO! hope to see her bb pic soon!

i think, at least if govt announce got new plans for baby benefits are coming starting from JANUARY 2009 first, then let everyone know the details of the additional benefits later, lesser ppl will get so agitated lor.

now they let everyone see the goodies, and keep everyone in suspense on when its starting. then now throw 1 big bomb say only applicable in 2009. give everyone such a huge disappointment and angry over it!

conclusion - govt not tactful enough in handling this lor!!!!!

skinny_pig: will be your turn very soon!

updating of table: If everyone is ok, I'll do it till I pop, then someone take over. I'll take not of the details to be updated, update on my copy, and then update on the thread, say once a day. If not, like storeberry pointed out, our thread will end up with many posts of the table if everyone edits and updates as and when! Then our archive will be super thick! haha

Wow - 2 babies in the forum now
Early Sept mommies are starting to pop!!
kao_babydust2.gif

JenKate has also delivered right? Any updates from her?

Shazz - yes, u are our appointed "details updater". Thanks! But u are also delivering by early Sept, so have to pass the sheet to someone else (due in late Sept) after that. Btw, PM me your mobile - i will sms you when its my turn (which seems pretty soon now!)

dear ladies, there is a meet the people session tonite to see mr lee at:

Blk 322 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
#01-1928
Singapore 560322

who wants to go?

Phylicia- Dec MTB Thread

wow..so exciting! someone has popped!

shazz: can update my details?
lemon, delivering in RH, my baby's a BOY.

i am hoping to deliver in 1st sept. same birthday as my hubby.

sure lemon! who's your gynae? when's your EDD? mine also at RH, hoping to pop on 1 sep too!

Oops, i juts saw, it's Dr Tracey Lim on 17 Sep yah?

wow, congrats to sunrays!

bb head engaging
can we safely presume that as long as bb's head isn't engaged, we v likely aren't going to go into labour anytime soon (presuming no other complications)? can waterbag burst before bb is engaged?

Shazz

Wow.. u seems to be like the paparazzi leh!
Sasa baby looks cute! Can see Sasa smiling broadly behind leh!!
Bt I still cannot visualize how my does my bb looks like a bb when come out leh
kekeke

congrats to sasa n sunrays!
Baby Max really has a v cool hairstyle...

shazz,
can help me to update my details? my edd is changed to 19Sep n i'll b going for c-sect wz epi on 7Sep, thks!

Stiff Fingers
i'm also suffering frm stiff fingers n its especially bad in the morning when i cant even bend my fingers w/o 1st massaging the joints. Doc gave me vit B to take twice a day n it seems to help a little.

Updating when i pop
who shd i sms/call when i pop? hope to meet someone frm this thread when i'm in hosp, at least can kill some boredom

Congrats to you sasa!!!! MAX is really cool leh!!

Sunrays? Can show us Charlotte's pic?!!!

This is making me sooooo excited!!! I can't wait to see my son too, though I'm guilty to say I've not thought of a name for him yet!!! GOODNESS GRACIOUS!

shazz: with you going to pop soon, we need a channel that is accessible to all to 'self-serve' mah...can't trouble u/Rachel to update details forever...E.g. open a multiply blog and ask people to upload their own babe's pic lah...else, so leychey for u.

blackberry: "If want to fair to everyone this new rules should apply at least after 10 months...this is mean to encourage parents try to have kid now!!!"

I second your views!!! Let married couples start making love tonight; dun penalise us who hv already contributed to the Nation!

Bigtoes: Since you're a Finance gal, ask u this question: So if how many kids can a pair of Grandparents "help" to tap on the Grandparents Tax Relief? If one of your siblings is already claiming this type of tax relief, can u still claim against the same pair of grandparents?

I dun feel so much pain in losing the $6000 CDA for first born lah...it's co-savings after all, right? Meaning u also need to deposit $6000 before the Govt gives u the equal amount mah...

The one-time $1000 Baby Bonus is, well, forget it lor...just too bad. Go trade in stocks and shares to make it back lor

I do appreciate the infant care centre and child care centre subsidies though.

6-day CCL: If I join a company in Nov 08, the 6-day CCL is to be consumed from date of joining, Nov 08-Oct09? or will it be prorated for the remaining calendar period of Nov-Dec 08? (I know unpaid IFCL cannot be prorated). Will I be given 6 days for the remaining 2 mths of 2008, and then, be given yet another 6 new days in the year 2009? That would be shiok man

Anyway, I'm thankful that the eligibility of ML has been reduced to 90 working days, from 180 days.

Petition: I think no need to write in to appeal lah...It's the Dec mommies who will feel the pinch, not us...Moreover, the govt needs to introduce a cut-off no matter what right?

Some more questions to ask.

How can the govt track to see if we send our children to the grandparents to be taken care of? Can we claim the Grandparents Tax Relief for this year even though we give birth in September?

For the 6 days CCL, does it need to be accompanied by any MC for the child or we can just claim it whenever we want?

Eve: noted!

Flos: it's ok lah, whoever receive MMS from any mummies here can just post pictures with permission of the mummies.

Me very clueless with blogs one ... haha

Updates from sunrays: Charlotte weights 3.59kg, 51cm in length and head circumference is 31cm

<font color="0077aa">Wow, baby Max has stylo hairstyle!!! Haha!!

Congrats to Sunrays!!! Must post pix soon! Wow, BB charlotte is a champion bb!

Thanks Shazz for the update!</font>

Breastfeeding talk

Who's going for the talk? Anyone wants to meet up for coffee (or juice) before/after the session?

I'm going there by myself as hubby wont be able to make it...

alabone
o dear. your this preg really eventful!! keep us (and me!!) updated ok. hope and pray that lil cadence will be ok.stay in the womb longer. try not to worry too much, it doesnt mean she has to stay NICU if she is below 2kg. just as long as she is healthy and vital signs are good, she doesnt have to go NICU.

sasa
wow, yessss///i love Max's hairstyle!!!!!hahahah...cool dude lah!!!

sunrays
congrats!!!!!!!!!!!so exciting!!!

flos
can answer on behalf ...

only one child is entitled to grandparents relief.you can file but will be rejected lo...pity hor or can liaise with whoever it is each take one year...kekekekkeke...

mummies!!!
we are seeing the photos of bbs liaoz.cant believe it's out turn so soon...

though i most prob will have to wait longer.haiz. am in a panic mood now. getting many stuff for crafts to entertain my boy during OUR confinement :p

have prepared enough materials to last us a month!!!mummies with kiddoes how are you going to entertain your first/second born during confinement??

wingkei:

CCL: no need to produce MC. It's in the FAQs that someone posted above.

bacon&amp;eggs: nevermind
i'm sure the moms will blog/upload the pics to FB when they are discharged...

rxmom: u added ur name? is it for AMK residents only? I wonder which women PM Lee had spoken to to come up with such measures. The 4mths ML is really running contrary to all the paternity responsbilities they hv been expousing...

I saw littlebluey's draft letter in your link, and think the writer(s) are overly reactive lah...

I believe employers really need to time adjust to the 4mth ML and find replacements to cover preggers' duties, so Jan 09 is reasonable.

At most after reading all the appeal letters, MCYS can backdate the bb bonus and CDA disbursement date to 1 Aug 2008, as they had done so (i.e. backdated from NDP speech) previously in 2004.

But I can tell u, MOF has all these planned a long time ago liao, i.e. since Budget Day 2008 in Feb 08. They never budgeted for Sep-Dec08 mommies' bb bonus, CDA, 4th mth ML, 3 extra days' CCL (cap at $500 per day per parent), and all that subsidies. Sorry

That's why it must only be effective in Jan 09, so that they only need to pay this small pocket of mommies using the remaining budget of FY08.

Dun forget the part of the budget that Tharman of MOF gives to Vivian of MCYS also needs to pay for those 3 table tennis silver medallists wor...$750,000. Plus the unexpected win of YOG hosting job this year. kekeke!!

I still think blackberry's suggestion is the best. Effective 10mths later if they are genuinely trying to encourage married couples to procreate. Let those stubborn career-minded yuppies get moving and make babies tonight and benefit from the incentives that will come into effect in May 09.

lilboymum: tks. I'll investigate this week to see if my SIL has 'choop' my inlaws for that relief thingie. She is a freelance real estate agent. Wondering if she can claim relief off her own parents? Darn...hers is 'external grandson'. Mine is 'internal'. Better let my DH claim sia...

wondering how govt knows if the baby is physically parked at the old folks' place or not?

Flos,

Am already going to be on 6 months leave (3 month ML, and 3 month no pay leave). If I am going to get 1 more month of paid leave, all the better.
So it's not affecting my employer alot. And the other time, the employers had been able to handle it, why not this time round?

For me, the loss is the additional $1000 bb bonus (for 2nd child), the 1 month of paid leave, plus the parenthood tax rebate of $10,000, plus other smaller benefits ....adding all up, would 'cost' me more than $20k liao.

First time moms and third time moms especially could be losing out more than me...

Wow one day away from computer and so much going on!

Congrats Sunrays!!!

Had gynae visit today. babies put on more than I expected and are now 2.7 and 2.8kgs at 36wks.

Alabone
Hope to hear good news from you (i.e. no placenta abruption) and see you back on the forum!