(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Mrs T & Bigtoes,

My bb at 32.5 wks is 2.3kg. Gynae says she's way too big. Luckily I do not have GD, nevertheless gynae is still very worried and has warned me to watch my diet. I've put on 9kg so far. I'm also very worried now, esp aft knowing your bbs' weight, mine is like exceptionally big!

ooops sorry abt the mistake SMA and SMC. In any case, i second ava's post..to get ex-gynea to react, complaint must be made to where it would hurt his profession.

All said, i think most important thing is that Mrs Yap and bb are doing well now and are in stable condition. Pls send my regards to her. Wont be able to sign on the card..as I am not gg for the outing. Ladies, enjoy your high tea..have fun!

Pain at V area
I get it too - since 3 weeks ago! and now it gets worse..i asked the gynea if it is a concern, he said it could be bb seating on some nerves ard that area...i am gg to ask again at the next visit cos it is really painful..

xuanting,
your schedule looks tight..but still got chance
if it finishes by mid/end aug, u still have abt 2 weeks to move..my suggestion is to start packing your stuff early aug..ready for the move. 2 weeks to my move, i only have 5 pcs of work clothes set aside..the rest goes into the box..v kan cheong..

seats on MRT
any chance if we ask the person if he/she mind giving up the seat cos we are preggie? will they give up the seat? My personal experience is that man tends to be more sympathetic to pregger than woman..eg my colleagues...the male colleagues will wait up or check if you are ok. The female colleagues just march on..(esp colleagues who are already mommies)..i guess they assume you can manage..

Hi Angeline

Just saw your post, your bb's weight seems around the same as mine.. in a way feel relieved that i'm not the only one, heheheh.. but why Dr Paul thinks yours is ok but my gynae is concerned.. haiz, confusing!! & worrying too!!

<font color="aa00aa">Dear mummies attending the gathering,
Tmr is the 'load on the calories' day,hehehe... hope u gals are looking forward!! Like wat Flos mentioned, if cannot make it pls PM me by tonite cos tmr morning I'll be out so no access to internet. Alternatively, if really last min cannot make it, pls call Canele @6738-8145..look for Gabriel &amp; get him to pass the message to Mrs Pang(me lah)..the nametags no prob lah, i'm juz gonna write down on sticker labels

<font color="aa00aa">July 19, Sat 3pm-6pm for tea at Canele Patisserie, #01-09 11 Unity St, Robertson Walk. Directions to the shop can be found here - http://www.canele.com.sg/shop.htm Robertson Walk's carpark entrance is along Merbau Road</font>

dmbb: your baby is indeed the champion in terms of weight right now! ;)

Just saw gynae for checkup too. I've put on 4kg within a month and total weight gain is now 15kg! arghhh ... I can't help it leh, get hungry so easily. Gynae told me to watch it, and to limit my weight gain till I deliver at 1kg! How is that possible?!

Baby is weighing 1.95kg at 32 weeks 2 days. Gynae said will stick to EDD of 9/9/08 and we'll see how he grow nearer the date. If baby is too big by week 38/39, gynae will induce birth.

Also met the co-ordinator from SCBB to sign the forms and answer the screening test. SarahMay. hubby need not be around if you know his family's medical history. The questionaire is rather lengthy and detailed, be prepared to set aside at least 30 mins to go through the forms.

Gotta go to hospital to visit hubby's granny now cos she's admitted in ICU due to emergency operation due ulcer in intestine. Sigh, pray she'll pull through to see her first great-grandson. Would avoid hospitals since she's in rather critical condition, I better go see her.

See you mummies tom! Will rem to bring the spree items!

bacon&amp;egg, mine is not so painful to that extend..but uncomfy.. and sometimes even when turning over in bed, i can oso feel the ache.. like machiam i worked all the V muscles hard! ahhahaa....

dmbb and angeline! my goodness!! ur babies are definitely very healthy ;-)

sunrays, I'll pass cash over to you tmr okie?

stef&amp;sean, thanks for getting the card for us. I think someone was mentioning she works beside NUH and can pass over to mrs yap for us right?

Hi Shazz,

I'm now cutting down on my carbs, almost zilch. quite scared now, esp after reading last Wed's article in Mind Your Body tt big babies are not necessarily good news ... gynae told me to eat more veg &amp; meat.

<font color="0077aa">dmbb: Your BB is of a good weight!!

Shazz: I will most prob be meeting SCBB people on my next gynae appt as well. Oh dear, just heard about your hubby granny, will pray for her healing, take care especially now you are preggy! I remembered when I was 3-4mths preggy &amp; my sis was hospitalised, I was fetching my parents to hospital almost everyday, was super draining &amp; tired!

No news yet from Mrs Yap, will update again.

Thanks stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) for getting the card!! </font>

I just went for my 34 weeks check up yest. My gynae told me my baby's head is already half engaged, thus he has brought forward my EDD from 28/08 to 23/08. I was totally shocked!!!

Guess it would take another 1 or 2 weeks for the head to be fully engaged...

So many posting, can't really catch up. haha..

Storeberry,
her gynae is just being childish &amp; putting his career at risk! Dum*As*!!! Poor Mrs Yap. Can really understand how she feels. Suppose to be a joyful occasion but now she has to go through all this mental stress! hai..

Shazz,
hope your hb's granny will be fine. (",) But I'm still quite surprise that my gynae didn't ask me to watch my weight when I've already increased 20kg at 33weeks!! haha.. You only gain 15kg &amp; your gynae already reminding you. Hai..

dmbb

phew...i thought mine was odd 1 out...but gynae kept saying is average...but i oso scare too big baby lei...but the gynae told me very funny...he dun want the bb cum out too small oso..haiz..so contradicting..

skinny pig

so good..bb half engaged liao..mine cfm Head down liao n gynae say won't be changing...at least tt satisfy 1 of my criteria for vbac...just hope it will engage soon...

HI all about giving up seats. Now when I took train or bus, most of the time ppl give up seats, even there is no ppl give up the seats, when there is ppl giving up seat, ppl beside me will show me the seats. of cos there is also time i need to stand al the way, lucky my stop is just form yishun to toa payoh. Also realise ppl giving up, are ladies

There is an incident my friend had. She was on the train when she saw the lady look like pregnant. so she decide to stand up and let her take the seat. then this lady talk very loud back, I no need the seat cos I'm not pregnant. This made my friend very paiseh, cos ppl around is trying their best not laugh. so she alight at the next stop.

<font color="119911">dmbb (dmbb)-guess there is no 'correct' weight. As long the baby is healthy, should be okie
After all, Angeline's 2.4kg @ 33weeks, and mine was 1.6kg @32wks, and both gynes said the babies are okie sized. I was only 2.4kg myself at birth (full term), so I guess cannot be too greedy &amp; expect baby to be big!

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - thanks for getting the card!</font>

Visits
Mine are fortnightly as of this coming visit (i will be 33 weeks at next visit).

Crayonshinchan
heheh! I make "guailan" suggestions but actually, i am quite shy one. But, if really tired I just look very very tired and lean on the rails...and usually some knd soul will let me sit. anyway, I think most will be too embarassed not to give up if u ask nicely

Anyway, MRT rides are a thing of the past for me now...I can barely walk/stand 5 mins without panting or getting back ache, so i take cab/get driven everywhere...

Baby weights
Wow, the weights all sound v good
So far I have put on 12 kg...but since i am carrying around about 3kg worth of babies...am quite pleased with myself...

altho with the return of my sweet tooth and strange inclination towards spicy oily foods...I may put on more in coming weeks!

Angeline
Yah, apparently yest and today are super duper packed for Paul...luckily i went to see eunice on Monday for my somewhat-panic-induced CTG and checkup. Did he say anything about the baby weight affecting the VBAC attempt?

Kel
Paul never asks me to watch weight one!!! I put on 17kgs last time.

The only thing he tried to talk me out of was whole head hair colouring...highlights better he said!

l'l cy, it's actually my old place with a new feel, i think i can settle down quite quickly. besides, my housemate smokes and the smoke seeps into my room too. i feel guilty enough inhaling all the second hand smoke now; don't want bb to have to breath smoke when it's born too.

ava, great minds think alike! i often "accidentally" elbow or stab inconsiderate people with my brolly also. not my fault they are in MY way! hehehe.

crayonshinchan, possible wor. read somewhere that bb's head can engage as early as 33wks. when is your next visit? will be able to know for sure by then.

flos, so it was $258 in total at tmc? the ding ding who answered the phone told me $250 + $85!!!

can tell who your bb resembles more or not? i can't really tell from mine but i've been looking at the photos over and over again.

need to move back la. more convenient back in own home plus want bb to be in a smoke-free envt. my place is also a lot closer to useful places like coffeeshops and supermarkets. got movers la, and as for unpacking, worst case scenario will be just unpacking the bare necessities lor.

what was the damage for the dior and armani outfits? can buy many, many x brand rompers u know! but i also covet them la. but look longingly from afar only lor...

bacon&amp;egg, dh said he will push the contractor. on our end, we're trying to quickly finalise things so we don't contribute to the delay also. keeping fingers crossed!

shazz, thanks for lugging the spree items over tomorrow.

storeberry (storeberry
Yes i have to undergo the emer c-ceaser cos was bleeding heavily. Placenta was all the way up for all mu checks so gynae was abit surprise to learn that its me who's placenta bleeding profusely. But since my gal is near to full term and with the amt of blood he ceaser me within 30mins. All in all happened too fast for both me and hubby to react too. The next thing i know is my bb is out and im lying in the ward.
There is a 5% of reoccurence so im corssing my finger and have been talking to my boy to be quai quai to stay till full term (of cos the placenta as well). My gynae was also v careful with me now, he will be giving something medi to mature the bb lung for my next visit, i just dunno how hes going to administered it..

Oh cant join u gals this sat cos will need to send my gal to class on sat. Anyway im staying in SK and working in NUS so any mommies who is convenient can pass to me at any station along NEL if need be..

Ava,
ya lor. I mention to him that I gain alot. &amp; I look very big now. He's say subsequent pregnancy will expand faster &amp; bigger!! haha. But imagine gor my twins I gain a total of 20kg only. Now only singleton exceed 20kg he never say anything leh.. Just say baby is average. haha.. I guess he's more concerned about baby being in the average size. (",)

I had a bad experience once on the mrt train. Guess I was around 6mths+, stomach was obviously showing. Then this mother &amp; daughter pair was so rude. Daughter was around sec sch age. Wanted to give up her seat but her mum stopped her!! OMG, I cannot imagine a mum telling her girl not to give up seat to a pregnant lady. I just stand infront of them, hoping that some kind soul will give up the seat. I was so angry I snapshot their pics &amp; I wanted to post on stomp!! Or mass email out.. haha.. But i didn't lar.. After anger subsides I feel it's a waste of my precious time!! haha.. but aiyo, kids nowadays do they still have moral education in school?

My hit rate for seats not totally 100% lar, but so far after that mother &amp; daughter bad incident.. it became better. haha..

Jen Kate
Med for baby lung devt is usuallyu a steroid shot (to the bum). I hear it hurts tho, so be prepared....i might need one meself, cos of likelihood of earlier labour/premie due to twins...not looking forward to it...and have not spoken to gynae about it eiter.

Ava,

Thru the bum? Haiz...siao liao.. bum damn big and ugly now..but its the pain im more worried..really painful? One shot only?
Urs is due to the twin preggy but this time round theres only one bb right? Still need the shot? Me into my 32 weeks...u?

Kel
Well, at least the kid tried to give up her seat...this gracious society thing all boils down to what we teach our kids. if we are ungracious, likely kids will be too and vice versa...so we need to take first steps ourselves...

Jen Kate
No mine is twins this time (31-32 weeks now also), hence preemie likelihood. Kel is the one who had twins first time round with singleton now...my son was 1 week overdue...well ripened..so maybe with that history dont need to take..see what doc says at next visit!

I heard its painful ...but i guess depends on individual...just tahan lor. should be over fairly quickly :p and some people take a few jabs. think max is 6x.

wah 6x? Why do they need to take so many jabs? Hmm..my gynae only told me 'im giving something to your bb to mature his lung when he is 32 wks' he din mentioned abt the pain and the no. of times..guess i have to be really mentally prepared, my gynae is those who wants to be on the safe side type.

OO..oops..got mixed up but i heard twins are normally born preemie but all seems to grow up well so no worries..and since ur first is well ripened..

ava

ya..last visit he did say that smaller babies will have higher chance of vbac..so imagine my shock when he told me my bb weight...my #1 @ birth was 2.7kg only lei...but my previous gynae did estimate it to be over 3kg...but then my last gynae every visit will nag me to watch my weight..untill i so sian of eating coz my hb will nag at me oso...last prenancy, i put on abt 14kg only lei..some of my fren who put on more than me oso nv say anything..guess it depends on individual person...

I just returned from yet another session of Kenko
This time 60min altogether. Feeling very relaxed right now.

xuanting: The damages at Kids 21 are not that bad cos they are on 50% sale right now. One top is $129-159 (before 50% less) depending on the designs and size. I bot a DKNY dress (12mo) for my niece for only $50.

How come you have a housemate? He smokes? U should've moved out a long time ago. Yucks.

Yes, $258, and I've no FBI card...I feel that he looks more like me!!! At certain angles, where the signal is poor, u actually get a rather distorted view of the bb. Altogether I received more than 10 diff 4D clips, and about 20 still shots. I'm not too satisfied with the scan. There wasn't enuff amniotic fluid at certain angles/positions, so can't capture his face clearly...nevermind...

aloevera: Mine is FORTNIGHTLY visits from now onwards.

ambb/Angeline: Wow, your bbs are really the champions!! Great weight!! My BB's last weight gain since 3 weeks ago: 1.174kg -> 1.864kg. My weight gain is 0.8kg since 3 weeks ago. That means the weight gain is NOT mommy's; it's BB's!!! kekeke!!

Ava: why r u thinking of colouring your whole head now? Can u not wait for your twins to be born? So stinko, those dyes!

skinny pig: wow, so early engaged. My sonographer told me it'll still move, though mine is already head down.

TOSSING/TURNING in BED: I can't do that easily anymore!! My pelvis hurt!!

Flos
I'm so tempted to go Kenko, since u reminded me it's around the corner from me. whats the name of the lady there again?

I have major white hairs!!!! i even have a rogue-style (as in X-men Rogue) white chunk in front (not as thick or cool as this pic but similar)...maybe I should keep that... hehe

1566905.jpg

flos, we needed a place for a few mths and there was nowhere else to go. hard to find short-term rental plus we have a dog, so were delighted when this friend agreed to let us have a room at her place. thankfully, our dogs get along v well.

ava, i spotted some henna type dyes in guardian, supposedly peroxide and ammonia free. maybe u can go have a look?

ava,
you're very comical leh. haha.. Tahan till after delivery lor. I tink confinement can dye hair bah. At least you got a fresh new colour for man yue. ("<)

ava: wow!! u r soooo free ah!! White Hair Diva.

Her name is Sunnie. But what's the point of going now? You're already working from Home now!! I still hv a few more weeks to mill around TP, so I decided to go to a non-sleazy place to nap and snore. Dun feel like lunching with my colleagues anymore cos my jaws need a break from office talk

xuanting: okok, quickly move out!!!

Hair coloring - its only advisable to avoid coloring the hair during the first 4 months. Since then, I have already colored my hair twice...just make sure the dye is not left on for too long.

Hey mommies, and sunrays,

I won't be able to join you all for the gathering tomorrow. At am home actually, cos my son is having high fever. Doubt that it will clear by tomorrow, though I wish it will! So sorry, to myself also, to have to miss the gathering and all the fine food!

Bigtoes,

How about rebonding of hair? When can we rebond hair? I permed my hair 2week before i knew about my pregnancy, and i don like my permed hair...cant wait to rebond my hair liao..

<font color="0077aa">Flos: You are on a shopping spree!!! I still haven't get my butt off to go MIM to shop for nursing bras! Aiyoo...

Sunrays: Thanks for organising this!! Was msn-ins AVA yday &amp; both of us were thinking about the feast this week!! Kekek..

Jenkate: But glad that everything is fine now &amp; your bb is growing well! Don't worry too much about this pregnancy!</font>

Grace Toh (rain_toh) - am not sure about rebonding cos I have never rebonded or permed my hair in my entire life. What's wrong with ur permed hair anyways - I am sure it looks nice

<font color="0000ff">aaarrrgghhh... now my MIL thinks it's better I get a CL. and worse still recommended me a webbie for PRC CL...</font>

I will like to sell away my playpen with matress. Is brand new condition. Any interested mummies, pls kindly PM me.
Selling at only $70. Thanks.

Features :
-ideal for new born.
-comes with mosquito net
-Bassinet
-Carry bag
-little prince print
-Playpen size: 43cm x 31cm x 30cm

Original Price: SGD$125.00
Mattress is $19.90 (Bot additional from kiddy palace as the orignial playpen is selling w/o mattress)
1567370.jpg

Bigtoes - I'm so use to striaght hair, cannot accept the after permed look, especially after I wake up from bed....I look like lion king.

Have been bunning up my hair since Jan, can't wait to have my hair straighten again...think I've to wait till my baby pop liao...

hi all, im back frm checkup.. put on 2kg, total put on weight is 7kg and minnie is 1.9kg now at 32wks! next checkup will be in 3wks time, then 2wks then 1wk, 1wk, 1wk.. v fast, gynae told me its another 8wks to pop..!

Hiyall
So for those we are going for the makan session tomorow.. cya there!!

I have not been checking the forum since yesterday afternoon. ANd i think i am in foul mood when agitated. I scolded a sales staff @ Royal Selangor yesterday and i scolded my IT guy yesterday and today. Manz.. bt i feel better ventilating out! kekek

hello all - what a week! So hectic but am happy I finally have time to log on and check out what's been happening!

Shazz - I don't think I will trouble Ava so I'll pick up from you from Bugis one day. I stay in the east any way so will pop by Bugis for lunch.

CL - just got to know that my CL fell really ill so I have been recommended to someone else. Sigh, have no idea how this one is like (the previous one helped my sis) so just hope for the best

Cheong choon delivery arrived today! It's an indication that we ought to really start building up the nest. Like many of you, I haven't unpacked any of the purchases, let alone wash the stuff. AHHH!! *panic*

Ante Natal Class - Went to the 3rd session of the mount E one yesterday and they showed videos of ACTUAL BIRTH processes. I am quite traumatised. I don't know why they do that.....I immediately thought maybe I should go for C-section under GA!! The images --- eeks!!! (btw, I'm one of those who can't watch like documentaries about operations and such....). There was no censorship and there were zoom-in shots of like the crowning and stuff....AHHH!!!

hi there!
Back home from town. Hv bought the Get Well card for Mrs Yap, but not a very big one though. Just the normal sized one. No wordings inside, so i guess there should be enough space for all of us to sign.

see you gals tomorrow

<font color="aa00aa">stef&amp;seanbabes
Tks for getting the card!!

RXmom
noted..wat a pity u can't join us!!

Our Sept thread is super happening!! We have 29 adults in total! Cya all tmr!!</font>

kel (optimus_ke): my gynae gave me a weight gain target of 10-12 as I'm rather petite. so she raised her eyebrows when I overshot by so much and my 4kg per mth weight gain is really too much! haha

Flos: just saw your post on Club21 kids! good deal! I was there at Paragon yday and was tempted to get a Paul Smith t-shirt for my sonny, but the size is so small I decided not to get it.

thanks to all, hubby's granny is recovering well from her emergency op, but due to old age of 87, it'll take a while to get out of the critical period, need to ensure there's no infection etc. As it is, her lungs already got some fluid, so the doctors are still keeping close eye on her.

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) : thanks for getting the card!

Storeberry: The walldecor bo seng li leh.. Think we scrap lah.. Or we just take our time to surf and shop, and until there is enuf orders, then order ok?

Hey, I stay very close to NUH actually.

<font color="0077aa">Mickey: Aiyoo.. so jia lat? Ok ok, no prob!

Shazz: Glad that your DH grandma is fine!

Lanolin: Yah man, Still have quite abit to do.. Will do some washing tomorrow. But being me who like to procrastinate, don't know if I can get my butt off to do it!

I just did up my earrings stand!! Not a stand actually, just put up some pins on a cork sheet &amp; stick it on my mini wardrobe. Super satisfied!

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg): Thanks for getting the card!

Sunrays: Yah man! Sept mummies super happening! Haha</font>