(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mei,
thanks for helping me fill in the blanks..

okie. here it goes. all nicks tagged to faces

http://www.flickr.com/photos/limyg/2687174629/

<font color="0077aa">Momoko: I added you as well!

Alabone: Your features are still so sharp!!
Are you in my FB? I cannot remember liao...

Meie: Bingo!!! Yah fantastic memory!!

Is Gail on FB as well? What's her nick?</font>

<font color="119911">lanolin (lanolin) &amp; crayonshinchan - i missed the session at Parent Craft where they supposedly showed a couple of british women giving birth :eek:P I am sure I would be equally traumatized - in a way, opting for the C is my way to avoid the pain.

crayonshinchan - I am doing C with epidural (they don't usually use GA unless its emergency C). More scary than a GA cos you are still awake during the surgery, but the plus point is that the hubby can be in the room during the delivery &amp; you can see/hold the baby immediately after as well.

storeberry (storeberry) - Gail = lovely cloud</font>

Bigtoes, I think both ways are equally scary! And my sis went through both.. hahaa... and for me, I guess I'll let nature decide..

And epidural numbs from the waist down or from the pelvis down or wat? And all the way down to the feet?

And to have hb inside i guess its a definite must. but that is provided they dont faint first lar! hahahaha...

<font color="0000ff">*drool*....

I missed a great party on Sat. Looks like u mummies &amp; a couple of daddies had lotsa fun and great food. sob sob, I couldn't get to enjoy...</font>

lanolin, wonder if the video u watched at Mt E the same as the one we watched at TMC's class. Also a bunch of Brits birthing?!! Actually, the more e.g. I watched, the less afraid I've become!! Immnue...

I've added both lilboymom and GOldfish to my FB liao!!

Jessi: what is your FB contact? Can't seem to find u!! Your hb's photos are well-taken!!

SarahMay: jessi had used Photoshop to add those border and wordings. Layer the pic on a Background, and add the TEXT

Limay - you're very wise to have missed it coz I wasn't warned and when they started, I thought they will like...censor the worst part but I got to see everything!!!!! Even my husband felt that I shouldn't have watched it.

Now, even though I won't be seeing what's happening DOWN THERE when it comes to my turn, the images will be floating in my mind! argh.....

Epidural C - Just don't think about it. Don't anticipate too much coz u have to go through what you have to anyway. I'm trying to psych myself up that way!

lanolin, when i saw those videos during my antenatal class, i'm also freaked out. but luckily we won't get to see it by ourselves during our delivery unless there's a mirror infront. hehe..

l'l CY and goldfish, i had added u both in FB

stef&amp;seanbabes, wow.. thanks for tagging the pic with the nicks. hehehe..

flos, u can add me in fb: [email protected]

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) : you can use normal detergents but I'm not sure how those will react on your baby's skin. Some babies got more sensitive skin than others. I was told the Napisan is really good at removing stains and yet ok for baby's sensitive skin. I'll use Kodomo liquid detergent for the coloured clothes and bedding, and Napisan for his white clothes or anything that kena a stubborn stain.

crayonshinchan - I think it's from waist down. I have heard of stories of fathers fainting but I think it is still a minority!!!

Flos - yes I think it's the same videos. U're good. I confirmed cannot be doctor type coz I can't even watch the medical shows on Discovery channel. I wish my reaction was more like urs - immunity vs added fear!

stef,
thanks. but i think you confused me with someone else?? i'm not expecting twins leh. i've only got jared and nat but they are not twins... yes. discussed contraceptive methods with my gynae. going to continue with what she previously suggested. mirena. you?? i simply cannot afford to have a fourth kid.

storeberry,
i think you've got me on facebook. i also cannot remember. anyway, can add me for the others? [email protected]

lanolin,
thanks for your nice comments. sadly, i'm not young anymore.

<font color="0077aa">Jaymickey: Yes, just saw it.. Just now haven't login to msn.. Kekek..

Haven been having sleepless night.. Yday woke up twice.. Pelvis &amp; buttocks getting more painful..

So limay &amp; Shazz: Ok found Cloud=Gail already. Haha.. And who is Tammy Yap in FB??</font>

Alabone,
oh..i'm mistaken. i thought Jared and Nat are twins.
so ur combi is like mine.. 2 gals and a boy.

i should be going for the mirena too, as what my gynae recommended.

mommies, can I just check whether its ok to just dump all the baby clothes to wash in the washing machine? Do i need to "clean up" the washing machine or something?

I rem recalling someone talking abt it.

lanolin, kekekee..my hb says he is very worried abt not being able to take it when he sees the bloodied scene.

stef,
yup.i remember you said you were going for mirena too. if i had been there on sat, my kids would have loved playing with yours. how old are your boy and girl? jared's 3 soon and nat's 1.5yrs.

crayonshin
i think shazz said before that it's better to wash/rinse the drum first before washing bb's clothes in it. if you are using adult's detergent, don't put in too much. nb's skin could be sensitive to it.

not many men can take it. my hb also said if i were to do epi c sec, he won't be able to go in with me... but i think i'll drag him in. how can he leave me in the lurch???!?!?!

storeberry,
how's mrs yap? any updates from her?

add me on msn too! [email protected]

jen kate,
i'm going for GA c sec. but i didn't opt for it. i've slipped disc and scoliosis so it's the only way out for me. you won't feel the pain for both c secs. just that for epi c sec, you can feel the pressure when they pull your wound open and when they tug bb out. they'll let you know all these. also, after the op, you won't be able to feel your legs and all from waist down.

for GA, after the op, you have to go to a recovery for a couple of hours. i think according to my hb, i was there for abt two hours. after that, the nurses will pat you on the face or tap you on the shoulder to make sure that you're awake and then they will wheel you back to the ward. but you'll still be very very drowsy. for my last GA op, i was like drowsy for two whole days coz of the drip where they put in my painkillers also.

if you want to breastfeed immediately after op, GA wouldn't allow you to do that. i didn't breastfeed until the middle of the night for my last surgery.

hope my info helped.

Alabone,

My last was GA c sec, like u say goggy for at least afew hours. My gal was in NICU so no diff even if i can breastfeed cos shes not able to leave due to premie..but i do recover slower as compared to those who went thru natural..

U will feel the pressure when they pull the wound and get the bb out for epi c sec? aiyo...i think thats the part i cant take it..and epi c sec is more exp it seems..so u have to go thru GA c sec again becos of the pain u might feel from ur injury if its for epi c sec? Haiz..am still pondering..

Alabone,
my gal is 4yrs 4mths and my son is 2yrs 8 months.
my son is abt same age as ur son! i think they would hv made good friends

I hope to go thru natural delivery w/o epidural again this time. But Sharmaine is still in breeched position. hope she turns around soon.

<font color="119911">stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - u are so brave!! You went thru natural without epi the first 2 times? wow...same as Isabelle then - she also went totally natural
That's like at the other end of the pain spectrum - and I am at the other end, opting for the easy (C-section) way out!

lanolin (lanolin) - actually, i am not easily grossed out by the blood, just that i think i have a very low threshold for pain; what if i faint 1/2 way thru pushing out the baby? I don't mind C section &amp; being awake thru the surgery, as long as i don't feel anything (other than the dull tugging &amp; pulling sensation). Hubby already promise me he won't faint in the operating theatre!

Jen Kate (mommycozyhaven) - would gynes recommend GA with C if its a planned C? Thought GA comes with higher risk &amp; they would rather avoid it if possible. My fibriod removal was on GA thou, but recovery was v quick. Surgery was at 9+am, and I was already back in my room &amp; awake by 11am...not groggy at all.</font>

bigtoes,
yup, i went thru natural w/o epidural for my 1st 2 pregnancies. i'm actually very scared of the knife!! between natural and c-sec, i would choose natural. the pain is not that painful.. it's just like very intensed menses cramps.
not too bad.
If Sharmaine does not turn by 36 weeks, my gynae will help turn her, and if still not successful, gynae says she can do breeched delivery for me. but she says i hv to be very cooperative, as in i hv to wait till i'm fully dilated before i can start pushing.
well, i will do anything to avoid c-sec. I'm really scared of the knife.

HI Bigtoes,

Higher risk? Previously mine is emer c sec so no choice but to go thru GA c sec cos my gal was already in abit of distress..not really a planned c sec but gynae and me was hoping it will be cos my placenta bleed previously..my gynae din mention anything abt higher risk just that he did tell me that epi c sec recover faster and can breastfeed immediately somemore hubby can go in as well. But what im worried i will be freak out by the pulling and tugging sensation during abd after labour. HUbby also din dare to go in leh..he damn scared of blood but my gynae say 9/10 mummies choose epi with c sec so i also abit paisay to say i prefer GA c sec..

Steff&amp;seanbabes,
Oops.....i forgot the lady's name sitting near us at our table...she's sitting a the corner in front of ur hubby...any idea her name ??

Goldfish,
thks for praising my hubby
he will be very glad to know.
His patience didn't come overnight though
i think parenthood will somehow teach u to be more patient and less hot-tempered. Dun worry, it will come naturally.

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - i guess i am okie with going under the knife cos I have done it before, &amp; it was no big deal the last time. Different strokes for different folks

Jen Kate (mommycozyhaven) - check with ur gyne, but yes - generally, the risk is generally higher for GA.

between epi with c-section and GA with c-section, I'd really be freaked out by the former!! i think i watched too much horror movies liao
E.g. victims who received LA and had their organs stolen or disemboweled while being awake. Was it Silence of the Lambs or Hannibal? *eeeewwwwee*

Natural is still my preferred choice. So many timid scaredy cats I know bore with it and popped one after another.

Flos,
I'm not the quiet sort haha...it's juz tat i am sitting too comfortably to move around and was chatting wif those mummies sitting near me wor...

Momoko/I'll CY/Goldfish,
Added u all in FB.

Abalone,
Pardon me for my ignorance....how do we wash the drum in the washing machine...chia lak...i washed some of my bb's stuff in the washing machine, but din wash the drum wor. Will there be any effect on my kid ?

stef&amp;seanbabes, me too, i'm really afraid of the knife. i'm also afraid of episiotomy though not so much now that i know they numb the area with LA before snipping. am hoping for natural with no epidural and no episiotomy, same as sarahmay.

Jen Kate (mommycozyhaven) - actually, i didn't check the price difference. But i think C sections are generally about $1k+ more expensive cos they need an anesthetist. My anesthetist fees was $1k for the fibriod removal.

xuanting (xuanting) - if you aren't opting for the episiotomy, does that mean you rather have a natural tear? The Dr at the talk mentioned that 90% of Asian women would require an epi.

Anyway, think we are all scaring each other!! Now both the GA, LA, and natural birth sounds equally bad!

xuanting: no episiotomy? But Nurse chong says u will get a jagged tear (1st-4th degree depending on how big your bb's head is). It's harder to stitch back and is ugly. Asians' perenium is less elastic than Caucasians, so the push might result in a jagged tear, if 1st degree, might even cause incontinence in the long run.

Get your gynae to stitch it up for u tightly and neatly. Your sexual activity will not be affected. Your vagina will be as tight as a virgin's, I was told by closed gfs

heee. xuanting.. like wat i said on Sat, I hope that by the time i feel enough pain to go to the hosp, I'll be sooo fully dilated that I can just pop and go! ahhaha...

I'm also afraid of the injection of the LA lor! Hopefully,its those where we can just swipe with cotton wool and ta da, the area is numbed!

And also the pain after the numbness has worn off!

Die liao lar!

bigtoes, i'm actually hoping for no episiotomy and no natural tear! tall order i know... was SO disappointed when i heard that 90% of us aren't so stretchable so a neat snip is recommended to prevent several untidy tears in dif directions. trying to read up abt perineum massages now...

I have been reading this guide and it suggested that we can massage the perineum area daily 6wks before our EDD. This can improve elasticity.

But I think gotta ask hb to help to massage. I guess most of us are unable to do yoga poses now. The instructions are at home and if you ladies are keen, I can post it at night. heee... i read out the instructions to my hb and he went like "errrr.. ok, I'll try my best" hahahaha

flos, i think i will indicate in my birthplan my preference for no episiotomy but if deemed nec by doc, to have her administer it without telling me. i'm one of those scaredy cats whose imagination is enough to drive meself nuts.

hee. bigtoes is right.
i think we are all scaring ourselves.

for episotomy, your gynae will know best what to do. Anyway, you wun feel your gynae snipping or sewing u up cos the contraction pain would numb you.

normally for 1st time mummies, episotomy is required. cos that area still so tight and taut.. for mummies like me, maybe a slight tear will do
also depends on how big the baby's head is.
aiya.. dun scare yourself. your gynae will know best what needs to be done.

crayon: yah, but HOW? can u be more explicit? Massage that small piece of skin with your finger by kneading it?!! won't that trigger early contractions? LOL

xuanting: then the gynae will resort to forceps or vacuum, u know right? It will depend on his 'gungho' liao to manouevre the head w/o hurting the baby's head.

heee.. something like tat.. if i rem correctly, we need to stick our thumb into the V to press on the walls of the perineum to massage. Abt 2mins each time.

thats why my hb was like "errrrrrr..." hahaha.. will go check out tonight the exact instructions..

flos, assisted delivery only for when bb's head is too big right? i wonder when we will be able to know if that's the case.

do docs routinely measure the bb's head and the mother's pelvic bone closer to delivery?

xuanting: I just know from the parentcraft class that if u opt out, the gynae's mettle &amp; skills will henceforth be tested!!! He'll twist and turn until the head &amp; shoulders can come out w/o snipping ur perineum!!!

I gotta know from my week 32 scan abt my bb's HC and BRD. The pelvic bone dimensions can only be measured via some advanced x-ray machine, but if ur gynae didn't request for this, u dun need to, I suppose...My colleague's hips are very narrow (lucky her) so hers kenna forceps.

Hearing your conversation just reminds me of the time when J#1 was almost due!! Hahaha, but honestly, labour process is really not that scary and i would say one of the easiest part of motherhood cos it's one-off and your gynae/mid-wives will help u. Just follow instructions!