(2008/09) Sep 2008

Millie,
Mrs Wong's class - Wash towel (small squarish ones) are for bathing bb. The big towel are for wrapping bb after bath and there are those swaddling types for swaddling bb when sleeping..

sasa de mouse: Oh,$25 was what I heard from Nurse Chong...But that $25 could be the price quoted as part of a normal admission for labour.

Your $45 is probably becos it was an out of the ordinary admission in the middle of the night wor...Even your single ward fees are higher!

Bigtoes: Oh, Nurse Chong never promoted anything to us either! only asked if we were interested to buy Mrs Wong's 3 books. She refused to tell us which milk powder brand to buy. She is unbiased. But she did tell me to buy RIDWIND instead of GRIPE Water.

Delifrance wireless? But it's sooo cramped. Luckily my hb got Blackberry and GPRS. I dun think I would want to surf the net. Sure very sleepy one...Will bring my iPHONE there to listen to my MP3. There is cable TV in the one-bedded though.

<font color="0000ff">Flos
oohhh... no wor.. i did my CTG at 3pm leh.. so not middle of the nite. n the fees were for labour ward.. not the single normal wards. think labour ward charges are much much more exp coz u are constantly under observation bah.. n most imptly.. make use of their equipment</font>

sasa: wow! goodness gracious...no wonder Mrs Yap moved to NUH...let's all pray for a smooth delivery. dun want to incur unnec higher costs.

<font color="119911">sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - take care okie! U just reminded me not to walk too much (which i think I do for a preggers woman).

Flos - i think i would be bored to tears in the room! Have to sign up for their internet access, then at least I can update mommies here post delivery (since mine would be one of the first few in the Sept forum).
The last time when i went in for fibroid removal (stayed 3D2N), i don't remember there being cable TV even....ended up reading a whole novel in bed!

Btw - was googling on CGT &amp; came across this section on how to avoid overdue babies - "Sexual activity – A woman’s orgasm causes oxytocin to be released, as does nipple stimulation. Oxytocin is the hormone that causes the uterus to contract. Semen also contains prostaglandins, which can help soften the cervix."
Does that mean its best to abstain from now till closer to delivery incase we end up with premature contractions? :eek:P</font>

ya lor.. can't imagine how much the costs will add up to. let's all wish for the best!!

Bigtoes
Thanks! n u better not walk around so much le. dun take things for granted like i always do. sighz.... now i'm like a prisoner.</font>

Bigtoes
Usually ok to continue unless u r at risk for premature labout...but to be safe, better abstain till the last few weeks say 37th week onwards...

Bigtoes: But if it's natural birth, we'll be discharged pretty soon right? Anyway, I sleep like a log even when I'm not preggers!!!! I am definitely going to be okay just reading those tabloids and magazines.

I wonder if we must place the increasingly hot laptop on our bump/lap or on some "bed-table" (what do u call those)? If you just had c-section, you can't possibly place the laptop on the bed by your side and surf sideways right?

In the preadmission package sent to me by TMC, I thot I saw "a seleciton of CABLE TV channels" available in one-bedded wards. Sasa, is it correct?

Really hope Mrs Yap will pull through. And all the MTBs, take care!

I was very easily irritated after delivery, hence, I'm very firm on getting a CL. Much easier to manage than flaring at my mum or MIL.

I delivered abt 6.5 hrs after my water bag burst (mine was induction case). It was initially 1 cm per hour but started speeding up in the last 2-3hrs. So really depends on individual.

Bingo!! I was able to watch HBO, Cartoon Network and can't rem wat other channels le. haha... but selective ones lah.. n it's not on for the whole day de

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - natural birth shd be 3D2N, 4D3N for C-section, barring any complications for both. They have the bedside table (for your meals) - can use that for ur laptop.

Hwr, not sure if its possible to sleep well in the hospital cos their bed is super hard!! I asked the nurse abt it, and she said they had it like that cos incase there are any complications/emergency, they can just operate on the patient on the bed, so it has to be solid enough. I don't remember much pain from my fibroid surgery, just a horrible bed that made my butt numb...had to keep changing positions.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Flos: No, Mrs Yap didn't say that her placenta was deteched from uterus just that its bleeding.

Ava: Guess she was too distressed to sms back. I sms her yday also no reply. Only got her msg this morning.

Mummies: I think the new gynae is way better!!! Hope she will feel more assured under the new gynae! It would be good if she can go home &amp; do bed rest but till now still can't yet.. Anyone want to go &amp; visit her?

Sarah: its not too late to wash bb's stuffs! I gotten some washed clothes from my mum, going to washed the rest of the new clothes I bought later this week. I think I am going to wash once only.. Kekek..

Sasa: I am going to smack your backside!! Haha... Don't walk too much, unneccessary!!! Must take care my fren!</font>

sasa: was the TMC bed really so terok? hard hard? Anyway, I expect myself to be woken up by those Parentcraft lactation consultants every now and then. I'm sure they'd carry the baby to my side to help me latch bb on. YOu request for "DO NOT DISTURB" if u like, but usually, the nurses on patrol will encourage u to let them go in and inspect u in the middle of the nite. They said there was one case where the mom fell asleep without realising their bb's nose kenna blocked and suffocated by their mommies big boobs.

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
oops.. haha.. *ouch*, pain lah.. :p yeap yeap.. will listen to u de. now sitting down most of the time wor. but still feel the tightening at about 15 min intervals.. sighz...

Flos
eerrmm... i tot the bed was quite soft leh.. den makes creaky sounds each time i shift, so irritating lor. Anyway, yah, i think dun expect to get a good nite's rest wor. They came in almost every 2 hrs i think to take my blood pressure n temp.. tat disrupted my beauty slp, haha

hi storeberry,
thanks for your update on mrs yap. i hope her bleeding stops soon and she can go home to rest. i can't imagine her hospital bill if she has to stay there till delivery...

sasa de mouse,
you must take care too. better lie on bed and rest all the time now.

bigtoes,
for natural birth, do they stay so long? coz my friend who just gave birth two weeks back, was discharged the next day afternoon after delivery...

alabone: actually for natural it's not really 3D2N. On the third day, TMC will chase u out before 12noon. U only get to eat the 3rd morning breakfast. And if you're admitted in the afternoon, that's like half the 1st day gone...
Just like u stay in a hotel...

My SIL had c-section last Fri, checked in TMC on Fri AM, chased out on Mon before 12noon. 4D3N, that's what they meant. She was starving like hell cos there was no more lunch on Mon. That explains why she was showing black face to everyone.

alabone
replied

TMC
I wasnt chased out last time cos i told them i wanted to extend my stay...dont remember the bed being v uncomfortable..

thread really moving fast. Just finish reading all the posting after mine. (",)

Qiuling,
Thanks! Btw, that's what I heard. both my friends mentioned that it's more painful. One tahan for both pregnancies but the other one op for epidural for her 2nd child. But she say too late.. baby came quite fast. Drug haven take effect yet lor.. haha

mickey,
ya. the movie is gd. (",) But I know transformers stuffs are ex. Those you get from departmental stores for kids. I saw 1 set at $200++. BTW, where's your meet up point for the walldecor?

Vhive: AMK has a very small branch. Where's a bigger branch for me to take a look at the items they sell? Any1 got the exact location? I saw some1 mentioning it too be at jurong issit?

Bigtoes,
You right regarding sexual activities. I stop when I'm around 5mths++ preggie. My fren wanted her daughters bdae to be the same as her son but her doc refuse to help her to induce. I told her to try having sex to trigger it. It's worked. Only thing is that baby girl came out 1am the next day. So missed the date by 1hr only lor..

hehe, not literally 'chased', 'booted' or 'shooed' out lah...but u noe wat i mean...it works like a hotel. U will 'chase' yourself out by 12noon, otherwise u will be charged one more nite's stay, according to my ParentCraft nurse

<font color="0077aa">Any mummies can help me for Mrs Yap's case?

NUH have been trying to get her ex-gynae to get her reports &amp; previous surgery ops record but he seems very busy to entertain them. He told the NUH doctor that Mrs Yap have the report when she doesn't! The NUH Dr is angry with the kind of attitude the gyane is giving.

And even now when the Senior Dr call her gynae, he is still not free to fax over the stuff. She call him, he also don't want to answer &amp; nurse say he is not free to find her report. He claimed that he will call back but NUH waited for 2 days alr! She is thinking of sueing this gynae and needs all her complaints consolidated from the forum cos some she cannot remember liao. NUH is going to help her with this...

Can some kind mummies help me to find the complaints &amp; email me? Maybe we can do it in batches. Search for Mrs Yap from the forum &amp; email her complaints, (Can you all copy the whole post as in the date &amp; time of the post as well &amp; paste in on a Word document or in the email?) I will consolidate it. Pls copy &amp; paste if you are helping, thks! Need it ASAP!

My email: [email protected]

Feb:
Mar:
Apr:
May:
Jun: storeberry
Jul: storeberry

Momoko &amp; Alabone: I realised that I replied abt housework woes meant for Momoko but I addressed it to Alabone. See post 425. Sorry!

Storeberry: Are you sure it is not too early? I'm worried that I'm bit too early. The clean clothes might just collect dust. I have soooo many nappies and clothes already. I cannot believe the gall of her previous gynae!!! Poor Mrs Yap!!! I don't mind helping but how to search? I a bit 'bodoh' at this.

Sasa: You must be spanked!!! Why walk so much! You better guai guai lie in bed and rest!

BB detergent: Just to share, I found a rather economical brand of laundry detergent that is formulated for sensitive bb skin at NTUC. On sale, only $3.75 for I think 750ml or 1 l. UP is 5.60. It is plant-based and from an australian organic company. Phosphate and enzyme free. The brand is PURITY.

Storeberry; emailed you the May one. Let me know if need more help. Just that I dun have my own internet connection now. Wil do whatever I can.

goodness! the ex-gynae ought to be exposed on the media for being unprofessional!

would love to help but am very busy this week. storeberry, will let you know if I can help out tom!

<font color="aa00aa">storeberry
nothing much in feb or march cos i think she started complaining abt her gynae recently.. but i emailed you a few posts in march, hope it is useful.

Feb:
Mar:sunrays
Apr:
May:sarahmay
Jun: storeberry
Jul: storeberry</font>

STOREBERRY: what does she intend to do by gathering all the random posts on her gynae in a public forum like this? She is using not her real name, but a nick 'oneboyonegirl'. Besides, she did not mention to Xuanmommy her gynae's name. We know him only as Dr Lim.

Does she want to compile all her posts to help her recount what actually happened so that she can draft her complaint letter to SMC?

I can help to scour thru the APRIL 08 ones but there aren't a lot of complaints about Dr Lim if u go back as far as Feb 08.

Don't need to search like siao. Just key in 'oneboyonegirl' and select 'NAME OF AUTHOR'. Specify 'last X days', and look under 'Year 2008 and later Moms". It filters for you all Mrs Yap's posts instantly.

1563006.jpg

Bear in mind I found some posts in April about her playing football, having a fibroid removed before, a slipped disc history and also her low placenta condition at week 12. All these could be used against her if the gynae too comes to this forum to dig!

Ava: Maybe u can offer Mrs Yap some legal counsel?

Just saw what has happened...

if she is gathering infor on negligence of doc..highly possible.

storeberry
just get the more relevant accounts on medical negligence. whatever she has done or not done is no important if she can prove that the doctor has been negligent in his care.

i can only say that the doc is sue-able..other than negligence, for all expenses, as well as for possible future medical complications (difficulty in conceiving...) caused by his blantant neglect (i rem acc to yap, the doc required her to furnish a proof of her bloody pad to show she has been bleeding?)

NUH should be able to help.

Re: mRs Yap...i can't give any legal advice cos it's not an area I know a lot about and I have been out of practice for 8 years..however, i have a friend who does practice medical negligence...I can ask her what Mrs Yap needs to have/know...

<font color="0077aa">Hi Sarah, sunrays &amp; Flos: thanks!! Yah she is trying to remember the sequence of events to draft out a letter. Because now she cannot remember much also... So far I received Sarah one, Flos &amp; sunrays, you emailed me already?

Yah man, the gynae really unprofessional. She had bleeding recently when the gynae was on leave &amp; another lady gynae took over &amp; asked her to be hospitalised &amp; checked on her 3 times / day. However when her gynae is back he sent her back home immediately. &amp; he didn't bother asking what happen. And Mrs Yap was re-admitted again in the night, she called him &amp; tell him she was having contractions every 5mins but he sounds very sian &amp; told her he will see her the next day! Aiyooo... very jia lat!!

Ava: Any advice??

Shazz: no prob!! Thanks for asking!</font>

Storeberry
I have asked my friend via email, but because she is a practitioner, i dont know how much "unofficial" advice she can give. will update you all as soon as i hear from her. Will call if she doesnt reply, altho we r not v close, so...dunno what she'll say just yet.

STOREBERRY: yep, already sent to both FB email and hotmail

who has Mrs Yap's My Melody blog? Did she write anything on her blog?

<font color="0077aa">Thanks Flos!! I received! I forgot your msn, so was wondering if the person Am***a on my msn is you... Kekek.. Confirm liao..

Ava: Thanks dear!</font>

omg! mrs yap's previous gynae is such an a**!

flos, i just browse thru mrs yap's blog, there's only one post in May where she said that her gynae not able to give an answer about her bleeding. those previous blog posts about her gynae in the earlier months, seemed like he is quite ok leh..

if mrs yap needs any legal advice let me know, one of my good friends works as a para legal in a law firm..

sunrays, have you received my payment?

Sorry to hear that Mrs Yap has to go thru such ordeal. Can her hubby go down to the ex-gynea's office to retrieve those reports instead of waiting for them to fax thru to NUH?

How about lodging a complaint to Singapore Medical Association? http://www.sma.org.sg/index.html
If it involves the licensing of the ex-gynea..maybe he will get his wake-up call and do something abt the whole ordeal.

Poor Mrs yap to have to go through this when this should be one of her happiest period in life.

Well, guess what, gals? I told my DH about the statistics for mothers falling into post natal blues and depression after giving birth and his reply was, I'm only scaring myself reading all these stuff. *Bang my head* How dense can a guy get?

BTW, ladies, I'm afraid I will have to disappoint you. I am not able to switch my schedules around for this Saturday such that I can go to the gathering. I'm so sorry about that and disappointed too.

Flos: you're brilliant! I never know how to search for stuff in this forum, cos it's not that user friendly to me! or perhaps I'm just too dumb! haha

Pray that everything will be in MrsYap and Melody's favour.

In the meantime, we should not label the gynae with any names, especially after Flos pointed out that he could dig into this forum for evidence too.

On another note, we're so close to seeing our little ones! Some mummies in the Aug thread have popped ... once they're through ... it'll be our turn! 8)

shazz
your post a bout the aug moms popping then it being our turn reminds me of graduation from school in batches...haha.

aug mums???
so soooooon??? now im getting the jitters thou mine may be one of the latest ones at sept29...

shooosh...there are so many things not done...i havent even bought a single thing!!!!!!!!!wash her brother's old clothes, pack a place for her in the wardrobe etc...

i only managed to secure some newborn toys from a friend who wanted to throw them away!!!gosh..havent even set up the cot yet...dun even know where it is now...arghhhzzz

really hope things all turn out well for mrs yap and melody. is her dh taking care of everything relating to the complaint? don't think she should be stressing herself anymore at this stage.

me did my 4d scan yesterday and it was $220 so very well spent! we were in there for ages and the sonographer really tried dif ways to help capture some lovely angles of my bb despite my having an anterior placenta (in front blocking most of the view!). she also did a growth scan and checked all of bb's major organs and gave me a report, some films plus a cd of both still and moving images. and o, my bb has moved head down! doc said although it may still turn itself around upwards, it's likely to stay like that till delivery.