(2008/09) Sep 2008

Oppz… only get to read abt Mrs Yap episode now!!!
Storeberry, is there any more follow-up that we need to do for now?
Let us know?

I was wondering whether we shld get a GET-WELL card and get it signed on Sat and send it to Mrs Yap for encouragement!!
She is still hospitalized now rite?

Btw, what abt Melody?? Something happened ?

<font color="0077aa">HI thanks everyone! I think Mr Yap is helping his wife on all this &amp; also the Doctors from NUH. Hope the ex-gynae will faster send the reports over cos this is an emergency case. I feel there is not need to be so ego &amp; childish over such things...Like purposely trying to delay NUH from getting the reports.

Goldfish: That's a good idea! Yes, she is still in hospital, not sure when can be discharge. Melody is still "guai guai" in her tummy, hope she don't come out now.

l'l CY (lilboymum): Don't worry, my EDD is 5 sept &amp; I haven't get the cot from BIL yet, some of the new clothes I bought also haven't wash yet, hospital bag not packed yet, so you still have time.</font>

i'm also a bit kancheong that my home renos may not finish in time. dh even asked me to prepare myself mentally, ie i may have to do my confinement in our rented room! trying my best to stay positive plus make chop-chop decisions so things can move along quickly. still so many things i can't do cos the house is not ready. agh.

<font color="119911">Yes, we should sign a get well card for Mrs Yap this Sat.
Is someone planning to visit her next week?

l'l CY (lilboymum)- You still have time! I am delivering on the 30th Aug, so would be one of the first few here! Have not washed any of the clothes as well...&amp; nothing prepared for my post-confinement (for shower etc)...hubby said he can get all these after the CL comes, so am letting him settle that.

Wingkei - its too bad u can't make it for the mommies' gathering

xuanting,
understand your anxiety..i was too rushing my hse reno last month and everytime there is a delay, i get hyper-stressed and will scream at the contractors, suppliers etc.. Is it possible to get the basic reno up first? eg. lighting, painting, and built-in cabinets done?

Sad to hear abt Mrs Yap's story ! Hope she is resting well and dun think so much. Let's pray that her bb will only arrive into this world in 2 mths time.

Bacon &amp; Eggs : U mean there are 2 types of big towels. I remember there is only 1 type of big towels which Mrs Wong promoted and she used it to swaddle bb and these are out of stock ( I think she only brought 3 packs last Sun).

So how's Mrs Yap now? I really think we should black-list her ex-gynae &amp; inform all new mummies or ttc mums to beware of him. This is regarding a little life leh.. Where got pple so irresponsible.

Storeberry, have they receive the report they require? Or that stupid gynae still purposely delaying it? If i'm him I wouldn't be so dumb now.. Patients nowadays know what rights they have &amp; what kinda treatment/attention should be given to them what. He's risking his damn career. *hai* Poor Mrs Yap.

BTW, i quite new to the thread, so how many weeks is she at now?

Hi xuanting,
I'm also rushing my reno. But I think mine should be ok. Coz I only want to move in like 1week before man yue. Unless my baby comes early, I should think my reno will be done in time. But usually full reno can be rush within 2mths. Try to ask hubby to chase your reno firm lor.. Don't over-stress yourself. (",)

Im working in NUS just next to NUH. Do let me know if you gals have anything in mind to give Mrs Yap. I can just walk over and pass to her.
Me too in my 32 weeks and have experience a previous episode of placenta bleeding for my first preggy which leads me to went into emer c-section at 36wks4 days..Thats one exp im sure all preggies mummies wont want to go thru...

<font color="0000ff">Oh no, i juz read abt Mrs Yap's case. If there's anything else I can help, do lemme noe yah..

bacon&amp;eggs &amp; kel, my home renovations quite major. they're still working on the roof so flooring etc can only start after that's done. trying v hard to keep to schedule but we keep finding that a beam or pillar is in the way of something, and have to stop and think how to deal with them. hubby's dealing with the reno stuff mostly in order not to stress me out, but i still need to be involved in lots of things like brainstorming for solutions to new problems and selection of flooring, fittings and furniture. i really, really don't want to do my confinement here although my housemate's a really nice and chin-chai person. v awkward lor.

kel, mrs yap is abt 30wks now.

Hi xuanting,
Can understand how you feel. Afterall, confinement is own home will be better. But there's much you can do, just hope the contractors will understand the urgency of this project.

Re: mrs yap.
Did doc give her jap or pills to mature baby's lungs? If baby really has to come out early, I feel that it'll be better for both mum &amp; baby. Anyway now premmies grow as healthy as full term baby. They just need extra care &amp; attention for the 1st few months. Let's all pray &amp; hope she'll be alrite soon. Mental stress also not gd for her now at this moment.

Storeberry: Hope Mrs Yap is ok. Let me know how I can help.

Kel: Collection can be from my place at normanton park or at raffles place. If item is not too bulky/heavy, can opt for postage also..

xuanting,
understand..usually it is the mistress of the house who decide stuff like color, fitting selections.. Whats the latest deadline given to your contractors? Not a good idea to move 1-2 weeks before you are due or after birth..U should be too busy and tired taking care of your newborn to move. Unpacking is terrible..

Any way to ask your ID and contractor to hurry? Work OT?

Millie,
I bought 3 types of towels from Mrs W's class - one small squarish type, 1 swaddling type and 1 terry bath towel type. She should bring stock in the next lesson...if not, she will bring stock to any 2nd last class..maybe u want to check with her this Sat? (if you are attending her sat class which happens to be last class for my batch - started 21 Jun)

recently seem hard to seem at night cox baby seem to be kicking upwards and making me hard to breathe sia.. trying to sleep on my back or side also the same

Storeberry,

I m Mrs Yap's personal fren and would very much like to help her.. I hav look thru the archives and from Mar08 then she started posting here.. I m helping to check here and there.. Will email u when I got more records here..

Mrs Yap's gynae is really an A**h***!
How did he ever become a gynae?

Mrs Yap must be feeling super stressed and depressed now.

Storeberry, do tell her to stay strong!

I have been feeling some dull aches around the V area and the lower part of the bum. Esp when I am standing up. Anyone having the same ache? Is it bcos baby is pushing down?

Hi storeberry,

I can only consolidate Mar08 record rite now cos my bb boy just woke up, need to attend to him.. If u need anymore help I will help when my boy is sleep again..

Mrs Yap
Hi, a friend of mine says since her bleeding was caught early and nothing has happened to her or baby , even if she sues, damages will not be much and lawyers' fees would not be worth the trouble.

however, to scare or get doc where it hurts, lodge complaint with medical board - like what bacon &amp; egg said.

anyway, she has 6 years to sue if she needs to...statute of limitations allows u to sue up to 6 years after the fact.

pls send my regards to mrs yap if u ladies going to visit her. thanks!!

maybe when u all meet up this sat, everyone can sign on the card! =)

<font color="0077aa">Jen Kate: Oh dear... So your gynae suggested e-csection? I hope Mrs Yap's one will stabalise. Thanks for the offer! Will discuss with the mummies on sat, so you joining us on sat?

bacon&amp;egg: If her ex-gynae is doing this on purpose, even her husband go down &amp; make noise also can't get things done.

Kel: Still haven't received the reports, he called &amp; complain to Mrs Yap why he should give so fast when last time he requested Mrs Yap report from NUH they also asked him to pay &amp; wait for 3 weeks. But come'on, that wasn't an emergency right?

Mrs Yap was surprised with our effiency in emailing her the stuffs. Kekek.. She wants to say thanks to Sarah, Sunrays, Flos &amp; Ava for helping &amp; also other mummies who have help in one way or the other.

Powergal: Thanks! We have gotten all the posts alr.

Ava: Thanks too! I will sms Mrs Yap this.

Crayonshinchan: I have been having dull pain at my pelvis, think cos of bb's weight.. Everything I get up from the chair will feel the pain.</font>

bacon&amp;egg, my edd is late sep and we were hoping to finish by mid-aug. now even end aug looks v tight but will keep pushing the contractor. as long as can move back i'll be v happy already. i'm even prepared to only unpack whatever i need first and leave the others to later.

crayonshinchan, how many weeks are you now?

who's getting the card for mrs yap?

storeberry
My friend also asked:

"when ur friend was bleeding.. did the doc give her progestrone or any injection to protect the pregnancy

he wld hv discharged his duty had he done that

bleeding in PG can be caused by a myriad reasons and he wld be hard pressed to guess that"

<font color="0077aa">Anyone can help to get the card? Cos I don't pass by any bookstore abit difficult to get the card. We can share the cost as well. Thanks!

Mickey: Any orders for the walldecor? I haven't send you the orders cos don't know how the response..</font>

storeberry, this gynae is ridiculous! got time to call mrs yap and complain but no time to go retrieve her records? sounds like he's purposely delaying it – must put this down in her chronological events of the whole matter.

xunating
you sure u wanna do confinemnet in a new place with dust hardly settled? coz can be quite disturbing for your hormones leh...new place, new surrounding, new bb...etc..

complaints...
shouldnt be informing on this...eh, but complaints not filed against SMA leh, it's against SMC. coz SMA leisure group nia...not all docs are registered with them anyway...SMC disciplinary body...

but frank hor, unless suay something goes wrong, difficult to sue docs coz think they are still guarded by bolam's law or something??not sure about this tho...

but for the moment guess all thes enot important lah. most import is melody and mrs yap are both safe and sound!!!

am going down NUH for gynae next week, if jenkate cannot make it, can also help pass it to her
btw whos her gynae now?

<font color="0077aa">AVA: Mrs Yap reply to your questions:
"when ur friend was bleeding.. did the doc give her progestrone or any injection to protect the pregnancy he wld hv discharged his duty had he done that

bleeding in PG can be caused by a myriad reasons and he wld be hard pressed to guess that"

No, he just say no prob. He even look like he doubt my bleeding. He did not give me MC too. No jab &amp; no rest.

The Dr did give Mrs Yap medicine in the begining of her pregnancy when she was spotting. Buit the recent two mths bleeding I think nothing was given.

l'l CY (lilboymum): Thanks! Will let Mrs Yap know.</font>

i just wanna share that: people still give up seats for pregnant mummies!!!

the last 2 times i was on the MRT (morning rush hour), each occasion also got people give up their seats to me. the best part was yesterday - 3 people willing to give me their seats on the same crowded bus. so for my last 3 public transport attempts, my hit rate is 100% :)

my conclusion is: civil-minded young chinese guys are a myth - they dun exist. these kind samaritans tend to be male foreigners or ladies of other races.

since i'm going to the gathering tmr, if anyone of u interested to look at the wallables, i can bring along mine. maybe you can make a better decision then. must inform me b4-hand.

twendy
That's really something nice to hear on a Friday morning!
I guess it is up to us as parents to teach our kids these basic values &amp; civic-mindedness. I intend to teach my son to be gracious, stuff like clearing his own tray at fastfood restaurants (which me &amp; my hubby always do), giving up seats to the elderly &amp; preggies, holding the door open for people, etc..

<font color="119911">twendy (twendy) - for the last few occasions, people have been giving up seats for me in the MRT too
But these are ALWAYS women (older ladies in their 40s - i guess cos they have been thru pregnancies themselves &amp; understand). Local Sporean men only offer seats if they are prompted by their wife/gfren....if not they would feign ignorance!...and at 8 months preggers, they can't possibly not tell the difference between being preggers &amp; fat right!</font>

<font color="ff0000">SUNRAYS
Can you pls repost the address for tomorrow's gathering here? Thanks! Btw, I will pay you cash for 2 pax tomorrow.</font>

twendy &amp; bigtoes, i'm not as lucky to get seats in the MRT as you both. like yesterday while going home, i have to stand till almost half my journey before someone alight and i took that seat. before that i was standing beside a young lady when someone infront of both of us alighted and she rush to the seat and just close her eyes. it seemed like during morning and evening peak hr more difficult to have people giving up their seats as compared to weekends and off peak hrs.

Seats in pub transport
With our extra weight, i think a nice "accidental" squashing of toes will send the right message across... of course, must follow with a "So sorry!! I an so clumsy since getting pregnant!!!!"

BTW I thnk the stupid taxi rules are really contrary to wanting people to get pregnant! Imagin have to walk from e.g. Winsland House to Centrepoint to get Taxi in my state!!! Extra minutes of dust, traffic and extreme exhaustion and they want more women to have babies...my ass. Train the drivers to stop safely lah!!! *grouse of the day*

gosh! so sorry about mrs.yap's situation. i'm praying that she will feel better soon. storeberry, do let me know if i can help in any way.

went for routine scan yesterday. doc said everything ok. at 32wk, baby is 1.78kg, but i've already put on 12kg!!! guess all the excess weights just go to my big butt and thunder thigh....

just signed up to donate cord blood to the public bank too. the whole process took about 1hr (cos the lady was so chatty and of 'cos i have lotsa questions to ask too). apparently, if the donor himself need to use the stemcell in the future, it is FOC (subject to availibity of cos). if siblings want to use, costs about SGD3k. if use other people's costs about SGD26k (for local samples) and US 36K (for overseas samples). just some info to share.

bumped into hubby's friend few days ago...he called hubby the very next day to ask if i'm preg or just being fat! he said he didnt want to mention in front of me just in case i'm just fat! but i thought should be able to tell a lady with tummy like santa's if preg or not maa....geez! man!!! so, bigtoes, there are still men outthere who cant differentiate between fattie and preggers.

i would also like to wish all mommies who are attending the gathering have a wonderful time this saturday.

<font color="119911">Mrs.T (mrst) - wow, ur baby is a nice size!
Mine was only 1.6kg at 32 weeks, and I am already up 9kg! Hopefully weight won't balloon too much more these last couple of weeks!
Hmm...i hope people don't just think I am obese then! Argh!! But I guess it depends on what you are wearing really. Maybe u bumped into his fren in a loose fitting top? I stick to elastic cotton-y dresses most times, so its obvious I am preggers (I hope)!

Ava - hah, heck care with the new regulations that cab have to stop at designated stands. If you flag off the road at the CBD area, most times, they would still pick up anyways

meie,
how can it be? think we shld look REALLY preggie by now... unless yours is a girl, then it's not so pointed... =) alot of ppl commented tat i look like a "FISHBALL ON SATAY STICK"... haha!!

last week, my boy weighed @ 1.749g @ week 30. i'm seeing my gynae next Wed, wonder how much he's gained...

mtbs/mummies,
have your appt with your gynae been scheduled to fortnightly by now? mine told me tat i'll start to see her every 2 weeks during my last appt. so i guess those mtbs hitting their week 30 shld also be scheduled to see their gynae more often, if not, maybe can ask... =)

good morning to all, and hv fun tmr!

storeberry, mine is not at the pelvis area, its really more like at the V and the lower bum..where we sit on.. is it cos I sit too much? haha..

xuanting, me ish 33wks now and baby was 1.8kg last week.

actually i think some pple just want to be on the cautious side.. just in case the lady is not preggers.

It also depends on what we wear. Sometimes my colleagues will say that I dont look preggers on certain days due to my dressing. And I take it in a negative way! haha.. cos it wld mean that i've put on 10kg of weight without looking preggers!

aloevera, mine is every 3wks for now.. the next visit will be during my 35th wk.. Now i'm into my 33rd wk.

MRT: lucky me, my hit rate has been 100% ever since I hit my 6th mth
Just thrust your belly in their face lor.

also went for my so called growth scan ytd (sasa: "A5" is TMC's own code lah). Am happy that at week 31 4d, my baby is 1.864kg (4lb2z)!! Good weight
I've put on 0.8kg...did the prick test to check for glucose...also did compulsory vaginal culture test to see if there are any harmful bacteria present in the vagina. Amniotic fluid was suff., placenta is in the upper right posterior position, urine is normal, sugar level normal as well.

Oh well, All's well...And my EDD according to the growth scan, remains the same. Not earlier, not later
Good to stay on course...Dr told me to target for 3.2kg bb.

xuanting: it's strange that in the end, my 4D test was only $150 per the invoice. Another $108 went to the Dr Cheng-made-compulsory 'growth scan'. My bb wasn't too cooperative ytd, had his hands and feet covering his face most of the time...worse the slimy umbilical chord was floating all over his face! no luck for my second try even after the sonographer asked me to walk around downstairs for 30min...decided to call it a day cos dun wanna expose myself too long to the 4D scan machine.

Why are u moving house? Can u avoid doing such strenuous activities?!!! tsk tsk...

shazz: Horrid me, bought one Baby Dior and Armani Junior top for my son, as I was shopping for a gift for my newborn niece!!! Arggghhh...spent $ again...Also grabbed 3 babypink-laced nursing bras from Thyme Maternity at $29ea. Cheap cheap...but need to remove the underwire cos it'll be very uncomfy later.

DRINKING COCONUT JUICE to make bb cleaner when delivered: Checked with my gynae ytd. He laughed and said NOT TRUE AT ALL...the nurse beside him also chuckled...

Storeberry: How's Mrs Yap? Sounds like a David vs Goliath case...Just rest well now and don't over-stress herself over those complaints. It is <font color="ff0000">SMC</font>, not SMA.

I met one mom at TMC ytd; she delivered at week 32. The baby is very healthy and sound. So don't hv to worry too much...

<font color="ff6000">Get Well card for MrsYap:
if no one is getting the card, I can help get the card today as i am on leave and going down town later. I will pass the card to all mummies attending the gathering at Canele tomorrow to sign.
but i may need someone to help pass the card to Mrs Yap at NUH. think this is the least i can do for Mrs Yap at this moment.</font>

Sunrays,
will be paying you cash for 2 pax tomorrow
see you!!

ava, reading abt how u "tackle" issues of pple who dont give up seats always put a smile to my face. Cos I owas find that you have ur way of handling these inconsiderate pple in a very "guai lan" way.. it will really make them SIT UP and feel ashamed!

mrs T, i also went for my checkup yesterday. i'm at 30 weeks and already put on 12kg but my girl only 1.4kg so i had gained even more excess weight on myself. :p

aloevera, my visit to the gynae is still once in 3 weeks. my next appt will be on my 33 wks but not sure after that will it still be every 3 weeks.

ava

wah..today paul quite bz lei...maybe becoz he just came back..cham..he say bb ard 2.4kg @ 33weeks+..i ask him is it 'over weight'? he said no lah...average only..can faint man...he said shd be around 2.5kg for my weeks so still ok...scarely man..these 3 weeks i put on 1.2kg &amp; 500g went to bb...

aloevera

mine already every 2 weeks...but sometimes i will drag abit lah...hehe

my doc also helped me checked that my placenta had moved up already, it's now on the right side of my tummy. wonder is it because of that my tummy is loop sided and more pointy on the right side.

i was told to take the strep B test and some kind of blood test the next checkup. anyone else also doing these tests?

sasa/isabelle: I found out that TC Chang is the Head of the TMC diagnostic imaging centre. He has the same Philips machine inside his room, so his patients need not go and do this "A5" thingie. He is a trained/certified sonographer and is their boss/HOD!!

Ava/Bigtoes: it's true that cabbies still stop for me when I'm waiting along the main trunk roads, with ZIGZAG lines some more!! kekeke! But I'd usually board the cab chop chop!

Sunrays: Me paying on actual day too. Do u need to get other mommies' mobile nos? How do u know whether some change their minds at the last minute or get stuck somewhere in the traffic jam?

Suggest those who can't make it to better 'PM' Sunrays early, cos otherwise her poor DH will be cooking and baking those extra pastries for you, and making your nametags in vain! It's not fair to the restaurant and hosts.

aloevera
Don't know leh.. when I wear those loose dresses, I feel I look fat! So now I stick to more 'form-fitting' clothes to emphasize my bump.
Mine's a boy... &amp; I like how you describe 'fishball on satay stick'... lol. My boy's around the same weight as yours at 30 weeks. Last checkup at 30 weeks &amp; I'm next seeing my gynae in 3 weeks.

stef&amp;seanbabes
Thanks for helping us buy the card!
Think we might need a bigger card as there are so many of us here &amp; we need to squeeze in around 25 signatures &amp; messages.