(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jen Kate, if he dun offer to do chores then get him to massage your feet? last night my feet were very swollen and the whole of both legs super achy. he massaged for me and after awhile, no more pain and this morning no more swelling!!! amazing wad his strength can do. i cant massage myself and get the same result. i tried to massage myself last night for the whole evening but cant get any relieve. maybe my stomache is getting in the way so cant reach my feet really well.

thanks wingkei, i have only left with baby essentials to buy. have to do it asap cos i'm a very kan jiong and kiasu mummy!

Mrs Yap, so good ur hubby says to go for 4d scan. i told my hubby that so many mummies here went for the 4d scan and its sooo cute! but his only reply is 'dun wan la, save money ok. dun everything also spend'. i'm only abit disappointed this time cos i am already prepared for his that reply. so... no 4d scans and seeing how my gal looks like...

nursing bras
Why is everyonr so concerned about ugly nursing bras...i mean it's only us and babies and hbs who get to see it mah...even if nursing in public..they wont be on display...i'm just getting comfy ones. the ones i got from moms in mind ones - both wired and underwired - are pretty decent looking and comfy!

HI Flos,

Yes i will be doing mine by myself this time round.

We do not have a factory, we did the process at our home weaing protective clothes like gloves during the whole process. Me and my 2 other colleagues have been rotating to do the processing and each one of us hae a seperate set of appliances for the placenta process. We are very careful with the hygiene and sterility issue cos we are all in the research field so we know what to take note during the whole process. Our appliances are clean seperately and changed periodically to prevent any building up of contaminants. We are using cooker, blender/grinder and oven for the whole process. Theres no such license for the processing, like i mentioned earlier even the FDA is USA have no regulations on this as its only between 2 parties and thrid party is involved. Theres no sales involved so theres no strict rules for that. We have also contacted MOH but they seems more concern abt the hygiene rather than the regulations parts...

yan (bbfam,

Does your hubby work late? For mine i think hes more dead beat tired when he reached home. He will massage for me but in return i need to massage his back too cos sit too long in office..haha...end up both of us dead beat tired. Further more my gal prefer me to him of which makes me more tired..

I just hope my bb will be a good boy when born.. else i think i will be vv shag..

storeberry,
u can find nice lacy nursing bras too, but they're all wired... =) i got a couple of those, but dun really enjoy wearing them, coz they press on my breasts, and i think it'll affect the milk flow...

in the end, i got more of those "ugly" cotton ones. and i feel so good after tat, like wearing nothing... i managed to get some for only sing $2-$3 from ShenZhen during my last biz trip, very good quality i must say! =P

i have just bought some nursing bras at $8 each from a BP organised by a mummy in this forum. Cotton type, not so stylish but will do when you are nursing..

<font color="0077aa">Ava: Vanity lo!!! Haha!! We want to look good wearing nice bras mah!! Your one looks not bad!!

Today both legs kena cramps! And poor me gotta massage myself...</font>

storeberry, then maybe i can start shopping for my nursing bras now but getting it at 1 size bigger.

yan, i got similar answer from my hubby that to save money when i told him about the 4D scans. he said that all babies look the same and they will look different from the scan when they come out.

Jen Kate, my hubby work until 7pm every day six days a week. he's working in rough conditions not office. he massage for me while watching tv so he dun feel its troublesome. personally i find that husband and wife is give and take lo. he massage for me, i also will massage for him, but is only when he sprains his back or feet.

oh ya forgot to add, i think we are the first in SG to process placenta individually meaning you sure to get back ur own placenta for consumption and we do it one at a time thats why we have 3 of us to cross cover. The TCM in SG dun do it for individual as they only do it in bulk so if u pass them ur placenta you will not necessary get back your own placenta. This is what i know from a TCM pal woorking in the newly opened TCM hospital...

yan (bbfam) so envy that your hubby still cares so much for you even though he himself is already physically burnt out. Ya i do agree that we need to help each other out..Before preggy im the one who have been massaging him but now he have to help me too..but his energy is really PTE LTD. After one round of massage, he KO liao..hahaha

haha ladies...
i can feel you all get heated up talking abt my gynae... ok we shall not talk abt him anymore! Lest u all got high blood pressure... keke. ANyway since he already assured baby is fine i am happy to know... and i shd be even more appreciative of this becos i jus got to know from my colleague that her frd who went for Detailed scan today discovered a black dot in baby's brain! So unfortunate and the mummy is so lost n sad now.

yan
Ya at first hubby says 4d not necessary... when bb come out i can see until i happy. But after he saw me sad he says go for 4d scan bah. When he saw Sunray's baby charlotte yawn, suck finger 4d video he also tempted

flos
gynae package $3500
the placenta dish u upload looks chunky like carrot cake... haha... and wats the big chunk in the middle?

Jessi, my hubby dun really care about the baby now. he have told me many times before that maybe its because the baby not out yet he dun feel excited or dun have to urge to buy many things for her. that's why he keep complaining that the baby is very expensive and everything SAVE MONEY!! but he can see me everyday so he will care more about me and bear to spend money on me, like encouraging me to go for massage and facials etc. but then, the money for 1 set of massage+facial is the same as going for 1 4d scan rite... dunno what he is thinking one.

linda - mi now in 30 weeks le.

by the way anyone have this feeling that is after urine or everytime go urine there is strange smell on the panties.

duno isnt infection

3D/4D scan
told my family n hubby, they all said go ahead if i want, since it's not a few thousand dollars.. but i'm the one who doesnt wanna do it... coz i wanna experience the "love at first sight" on my delivery day! hee... this moment only comes once in a lifetime, and i wanna enjoy it!

during delivery of my elder girl, the moment i saw her, my tears just flow non-stop and i kept calling her, "baby~~~~" "baby girl~~~" "mummy's baby girl~~~" my hubby and i cried together, and gynae n nurse laughed at us! hahaha.......

i'm tearing now tat i'm typing... sob sob... those warming moments of my life... they're really magical... still rmb when i first carried her in my arms and latch her on for BF-ing, she suckled so well... so clever.. hee...

NOW, she's a little monster!!! kekekeke!!!!!!!!!!

Mrs Yap,

Agree with the rest. Go get 2nd opinion. I thot measuring the bb's wt is standard procedure and he should at least know what's causing the bleeding.

Went to see my gynae today. J#2 is now weighing 1.236kg (considered 90 percentile) at 28 weeks. He's slightly bigger than his kor kor and the estimate at full term is ~3.4kg. Can't be too big cos we all think it's difficult to deliver a bigger bb given my size.

koras...

how's ur vomitting like?
during my 1st prggie..i had MS all d way till birth so i expect this d same n it is..haha...
so i been trying small meal.

Yes yes! i hv it 2..a very strong smell..i cant stand it. tt y i wear paper panties since preggie n change as n when i like..
sometime it may related to food we tk..especially cold or cooling food..

aloevera, wow!! the scenerio you described is soooo touching!! i'm so excited just by reading it. and starting to imagine how it would be like for me.. cant wait for SEPTEMBER!!!

koras,

Any colour for the discharge? If its yellowish i think most prob u will need to let your gynae know cos there might be infection liao...me too have the same problem..but no strong odour..urine still yellowish..

aloevera,

so touching..
i cried too when i 1st saw my eldest son. after a hard pregnancy..haha

Lok,
Big baby!
my baby was wght 801g at week25..gynae already said my baby is big. cant imagine wat d weight b when scan in wk 28..haha
But d bigger baby is ...it so much easier to handle..jus like my eldest son..weight 3.5Kg at birth...veri veri easy 2 handle..

jen kate, eventhough i also agree with him that all babies look the same but the babies' character are different so will see different kind of movements on the scans mah.. :p

yan, ya my hubby also like don't feel the excitement only until these few weeks when he attended the antenatal class with me then he started talking to bb and feel my tummy for bb's movement. but it's good that your hubby will still ask you to go pamper yourself with facial and massages.

linda - vomiting ar vomit food out lo.. sometime din eat also want to vomit the gastic juice out like that..

jenkate- hmz.. color well a bit yellow i guess, i wearing color panties so cant really see the color wor. seem like brown discharge ler i also not so sure

Jessi, I get what you mean...caught ur bb in the act har..keke

Linda, 800g at week 25 bis bb? hmm mine is slightly smaller nia..764g. But gynae say still early to say its a big bb or not...

Koras, abit yellow har..how long liao? MIns also abit but me wear a panty liner so clearly can see leh..think u also wear a liner to confirm the colour..cos like that most prob got infection. If not treated bb also will get infection if you go thru natural...

koras,

Oh my..we r on same boat..
Endure...2 mths more 2 go..tt wat i been telling myself..
or get some medicine fm gynae..i been tking medicine fm gynae 2 prevent MS. sometime it wks bt sometimes it dun.

u gotta tel gynae 4 tis urine smell...he wld either ask u do urine test or give u orange citric 2 cure it.
for mi i ignore it la....heehee.

Jessi, i didnt sign up for any antenatal class. also i did try to persuade him to go for it with me, in the end, he told me that if i really wan to go for the class, then i would have to go alone. he can send me there and fetch me home. but he WILL NOT go for the class with me. sad.

Jen Kate,

when i did d detail scan at 16weeks..gynae already said fm cheek bone n body can c baby going 2 b big..haha...anyway expected la..cos 1st 1 big ma..
i trusted my gynae strongly cos when my 1st boy he said same thing n it true my son came out big big..haha

linda - same lo also telling myself to endure two mth .. u mean got medicine to take to prevent MS (that i duno maybe should ask my gynae next week).

urine test normally go gynae there the nurse will ask me do, but normal ler they din say anything

Aloevera - yup 2nd oso boy..1st boy 4yrs old..hee..initially was heart warming..now is Monster, Devil...haha!

Koras - Endure is d words i been telling myself since preggie. honestly, i dun enjoy my pregnancy..cos alots of prob n being xtreme weak due 2 miscarriage earlier on.
yes, gynae hv medicine 4 it..i been tking since preggie, it does helps la..bt needs 2 tk 3 times daily bt i didnt..cos it casues drowsy..so i oly tk at nite.
there's another type of urine test..u hv 2 tel gynae n he wld arrange for u 2 tk d test..results comes out 2-3days later..

hey ladies...
i chance upon this Birth Story in July mummies.
So funny i laugh till got tears in my eyes...
enjoy

ok here's my story, all the gory details! whatever whoever asked me through sms may not have been accurate cos i was still a bit high from lack of sleep, so here goes:

750am on 1 july
on the comp cos couldn't sleep cos poppy woke me up at 5am (hungry). some more than night i slept at 2am. then i felt A LEAK! went to tell my hubby. he said 'no la, it's just discharge'. so i purposely wipe and show to him. i said 'see? no smell, no colour, and it's not JUST discharge ok?'. so how so how so how? wait go hospital then kena sent home then how? so pai say right? call gynae? but his clinic only open at 9am. so how so how? then we remembered oh, we have the gynae emergency number. so called. then operator got our contact and in 5 mins the gynae called back. i was peeing when he called and my husband told him ALL THE WRONG INFO. he said i was bleeding, and my water bag BURST. *shake head*. i had to scream from the toilet to give him the right instructions. so gynae said go to hospital.

9am
reached hospital and got put on CTG. 1cm dilated. contractions were nothing to worry about so we thought ok la, sure can go home. that's when my famous craving for red star dim sum started. we were so confident that we'd be sent home so my nua already start to lao. then gynae called to say better stay in hospital cos i leaking, so he scared got infection. WEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2pm
1.5cm dilated. they thought it would be to speed up my contractions so i was put on the drip. at first i thought eh, ok leh, i can tahan. pain but the yoga breathing helped hor? give myself a pat on the back and smile smile smile. hubby so confident that he went out of the room, bluffing me that he was going out for "a walk" but....

5pm
.... he came back smelling of food. the minute he walked into the room i threw my stress ball at him. very stressed. and contractions had gotten very painful. i tried laughing gas that didn't really help. hubby asked 'how? you want epi or not?'. i still stubborn. didn't know if i wanted to cave in or not. then maybe about half an hour, it grew more and more painful and when nurses checked i was only 2cm dilated. basket. from 9am to 6pm, only 2cm??? how to tahan all the way to 10cm?? so i screamed "GIVE ME EPI NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!". hubby said 'sure or not? you want to try the thigh injection or not first?'. i think i grabbed him by the throat like trying to strangle a chicken and i said "EPI! NOW!".

6.30pm
doc epi came and asked 'how are we doing?'. i said 'i want to die'. he said 'don't die, if you die, how to administer epi for you?'

6.45pm
epi made me happy. ahhhhh......

so tried to sleep, nothing much happened. you know how some mummies say with epi they are so much more relaxed that they dilate very fast after? did not happen for me. epi stopped the pain but also made me lose feeling in both legs. it felt like MAJOR water retention. like thighs all the way to toes were filled with water and numb. i made poor hubby massage me almost all of 3 hours.

1am
nurse says i am 9.5cm dilated! said maybe in half an hour can try liao! happy!

1.15am
another nurse checks (by now the V checks all no feeling liao cos of epi) and said 'your baby is still very high up. maybe another 2-3 hours'. at THIS point i really wanted to cry. my legs were so uncomfortable, i was so tired, and i was tired of saying 'i only want one child ah! no more sex from now on ah! if we have sex, i take 10 pills and we use 3 condoms ah!'.

1.30am-ish
gynae comes in and says 'ok let's get this baby out'. HAPPINESS!!!!!!!!!!!! push push push but very tough to gague if i'm doing it right (or even pushing) because i can't feel anything. got sai come out or not i don't even know.

then gynae asks my hubby 'can see the head crowning liao, you want to see?' so he did. at that moment gynae snipped me (didn't feel that either). then hubby came to my side and leaned forward, i thought he was going to kiss me AND THEN HE FELL ON ME. he FAINTED! fell on me when i was pushing and then fell to the floor.

both nurses that were helping me went to help him. gynae rolled his eyes. i think i did too. so we concentrated on the more important task at hand and hubby woke up just in time to rest a bit and take photos of....

1.59am
.... the arrival of our little poppy

HAHAHAHAHA Mrs Yap... its really funny.. esp the part when she tot her hubby wanted to kiss her!!! but he actually fainted.. i MUST show this to my ah lao!

Nursing

Nursing bras must be top in comfort for me. Everything else is secondary.

Just wondering...Any mommies here both let the baby latch direct and drink from bottle at the same time?

I direct latch my son when he was young and only tried to get him on the bottle from week 3 onwards. But that was too late! cos he refused bottles (until when he was 14 months old)! Now I am thinking of how to avoid this problem with no 2.... I want to be able to breastfeed directly when I am outside or at night (save the hussle of bringing bottles, etc when we are out), but also the convenience of having him take the bottle if I am not around....

How? Am afraid that if i intro the bottles too early, he won't want to latch direct liao.

mrs yap, i read that last night too! couldn't stop laughing.
are u feeling much better now? did your doc give you any medical leave to rest at home? rest well ok?

Mrs Yap, i must show this to my hubby too! i almost laugh out loud in the office! everybody so busy doing their work but im reading this funny labour story! but the 'snip' part is scary to me... like PAIN!

ya lor i emailed this story to my hubby too!
My male colleague was looking at me thinking how come this pregnant woman become siao liao... keep laughing to herself. I cant even Laugh out Loud... gonna control!
No la no mc for me... i still working lor.

me too, told my dh if cannot stand it don't look, don't become my liability cos nurses will have to be deployed away from me to go attend to him!

mrs yap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wa lau....poor me........ the office was so quiet just now, and i hv to control my laughter, and my tears flow non-stop, and i kept shivering from my laughters!!!

alamak! this mummy is so funnie leh... like ma chiam reading a comic...!!

<font color="119911">Millie (millie22) - i think the breast milk is okie to be consumed at room temp - no need to be warm really. Can keep at 25 degrees or so for a couple of hours before going bad right. Not too sure - have to ask experienced mommies. Else just pack some infant formula &amp; warm water when we go out with baby? I am impartial to mixing FM and BM feeds anyways.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - direct latching vs. bottle feeding. This varies baby to baby i guess? Some babies are okie with either, but some would reject the bottle (maybe specific teat preference) in favor of the breast or vice versa. My plan is to BF but also express for night immediately if possible, then the CL can bottle feed BM during the confinement, &amp; hubby can help with the nightly feeds when I go back to work.</font>

mrs yap - after reading what u type i keep luffing sia especially ur hubby fainted.

guess if my hubby really c think he will faint too ba