(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jaymickey (jaymickey) : They did the scan twice for me, the actual one, baby was sleeping and covering one side of his face, then went for some food and drinks and went back 20 mins later, the scan is worse! so ended up with 2 print out images and a few videos (more images in CD-rom), but they're all of him sleeping! boring! haha ... but i paid $180. I think the services at Radlink is very good, much better than what I get at Raffles Hospital! ;)

Shazz, that's what i thought.. Funny, they were the ones who asked me to go back again on Sat.. i didn't even request for it, so i was pretty surprise that they actually do that.. Maybe the trick is to go for the 4pm appt.. cos if they cannot finish on that day, they have to ask u back the next day..

my appt was at 4 plus and we ended up at 5 plus. but I'm happy with it lah, got so much more information than from Raffles Hospital.
and it's cheaper! thanks for sharing the lobang! hehe

Yah, i was thinking if i had gone to the one in TMC, i probably wont get so many images and videos.. plus the sonographer/dr is very friendly.. she kept explaining on the parts that we see on screen.. the detailed scan i thought was so much better than the TMC's..

bacon&egg (baconegg) : my baby is on the big side! for his gestational age of week 30 tom, the average weight for fetus his age on babycentre is 1319grams but my darling is already 1.53kg at Week 29 Day 5! During my last visit at week 28, my gynae did warn me about watching my diet if I dun want a baby bigger than 3.6kg, that was the estimated birth weight for my baby. I'm hoping to go for natural, so too big a baby for my petite frame would mean C-section. I dun have GD, but I guess I should take some ques from your low sugar & carbo diet. Any websites to share?

shazz,
i am working from home today..will try to scan this diet plan from NUH tmr at office and share with u. It tells me how many slices of bread, fruit, cup of rice etc i can eat per serving..quite informative

bacon&egg (baconegg) : thanks so much! I hope I have the discipline to follow through! ;)

Jaymickey (jaymickey) : yes totally agree that the details they tell and show us is so much more than what we get from our gynae! my hubby even said there's no need to see gynae liao! just go for such scans every mth will be cheaper than gynae's package! haha

Shazz.. hahaha.. that's quite true.. cos u go gynae also check the same thing.. some more some gynae's machine only 2D..

So anyone who is planning for a 3D/4D scan.. no harm giving Radlink a call..

shazz
your eamon super cute and chubby
his cheeks so chubby and he can really sleep.. keke

very tempted to go for 3d//4d scan too but no budget liao

Mrs Yap: thanks for compliments!
the sonographer was also exclaiming, your baby so chubby! even showed me the contours of his fat cheeks! haha, yah, he's such a sleepyhead! and no amount of shaking and disturbance can wake him up, just like his daddy! Pray he won't sleep on me when feeding him next time! haha

Shazz.. When i was doing the 3D/4D scan.. Janelle actually open her eyes slightly a few times... was so exciting.. even the sonographer was excited..

Eamon opened his eyes too! hehe ... and he yawned as well but the images were too blur to be captured. He was pressing his face against the placenta at some point, that's why some videos and images, his face looks squashed!

hehe, I think we're making the rest of the mummies very excited!

Give Radlink a call, highly recommeneded!

Radlink: 68360808
Address: Paragon Medical Wing, Level 8
Cost: $180-$240

bacon&egg
post the loe GI menu here pls so I can see it too! My sweet tooth has returned after a few months' hiatus!!

yah..Janelle was also near to the placenta and was even holding on to her cord like her little pillow when she was sleeping.. then the sonographer said, they like to hold/play with the cord..

Is really worth going for the scan.. highly recommended to bring ur partner along.. very good bonding session..

Mrs Yap,
For 4D is $240 and 3D is $180.. depending on how co-operative ur baby is.. cos if they can't capture much, they will probably only charge u the price for 3D..

I got back close to 20 images and abt 10mins of videos (in 15clips etc) in CD and also 5 hardcopies.. and a full detailed scan..(also included in the CD)

So it all depends on ur baby.. baby co-operative, more images and videos..

jaymickey, shazz
SOB!! Mine kanna shortchanged compared to both of u lor...but no choice leh, bb charlotte is a notti gal... I'm gald she 'performed' for me lah so I better stop complaining, hehe!!

here is Charlotte's cutest moments... the wide mouth yawning and the 'selection' of finger to suck....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fragl7V-t1I

Bigtoes,
yes. i liked the part when she was rubbing her eyes and yawning. v cute!

Bacon&egg,
we certainly enjoyed the scan very much! my hubby initially did not want to go for the 3D scan cos he says it's not necessary. But during the scan, i could see him smiling and he kept saying,' hey so cute, hey she looks like sean!'. Even after the scan, he kept saying the baby looks so cute.
my sonographer was Dawn Chia together with A/P Dr YC. Dr YC was even joking with my hubby abt the baby using her arm to cover part of her face. it was really a very enjoyable session with Dr YC and sonographer Dawn Chia
the scan took abt 30-45 min. I found it so short.. felt like asking the sonographer to scan a little longer, but was pai-seh to ask le.

jaymickey, can share the link to ur 3D pics ?

3D/4D scan:
highly recommended!! v enjoyable session.
for those with budget constrains but yet want to do the scan, can do at NUH @ $117.70.
TMC is charging $250 and Radlink is charging at abt $180-220.

RXmom: I hv been going for brazilian waxing for many years cos I used to go to beach resorts with my DH. I dun find it painful at all!

xuanting: I think it's alright to do it now, as I dun wanna go to the hosp 100% "botak" also!!! A bit of hair is ok. hehehe

Sarahmay: hope all's well. Fengshen cyclone has left HK a long time ago. I'm surprised u didn't hop onto the ferry to HK whilst u were in your 1st and 2nd trimesters. If I were u, I'd go to HK every weekend, man!

shazz/sunrays: Why didn't u do the 3D/4D scans at your respective hospitals? How do u know that it's not as good as Radlink's? Will your gynae recognise the new EDD generated by Radlink?

Jaymickey: hv u tried the TMC one before? If I take my Radlink report to see my gynae at TMC, I suspect that I probably won't get his buy-in, in the event I request for an early c-section!

shazz: In the 54.59 percentile? That's ok right?! Eamon is really quite cute!!!

stef&sean: thanks for sharing your lil one's 3D pics too!!! He is doing well inside
cute cute!!

Bigtoes: Are you going for your 3D/4D scan too?

Ava: U r carrying twins? Why dun u do it too?! It will be memorable!! LOL

stef&seanbabes, i only posted 1 online. u can see it at my blog.

Flos, u mean the detailed scan report? i did mine in TMC, they just do, never say much one.. but in radlink, they explain this explain that. U can call up ur nurse and ask, cos i think the paragon's gynae refer patient to radlink as well.

Mrs Yap, u must do it before ur baby becomes too big.. not enough place, quite difficult to capture the nicer image..

Shazz: Eamon is so chubby & yes!!! He has thick kissable lips!! Haha!! I think bb who love to sleep is good!! Then will not be disturbing mummy so often! Kekek..

I think my bb has head down cos can feel his little hiccups near the lower tummy. Smallberry has been hiccupping alot these days.

Hi Mrs Yap: How have you been? Didn't hear from you. I dreamt about you last night, can't remember details & no face also... :p

bacon&egg: My gynae only asked me to monitor at least 10 movements in day.

shazz: I went to the multiply links u provided but can't seem to view your videos. How come?

bacon&eggs: I can't seem to find any videos on your blog.

How come?!!

Goldfish: I wear leggings on weekends in my 1st trimester cos they were in vogue then. Now, I just wear my dresses, cos my "down-there" needs ventilation!! LOL

Flos

I did it at Radlink cos Jaymickey recommended me..besides, kept hearing frm you ladies tat TMC is quite fully booked for their 3D scans, I dun really wanna wait cos I am alrdy approaching 30weeks liao.. and also Radlink is at Paragon so it's more convenient for me too. And I really think it is a good price cos they are really detailed.

Jaymickey: I was quite lucky during my week 20 DS that I got this really helpful and teacherly sonographer who walked me thru body part by body part! I spent 45min listening to her explanation of my bb's anatomy, whilst watching my bb swim happily inside me...

Quite lucky to hv her that day
However, at week 20, they dun provide the percentile benchmarks. I hope they will provide them at the week 32 scan...

Flos: Based on my detailed scan the last few times at Raffles with the Dr who specialise in the scans, I was not given as much details and report as compared to Radlink. I must say, Radlink specialises in Fetal Imaging, hence they provide more detailed reporting.

As for the EDD, I'll have to let my gynae go through the detailed report that I received in a folder from Radlink. My gynae already knew my baby is on the big side, so maybe she'll adjust the EDD accordingly when we meet up on 18 July. Will keep you updated!

you're on my facebook yah, can see the pictures and video on my FB instead if the multiply link doesn't work.

hi storeberry
haha i was also thinking about u this morning.

wah... cant imagine u dream of me.
very fast le... we are approaching edd v soon...
actually for the whole of last week i am spotting.
I didnt bother to tell gynae now. I think shd be ok cos it has been like that and i can still feel baby kicking. As long as spotting not fresh red i think shd be ok bah. This morning there are tiny bits of clots that come together with the spotting. I think i am the type who spots thru pregnancy

<font color="119911">wow, can see all the mommies here so excited over the 3/4D scans!

Floe - We didn't really think of doing it (since all babies look about the same in the womb), and now I am already into my 30th week, not sure if we can get slots anymore....the Radlink package sounds like a good deal thou!</font>

shazz

u dun scare me lei...last friday my gynae say baby was 1.9kg @ 30 weeks...i was in shock man...she was only 1.1kg @ 26weeks...but he never say anything about GD n i oso 4got to ask abt if the baby is overweight...he only mention tt i need to keep baby small for a higher chance of vbac...ask me to avoid carbo, sweet stuff n DURIAN especially...

Shazz,
Nice pics huh
. So tempted to go for the scan too....
BTW, u mentioned that u've eaten too much protein and that probably beefs up the bb...why do u say that ? I tot normally is carbo that will fatten up the bb ? Wat kind of protein did u eat ?

wow, Jaymickey!
the scan pic of your princess really impresses me. this is the first time i actually got a chance to look at a 3D/4D scan pic. i must say it's really impressive! =P

i never did for both my kids, and i thot i wanna set my eyes on them for the first time on my delivery! hee... coz the detailed scan already let me know her/his gender, and i think the least surprize if how she/he'll look like already... =P

i hv a colleague who even didnt wanna gynae to reveal the gender of her baby! wow, so exciting! but i think i cant do the same, coz i prefer to prepare b4 hand. n__n

hope all mtbs had enjoyed your lunch!

sunrays/Jaymickey/shazz: looks like it's a pretty good deal;)

Bigtoes: u shd quickly book a slot with Radlink. I'll be doing mine at week 31+ at TMC. I hope my bb will be cooperative!!

Bacon&amp;eggs: I've added u on multiply

DURIANS: My gynae also told me last week not to eat too much durians cos I might end up having a 4kg bb! He's encouraging me to go for natural delivery, so I suppose I shd stop consuming those cordyceps soups and durians asap!

sunrays: I have seen your 4D! It's very well-taken!!! However, since it's proprietary, u shouldn't leave it on YouTube for too long
Create a blog and park it there for friends only to view.

Millie,

I think taking too much carbo will fatten us, rather than the baby.
Proteins is good. Not too sure if it's because of my diet in the US which is higher in protein as compared to singapore, my FB borned there is 3.7kg. Thankfully I had a c-section, else it might have been a difficult delivery. Am hoping for a big baby too this time round, so am also going to take more beef, and avocado milkshake.. avocado is v good for preggies

I find the outside food in Singapore v dismal... so much carbo and so little protein (unless you have mixed rice all the time, or fish soups). Think perhaps this time round, my bb won't be as big as my FB.

jaymickey
me too...
always dreaming of sleeping on my bed... keke
"tong" so long already only 3pm

i am having backache, tummy ache and a strange return of MS. Feel nausea n always hv to eat sweets or chocolates to suppress

Mrs Yap.. I usually don't even want to get up for work.. how to tahan for another 2 more mths i wonder..

Tummyache? why is it so? better check with ur gynae..

Strange return of MS - Could it be heartburn?

Angeline Goh &amp; Millie : I put on 4kg during 1st trimester and then 2kg every mth during my 2nd trimester, hence my weight gain for 6 mths was 10kg! I did a test for GD but it was negative. But my gynae told me to cut down on my overall food intake to avoid having a baby bigger than 3.6kg. I was eating a lot of beef and chicken, everyday I made sure I have at least 1 serving of protein, either from meat, egg white or other form of protein. Guess I ovderdid it!

I was also eating durian as well! haha ... that probably explains why my baby is on big side for his gestational age and would be too big for my petite frame.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) : how big a baby are you targetting to have? I'm targetting a max of 3.2kg. Hopefully won't be too big!

shazz
haha i rather my bb be big than small. Bigger the better.
i weigh myseld yday, also gained 10kg at 7 mths but my doc says ideal weight gain shd onli be 5kg. Abit ridiculous for me la... so i continue to eat high protein food. I really wanna continue eating durians but i think i over eat the other time and had a terrible stomachache... MC for 1 day

Hi Shazz,

I think the bb's size is not really related to the mother's size. I am quite small size myself, and my girlfriends are even smaller than me and some have big babies! I have friends who are tall and big, and have small babies...

I would like my baby to be between 3.2kg to 3.4kg perhaps..? Somehow, I feel that the bigger they are at birth, they have a better chance of fighting flu bugs, etc, and of course, easier to hold during breastfeeding. My FB did not fall sick at all during his first year. After a while, the genes will kick in and they will get smaller accordingly...

Mrs Yap,

Ideal weight gain is 5kg up till 7 mths or whole pregnancy? That sounds very low.

RXmom,

J#1 was 3.4kg at birth. 1st 6 mths was ok. Then he went to infantcare and started falling sick btw 7-12 mths cos of greater exposure to other childhood diseases and sharing of toys. However, the PD told me to take it positively : it's a way to build up immunity.