(2008/09) Sep 2008

bacon&egg (baconegg) : that's convenient for you to go to work hor.

sasa: yupe, I was still thinking we spent about $4k ... but when I sit down and did the sums, it's $5.9k! hehe

millie, oh i know who u are now.
i'm sitting near you, i think 2 mats away on the left of the projector.

sasa, were u the one who didn't do the exercise? so means that i'm also sitting quite near you.

Temperature
I havent taken mine in a while...maybe we are all exothermic now so altho we feel like we're warm, we're actually giving off more heat, so inside is cooler than we think....just my random bohliao murmurings ...

sasa de mouse,
I could remember you cos i see all the mummies standing up except u and ur hb. =)

Haha.. nvm la 迟到好过不到. =)

sasa de mouse: he'd better tell me more abt my darling's progress, or else...u better avoid over-exercising. I wore a dress on Fri, so I skipped most of the "open-leg" exercises as well.

lanolin: thot u said u only hv one bag, how come u need to sell off your Bags?!! whereabts is that property u r eyeing on? East?

shazz: i think urs is $5.9K cos u bot SKATE!! I hvn't bot my carrier and car seat yet, but they should not be over $500 I reckon.

I'm ceased all shopping on bb. Now going for my own facial, mani-pedi, waxing, haircut, dental checks, massage. BB has enuff pressies from mama&papa for the time being.

SarahMay (sarahmay) : $1.2k is more than the C&E toiletries. the suite is targeted at the rich indo families i think, they provide butler services etc, and I must say their service is really fantastic when my SIL was staying there. Their toilets are like hotels, everything is very well thought out. I think my BIL will pay to stay there again if my SIL have their #2. They can afford it lah

Flos: you're right! SKATE and the carrier itself already set us back by $1.9k plus. ;) but for the sake of hubby's back ... no choice ... his slipped disc is a major concern of ours

since we're on topic of PIL, I don't see mine too often so I think it's okay and they are not the interfering type. Downside i guess is that I don't get the good food / bird's nest but I rather do it myself than have interfering PILs!

Shazz - 5.9K!!! hubs and I sat down over weekend to work out our monthly expenditure coz of the loan we intend to take. It was a good wake up call. hahaha...he's v stressed after that and wasn't in a good mood. he says that baby doesn't need more clothes (when I was browsing through some) but went ahead to buy anti-mosquito thingy for the room. hahaha..

lanolin: we were also going through and budgeting for baby's mthly and ad hoc expenses, cos planning to get 2nd car. But after going thru the sums, we decided to put on hold our plans first and see how our new lifestyle will be like before we commit to another car. But property is a way better investment as compared to a car ;)

shazz - since we're on this topic, for like the first 1 year, do u think 1K per month for baby is too much / too little to budget? Any ideas anyone?

I sidetrack abit.
I remembered someone posted a forum thread on 1st month birthday catering
Anyone has the link again?
My husband sounds keen to have one for his relatives (when I am not lo)
Si bei sianz to do cleaning thereafter lo.. wonder whether is there a better alternative to do it at a hotel hi-tea version bt cheaper version one lo
Ermm…

till date, we have spent $7k+ on bb and gynea fee..

stef&seanbabes,

Your ILs are very nice. I don't have much complaints abt my ILs either. They treat me like their daughter too. But I don't stay with them, just visit once a week. Initially, she also buys a lot of stuff for us but I prefer to get things myself. I fedback to my hubby and she got the point. Sometimes, my hubby still ask her for opinion but she would tell him to ask me cos I am now the wife and WOMAN of the household.

shazz,

One thing abt the heavy stroller that u have to take note. Sometimes, we have to carry the stroller together with the bb up/down stairs etc as Singapore is still not that stroller-friendly in all places. But be careful then as your hubby has slipped disc prob. My 4.2kg combi + 11 kg toddler is really quite a strain.

lanolin: r u planning to BF? r u planning to use cloth diapers? r u NOT going to hire a maid? Then I think it'll be very cheap...

my colleague was just sharing with me on how cheap it was to raise her bb cos she used Drypers; bot an Ikea cot for only $100+ during her time (2001), no car seat (it wasn't so strict in those days), a cheap stroller like those Lucky Baby kind), cheapest milk powder from the shelves, stayed at 4-bedded at KKH, no tonics thruout her pregnancy, no maid cos her MIL took care, accepted lots of hand-me-downs from her churchmates...

Did her gal grow up to be deprived? Nope, she is happily studying at St Nicks now, very well-bred and not demanding her mom to take her on longhaul holidays and to buy her any expensive dolls.

Flos
Yeah..we can actually make do with a lot less than we think...and it doesn't hurt the children...maybe even benefits them somewhat...I'm hoping

lanolin,

My monthly expenses is roughly as follows for 2YO toddler (excluding any gifts/toys/clothes/medical):
(1) Diaper ~$30 - $40 (could be more for NB as you need to change frequently)
(2) Milk Powder ~$70-90 (for younger bb, it could be double. If u bf, it will be less but need to count in the bf accessories such as breastpad, milk bag etc)
(3) Childcare (after subsidy) ~ $900 (your amt will depends on the allowance u give your parents, nanny, infantcare or hiring maid to take care of bb)
(4) Weekend meals ~$20-30
(5) ILP and hospitalisation (excluding endowment which is in our name) ~$3000 per year

Ava: where did u buy your Avent <font color="ff0000">variable flow</font> teats? those are for 3mos and above rite? I saw the picture on the Avent catalogue that TMC parentcraft gave out.

Millie (millie22) - got notice u yest

sasa de mouse - isnt your hubby keep lying against the wall de keke

i also siting around your area only

Golsfish: Yah Bo-Bae Market is quite boring!! The last time we went there, there was nothing to buy at all!!!

Jojo: No prob!! I am thinking of taking next mth as well but don't know if DH can make it, haven't told him yet!! My EDD is 5 Sep, one day after you!

bb expenses:
Think I need to sit down &amp; calculated how much I have spent! But I don't think its too much cos I am not buying the cot &amp; stroller...

Lanolin: Think $1k therabout or lesser including amt to give MIL to take care of bb..

Flos
Yeah, I checked and they are for 3 mths and above. You can get them at any Avent rack. it will have the pic with the different flows indicated through number of water droplets, printed on the top right hand corner of the pack i think.

lanolin: I also set aside $1k. we've set aside $350 for baby's diapers and milk, extra $500 for my in laws who will be taking care of baby. have not included his insurance and things like that yet. But factoring in $200 as buffer like doctor's visits, toys etc.

Lok: wat diapers are you using? so cheap ... $30-40 a mth? hee, my hubby already thought of of friendly places we can bring out strollers to. we brought the stroller for trial run before we bought it! haha ... put heavy stuff and bring around with the sales assistant. but will definitely avoid places with staircases to climb! I won't bring that stroller out if I'm alone. Will use my sling

shazz,
yeap..10-15 mins drive. my hubby is thrilled cos we used to travel from CCK to harbourfront.

stef,
my ID not so famous one..he renovated my 1st place..so i thot i just get him to do the 2nd place...easier when the ID kinda know yr taste.

spending on bb
i lost track..plus i had to do alot of tests and hormone jabs in the beginning stage..i am also controlling my expenses now..need to save for the hospital bills

flos,
like u, i also started pampering myself more..gg for facial (didnt have one for 6 mths!), pedi and buying nice scented bath gel (was using johnson's for a while cos it was the only scent i could stand)..strangely recently i like those fruitty scent more..for the 1st time i put on eye shadow today (after 6 mths)!! hahaha..

bacon &amp; egg
Hehe...i went for pedi yesterday and bought some nice shower gels too! I've been using scentless ones since I got preggers cos could not tahan the sweet smelling types. Would only be able to add my lemon bath oil (cos i cld only tahan fresh, sour smells) to those scentless shower gels if i wanted a scent.

<font color="0000ff">Jessi
yeap yeap.. i was the one.. cannot do exercise wor...
sob sob!! oops.. haha.. nxt time muz say hi le.. so many of us in the class yet we dunno who.. i onli noe sunrays (aka vickie) wor..

Jasmine (piggy_jas)
haha.. oops.. tats how obvious it was tat we didnt do the exercise... muahahha

Flos
think he will lah.. juz ask him lor..
oohh... u notti gal.. haha.. nvr listen to instructions ah.. first 3 lessons gotta wear pants wor.. muahahaha

Koras
oops.. no wor.. my hb didnt lie on the wall.. haha.. coz if he was.. i would have nagged at him le.. we were sitting right in front of the milk booth... :p so no back rest at all.. wah.. super duper backache after the 2.5 hrs session.. haha

aiyoh... everyone was around me.. but we dunno who wor... hhmm.. how should we identify each other nxt week???</font>

shazz,

My expense estimate is for 2YO toddler. We don't need to change his diaper so often now. Use abt 3-4 pcs for day use (Petpet - from 7am to 7pm ) and 1 for overnight (Pampers Premium - 7pm to 7am). Petpet is ~$13 for a pack of 70. I think 1 pack of Pampers can last more than 1 mth.

ava: u do know what I'm talking abt rite? it's not those with HOLES, but SLITS. I cannot find them anywhere in SG...strange

ava/bacon&amp;eggS: me too! I was using J&amp;J milk shower cream since Jan 08, and recently I hv started to go back to my Esscentials bath products!! I'm falling in love with all the sweet-smelling gels all over again...

sasa: HHAHA! It was really hot on fri mah...

storeberry: why aren't u buying a cot and a stroller. those are very very impt. u wanna carry the bb until ur back break izit?! LOL. Cot is not that expensive. Playpens these days aren't cheap either.

hi mtbs/mummies,

hope all of us are doing well and i can see all are excited and happily buying things for the little ones liao! =)

i'm looking for a mattress for my baby cot, and think i shall get it from those neighbourhood shops since i'm not getting it those from babysafe. Any mummies have any idea the cost of it? think my cot is 43" by 26". n__n

i'm entering into my 28th week this Wed... Wow, time really flies... think after i settle my maid and get her in around Aug, i'm almost ready for the little Prince to arrive liao! Yipeee...

Flos
Yeah I know which ones u mean...Strange that you can't find them...well, actually i have not paid much attention recently as am trying out Bfree this time round...will try to see if I can find it on my next shoppping trip.

Flos: No lah!! I am not that Gung ho!! I am getting the stroller &amp; cot from my BIL so no need to buy... But will need to set aside an amount for cot/bed when bb grows bigger..

bacon&amp;egg: Were you the one that dream about me giving birth together? Haha...

hi flos,
my hb's younger brother is dead. so my hb is like the only son left. hb's parents are divorced so mil used to live by herself. actually, even though we all stay in the same house, hb doesn't really talk to her or see her much. i think hb sees and talks to my mum more...

sasa de mouse,
yeah. these days i try to go zen lah. but hor, certain things she does still pisses me off lor. i just tolerate and keep telling myself she's gg to shift out soon so must tahan. ya lah. she was supposed to jaga my jared. then hor, let jared play with my hb's remote control car and jared tore the whole car apart ok. if she got jaga, how would that have happened right?? then after a while then say 'oh dear, jared, where's the screw in your hands?' i tell you, i wanted to slap her!

sarahmay,
you are very kind in your words. i am not one bit sweet. at least not to her.

lanolin,
my edd is actually 5 oct. but mine will be a c sec coz i have slipped disc prob. so will be having c sec on 20/9 maybe. haven't really decided on date yet... when's yours?

today i had a major headache when i woke so didn't go to work. went to see GP and she took my blood pressure and it was like super high. so she thought maybe i was too ganjiong or walked from home to clinic... then she made me sit around, relax and took THREE more times!!! Each time was 150/110... said i was at risk for pre-eclampsia and tonight if my blood pressure still so high, i have to go to hospital liao. now i super worried... but tmr i'm having my scheduled appt with my gynae. so hopefully i wont have to go to the hospital...

Ava: I found them at Kiddy Palace just now. They just replenished the variable flow teats. I'm not getting them becos I'm not sure if my bb likes Avent bottles or not. I hv the 0+ teats and 4oz bottles only. Dun want to waste $ on larger Avent teats &amp; bottles for the time being. Tks!

Storeberry: u lucky then! My siblings are having second/third ones, so no hand-me-downs. Anyway, I like to get NEW things for my NEWborn...

Alabone: Ahh, but it's very expensive for an old lady to get a bank loan to buy a condo now. Moreover, no buyer/seller wants to budge now, so that's why she is bunking over at her son's place first. It's nice to be able to hold on to the cash proceeds when one is old. Do u hv a maid? If not, think of her as your domestic helper lor!! kekeke...

It's easy to stay at inlaws place and then move out. It's diff to let inlaws stay at your place and ask them to move out afterwards

I read on babycenter that our mood swings will return during our last tri. I've already warned my DH not to infuriate me!!

cloud: Kodomo wipes are of a smaller size. Check the dimensions before buying.

I'm going for my facial next wk!!! yippeee.

storeberry, i hv signed up with the loft studio and am going to take my pics in Mid or end July... their package is reasonable and the fact that she is a female photographer, u can take the sexy nude pictures are well.. hee hee.

Steff&amp;SeanBabes and others: With regards to the philip's employee sale of 25%, hubby went to check it out. There are very little avents things, and mostly u can get there are pumps, steriliser, teats, bottles, creams ... ...
He went today and the normal steriliser not the IQ one is gone out of stock, so please call them up before going down to check if there is stock.
There isn't any monitors in stock

Bacon&amp;Eggs: Yeap I love mothercare stuff but didn't buy the cot because too expensive and kids outgrow very fast!!!

Hey gals: when is the gathering huh? I want to follow too but will it be in the central????

Sorry can only read forum in the night

Hi Millie,

The reason for the photo taken in the 8th Month of the pregancy is because your bumps will be the visible. However I do have friends advise me to take just couple of days before i pop. However I think it is too dangerous isn;t it ? WHat if i pop earlier ?
Then i read on the website somewhere, they recommend the pictures taken in 8th month...

Hey storeberry, our EDD is very close indeed. I am delivering in Mt E. WHat about you ?

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie): I agree with you about the Mrs Wong class too!!!!
ITs way too many people and I can't remember what is happening by the end of the lesson
all forgotten liao!!!

I am just looking forward to learn more about the breastfeeding and the bathing of babies!!!!!!!

oh at least there was a bottle free
console console

i taking my photo either end of this mth or early next mth.. asking my hubby friends to take for me keke
by the way anyone of you have start buying nursing bra.. the sale girl told me better to get when 8th mth pregnancy

flos,
she won't have any problems with buying condo if she so chooses to. with the money she got from the enbloc, she's got more than sufficient money. anyway, she isn't getting a condo. she's got a flat already. yes i've a maid. though i leave the maid at my mum's coz the kids are there. her as my domestic helper?? she'll just rearrange all my stuff and then i have to end up asking her where my things are. no thank you.

jojo,
i'm also delivering in mt E. is your gynae from mt E as well?? when's your edd??

Jojo: I am delivering at TMC. Cheers!

Koras: I bought nursing bra alr cos was at Robinson the other day so I just bought bigger size.

Flos: Yah man, really thankful for that. I don't mind hand me downs, the more the merrier!! Except for milk bottles of course.

Jaymickey: I forgot to ask my DH!! Doh!! Shall see if I can convince him to go.. Or should I wait for bb to be born &amp; take up the bb package??

morning ladies,
my bp in the morning is still just as high. it was 159/108. Going to see gynae soon. Hope i won't have to stay in the hospital...

recently i keep feeling bb jerking. is that bb's hiccup?? it's really frequent. don't remember this happening so much for my previous pregnancies...

Flos - hubs was referring to my OTHER bags (not diaper bag) ... the ones I carry out. heh heh

alabone - mine's 7 Sept so I will prob be out before u get in! My gyane is at mount e! 14th floor :D

Lovebug - canele (the proposed meeting place) is at robertson quay which is quite central.
Hope to see u all there.

alabone
Ur bp still high? My cousin BP was high and she gave birth last month. Baby only 8mths and stayed in the hosp when she is out.