(2008/09) Sep 2008

Gathering: Sats are preferred. Fris out cos I got to attend ParentCraft. Suns - see how first.

This Robertson Walk location is more convenient for pp who drive, else the walk from Clarke Quay MRT can break our swollen legs!

Whole day yesterday forum was down.

Alabone
Thank goodness you are alright. You must tell bb not to come out too early. =) When you are angry breathe in deeply. Complain/nag to ur hb ask him to handle ur mil. She should be considerate at this time. So bad of her to disturb your beauty sleep. Stay happy at all times. ^________^

Sunrays
Ohh, u were at my left side. My hb was sitting beside u. =D I also use my leg as chopstick even to move up the pillow till my calves. My leg is always one on the pillow one not cos i hug onto my bolster too. W/o bolster i can't sleep. Haha.

Millie
Sunray was on my left bah. So i think vicky is on my right. If i'm not wrong she is sitting infront of the cabinet for putting our bags.

SarahMay
I always end up on my right. Cos i love sleeping on my right. My cramps always lasted for awhile only. After massaging will be alright.

bacon&eggs: really? yours is dirt?! EEEEWWWWWeeee, mine is really darkening of the belly button. I tried scratching it to see if it's dirt, but it's my own skin!

BB SLEEP TRAINING: I think I need to change my nursery blinds to those 100%opaque blinds...I was told the bb's room needs to be as quiet and dark as possible. Must simulate the inside of your womb...

My SIL's 8-mth-old NB sleeps with them on the masterbed becos the gigantic bb can longer tahan the bb cot. His sleeping patterns are as a result irregular cos the adults would whisper to each other/open and close the door with lightrays shining into the room/toss around/go to toilet and disturb bb with the WC flushing noises...Wah lau...and with a baby snoozing on the same bed, how to have sex?!!! LOL

Alabone
Glad u are OK. Am a bit worried about my BP too cos it's much higher than usual (about 135/80, my usual is 110/60). Anyway, I have a very bad temper man! I walked out of the house leaving my son to cry this morning cos I got so mad with him...then cooled down cos heart softened when hb called and said Adan wanted to apologise....I felt bad doing this "emotional" guilt trip on him, but preg hormones really out of whack...luckily was not too far from home, so they came to pick me and we had breakfast together before work.

Either Robertson or Paragon are OK for me, as i will either drive, get driven or cab there :p But Sunrays, do we get special attention at Robertson since ur hubby is stationed there
hehe *thickskinned*

BTW, Sunrays I completely forgot to pass u the bf shawl u wanted to buy from me! Next round must remind me PLS!!!

Flos
That's the best kind of contraception IMO! haha i cld not have adan sleeping on our bed...he'd kick us both off it!

The dark room also triggers some chemical (seratonin?) that makes us sleepy. works for adults too not just babies

Flos,

Yes, it will be good if the curtains are black-out curtains so that the bb will know when is day and night (or nap time).

haha, I think most parents really dun think about sex that much once the bb is here, at least in the early days, unless the baby is v v easy and sleeps very well in the night. Cos most time, both parents are too tired from disrupted sleep for there to be any actions between the sheets anyway. And for those babies who need to nurse to sleep, it's really much easier for the mommy to have the baby near her, so that she can lie down, nurse, and sleep at the same time. That was how I survived my FB's year!

That's wat I noticed actually.. my friends who have easy babies all conceived pretty soon after no. 1, some within the baby's 1st 6 months.

Mickey: Thanks! But just a bit confused, so one of my items is out of inventory? Did they refund you the money? So the shipping cost that I have to top up is offset from the extra I paid for the OOS item as well as the 20% discount we got? Also, will you be going for the gathering? Can pick up from you then. If not, I just arrange with you when I'm back in SG.

Flos: Some of my friends have their bbs sleeping with them even until they are tots or older. Agree with your "how to have sex" bit. Haha. I cannot share my bedroom with my kid either. hehe. As for blinds, don't need to be block-out curtains la. If not how will bb learn to distinguish day from night etc? Light curtains should be ok unless your bb's nursery is surrounded real bright street lamps at night.

Jasmine: I sleep on my right too cos sometimes too hard to sleep on my left!

RXmom
Oooh kinky

SarahMay
Black outs are not a must but helpful if u want to have a set routine for sleeping. if your baby is easy and sleeps well and wakes up at set times then great, but if u have a curious or wakeful baby, then with light curtains, be prepared to wake really early or for them to have really short naps. it's do-able but more tiring and less predictable...I only installed black outs 1-2 years ago so i know what it's like without them!!

Ava/RXmom: but it's been 8 mths + 9 mths, dun they need to get intimate?!! how sad, bb sandwiched in btw mom and dad
If the bb is sleeping in a cot in the same bedroom, that's fine. But he is sleeping ON that same masterbed. is it hazaradous?

Agree...I do get knocked out when it's 100% dark!!

SarahMay: "how will bb learn to distinguish day from night etc?" HAHAHAHAH!! That is very funny!! Of course I'll draw open the curtains in the morning, otherwise he'll think he's living in the dungeon, like the recent case of a monstrous dad locking up his incestuous kids at the basement of his house in Austria!!!!

flos,
i have both dirt and dark line..can u imagine how awful my tummy looks? Sigh...

Sex has been far behind our minds for the longest time....plus we have our dog sleeping in the same room (in her own dog hse)...difficult lah..

I am ok with Fri evening or Sat's evening. Sat afternoon - I have parentcraft.

Dark-out blinds,
I have both dark-out blinds and daylight curtain..afternoon sun can be quite warm..hence we opted for dark-out blinds.

Ava,
I have been feeling emotional lately too...for no reason, i scolded my hubby before i go to bed..think he also puzzled..i just feel irritated lah and need to let out...

Paragon Canele is TINY so can forget it!! Can only seat abt 10pax there... if Robertson Walk is inaccessible..let me chk whether the new outlet at Shaw Centre(Scotts Rd) will be opened by July..maybe tat venue will be a better choice..

Jasmine
Sunrays = Vickie.... hehehe

I'm off for my check up liao, will update u ladies later...think i woke up wrong side of the bed, am really moody now

Ava,

Yes, last time when I was in Arizona and when it's summer, the sun comes out at 5am... and my son woke up every day at 5.30am cos we did not have black-out curtains. I was SOOOO tired then.

Actually, there's another Canele at Raffles City Shopping Centre right? Or we can try Aerins? (also at Raffles City Shopping Centre)

The place recommended by Flos looks very good too.

SarahMay: KIPLING Bags. I dun know they sell diaper bags. I walked past their boutique at Bugis Junction last Sat and didn't see any diaper bags. U can find the imitations everywhere in Zhuhai and Shenzhen. No need to buy the real thing

SWEET-SMELLING toiletries are back on my bathroom racks!!

I grabbed two new shower gels using my soon-to-expire Escentials points at Tangs yesterday... The irresistable La Compagnie de Provence Marseille Wild Rose liquid soap and classic ANNICK GOUTAL Petit Cherie shower gel...Can't believe in the end, I only paid $10 for these wondrous spa treasures!! Oohlala, I'm going to indulge and indulge...no more Baby Shopping for me for now...

SarahMay
Right side still the best sleeping position but have to sleep left side more.

Bacon&egg
I also angry with my hubby for the past 2 nights for no reason. Feeling so guilty but he still continue to 'hong' me.

Lok: Believe em, COVA is actually not that "atas" in HK and Japan, though they make it seem like it's VERY ATAS here in Singapore...One needs to make reservations to hv hi-tea there. Yeah, u just walk in in HK like u would walk in Delifrance.

The Italian set lunch which I had is only $28++, quite reasonable by SG standards. The Italian panini sandwiches are just under $20. Isn't it the same as dining at Border Bistro?

It's only opened on 5 Jun, I heard. Just wait a few more weeks for the hype to die down...

jessi, jasmine, ava,
thank goodness bp ok. but must keep monitoring now and gotta see gynae every two weeks instead of waiting a mth now. good also lah. can see cadence more frequently.

ava,
oh dear... you take care too ya? but your bp is still not as high as mine yet so don't worry too much over it. else become like me... go even higher. pregnant really very hormonal right? i was also with jared and nat... but i haven't tried storming off yet. just screamed at the top of my voice. then super regret later.

flos,
i think if bb sleeps in between parents, it can be hazardous if parents are unaware lor. but usually mums are very mindful. you know, for mothers, when kids are with them, they never sleep 100%. it's like, the tiniest whimper can wake you up. that's why some dont like to put bb in same room.

Alabone, so glad to hear that you are fine now. In the mean time, enjoy your leave.

Does anyone have any prenatal massager to recommend? I am haveing terrible backaches these days.

flos, oh ya i just realised that the paragon canele is very small, maybe we can also consider the raffles city one, also quite a convenient location. the cafe cova looks good too!

bacon&egg, lately i had also been very irritated and my HB always get it from me. just don't know why i always pick on the things that he do/didn't do. :p

baby sleeping with parents
my HB is thinking of getting The First Years Close & Secure Sleeper so that baby can sleep with us. i'm wondering if it will be a good choice as he does snores when he sleep. so dunno if he will wake baby up or not.

jessi & jasmine,
i would get irritated whenever my hubby ask me the same questions 2-3x!
I feel v bad lah..but cant help it. Anyway will make it up to him in future..

Wingkei,
I tried Spa House - Dempsey road. Quite ok.

I'm being driven nuts by my hubby! Now, he's saying I'm buying too many things when I haven't een started buying anything yet. He says a baby carrier and a stroller are too much! It's only either one. I told him sometimes when I meet my friends, I can bring baby out with the carrier and he says no need to being baby out, just leave with him. And if my friends want to see the baby, they can just come to our house to see. How unreasaonable is that? So 'ba dao'!

And he says only 4 milk bottles are enough. He doesn't even want to get diapers yet. And he says no need to get baby mattress, just use our normal ones. As for baby detergent, no need for that too. Just use what we use to wash our clothes to wash baby clothes and use our normal body soaps and shampoos for baby. Arrgghhh!!!

wingkei, i have been reading abt all ur complaints about ur hubby.. i think he really got some big problems!!! and i seriously think you should either find some time to talk to him if not, get someone "powerful" to talk to him..

wingkei,
your hb is really odd. is he saying all these coz he wants to save money?? but some things cannot save leh. like bb shampoo and body wash. their newborn skin is very sensitive and delicate. cannot use the kind that adults use. has he done any bit of research or not? i doubt so lah. if he hasn't, then he better shut up and listen to what you as the mother wants for your bb lor.

and what normal mattress does he want to use?? then where bb sleep? on the bed? or mattress on the floor??

leave bb with him?? he seems to hardly care and know anything. how to leave bb with him. i think you shouldnt care at all what he says. just go ahead and do what you deem right.

he is downright unreasonable.

but you must be like me and keep cool. no point arguing with him coz i think he really won't listen. just do what you like and makes you happy.

alabone: But is that not disruptive to your own sleeping patterns, if both of u need to sleep so still to avoid crushing or smothering the bb accidentally?

I thought I was the only one getting grouchy. I try very hard not to let it act out. Ha ha .. I just stay more quiet and read my books to distract myself. Must find things to make me happy and cannot wait for hubs to make me happy - that's what I keep thinking. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Ha ha.

Ava - u're v soft-hearted one la. My sister would have just scolded the kid and left and not turn back at all. ha ha

tea - any location is ok but hopefully it's on a saturday. I'm usually exhausted on a Friday evening

Sleeping with baby - I know a friend who slept with her newborns (she now has 3 kids) and said it is really much easier with the feeding and sleeping and none of them suffocated or anything. It's just when u need to move them to a room of their own, the difficulties might arise coz these kids were never used to sleeping away from parents. Somehow, they still managed to have 3 kids - quite amazing right? hee hee

flos,
very. i never did that for my children. but when jared was down with hfmd, and nat had to sleep in our room, she'd cry and cry so i put her on my bed. then i think after that one time on my bed, she got use liao. then subsequently at a particular time, she kept wanting to sleep on our bed. hb heck care. twist here turn there still. but i slept super stiffly. then nat slept like so 'song' coz she was flipping here and there. then kick us around. push her butt in our faces... let us smell her urine...

so point being, NEVER let your bb get use to sleeping in between. mei wan mei liao after that.

hi wingkei,
Pardon my "gatecrashing".
On and off I've been reading the Sept threads and it seems that your hubby is very cost conscious towards baby preparations.

By the way, are you working? Cos if you are, if you have the financial means, then go ahead to buy whatever you want for the baby. never mind if your hubby doesn't want to buy. If you wait for him to decide what to get for baby, things will never get done.

As for bringing your baby out to meet your friends, I say you just do it. The baby is not entirely his, you also have a right to bring baby out. You can also do that to show you don't have to guai guai obey him, else he will think everything you listen to him and be his xiao nu ren. You have to assert yourself in this way.

Just my 2 cents worth.

hey sasa,
Are you getting better? I was shocked to hear you had to rush down to check for contractions. Hope you are resting well at home. Coax and tell your baby to guai guai stay in your womb until EDD.

Do you know baby's weight from the last check-up?

Flos: ANNICK GOUTAL Petit Cherie's is my all time favourite! Using it today! =) My 1st fragrance from hubby, finishing the big bottle soon.

Dear Mama
Thanks for ur feedback on babycare! Yeah.. I haf been lugging books from the library and the recent ones that I read totally ‘disagree’ abt crying it out lah etc etc. At the end of the day, I just feel si-bei confused!!! :p

Bt after all the books that I read, it seems that cultivating a ‘pattern’ helps in regulating sleeping pattern. And apparently, it seems that it will be better to differentiate sleeping location from day and nite. But hoh.. I oso wonder so wat if a pattern is cultivated cos 3 mths later, the bb will go into infant care liao :S

BAD TEMPERS
I oso realized I quite bad-tempered easily wif my hubby too! His bad habits like throwing socks at the shoe cabinet suddenly si bei annoying to me leh!!! Issit a norm for 3rd trimester preggies to be so moody huh?

Flos,

Yes, it is very disruptive to your own sleep when the child sleeps with you, esp when they are older and need more space. My son will run in our room in the middle of the night these days, and he basically occupy the whole of our King Size bed by sleeping diagonally. Sigh. So in the end, sometimes I have to sleep at the foot of the bed.

Now my hubby is away, I move my son's spring mattress into my room, so that he will stop the night visits and I also dun need to heave to lift him up onto the bed. He will sleep on his mattress in my room without bothering me now, and I have some company in the room also. Am just worried that he would not want to shift back into his own room later, but I think it should be fine if we make his new room at my PILs' place very appealing. Ha, yes, at a time when most of you are moving out of your inlaws, etc, I am moving back in, and renting our current place out.
.. that will be about 3 months after I deliver.

abalone,
do u know the gender of ur baby yet ?? I remember the last time you mentioned you did not want to know gender of baby.

Sleeping with bb:
My fren is also sleeping together with her bb & her 3 yr old with her husband on a queen size bed! Don't know how they managed! But teven though its more convenient for feeding, I don;t think I will let bb slepp together with us because my DH is a acrobatic! He moves alot & snore! Think bb will be disturb by him the whole night! Haha!!

bacon&egg: Maybe you want to use a cotton bud dipped in baby oil to clean the dirt?? Surprisingly my belly button is quite clean!! Haha~!!

I think sunrays suggested Canele cos her DH is working there, I am fine with any location!

Hi val, glad to see you here!!

Mickey: Will transfer later! But just to confirm the amt is after the 20% alr?

bacon&egg
We must make up to them after we gave birth for throwing temper these 9months of preg.Haha.. But is also our rights to do that. lols~

stef,
i know already coz my gynae unwittingly told me... i'm expecting a girl. I'm naming her Cadence Faith Goh. haven't thought of chinese name yet. no inspiration...

wingkei,
pre-natal massage? i did that for my first preg, and in the end, i realised tat the "touch" was too gentle and i didnt really feel beta after tat. and now tat we are in our last trim, there are alot of nerves tat can trigger pre-term labour, so u hv to watch it ok...

as for mattress for your NB, they cant share our mattress ok... i hv a fren who let their NB share their bed, and in the end, the poor NB got bonchitis.. PD told them tat it's to the dead cells from our bodies tat caused it, and being NB, their breathing system is not strong yet, and they can hv asthma...

but if ur hubby really insists, then i advise u to put a layer or 2 of nappy and make tat his/her "BED". and u adults hv to keep off tat area... =)

abalone,
that's great!! so u will be having 2 gals and one boy.. same combi as me.
though i was hoping for a boy. I will be naming her Sharmaine Greta Ng. chinese name will be given by FIL

hi all....back from my long hiatus..

wingkei
just a suggestion. go to your gynae. talk to your gynae about your depression and difficulties and the stupidities of your hb (like using adult shampoo on bb...) then get your gynae to talk to him. certain things only authoritative figure makes sense. eg, what to feed bb, what to bathe bb with ...

co sleeping
i trained CY since day one not to co sleep. he is fine. then i changed my mind and now we co sleep, which is fine. it is good for bonding, especially if you are working. not that bad for sleeping lah. if your child sleeps through, then they wont bother you, if they arent, you have to get up middle of the night to trot to their rooms anyway.

one lecturer of mine told me, they will eventually want their independence and move to their own rooms. by then even if you wanna spend time with them, they are going to shut you outside their rooms...

what we do is, instead of sleeping in the master bedroom, hb and i shift to the study. we move the tables out and then lay mattress (3 of them) to cover the entire floor area...it has become our little haven now. even hb refused to move back to master bedroom now, coz he loves the study. say..very good what, CY sleeping with books, wake up see books, sleep see books...( we initially did that coz boy refused to sleep anywhere but the study). when the new bb comes, we will sleep separately first couple of months, then by the time bb sleeps through (we do sleep training), we all bunk in together...nice cosy family lah...

CURTAINS: Hehe...Thanks for the tips. I guess I'm just a lazy mum...draw the curtains etc...I think I might forget to draw the curtains at the right times, then I mess up the bb's sleeping schedule instead of helping him. Haha. But then in Macau, I shall need them I think. The sun rises super early like 5+am!

Lanolin: Yah...amazing how they can have 3 kids with all the kids in the same room. Hehe. But who says sex has to be just in the room.

Shazz; Annick Goutal's perfumes are really nice.

Goldfish: A/c to books, wur moodiness supposed to be less in 3rd trimester. But for me, I find that I am getting to be MORE moody. Maybe cos I was not moody in 1st or 2nd trimester v much. Haha. And dun be confused abt the babycare bits now. I guess like some of the experienced mums have said...just trial and error lor. We dunno our bb's personalities yet so can't predict which will work. at least that is what i figure. Oh! But sending ur bb to infant care definitely means got adjustment for bb and u after 3 mths lor. Aiyo...but think abt it...life is always abt adjustments right?

Wingkei: Wah! Ur hubby said to leave him with baby when you go out? Be sure to take him up on that offer!!!! I think he doesn't know what he has gotten himself into. Nonetheless, it is a very good offer to take up lor. Hehe. But as for buying stuff, if you are using your own money, I say you just get the basic neccessities you know you need. The baby needs stuff.

If i were you, I might just do something like his briefs etc...and then tell him, "Hey! You are grown man and you need so many of these undies. Our bb cannot go control his pee and poop yet...and cannot go shop on his own. So of cos, we need to get these for him." Or ask him sweetly, if he RATHER wash all of baby's cloth nappies EVERY day since he doesn't want to buy diapers.

Flos: You are very funny. China has imitations of EVERYTHING la! Haha. Anyway, i never believe in buying imitations of branded stuff cos i'm not even a fan of branded stuff to begin with. tho i like to just admire.

shazz: u too??!!! *WINK WINK* hahah! I also finished prior to my pregnancy, my Petit Cherie, Eau d'Hadrien and Le Chèvrefeuille!!! I am really horrid...heh heh!

i oso hv Creed, l'Artisans, Diptyque, penhaligons, serge lutens...I'm trying the new brand brought in by CK Tangs, LCDP from Marseille!!

l'l CY: my friend's daughter is 12 y/o this year and still sleeps with her and hubby! She doesn't want to move out to her own room yet!