(2008/09) Sep 2008

mei, wow that's a v good buy! am itching to go look now.

mickey

Wow...thanks for the link!!! I saw Strawberry Shortcake wallpaper border in there!!!! Now i'm all excited, will be great if my hb allows me to decorate the nursery in a Strawberry Shortcake theme,hehe.. it will very suitable for my Charlotte..bcos Strawberry Shortcake's name in French is Charlotte aux Fraises!!

oh, by the way i already emailed u my order for BMO spree, keep me posted abt payment details,tks!!

Sunrays: I got your email. Very strange, it went to my spam folder! Good think I take a look before I hit "Empty". Else I would have missed it..

Yah, all the wall borders there are very tempting! I wish I had someone to tell me earlier last time, cos the delivery took a very long time, and I couldn't even receive the borders in time for my bb's first month celebration.
If you wanna order, now is a good time..

I went to the fair afterall cos my client was held up in office and I had extra time before we met up! Ended up buying a couple of things! Lolz

2 packs of Huggies NB diapers $7.70/pack for 24 pieces per pack
1 pack Nepia NB & 1 pack Nepia Small at $15 each pack
MIM sling $35
Pupsik pouch $35
2 Years subscription for Motherhood $86
Trial set package for BumWear $169 (before using $5 voucher) (4 diaper covers + 12 inserts)
NeuroGainPB $30
Terumo Ear Thermometer $65 (usual price $110) + additional probe covers at $9 x2 (supposed to be limited to 1 per customer but I think some didnt buy so I was allowed to buy 2) Got a free digital thermometer

Carpark charges was only $2.14 for me, so I think the trip was worth it!

flos
if you use those sippy cups or magmag long enough, there are certain places that can be cleaned easily. even with cotton bud. with steriliser also no use, anyway, you dun sterilise cups and stuff for a 18 mth old lah...

so what i need is a simple cup with straws, those more fanciful ones with many contraptions tend to harbour a lot of those kooky corners that cannot be reached in washing...

xuanting
I got the pump frm the Mums & Babes booth...the SA at the medela corner works for Medela, maybe tats why she managed to convince me to purchase the pump on the spot!! Hmmm...the accessories i didnt really browse thru... i dunno wat else i'll need anyway..

Mei
u're not horrid..u're just a shopping queen lah,haha.. I saw tat thermometer too, actually quite cheap hor, OK..i shall go again tmr to get it,hehe!! Will also chk out the blood pressure monitor cos i need one...was instructed by gynae to record daily readings of my BP wor

mickey
I juz showed my hb the website...he said he'll help me paint the nursery...GASP.. now i'm worried!! Can't imagine how Strawberry Shortcake will look like under his hands, hehehe!!

shazz
Wow, you sure bought a lot. Your trip is definitely worth it.
Hmm.. how come we bought the Terumo thermometers & probes at different prices? What colour did you get? The blue was sold out when I was there at around 9pm, so I bought the pink one.

sunrays
Yalor, shopping queen won't change.. last time was shopping for my own stuff, now it's for baby's stuff.. lol. Oh.. I got my own blood pressure monitor too.. because I suffer from 'white coat' syndrome. Every visit to the gynae, my blood pressure sure shoots up, but at home, my blood pressure is ok. That's why I bought one to monitor at home, just to make sure my pressure is ok. Mine's from Osim.

Today have been a busy day for me!! And there are so many posts!!!

Went for appt in the morning, followed by haircut, then went Chinatown toiletries shop & Cheong Choon to buy all the baby neccessities. Bought 2 boxes Pigeon Breastpad, 3 X baby wipes, Sebamed baby shampoo & baby bath (This was ex!), sanitary pads, disposable undies, Kodomo laundry detergent, pigeon teats X 6, 4 X mittens, 4 packs of herbs for confinement bath, nose cleaner. And I forgot to ask Cheong CHoon their price for thermometer!

And CC is selling for Medela dual plus for $260 (I think, very forgetful these few says) but my friend says its cheap.

Xueyan: Dr Adrian is a very reassuring & kind doctor but he talk very fast & not much. He doesn't volunteer information but will answer your question patiently. I had two bleeding scrae & once was on a sun after CNY, he went down to TMC to check on me & no charge!(I had repeated this in the forum liao.. kekek)

STERILIZER: My friend bought me a Pigeon steriliser & I saw at Cheong Choon, it selling for $88!

MUSTELA: My friend is using this, she says it good.

Shazz: Why do you buy both the MIM and Pupziks sling?
Hey, Nepia is $15 or $14/pack? Jaymickey and Aloe reported it's $14/pack. I want to order 12 packs!!

Sunrays: Oh no.. But your hubby shd be quite artistic lah. Maybe it'll turn out to be a surprise for you?? Maybe don't restrict him to just strawberry shortcake lah. Just tell him to use girly colors. Kekekek..

mickey
If you buy from the fair, it's selling at $15 per pack but if you opt for home delivery, then it's $14 per pack.

Mei: I see... They're very strange.. Surely people will opt for home delivery right?
WIll you be going again? Can I trouble you to help me order (is there is no queue)? Is there a min to order?

BMO spree

Some of my emails ended up in the spam folder. Just wanna make sure I hadn't deleted anyone's order by mistake. Only got orders from Sunrays and Gail right? Who's Gail by the way?

mickey: I sucker for pretty things lah! hehe, I love the stripey blue and brown one at Pupsik but it's only for me, in my size. Hubby is way bigger than me. So I got the MIM one as well, in biege with stripes, so that hubby and I can both use! me vain lah! using sling more like accessories! lol

Nepia - when you buy at the fair, it is $15 per pack but you get extra 4 pcs. They're having this promo for home delivery now - $14 per pack (usual $16) + Free Delivery. Promo valid till 30 June 2008

Min 4 packs to qualify for free delivery.

Call 6226 2650 to order

I have no idea if it's any good! but since I'm there and the price is good, and it's made in Japan, I just got it! Another factor for getting it is that you can use it in the dark, there's a light for it, so you don't disturb the child.

Atually I was set on Omron after SarahMay's detailed reporting from her friend who were using it at childcare centre.

Mei: I got the pink one too as they ran out of the blue ones. Think it's ok, just as nice! I dunno why leh, my probe covers cost $9 for 20 covers. Usual price is $12 or $14, can't remember

Not sure if they still selling it at $65 tomorrow cos I heard it's only for the first 100 pieces.

Mickey: You are our spree queen!!! Always make me spend money... Kekeke... I am itching for the bbmall items also.. And any idea how many wall borders we need for the room? And what is the estimated shipping?

I saw that Cheong Choon sells MIM sling as well, from $35-$38.

Thermometer: Is the brand selling at Motherhood fair good? Tmr I am going to be busy, dont know if I should make my way there...

Nepia: Is it very cheap? Its $14 for how many packs? Sorry very blur.. So can call to order or must make a trip down?

mickey
So sorry, I won't be going to the fair anymore as I went twice today & got everything I need.

shazz
Oh.. then maybe you were the first 100 customers.. I was there at only 9pm. Yup, actually I like the pink one also.. hehe.

Shazz: Thanks for the explanation..
WIll give them a call tom..
Yes, the home delivery is always for min 4 packs.. I give thumbs up for this brand. Can buy can buy...

Cloud: So it's you.. Kekeke..
ok ok..

Storeberry: You have got your stuff from bacon? I feel the rompers are really worth getting..
For the wall border, I measured the perimeter of the wall of my baby's room, then frm there, I'll know how many rolls to order. I ordered 2 rolls. I can't remember the shipping. That time I joined an overseas spree, so just paid up and never really paid attention.

Mei: No prob...
Shazz just cleared the misunderstanding I had. I can actually just call them to order. No need to order at the fair to get the discount..

l'l CY (lilboymum) : I checked out Pupsik's version of diaper covers but thinks that BumWear one looks better. Cost wise, the package from BumWear attracted me more and they gave 2 extra inserts and I can use the $5 voucher I printed. So I went with them. Had a hard time choosing from the wide variety of designs and colours that they have. My hubby fell in love with the cute little diaper covers! hehe ... he said can buy more if I like it! haha

Hi Mickey, but I read from the previous thread, they said that the $14 Nepia offer is only for the fair. So don't know if can call & get the same price? Any mummies going there tmr? No, haven't collect the loots from Bacon yet, reached ome late tonight. When will you be closing the bbmall orders? And have 20%?

Thanks mummies for the welcome!

I'm having a boy tis time & my edd is 28 Sep.
My elder one is aso a boy & he's 3yo this yr.
Actually hoping for a gal tis time but too bad.. blame the hubby genes lor!! haha....

sarahmay : thanks for the infor! will check out these brands.

l'l cy: wat brand is ur glass bottles? is it heavy & easy to handle? cos i'm a very clumpsy person scare will drop & break the bottles.

Mrs Gan, got your orders.

Jaymickey: I used Nepia for my #1. She's fine with it. The material is so soft and cottony, and I dare say even softer than Pampers Premium for NB! I think didi shd be fine. The ones you need to test out are dryers and huggies (there are many versions of Huggies which I'm still confused over). My girl tried and it left red markings on her thighs. No more dryers for me.
Another mum just told me can get at $13 per pack during NTUC promotion. But I've not seen that promo before. Now wondering if I shd order so many..

My goodness shopping galore!!

Storeberry
Which steriliser was selling for $88? I just got a Pigeon steriliser at Robinsons for $99 cos i had a voucher to use up after I bought my car seat. Mine is the one that fits 9 standard bottles, sterilising in 8 mins (I think), not the compact steriliser.

mickey.. thanks for confirming..

ladies, wonder if anyone is exprience this? will feel urgent and need to go to toliet very frequent like every hour... but the vol is not much... is this normal??

Yvonne,

you might want to increase your fluid intake and check with the doc if you could have Urinary Tract Infection? I had a false alarm last month when my doc said I could be having that due to the same symptoms as you, and there was protein in my urine. Luckily it's not UTI. Just need to drink more water.

I juz ordered my TMX cookie monster from a spree..paid $36 for it!! Now i saw Toys R Us at Forum having 70% off this toy!! Only $28!! Mummies who are interested can go grab it...really cheap leh!! $28 is for TMX Cookie Monster & TMX Ernie..TMX Elmo(Extra Special Edition) is $48. Only available at Forum outlet, 6-8 jun..

http://www.toysrus.com.sg/

Yvonne (mrsgan): I have the same feeling sometimes! I was told by my colleague that the "sng sng" pain that I'm having, which is above my public hair area, is a result of the baby's position. Seems like mine is still in his heads down position, hence the pain. I also felt the need to go toilet more often. I can just step out of the toilet and then feel the urge to urinate again. And when I go back, the amount is just a few drops.

I was told it's normal as the baby sac and baby's growing weight sits on our bladder, hence we have that sensation to need to pee.

storm: when's your EDD? Can start to shop and buy stuff now that there's sale and promos, and when you're still mobile. Dun wait till Aug to get the essentials, cos by then we'll probably be so big. And not forgetting sometimes we may deliver 2 weeks earlier than our EDD. Unless you don't mind giving your hubby a list of things to get and let him do the shopping if you suddenly pop!

TERUMO: Such a steal! It is an excellent thermometer I think.

You mummies make me all very envious. Maybe I shd have jsut flown back for the sale. Hhaha. Well, hope that when I come back next weekend still got bargains.

Storm: Thanks for infor on the milk bottles. That means I've got enough bottles for the first 3 months already. You think I shd also stock up on bottles post 3 months?

Flos: I mean those guaze pieces u saw. Are they disposoable?

Yvonne: I feel like my sleep is getting disrupted by waking up to pee again. But def not every hour. Could it be UTI? Want to call your doc to check? Try leaning forward when you go...helps to ensure you pee out everything. The increased pressure of uterus on bladder could be a cause. But do call your doc.

Sunrays: Wah! You are indeed shopping mama! So why BPA-free bottles must use traditional boiling method?

Shazz: So you bought the BUmwear diapers? When are you going to start cloth diapering?

STERILISERS: Does anyone know if the Avent sterilisers will be able to fit BFree bottles too? How long will the sterilisers last?

FOOD WARMER: Is this necessary? Saw it on the bb list of things to get from Shazz.

BB Laundry Softener: Is this necessary?

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - ours is the combi miracle turn 450. Version that comes in orange/yellow or purple/light grey options.

CARRIERS: We were looking at Baby Bjorn as well, but decided on Lascal instead cos its most suitable for NB babies with the neck support.</font>

SarahMay: Yes, got 4 BumWear diaper covers. Not sure when I'll start, likely to use disposables on most days and let Eamon wear BumWear at least on 1 day. Will teach the confinement lady and my MIL how to use it. Hubby thinks it's such a cool idea ... but I wonder how he'll react when the baby poo and some parts gets to the BumWear and not the liner! But I was told to just use water to spray off the poo and to wash in washing machine.

FOOD WARMER: Friends who got tired of warming up breast milk and experimenting with how many minutes, how much hot water to put, etc, gave up after a while, and invested in a food warmer. They swear by it now. I got Pigeon, cos there are different temperature knob, and you can choose and then it dleivers consistent temperature.

BB Laundry Softener: again, this is optional. Depending on which brand of detergent, some can cause baby clothes to be stiff, I heard Pigeon detergent makes it a little stiff. Kodomo is slightly better. But for those who love their babies clothes to be soft, a softener is the solution!

sarahmay,
salegirl told me avent will fit most bottles. If you are getting the IQ24, the steriliser stay on all the time. There is no need for waiting time. However if you are getting the 6-8 mins, you would need to sterilise the bottle and each wait is 6-8 mins.

Foodwarmer is necessary if you store your bf milk in the fridge and need to warm up the milk for bb.

Yvonne
Every hour is quite frequent.. drink cranberry juice &amp; also loads of water. Do you feel any burning sensation? If you do, it could be UTI, then you got to see your doctor ASAP.

storm
You need to shop soon.. most of us here have already more or less completed our shopping. Then we can relax &amp; take things slow during our 3rd trimester &amp; rest before baby pops.

sunrays
TMX is the one where Elmo can move around one is it?

shazz
Sometimes I also have this weird 'gurgling' feeling near my pubic area.. my friend was telling me it could be baby hicupping.

SarahMay
I don't think laundry softeners are necessary... the material of baby's clothes are already pretty soft.. I am afraid the softener will irritate baby's delicate skin. Also, save money!! Hehe..

Food warmer.. not really neccesary as milk can be warmed the traditional method. Just place the milk bottle in a bowl/cup of hot water &amp; leave it till it warms up. Depends on individual. I bought the Tollijoy one, only around $19 after 20% discount.

Bigtoes
Have you decided on cord blood banking? I have signed up for it during the motherhood fair &amp; got a $350 discount from the fair &amp; referral.

Steriisers
Most if not all sterilisers can fit all brands of bottles...the only thing is how many of them. the bigger the bottles, the fewer can fit...

food warmer
Useful for warming up frozen milk and pre-made baby food that has been stored in fridge etc next time.

Mei (meie) : I sometimes get consistent "drumming" on the inside from the little one, my friends said it could be hiccups too. The drumming comes at a consistent frequency. Hee, but I'm still not too sure if that was hiccups.

Mei
Yes...Tickle-Me Ernie, Elmo &amp; Cookie Monster all giggle/laugh till fall on the floor...it's really cute!! But honestly i am buying them for myself cos i lurve sesame street, esp Ernie... Some children are terrified of all the TMX toys, probly the laughing scares them..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BbaGhhWmNbc - Ernie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4x-VW_rCSE - Elmo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mszP60kf-Jg - CM

oh, i played all 3 vdos and charlotte kicked me when the Ernie vdo is being played, i wonder she likes it or terrified by it,hehehe....

sunrays: my niece cries when Elmo "talks"! haha ... I think she's scared that the stuff toy is talking ... or perhaps scared by an "ugly human being"! hhehe

Ava: its the Pigeon Rapid steriliser, my friend got it from Isetan for me, selling at $99 &amp; with $20 its $79, wasted the voucher, should not have ask him to buy so early..

I thought since my super busy DH no time to accompany me to buy all the stuffs then might as well do it do it now , if not as tummy gets bigger even more difficult.

Thought that DH is coming home yday &amp; going to leave the things in the car &amp; get him to bring up. But in the end I have to lug three bagfuls of items back with my heavy laptop! Aiyo!

Mickey: Will be busy today, can send you BMO orders tonight?

Sarahmay: I am not buying food warmer, my friend told me just warm the milk bottle but putting in the hot water.

Softener: Also not buying, think bb detergent is enough.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom), thanks for the advice.. will try to drink more water..

SarahMay (sarahmay), my night time is alright.. will wake up once to pee.. but in the day.. pianz.. and my office ladies is a level down.. i have to keep climbing the stairs.

mei, no burning sensation.. just need to go... will try drinking more drinks and taking fruits.. will check with my gynae next week during the visit.

Wanna chk wif u ladies....anyone here leaking colostrum?? Cos i sleep bra-less in my PJs and every morning when i wake up, there are dried up stains on my jammies... it seems to be getting worse, looks like i have to wear bra wif breast pads to sleep liao!! It is normal, i hope???

Shazz
It is kinda scary when they laugh...esp elmo wif his high pitched voice,hehe... looks like I am gonna keep them for myself..my hb juz went to Forum Toys R Us to get elmo and ernie for me..so happy, now i've all 3 TMX characters!!

storeberry (storeberry) : invest in a Pack &amp; Roll, a foldable trolley. I always leave one in the boot, it's so useful when I buy groceries or got heavy stuff to carry. For work, I bought a business lugguage bag, with 4 wheels, so I just dump my laptop and documents in there when I go and meet clients, very useful now cos I can't carry heavy stuff.

sunrays: hee, I think Charlotte will appreciate it when she gets older, say 2-3 years old. =)

Sunrays: The cookie monster sounds scary!!! Haha... So actually the toys are for you not for your princess.. keke..

Shazz: Sounds like a good idea! Never thot of it though. Any idea where I can get it? NTUC?

the Pack &amp; Roll? I got it from NTUC last time at $10 I think. If not, I think you can Toa Payoh Central, I saw a few shops selling, usually those that sells pails, mops should sell it too.

Mei (meie) - I think at the end, we might not bother with private cord blood banking - most prob donate to the public one. But for people going with CordLife, I did check with the lady the last time, and the best discount would be with the FBI card (which I already have) + referral from my sister (think $450 off?)

sunrays (sunrays) - u are already leaking colostrum? I guess it is normal, though abit earlier (usually the last month?) Looks like u won't have problems BFing next time then