(2008/09) Sep 2008

bigtoes, ava
errr... i was getting worried cos the leakage seem to be getting worse... and it is quite irritating too, to see my jammies so 'dirty' every morning!!

anyone bot breast feeding pillow?? I saw it at the fair yst (mums & babes booth)...wondering whether it is a good buy? apparently there is a discount...abt $65... the SA told me the pillow is good cos the bb can latch on better(??)
http://www.mybrestfriend.com/

I just went for my 24 weeks checkup. J#2 is estimated to be 739g (~100g more than his kor kor at the same gestational age).

Cordlife:
If u sign up for 21-yr package, there is even more savings. For us, the savings would be $750 for one-time 21-yr payment, $450 from TMC FBI/SBI card and $250 first year waiver as sibling discount. If u terminate anytime b4 the 21 years, they will just refund the unused portion.

Hi Shazz

Is that the only set package available at Bumwear- The trial package? Actually i was wondering issit take beri long for the insert to dry after washing? Do u have any idea?

ANyone knows how much is Medela PIS advanced selling in the fair?

Btw, newborn diapers can use up till how many mths huh? 3 mths considered newborn liao mah? duno whether to stock up so many diapers or not wor

Goldfish,

There is no fixed rule. Like I said, it really depends on the bodysize. My son was borned 3.4kg, so technically can go straight to S size but his legs too skinny then (will leak). No point stocking up too many NB diapers as well. It's always easier to stock up on bigger sizes than smaller sizes.

sunrays
I bought My Brest Friend. I have carpal tunnel syndrome (painful & weak wrist & numb fingers) so this pillow will help me BF baby better. When I went for my antenatal class, they also used this & I found it useful especially when me, as a first time mum wouldn't know how to cradle baby properly.

Mei: Got your orders.

Storeberry: No prob.. We still have quite a bit to go before I place orders.

Sunrays: I have the pillow. Didn't use it for too long. In the beginning, the pillow was useful to guide me how to position the baby for breastfeeding - litterally flat on the pillow and just turn her head towards the nipples. After a while, I BF her using any other pillow cos I usually latch her on only in the late nite or wee-hour shifts when I'm still in bed..
I wasn't very successful with direct latch-on, but intend to give it another go this time round.

So many posts! Super tired now...think that yesterday I walked too much - 5+ hours on undulating terrain. Now body still recovering.

THANKS for your input on the food warmer, detergent, steriliser..(sorry cannot rber who told me what....brains mushy also. )

Think i will buy the bottle steriliser. Skip food warmer for now. Think laundry softener isn't necessary la hor.

SUNRAYS - sure no prob BFg! So early leaking colostrum already. hehe...told u you are well-endowed still dun believe.

Goldfish (goldfish1395): the package for BumWear is basically the same price as the one on their website: http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/bw-packs.html

Only difference is at the fair, you get extra inserts. For eg, Package A - 4 diapers/pull-ups + 10 inserts (enjoy 5% off - usually S$178, now S$169) I got 12 inserts instead of 10.

As for the rest of the package, I can't remember how many extra items they're giving. But you can use the $5 voucher which I gave the link in the previous page. Only valid at the fair, when you purchase above $100.

sarahmay, undulating terrain? where did you go?

sunrays, what's the colostrum like? can you feel it when it leaks?

there's a 20% store wide discount at harbourfront mothercare, until 8 june for dbs card holders. went there after getting my baby bjorn carrier at ffy, and finally got my moses basket and some other stuff! i must say this baby shopping is becoming very addictive eversince i opened the floodgates for the gss. now everything i see, i want!

xuanting (xuanting) : I totally agree with you that shopping for baby is addictive! haha ... it's a justifiable reason to shop mah! Even now that I'm 95% done with my shopping list, I have endless wants, created needs for my buying desires, even when I dun step out into the stores, just online shopping itself poses so much temptations!

if anyone is going to the Baby Fair, can help me get the Pupsik Diaper Clutch in Mocca? They ran out of Mocca when I was there yesterday. Thanks in advance!

shazz, ya lor. some more cos of the sale, i've been telling myself everything is a good buy. can't wait to move home so that i can unpack everything and lay them out nicely.

Xuanting: I did the world heritage trail in macau.Plus museum visiting. Think I covered like at least half of Macau island from penisula to middle of it. Got steep hills and steps. Aching now! Walked practically 3 hours non-stop.

im back frm the fair n guess wat, kena brown stains when i went toilet juz now! total shock coz 1st time for me. quickly called my gynae n she asked me wat did i do so i told her i went fair n bot tonnes of stuffs n carry like shitz.. i bot 3packs of diapers, 3packs maternity pads etc.. lug all the way to take mrt.. carry until heiheichuang then no kind soul let me sit on train.. gynae said i muz hv strained myself too much tats why caused the stain so asked me to monitor for next few days n see how.. n lie in bed n rest.. wah piang i really kena scolding upside down frm my pama n hub haha.. hub said the savings frm the fair cannot compensate if anythg happens to me.. so much for penny wise pound foolish.. =P

Nepia
Anyone who ordered or bought too many NB size Nepias, I dont mind getting 2-3 packs off you...anyone?

janf
Aiyoh must take care!!!!

Mei, Mickey
Looks like the BF pillow will be useful for correct positioning..i shall look out for it. A friend commented tat she've no time to wear it when the bb starts to cry,hehe..

Jaymickey
Wat time were u there?? I went there again today too,hehe!! I was there for a while only...just chop chop bot wat i wanted then left liao..was there abt 3pm.

Goldfish
Medela PIS is selling at $690 at the fair..bundled wif several Medela items inside..think the price is quite ok!! Cos i saw the BP price in the forum is $674 just for the pump itself.

Xuanting
I cannot feel it when it leaks, will only realise it when i feel wetness on my PJs. Also, there'll be dried up bits on my nipples too.

SarahMay
I am not tat well-endowed if compared to shazz, mei or yrself!! hehehe... i dun hear tis leakage problem wif all of u leh...so nothing to do with whether u are well-endowed or not lah...

Shazz
Your post came too late!! If it was earlier, then i could help u buy...i was at the pupsik counter buying the pouch just now.. let me check wif my gf whether she going tmr or not..

Janf
oh no...u shldnt be carrying so much!! diapers in bulk can be quite heavy too leh!! think u over-exerted!! Pls take care & rest well during the weekend!

janf (janf) : o dear! I also carried so many things yesterday, but thank God I was driving and I got a trolley with me, if not I dunno how I'm gonna bring them home. Please rest well and avoid carrying heavy things.

Ava: I think it's better that you call and order from Nepia directly. You can mix and match your order. The salesgirl told me, if your baby outgrow the size, eg, NB, if it's unopened, when you place your order the next time round, can arrange for them to change to the size you need. I think it's great that they're so flexible. So am thinking of stocking up on them before the promo ends 30 June, hee, will stock up when hubby is away so he won't scold me!

Call 6226 2650 to order

sunrays: thanks for helping me check with your friend. did you get anything else today?

Yesterday, my colleague told me to start thinking about the formula milk I want to feed my baby. I went huh, won't the hospital advise you on that? He said not really, they'll ask you cos your milk flow is not there yet, so they will feed baby with forumula first. He said he and his wife were at a lost, too tired from the delivery and blurr to decide so they called a friend for help!

So that got me started on researching on formula milk. I'll be breastfeeding and using formula for night feeds, so want to select something that will supplement breastmilk. So far, I've shortlisted Similac, Dumex Mamex Gold. Heard EnfaLac is not too bad as well.

Any experienced mummy can share on this? Or anyone who did their research?

shazz
my gf at the fair NOW... yr clutch, how much is it?? I sms-ed her liao so hopefully she can help.. PM me yr mobile no if u can.

shazz, mei
my EDD is 29 Sept. i already have most of the stuff like steriliser, stroller, baby clothes, milk bottles...etc All passed down fm my 1st gal. the only big item i need is a playpen. and the rest are bath towels, bathtub, baby bath solution, diaper cream, teats, diapers, cotton wool.
also stuff like maternity and breast pads, disposable panties, nipple cream and some confinement stuff like the Little Dreamers confinement massage oil, shower gel and this wonderful Sitz Bath Spray (for fast healing of perineals) fm Motherlove.
i guess im waiting till the last min coz all these all small items and can get them anytime in dept stores and pharmacies. Also because im shifting house in end aug and hoping to keep my present place clutter free till then. hehehe

sarahmay
for me, i will buy the post 3 months bottles later. but of coz, if you come across any gd deals can always buy now la..

Formula Milk
my gal was on Nestle NAN 1 during infant stage. this was what the TMC nurses recommended as it is the closest to breastmilk. alot of my friends commented that Similac is abit sweet. i tasted Similac myself and indeed it was sweeter than NAN. not sure abt other brands. my fren's son was on S26, at first ok then got hard stools in the end change to NAN also.
for formula milk, i guess it really depends on the baby. what worked for others might not work for you. this is what i find out so far la..

sarahmay, you need a nice massage to soothe those ouches la. 3hrs is a v long walk for fatties like us! undulating some more.

sunrays, did u buy the breast pads? can start using liao!

storm, i'm also moving around aug. hopefully everything will be ready by the time i pop. is your house under renovations now?

sunrays (sunrays) : PM you! thanks so much dear!

storm (storm): I see ... you're experienced mummy, so shouldn't be a problem if you get it later. Moving house just before you're due, you're very brave leh! Hope you have help in packing and unpacking.

thanks for your input on NAN 1 =)

FM
heee..an advice is that if you wanna bf successfully, dun think about fm..heeeee....i didnt prepare fm and didnt even consider it and bfg became natural choice loh.

if you guys thinking of not doing nite feeds, the engorgement can kill leh. very painful one. and it will also eventually affect milk supply.

hth...

I did my major shopping today at the fair. It is a really a fruitful trip. Thank for sharing all the information. I bought the huggies and Napier new born diapers, sign up for cord life, buy a cot, subscript to magazine and a whole bunch of nice thing from Pupsik studio ( the diaper clutch, poncho, pouch carriers (one for myself and hubby) and the pluush pads (in diff color)....Lots of baby wipes and mike bottles...

Think i want to go back tomorrow cos i did not see the thermo that you girls mention ... (which booth or company selling it har ?

By the way I was thinking of buying this
babyplus equipment which hug around mummy tummy to sooth the baby.. Seems to have lots of benefits for the baby later in life.. Anyone tried this product before ?
Another question is anybody see the Avent sterilizer there ?

Oh, just to share... Sweetest moment has a very good deal there. If you intend to buy your first month cake from them, they are now selling baby dining set @ $10. They will give you back $10 voucher for your purchase of their full month cakes....

I went for the fair again today just to buy the terumo thermometer, bought the pink one. Jo jo, the terumo booth is combined with the jordan toothbrush booth, you have to really keep a lookout for it because its not really that noticeable.

xuanting
really! actually i hvnt even got the keys yet. should be another 2-3weeks, now in search of an interior designer so that can start reno as soon as we get the keys.
hoping to move in latest by 1st week of sept. yrs in the process of renovations?

shazz
im not brave la.. i've got no choice. the developer keep dragging the TOP date. suppose to TOP in March. now june liao still hvnt get the keys. so now hv to rush for end aug/early sept move-in. im currently staying at my parents' place and there's no space for another baby here so have to shift out before i deliver. headache man

Jo Jo (jojobar): You must have spent alot at Pupsik Studio! I love the diaper clutch in Mocca but the one they have left is the display piece. The plussh pads are so nice but so exp! $65 for a changing mat yah? You bought in different colours? Wow! hehe ... my heart will ache if any poo gets onto such pretty changing mat, so I decided to just get something cheap and basic for travel changing mat. ;p

Storm: is the motherlove birth sitz bath spray really that good? is it available in Singapore or need to order from US?

Ava, since you like the Nepia diapers, why don't you order from them online?

Cloud: you can check out http://www.littledreamers.com.sg/
I just ordered some stuff from Little Dreamers yesterday, can't wait to reecive them.

Vein Treatment Cream $12.15
Aching Body Massage Cream S$23.40
Warming Body Wash S$17.00
Warming Shampoo S$17.90
Afterbirth Treatment S$13.05
Healing Bottom Spray S$13.95

Sarahmay: Wow, your stamina is good yah? Ask you hubby to massage you painful calves.

Thot I would list down the price I got from the Ocean shop at Chinatown so you all can make comparison:

1. Pigeon Breast Pads (36pcs + 4 FOC): $8
2. Cotton Disposable Undies X 5: $2.50
3. Sebamed Baby Shampoo 250ml: $11
4. Sebamed Baby Bubble Bath 1000ml with free 200ml : $34
5. Pigeon wipes X 3 (86pcs each): $8.80
8. Laurier Super guard 14pcs: $3.90
9. Sofy Body fit 8pcs: $2.40

Cheong Choon Shop
1. Pigeon Steriliser Rapid (with the purple button): $88
2. Medela Dual Plus: $260 (Think this is the mini electric one)
3. Ameda Lactaline Dual pump: $350
4. Pigeon teats X 3 pcs: (Can't remember)
5. Pigeon Nose cleaner: (Can't remember)
6. Pigeon Mittens: $1
7. Beansprouts pillow: Not sure

I think it's free delivery for orders above $150. I paid $2 for the CBD surcharge cos I shared the order with a colleague and my office is within CBD area.

This is the delivery charges as stated on their website:

There is a S$6.00 delivery fee for delivering the products in Singapore. If you wish your items to be sent to the CBD area, please note that our courier imposes a $2 surcharge, making the delivery fee S$8.00.

Hi Shazz,
Yes i did spend a bomb in the Pupsik Studio. But i like the print and it feel really soft. Think i will go back and buy the thermo tomorrow. I was thinking to go back tomorrow myself...SInce hubby offer, think i will go thru the stalls in detail again...hee hee someone to carry my shopping.
It has been long since i bought so much thing in one shot.... remind me of the days when i go to factory outlets in US ....very shiok....
Think i almost complete my shopping leow... Except for bedding set for the cot ...any good suggestions ?
Oh, I just bought some nice clothes for baby online via www.jcpenny.com.sg. Go check it out, they are having sale ...the baby set is quite worth it

cloud
i used it for my 1st delivery and my episiotomy wound recovered within 3 days leh. im not sure if im just lucky that the woound healed quickly or its the works of the sitz bath spray. but it did helped soothe the wound and make it less stinging. i got it fm TMC pharmacy. i think the pharmacy in camden medical ctr also carry this brand.

otherwise can get online http://www.orangeaday.com.sg/home.php?cat=55

shazz
im planning to get some items fm Little Dreamers too! the confinement shower gel and the massage oil seem good. i hated the oil my massage lady used last time. she used olive oil as base and its really oily.

Hi Shazz,
Thank for your recommendation on little dreame. Saw their confinement shower gel and shampoo.... Just went online and bought a bunch of things.. I think i just shopholic self is back in action !

BabyMall Orders: This is what I have so far. Pls check if items are correct. I'll use 1.43 as the exchange. PLs transfer to posb savings 150280532. Thanks

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>Color</TD><TD>Size</TD><TD>Price</TD><TD>SGD</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunrays</TD><TD>Romper Pls control yourself, no cheek pinching</TD><TD>White/Pink</TD><TD>6-9m</TD><TD>2.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vickie</TD><TD>Medicine Dropper</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1.49</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Cotton Tights</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD>0-9m</TD><TD>2.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>5-pc Light-weight sleeveless T top</TD><TD>Neutral-yellow</TD><TD>6-9m</TD><TD>5.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Girls' Computer Boxed Booties</TD><TD>Flower</TD><TD>0-9m</TD><TD>0.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Total</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>14.45</TD><TD>20.66</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cloud</TD><TD>Fleece Receiving Blanket</TD><TD>Blue</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gail</TD><TD>Puppy &amp; frog receiving blanket</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>4.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Safari Lion Receiving Blanket</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>3.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>12.97</TD><TD>18.55</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Gan</TD><TD>5-pack Friendship Baby Bibs</TD><TD>Yellow</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>6-pack receiving blankets</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD></TD><TD>5.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>10-pack washcloth</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>13.97</TD><TD>19.98</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei</TD><TD>Grandpa Spoils Me</TD><TD></TD><TD>6-9m</TD><TD>2.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evon</TD><TD>Funny Sayings for Boys Baby Tee</TD><TD></TD><TD>6-12m</TD><TD>3.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>12-pack baby washcloth</TD><TD>celery green</TD><TD></TD><TD>4.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>5-pack safari baby bibs</TD><TD>yellow</TD><TD></TD><TD>4.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Denim Baby Bib with Pocket</TD><TD>boy-train</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>5-pack receiving blanket</TD><TD>blue</TD><TD></TD><TD>7.99</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>26.94</TD><TD>38.52</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>