(2008/09) Sep 2008

Alabone: Agree, the moon roof is not a must-have at all. My hubby is quite taken with the car, although I'm still thinking over the XC 90.

The "prob" with the estima is I'll rather be the passenger (in the 2nd row with the indiv arm and leg rest, fully reclined) than the driver. Kekeke...

SarahMay (sarahmay): when I bought them, I dun expect them to last me thru out the pregnancy. I just wanted something that I can wear now and they’re cheaper than maternity ones at $21.60. They’re made of stretchy material, and I test them by sitting and squatting down, just to make sure I have enough allowance. I have a buy as I grow mentality cos I realized that those I bought, expecting to last thru out the pregnancy can hide a few chickens in there and makes me look silly! Haha. In fact, I didn’t buy much maternity clothes, but still shop at my favorite places like WOMB and Topshop, just need to upsize my size a little. Colleagues have commented that I don’t look preggie from the back cos of the clothes I’m wearing, which are not preggie like. But I don’t know how long I can wear my size L non-maternity clothes if I’m gonna balloon a lot more in 3rd trimester. Will buy as I grow. ;p

I had to buy new bras cos I was growing and outgrowing the previous ones I got in terms of the width size, and the extensions didn’t really help. They were the correct size when I bought them. Never ever buy too big a bra, cos the band width is very important, if that is too loose, there’s no support at all. Too tight and they’re uncomfortable. So each time I buy, I get only 2 or 3 just to rotate.

After hunting for maternity bras at maternity shops and counters like Wacoal and Triumph, I realized that the best bet for me is at St Michaels. I got those non-wired T-shirt bras. They’re from their regular range, but it’s comfortable for me, gives me support and doesn’t show the ugly seams like my maternity bras from Spring and Mothercare. The ones from Triumph looks so gigantic and like parachutes … and it shows under some of my non-maternity clothes cos the cutting is pretty high and shows thru the armholes.

mickey (bbmouse): remember to do the sitting test, to make sure you have enough allowance when sitting down, if not will be uncomfortable. =)

Bella Bands: I got 2 online from Amazon but I felt it didn’t support the tummy. It’s more useful like mickey said, when our tops are riding up, we wear it underneath like an extension to cover our belly. It was also supposed to help hold up bottoms that can’t be zipped but I was embarrassed to say that it rode up and exposed my unbuttoned fly when I was about 3 mths preggie and was still trying to wear my normal jeans.

Lok (lok): thanks for sharing your experience with the Britax Royale. Hubby and I are eyeing the Diplomat or

alabone (alabone): good choice on the black hybrid Estima! Yeah, agree that it’ll look more fierce, hee, much like the MPVs that they use to ferry all the stars to avoid paparazzis!

Mei (meie): I’m sure we can all fit into skinny jeans, just in bigger sizes! Haha … I think some cutting is really forgiving and helps to hide flaws. Just that we have to go around and try and all.

Ava: I’m ok with catering too. But we need to confirm how many pax before we can proceed yah? So min is 15 or 20?

alabone, i also just realised we are in two similiar threads.. haha.. so u are expecting #2 or #3 in Sept? Our kids are the same age!

cars... i just seen the Cherry Crossover... 7 seater... got CNG version... only $68K... apparantly passed the ncap test... I do not have so much $$ to get the european MPVs leh... anyone driving or considering this car?

shazz
Min is 20 pax...our usual caterer Lavish also has a min of 20 or 30, but I think I can negotiate a smaller min, cos we've used him for a lot of events and recommended him like crazy over the years...

<font color="0000ff">wah.... gathering, my fav!!!!!

but sob sob... i cannot attend leh.. am working on Sat and my office in god-knows-where: Tuas.

Do enjoy urselves ya.. sounds so exciting.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Carrying low
btw.. juz need to check with anyone of u here if u are experiencing the same as me

today.. been feeling weird. whenever i'm up walking around or standing, i can feel bb's kicks at my V area at times. when i sit, the movements are pretty low oso. not as high as it was ytd or previously. juz wondering if it's a cause for concern. am rather worried</font>

I bought my maternity bras, both the wired and no underwire types for night time, from Perfect Mum, at Suntec. Think there is one at International Plaza, never been there b4 though.

LC
Me about the same situation too, MIL coming over to my house during my confinement cos she's not working, together with the CL ard. I'm just worried that she will also interfere with wat the CL does, cos she usually thinks she is "smarter" and "more hygenic". The problem is, she is soooo sensitive that i will go over to my mum's house so stay, then she say my FIL wants to "play" with the grandchild, and will be angry if i go over to my mum house to stay. Think she will lord over me and CL when my hubby is at work all day long..no freedom liao. I think if your CL cooks for u, she should be the one doing the marketing and not ur mil, unless ur CL not going to cook, only looking after ur BB. But be cautious, MIL is never easy to deal with. I've learnt my lesson...sian..

Sasa: I also feel movements there all the time when I'm sitting down in the office. My placenta is also low-lying. Was liddat for my first pregnancy too. Don't worry too much. As the baby grows, it will carry the placenta higher. Talk to your baby and tell him to help mummy do this..
The concern for low-lying placenta is if there's bleeding. If don't have, then ok.
BUt you can call your gynae to re-confirm what I just said. Your gynae knows your condition best.

<font color="119911">Cloth nappy:
Are u ladies planning to use the traditional cloth nappy for the 1st month when the CL is around? I was just intending to get diapers for new born.

Britax:
For mommies going for Britax, I got my Britax Meridian from Cheong Choon. Think Robinson has that too, but the last i called, they didn't have a discount on that model. Good alternative to the Royale.

Ava (avalyn) - am okie with any caterer. Btw, can I request for less spicy food? For some reason, baby doesn't quite appreciate the spice (and durians)!</font>

sasa, i feel that too, very hard kicks last night at the V area too. But i think that is normal, cos the baby tends to toss non-stop. But its great to feel her kicks, at least u noe that bb is active and doing fine in ur tummy, especially some pple feel scared tt their bb are not responding at all, can be frightening..

Bigtoes
I bought both newborn diapers and breathable cloth nappies for my bb, cos bb's skin is very sensitive. If locked in only diapers all day, skin may get rashes very easily. So i will rotate between diapers and nappies, cos nappies are more breathable and comfortable, as they are made of cotton. Anyway, hubby volunteered to wash too, if CL cannot manage. Just my 2-cents worth

Bigtoes
Am probably going for diapers too, unless CL feels she can cope with nappies for 2 babies!

Your food request is noted

sasa, i'm also feeling my baby kicking me quite low at below the belly area. but my belly is also quite low so i guess it's normal that the baby is lower too.

bigtoes, i will be using both the cloth nappy and those disposable diapers. most probably day time use the cloth one and night time use the disposable one.

Jasmine Lim (mobilesuitegal) : I got my first set of bras from Perfect Mum too, not Spring as I mentioned earlier, rem wrongly. But I hated the Perfect Mum ones ... cos they dun have cup sizes! And I outgrew those very fast even though their design is very much more for nursing bras. The salesgirls are very good at selling, so most customers ended up buying the "package" deal which will costs at least $200 plus.

Bigtoes: how much did you pay for the Meridian in the end? I saw it at First Few Years.

yoyo everyone..

looking at all of you discussing about the gathering seems rather interesting!!! Hmm...hope i can join you gals..
when's the gathering, huh? what time, and where?? let's see if i can fit in.. haha..!

shazz
I think we met the same salesgirl! I bought the package deal too, and tried on a lot of tops and dress, in the end bought spent more than $400. After that, don dare to go into their shop again, for fear of overspending! Did u use the extension given? Or is it the cup size is too small now? The nightwear bras still fine for me now, but the daywear ones are too small for the cup size area.

Is the gathering at high tea time oni ?
Too bad i cannot attend on sat noon .
Let me know if there's any changes cos i can fit at evening time or sun (any time).
Really hope to join the MTBs

Lemon: here are the details of the gathering

**Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664
Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Stefseanbabes --> ok. count me in then. But will hv to tug along stef and sean. hope they don't break anything in the house.
Mrs Yap
Mei
bigtoes
Jo
lilboymum &amp; CY (2 pax)
alabone, Jared &amp; Nat (will bringing two todds frighten the new mtbs?)

Jasmine Lim: I bought mine at Suntec outlet. But my friends told me they're all the same at other outlets! Trained to up-sell! I've used the extensions, use 2 at a time cos their strapless bra is the only one I can wear now when I wearing something that requires strapless bra. Their width and cup are too small for me now. I'm overflowing the cup, so it's like half or 1/4 cup now.

<font color="119911">Thanks ladies for your comments on cloth nappies.
I can't imagine having to wash pooh off the cloth diapers! Will just get NB diapers unless the CL insists on getting cloth nappies.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - got the britax meridian for $480 (which is a good price cos Robinson is selling it for $599 without any discount).</font>

Hi, Jasmine

Think it is better if you can let your hubby know so that he can hint to the MIL first.. bec when both seniors (CL and MIL) around, conflicts do happen.. I will let hubby know that I dun mind MIL come over but not everyday and not to stay overnight.. I will freak out, called me a freak if you like but I just dun feel happy with MIL ard for long and somemore Hubby will be out of town for 3mths..

My CL will be cooking for me but not sure if she will do marketing. cos i tot we are suppose to get ready the ingredients for her to cook..

Re: cloth nappies. May I know if you know where i can get pigeon liners for the nappies? I went BHG and Robinsons, all out of stock...

Can with u all, ur CL never ask u to buy cloth nappies?? my CL request for it.. say is easier to use it while feeding the baby then using hankerchief..

And my SIL also uses that... so i thought is a norm now..

Jasmine
I agree with LC. My hubby will be talking to my MIL before our CL arrives, to tell her not to interfere with how the CL works. Knowing how my MIL is like, I told my hubby that I'll be emotional &amp; tired by then &amp; I don't want to waste my recuperation time trying to control the situation. My hubby agrees with me, so he's going to talk to his mum.

LC
My confinement lady requested for my hubby to send her to the market once a week to get all the food &amp; groceries needed for me.

Shazz: I just went to This Fashion over lunch and bot a pair of jeans! In L size.. It's a bit stretchable. The waist is a bit loose, but I thot why not since it'll continue to expand anyway. Love it! Thanks for the good idea.

mickey (bbmouse) : yeah! glad you found something. Yah, the waist part is slightly loose for me but it's allowance for expansion. So long as it doesn't fall off, my bums big enough to support lah. hehe

By the way, I'm going for my glucose test tomorrow but tried calling the hospital but no answer! Does anyone know what is the cut off time for eating and need to fast?

shazz (shazzerlyn) - for GTT, TMC nurse said no food/drinks from 12 midnite (assuming ur appnt is in the morning). Mine is at 8.30am, so nothing from midnite till then. Little sip of water is okie.

Confinement lady:

My confinement lady doesn't get out of my house at all. She will tell my MIL what she needs and hubby+MIL will do marketing.

thanks Bigtoes! phew! midnight to next morning all the way to lunch is not that bad. Think I'll snack at 9 plus just in case i faint tom! hehe

Ava: just checked out Lavish, their spread looks good for $12 per pax for tea! wld be good if you can negotiate on the min pax ;) or perhaps add more items and have less pax?

Shazz: What time is your appt? For the GTT, the clinic will usually arrange for the morning. We have to stop eating from mid nite the night before. We're allowed only water.

I was thinking can use a belt to hold on to the jeans. But think it won't drop off lah. The bum area will be a bit low but then again, our tops are all so long, so can prob hide. I bot a long pair, it can be folded up a few layers to look like a capri. Kekeke.. I'm very pleased. Didn't think of this before.

Sa sa: Come &amp; join us leh since ur house is quite near! (Btw you shifted already?) We are meeting in the noon around 3pm, you can come after your work? I don't feel bb kicking me near my V area but majority of the times below my belly button. And today felt something on my ribcrage &amp; it felt painful, don't know if it is bb or not...

Mickiey: You are fast!! Kekeke...

mickey (bbmouse): my appt is at 9am. By the time they finish taking the blood samples at eveyr 1 hours interval, I would be famished by lunch! hehe

yah, our tops are usually long ones that can cover the exposed bum area when we sit down.

Sasa: what time do you finish work?

hey ladies,

anyone feel occasional pain at the breatbone? just below the breast? for me it particularly below the right breast its like a dull ache. cant be heartburn right? coz my heart on the left leh

<font color="0000ff">Mickey / Jasmine Lim / Jessi
Thanks for ur replies... i feel realli relieve knowing that some of u are encountering the same as me.. will observe and not walk around or stand too much le. can't wait for Monday to come den i can bring it up to my gynae...

Cloth diapers
I'll be getting them too. My MIL has given the go-ahead tat i use these instead of diapers. haha.. my concern was tat the maid would not have enuff time to wash them. but seems like with nappy liners, it wouldnt be tat great a problem.

So now.. i have to source where to get cheap nappies and nappy liners...</font>

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
haha.... i shifted le.. on Labour Day.. so now i'm a Jurong kid...

wah... ur bb so strong hor.. hehe.. kick till so painful

Shazz
i finish at 2pm wor, officially... but i dun leave office till 3+ / 4pm..</font>

LC and Mei
I have talked to my hubby abt this matter before, but his mother is one stubborn mule who will not budge at anything. Moreover, my hubby is scared of his mum, so I will have to convince him the problems of two seniors squabbling and end up i have to be tending to them. Pray hard no conflicts..

Lok
So for the confinement lady, she will be be doing the washing, cooking (for me only) and taking care of the bb right? I am afraid that the duties are still unclear. Not sure if all CL work the same.

I went to the robinson sales here in expo.. nothing much in terms of nursury stuffs.. so if u think of coming.. don't waste ur time...

mobilsuite,

My previous confinement lady do the washing (mainly bb clothes as we use washine machine for adults), cooking for us (cos my hubby ate the same thing), clean the house and take care of the bb... I use disposable diaper all the time and confinement body wash/shampoo so she doesn't need to boil herbs at all.

This time round, I'm using a new lady so have to find out what her duties are. What u mentioned are probably standard (the extras like housework needs to be clarified).

ava, order whichever caterer you think is good and convenient

lc,
think most CL will shop with the pregger's hubby for groceries..usually once a week. Colleague told me that the hubby should hold the money and pay direct when shopping. I am also worried my MIL will come everyday cos she is not working..and have conflict with CL..she is already saying that she will help me buy stuff! Recently she bought one charcoal stove (mini size), some charcoal, one packet of salt n small pkt rice..already cost $50! I wonder how come so expensive?!

bacon&amp;egg,
your mil is already well-prepared to come over most prob, looking at the things that she has prepared for you! if only my mum is the one not working instead of my MIL..it is always easier to for your own mum around the house, cos at least if got any problems, can tell her straight, but for MIL, very difficult to tell her whether it is right or wrong. My fren's MIL fed her baby daughter with Milo everyday! Can you imagine how bad it is for babies to drink milo everyday?? but its MIL, very difficult to tell her off..you noe what i mean right?

Ladies, i think there is going to be a baby fair from 5 - 8 June, singapore expo. not sure if they sell the things that you all need. I will be making a trip there during that weekend! Most of bb's stuff are already stock-piled liao, bought mostly during the previous Taka fair and latest, malaysia Jusco there, esp. baby's clothes, really very cheap!

mobilesuit,
i know what u mean..
usually i will tell my hubby to tell her what i dont want to abide. One classic eg is that my MIl doesnt allow women's undergarment to be washed in the washing machine cos of bad luck for the men! In my old place, me n hubby dont care and wash whatever clothes we have including undies. Now staying with in-laws, MIL doesnt allow and told me to wash by hand. I did obeyed her but told my hubby to tell her that such logic is illogical in this era. Just wanted to bring the pt across to her

Hi, Bacon&amp;egg

Looking at your nick makes me hungy. bacon + egg.. yummy yummy :p Charcoal stove? oh my.. I dun know where to place it if MIL is bringing over.. she said the soup boiled over charcoal taste better.. hahaha.. but I dun think she will boil any soup for me after I give birth cos it might be payback time for her, for putting up with me during this pregnancy. hahahaha :p

what a busy day in this thread!! Just as I'm recuperating from my tiring trip, am now stuck in some stupid compulsory week-long workshop. Sneaked out after tea break...sian...

<font color="ff0000">Ava</font>: I thot I met some guy from our sch at the workshop! I'll ask him tomorrow

<font color="ff0000">Shazz</font>: Didn't notice ur photo last nite! You are in good shape, baby!!! Full of envy. My thighs are probably 1.5 times yours and hips &amp; arms, double perhaps?!! KEKEKEKE!!

I also buy my jeans from TopShop. In fact, I hv 6 pairs from TopShop, to be exact!! All low-rise hipsters. I am also wearing M&amp;S undergarments. I might get a maternity band as I am slowly outgrowing my maternity jeans and pants, and hence need support if I wear maternity dresses in my last tri.

Gathering: Proximity is not an issue for me...but I must be at my folks that weekend cos DH'll be coming back the following weekend in Jun.

<font color="ff0000">Big Toes</font>: OOps, thot saw that you asked Ava "whereabouts?", thereby prompting her to post the street directory link for u later? Nevermind...SG is so small, no one gets lost here...

<font color="ff0000">SarahMay</font>: Me, journo? Nope, but I suck up to journos

<font color="ff0000">LC</font>: Alrite, but at least your DH is gone for his overseas training after your 3 mths confinement is he not? Are you getting a CL to help you?

Actually, this long distance thingie is not uncommon in China, I notice. Many of my friends stay with their parents during their pregnancy and during their confinement, whilst their DHs are slogging away somewhere in other provinces! Abnormal as it may sound, it is not often possible for hbs and wives to work together in large countries, quite unfortunately actually.

<font color="ff0000">RXmom</font>: So will your hb take leave and keep you company during your confinement?

<font color="ff0000">Mei</font>: Your MIL is really quite a force to be reckoned with!!! My MIL will never dare ask me to roll up my sleeves and prepare meals for my DH or for that matter, for them the two old folks, cos she knows I never needed to do household chores nor cook before marriage! Well, you dun hv to bear with that now that you're bearing them a grandchild! Am sure she will love u to bits and stop making things diff for u liao!!

Hey, are you the one who bought your cot bed from Mothercare? So in the end, did u get the bedding set from Mothercare, or those online sites u posted here? I bot the <font color="119911">GREEN CAR BLUE</font> in the end, after much deliberation...It doesn't quite fit my 52X28" cotbed however, but what the heck...They are having a 15% discount storewide. It matches some of the bb accessories I bot from Jacadi nursery in Shanghai recently.

CLOTH DIAPERS: Can't make up my mind abt them. Almost bot the waterproof nappy covers with velcro from Kiddy Palace last nite, but relented cos they look so 'warm'...

<font color="ff0000">Bacon&amp;eggs</font>: My MIL also likes to interfere. She thinks she is a damn good cook and no CL in the whole wide world can match her cooking. She will definitely quarrel with my CL.

She told me not to buy cot mobiles cos they cause bbs to get cock-eyes! She also told me not to eat Del Monte bananas, durians, lamb, cucumber, etc. Quite irritating sometimes. I just roll my eyes!!

Recently, she's into persuading me to invest in some expensive kitchen utensils for my confinement cooking in Sept. I just wonder, why doesn't she just buy one for my DH &amp; I, since she had already bot some for her other son, my BIL, who is currently working abroad?

Anyway, I told her I dun cook, so I dun need such expensive woks and pots in my kitchen. I said wilfully that I'd borrow from other people when the time comes. She was stumped by my answer. Actually, I was hinting to her that I'd borrow from my BIL, who btw, is single and not even living in SG to use those utensils she bot for him!!

Flos
I doubt she'll love me to bits by giving her a grandson.. bahh.. think I'm more like a baby-making machine to her. She bought $1K worth of luxury, branded clothes for my baby, but not even a shred of bird's nest or a morsel of cordyceps for me.. Lol.

Yup, I'm the one who bought the Mothercare cot, I have not gotten round to buying the mattress &amp; bedding yet, waiting for some GSS offers.. is there a 15% discount at MotherCare now? With any particular credit card?

Hi Flos,

wah, what a long post!
I think my hubby should be able to take leave to keep me and baby company during my confinement. He has lots of leave to clear. Dunno abt your hubbies... but my hubbies and some of the men in my office dun like to take leave one leh..they said they can't possible clear their leave. strange! Cos I can!