(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mei: Grandson? Yeah! That's rite! You'll be in favour!!! Wait a sec, is she the one who bot Baby Dior for your son? I love Baby Dior too

OK, for the Mothercare promotion rite? POSB/DBS credit card holders get 15%, Other cardholders get 15% for 4 days until Sun at Harbourfront outlet. The GSS at Mothercare has already started, they said.

I find the Rose bedding series lovely, but I'm also hving a boy like u. So I bot the Green Car Blue series. I skipped the quilt cos it's 4 TOG and only suitable for 12 mths above.

RXmom: I know I know! My hb is exactly like yours. Workaholic. My hb has never consumed any sick leave in his entire life! He is fit and has immense energy. Only requires 4 hrs sleep daily. I'm the one always taking MC, leave, and eating snake, like now, sneaking home after the tea-break whlst on training
LOL

Mei, I wasn't clear in my last posting:

POSB/DBS credit card holders get 15% throughout the month, till end of GSS.

Other credit cards also get 15%, but only for 4 days (and only at Harbourfront outlet).

Flos
Yes, she's indeed very happy that it's a boy. But no special treatment for me whatsoever... Yes, she's the one who went to buy Baby Dior & Burberry outfits. I am not going to let my son wear them, just because she is the one who bought it, she's not going to make my son her trophy.

Ok, I'll go to MotherCare this weekend to get the mattress & beddings.. thanks for letting me know!

Mei: Let your son wear lah...I think it's very very nice lor. My Sis' son wore Dior for his first mth, and I bot Burberry's for my bro's son for his first mth. I dunno what my son will wear. Armani? kekeke!

Flos
How to let him wear when she's going to wear matching with him? She's just the grandmother lor.. I won't let her have her way... hehe. Whatever she buys I banish to cold storage. Even my hubby thinks she's ridiculous to plan matching outfits for herself & our son.. lol.

Anyway, I already planned to let my son wear a BabyMallOnline slogan bodysuit for his 1st month already.. Lol.

Ava
Tell me about it... she even wants to buy her OWN twin stroller (my SIL is also expecting).. how crazy is that? Lol..

Flos - hubby will be away even before I pop..
Got a CL already and hopefully she dun back out the last minute.. Finger crossed *

Mei (meie) : let your son wear them when you're out ... without the grandma! hehe, so she won;t have a chance to wear matching outfits.
I find the matching outfits part abit too much, you're the mummy, not her! Wat? twin-stroller to take both her grandchild out? crazy! haha

Flos: Club 21 is having 20% off from 23-25 May at all their outlets. Including DKNY Kids, Kids 21, Twelve 21 and Paragon kids 21

hubby wants to get the Armani romper ... but it's still so exp with 20% off! I don't think I will buy cos we've spent a fair bit on his stroller and bath tub with stand from First Few Years over the weekend.

Anyone experiencing throbbing headache? I'm suffering from that since yday after being exposed to the super hot sun for less than 20 mins!

Mei: Your MIL is really one kind. Can match with another mum's MIL who wants to bring her grandson to holiday without the parents! And she doesn't even know how to take care of him.. So ambitious of her. Your MIL wants to buy twin strollers? Huh???

hi ava,
Gathering-
sorry. need to count me out for the gathering. forgot i'm having my pilates class on sat afternoons.

**Gathering**
Date: 31 May (Sat) 3-5pm
Venue: 112 Potong Pasir Ave 1 #07-664
Interested MTBs:
Ava
Shazz
Bacon
Jaymickey
Mei
LC
storeberry
Qiuling
Mrs Yap
Mei
bigtoes
Jo
lilboymum & CY (2 pax)
alabone, Jared & Nat (will bringing two todds frighten the new mtbs?)

GATHERING: I'm soooooo sad I cannot be there! Can we pleeeeeaaaase have another one again? Would love to be there!

CATERING: i have this caterer that I find pretty good and reasonably priced. CJS Catering. Find their food yummy. http://cjscatering.com.sg/ Can call the boss JUSTINA 9756 5605. She's very nice. If you do call, just say Sarah from NCC Nursery gave u her contact. Shazz - u know her from NCC Nursery?

Flos: U in PR? I think i rbered u saying something abt PR....cos PR ppl suck up to journos the most I guess. hehe.

Storeberry/ Sasa: My bb also kicks me q low sometimes and as a result i feel my vaginal area aching for a bit. Hehe. Also I noticed bb is kicking higher up too...like few inches below my boobs. I wonder how big bb is now! can't wait for my next visit in June!

LC: Cordyceps ah....dunno how many worms. Normally go by 1 liang divided into 3 servings...hehe. Get the TMC hall to divide into portions. Rber must double boil hor! If you trhow in pao shen will also be good to 'bu qi'.

RXMom: So lucky tt ur hubby got sooooo much leave to clear? enough to be with u for whole month of ur confinement? Hehe...then can help u out more!Some men are like that one la....they just dun like to be around their wives and crying bbs lor.

Mei: Your MIL sounds scary!!! But dun stress too much now about what may happen yah?

Hey people!!!!!

Went for my detailed scan today and guess what!!!! Im going to have a GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!! YEAH YEAH YEAH YEAH YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!

A GIRL!!!!!HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAA

oooopsss...
regarding gathering...
i kept thinking it was june 30th, didnt know its this month. cant make it this month leh, coz my boy;s swimming still on (june term break)...

huh??!!! sooooo sad...wanna so much to meet up

got another one???somewhere in june???sarahmay can make it then????

Just came back from gynae checkup! Baby is bouncing away and at 24 weeks, he weigh 733grams! EVerything is fine & consultation was over in a min!

As I am typing this, I can feel my backache...

Mei: Matching outfits are funny! Kekek...

Storeberry! WAH! Your bb is soooo strong and heavy! Congrats! So exciting! He is BIIIIIIGGG! I am amazed at how fast bb can grow! At 21w mine was only 443g. I wonder how heavy he will be at my next appt which will be wk 26.

L'l Cy: Congrats too!!!!! You must be ECSTATIC! Now perfect liao - boy and girl. Hehe. So can close factory?

Gathering: June 30 I also cannot make it. Sad sad. Be back in Macau. Only after mid July then I will be in Sg for good until birth.

l'l CY (lilboymum) : congrats! yeah, another minnie here. girls clothes are sooo cuuuteee!

SarahMay (sarahmay) : I don't know Justina, but my in laws knows them pretty well cos they always use them for alot of events, from happy celebrations to funerals cos they were in the funeral help ministry in church. ;)

Don't worry, we'll have another gathering before we pop lah. Probably in July or Aug, cos by then we can't travel, easier to have everyone together.

Storeberry: that's a normal weight. My turn tom, will update when I'm back in the afternoon.

Hi Shazz & Sarahmay: Yah, did a search on babycentre, he is normal weight!

Yes, lets have another gathering after this!

Ok, please update us when you are back from your check up Shazz! And prob you missed my posts, can email me your Chawamushi recipe? PLSSSSS???

l'lcy,
yesssssssssssssss!!! i'm so excited for you as well. now my nat and cadence got playmates. i can't wait for my detailed scan to see bb also.

storeberry,sasa, sarahmay,
my bb also kicks me real low. was telling this to l'lcy earlier. like kicking me below the belly button space. no aching/pain at vagina though. just odd that at 20weeks, my bb kicks are like still so gentle and somewhat infrequent. perhaps really really tiny bb so cannot really feel the kicks that well.

Just had my Yellow kiwi plus Meiji yoghurt! yummy...

Ava: ok ok lah, I'll try to make it, but no promises. As u know, poor me, got no car as HB is not back yet. So weekends are the only times I can get my kind daddy to ferry me to those ulu BB warehouses and downtown malls to cashNcarry stuffs.

Shazz: KIDS 21 SALE????????????????!!! MAny thanks! This is a very impt piece of news to me. I'll be there. That said, I still think Armani Kids is overpriced. Just thot might be able to grab some soft toys, that's all. Kids 21 soft toys are the sweetest.

So what stroller did u get in the end? Not Stokke anymore rite? I went back to look at Bugaboo...too heavy liao lah...My hb pretty likes Quinny, but I'm not ruling out Maclaren Techni XT either. My hb seems to hv fallen for the down-to-earth Combi since we last shopped in Shanghai. Oh, btw, I'm incredibly amazed how light Aprica strollers can be. It's very expensive and yet doesn't feel/look that expensive.

SarahMAy: BINGO! You are one clever girl

Storeberry: wow! How heavy was your bb last time, ie. 20 weeks? I can't wait to find out bb's weight again!

Sasa de mouse: PLS let me know if Dr Cheng tells u bb's weight at 24 weeks when u visit him next wk. I heard he doesn't tell patients the bb's weight one. My next visit is first week of Jun.

lilboymum: I'm so happy for u!!! BOY and GIRL! Perfect combi

LC: you're still resarching on cordyceps? Thot u already digested the worms since the last time we talked abt it here!!! I even provided 4 methods of consumption in this thread...Mickey even suggested ways to pack and store them. LOL

Just brew 3-4 stalks each time with your black or white chicken, plus those herbs SarahMay mentioned above. The TMC sinseh should know, so feel free to ask them.

I haven't been drinking that in the last 2 weeks.

Btw, LC, I bot somemore Clarins tonic oil and stretchmark control cream at T3 airport last week!!! Heheheh!!

hi ladies, sorry to disturb.
I will be holding garage sale tis sunday.
Do come if interested!
<font color="ff6000"> <font size="+1">
GARAGE SALES!!!
ALL ARE WELCOME!!!</font></font>
<font color="0000ff"> <font size="+1">
Date: May 25, 2008 (Sunday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Venue: 9 Simei St. 4
#10-02 Simei Green Condo
Singapore 529865</font></font>
Payment Mode: Cash Only

Details:
Items starting from $0.50 available!
Just a peek at what will be up for sale:

Household
- 29" Panasonic Flat Screen TV
- Queen-sized Wooden Bedroom Set (Guest Room)
- Glass Coffee Table
- Standing Oscillating Fans
- Brand New (in box) 3-tier Food Steamer

Baby / Children's Accessories &amp; Toys
- Cot Bedding Set (Used twice)
- Millk Bottles (Almost New &amp; Used
conditions)
- Girls' Dressing Table set...

and MUCH MORE!

Alabone: Yours is so gentle. But at 20 weeks I think that is pretty normal. I think I only really felt mine kick hard over the last 2 weeks or so.

Flos: How come you bought two diff kinds of stretchmark products?

Storeberry: Still looking for more jap recipes ah? heheh. Have you been indulging in your fave cha soba at home?

MOOD SWINGS: I don't know why I was suddenly super irritable yday. I blew up at the waitress at a Jap rest yday. My face was super black that in the end the manager said they wld take back the order, which was wrong btw. My hubby wanted to take it though we didn't order it. I felt so bad afterwards. I really just blew it! Argh. Thank goodness my hubby didn't say anything.

sarahmay,
yeah. bb kicks still quite gentle. can't wait for her to kick me a bit harder. then don't have to second guess if i just felt a kick or i'm gassy..

MOOD SWINGS: it's the pregnancy hormones at work lady! plus bad weather perhaps?? so what happened? if you didn't order the item, of course the manager should take it back. don't worry about this. irritability is one of the 'perks' that comes with pregnancy.

i was pretty angry myself yesterday. brought 2 classes of students out to visit old folks at a day care centre for old pple and the other male indian teacher who went with me, was hanging around, sitting down, doing nothing, while i had to jaga his class and tell those monkeys to shut their trap. and we were out at the void deck trying to perform and play games with the elderly. was fuming i tell you.

Shazz: I'm wearing the jeans today. But hor, the hips part keep slipping down. And I have to keep pulling it up. Hahaha.. All becos I was thinking a bigger size now could last me longer. Hehehe..
I'm still happy over it.. Wonder if I can wear a belt or not..

shazz &amp; mickey
Yup, twin strollers so she can dress up the two grandsons in matching outfits with her &amp; she can go out with them.. she just wants to brag lah. For me, I find it psychotic.

shazz
Drink more water &amp; massage your temples to ease your headache.

I'I CY
Congrats on your princess!

Japanese Recipes
I have an easy recipe for Pork Katsudon. Pardon my lousy camera skills..

1438578.jpg

To make pork katsu
2 slices of pork loin
2 eggs
1/2 cup flour
2 - 3 cups panko
oil for deep frying

Method
1) Slice pork into strips.
2) Coat with flour, dip into beaten egg, then coat with panko.
3) Fry in oil till cooked &amp; golden brown.

To make pork katsudon
2 cups water
1/2 cup mirin
1/2 cup soy sauce
1 tsp dashi
2 tsp sugar
1 white onion, thinly sliced
2 stalks green spring onion
4 eggs, beaten

Method
1) Prepare the stock by mixing the water, mirin, soy sauce, dashi &amp; sugar.
2) Boil the stock in a frying pan, then add the sliced onion &amp; pork katsu.
3) After 10 minutes, add the spring onion.
4) Pour half the beaten egg over the pork &amp; onion mixture &amp; wait for the egg to curdle.
5) Once the egg curdles, pour the remaining egg onto the pan.
6) Cook until the eggs are done.
7) Serve over hot rice.

*Chicken may be substituted to make Chicken Katsudon

sarahmay
yes closing shop after this...hahhaha...but boy or girl this time round, will still close shop lah...

shazz..
yes, the clothes are nice, but went to paragon and could find anything really nice. most likely wont be getting anything. coz by the time she is out, season change liaoz, then i will most likely order online during confinement...she can wear her brothers clothes for the time being...

flos
i have the maclaren techno xt. no longer using. i dun like the way it looks when you close it leh. so longish..and the opening and closing part is kinda clumsy. i go out alone quite often, so gave up on it liaoz.

alabone
that colleague of yours is selfish lah. whatkinda man will let a preggie lady do all the work???

<font color="119911">l'l CY (lilboymum) -congrats of ur little girl!
You just did your detailed scan? Guess you are one of the latest amongst us to deliver?

SarahMay (sarahmay) - don't worry, i am sure all expectant mommies get mood swings once in a while. I guess I would be too if i had to take care of irriatating kiddies like alabone!

Meanwhile - even thou I obviously look preggers now, people are still pushing their way thru in the MRT! Horrible....wonder why they cannot wait another minute for the next train &amp; have to insist on squeezing into the last square inch of floor space just before the door closes.

Car seat - Cheong Choon delivered our Britax Meridian last evening
Its absolutely plush &amp; velvety. Looks quite complicated to set up a car seat thou, would have to make sure everything is fixed up before i pop.

INSURANCE: Have you mommies looked into insurance for the newborn already? We spoke with our agent last nite &amp; are considering a couple of plans. My company covers all medical/dental/hospitalisation, but we are topping up for savings/endowment/critical illness.</font>

sarahmay,

Yah, my hubby got 38 days of annual leave a year. And he still got leftovers from last year. Should be enough for 2 months of leave! But then, I think he's not the kind to 'forsake' his organisation... he's with the RSAF. Got sense of duty leh.

<font color="0000ff">l'l CY
Congrats on ur princess!!! wow... u seem to have went for ur detailed scan pretty late..

Flos
oh yes.. tat's wat i heard too. seems like he wont do any scanning the subsequent visits after detailed scan. Will be going for my appt this coming Mon. *so excited
* will let u noe after tat. Will prob have to *beg* him to scan... hehe

SarahMay
*cool down*..
think u were too hungry le lah... :p</font>

bigtoes, sasa
yes...my edd is 29 sept lah. wtd??

rxmom
wow, cool sia!!!! he is the flyer right???

hey you got your own private plane?i know of someone who has one!!! was a doc once and gave it up, went to US and became a commerical pilot...

think hb would rather die than go through army again :p even though his was pretty sinang (according to me lah....)

SarahMay: Don't feel bad as it has already happened. Preggies got mood swings wan. If it happens next time, apologise to the person when you realised it (cos we may not realise it at the time it happens). With my #1, my subordinates really kenna. We could only talk and laugh abt it recently. For my #2, my moods are much better controlled. Dunno why.

I read through all the posts about MIL and CL conflicts. I think my case is a little different as mentioned before. I will be more concerned about MIL and my own mother conflicts, which I think could be worse. Of course I can tell my own mom my likes and dislikes but it's tough to tell that to your MIL. Worse still, I worry that they don't agree over things.

Remember there was once I posted about washing my underwear during my confinement and how my hubby was so agreeable about having HIS mother wash them all cos she insisted on coming to our place to do my confinement too? Recently, I brought that topic up to my hubby again. I told him HE would have to wash my underwear cos I can't possibly tell him that HIS mother would have to wash them and now he's telling me to uy disposable ones! Arrgghhh! I should have known this would happen. But it's so uncomfortable to have to put maternity pads on disposable underwear.

He even told his friends that our mothers would do my confinement, mine would do the night shift while his would do the day shift. I got so pissed off over that too, my mom would have to do the hard work?

Bigtoes,

Insurance:
I think the key thing to consider now is hospitalisation (which your company already covers, so good for u).

We bought 3 main policies (all from GE) for #1:
- Total Shield and Supremehealth to cover the hospitalisation and medical cost. We don't think it's necessary at this stage for us to get a lump sum for death (including critical illness).

- Investment-linked policy: intention is to use this to start saving for J in the long-term. Once he turns 21, he takes over the policy. Whether he uses the money for death coverage, for retirement etc, it's up to him. So it's like a savings plan for him in the long term. I believe the returns compared to endowment is much better. Our monthly premium is abt $200, which by the time he turns 21, should be pretty affordable (i.e. I'm not overly burdening him with insurance premium)

Yah. Think I was hungry, tired and annoyed with sickening smell of smoke. I seriously think non-smokers shd have a greater say in deciding where smokers can smoke in public since passive smoking kills more than the actual act.

Alabone: male teacher ah? Sorry but I dun have a very good impression of male teachers. i have encountered enough when i was in service to have concluded tt most of them are sloths. But they are often the darlings in the school amongst the older female tcr population...esp the spinsters. My sympathies are with you. But dun let it upset u. Not worth it.

RXMom; Huh? Sense of duty to country? I can understand...but at least month shd be ok right? What about sense of duty to family also? Hehe.

Bigtoes: Singaporeans gan cheong spiders. Here, they are not just gan cheong...also blind spiders. Did I tell you the last time i was on the public bus I literally used my hands to PUSH ppl out of my face? Hahaha. Quite satisfying. First time in my life.

Sasa: Huh? No more scans after DS? Why? Isn't tt part of package?

Mei: Wah! Sooooo yummy!

BB INSURANCE: I'm thinking of buying the hospitalisation plan thing PRUSHIELD. Only thing is dunno if it will cover bb in MO. Also endowment plan. Anyone in insurance line can advise?

NON-MATERNITY JEANS: Amazed at you mummies who can find such to fit! Anyone here with the same prob as me - the thighs/legs area always too baggy? Even when i cld wear small sized jeans like 24/25 the legs/hips part always sooooo baggy. Look so ugly. Now with maternity brands tt i've tried. same prob.Waist fits but the crotch and legs so baggy. Only found one no brand one tt day at the TMC shop tt fits well. Any brands to share?

SarahMay: Shazz recommended This Fashion. She and I bot ours there. Some styles are a bit stretchable ie it's hugging my thighs well now, I'm wearing L size. Waist part still a bit loose, but I want to allow for expansion and growth. I also don't like baggy jeans.

SarahMay,

I bought my maternity jeans from Spring. Quite a good fit (used to wear 24" normal jeans, but not skinny jeans type).

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
yah lah.. tats wat i heard. apparently, he doesnt think it's impt to keep scanning. mayb coz bb too big.. cannot see anything oso bah... not sure leh..</font>

<font color="119911">Lok (lok) - okie, thanks for updating me on your policies. My agent is with AIA and we are most prob getting one for critical illness (just monthly premiums, no returns), and another seperate one. For the latter, deciding between an ILP (includes death, permanent disability) with no min guaranteed returns, or a simpler savings-based endowment which will mature at 18/21 years (min guaranteed returns). I'd rather take the risk &amp; go for the ILP product, but hubby is more conservative &amp; thinking of the simple endowment plan....
Btw - AXA is giving a 6 month complimentary coverage for TMC babies for hospitalisation - so mommies, remember to sign up for that.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - totally agree with you on limiting the places where smokers are allowed to light up! Are the regulations strict in Macau? Its absolutely horrible in places like China where everyone smokes indoors, even in restaurants!

On rude commuters - yah - i notice that i have also been more aggressive when it comes to pushing people out of my face! What to do, have to make sure my bump is protected right...</font>

lilboymum,

Yup, he's a pilot. But we don't have private plane lah. He was kinda keen to stay on after his bond ends, but recently someone told him the renumeration one can get as a commercial pilot, and the amount of free time he would have (not to mention perks for the family), he seems keen to go commercial after his bonds ends now.

sarahmay,

Actually I'm happy if he can be around for 2 weeks already. As long as the bb has me around, it's ok for him to go back to work (but not too late!). afterall, he can't do much, since I have a CL and I will be the one breastfeeding. Second time round, think am less stress (as compared to my first pregnancy) if he's not around

Have not asked him about this though.. who knows, maybe he wants to be around us for 3 months! :p

flo,
thanks for the info on mothercare..has also taken a liking to the green blue car bumper..but it doesnt fit the st ives cot/westbury cot i am eyeing. still will go down this weekend to look see..15% woo hoo..so excited

for those mommies who can fit into this fashion's jeans...u ladies must be really slim...i cant even fit into my spring maternity jeans now..
havent wore a pair of jeans for a long time..usually go out on wkend with a pair of shorts and hubby's old tees..
look really unglam..

l'ilCY
Congrats!!! You can't come for gathering??? sigh! Never mind, we should have another one some time down the line....! if I can still move about by then!!

Lok: Thanks for sharing. Tried Spring already. Too big for me also. Can only fit into their shorts. haha.

Bigtoes: Macau part of China....only HK is advanced, even better than SG in terms of smoking regulations. Here...they smoke EVERYWHERE! Damn irritating. Also got spitting also. Erks.

RXMom: Hehe.. Commercial pilots get WAAAAAYYYYYYYY more than army for sure. However, pick the right airline. SQ work conditions getting worse for staff. Have family and friends working there so have heard how horrible they've become. So nice tt he has this much leave on hand.

Bacon&amp;egg: Not slim....just no bum and hips. My hubby always says i dun have a bum. It's hard shopping for jeans and pants for me cos they cater for women with bum and hips. Why don't u buy some pretty maternity tops? There are nice maternity denim shorts too. Dress up with earrings and other accessories. It's fun to dress up as a preggy I think. Hehe.

Sasa: There is a point abt being bbs too big and the U/S scan won't show much...but still i would like to see my bb move or wiggle or whatever...still my bb u know what I mean? Hehe

SarahMay, Sasa: I see my baby each time on u/s scan when we go to the gynae, all the way to the say I deliver her. Why do you say you won't see the baby anymore?

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
yah lor... i oso wish to see my bb.. hehe
so i'll prob have to *beg* him to scan... will see how it goes on monday..

Mickey
think diff doc have got diff styles bah.. heard from other forumers my gynae, after detailed scan, doesnt scan each time we go n see him. he will onli measure the stomach and ensure tat it corresponds with the no. of wks bah.. i will noe it on monday..</font>