(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa,
my gynea also doesnt scan in each visit. I dont supposed i get to see bb this coming visit. Usually he just measure stomach and let me listen to the doppler. Gg to try to ask for a scan.

sarahmay,
i always thot i will be a dressed up glam MTb..turn out either i am too lazy to do so or just cant be bothered..staying with my in-laws now..no mirror in the room..i dont really know how i look like everyday i go out..haha..wkend comes...always a rush to get into an aircon place..so just tee n shorts...maybe i just plain lazy lah..

mei,
does the teddy's range fit yr cot? all ard?

Sarahmay: Kekeke... Thot it would be good to learn how to make chawamushi, also my favourite! I try not to eat too much cha soba cos of the sodium content...
Mood swings is our privilege now! Keke.

My bum is bigger now that I am preggy!

As for insurance, even though your company covers for your kid, I would still recommend you top it up using your Medisave to buy a shield plan cos company one are usually not portable so at least there is a piece of mind that your kid is cover even though you resign from the company.

SarahMay,

Spring has different cuts of jeans and material. I got the stretchy material one (but 2 years ago), so it fits well.

bacon&egg
For Mothercare cotbeds, the sizing is a standard 70cm x 140cm for all their beddings, so just look for the range for 'cotbeds' & it'll fit. The size for cot & cotbeds is different.

Mickey: I meant we can't really see the whole of the bb as the bb grows bigger right? At least I thought tt is the case. Hehe. But this is my first kid so I may be wrong.

Lok: Yeah I know they have a range but i tried it. The slim cut one also cannot make it.

Storeberry: I'm so hungry and ran out of bread & cereal. Eating instant mee goreng now. Yikes. Hehe. By 'shield plan' u mean those that cover hospitalisation etc? Like Prushield? Sorry I only am familiar with Prudential products. Which do u rec for best comprehensive coverage and price?

Bacon & Egg: How come got no mirror anywhere in the house? Are you SAHM or working?

SarahMay (sarahmay) - heh. yah know that Macau is part of China...just wondering if regulations are more strict than at mainland given the high dependency on tourism...but guess not. Can imagine how the casinos reek of ciggie smoke!

storeberry (storeberry) - what insurance coverage are u getting? Yes, we would get a shield plan as well, but most prob only when i change jobs given that the premiums for the baby are pretty much flat for the first couple of years & no problem signing up later (need to check with the agent again - too many options, too confusing).

Wingkei, it is soooo unfair to get ur own mama to be on the nite shift wor! But I can visualize u as the kind of XIAO-NUREN wor :p

Btw, anyone knows whether Medela PIS can warrant a much cheaper price in Paris?

I am from March thread. I am letting go of my DOM at half price and home made rice wine at $5 each due to overstocking. Let me know if you are interested. Hp: 97461185

Flos - Hahaha.. I din take the cordecepys until now cos that time I was coughing very badly. just fully recovered not long ago so now then take lor..then I forgot how many worms to put per intake but I remembered very clearly your method of cooking.. I brewed my first bowl last night but dare not eat all the worms so just makan 2 with the soup.. Once a week enough? you still eating or not?

My clarin tonic oil also finishing soon. will need to go and buy again. din try the cream one.. do you apply on top of the oil or just for day use?

LC,
I took once every 2 weeks cos i'm alternating wif birds nest. 2 stalks per bowl should b fine.
I went to my friend's family medical hall and they told me to eat the worms since so ex now. However, my gynae told me better not eat the worms cos not sure if any germs inside ???
So i guess it's individual since most pple say can eat.

Hi, Millie

I am also hesitant to take the worms as they dun look too appealing to swallow.. I am taking once a week now.. but will stop when I am in the eighth month or so. The Eu Yan Seng staff advised that cos worried that baby will be too big to be delivered if continue to take.. did your sinseh advise the same?

sarahmay, how true! i've noticed that the elderly spinsters like to mother the young bachelor types too, esp the better looking ones! it's really weird.

<font color="119911">Confinement Lady:
Mommies, can i just check with u gals, are u engaging ur CL for 1 or 2 months? I booked mine for a month initially, but hubby is suggesting that we extend it to 2 months (assuming she is good).

He is worried that I might not be able to cope with the baby after the CL leaves (it would be just baby &amp; myself at home from month 2-4. Am extending my maternity to clear some leave). At this juncture, i have no idea how easy/difficult it would be, cos u wouldn't know till then rite...</font>

Goldfish (goldfish1395), I know, it was so unfair. I asked him immediately when did my mother become on the night shift. ;p ANd he was like, then they can take turns, one week each. But we shall see when the actual time comes.

sarahmay,
i am working. no mirror in the room i sleep in. there is mirror in the house only in my in-law's room and one in the bathroom which is not full length..can only see the top

just chiong Mothercare..good disc..got 4 packs of rompers and stretchmark cream for $140.

btw, is the clarin oil better? been using mothercare stretchmark cream..not sure if it is as good as clarins? How much is clarin oil and cream?

Ava / Bacon$egg - The clarin oil over the clarins counter is abt 70+, if I remember correctly.. It has some aroma oil scent so if you dun like, can go for the cream which is scentless.. I apply almost everywhere, fr thighs to buttock to tummy, to arms.. Flos also likes it alot.. you should refer to how she describe it.. hahaha...

Bigtoes
I engaged a CL for a month only.. I don't prefer to have people fussing over me.. that's why only one month for me. I also intend to bring my baby over to my mum's place after the one-month 'imprisonment'. Moreover, I was thinking that I can use the CL fees for other stuff for baby.

For my SIL, she engaged for 2 months, as she knows she cannot handle on her own. It's really up to individual.

bacon&amp;egg
Got great bargains besides the 15% CC discount at MotherCare? I'm going this weekend..

Just now I went to buy Footspa, later go back &amp; soak my feet...

Bigtoes, i engaged the CL for 2 mths.. cos my MIL wants us to learn from the CL how to take care of the baby from 2nd mth onwards.. 1st mth just have good rest first..

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) and Jaymickey (jaymickey) - okie, thanks.
I am undecided, think one month would be sufficient, but hubby is worried since it would be just baby + me thereafter. Maybe will ask her to stay for 6 weeks, would think I can get the hang of it by then...

TIFFIN CARRIER FOOD DELIVERY
Btw, anyone knows of good tiffin carrier deliveries? Found a couple here, but not sure which is good: http://tingkatmeals.blogspot.com/
Am planning to get tiffin food for lunch after the CL leaves.</font>

LC,
I tink the sinseh did, can't remember. Anyway, i will consume till 8th mth, cos i tink this will be too heaty liao and should take cooling stuff like coconut in the last stage.

Mrs Yap,
I bot the Grade C type and it oredi cost me $1700 for 3 1/2 liang i tink, which should be able to last me till birth, provided tat i consume every other week.

Flos (flos): I got a Peg Perego Skate instead. =) Pretty happy with it but now we have to look into changing our car to one with roomy boot. ;) I think it's just my hubby's excuse lah!

LC (faintz) and Avalyn: Clarins Body Tonic Oil retails at S$79 but you can get it at S$58.50 from strawberrynet.com. Perhaps you can combine your orders cos they have free shipping and extra 5% discount for 3 items and above.

http://oth.strawberrynet.com/productDetail.aspx?ProdId=13126

SarahMay (sarahmay) : Be sure to get the rider that waives off the deductible and 10% co-insurance when you take up PruShield. It'll take care of your entire bill if you take up PruShield Premier, with the option to stay in private or government hospital. Coverage in Macau, all shield plans are designed for coverage in Singapore. For Prudential, they cover hospitalisation overseas should it be an emergency. You'll be reimbursed based on Singapore government hospital rates. However, you may wish to sit down with Jean to discuss this further as your living arrangement is kind of unique. In my opinion, it's best to sit down with her and let her explain how the plan works, the coverage, show you how the deductible and co-insurance works and how the rider can work for you.

Bigtoes: I totally agree with what storeberry shared. I have a client whose ex-company covers her and family for hospitalisation. Her son made a claim once for dengue fever and when she changed company, although they provide coverage as well, they excluded dengue fever for her son as they considered it a pre-existing illness. What she have learnt thru this experience is that it's important to get your own hospitalisation plan so that should you change company, you're covered, and most importantly, you got the coverage when you're in good health and with no exclusions.

Hope that helps!

My checkup today:
Did the glucose tolerance test today. Managed to finished the whole bottle of "fanta orange" like drink within 10 mins. Thank God I didn't puke and have sweet tooth, so it went down quite nicely. Blood was withdrawn before I drank the liquid, and subsequently, every hour, with 2 more blood test. Will know the results tomorrow.

My baby is growing well, saw his round face, just like his daddy! His hands were up and covering his face so my gynae couldn't capture a clear picture of his face. He weights 700grams at 24 weeks 2 days, normal weight. Gynae said his head is already down. I was surprised cos I thought he was half-way making his way down as I usually feel his "kicks" at the right lower side of my tummy. This means that the gentle "kicks" are actually his hands movement. He hardly kick above my belly button, he's a gentle fellow. =)

Weight gain: according to gynae's record and weighing machine, I've gained 2.7kg within 3 weeks. She said there's no cause for worry and even extended our targeted weight gain for the pregnancy from 10-12 to 12-14kg! Hee, I think my gynae is the most lenient among the gynaes here!

Bigtoes (limay) : what you can do is pre-empt your CL, that you might extend her for half to a mth and see if she has any other projects after yours. That's what I did and intend to extend her if she's good. I don't want to commit now cos I'm not sure how well we can all get along.

ava, i suspect so too! there was this auntie type in my ex office, who never fails to take the initiative to save food for the young chaps whenever the office has some sort of party/celebration ("poor tom/dick/harry, no time to come out and eat, i bring some to his room"). but she's never saved anything for the girls or other aunties if they're too caught up with work. deep inside she must be thinking, "tsk, should've been born 10–15 years later!"

mei,
only 15% storewide. some items gg at 50% (last season style).

clarin oil,
think will get one bottle. i havent been applying to the arm area? will the arm area get stretchmark too? now i am worried..

been thinking about the confinement lady issue lately too... am in 2 minds abt it now. was rather set on not having one since i will be breastfeeding the bb and not needing any confinement meals (my tcm doc will give me confinement tcm in pills and powder on top of the herbal concoction for wiping down). i also kind of hate having a stranger around 24/7.

but friends have been telling me that it's absolutely necessary and how i'll SERIOUSLY regret it if i don't get one. really not sure how now but at the rate i'm procrastinating, i prob won't be able to find one anyway.

is it really that difficult tending to the bb the first month?

o ya, just saw nearly half of my butt covered in stretch marks. guess i can take this to mean that i will be getting them on the stomach too. which are worse – white or red ones?

CORDYCEPS: Drink once a week enough already. If you have other herbal tonics , alternate with that. No need to overdo it. Speaking of that, I shall brew my hashima with pao shen today. been too long since I cooked that. Hehe.

13 Tai Bao: Oh! Forgot that I need to drink this too. Maybe I brew this instead. Has anyone taken this yet?

Xuan Ting: I think I haven't seen you for ages! How have u been? It is quite gross to see how the men are being fawned over in schools esp when they are the lazy bums!!!

Shazz: good that you managed to finished the drink and go through the blood tests! Did you feel faint after? Bb position changes right? So he may be down but he may right himself later? Anyway, thanks for your advice abt the Prushield stuff. will talk to jean.

Bacon &amp; Egg: In terms of stretchmark creams, I think whatever fits your budget and pleases your nose and skin works. Cos you know what they say abt these icky lines la...that no matter what can't really prevent it. Hehe. Of cos kiasu ppl like me still continue to slather on the creams and lotions. Except tt i use Elancyl and Nivea Smooth Sensation for different parts of my body.But i do agree that Clarins have a divine fragrance.

xuanting
hearsay recuperating mommies are supposed to lie down as much as possible to heal the womb and spinal cord and not supposed to wash too much. So a CL can help to wash and carry all the heavy things eg. boil water to u to bath, wash bb's clothings, dishes, cook etc. bb pee/poo every 2-3 hours, with a CL, they can help clean bb..else u will be doing it yourself..plus bf..doubt there is time to rest. maybe u should consider

xuanting: I'm also not comfortable with having a stranger in the house. But the thought of someone with experience handling my baby and showing me the ropes, helpingme to set up a routine, helps me to make up my mind about engaging a CL. Another factor is that I can rest and recuperate without having to exert myself.

sarahmay &amp; xuanting,
I also have stretchmark on my butt and knee now..think most likely will kena them on my tummy. Will get clarins for a ease of mind...at least i try to prevent it

Bigtoes: Do you have a maid to help out? If yes, train the maid up during hte time the CL is around. If not, makes sense to ask her to stay another month, so you can rest while recuperating.

xuanting
Actually, like you, I also don't like having a stranger around me 24/7, but I figure for that one month, we need as much rest as we can &amp; the CL is there to ensure that. Washing of baby's stuff is also no joke &amp; our movements are not as agile due to stitches (be it natural or C-section birth).

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) -yes, will definitely get a medical/hospitalization plan for baby once i switch jobs....not planning to (change jobs) for a while thou. Btw, ur baby is almost the same weight as mine - 684gm at 23wks 6 days.

And yes, your gyne is more lenient.
The nurse at TMC made me weigh again to make sure there was no error &amp; that i really gained 2.5kg in a month. She mentioned that the max is 2kg each month, and just to monitor abit, cos if we exceed a little every month, end up with alot of excess (thats how people end up >20kg heavier at full term). Anyway, better to monitor to reduce risk of gestational diabetes &amp; other complications as well.

mickey (bbmouse) - nope, no maid &amp; we aren't planning to get one. As it is, I am also like shazz &amp; cannot imagine being comfy with a total stranger in the house. No choice with the CL, but rather not hire a maid unless we really cannot cope.</font>

SarahMay,
My hubby bot 2 packets of 13 tai bao, but when i ask my gyane , he say as this is An tai yao, it should be taken some time back....and this contains 1 type of ingredient which is prohibited. (i'm surprised).
I was reluctant to drink after DH bot, cos i dun noe if i should drink or not as i have no morning sickness or other types of weak body symptoms so far.

But DH claimed that his colleague's wife has taken it for her 4 pregnancies and it's a thousand yr old remedy...

sarahmay, i've been lurking la. couldn't participate in the recent price &amp; product discussions cos i haven't done any homework at all. :p on one hand, i feel really guilty seeing how much effort everyone has put into sourcing for stuff and comparing prices, on the other, i tell myself, "you've never been a detail-oriented person anyway, don't be so harsh on yourself, la!" (if you've heard of the mbti, i'm an intp – the dreamy, spacey, procrastinating type who can never be relied on to notice little things.)

thanks, shazz, bacon&amp;egg &amp; mei. agh, really so hard to decide. i know tmc has confinement nannies though expensive. wonder if i can get one from them last-minute if i really find that i can't cope then.

My check has been pushed till one week later.. Sighz.. Tot can see baby on ultrasound tomorrow but Gynae away..

Bacon&amp;Egg - dun need to apply to arm for the tonic oil.. concentrate on buttock, upper thigh and tummy.. I apply to arms for firming only.. KS.. hahaha...

xuanting,

TMC confinement nannies are very hot, already fully booked since last month for Sep deliveries. Tink u can forget abt it...

Hi, Millie

From what I know, the 13 Tai bao is a form of an tai yao too.. maybe can check with Sinsei before you take..

Shazz
Strawberrynet.com is precisely the reason i asked about store price for Clarins...haha...was thinking of ordering...anyone else interested?

BigToes
If u have mom/MIL/maid to help, think u shld be able to cope in month 2-4...however, no harm extending CL too I guess...more rest for u

Millie: I asked my gynae abt chinese herbs etc and she tells me to consult the TMC practitioners. The 13 Tai bao is for 'an tai' is rec by TMC sinsehs and in TMC books. I'm brewing mine as we speak. Only need to take twice, pref once in 5th mth, last one in 7th mth. It's to help the bb, not so much the mummy. As all tonics we take...help bb more than mummy. Hehe...of cos except for the bu qi types - for us.

LC: How come your appt got changed so last min?

Xuanting: I still haven't bot much either...unlike some of the other mums here. So dun stress. Still got time. Hehe. Or so I think la, at least.

Confinement Ladies: I asked my hubby why he isn't like some of ur hubbies. How come he doesn't worry abt my ability to cope w the bb? And w being alone during confinement? I also asked how come his parents don't buy and brew tonics for me. His answers: 1. I think you can cope. You mean u think u can't? (To which I answered, I think shd be ok.)
But anw, not having a CL is my choice. Now I just hope I can cope.

2. His parents are smart not to buy and brew for me cos I might be allergic to them. I told him that is not the point. I'm not allergic what. Anyway, i told him he's just defending his parents. And it would be nice to get some herbs or herbal tonics nonetheless. Thank goodness I do my own research and brew some herbs on my own. I also told him I think having their first grandson also no big deal for them perhaps. Hmph!

Jia lat...I think I'm having mood swings! Help!

Hi Sarahmay: Aiyoo.. naughty gal!! I already cut down on instant noddles liao...

For shield plan (Yes, including Prushield as well &amp; its a hospitalisation &amp; surgical plan) it don't cover the whole bill, there is a deductible of $1,500 / $2,000 / $3,000 (amt cannot be claim) depending on the ward you stay and also you will need to co-share the next 10% of the bill. If you want the whole bill covered then you will need to buy a rider to supplement.

There are many plans in the market, really difficult to say which one is better. A few factors to consider:
1. How much is your budget?
2. Is additional benefits important to you, like pregnancy complications, congenital abnormalities..etc?
3. Do you want the whole bill covered?

And for most Shield plan, they only cover for emergency or life threatening cases when you are overseas. If majority of the time bb is overseas then you might want to consider a Asia / worldwide cover plan...

So your agent is Jean? Jean Tan or Jean Oh? Keke..

Bigtoes:
I am still deciding whether to get Enhanced Incomeshield + rider or Aviva cash plan so that it covers for GP visits as well.. Will decide later. And you might want to consider buying now and not when you resign cos of the health condition of the child.

Storeberry: Jean tan. How come u know her? I also dunno wat to get for bb cos he will be covered here by hubby's insurance policy but not sure if enough. Jean did say she will help me check out Macau insurance stuff. I plan to get the rider to cover 100% of bills.

storeberry: I think you still need to fork out some $$$ if you're under enhanced incomeshield, think it's 10%, you may want to check their website cos they made some changes lately.

bigtoes: yeah, our size is about the same, so is our baby's development. =)

I dunno why but after taking the GTT, I had sudden craving for chocolate! I took a whole block of Ritter Sport Milk Chocolate with Whole Hazelnuts after lunch and then I was craving for more, so went to get another block! Am halfway thru the 2nd block for the day, trying to restrain myself but I cant.

Wonder if the sudden surge of sugar in my body on empty stomach is wrecking havoc in my system! :"(

thanks, lok. i think that sort of decides for me liao. i'd better read more and make sure i really pay attention during the pre-natal classes.

is anyone thinking of signing up for the infant first aid classes as well?

sarahmay, your hubby knows it's just the mood swings talking right? i was really stropy and weepy 2 mths back too, but luckily hubby had been forewarned so instead of getting angry with me for my tantrums, he was able to apologise/cheer me up as the situation required (he teased me and called me the angry little pixie!!!). looking back, i feel really silly but my, those were very real and powerful emotions i felt. think it'll really help for your hubby to know this so he can do his part by learning to be extra accommodating and sensitive to your feelings. and of course, to know that it's REALLY just the mood swings talking and not hold any mean thing said during this period against u. that's what i told mine.