(2008/09) Sep 2008

Valnsw: I'm not scaring you leh. Could be baby's kicks. But contractions is associated with tummy hardening, esp in the last trimester.. If there is no pain, then ok, cos contractions will have some pain associated as well..
Just before I went to the hospital to deliver, I thot I had stomachache - tummy was hardening and I had diarrhoea. Didn't know it was mild contractions I was having!

bbmouse:

yea, the doctor did say it's most likely to be a boy. quite sure.

lemon (lemon1000) - congrats on finding out that ur baby is gonna be a boy!

xuanting (xuanting) - what you said is precisely right! I spent a couple of years in Sydney, and the caucasian parents are so different from protective Asians! Even my caucasian colleagues who bring their toddlers to family day outings etc..are like that. Just leave the kid to run around, & for anyone to carry them.

I grew up doing my own thing, falling down & scraping my knees, playing with my 2 dogs in the garden, climbing trees etc...and hopefully, my kid will have the same carefree life as well. Really hope I won't be a kiasu over-protective mommy next time, but like u said, who knows!

<font color="0000ff">Xuanting
hhmm... mine ah.. at first felt like something was turning inside. den suddenly (like as tho all the muscles around tat area contract), my left part juz became very hard.. i pressed it and it really felt like stone (ok, mayb abit softer den stone lah). my right side was soft leh..

this feeling went on for abt 5-10 sec, den suddenly like as tho something turned inside den gone le...

Valnsw
Yes, FINALLY! the nurse finally called me back at 4pm after my email this morning. Doc say not to worry. in fact, didnt make mi happy by saying it was bb wor.. told mi instead its some intestinal gas lor. say i'm too early to experience any uterine contractions or braxton hicks.

Lemon
Congrats on ur little prince!! i hope to be able to see gender this monday...

and i haven't been gaining much weight actually..
still at 48kg...though my tummy has grown considerably. oh well, the doctor says we will just take it slowly..

at least the baby is still growing very well.

thanks bbmouse, bigtoes, sasa...

was actually hoping for a gal too..cause gal is closer to mummies..when grow up, can go shopping with me, and we can talk hearts...!!

like my mum and me...but anyways..
the most important thing, babies gonna be healthy! hope the second one will be a princess.

my hubby kinda prefer a boy...cause he says he is very protective..he says he cannot feel safe if he has a girl. he cannot be in peace when she gets older. i guess u gals know what i meant..

and boys will be more mischevous.i think he can throw him around. hehee...!!

bbmouse,
during OSACR scan (11-12 weeks), normally baby still too small to determine the gender.. i had my OSACR scan done on my 11 weeks 2 days. bb was only like 4.8cm. i asked the sonograpgher if it was a gal or boy. she told me it's still too young to tell..

i'm new to this thread. hv been reading the posts though.
my particulars:
EDD: 4th Sept
DS : 19 Sept
hospital : TMC
gynae : Dr Eunice Chua
no. of kids : 2 (1st gal, 2nd boy)

For ALL B&amp;J ice-cream lovers: The Top 10 flavours list
http://www.benjerry.com/our_products/top_ten/
Cherry Garcia is #1!!! Too bad they don’t have the Cherry Garcia frozen yoghurt version here.

Yuan Ling - Not sure about level. But definitely cos primary school. It’s at Salim Road. Near you? If you are keen, pls PM me. Will put you in touch with the Principal.

Xuanting - Boh pian so must just tahan lor. Cos I had spotting when I realized I was preg in Macau and there was NO specialist to be found. HK was like super ex! Starting consult price is SG 200!!! Excld medications etc. Cheaper to fly back to sg. Grounded from flying for 1st trim.

Bbmouse - Yeah! Congratulations on the good OSCAR results! I’m sure your baby will continue to grow healthily and happily.

How come your gynae thought your first was a boy, then turned out to be a girl? Did you get a shock in delivery room?

I admire your appetite!!! Can eat so much! I am like picking on food. Sometimes think about what to eat already sian!

Flos - You still have your blog online? Can share link? I like reading ppl’s blogs, esp if about food. Hehe.

How do you cope with your hubby being away most times? This is your first too right? Do you live with your parents who can look after you? Yeah, my hubby has been there since Nov last year. Then I went over for visit end Dec. Had to cut visit short and move-over plans cos pregnant. Thank goodness this trimester can travel up to see him.

Oh! The fish soup with Shaoxing wine shouldn’t be much of a prob unless they put a LOT of alcohol which is highly unlikely. I’ve been drinking lots of sliced fish soup when I eat out. XO fish soup is prob out. I had same concern with you about alcohol content in food. I didn’t dare drink MISO soup for a while cos I saw that some pastes contain either Sake/ Alcohol. But I rang up my gynae’s clinic, the nurse said it is not a problem. Some of their patients even take DOM and Yomeishu during pregnancy.

Storeberry: Drink lots and lots of warm water! Quick quick! Don’t let the coughing bug get you. While you cough, your baby will most likely not get hurt. So don’t worry about it. I’m still coughing….sigh.

Lemon: How many weeks are you now? Well, at least the doc gave some indication of bb’s gender. I hope when I go on 7 April we can see something. Last visit there still wasn’t any sign.

SarahMay: No, my gynae said bb is a girl from week 11 using a french method (with 70% accurarcy). We were the ones who thought it could be otherwise.

Bbmouse,
you second one ah..coz u say u also wanna quit...tat' s good tat ur hb not stress lah.. hahaha.. my hb will get very stress up once i say i wanna stay at home..

Sunray,
wow.. now we knpw ur hb profile so well.. kekeke.. you must be so lucky.. kekkeke

Oh ya.. i know i'm so slow.. but just wanna replied to u gals wat i'm going thru the thread.. kekeke.. sorry..

SarahMay (sarahmay) - wow, DOM and Yomeishu during pregnancy? That is like 40+% alcohol content isn't it? I think alcohol in food is otherwise fine - it gives the flavour, but alcohol evaporates during cooking anyway, so not much remaining in the food.

bbmouse (bbmouse) - what is the French mthd?

Btw mommies are u ladies still exercising much? I am still climbing stairs &amp; trying to keep fit abit. Am going to Pulau Ubin this weekend, hopefully not too siong &amp; too many mozzies.

lemon - your hubby is so funny. my husband also the same - he said that he has prepared his script for the first time he meets our daughter's boyfriend. He will also show him his knife collection to tell the guy where the knives might end up if his daughter isn't treated right. Haha. I told my DH that he must have watched too many movies like Meet the Fockers. But i kind of agree that girls will tend to cause more worry to parents. I mean, i'm a daughter lor...and i was quite naughty. Just pray tt my daughter will not cause me the kind of worry I caused my parents! haha.

sarahmay: haha, ya. but i guess it's quite hard..there's always a teenager stage, where we as girls think we know what we are doing..and of course, our parents think otherwise. oh well...that was a difficult phase for the parents and daughter.. Haha..we have been through it..but it was really heartache period. sigh...

bigtoes: i think should be ok to exercise, just take good care. remember that we tend to have looser joints now..so be careful. I am still cycling (in gym, of course! my hubby disallows me to cycle in eastcoast..thou sometimes I will mention that i wanna go rollerblading..whenever i see my rollerblades!), and i play table tennis still..(those baby balls ones..i can't play well..)...
I used to play badminton every week too, but now they don't allow me to play. sad. :p

anyway, i have just ordered some pre-natal pilates DVD from amazon too.. looking forward to receiving it.

thanks for the link, rxmom. what's the singapore mom's centre about?

valnsw &amp; sasa, could what you've both felt be bb's head or perhaps back? think stomach gases aren't like that right?

bigtoes, yeah, children should be carefree and curious, not fettered and afraid. let's hope we won't forget when our time comes!

bbmouse,
thanks for the info. learnt something new today.

sasa,
at least u got your reply. anyway, can see bb next wk already so I guess you can get your reassurance

momoko
seldom see u around...busy ya?? tot u quitting yr job?? me lucky? my hb is a workaholic leh, i've to be SUPER understanding one leh...nxt time i'll tell my daughter not to marry a chef,haha... By the way, once i order the neurogain for u, i'll sms u ok?

bigtoes
yst i started my gym regime with my personal trainer..been using her before i preggie and she happened to be trained in pre/post natal exercising... but tell u..it's damn tiring!! Altho everything is done at slow paced, it still felt like it was the LONGEST 1hr in my life,haha!! Hope to build up my stamina so tat i can shop and walk more in tsipei nxt week!!

bigtoes, pls bring lots of repellent and also the anti-mosquito patches to stick on your clothes. won't be funny if you get dengue. go prepared and have fun!

<font color="0000ff">Xuanting
ya lor.. tats wat some mommies told mi oso... but den doc dun wanna make mi happy by saying it's a part of bb leh...

Valnsw
hehe... yeah.. looking forward to it.. i'm sure u are too...

Momoko- Is this your first or second? In my case, it is a bit different. I am stressed that I cannot work but my husband is the one who isn't. In fact, he is the one to tell me to relax and not worry about money. Find it super difficult for me not to be working.

Bigtoes - I think her patients drink it neat! I think I wouldn't dare take that kind of risk lor even if it is supposed to be tonic wine. But I think if used a little in cooking, the alcohol will probably evaporate leaving the taste.
Wow! you are going Pulau Ubin! Be sure to pack LOTS of water, and maybe some fresh fruit for a snack! Make your DH carry them cos they can be heavy! Rber to wear a sunhat, slap on LOTS of sunscreen and use a Non-Deet insect repellent too!
I just went to Changi Village today for brekkie and walked a short while along the boardwalk. Didn't walk too much cos I was afraid i wouldn't have enough strength to walk back to catch the bus. Haha.The fresh air and greenery will be great for you and bb. Enjoy your outdoor adventure trow!

As for exercise - i haven't really been cos my gynae told me at last visit when I was 12w5days to wait another month. prob cos of my physical condition.

Anyone doing Kegels and all those pelvic floor muscles? i don't know if those exercises are ok. See them everywhere in pregnancy guidebooks and apparently they are v good to help stretch the muscles tt will be later engaged in labour. But I'm afraid if I do wrongly will hurt baby...

Bbmouse - What exactly is the French method?

Momoko: I do. Buying time.

Bigtoes: Me no expert. My gynae looked at the angle of the protrusion of the genital. For girls, it is more parallel and pointing out; for boys, it is more perpendicular and pointing up.

xuanting,
I'm not sure whether the hump's a part of the baby. I also thought it is the head or legs. Maybe I'll ask my gynae what it is all about.

bbmouse: Congrats on your good results! Yeah!!

Sa sa: Wow, thats good can feel the hardening liao, might be bb legs or body? I feel fluttering but sometimes wish that I can feel the kicks soon.... Kekeke...

Lemon: Congrats!!! Now can go shopping for boy's stuffs liao.. You know what alot of my frens guess I am having a boy &amp; my BIL also said that he guess it would be a boy.. Don't know why but I have no breakouts now..

SarahMay: Thanks for your concern! My flu is geting bad &amp; my voice has changed liao...

Xuanting: Hahaha... No baguette. The association to french is to the french doctor who discovered/invented this method..

Storeberry: Gargle a glass of warm water mixed with half-a-teaspoon of salt. It helps to ease the sore throat and expel phlegm if you have those symptoms. Drink lots of warm water! Do you have a thermometer? Be sure to monitor ur temperature. If it gets up to 37.3, you have to try to bring it down. Regular panadol is ok to take according to my gynae. Hope you recover soon!

hihi mummies ,
still can rememeber me who will come in occasionally ??? The thread is reallly running fast .. keke ..
Been dedicately rading athe archives .. and yes the mentioned of food .. Makes me wonder when I can have my first tast of Macarons .. Never ate them before .. Sunrays so fortunate to have a cook at home ... If I am hungry , instant noodles is the only thing i know .. keke ..

Wow, so many postings...I was on leave today cos I was caught in a traffic jam at CTE today. Decided to leave the highway and get the hell out.

I just learnt from my mom that my cousin's boy has turned into a girl!!! It was really hilarious hearing how didi becomes meimei!!!! It turned out that her gynae, like many of you mommies here, had told her at week 13 that it was a boy because there was something in between. It was wrong diagnosis. Now that she's in her 5 month, the gynae told her it's a girl afterall. That "something" was the baby's finger the gynae reasoned....Imagine what a shock she got? Luckily, she hasn't bought anything blue yet...

My aunty also faced the same "wu long" when the gynae told her it's a girl. But when it was born, they found that it was a BOY! But that was in the mid-80's when gynaes are not well-trained yet.

My cousin's one was really hopeless, can read the U/S wrongly! TMC some more! tsk tsk

bbmouse: congrats to your OSCAR results!! Yours is rather similar to mine: 1:7,000+ and 1:14,000+. phew!

SarahMay: hehe, my blog? Hmm, actually, it's a site to park my thousands of travel photos that's all. I don't write a lot of things and comments cos my hb doesn't like that i waste time online blogging and not making money out of it! shy shy...better don't show off the picblog lah...much ado abt nothing

I can cope with hb not around very well. Even when we were working abroad in the same country last time, we hardly saw each other due to our individual business travelling. I'm used to eating and sleeping alone...Actually I rather enjoy the peace and quiet without my hb around. He is quite untidy and leaves his stuffs lying around.

Oh, for me, I stay alone in my flat and but will go to my parents' place on weekends to makan with them. They will send me home at night. It's nice staying alone with my baby. I'm used to being home alone and doing my own stuffs before marriage, before pregnancy... No big deal. I'm not the needy sort of wife :) But of course, in my third trimester, my hb will arrange with his employer to be back in S'pore till end of confinement, which is end-2008. Thereafter, we hope to bring baby out of S'pore and overseas to stay.

bbmouse, think it's too early to confirm at 12wks. like flos said, many cases turn out being the opposite so i think the docs are reluctant to say anything until they are really, really sure. did you see anything during your scan?

Mummies... I post some pics of studio shots taken or my previous pregnancy..
Got quite RA ones.. Better not post since we have men here too.. Hehehe...

1324412.jpg

1324413.jpg

Xuanting: No links.. I just picked 2.

Jessi; Bingo! I did them at Studio Loft. The photographers are both female. Not awkward going full monty. The full body shots are the nice ones. I think the female body is the most perfect when heavily pregnant.

bbmouse: Nice pictures! My fren also did her pregnancy shots, the 2nd one looks like the one she did!

Hi Quiling, long time no see! How have you been?

bbmouse, how many mths preggie were u when u took those pics? i also wish to take such pics, provided i don't have those ugly stretchmarks around.

nice!!!, bbmouse, but how come your pics so small?!!!

jessi: i think they'll erase those stretchmarks for you if they are pros. Otherwise, you can do it using Photoshop at home.

<font color="0000ff">I felt the hardening again middle last nite... aiyoh... really wondering wat is it. some more it's around the same place. Am quite sure it's not gas...

Flos
u really independent, hehe

bbmouse
Nice pics.. how much did u spend on the package? What did it consist of?</font>

Lemon, Sasa: I think it costs $100 or thereabouts. One hour of shots, they let you choose 3 8R hardcopies. Studio Loft carries out promotion every now and then. You can look out for it at the Business or BP threads. Can sign up first and then pick the actual day later.

Flos: I have no idea why the pics are so small. They actually don't give away the soft copies - only the ones you've picked as hardcopies. But I found all the soft copies in my file, but all so small.

Storeberry: The style and props are the same. And since our bodies look similar when preggie, without the head, all look similar lor. That's why for my hardcopies, I chose the ones with my face. The ones here are just the bodies cos I want to maintain anonymous lah..

Jessi: I was in my week 36, day 5. Good thing I went. Cos my baby came out on week 37, day 1! So we just made it!

Flos - You are great! How old is your baby now? Actually these past 3 months have been quite enjoyable for me though sometimes I get a bit bored and feel a bit ‘useless’ cos I’m not working. So where do you intend to relocate to? You don’t intend for your kids to be educated in Sg at all?

Bbmouse - GREAT pictures! Very tastefully done…and great body shape! I especially like the one with the white gauze. Can share the contact detail? Do they do make-up and all for you? I’m looking for a photographer to do these kind of pregnancy pics too. Your baby is so guai, only come out after you did your shots!

storeberry - how's your throat?

bbmouse
*wolf whistle* very nice wor... wow, yr figure very nice!!i've many photographer friends cos i'm in fashion industry..they all told me no prob can take pic for me when i'm almost full term...but i doubt my body can look like yrs...wat a pity for me.. can only take 'private' pics wif my own cam,haha!!

sasa
cfm it's bb lor...eh,not fair leh...we both same due date...hw cm my bb so lazy???

1325147.jpg
1325148.jpg

this bag quite cool...can hang it in the car or stroller..and it zips up to a bag. quite ex though..USD30.45 frm jshoppers.com