(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mrs Yap, so you hb is in the US? Don't be moody. watch cable tv like me lah
I haven't seen my hb since 11 Mar. He'll be back from HK on 11 Apr. So can u imagine how dirty my house is right now? heheh!!!

Mrs Yap/bbmouse: I have Pistachio inside my freezer now, but I prefer Cherry Garcia, Dublin Mudslide, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Chocolate Fudge Brownie™, S'mores, strawberry cheesecake and recently, a new flavour Raspberry with choco ships!

SarahMay: Your hb is in Macau? My hb is back only once a month. Like Mrs Yap: I eat outside at food courts and coffee shops every day. Only on weekends, my mom and dad takes me out for good meals!!! I hate to cook cos I'm tired by the time I'm home from office.

Really Bigtoes? But today I was at Robinson's trying on a babydoll dress. The sales girl said I am HUGE for a 15.5wk tummy. I was quite embarrassed by the size.

I also love Island Creamery!!!! I love their teh tarik, horlicks, bobo hitam, and all exotic Asian flavours.

I am also drinking cold drinks like u cos I feel hot walking to the hawker centre every lunch. I drink iced lemon tea, lime juice and ribena sometimes. Don't you feel you body temps are pretty high now that you're preggers?

My colleague told me today I shouldn't eat those fish slice noodles cos it contains Shaoxing wine. Can I take liquorised chocolates?

sunrays: sob sob! PH workshop sold out. I don't really want to sit thru the workshop cos I'm not a chef nor work in a hotel/F&B outlet. I just want to know where I can buy their macarons when they tour Singapore.

flos, you're also coping by yourself! you guys are really admirable; do you have a pet to keep you company?

methinks it's best to avoid those chocs. i had one by accident and kept feeling worried about it after.

i find myself craving cold drinks after getting pregnant too. i'm normally a warm drinks person.

Wah.. So many of you without hubby by the side. Very strong leh..
*admire your strength*

Only managed to get chubby hubby at ntuc. Wanted cherry garcia, but ok lah..

Mrs Yap & Goldfish: Think my cough is coming, afraid it will disturb bb leh..

My hubby also not around this few days, usually in a week, he is not around for 1-2days & always busy with his work so I will have dinner at my mum's place most of the time. Already told DH that when bb is out he has to spend more time with us.

Hi sunrays, not urgent.Preferably can get in one months time.Seldom get any reply from you hence not sure if you are still ordering.

I guess pregnant women love ice-cream? Recently I also love ice-cream, just went to Central last Sunday to eat the Azabu Sabo Hokkaido green tea soft serve ice-cream. I also love Island Creamery, my fave flvours are Teh Tarik, Apple Pie & Nutella.

Yesterday I had a nightmare.. I dreamt that when I woke up, I had severe brown stretchmarks all along both sides of my tummy & I screamed loudly in the dream.. haha.

JJParents (jjparents) - Aren't u glad that u aren't the one who has to go thru labour pain?
Natural birth is no better - was just chatting with my friend from Iceland (elective C-sections are not allowed there) - she had a 3rd degree tear all the way to the anus! Was told that she might not be able to control her bowel movements & might crap in the pants anytime for a few weeks! Scary

Btw, there is an article in TODAY paper on this transgender guy who is 5 mths preggers! So he has a male torso & a huge belly! Really facinating....

Bigtoes
Whoa man....i gota get a copy of the paper then!!

My episiotomy was all the way to the back too...no crapping in pants luckily...
in fact, was constipated for quite a bit!!!

<font color="0000ff">Morning mummies,

realised my tummy harden for a few seconds when i was still lying in bed this morning. den after tat the feeling went away. juz wondering, did any of u experienced this before???</font>

Update:
I got my OSCAR results!! They are very good. 1/6000 for chromosome 21; 1/11000 for chromosomes 13 and 18.

I don't have to do amnio anymore.. Praise the Lord!!

Thanks for all the concern from mummies here..

sasa,
haha it's ok, I was online for 30min only. figured you were busy at work too.

About the hardening, yes, I've felt that too. It's like a little hump. I got my hubby to feel it while it happened then shortly the hump went away.

Some of the other Aug'08 MTBs also felt this. The hardening felt abit uncomfortable but only for awhile. Think that's a part of the bb's body? hehe

So have you started to feel the exciting kicks of your bb?

<font color="0000ff">bbmouse
Congrats!!!!! so happy for u

Valnsw
really paiseh abt it wor!!

oh.. u felt the hardening too? I'm quite worried abt it, tho it wasn't accompanied by any pain. Have already emailed my gynae, but no reply from him yet. hehe.. i feel so relieve after reading what u and some other mommies told mi. i sure hope its some part of bb.. haha... he/she is not affected by it.. haha.. coz i kept pressing

no wor.. have not started to feel kicks. tho might have some fluttering sensations. but trying not to get my hopes so high up.. haha.. so i always dismiss them as gas coz once i put my hand around my tummy.. all these will stop</font>

Yvonne, YingLing, Sasa: Thanks.
Very pleased with the baby.
When we started the scan, he was actually lying face down. Then the sonographer went "oh no.. baby is in the wrong position. we want it face up." I talked to the baby and told him to be guai guai, after a while, he turned around! Could also see him playing with his hands..

sasa,
no worries la. can understand how you feel. I also kinda got worried so I asked around.
Tho I felt the kicks first, then this hardening. No pain, just some discomfort as the hardening occurs.

In any case, it's good that you check with your gynae. Like you, I'm waiting for next Mon to see my bb again. cos this whole week don't feel too gd. haiz. want some reassurance that bb is fine.

Sasa, Valnsw: Dunno if I remember correctly. Hardening is associated with contractions in the last trimester. Could be the uterus expanding. Still best to give gynae a call and ask.

sasa,
maybe the double-boiling of pear n rock sugar has certain effect for the lungs
Quite nice drink...almost like bird nest minus the bird nest..

i also have fluttering sensations once a while..but it seems to be always in the same position...so i thot it could be gas..

MTB, when u experienced fluttering sensations, is it always at different spot?

Unagi is bad for bb? oh no, i just had mos unagi burger yesterday with corn soup and fries...think better cut down..will go for salmon the next time...even i dont enjoy it.

i love ice-cream..but my hubby always frown whenever i take ice-cream..usually i just get to taste a few slurps..

any MTB's stomach v round and protruding now? mine seems to be protruding at same angle and flat at other angle...

<font color="0000ff">bbmouse
bb very guai hor.. listen to u.. hehe

thanks. now waiting for gynae / nurse to call mi back lor...

Valnsw
Me too!!! am so looking forward to Monday's appt.. coz had a little crampiness over this wk. juz hope bb is ok lor...

bacon &amp; egg
wah.. sounds nice leh.. think i should try it too.. hehe. hhmm.. the sensations tat i felt hor.. all over the place leh.. sometimes left, sometimes right..</font>

wow...
this thread sure moves fast.

im hoping this is still the firstborn, then can still go around scouting for junk food.heeeee...my son sticks to me like glue. go wherever must have high chair and best if there is playarea or playground....haiz...

singapore is not the best child friendly place...most 'child friendly' restaurants are pathetic lah...

so first time mtb. your life awaits..hahaha...but very fun lah. you never realise you cherish those moments they are taking naps until now...heeeee...

bbmouse, congrats! i'm happy for you too.

l'l cy, i wonder how different my life will be too, but i guess i can never fully imagine it until it happens. how do the mommies with a baby/toddler go grocery shopping? or is this delegated to papa/maid? must be hard to lug home all the bags of groceries plus baby, i imagine. i used to shop in large quantities in carrefour every fortnightly; guess i'll have to make frequent small purchases at the supermart near my house when baby arrives, but that's really expensive.

l'l cy,

Agree agree. Luckily my son is still willing to sit in his stroller, so no high chair never mind. Distractions are a must though. No more fine-dining for us as #1 dearest never gives us peace!

xuanting,

We just bring him along. Daddy entertains him while i make the purchases. At least the NTUC in Thomson Plaza has the travellators so we can push the stroller/trolleys all the way to the carpark.

Ava, Xuan ting: Thanks.
Yes, big sign of relief! *phew!*

Lunch: I just had laksa for lunch. And hor, when the stall lady asked me if I waant ham (cockles), I said ok. Then I felt guilty and asked if preggie can take ham or not. She said can, just a matter or whether want to or not. Anyway, I had the hams.. Hehehehe... ***shhh can't let my hubby know***

Hi bbmouse
Saw ur oscar results! Keke.. good for u wor!!
I oso took laksa just now.. wif cockles and loads of chilli oso
I still eat spicy stuff lo… dunno issit good or bad wor

Haf been reading Jan/Feb/March threads.. manz.. I tink quite a few mama breakdown upon taking care of bb etc wor

Tink we nid to lean on each other for strong support by then leh!

bbmouse
hehehe!!! our lips are sealed

Xuanting,
that's when a baby carrier rather than pram comes in handy cos hands are free to carry groceries. If u are alone, e.g. hb out of town, buy in larger quantities (ther's usually a $150 min purchase I think?) then get the store to deliver lah...not sure if the stores will deliver perishables...they do overseas.

Goldfish: Hehehe..
We share the same guilt. Actually it's not easy taking care of a newborn and recovering from delivery. Our hormones can really create havoc in us. If you have mood swings now, they will be worse after delivery. Many fall into depression as a result. And yes lor, need to have strong support.

Ava: Hehehe..

xunating
actually grocery shopping quite ok. the things in the aisle usually distracts them long enough, but like you said, make small purhcses lah, they dun last that long one. at least my son doesnt. can get hooks for your stroller to put your grocery and then stroll to your car/home loh...i usually do grocery shopping alone without maid or hb. hb grocery is for big/bulky items that i cant carry like oven, or cleaning agents....

ava
cold storage does deliver if im not wrong?

laksa
wow...i LOVE laksa with ham leh....

lok
you are right, no more fine dining. the restaurant better serve their food super fast, or give lotsa bread or what as distraction. actually after having first born, i just dun understand why some singaporeans are so not understanding. they love to glare at you when your toddler make noise in a restaurant..i mean, not high class restaurant mind you, tony romas or kenny rogers....goodness...

xuanting,
I too use the stroller to go buy grocery and hang all my groceries on it.... but carry a baby carrier along just in case I purchase too much then I put the groceries into the stroller and carry my baby in the baby carrier... but dun think you will get a chance to buy a lot of things as some as l'l CY, my girl starts screaming before I can reach the cashier... now laggi worse, now will be running around...

laksa... dreaming of it now.... yeeks.... i wanna eat!

lok, i only bring my daughter to certain restaurants... she screams so loudly at times... she likes to go to The Buffet at M Hotel.. the people there are tolerant of her.. haha.. once, when i held her hands to take her out of the restaurant for a walk, someone asked me if my daughter was the one "singing" aloud in the restaurant... haha... that is how loud she is...

Grocery shopping

Actually grocery shopping with infant is not as bad as shopping with toddler, at least they won't really clamour to want to be carried.
I also use my stroller to do grocery shopping. The challenge with bringing a infant grocery shopping for me last time was when my baby starts crying for milk, and I have latched him on. In the US last time there's seats in the supermarket for this and I use a nursing bib to nurse in public, but in Singapore, dun have seats in supermarket... then I guess this is where you need to learn the skills of some expert mommies who can nurse the bb in the sling with arms still free to push the stroller. I never master that! And I dunno how to do that without risking flashing some flesh! :p

thanks, ava &amp; l'l cy. ava, bb carrier is that backpack-like gadget? carrefour doesn't seem to include perishables in their delivery service. think i need to check with the other supermarts.

i love hums too! i went for the hepatitis jabs just for so i could peace my hums in peace. it's been over 10 years but my recent blood test shows that i'm still immune wor.

thanks too, ying ling &amp; rxmom. looks like i might have to stop my long grocery shoppings in carrefour (what a shame cos i have their rebate card) until i find a way to cope with a baby in tow. and what if it poops and starts wailing then everyone starts looking at us – abandon the cart and scoot to the nearest toilet for nappy change? o dear, how frightening it all seems now... aiyo, how do people do it?

xuanting, dun worry about it... you will know what to do when it happens... cause what is most important in your mind would probably be your baby and you will know what to do... in the poop case, yup, no choice but to abandon cart and scoot to nearest toilet... i ever left the cart at a cashier to go to the toilet...

YingLing
O yes, the Buffet at M hotel is usually quite tolerant of tots. once hb and i went without reervation during dinner. they were full, but saw we had a tot in tow and offered us a seat immediately...so nice of them. My son likes the grilled cod there...heeee..

xuanting
bb carrier can be sarong slings or backpack carriers like Ergo or Beco. (Beco is sooooo pretty!!!)

eh, if they have wet diaper, just find a discrete corner and change loh. that's when a stroller comes in useful. alternatively you can leave your purchases with the cashier, explain to them, and come back after you changed your bb.

I think one v irritating thing in Singapore, which I have experience is getting unsolicitated comments from others, especially ladies, when your baby cry. Once, my son cried quite loudly when I was at Ikea and I had to try to nurse him in the sling while standing up. Then this women just walked by and commented loudly 'wah, cry until like dat'... I think I got more than one such comment. I find it irritating cos can't they see that I am already trying to settle my son??

Some will also exclaimed 'Aiyo!' when my son fell down on grassy patches... as if I don't take good care of him like dat. Pls lah, you can't forever hold your child's hand and not let him go independent.. it's grass anyway... I am the type who won't fuss when my son fell down, and as such, he is not the type who would whine and cry for every little thing.

Really cannot stand the kaypo-ness of some Singaporeans.. you won't get that in the US... there, they would encourage you to let go, and let your child fall so that they can pick themselves up!

hello gals..

just back from my gynae visit today. everything stilll went as normal..nothing much to report to the doctor as I was feeling normal, nothing extraordinary, what so ever.

Baby was head down, legs up during scan..haha..not kind of a nice picture though.

One thing which we got is, we should have kind of confirm the baby's gender...it's a high chance to be a boy! cause we see a little thing between his leg, and it was quite sure that it wasn't the umbilical cord. had 2 looks at it. haha..okok, so I guess most probably will be a boy!

my next visit is 2 may..which will be the detailed scan.
will be bringing my parents along too. They have not seen such technology at all yet! so i guess would be a good time...

they are soo excited. LOL.

rxmom, i think lots of local mommies are a little on the over protective side too. i don't know what sort of mom i'll be like but i do feel rather uneasy when i see my friends trying to stop their toddlers from doing anything "dangerous" like running in a relatively safe enclosed area, trying to climb up some steps, going near domesticated dogs (they actually warn the kids that the "dog-dog will BITE you!"), playing with a bit of sand etc. just below and next to my mom's place is a german childcare and my mom often peers down and see the kids screaming and having so much fun in the compound (fenced). on rainy days, they sometimes even strip to their nappies/undies and play in the rain. my mom was saying that only foreigners will allow this and that if this took place in a childcare for local kids, the parents will definitely sue the centre!

i now see myself rolling in the grass and making mud cakes with my child, but who knows if i might turn out to be even more protective over my kid than my friends are. hubby and i have promised to check each other for this (we're kind of "elderly" so he thinks there's a real chance of us being over-protective and spoiling the child). i guess there's no telling until bb really comes.

Lemon: Did you gynae say likely to be boy or you saw something there and thot so? Cos hor, for my #1, we also saw something in between, and she's a girl. All babies will have something in between. Girls will have 3 lines, boys just 1 line. And the 3 side lines for girls are not visible to the trained eye. Can be v confusing.

xuanting,
For me, feels like a fist being clenched. When hardening, abit uncomfortable but not painful. then I felt something hard like a small hump on the left side of my tummmy as compared to my right side. Asked hubby to feel so that it's not only my imagination. He said he felt it too but shortly, the tummy became soft again..
Not sure which part of bb's body is the hump.

bbmouse,
don't scare me leh. at least bb's kicking me. anyway congrats on your amnio test results!

sasa,
did your gynae call u back?

Xuanting,

haha, yah, I know what you mean. That's no way to teach being kind to animals! Some parents are really protective. These days, I even scold my maid when she holds the cup while my son drinks from the cup (straw), and I also scold her if she, for speed sake, feed my son instead of letting my son feeds himself. I think she finally really got the message when one day while having roti prata at Jalan Kayu, someone whom I met earlier there (he's a teacher for mentally challenged kids) came by suddenly and very philosophically said that 'if you feed a child, he/ she will never learn the value of learning to feed himself'. I quickly joined in and said yes yes! haha... then my maid quickly let my son feed himself, which he does with vigour! :p

My son runs around, my son climbs up stairs (with me close behind, but never holding him), my son stroke huge golden retrievers and stray cats on the streets... I told my maid these are fine things to do, as long as you check the state of the animals, and have a sanitiser at hand. Hands can always be washed. Children learn through touch and experience... you deprived them of that, they learn one thing less...

Share with you this blog... she is the official blogger for Singapore's mom centre... and I think her open way of bringing up her kids is very inspirational...

http://www.oureverydaythings.com/