(2008/08) Aug 2008

Afternoon mommies,

Juz wanna rant for awhile. Juz went for an energy draining & long interview, very very slacked now. Why do some ppl interview you till you speechless & feel utterly useless? Feel like crying out after it lor

hisstory,
my babysitter say drink FM tends to be more heaty compared to bm. so must give baby lots of water. right now, i'm diluting his milk till his phelgm is off. now sure if babysitter is doing the same. cos yu ze only had 1 feed at home. today, giving him his last dose of medicine and will stop from tomorrow. want him to start fighting any virus on his own liao. anyway, he is better liao, cough and running nose is lesser now. for me, other than fever, i will give medicine for 1 week max. even if he don't recover, i will still stop too.

celyn
sorry it took me a while to congrats u..
..havent had much time lately to read forum..the few mins i have really can just let me chk mails n fb for abit..

A fren sent this to me and I tot it might be of use to all of us here.

How to stop cough in 5 minutes!!!

This is a must try....

We have all been kept awake by our own or someone else's cough. Try this and pass it on. The tip and not the cough. ANYTHING is! better than antibiotics. Even babies could benefit from this and the parents wouldn't worry about the safety of their child. And of course, it is harmless and free from any type of side-effects.

READ IT ALL. It works 100 percent of the time, although the scientists at the Canada Research council (who discovered it) aren't sure why.

Treatment:
To stop night time coughing in a child (or an adult, as! we found out personally), put Vicks Vapor Rub generously on the bottom of the feet at
bedtime and then cover with socks.

Even persistent, heavy, deep coughing will stop in about five minutes and stay stopped for many, many hours of relief. This works 100 percent of the time, and is more effective in children than even very strong prescription cough medicines.

In addition it is extremely soothing and comforting and they will sleep soundly.

Sylvia, Ruixuan, History , Little Twin Star

I'm feeling much better now just that I can't talk lor... haizz... Can't even call out for C & C...

Little Twin Star

Now that GG is bigger, think it's much easier to handle everything. Hearing wat you say about your maid also make me scared. Tomorrow, my new replacement maid is coming.. dun know how she will turn out to be...

This one that is going back really hopeless liao! On the whole she's okay but just that her mind and heart is not hear lor. And when she's absentminded, I definitely scold her and she'll show me attitude, den after afew days forget liao... I think she siow one. We were at KL for the weekend and she was rather free and once she free her mind will wander and that when things will go wrong. She's the type that misses home.. must go back for X'mas even when she got to pay for her own ticket at this peak period. Not much money she can save bcos she's already send back a bulk of it for her family to spend. So I find her very stupid in this sense.

I received the letter from KKH, reminding me about payments, den hubby see liao... keep quiet.. ask him "How?" wat to do with the rest? only can keep until 2012 leh! He kept quiet, think he dun want liao. In my heart, I was thinking... after going thru so much for it, now dun want liao... I pity my little unborn ones. They are also my babies leh!

Anyway, hope everything works out well for you. Take care! See you next week.

littletwinstars

me too! i just sent my maid back 2 days...feel like a relief. u can ta han for 1.5 yrs, i only ta han for 8 mths.

cannot liao..she lie more n more. getting v bold too. 1 day me hb n bb went out, dun need her so i told her later u take bus to shop (my restaurant) to meet us for dinner. when we reach shop, she not there yet. call her hdphone its off.

she actually call my staff at the shop to ask if we there or not, my staff say not yet, so she say she going vivocity to pick some leaves. (some kind of leaf we use in the shop, but i have never never ever ask her to pick them, i dont even know where she got the idea to go pick them from vivo!!) finally when she arrived, i ask her where she go..she say she go meet her auntie! like har? its not even her off day, she never even ask or tell us. hello we both got hdphone n she choose to call my shop staff??? n then tell some stupid story about going to pick leaves?? then i ask her where is the leaves, she take from her bag to show me, i ask her where she pick from, she say from home!! (cos in our condo have a patch of the leaves growing) she lie so much until she blur herself.

think that was the final straw...really too much. just few days b4 that i already pek chek. i have an extra mobile line that i gave her to use, free $40 credit, thot is wasted so i gave her since i not using, next 3 mths she rack up $80 (excess of free $40) each mth! n this is when she is still paying off her loan, so i had to pay first n deduct from her later pays. finally i took it back cos its getting ridiculous liao...can u imagine how much time she is spending on the phone?? she had like 500+ local sms every mth. thats not the main thing, so i took it back to use...then will keep having ppl call. no caller id so i dunno who but i know is her calls cos i nvr use the no. b4. so i pass phone to her, tell her to tell her friends she not using the no. anymore. she take the phone outside go talk talk abit then passed it back to me. 5 mins later got sms "how r u?" i told her off, i thot i just told her to tell her friends to stop using this no. 5 mins later sms come in "i love u!" wah lau! i ask her what is this?? she say she called the person back she also dunno who is it. abt an hr later, sms came "sorry wrong no." duh...u think i stupid.

so i already decided to send her back. i was browsing some maid forum n i found out that i can check a maids previous employment history if i go mom website n key in her WP no. when i got her, her bio data n she herself told me she had 2 previous employers. 1st one she work for 1 yr, is indo family, HB got sent back to indo so they return her. 2nd one she work for 1 week say she cannot get along w the MIL cos of language probs. i decided to try her.

when i keyed in her WP no. she had 5 previous employers lor!!!! all work for 1-2 mths only! both she n agent r liars.

mummies pls dont trust what the agent says. next time get their WP no. n check urself. (all transfer maids will have WP no. if is ex-sin but back home now, u can still ask for their previous WP no. to check up. )

so i ask my mum bring her n evie out for lunch while i stayed home to pack all her stuff. i wanted to check just in case she stole anything. the i brought all the stuff straight to agency n ask mum to bring maid there.

one good thing is she is honest w money n valuables. got once she ask to borrow $20 to buy top up card,(again) i gave her 1 $10 note n 1 $100 note without realising n later that evening when i came back she actually told me n returned the money. but she used $30 to top up instead of $20 like she said. oh well, at least she didnt keep quiet.

at agency so drama...the agents treat them like slaves...shout n scold them. i felt so bad returning her to them but is her own fault. when i walked out, she came out n hug me n cry n dont want to let go! i had to push her off n quickly leave. she wanted to come back n work for us, but i really cannot ta-han anymore. i give her so many chances finally had enough.

moral of the story, dont trust what the maid say. or what the agent say! check it out for urself! n i hate to say this, but dont be too nice or lax w them, they will walk all over ur head.

oh ya...when she look thru all her stuff at the agency, (she had like a ton of stuff, i cannot fit all back into her own bags i had to use an extra plastic carrier, the type blankets come with) she actually ask me where is her this particular shoe. she is so messy, her things all over the house. some in the room, some in the toilet, some in the laundry area, so i missed packing 1 of her shoes.

mummies: how many shoes do u maid have?

mine has 3 slippers, 2 shoes, n 2 sandals!

i say ok i will bring to her. today she sms my HB asking us to bring her shoes, her earrings (which she left in a container of evies toys) n her bath soap! u know what soap she is referring to? cos i already packed all her toiletries, liquid soap, shampoo, pad etc. she is referring to her half used bar of soap in the soap dish. it is not just 1 pc, it already break into a few pieces n is 3 types of soap bar mixed together! n got so much hair stuck on it! after she left, i had to do major clean-up, so i threw it away of course.

i paid her for the whole mth even though she is not due to get her pay till mid mth. i didnt even deduct the $30 she borrow to top-up cos i thot quite poor thing to have to look for new employer. n now she ask me to bring her her half used pieces of bar soap????

so now im maidless, which is actually quite ok cos my mum helping. but hoping to get a good one soon.

Gayle

Wah! maid really overboard. that's always the case when we are too nice to them and they took us for granted. And when we treat them slightly off, they complain and cook up all sorts of stories to bail themselves out while causing us nothing but trouble.

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Eat chuan bei pi pa gao??

Oh man, it's a very sleepy afternoon.. And I've got a hideous report to write, and handicapped by the sleepiness

Mrs Teng,
you take care. I'm swom with work - colleague going to aussie and i gotta cover her work for slightly more than a week! <pant!>

Need help!

I want to get a new job. Anyone here working in engineering line &amp; coy is reruiting diploma holder do let me know k. TIA

Maid.
My first maid who is vv clever and sociable and resourceful .... now got herself a job in SG (no longer a maid) ..... is now on FB and sent me an invite! *faint.

Did I accept ..... of course not. Cos she did not end her contract with me on a good note.

Mrs Teng,
If u lost your voice, there's something u can buy from the chinese medical hall ... specially for that and it works wonders. Can go check it out ... i dunno what's the name.

Rona,
I also very fustrated wif my wk. 2 of my colleagues on MC/ leave. Gotta do 3 ppl's job today!

Snow,
When can we meet up? I wan to take CCL but seems like my calendar is lined wif meetings. So sianz...

rona &amp; mummynana
me nothing better, gotta stand in for a col who is on 2mths hospitalisation leave....orr bak kart liao lor... >P

mummynana
u let me noe lah, 1 of my proj sign off next wk....should have a tiny bit of time by then...ha ha...
another proj sign off just before x'mas, lucky that still can celebrate x'mas. -_-"

Mrs Teng,
kai yin san - i think.

Snow, nana,
woa, 2 mths hospitalisation leave??? i can die here. there are only two of us here in this dept, so if one down more then 2 weeks, we have to get help. somemore, our sales exceed budget by 70% and this year's sale is all time high - where got recession?? really a lot more work, but no extra pay, no extra bonus etc... only more mistakes - and with every mistakes, we get deduction on our 13mth leh.

celyn
today its like "shouting busy day" leh...everybody came in declare busy, then gone missing liao....hee hee...think just x'mas mood bah. =P

snow74,
hahhaha..... i also disappear in the morning cos of meeting. now consolidating survey report. :p

yah, christmas mood liao. office not much people and i'm going on leave soon....

celyn
so good, still can plan for holiday....
i also dunno if can enjoy x'mas anot leh, cos cannot guarantee proj can rel before x'mas lor. =(

snow74,
i can lah but hubby cannot. so i must take leave. if not, yu ze every meal got to eat economical rice leh. very poor thing.

celyn
ai yo...poor boy. =(

think i noe why no 1 post anything le.
unless u save this link as favourite, else can't access from motherhood main page.
cannot find this aug thread i mean. =P

snow74,
i see. yah yah. cos hubby can't cook. even though he is at home also no use. unless i want the poor boy to eat economical rice every meal loh. hahahah...

celyn
dun lah, outside food lotsa ajinomoto de.
ur hb good de le lah, think my gals gotta eat bread or cakes when i'm not at home lor...ha ha...

snow74,
hahaha.... like that also consider good huh. :p

lucky my leave is just nice to cover all these. no more leave left. first time, i use up everything, AL, CCL, HL, MC.

celyn
i mean better than mine lah...ha ha....

leave kinda thing can slowly accumulate again de lor, later u still have 16wks maternity leave leh?
hee hee....

Mrs Teng,
Wat's "Chee Gak" ? *blur.
I know her pattern la ... when I got my new maid after she sabo me and left earlier than agreed, she called to say she wants to come back to see my #1 wor ... i die die oso dun let her .. tell her we not free la ...

I think she wanted to come and PR with my maid and keep in touch and poison her ma .. then she best, she told me to be more "mean" to my maid when she had all the privileges previously. So evil rite. Dun like her.

Once I met her in Orchard road and she wanted to come to my place ... i said, we'll call her when we free.

snow, celyn,
Kai dun need anything much ... just milk.
How ah? he still not eating so much of solids still. Eat but little la.

Sometimes maid on off i oso never cook. buy from outside or i just give milk only and maybe bread ... so terrible rite.

snow74,
hahaha.... i never use up my leave so fast before leh. i already started to plan out my leave for next year liao. :p

shint,
slowly increase his intake loh. when he goes cc, he will eventually eat bah. don't think they give milk so often in cc right?

its cos kai don't eat much so you can afford to buy outside. yu ze can eat outside food too but i try to minimise loh. if i can cook, i cook for him at least lesser seasonings.

celyn,
thanks for the link. no ez to get it...

hisstory,
enjoy yrself!!! eat eat eat. shop shop shop!!!! :p

tigg3r.
aiyo, sounds bad...my granny has this particular leave remedy 4 sore throat. works wanders but v bitter n i dunno wat the heck it it.haha. hiaz....
our frozen ones....morally it is to rescue them.....u got alot wo. i only have 3,hehe.......may try to defrost them wen gg turns 2. dun b pressure. think about it

maid:
u think they r poor n pity them n treat them well.........they take the chopper n chop u thinking we r fools n lie straight to yr face even with evidence! they really take u 4 granted......u have to filter in ALL the hidden cost.....their wastage n stealing etc. it came to a pt i dun even bother to ask. my new maid will not have the luxury anymore. i will provide the basic food only. no more biscuits n toiletries n free clothes n paying 4 her shopping. u know my stupid maid can use up 1 bottle of laminate flr detergent in 1 wk!!!!!! my grocery with her is $200 a wk. this wk wo her...only$75. she has been drinking my manuka honey +25ok, one bottle $55! i drink 7times n she say no more n ask me to buy, sos my vit c n my gou ju zi.....she use it to cook her noodles!!! i really had enough

gayle,
welcome to the maidless club. u r right we can;t trust agent n maids.....my agent lied n told me my old maid will not meet the new one, they will arrange 4 the new maid to leave spore on mon ( she is on social pass) n come back on wed...the day my old maid wld have flown off...i called on tues n they say new maid not in spore, arrive tom. wed i called to ask wat time shld i pick up the new maid on thurs ( our original plan ) they say can;t cos maid jus left on wed n will only b back on fri!!!!which means the new maid n old maid spent the nt at agent;s hse!!!! then tell us no big deal, they will not know n will not talk among themselves...come on la.... ( no wander they maids lie n lie, learn frm agent la ) the work permit of the new maid is approved so i canl;t back out now n if she turns out bad n i return her b4 6mths i need to pay agent $388. i am so pissed....

hiaz...now then i know can check work permit to check how many employers they have
too late liao
hubby refused to let me do all the hsewk n insist on having a maid cos i have a dog.

i told u yrs also cannot keep...she also very jialat n take u 4 granted. dunno wats wrong with these maids....treat them so well, they really dun appreciate n r so dishonest. mayb really need to really b firm n fierce if not they think they can climb all over us. wat to do

rona,
no no .... this is my 1st maid i employed when I had my #1. Had her for 2 years and few months before Kai was due, her contract was coming up.
She gave me alot of headaches, unhappiness with hubby cos she was playing politics with me, taken us for granted, bypass me ... until i can't take her and din wan to renew her contract.

She wanted me to renew her while she tries again for her cananda application and she expects it to go through in 6 months which is exactly when Kai is due. Expect me to go find a new maid at that point for her benefit .. i not so DUH ... so i told her either she stays for another year or she can balek kampong ... in the end, she wanted to transfer so we allowed her and hubby even wrote her a nice testimonial ok.

then she found her Ang Mo employer and then came back and said she needed to go in 2 weeks' time instead of 1 month (which is for me to find a new maid) .... so pissed with her cos alot more things happened. Was so good to her but she has absolutely no loyalty. After that she even hinted that she din like her new employer and wanted to come back .... over my dead body ..hahha.

My current maid is maid #2 and she wen back home, i got maid #3 for 1 month and then got my maid #2 back.

Lesson: Not good maid dun keep. I gave her alot of chances but if they dun appreciate, they wun. Dun waste time. Maid #3, i knew cannot keep her so i kept her for 1 month to fulfill my 1 month to agency and sent her back after that - that was cos i still could stand her la.