(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hi Liz,

I've heard of Stamford but din know tt their food was so bad until like dat...was tinking when my son turn 2 next yr, might wan to choose stamford..wow...hear fm u like dat, i think i better blacklist them

Liz, wow...yr ger's first bd party was so sweettttt...I really like it leh...

Snow, so are u gng to hv CB spree? is it much cheaper huh? Cos i always buy BP spree if there's one...

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
*patpat* Think u &amp; ur hb really go thru a lot of effort to make Jonah take his milk.. So the popsicles also didn't work ah..
Hmm, wonder if u mix FM in his cereal, if tt wld help him with milk intake..

Too bad they are now too young to take dou hua, otherwise it wld be a gd source of calcium too.. Or u find recipes for soya bean stuff? Do u think boiling stock fr soya beans wld have calcium in its stock?

Wah, chawanmushi.. I also want!

<font color="#CD3278">Liz</font>
Kaitlyn's cake is really pretty! Hazelnut crunch sounds yummy.. *slurps*

I think Stamford's not too great.. Maybe they are complacent coz they've been in the mkt for such a long time?

Halo Mommies!

Rata,
Your working hours is so early!!! But means can ko early too right?

Snow,
My working hours start at 8.30am but I also wake up at 6am coz I need to get ready and wake #1 up at 7am plus prepare her breakfast...

Celyn,
Shiok right, nice weather to sleep leh!

Liz,
The decor and cake are so so nice!
Stamford no good ah?! My sis' coy used them and she told me the food was great leh...double standard?!?!

This morning and I found Isaac naked in his cot. Keke. He somehow managed to get out of his sleepsuit and diaper while waiting for me to wake up and get him. Would you have

1) covered him up immediately or
2) laughed out loud and run to grab the camera?

He must be thinking 'mummy so bad!!!'

hisstory,

are they too young to eat tau huay? i haven't really let him try yet. we already put his remainder FM into his cereal or rusks, but that doesn't amount to much lah. at most can only put 40-60ml of milk before it gets too watery for his liking. haven't really experimented with soy recipes yet coz' my dumb maid can't take complex instructions. now she's only good at making porridge and even then, they usually turn out rather hard and dry. i'm surprised jonah would still eat though he's starting to get fussy nowdays, sigh.

Rona,
Bo lah, I haven't bought dslr yet...just borrowing a friend's one. I'm eyeing the Nikkon D5000...was telling M2b that we all should group up together and buy then can hopefully get good discount.

Krex,
We also changed to IQ Gain yesterday and K took abit more...at least he can finish all 120ml that we give him for the last feed! So I think he just doesn't like Enfagrow...I used soy beans to make vege stock...think there should still be calcium in the stock.

Briebaby,
Wow that's quite a feat!! I have found K topless in the middle of the night, but not stark naked!! I'd actually laugh and grab a camera...then get scolded by Hb for not covering him up....

Brie,
Haha, Isaac "performing" strip tease ah?! heehee

Yuuri,
Kym was recommending Canon D500 and my fren recommended Nikon D90...I tried on Canon 1 at Courts last Sun but they dun have Nikon 1 for me to try...so you decided to get? =P

Rata,
Thats good! Last time, we used to ko at 5pm and alternate Sat but now Sat no work, so additional hour a day till 6pm...Fri 5.30pm =P

Yuuri,
Nikkon D5000 huh? its the mid-tier level camera right? How about Cannon? Cannon is quite a good brand camera too... don't mind to group up together and buy camera leh, i always go to Song Brothers. Got a regular sales person, price is quite good. can compare around first before heading down to bargain...

but hb said to buy next year... ><

Brie,
I would go get the camera! Haha... So cute!

re: Cakes
After looking at the cakes from PG that you posted, I think I will consider getting Anvelle's cake from PG too. Lychee Martini seems to be the hot fav. My HB wants to get the 3D Pooh from eCreative but I think it is too ex. OMG! $240 for 3kg. Tats like $80/kg! And it's only choco sponge wif blueberry filling.

Liz,
I had the same tot as you. Maybe I shld get the top tier in Lychee Martini instead. Coz originally tot have the smaller tier in chocolate for the kids can liao. Adults take the Lychee Martini.

hisstory
i've asked quite a few other friends abt FM and fresh milk. i've come to the conclusion that @ this stage, it's a personal choice. FM has added stuff like DHA etc. but it's still processed. added stuff includes natural and synthetic. whereas fresh milk is just milk. some friends who give their kids fresh milk supplement with fish oils. so it's really up to you what you prefer.

krex
maybe jonah will take the cup soon!
oh...i read from babycenter that one mother did not give water until her baby finishes his bottle of milk. e.g. in meal times etc. not sure if that'll work for jonah. but don't worry! u're doing a good job already!

pinky
i'll only order during oct when i can use my drugstore $, think after less its ard us$9.50+- if they never change their price bah...
u can order some now 1st, cos mine is something like 2mths later. =P

m2b
oh, thats early.
hee hee...thats why lazy mummy like me let #1 go afternoon class. =X

rata
if used to it liao then ok lor. =)

mummynana
pg cake 1kg = $36.
eg of their pooh cake:
2850480.jpg

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
I think tau huay not so recommended coz of sthg they add in, if i dun rem wrongly, the gypsum powder, or otherwise known as shi gao..

Sounds like Jonah really likes textured food.. Seems so leh

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Oooh, i see!! Let me start her on FM first.. I suppose coz it's targetted at babies &amp; children, it shd be quite safe for her. But I will venture into freshmilk too, then I wun have to lug hot water ard in future, esp to church

<font color="#CD3278">brie</font>
*phweet* I wld grab the camera!

hisstory
oh...i've got a fren who told me that some FM add corn syrup and palm oil into their milk. not sure whether it's true. just read their label before purchsing. i'm so paranoid after the mustela incident that i read every label now. haha... spending too much time in the supermkts! :D

hi timminbuzz and hisstory - think similac is ok cos they advertised that theirs dont have...
hi hisstory -it is good to start ur bb first and see which brands she is comfortable w. For my son, i tried similac then i found he cannot digest cows' fm well. so now i feed him 1 feed soy milk and rest still bm. so i need to postpone my stopping of bm till he is more than 1 - maybe say he is 14-15mths...cos need to try Nan for him and if he still vomits then i have to do the allegry test and let him have soy milk

Snow
Yeah my boss very cute one..think she busy playing some games that look like jewels.. FB game experts can advise simi lai eh? She is quite relaxed la but not too nice if she knows I online maa haha!

Hisstory
Problem is that Darwisyah is quite fussy. She dun drink frozen Bm at all! So her supply is based on the 48 hours rule in the refrigerator.. : | That time I gave her frozen BM she drink 10ml nia..
As for nursing mums who fast, yes actually u can opt out if you are nursing yr child but becos I am already weaning her off breastmilk and she is on 2 feeds FM per day I just proceed to fast lor... Else must pay back one..

Liz
Yr deco very pretty! The balloons all very nice : )

Brie
Hahah ! For me I would grab my camera too! But my hb will surely ask me cover bb up first cos scared later pee in the cot!

Snow,
Thanks dear. Liz from PG sent me many pics of Pooh cakes. I sketched out my idea of the cake I want to have and they have quoted me accordingly.

Re: Soybean
For mums wif children wif G6PD deficiency, u may want to note that beans are not recommended. I hv G6PD deficiency n my parents also didn't noe tat beans were no gd for me until when I was in my teens n was always feeling giddy after eating my fav tau huay tat my GP told me not to take bean stuff such as tau huay n baked beans.

medusa
ya lah...i understand that kinda free also cannot show infront of boss feeling. =(
i dun play fb game also, but think quite a few mommies here are fb games expert...hee hee...

mummynana
no problem, just thought u still deciding. =)
their price still not too ex as compare to others lah, but make sure u have everything captured accordingly before u cfm their invoice hor.
else, per changes is $5 after u cfm. =P

M2B,
I realised that people who buy Canon 500D always upgrade within a few months. Dunno what's the limitations myself...but doesn't seem to be a camera with staying power.
D90 is good. Read that Nikon D5000 has the functions of D90 but at a lower price, and I've read v good comments from professionals.

Rona,
Cos I'm trying out a Nikon and find it quite user friendly and I'm quite happy with the results, so I narrow down to Nikon lor...Canon also good, but no one lend me Canon to play with :p D5000 is above entry-level but below mid-tier range.
I was sold on D5000 when I read this blog entry: http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2009/archives/5202

Guess most of us are still playful even as mums huh
i was juz thinking i nvr think of my parents as ever young once. I wonder when will i become an old person who nvr has any fun at all to isaac. Get wat i mean? I'm typing by phone, so won't elaborate
My hb was concerned abt pee as well. While i was complaining abt how more than half the photos i took were blur! Keke

timmin,

actually i was quite reluctant to give jonah FM coz' it has a lot of preservatives. so i'm not surprised that some of them have palm oil and corn syrup. i've yet to make a trip to the goat farm but judging from his general disinterest in milk, i'm wondering whether to go there or not.

those of u with myanmar maids, any idea how much is the air ticket to yangon? i've searched online and there doesn't seem to be any budget carrier leh. for phil there is cebu pacific and indo there is lion air. for myanmar, i realised jetstar is even more ex than myanmar airways int'l! and i think it's about $300, so ex! for my phil maid to go to manila, it's half the price by cebu pacific leh.

now dunno whether to keep my maid or send her back. if send her back, i'm deciding between sending her home to myanmar and sending her back to agency, coz' it seems that there's no guarantee she'll be taken and i still have to pay food/ lodging plus levy, and if she does not get taken, i end up paying for her airfare back. so painful to change maids, sigh.

Tim,
Talking abt fish oil, I started giving Mae Scott’s Emulsion and beginning, she gave me a yucky face but now take it liao…both #1 and Mae take 1 tablespoon in the morning…

Snow,
Haha, my parents and I prefer morning class so all the kids attended morning classes except for Mae coz bo bian, jiejie has piano class in the morning on Sats…

Yuuri,
Oh, so Nikon D5000 is good? How much is that?

so pissed off w my maid..duuno want to send her back or not. seems like small small things but make me wanna vomit blood.

today we went out for lunch, i passed my almost empty bubble tea cup to her while we were on the escalator going down n told her to throw for me cos i was pushing stroller. u know what she did? she tossed it into the bin at the bottom of the escalator while she havent reach the bottom yet! so the cup which still had some tea inside went 'THUD!' in the bin n the straw flew out across the path of a man who started to stare at her n shaking his head. i ask her why u throw the cup in like that, she like didnt know what she did wrong..then i ask, then why is that man staring at u?? she say 'dunno'

then b4 that, i let evie play w my wallet in the stroller, inside have a neoprint of me n my hubby when we started dating. think somehow she pull out the neoprint. i didnt realise it fell out n i took my wallet back to put in my handbag. the my maid saw the pic on the stroller, she took it look at it n made some comments like'wah u n sir look so young then'..then she tossed it into my open hand bag. i was a little miffed, (i thought she shd have passed it to me instead of throwing it into my bag like that) but whatever la. then later when we reached home, i searched my whole hand bag n cannot find the pic!! so pissed off, i empty the whole bag, open every compartment also cannot find. i even passed my bag to her n ask her to find. of course cannot find la! i told her off next time pls dont anyhow throw my things n make them lost. this kind of pic how to replace? no softcopy one leh! eee!

then today i feel kinda sick n nauseated, i think MS but not sure cos last time dun have....i cant even rest properly, cos evie keep fussing n she cannot handle her. finally, i changed n got up the sofa to bring evie out for a walk.

i walk into the patio. i called for my maid to bring me a piece of watermelon for evie. (i bought yesterday, n she already cut n put into a container in the fridge) then she took like so long, like how long does it take to take a piece of watermelon from the fridge. i shouted at her to hurry up. she say coming coming. u know what? she came with a slice of honeydew! she actually went to cut a whole honeydew that we had in the fridge! use ur common sense lah...firstly if u nvr hear me properly, ask again. maybe melon is all same thing to her. n why on earth would i ask her to cut open a new melon when i just asked her to cut the watermelon yesterday??

n i dunno why she like no common sense to use plastic bowls w evie. bbs r v quick n they like to grab stuff, of course sometimes we r not quick enough to catch them. she keep using ceramic bowls. evie already broke once, n dunno y she keep using ceramic ones when we have so many plastic ones.

n i find her not v clean, my car is full of biscuits cos of evie. she has lots of time but nvr makes the effort to clean properly.

pissing me off!

dunno now isit my hormones or what but i reallly cannot stand her now.

im no slave driver n usually v nice to her, but i feel she is taking me for granted. slowly all her pattern come out. slowly she started to dress more provocative, until my father ask me why ur maid dress like going to disco like that? can see bra one. i also noticed but i thot close one eye la. then until finally one day she wore this low cut top n i could keep seeing her bra (not straps, but the bra cup itself) when the top keep falling down. i finally buay ta-han n told her off is it right for her to wear something that keep exposing her bra?? ok fine, she is more conscious of her dressing now.

then she start to wear make-up!! it started w lip stick, then now got eyeliner too!! she is w me almost all the time, so i dont think she is meeting some guy. she is just v vain! u know she keeps lip stick, lip gloss, eyeliner in evie's diaper bag. its really strange right? in the mornings when she brings evie out for a walk around the condo to meet w other kids n maids to chit chat, she will have lipstick on too. she can even say to me, maam, evie v clever! in the morning when i put my lipstick she will follow my actions n pretend to put lipstick too!..will u just die! so what do u think? shes flirting w the security guards???i really dunno man.

n her phone bills. i think u will just faint. usually she will use pre-paid cards. but i have this free line that comes w my corporate singtel acct. it comes w free incoming calls n free 100mins out going calls. i thought since no one is using, i let her use so she can save some money. the first month, her bill came to be about $120!! after deducting the free $40 value they give, its still $80++!! i got a shock, she also was shocked. i ask her r u sure u want to use? n y u use so much? then she say let her try again, then next month it was about the same again! $80+ after deduction! my bills not even that high lor. she say let her try again, ok this month is less than $20.

all her bills im paying w my own money first cos she already took advance till next month. so i can only deduct from next month onwards.

then when we go out shopping, i need to go into a shop to get something i told her wait for me outside w evie. when i come out i cannot find her, call her no one pick up. make me walk in circles looking for them. finnaly saw her, ask her why she nvr wait where i told her to..she say i though u will take v long so i bring evie to walk around. ask y u nvr pick ur phone, she say she nvr bring! i let her have a phone n even give her free line so i can contact her when i need..then she come this kind of pattern. bring phone to use herself, when dun need then dont bring. how the hell am i supposed to know she bring or not.

piss me off! should i change her???? now i pregie again, plus second one dunno how man! but what if change is even worse?

can i get another maid first (have 2 maids at the same time) try her out. n if she ok then ask the other to leave? is this possible?

gayle,

welcome to the club! i think it's partly your hormones now that you're preggie and the fact that you've been too nice to your maid. i also notice that when i'm too nice to my 1st phil maid, she will take me for granted. but yours is still manageable if you can sit down with her, be firm and do an appraisal. with my ex maid, i did monthly appraisals in the initial stages when i found her performance not up to par. and with each appraisal, i can see improvement.

for her, hp is her key motivator, so i use it to motivate her to work harder. she can only use hp on weekends after she finish her work. i told her if she makes x number of mistakes, will not let her use hp. this worked very well for me.

if it's any consolation, i think yours is not stupid. mine is beyond hope. she can't even take instructions properly and understand me, much less handle a 1-yr old. she definitely won't be of much use to me when #2 comes.

mummynana,
i thought only a type of beans can't eat? i did give yu ze baked beans leh. tofu is also make from beans, he also eat liao leh.

snow74,
change my appointment to thurs liao.

krex78,
i also use till very noisy. i'm thinking of getting another new one when #2 comes. don't know if i should get another brand or stick with avent.

m2b,
yah, shiok shiok.

briebaby,
hahaha..... isaac power leh. i will take camera first.

m2b
i prefer not so early morning class also...hee hee...
but cos wkday its my sis that sending #1 to class, cannot tegan her lah.

pinky
actually when forex is involve, sometime +- few $ is ok 1 ya? =)

celyn
oh oh, then u can tahan the pain till thur? =(

snow74,
without the brace on, its not painful liao. just wonder if the pain will come back tonight when i wear the brace to sleep.

celyn,

maybe can try medela. heard it's quite gd. my SIL may be handing hers to me coz' she going to stop BF soon. too bad i no chance to try out now, have to wait for #2, heh heh.

Snow,
Thanks. Maybe I will get my cake from PG too.

Gayle,
Dun be too stressed out over the maid issue. you may want to set your rules and explain to her properly. I went thru my ex maid's clothes and kept away all the sleazy clothes she brought here. She brought short tube tops, low-cut halter necks and sequin tops to wk as a maid! n she wasn;t attractive to begin wif!! Personally, i would nt hv 2 maids in the hse at the same time coz maid#1 will noe u r gng to send her back n she's gng to badmouth you to the new maid. My fren told me to search ard the hse in case my maid wrote nasty things to pass message to the maid. True enough, my ex Indo maid hid pieces of papers stuck in her bedsheet and wardrobe saying tat we ill treat her when in the 1st place she was only wif us for 2 mths and we gave her the same food as ours and she sleeps earlier than us. I even took care of my bb alone.

Krex,
Medela's electric pumps r ok. i used the single pump and twin pumps. performed well but over time, you need to change the valve or send for servicing to clear the "choke" so that it can wk better.

gonna change to drugstore.com for the <font color="aa00aa">calendula cream and desitin cream</font> as we have enuff to get bulk discount. lemme know if anyone else wanna buy from the site.

vern
i'm interested to get the calendula cream. how to collect from you? thanks!

m2b
oh ya ah...can give the scotts emulsion already. u give mae in a spoon and she'll take?

krex
really ah? got a lot of preservatives ah? then i better stick to fresh milk.

goat's milk is supposedly better than cow's milk. but fresh goat's milk from the farm is quite ex leh. i don't tink i can keep up with that. boohoo..

Timmin
Yikes.. just read what you wrote about PARABEN in Mustela pdts and I got a shock! Cos I'm using the 2-in-1 body wash, nappy rash cream and moisturiser for D! And I still have two bottles of brand new moisturisers! Oh dearie dear.. Sigh..

Where can I find GAIA pdts?

Hisstory
Ya.. tell me about it.. like new born baby.. you are right!! I think I've really spoiled him in this area liow.

Brie
So funny! Is his bedroom air-conditioned? Do you know how long he laid in bed in his naked state? Hee..

M2B
I too today started D on Scott's Emulsion Cod Liver Oil. I thought he would gag upon tasting it (he gags very easily.. haha..) but I was surprised that he didn't. Tmw I'll give him a little bit more (1tbs as recommended) cos today I only let him have a taste via his small feeding spoon. I checked with PD on this and she said it was ok to give.

Wendy,
Yes, his rm is aircon-ed. Lucky he hasn't stripped in the middle of the night yet. I saw him dressed at 7:30am, and I only went to get him at 8:10am after my pump and washing up. So he must have stripped sometime in between. No pee on the bed *phew*!

I hope he doesn't make a habit of it. If so, I'll have to let him wear romper + long pants. So many layers
I like letting him wear sleepsuit cos it doesn't have all those garters at the waist. Assuming that's more comfy for sleep

snow74,
day time can skip lah but sleep time must wear loh. hopefully, later won't have pain again.

krex78,
i think for medela must buy the high end like pis then is good.

m2b,
i was also thinking of giving scotts cod liver fish oil to yu ze too leh. can give now is it.

briebaby,
i wonder how he do it.

briebaby,
is the py he is wearing a bit loose? maybe he turn and toss and pull and then finally got the py out of him? but cannot think how he got off the pants lor...

celyn,
ask me about medela pump lah. i very well versed in the different model leh, after having used the same brand for the 3 kids... heh heh heh... i used the single pump, the swing, the classic pump-in-style, the pump-in-style advance pump, even the newest model, freestyle. I'm using the PISA and the Freestyle now. The service centre's service is very good.