(2008/08) Aug 2008

Rona

Yeah! heard from my fishmonger, these few days no threadfins... so the price are very rocket high lor..

History

Yes, meesua got salt lor, that's why kids love it.. one alternative is to blanch it with plain boiling water before putting into your soup. Actually, some older generations like to give baby soy sauce in their food. Think that is more sodium as compared to what is in the meesua. I use the Amoy brand (pink box)

Lots of things also got salt.. any form of pasta have salt. In fact, certain cheese got more den meesua.

Krex - Teaching bb to suck from straw
Not sure if you had read my post about how we taught our boy to suck from a straw a couple of months back?

If not..

What we did was we used a normal transparent straw and vacuumed filled it using the thumb at the top. Then place the other end of the straw into bb's mouth and slowly release thumb so that water flows into bb's mouth. This is to get bb used to water coming out from straw.

Then after a few tries, instead of releasing it slowly and completely.. you release, then stop.. and repeat.

After which, bb will somehow figure out that they must suck to get the water out and you'll be able to tell when they are sucking.

Well, this was what we did

Hope it helps.

Celyn
Hee.. YZ eats very well.. and his menu sounds really good and balanced
What sort of mushrooms do you give?

Love the photos, btw!

Hisstory
I've not tried watercress yet.. maybe I should soon. As for broccoli, my boy actually enjoys munching on the steamed ones whenever I steam them for lunch!! Haha.. Occasionally I add a floret of broccoli to his porridge. But mostly it's spinach, pumpkin, sweet potato, sweet corn, carrots, peas. I try to give loads of vege to him as well.. so that he'll learn to love it as much as his mommy does!

Vern
So you chop your beef using the traditional knife method? That takes quite a few minutes, doesn't it? Maybe can buy the ribeye (whole).. then get them (that is if you buy from supermarket) to mince it for you? Will that be easier? Hee..

Mrs Teng
Your menu for the girls sounds really yummy too!! I'd like to try and intro mee sua too. I think Timmin uses the Jap soba? (Timmin.. correct me if I'm wrong). I think that one doesn't have any salt.. or something like that.

wendy,
thanks. i use the shitaki mushroom (not sure about spelling). i give him different kinds of vege, not everytime brocoli. he had califlower, celery, tomato, sweet potato, mushroom, brocoli, carrot, pumpkin, spinach, sweetcorn, aspareus (wrong spelling), potato, lao huang gua, winter melon. for me, i give lots of vege cos i want him to love them and not like mummy. mummy don't take vege. hahah....

Hisstory,
Holland V - about 2 bus stops away. But i will go to clementi mkt to get my fish, more used to the aunty, and if i'm late like 10am, no fish left. yeh, more expensive on weekends. I also go to Bedok markets and recently rochor rd temp market. the other day i managed to get very good and fresh threadfin at rochor rd market at a steal at only $30 per kg!!! Bedok market is selling around $40-50 per kg. the peak was about $70 per kg. told my mum don't eat if more more than $50 per kg.

timmin,
i used your method and gave J the pasta star with cream (cheese&butter) sauce with lotus root soup. good results. but you know what? but when i was feeding J, i realized that i forgot to add vege?? aiyoh, i only remember the soup (what we are having minus the salt) and the fish... this mummy gunndo!

Ceyln,
very good fotos! very good! i think dp adds more props huh? still need to bring J for his foto shoot, have not used up the one we bot 2 months ago? did you receive the group foto already?

wendy
heehee....
i tink it still has a lil' salt. but the lady in e mkt told me that it has less salt. and i boil it and rinse it b4 serving.

rona
great that J loves the cream sauce!!
hee...nevermind lah...1 meal only. :D add more in the next meal. haha...
E likes the cream sauce too. but whenever he eats it, he'll take longer. i tink more je lak.

celyn
oh mushrooms!!! i forgot all abt intro-ing mushrooms! thanks for the reminder!

rona,
yah, they got new props. i also have that one. we need to go by end of august. i think yu ze use all their props liao. don't know what else to use for the next one.

Been reading all the posts but never really post. Really bz and knocked out the past week. Had to attend course plus prepare the materials for the course assessment. Damn shag...

Anybody noticed if your baby has started screaming? Yday brought Chevelle to NTUC, then she kept screaming away for no real reason. Today the whole day at home also like that. As if she wanted to exercise her vocal cords or show her temper.

Also noticed she will cry whenever she sees me going out from the door. Instead of saying bye bye she will weh... Duno isit she starting to show separation anxiety.

RE: Polliwogs
Hope u all enjoyed yourselves. Sorry couldn't make it as my girl was super cranky. Think her bottom teeth, the 7th one is gona sprout. Been so cranky the past 2 days.

celyn,
the shots are great! Looks like YZ grew up abit.. his look changed. Which reminds me I'm bringing Chevelle for her shoot w dphotofolio tat we signed up w Ruixuan.

krex,
As for teaching my girl how to drink from straw, we just keep letting her practise. Initially she will bite the straw for fun but slowly she managed to get the hang of it, I think especially when I let her drink from a packet of milo. You can buy from supermarkets those small packs of milo (meant for kids) to let Jonah try.

Not sure if it helps but u can "demo" to BabyJ by sucking from the straw yourself first then tell him why don't he follow u? Think babies learn by imitating the adults. Then make the sucking noise and motion but rounding up your mouth and encourage him to follow. That's how I managed to get Chevelle to drink from the straw.

Now I put the Magmag cup in front of her and she will drink from the straw

RE: food
I've not been preparing the porridge for my girl but so far, think my mum told me she gave her 8 types of food in the porridge: 2 types of fish??, potato, carrot, broccoli, spinach, 1 type of meat (either pork or chicken), tofu.

Duno if it's overdose of food for her... eh heh...

Was thinking of venturing into macaroni for her but me still too lazy to do it...

faeriekim,
Maybe you should ask your nanny how she feeds SY during mealtimes?

Cos for my girl, we will switch on the Baby Einstein DVD or I can Read DVD then she will guai guai eat. If I let her watch the programs on Playhouse Disney, after a while she will make noise so still gota let her watch those DVDs. Think she got used to them already.

I knw its a bad habit but at least for now, better than nothing.

The weird part is, when we're out and she's hungry, she can eat very fast even without any DVDs playing heh heh...

the PS got alot of emotion from SL .. watch liao, can laugh (<font color="ff0000">One hand push up for the above last pic</font>)

Baby Name: Kai
Was pacifier introduced? Yes
1) What age? Birth
2) How was bb weaned? Not yet
1) How was bb pacified? Needs paci only before sleeping. Normal time I dun give.
2) Did bb suck thumb? Nope. He sucks his T-shirt, buttons on my clothes .... how? change clothes lor.

I trained Kai to only take paci when he sleeping so he knows once he wakes up, or he is not sleeping he dun get his paci. For my #1, I had to take some time to wean him off the day time as he is more addicted to paci than Kai. So train him to stop for the day and only use at nite, then eventually wean off for the nite. My ex-maid took 3 days then GAO DIM liao
(depends on babies).By then he oredi quite big.

Celyn,
YZ really has lots of expressions ... emo boy ;)

Ruixuan,
SL looks vv relax and vv experienced in photoshoots.

sorry if I have no response ah, i vv busy, hardly have time to log on.
Only recently we changed #1's sleeping time to 8pm, then i have more time to clear all my backlogs on home stuff, work,etc.

Kai
He is still not eating solids well. Most babies oredi on solids and eating varieties of food. He vv slow in eating, now more interested in bread. Trying to ask my helper to let him try out more stuff. She best, tat day fed him steam egg ,... then says he likes it.

I told her egg white still cannot. 1 yr old then can or was it 9 months?

Sylvia,
Recently Mothercare had 50% sale for a few days. Initially was for VIP members, then after that it was for DBS VISA card holder. I spent a bomb cos i got no time to shop .... 50% off ... quite good deal wor. Dun ask me how much ... haha.

I bought some matching sets for #1 and Kai ... quite cute lor. Thinking of using them for their next photoshoot .... but I din know that my #1 vv choosy about what he wears .. sometimes dun wan to wear the ones i choose ... so have to wait for him to choose then let Kai wear the same one.

They are prob having further discount but may have limited sizes by then.

Shint, celyn
i also duno he got so many expressions until i just viewed... haha

the main purpose for thsi PS is to help little Charmaine

Shint,

How are you? Havent heard from u a long time.

Ruixuan,
SL really knows how to pose yah... Cute..

Celyn,
Not to worry. We will meet next at Birthday Bash. We will arrange more gatherings..

ruixuan,
yah yah, i agree. charmaine had got her $500k liao but i believer she needs more than this amount. must help and give her hope.

shint,
hahah.... character. i think got more temper leh.

celyn/ ruixuan,

very nice pics! u got them instantly? i went for sean lau one on sat but jonah wasn't very cooperative. he looked suspicious and then became a bit cranky. i think it's either becoz of the lighting or unfamiliar environment. dunno how the photos will turn out but i think it's quite clear we won't be needing the soft copy for all the pics. can find 6 good pics for the 5R and 8R can already, heehee.

shint,

how did your maid train #1 to wean off paci? jonah uses it during sleep time only, i.e. nap and at night. and of coz, in the car, else he will be screaming when he's tired and cranky. now he got another bad habit which is to hold ppl's hand b4 he can sleep. we're trying to wean him off that first, then tackle the pacifier.

April,
ya lor .. me super busy. Hope to be more free in Sep then can organise gatherings. hee.

krex,
give him a toy hand? hahha.
To wean off my #1 ... i just told her, let him cry .. then after 3 days, she told me wean off liao . hhaaa. i din expect so fast.
For Kai, we haven't started yet. maybe when he is 1 yr old?

<font color="#CD3278">Mrs Teng</font>
Okieokie, will look out for tt brand of mee sua
I haven't given Ashley cheese yet, trying to keep things as bland as possible.

Where to get coucous?

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Somen sounds like a gd alternative.. Fr Cold Storage? Does NTUC stock it too?

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
U're already more adventurous than I am with veg.. Maybe I'm influencing Ashley's palette with my preference/dislikes.. hehheh, not a fan of peas &amp; mushrooms, dunno how i'm going to intro to her man..

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
Gdness!! You even head all the way to Bedok &amp; Rochor road! How do u do tt considering u've got 3 kiddos, even if they aren't with u.. Wow!!!

Wow ! Finally the topic is about food ! This topic seems more close to heart for now...

Shint,
Adel also eats whole egg already. I din even know got age limit. Just fed him when he was about 9 mths.

Eating solids,
Adel eats every vege but doesn't seem to like carrots very much. He is also eating shredded chedder mixed in mashed puree. I dun have time, so I cook in batches and freeze. Then at night when I return, will just steam the fish / meat on top of the vege and mix. Luckily he is not very fussy with food. Plain porridge also eat until very shiok.

Celyn/ RX,
Nice pics. So anymore photoshoots for charity?

Val,
You should try macaroni ! I give the pasta stars and the bellamy organic marcaroni. Very easy, I just boil it, and then mix in the cheese while the macaroni is still hot. I dun add better and cream. Too lazy to make ! LOL ! Like that adel also can eat leh. I also add in my puree vegetable.

val,
ur gal is progressing fast n well! i oso put many funny types of stuff in my porridge. i guess i gotta stand beside the nanny when she cooks the porridge early in the morning juz to get the same taste! i'll try to switch on some tv for her or something to try to distract her.

straws oredi? gosh... i haven't started training her. one thing at a time.

shint,
u eh sai lei. i know u've always been a fan of mothercare. i rem ur last 'spree' there as well. lol.

celyn, ruixuan,
the ps for the boys turned out really well. all the best to feistycharmaine!

rona after positioning breastshields I'll clip back the bra flaps so it holds the shields in place. Once you turn on the pump the suction will also help keep it in position. Surprisingly simple but quite effective method.

Krex I also thought it looks very cheem at the beginning but after trying it out it's actually quite easy. A bit like hanging a christmas decoration on a tree. Only this time the decoration is your breast shield and the tree is your bra clasp!! LOL

val if 8 types of food in porridge is overdose??? Then I've certainly been doubly overdosing D! Just now I made him vegetable curry and it had at least fourteen types of ingredients! Ha! Ha! :p

morning mummies

faeriekim,
thanks. yah, all the best to charmaine. a small contribution to help her loh.

happy mummy,
i think they still have some slots on weekday if you can make it.

krex78,
yes, got it on the spot cos we pay for all. i think you will still like most of them even though jonah didn't smile. some not simling photo can turn out well too. also we mummy will never be sick of seeing our own baby. hehehe....

Krex,
Okay, your entry confirmed that you were the one I saw at Seah ‘s home on Saturday. I was there to collect my boy’s photos. Ring a bell?
Haha…baby jonas also had the same habit of holding our hands when he is sleeping…but we managed to wean off by letting him hold his bedtime bear..initially he will push away the bear and try to find our hands but it works after sometime. U can try this method and see if it works? Same as jonah, he also needs the pacificer (his best friend or drugs) to sleep!

Shint,
How are you? havent heard from you for quite a while!

Rona, hisstory,
Wow…you all bought threadfins by KG ah? I usually get 2 small small pcs for the whole week…perhaps my boy is a small eater!

Celylnee, ruixuan,
Cute pictures!

morning mummies. My baby birthday next month. Im searching for a good birthday ideas or venues. Probably not those gymboree or gogo bambini type. Anyone can give me some ideas? Where to get a good birthday cake? I like the fondant type. My girl likes Finding Nemo. Oh ya, if can get someone to do up decorations then will be great!

Cely / Rui Xuan

Both BB boys are adorable &amp; handsome, they know how to pose liao..... Nice shots!

Mrs Teng
Think only my gal don't like mee sua &amp; biscuit, she keep spit out... don't know why.... may be don't like texture food. She only like porridge, some-more must watery &amp; nua nua type. She got 8 teeth le...

History

You can get couscous from cold storage, but I got mine from Giant, they got more varities and Organic ones too! Jason's market also have lots more.

Mel_ocean

It's always the case, Clara has 7 and she dun quite like textured, but Cheril only has 2 and she's the one who wants to munch her food. I surrender.

Back den, C &amp; C were both on blended food most of the time, tried introducing texture.. both will refuse to eat lor. Then one fine day (day after their Lunar Calendar birthday), they totally dun want my porridge. I thot bcos they were teething, but after a few days of trying.. still the same.. So I introduced textured and they love it. Now, give them textured but use plain blended porridge as a watery base for their textured, like couscous or meat sauce.

Dun worry your gal will slowly progress to textured ones, just be prepared for the sudden change.

Mrs Teng

Hopefully she slowly will accept foods beside porridge...

Planning send her to playgroup whole day when she turn 18mths, by hten if she still don't like drink or eat food, how to send her to playgroup?