(2008/08) Aug 2008

thanks cat.
need to cheong NTUC after work.

Good Morning Mommies!

Snow,
Yes, staff can use the gym during lunch or off office hrs…got steam room too but I never use 1…just do my regular exercise, bathe and get back to work liao.

Fitbaby,
Hope Trudy gets well soon…know how panicky you and hb must be…speedy recovery to Trudy!

Hashisan,
Haha, you know hor during CNY, my hb’s uncle actually said this when he saw Mae:
Uncle : Boy ah?
Me : Nope, gal.
Uncle : Hah, how come both gals?
Me : …….

You can bring Ryo for an assessment 1st and then decide whether you wana send him there. Both my nephews graduated from there and Raine too…I still have 4 friends kids attending diff branches now and all say good lor…heehee

I bought Dr Seuss’s books for Raine before but not sure abt the prices now coz bought during Raine’s time…now I go library borrow books more coz no space to store books and toys liao…heehee

Oh, Raine started ICR at 4 yo…can start from 3yo liao but maybe diff level 1st.

Giraffe,
Haha, my #1 got her 1st teeth before 4mths too but now Mae oso still no sign…(Oops, Vone…here I go again) BUT we still love them as much right? Heehee

Because the normal stencils too think so I used cardboard to make thick stencils for my word cards…hahaha…poor me, threw away the cards liao coz only wana give birth to 1 mah…never mind coz Mae not interested in words cards leh, she likes pictures.

Sylvia,
Haha, both my gals also got hidden eyelids like Mommy! =P

hfgaga,
I also give Karihome goat's milk to my son. He's taking the follow on 7-12mths. I was tbf him till 7 mths when i intro formula milk. I find karihome very good,n dun have much problem getting use for him.

U can also call their head office for sample from them,u can either pick up at their office at Peace centre or they deliver to u w a charge of $12.

Catherine,
Yea..cordecye is very good for to build up their respiratory. Any recipe to cook cordecyd with porridge? Hope Bernice recover fully!

arrgghhh my mom is irritating me !!! keep making noise that morning why i dont read to her. wah lau.. morning read afternoon read night read then might as well we move and be librarian cum security guard at the library. she drop my camera then blame me for putting on the table. wah lau then what sling over my neck all the time. and my mom voice is those super loud type. fedup.. wake up so early already very pek chek.. then she still nag nag nag...

my mom is chinese speaking and she keep saying must ask my aunt to come live with us cos she is english speaking cos she want her to speak english to bernice.. wah lau .. we every day speaking tamil is it ?!!!! AAARRRGGHHHHH

ok much better now .. sigh .. breathe in breathe out ...

fairybees
add the cordycep into the stock ie chicken/pork then use it for the porridge. not sure about keeping overnight cos usually i make fresh and cook i dont freeze them

hi catherine - actually u shld tell ur mum good that she speaks chinese to bb cos nowadays children fare v badly in chinese. next time ur mum nag take it as she sing song...or wear ear plugs..but as she is ur mum u can always tell her off and she will be ok cos u r still her daughter afterall...if it is MIL...that is diff story

Catherine

I also cannot resize pic with macbook, no matter how much I crop.. haizzz... But I must say it's very fast in uploading n web surfing lor..

Krex

Jonah is sooooo cute!!!!

Brie

Whatever you have cooked for your baby is still an effort, I'm not underminding you by uploading the pics of porridge I prepared.. The main idea is to share with mommies my ways of preparation and maybe you can be inspired to prepare even more better porridge den mine.

Happy_mummy

Not sure about April's HB, but yes! I'm a PURE hainanese.. Of cos, next question you probably be asking if I know how to make Chicken Rice... And Yes! I do...

Vone

Did you just gave you kids Cod fish by itself? Maybe you can add some veggie to reduce the smell lor.. Russet potato or spinach also can..

RE: Lunch for the day ~ Pork, Swee peas (skinned), Sweet corn (skinned) , carrot and Ikan bilis brown n white rice mixed porridge.

Carrot n Sweet corn are fresh.. only sweet peas are frozen...

2356872.jpg

Of cos, I'll blend it for my gals, dun want them to choke...

brie,
did u try Healthy Times cereal? My ger aso dun like solids v muchie, except for HT cereals. I tried the leftovers & find it pretty sweet. Maybe tats why. She will gag whenever we feed her porridge. Haiz...

catherine
Hei yr mum speaks chinese to your dotter also good u know..coz my son is totally english..so when i go over to my parents in law house..every weekend,they get frustrated coz my son always act blur on malay language.my parents and me..we speak english..but i survived my malay language in school..hehheheh...but hmm
I think now raiyn have diff in malay language..he understand when we talk in malay but he will reply us in english..haiz..

hi Mrs Teng, i cant wait for my boy to go thru the food allergy test for the various food and cook porridge like urs!! Keep the pics coming..hee hee so i can have a reference when i tell my mum and mil on what to cook (they think i so smart, dun know i "steal" ideas from u

Giraffe,
My boy refused to latch on now. When I offered my bxxxx to him, he will look at me cheekly, smiled then turned his face away. Even though he is very hungry, he will refuse to latch on. When I bring the bottle to him, he will quickly finish his milk
I wondered if he 'dong shi' le... started to feel pai say already?!?

nini,
happy belated birthday!

yes my mom speaks chinese to her and some english too.. but dono why she always say must ask my aunt live with us so she can speak english to bernice.. wah lau ..

tweety
wah ... my girl is opposite.. refuse the bottle.. as thou i take a bottle of poison give her.. twist and turn and scream.. give her breast only she happily will latch on

2356962.jpg

ahh finally manage to shrink it.

this is the pic i sent to brie ask her to show isaac. tell him that bernice ask him what he wants to eat ?
hahaha (took the pic at ikea yesterday)

mrs teng
the mac driving me nuts. finally i used this link www.shrinkpictures.com to shrink the pic, then after that i realize it cant copy and paste. so i had to email the pic to myself then save from there... ok i dont think mac is that dumb .. so i must be doing something wrong.

Catherine,
Bernice is really ur happy antidote! She look so cute like baby chef!...

Even she sit there not smiling, I sit here smiling just seeing her! She's so dolly!

Hugz..my mum also nag alot too,lucky it's my mum n not my mil cos it will be different.Thank God tat my mil is a sweet lady!

Cat,

cool down!!

Think older gen always think the moon outside is more round than the one at home.

Meredith same like bernice. Only happily latch on. Bottle will mean neck flooded with water as all or almost will flow out of the mouth. I thinking how to wean off like that leh......

M2B,

Oh.. I correct myself...... mine is a real single eyelid.. dunno hidden or nt. I only know no matter how much glue or watever to make fake double eyelid, it will never work. Hahahaha!!

But Meredith's eyelid is hide type. fold up behind ....

u mean this rite?

yumeumi
ya lo.. and moreover now she will bite ..

fairybees,
hahaha.. thanks for the compliments. i see the pic so funny, can imagine next time she holding the utensils and screaming at her hubby.. hahaha. so quickly send to her bf isaac. hahaha

Catherine,
You apply anything on Bernice's hair? Why can her hair be so long one *envy*? My Shervalle still botak botak one le.

krex,

I brought Meredith once to library. When I flip books at her, she give me ?????? look.

At home, when I flip her book, she will snatch n shake ( coz got bell). The other one will make sound when press. She loves to press her elbow or body accidentally to make sound, then flip like she's reading it. Hard page book... she will dig the holes n bang on it.

I think toys to her, nt books loh.

Cat,

ya........ esp Meredith teething again. Think is the upper ones... she will be squeezing her gum like in a fit type. Then will sometimes bite..........

Can wear teethguard or nt ar? protect us? Hahaha!

tweety,

u still pump rite? so still getting BM in a way loh.

Ya........ totally reject to either one is no good too.

I tot intro solid food can do the trick... but she never eat more than a tablespoon. The most she ate ( 1 tablespoon) is porridge n sweet potato n spinach. She enjoy 2 days. I think she like sweet potato.

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
nuanua also gd leh.. Won't be so squirmy. Now super diff to help Ashley change diaper.. I want to get handcuffs &amp; cuff her 4 limbs down oredi

Argh.. U wait ah, i look see if i confirm want to get anot.. Hb nagging tt i shop too much for myself &amp; Ashley oredi

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
wow.. Make ur own stencils!! heheh, okieokie, i shall get pix one.. Words wld prob be too chim

<font color="#CD3278">fitbaby</font>
Gosh.. Hope little Trudy recovers real soon &amp; reverts to her bubbly self

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
Tell alot of stories!! Kids no matter what age love to hear stories, esp coz they are so kuku &amp; are only concerned abt celebs stuff

Nope, hb says he can't imagine himself teaching.. Though he did a short stint of relief teaching

Ur hb's a 'cher too right?

<font color="#CD3278">Catherine</font>
wah.. Calm down, heheh, ur mum woke up on the wrong side of the bed today ah?

Nvm, u know u're doing things right, can oredi.. I've learnt to listen with 1 ear in &amp; out..

<font color="#CD3278">Sam</font>
My gynae's at Mt A.. Dr Wen Lim
She's a little aloof though.. May or may not go back to her. Who's ur gynae?

I rem coming across another well-reviewed gynae based in Mt A, but can't rem the name

rona
bernice medication list

Rhinathiol - cough
Zyrtec - allergy &amp; running noise
Augmentin - anti biotics
Otrivin - blocked nose
Zenmolin - open airway and phlegmy cough (replace the nebulizer)

MORNING mommies!!!

<font color="0000ff">hashisan</font>,
is the katuk leaf tablet very good to increase ss? where can i get it in sin?
and tks for the wonderful verses. very good indeed..

<font color="0000ff">sylvia</font>,
ya.. i spent like 300+ lor.. and pocket got a big hole after that!!! but the books are so worth the money.. at least my gals can use them for good. maybe even for my grandchildren. haha.. muz think far to make my #$$ super worth.. kekeke...

<font color="0000ff">brie</font>,
how do we know that their gums is receding?

<font color="0000ff">kym kym</font>,
wow.. i'm interested but not sure if i can make it for your time slot.. will email you.. very very nice pics!!!

<font color="0000ff">catherine</font>,
oh.. which one is her? i know there's a younger baby there.. is she the one? her mommy always carry her in a baby carrier to the centre..
yup, i'm in your fb list liao.. hehe.. you are the first one!

hmm, i wonder if anna is also taking the same med as bernice. i've stopped cos i don wan her dependent on medication. so we suck out her mucus as much as we need to.
the Dr Terence Tan at KinderClinic (MT A) is very good lei.. ashley was down with fever for almost a week and 3 doc we went to couldn't diagnose her condition but Dr Tan did it immediately!!! and wow, ashley recovered within 2 days then! if you want peace of mind, maybe you can try him? bit far for you thou..

bernice is sooo cute on that ikea table!!! ai yo.. my heart melts everything i see her pic.

<font color="0000ff">rona</font>,
how long are you on leave for? ha, ya lor.. miss all your posts.. i always giggle away whenever i read your posts to <font color="0000ff">mrs teng</font>. haha..so late and you still awake at 1am!!!
wow, you and <font color="0000ff">snow</font> go to the same gym?

oh.. ashley also want to have more happy time cos meimei is there with me in the room but she's in another room, as i realised too. i also need ashley-time but i dunno how to squeeze it out. everyday is a mad rush for me. ai yo.. it's such a big task for me. tougher for you cos you need to spend individual time with #1, #2 and #3!!!
wow, not bad lei you.. i dint do anything to build ashley's phonics then. hehe.. all were done in school but i'm real thankful to the schools for helping with her eng and chinese spelling. helped alot now that she's in P1.

<font color="0000ff">yuuri</font>,
ya, <font color="0000ff">rata</font> did liao. where is it?

<font color="ff0000">kohl spree</font>,
who's doing the spree???

<font color="0000ff">ladyl</font>,
oh no, 40 degree is very high. is she better now? i pray that she'll get well soon.

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>,
haha.. LOL when i read that jonah always pooed when in car seat. this is so funny.. then you all must pinch your noses when he does that? hehe..
ya, i also like seeing anna play and finger around her toys.. esp when i noticed she likes particular colours and spirals!
jonah is so cute. and you guys bring him to the lib! so good.. he wont make loud noise?

<font color="0000ff">hfgaga</font>,
i also work from 8.30am to 6pm. very long hours and endless work (no joy), more endless work (with joy) at home. haha..

<font color="0000ff">m2b</font>,
you actually gave me an idea to make stencils for my #1. hmm, shall think about it.

<font color="0000ff">tweety</font>,
hehe.. your boy "dong shi" le.. then you pump out for him?

Brie

I know that feeding time may seemed like a chore instead of an enjoyment to you. I'm still going thru that at times.. Cheril sometimes only take about 4 tablespoon of the porridge n sometimes she takes up to 10 tablespoon.. It all depends on what I cooked.. She's only in the 10 percentile, so Issac is a better performer den her.. It's the frustration on him not eating that makes you frustrated..

I know you've tried different food, different methods but have you done it 3 or 4 days in a roll for each variety or method?
Overwhelming him with different varieties everyday may not be an option for now... He's probably still figuring out the different taste.. Do it 3 days in a roll (for eg, lunch) Restart everything if you have to..

Start with just the Cereal that he likes for 3 days in a roll,
Den add one puree, for 3 days.. He'll either like it or hates it but dun rush into changing another type of food. Patience!! Take note of what he likes..(you can't tell by just one try) Den you mix the different veggie as you go along.

Did you give him any milk feed prior to solid? If yes, that could be the reason why he doesn't want to eat.. Have an interval of 2 hours prior to solid, den give him the food.. When he's hungry, he'll take it.. And if he refuses, top up with his favourite cereal or milk.. Don't force him, you'll only make him hates solid and also stressing yourself up. And he may even accustom feeding episode as a form of torturous battle between the 2 of you. If that's the case, you can check with your PD if you can just skip solid for 2 to 3 days (totally milk only), so as to make him forget about the bad feeding episode first before re-introducing solid again..

Hope all these will work for him.

Ladyl

Yes, I pureed my porridge after the cooking process, bcos :

1) my elder gal hates textured food, she may even throw up.

2) Both gals's milk intake is very low, so to speed up the digesting process, I got to blend it for easy digestion. That way, I can still add one milk feed for the day.

3) my elder gal's digestive system still not too good, always get gas if she couldn't digest her feed properly.. End up crying to sleep every nite lor..

Sylvia,
Haha, I think my gals’ eyelids and Meredith’s shd be the same…at least I’m glad both gals’ eyes not small although no double eyelids…heehee

Hisstory,
Hehe, last time Raine prefers words to pictures leh so Mae opp…that’s why mommy oso save the trouble to make own flashcards (or m I making excuses for my laziness??)…

Giraffe,
Hehe, if you have the time can do it...my #1 likes the flashcards I did for her so much...my family and friends commented I'm so hardworking last time! hehe

hisstory,
my gynae yong von pin. he ever kenna sue for molest just b4 i deliver, but i never encounter any bad incidents wif him. so heng lah... ur gynae aloof? then better dun go back... hee

i want those gynae really go by appt de leh, dun wanna wait &amp; wait despite making appts... hee

re: digital weight machine

anyone knows where to get one? watz the costs like? wanna get one to accurately weigh my ah ger... hee

giraffe,
i think thats the one. i'm not very sure how she goes there. but she told me she bought a new carrier. she's quite a slim lady, long hair. and the baby is quite chubby i was told cos havent seen her much. ya my other niece sees dr Terrence tan. but was told his queue also very long. but out of the way for me.

<font color="#CD3278">Sam</font>
She's gd in her stuff but aloof though. Got abit of mood swings actually, sometimes very frenly sometimes otherwise.. But she goes by appt, usually i dun wait more than 10-15min. Only once did i have to wait 30min

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Alamak.. u Cannot be lazy lah! U still read to Mae every night leh..

<font color="DB4C30">Sam</font>
The cereal brands I've tried so far, Bellamy's, HT, Earth's Best, Nestle, Si Shen Powder. I can't get Happy Bellies yet, but so disheartened ald, have this feeling he won't like it anyways, only waste if I buy. HB asked me to not buy cereals anymore. Nestle sooo sweet also he don't want.

<font color="DB4C30">Mrs Teng</font>
I'm not saying your photos undermine my cooking ar. It's a form of encouragement for me to cook also, so pls don't stop posting. Rgding the introduction, all the cereals, 1st day he'll take. 2nd day he already will refuse, cannot reach the 3 day intro. Even rotate the brands oso he won't take - always like trying my luck. I resort to adding a little bit into porridge, into milk to trick him into eating cos if throw v wasted. Oh, my dog is very happy tho... cos she gets what he refuses sometimes. Haha.

Mrs Teng &amp; vanillaPod, Preemies are known to be smaller right, so I think cannot compare. Isaac is considered term bb leh. I'm sure you ladies have a different set of worrying - jia you! Sigh... motherhood...

<font color="DB4C30">girrafe</font>
HB told me the gum where the teeth emerge is receeding, looks like an ulcer but straight line instead of round. From the teeth cutting lor...ouch

Sylvia, giraffe,
Yah, i pumped 3x/day. Going to reduce 2x/day and prob wean him at 1 yr old. I'm going to bring Javier to China in Sep when he is exactly 13 mths old. Dun think I can pump so diligently when I'm there.

brie,
dun be disheartened. our bbs are big enuff to know what they want. my yumin aso small eater, dun like milk too much, dun take well to semi solids... sometimes i aso at a loss...

Motherhood; it puts us on the top of this world &amp; yet it drives us crazy...

giraffe
oh my cousin complain say the centre abit Chinese oriented so she thinking once my niece can go childcare she wants to put Her in one that speaks more English. Do u notice that ??

snow,
i want to order ON too... wait for me ah...

cat,
Bernice pic is so cute... she sure look like a good cook like daddy

my mother also like to compare bb with my neighbour who has a early jul bb... every late afternoon, they will gather at the pool area to kpo with each other...

tweety,
i seldom latch cayla except weekend morning when i sleep late... last sat, i had to "kiap" her head with my arms &amp; forced her to drink but failed &amp; she just wriggle herself up &amp; sit up to look at me... sunday, she latch on for 5 mins &amp; refused again... this week, im down to 2 pumps a day &amp; may want to wean her in a few days time when she reach 9 months... see how la...

hisstory,
i lol when i read that you want to handcuff ashley... i started cayla with pull up pants when go gaigai cos she it's impossible to change her outside &amp; she like to lick &amp; touch everywhere so gotto change quickly...

briebaby,
i started cayla with porridge + ngor he this week... think she dont like fish (like mummy) that she cried and pui out most of the porridge... so messy that got to bathe after food everytime... hang on there...

<font color="DB4C30">dongle</font>
I made ngor-he porridge today too. I a bit desperate today, added a tiny amount of bovril inside. He quite good today, probably becos it's 4hrs since his last milk. No cereal in the morning. We're both still in good moods. The feeling is good becos that's all the feeding for today!! We can enjoy kindermusik later.

Cat
Aah, the hk bag sooo cute!!
She carries it to JG? i tink can oni put 1 diaper + 1 bottle of milk the most..heheh..

Kym Kym
Scarlett is such a lovely name!!
And u like Ooi clothes?

Btw the red polka dot dress, wat size is Scarlett wearing? I'm tinking of getting it too.

cat
Benice is ssssooo cute ..hehheh nice pic man!!
Hehhehhe

Mummygiraffe
U are riteee!at home is a lot better work with joy..hehhehe...

Yeah gonna have lunch!hungryyyyy

Happy Mum
Good to know dat Adel has recoverd!

It's been a week since Char fell sick and she's still not well yet..

Dunno issit becos both hb &amp; i are sick so hindering her recovery process..

Hashisan
Have you ordered ur gymboree?
Jxmum has jus opened another spree, but no 20% discount:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2354790.html?1239848379

Cat
It's good for Bernice to be bilingual mah..
at least next time she won't speak mandarin in a farni accent.. :p

briebaby,
ic. i tink u hv tried ur best oledi. so dun b so hard on urself okie. take a break 4 d time being. njoy ur time wif isaac instead. then try again 2 wks later. who noes, by then, he wld take 2 solids again.

catherine,
dun b bothered abt wat other ppl say. comparison is inevitable coz they r so close in age. jus 1 ear in 1 ear out okie...

fitbaby,
poor trudy... i hope tat she gets well soon.

hashisan,
$90 for 20 bks incl courier is cheap. i can't comment abt it as my son dun really like it. he prefers bks wif cars, trucks, etc.

mrs teng,
ya, i gave cod fish by itself. hmm... now tat u mentioned it, okie, i wld try cod fish wif some other food. tks a lot 4 d tip.

Vone

Oh! and dun forget to just use a small piece of the cod fish. that will make it less fishy.. For me, I normally use the 1 1/4 inches by 1 1/4 inches cube of cod fish for 2 gals.. Put a small slice of ginger if you want. (very thin slice)