(2008/08) Aug 2008

vone, what made you TBF your girl? btw, are u pumping at work already? i'm thinking of expressing at work but latching on at night, but worried it might upset my boy's schedule. i will be around for his 8pm, 12am and 4am feed. is it possible to train him to feed at 8pm, 11pm and 5am? i dunno if i can tahan waking up to feed on dd at night, but i find it rather silly to be furiously pumping at 8pm and 11pm while my hb gets to enjoy feeding him

huichin
heheh, paiseh lah.. If i am garang enough, i wld try handle her alone. I've got the sling, it's when she's fussy tt i'm worried abt..

what do u have in ur bag? i pack my nursing cover & diapers/change in my diaper bag

ruixuan
My diaper bag
3 diapers
1 change
1 travel size wet wipes
1 packet of tissue
(all the above in a diaper changing pad cum organiser)
2 hankies
1 nursing cover

jo
My sis also used to bring a bottle of the hot water.. But we realised tt when at malls, u can actually ask for hot water fr fast food outlets/restaurants & they are very willing to provide.

dongle
hahah, can u imagine, we actually did carry the bottles as hand luggage then? Nw i think back, it's quite hilarious!

If bringing back fragile items, i try to grab newspapers to wrap up the items.. If not so heartache to have them damaged & kena the rest of the clothes too

Aiyoh, Heathrow airport staff are quite known to be ngiao ppl.. I was carrying a small Harrods bag & then a paper bag with my LV purchase, they also restricted to 1 hand luggage *faint* Sian, so had to repack the contents of the Harrods bags into the paper bag to pass thru the customs. But after boarding the plane, i repacked into my harrods bag.. *hahah*

How to go toilet ah.. Just go lor, bo bian. *cross fingers & toes* tt bb doesn't faint!

snow
heheh, if for kids i dun mind! hahah.. She can as much noise & i think the rest make even more noise!
Was thinking of catching the upcoming Richard Gere romantic movie.. hahah

M2B
Just joking! With my ger being quite demanding at times, I really feel like stopping at 1.. So I take my hats off to those who are willing to brave the whole process yet again!

huichin: okie can.

dongle: ok, thanks very much!

Any SAHMs here? very tiring for me...but no choice, have no one to help out at all. Last time i didnt sleep enough, i will feel sooo sleepy..but now i dont know where my energy come from, tho tired but still got energy to do things for bb..hahaha.. never nap also. :p

My bag if only bring #1 out

For me, diaper bag consists of the following - be it going out long or short hour cause alway may want to go out for awhile only, end up go whole day till night unless i very confirm only go out for 1 or 2 hours then the item will reduce: -

5 diapers
1 pkt pigeon wet wipes
1 pkt pigeon hand and mouth wipe
1 cap
1 water bottle
1 set of feeding bowl
1 Foodjar (sometime(though very seldom) eat out then nv bring)
1 outfit
1 jacket
1 changing mat
3 milk bottles (depend on what time go out)
1 thermal flask of hot water
1 FM container
1 papsik sling
1 blanket
1 comb
afew extra hairclip
1 nappy cream and a small pack of cotton (standby incase nappy rash - but very very seldom)
I often bring the above along with me without any pram, and got to carry my #1 with this big bag. No maid no other help. Haha being trained liao.

My bag if only bring #2 out
For me, diaper bag consists of the following -
5 diapers
1 pkt pigeon wet wipes
1 pkt pigeon hand and mouth wipe
1 cap
2 outfit
1 jacket
1 changing mat
1 milk bottles (depend on whether I just pump milk before going out, the rest of the time outside will be latch on)
1 fridge-to-go -> to put 1 feed of EBM
1 thermal flask of hot water
1 themal container to put EBM for warming
1 FM container
1 breastfeeding bib (but usually seldom use)
1 receiving blanket
1 booties
2 hankies
2 tummy bind
1 nappy cream and a small pack of cotton (standby incase nappy rash - but very very seldom)

If bring both my #1 and #2 out, all the above i bring except
-1 pkt pigeon wet wipes
-1 pkt pigeon hand and mouth wipe
-1 changing mat
-1 hot water thermal flask
will be shared

Think so far my diaper bag is the bigger?? I abit kiasu, I rather bring more than later want to use but nv bring.

Catherine,
Mine is another one, but their legging very exp hor

Huichin,
I bought quite afew from FOX baby, think quite chap to me, $10 plus only

M2B,snow

u guys going harbour front for bb swim? let me know, i wanna go too. snow, u have my no. call me

STHM,
i'm sick of staying at home. jus complained to hubby today. every day like the "stand thru the hour glass" so is the days of my life! haha. thinking of going out but , then my maid how? the bb how? sigh. feel so trapped at home lei. think i have to start thinking wat i wanna do liao.

any sthm feel the same? or r u gals jus happy to be at home with bb?

<font color="ff0000">FURAMA HOTEL GATHERING, Tiffany Café &amp; Restaurant, 23 Oct, Thu, 12-230pm,
60 Eu Tong Sen Street – next to People’s park centre, Chinatown MRT exit D
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Total pax count </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shint</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Faeriekim</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nini</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow74</TD><TD>4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>YLN(DollPuppet?)</TD><TD>5 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celynlee</TD><TD>6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huichin</TD><TD>7 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dongle</TD><TD>8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan</TD><TD>9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ruixuan</TD><TD>10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Taken Swee and Shay's name out from the gathering as Swee is not feeling well and Shay has work commitment. Back to 10 ;)

share something funny with you all. i was out and wanted to buy a strapless wireless bra. while i'm trying out the bra, my breast leaks milk and stain the bra. milk just keep flowing that i quickly use the breast pad to hold them. its so messy and it took a while for it to stop. imagine i'm standing inside holding on to 2 breast pad to catch bm. lucky the bra size is correct if not i also don't know what to say if the sale staff ask me why is the bra wet. heheh....

my diaper bag is those small haversack like k1/k2 children used kind. i have these inside:
- 2/3 diapers (in diaper clutch)
- 1 pack of wet wipes (in diaper clutch)
- fm container
- thermal flask (i bring cos usually make milk in the car)
- 1 milk bottle with room temp water
- 1 hanky
- 1 romper

i will always change yu ze to mamy poko before going out so that it can last longer unless he poo.

Amabel's Mommy, i think u're a super Mum la! hehe...can handle so many things at one shot. Hehee...i got one big bag, one stroller and one BB aredy super heavy liao. LOL

Oh FOX BB have ah? Oh 10 bucks ok leh..okok i will go see. Heh.

krex78,

coz my gal is a premmie. my pd told me tt it's better 2 bf her instead of giving her fm. tt's y i persisted till todate.

4 my boy, d reason y i stopped is coz when i went back 2 wk (i was wking in another co previously), my supply dropped drastically coz i was v stressed at wk &amp; i had no time 2 pump. so my bf days died a natural death.

as i wk fr hm, i normally latch her on. if i gt appts, then i wld pump out d day b4 or b4 i go 4 my appts. my hb or maid wld then feed her when i m nt around.

4 me, if i were u, i wld pump out at wk &amp; latch on at nite. my reasons r, latching on wld incr my supply &amp; it can help me &amp; my kid 2 bond when i m bf her. in addition, i can aso train my gal 2 sleep thru d nite. coz bb will stopped drinking when they r full. thus, tis can aid her in sleeping 4 a longer time. my gal can nw sleep 4 at least 6 hrs b4 she wakes up 4 another feed. thus, i can get at least 6 hrs of uninterrupted sleep.

2 b honest, looking at ur schedule, u r nt getting enough rest. if tis goes on, ur supply will drop. in addition, u may start feeling resentful tat u hv 2 make all these 'sacrifices' 4 ur bb. make some adjustments okie. u shld b a happy mummy who is trying 2 spend more time wif ur boy instead of pumping all d time.

Amabel's Mommy
u sure can pack alot in the bag.. wow wow...

huichin
u r welcome

vone
i m glad tht u r TBF. plus u do latch on...

Nini, sorry how many pcs did u say per box for the pigeon disp. breast pads?

Amabel's Mommy, less than 16-20 bucks still ok la. Hehe. Thanks for the info

celyn
i also bought bra recently, must upsize the cup of bra... i dun even dare to try bra cos i scared will leak.. heehee

Dongle/hisstory, what i'll do when i bring stroller is that i will put my BB's stuff - things like bottles, hot water flask, a couple of hankies, diapers etc into my Joey Stroller tote bag and put inside my big bag, so when i open the stroller liao i will hang the tote bag at the stroller so my big bAg load will be lighten. And when i go out i need to climb a flight of stairs, after that load Falisha straight into the stroller and walk to the lift liao. Then of course when i travel out alone with BB i will take cab loh, no choice, unless i go nearby i will bring BB in carrier and take bus/MRT. Monday i 1st time brot Falisha to take MRT~! hehe... Then when i take cab with stroller, the cabbie will auto come out of the cab and load the stroller into the boot for me. Ok mah! hehe...

huichin: its 36+6 free = 42pcs..

celynlee: ur BM flow very strong hor? i seldom latch on maybe thats why BM only 1 day sufficent for my boy's intake.

nini,
i don't think so lah. just that if i don't pump at 3 hourly, it will start to leak some loh. so no matter what must put breast pad. there is once that i'm so tired, i didn't wake up to pump, end up my breast pad overflow and wet my bed. cos i'm sleeping sideway almost pressing on my breast.

ruixuan,
for me, its not to upsize. i need a strapless and wireless one if not, all my spag top can't wear leh. i want to wear them loh.

Thanks Nini. BTW i oso same as u, seldom latch on...

Tot of ordering from here as well:
http://www.***********.com/Promotions.html

Someone said she got order a box to try, who izzit ah? Gd or not?

huichin,
i did. its the same lah. only the part you stick to bra is pink colour instead of white loh.

snow74,
yah, very waste right. sometimes when my breast pad is soak through, i wish i can squeeze very drop of bm out there leh. heheh...

aurora, u take no pay leave? still get to enjoy bonus or not? or pro rated?

vone, the last time i tried latching on, bb didn't seem to do a full feed. i think he drinks more from the bottle than from my breast. but i dun mind trying (drats, shld have tried while i was on ML). do u let your bb drink from one breast or both breasts during each feed? and for how long? how to train bb to sleep longer? also, what i pump at work (2x) won't be enough for his 8am, 12pm and 4pm feed the next day. how do i resolve that? and if i can't come back by 8pm, he'll have to go on FM also. that's why i'm a bit hesitant to latch on coz' i scared he'll end up drinking FM eventually. my ss has dipped a little but so far enough to go around. i was hoping to latch him on when i go for holiday in dec. not sure if it'll work after so many months of drinking from the bottle!

huichin,
i ordered from that website too. shared with amabel's mommy n we got 7 boxes in total. the lady was v nice to meet me near my home to pass me. she stays near changi area so if u are around that area, maybe she is okay to deliver to u but u need to order more lor haha

little twin star,
thats exactly how i feel too. Though its wonderful to be able to spend time and watch Joshua grow, i also wonder "m i going to stay home for e rest of my life?" i seriously salute those ladies who give up their careers to stay home look after kids for life. Ive always thought i wanted to do that, to watch my kid grow up, to bring him up how i want him to b so no regrets next time, but nowadays i start questioning myself too n also brought it up to hb. If i do go back to workforce, i will have to engage a maid n leave bb w inlaws which i really dont want too. Cos i wont b able to impose on them how i want my bb to b taken care n brought up. Inlaws r always diff frm own parents still. Sigh. im in a huge dilema too!Keep thinking bout it recently but still no conclusion!

krex78,

tt's funny... i tot tt it shld b d other way round. at least tt's 4 my case.

4 each feed, my gal usually drink fr 1 breast for abt 10 mins.

as 4 training bb 2 sleep longer, my mtd is 2 let her drink more at d last feed. e.g. since she's drinking 4 abt 10mins, her last feed wld b 4 abt 15mins.

since u pump 2x at wk, it's definitely nt enough 4 3 feeds 1. 1 way is 2 incr ur pumping sessions while u r at wk. another way is 2 give him fm 4 1 feed. it's up 2 u okie. u r d 1 who noes wat's d best arrangement.

if u plan 2 latch him on when u r on holiday, then give it a try nw. who noes, he might jus latch on nw?

Twinstar,
there is good and bad regarding being SAHM. it depends on how u see..

Example: when i put my son for days and night care, pple will exclaimed
- no bonding
- waste money
- cant see the growth of ur child
- etc...

it still a matter of how u feels, follow what ur heart want.

jolim, i also wondered if it'll be good for me to be with my bb for another few mths or so. during my last week of ML, half of me was quite sad that my holiday with my bb had ended. but i was also getting quite bored coz' i was staying at home all this while. everyday i do the same thing and face my bb. getting so routine for me. not to say that work is exciting. in fact, i feel totally exhausted since i have to bring bb to his in laws' place everyday and i end up coming back late and waking up early. for now, i'm just looking forward to clearing my annual leave. hope my boss allows me to take 1-2 weeks leave at one shot, and not limit me to taking a few days each week! also can't wait bb to turn 6 mths so i can stop BF him :p

vone, i think i will give it a shot when i take my annual leave for about 1-2 weeks. but that would be in dec :p

i guess i never really latch him on since day 1. he started off not wanting to latch on but after he was one month, i tried again and he seems to know how to do so. but he just suck a little then later cry for milk again. maybe he was too sleepy or was just sucking for pacifying effect. i dun think i can pump 3x a day. pumping 2x already takes a lot of effort and time.

Snow &amp; Twin Stars,
I'm fine with between 12 to 1pm...I just called to make appt liao. Told the person between 12-1pm coz I scared bb naps.

Snow, you liaise and msg me ok? Bringing my hp to BKK. :p

joanne,

thanks for replying, i thot i am the only one feeling this way. yup, i feel exactly the same as you. although i do have a maid. she does mainly hsework n at times that i have no choice n need her to take care of my bb, i dun like it when i see her carrying my bb n mimicking watever i say to bb. but at least maid, i can control, mil n mom can;t like wat u say.....then i wander, bb is still so young, will she remember all these sacrifices we make for her......i can only recall frm 5yrs old onwards i think. so at times i wander if i shld let go n let others take care n step back in at 5yrs old...jus a tot. me now also thinking if i shld go back to do biz but market is not so gd now. me no conclusion too :*

ruixuan,
i want both.....so the only way is to go back to do biz so i can control my time but i am reluctant as well.........

krex/ruixuan,
mb you can try latching on while lying on the bed? i find that my gal fuss a lot if i cradle hold her, mb she not comfortable or too hot &amp; wen she moves then become unlatch then she will wail loudly... sometimes wen outside i put on nursing cover, she will perspire &amp; try to lift the nursing cover...

but wen lying on the bed, i dont need to hold her so not so hot &amp; even wen unlatch can latch on again easily...

the only con is that my gal will drink for >30mins on 1 breast &amp; will reject 2nd breast... sometimes i try to balance my nnp &amp; try to switch her over after 15mins, she will refuse cos i interrupted her &amp; end up become hungry faster... &amp; also for latching, she cries for milk after 2hr+ compares to 3hourly for ebm...

talking abt bf, i bf my gal 1 short for 1.5hrs while on the return flight from tokyo... mb the rtn flight a bit bumpy so she feel insecure or wat... think i bf her a total of 4hrs for the 7hrs flight... once i try to remove, she cries so have to quickly latch back to avoid disturbing those pple sleeping ma... i was telling my HB that he &amp; bassinet no use... 7hr flight, i carry 6 hrs, HB carry 30mins &amp; she slept 30mins inside bassinet... very xin ku but worth it la... hahaha...

re: SAHM

Twin Stars, Nini,
Yah..i'm bored too! so bored dat now i even watch the 80s/90s chinese drama on ch8!
but i muz say it's quite entertaining lah..to see how orbit their dressings are! heehee..
Actually now dat bb is still small, i can still surf the net and do my own stuff when she takes her nap. Then guai guai wait for 6.30pm for hb to come home.
My oni worry is when she is older and needs more attention from me.
Maybe datz when i'll start to scream for help.

Joanne,
Ur thots r my thots!
life is realli full of dilemmas huh..
a part of me wanna take care of bb myself, cos i dun trust nannies or mil. i tink hisstory mentioned abt sending bbs to infant care cos they are the pros, and in case anyting happens, at least there's a proper channel we can turn to and i totally agree.
then another part of me wanna work cos i wanna be financially independent and oso not lagged behind my peers who are so successful in their careers..haiz..
i suppose we cannot haf the best of both worlds huh..
so maybe when bb is abit older, i'll consider sending her to infant care and me go find a part-time job.
My bil even asked me to quickly go haf #2..raise both kids till they go primary school, then go back to workforce. He said his mom oni started building her career at 40!

Btw, do ur hbs help out everyday when he comes back from work? If he doesn't do u all get angry ar?

tdy super bz, login so many posts liao.

missysz / huichin / celyn,
haha just realised the website u ordered stuff from, is my friend's mum's sideline biz.. hee, ya she lives in the changi area, quite near my parents' place.
My friend has a daughter, coming to 2 yrs old.

reirei / little twin stars / joanne,
ya we're full of dilemmas lo. At times, when I'm going for my work appts or to office, I feel so bu she de, but then when she's so difficult to handle, I feel like getting a breather, to go shopping for all I want.
ya, sometimes u wish can just pass to somebody to take care but yet dun dare to trust that person to do a gd job.
Thank gdness for BPs and online sprees, else I will go mad too!

ruixuan,
when going out i bring

2 hanky
6 diapers
1 pkt wet wipes for buttock
1 pkt wet wipes for hand/mouth
1-2 sets of extra clothes
1 extra socks
1 changing mat
3 portion of fm
1 hot water
1 normal water