(2008/08) Aug 2008

interrace/ ruixuan/ celyn,

here's my miserable schedule:

5.15am: wake up to pump
5.45am: finish pumping (i usu try to do half an hour to get 2nd letdown)
6am: brekkie
6.30am: wash up and change
7am: leave house
7.20am: reach in laws' place
7.30am: leave for work
8.00am: reach office
10.00am: pump (takes almost 1 hour coz' cannot find room sometimes)
3.00pm: pump
6 plus: knock off (knock off time not fixed coz' sometimes must work OT)
7 plus: reach in laws place
7.30/ 8.00pm: eat dinner
8.00/ 8.30pm: pump milk
9.00/ 9.30pm: head for home
10.00pm: bathe
11.00/ 11.30pm: pump
12.30am/ 1.00am: sleep

that's how i get only 4-5 hrs of sleep. and i hardly have time to interact with my kid. so sad! even daddy gets more time to play and feed him while i go pump milk

that's why i was hoping for MIL to come over my place so it's not so rush for me everyday. and i shld prob be looking for a new job also - one that allows me to knock off on time everyday :p

oh, btw, i got most of my stuff at MIL's place. but everyday i will pack my EBM in a huge diaper bag, together with bb's CDs, feeding log book, etc. it's the hassle of waking bb up, listening to him cry and get agitated during the car ride, etc. that's putting me off.

Wow, I see all your conversation about things in nanny's place and the mad rush in the morning.

Oh my god, its gonna to be my turn too. Cos I am going back to work next month.

Anyone can i check if your current pump of breastmilk still increase by now?? Cos my is dropping and I have try pumping every 3 hours..

krex78,
i know what you mean. if baby is sleeping, i will just call baby and tell him that i'm bringing him over to babysitter's place. then just carry him, he will sleep in my arms or sometimes wake up and smile and play with me on the way. so far, if he do cry, its just a short while.

snow,
u also dont know to get the warmer or not ah. me too..haha..but i thikn just get one to try try. if dont work, get scolding from hubby lor! Many thanks.

snow, i'm also interested in the "The First Years Breastmilk Thaw & Warm Cup". hopefully is not too late to add me in.

Thanks mummies for joining Singapore MOtherhood Aug 2008.

I just find FACEBOOK is easlier to update on the pictures of our babies.

I really enjoy seeing all the cute babies.

apriltan
facebook very "open" 1 wor....everybody can see each other's contacts lor. =P

missysz
ok, lets try together.
if mission failed, let wait for scolding from hb together. =D
think when the warmer reached, we just explore and exchange on ideas of how to use?

missysz & mrsgan
come on baby, dun mind pm me...hee hee....
i need ur email to keep u gals updated on the spree.
thx. =)

april, mine seems to improve when i pump less...dunno why. if i pump every 3 hours, i dun get much but when my breasts are fuller, say every 4 or 5 hours, i get more promising results. so far, i'm at day 2 of returning to work and my supply has been quite steady. didn't really fall or drop drastically...yet.

celyn, is your nanny staying near you? walking distance? my boy really hates to get into his car seat and fusses like crazy. what a way to start the day!!! i'm thinking of latching him on when i get back coz' it's so silly to bog myslef down with pumping when i return while hb gets to feed him and play with him. in the end, bb won't even recognise mummy coz' i hardly have any interaction with him
but if i latch on, i dun think my 2 pumps in office is enough for his 8am, 12pm and 4pm feed. and if i dun make it back in time by 8pm, he will also have to drink FM. so cham!

snow, me interested in the cup too, can still make it?

april, thanks for setting up the facebook group! I've joined oredi!!

somebody once said...if pump between 2-4am..supply can increase by 40% and I think its true...

every 4 hours i pump, i get abt 120 or so..if 2-4am, I get close to 200!

btw Shint..I think I can join for lunch this thur? can still squeeze me in? paiseh

aurora,
ok... c u...

hisstory,
ok, c u... PM me if you lost that email on my hp no...

while in spore, HB joked abt bringing 1 box of honeydew back to spore... i was like, need to hand carry u know!!!

M2B,
we as parents all the same... sure feel proud when someone comment that our bb cute & beautiful... hehe...

YLN,
yup, i read that too much ridwind is no good but if cry too long also no good, maybe add only in her evening milk...

krex,
if you dont mind, u can ask yr MIL to stay over during weekdays? my mum is partially staying w me during weekdays, she goes back only wen she need to do something & on fri evening so she dont have to travel up & down, she is 60+ liao...

re: schedule when start work
i must start planning my schedule too but must wake up at 5am+ mei? i sure cannot wake up one... i was still thinking of waking up at 7am

apriltan
dunno how to play that leh...hee hee...
i dun like to be seem by friend's friends lor, me anti-social 1.

oven
dun mind pm me okie? =)

re: drugstore warmer
order closing tonite, kindly pm me asap.
i'll order tmr morning, no more ordering then.
will only reject order if over SGD$180, which is unlikely lah.
most important thing, its for aug 2008 mummies only. =P

wah so many post again today.. was out shopping at taka today.. so tired. didn't buy much. bought 3 tights from petite bateau :p 1 elle top.. and 1 pigeon hand/mouth wetwipes from japan. The sales rep said the yellow color one is made in thailand. and this pink one is made in japan. 70pcs $4.90.

interrace,
my bb drinks enfalac and the poo also greenish yellow.think its normal la

my bb also like to suck her hand i will take out and tell her mummy say no, then lightly pretend to beat her hand

dongle,
ya i wana go see cherry blossom
dono can see or not cos only open that few days,

ruixuan,
wow ur list very detailed

april,
added the facebook liao

snow,
u can dont put any contact in fb

sent u email

Hi Catherine,

Thanks I saw that you have been added.

Btw my son is also taking Enfalac and the colour is normal. Cos I have check with doctor on this too.

dongle, wah u start work at what time? even when i was pregnant, i was already getting up around 6 plus. that to me is quite decent but 5am really sucks!

my MIL won't stay with me coz:
1) she is living with my FIL and they're quite close one.
2) i got no room for her, haha. my maid has to share room with bb now. my study is too packed to fit in a bed. not nice to let her sleep on sofa also mah.

i feel it's better for her to come over coz' she's quite active in grassroots and she can leave my house once either me or hb come back. now when she wants to go out at night, must wait for all of us to come back and for me to finish pumping. end up she leave house at 9 plus, which is quite late also.

reirei,
thx for the facts!
snow, i tink it's be quite useful for u if u tink u wanna seek redress!?

YLN aka doll puppet!
my boo boo lah.. so blur, cos the PM came fm the nick 'doll puppet' but i usually call u YLN, so i 'blurly' tot u were diff person. eeks...
brought my #2 to PD for jab today n asked PD to check if gal is colicky cos oso crying every nite at same time like 'WAAAAAAAAAA'.. but she told me not colicky, however... no solution provided?

krex,
me oso have same problem lah. oso tot wanna 'mafan' granny to go over to my place instead of buying double sets of barang and having to shuttle to n fro everyday, but have to def give way to lao ren jia.

shint,
thx for the milk bag ya?

krex78,
my babysitter is about 10-15 mins drive from my place. i put him in car seat since he is born so i guess he knows that its his seat. he will fuss in the car seat if the car is not moving. once the car moves, he is ok. sometimes, i will give him pacifier loh. in most cases, he fuss only when car is not moving. hahah.... if he fuss even when car is moving, i will tell him car move liao, can't make noise ok. if mummy carry you, 'ma ta' will catch you and mummy then how? so you good boy, ok? heheh....

<font color="ff0000">Feeding survey of August babies as of 22 Oct – NOT updating anymore till 1 Nov.
Will do this as a monthly update so we can monitor their intake. Do it for 1 week then stop cos the data will be outdated if we keep adding cos the babies differ in age gap of possibly a month or so and the data gets obsolete.</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Per feed</TD><TD>Feed per day </TD><TD>Freq of feed</TD><TD>Sleep aft last feed </TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Weight</TD><TD>Birth weight </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolim</TD><TD>190 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-4 hrs</TD><TD>4-5.5 hrs</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ruixuan</TD><TD>90-100 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-4 hrs</TD><TD>6 hrs</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vern</TD><TD>70-90 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-3 hrs</TD><TD>3-4 hrs</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>shint</TD><TD>125 EBM</TD><TD>900-1000 ml</TD><TD>3-4 hrs</TD><TD>4-6 hrs</TD><TD>8 wks</TD><TD>6kg</TD><TD>3.65kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>YLN</TD><TD>170-190 EBM</TD><TD>1000 ml</TD><TD>2-3 hrs</TD><TD>9 hrs</TD><TD>12 wks</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celynlee</TD><TD>70-80 EBM</TD><TD>580-640 ml</TD><TD>3-5 hrs</TD><TD>4-6 hrs</TD><TD>10 wks</TD><TD>4.6kg @ wk9</TD><TD>3.21 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan</TD><TD>120 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>3 hrs</TD><TD>4-6 hrs</TD><TD>10 wks</TD><TD>6 kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shay</TD><TD>Latch + 150 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-3 hrs</TD><TD>4-7.5 hrs</TD><TD>10 wks</TD><TD>8 kg</TD><TD>4.205 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huichin</TD><TD>100-120 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-5 hrs</TD><TD>5-7 hrs</TD><TD>10 wks</TD><TD>5 kg @ wk 8</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happie</TD><TD>80-110 EBM + FM</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-3 hrs</TD><TD>3-5 hrs</TD><TD>10 wks</TD><TD>4.7kg @ wk 6</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hisstory</TD><TD>Latch + 80 EBM</TD><TD>650-800 ml</TD><TD>3 hrs</TD><TD>3-5 hrs</TD><TD>8 wks</TD><TD>4.45kg @ wk 6</TD><TD>3.07 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Swee</TD><TD>80-100 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>2 hrs</TD><TD>Not sure</TD><TD>7 wks</TD><TD>4.7 kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mulberry</TD><TD>Latch + 150 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.5-4 hrs</TD><TD>5-6 hrs</TD><TD>11 wks</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ling ling</TD><TD>Latch + 90-120 FM</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-4 hrs</TD><TD>3-5 hrs</TD><TD>8 wks</TD><TD>4.7 kg</TD><TD>4.105 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hashisan</TD><TD>Latch + 120 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>3 hrs</TD><TD>3-5 hrs</TD><TD>9 wks</TD><TD>6.9kg</TD><TD>2.9 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yuuri</TD><TD>150 EBM</TD><TD>600-700 ml</TD><TD>3-5 hrs</TD><TD>6-10 hrs</TD><TD>11 wks</TD><TD>5.3kg @ wk 8</TD><TD>3.5 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tweety</TD><TD>100-120ml EBM</TD><TD>700-900 ml</TD><TD>2-3 hrs</TD><TD>6-9 hrs</TD><TD>11 wks</TD><TD>5.4 @ wk 10</TD><TD>2.86 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elitemom</TD><TD>90-125 EBM</TD><TD>600-700ml</TD><TD>3-4 hrs</TD><TD>6-8 hrs</TD><TD>9 wks</TD><TD>5 kg</TD><TD>2.69 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amabel’smommy</TD><TD>Latch + 100-120 EBM</TD><TD>600-720ml</TD><TD>3 hrly</TD><TD>8 hrs</TD><TD>8 wks</TD><TD>4.6 kg</TD><TD>3.01 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wendy</TD><TD>100 -140 EBM</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.5-4 hrs</TD><TD>3-5 hrs</TD><TD>9 wks</TD><TD>6.6 kg</TD><TD>3.6 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>AprilTan</TD><TD>125ml</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-4hrs</TD><TD>4-5hrs</TD><TD>7 wks</TD><TD>6 kg</TD><TD>3.08kg </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Somebody remind me to start again la.

Megan,
You're welcome to join.

As stated, we'll share the cost amongst eg. 11 or 12 pax, preferably in even pax since it's a 1-for-1 .... else the extra one wasted. It's about $20 max each person, +- $1, depending on if one more person coming ;)

Lelong, lelong, who else wanna come? One more space!!

<font color="ff0000">FURAMA HOTEL GATHERING, Tiffany Café &amp; Restaurant, 23 Oct, Thu, 12-230pm,
60 Eu Tong Sen Street – next to People’s park centre, Chinatown MRT exit D
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>People coming</TD><TD>Buffet Pax</TD><TD>Total pax count </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shint</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Faeriekim</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nini</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow74</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>YLN(DollPuppet?)</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>5 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Swee</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celynlee</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huichin</TD><TD>Myself &amp;baby</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dongle</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shay</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Megan</TD><TD>Myself</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>11 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Just checked, the cost of the buffet is $36.25 nett(for 2 persons) just for your info.

I will pay for the bill, then after that u all can trf to me (unless more convenient for you to pay in cash - me ok) ... haha, all online ... save the collecting $$, etc. Just eat in peace.

dongle
heheh, ur hb's quite cute.. The heaviest thing we brought back was 2 bottles of drinks which we really liked while holidaying in Perth..

Oh yah, not forgetting plates &amp; bowls when we were in BKK.. *ooops* just like ur hb ;)

krex
Seems like ur MIL still quite mobile.. Then maybe u can suggest tt to ur hb? At least it sounds like u're making things work better for ur MIL too

huichin
U're bringing Falisha to the gathering ah? I was contemplating going, but of late Ashley's quite demanding.. I dun have the guts to handle her alone *haiz*

ruixuan
*envy* u &amp; hb can still go dating.. I'm missing tt so much! Hahah, if we park our ger with my ILs who just need to see &amp; carry her, and they won't need to eat or go out liao.. Otherwise can forget abt going on a date with HB..

I want to go catch a show, but thinking of having to make arrangements for my mum to take care of my ger, i get put off

hisstory
actually me and hb did a lot of consideration before getting our son a 5 days and nights nanny. got good and bad...

actually a month ago, i let my MIL handle my son, she also had a hanndful and decided to give up.. my MIL also got a lot of activities with her friends and it is not good to interrupt her lifestyle..

furthermore, i am also worried conflict arise as their upbringing of children and our method are diff. we may not like what they are doing.

most important, i also worried that when parents looking after our baby, there is no ending of complain... i also dun like when parents got last mintes request and i end up got to take leave...

ruixuan, yes i did manage to pump. i use the 1st aid room

hisstory, not too back adapting quite well. miss my gal but at least i know she is wif safe hands.

Hi Shint,

Thanks for updating...

I was keen to join the lunch but I am down with flu today. So maybe join you guys next time yah.

Anyway I have created a group on Facebook for Singapore Motherhood Aug 2008 and some mummies has joined. Thanks mummies for joining and sharing some thots there.

ruixuan
I also see the diff in getting parents to be the main caregivers coz we wld have some differences in the way we want to handle bb..

So far i'm considered the main caregiver to bb, while my mum stays with me together with my niece &amp; helps me.. Most of the time she doesn't intefere, thankfully, and i'm really thankful for the support she's rendered when my ger's really a handful

ah, parents got last min requests ah?

rata
Tt's gd to hear!! Who's looking after her?

Shint,
noticed that u posted in the wee hours and early morning! No need to sleep??? Hehee... i can wake up to feed then sleep again till 10 plus. Sleepyhead lah me... :p

celyn,
I gave bb mamax during the 1st month then changed to enfalac. Am sticking to it for now cos actually shdn't be changing FM as bb needs time to adjust. Even if u wanna change FM, u shd slowly mix the feeds, then gradually replace with the new one. Like now we give breastmilk, slowly mix more FM feeds when we wanna wean bb off bm. I also giving 1 FM every nite. This is to ensure that bb get used to drinking something else other than our bm, if not some babies might reject FM later.

Hahaaa.. ur boy same as my boy! Car stops moving will fuss! OMG! At first found it v funny.. but eveytime like tt, i told him mummy dun like, it's v irritating! :p

Re: starting semi-solids
Thanks celyn, M2B, Ruixuan, Amabel's Mommy Oh.. looks like the best time is after 6 months huh. will also check with my PD see what she suggests.

M2B,
can eat porridge so soon? How to cook? Must add meat? Cannot add seasoning right? I v scared my MIL (who is heavy on taste) will add salt or soya sauce in bb's porridge leh. Tt time confinement i ask her not to add salt n soya suace to my food but she secretly add then tell me later, say she scared i no appetite. I wanna faint.. me nvm lah, but scared affect bb's health lor...

So many praises for ur gals! Really hope can see them in person if there's going to be a gathering with babies.

krex,
ur hubby so sweet to send u pressie on 1st day of work! My hubby ar.. even if i hint directly, he will just ignore.. hurhur.. v unromantic de. Have a good talk ith ur hbby, if he's agreeable, i feel tt he'll be a better person to talk to his mother.

Reirei,
ah, tt family so jialat? The kids so kelian... but then since they survived tt kind of environment, their immunity sure v strong.

Essie,
my bb needs to be carried and rocked to sleep too. Only once in a blue moon, when he's tired, then he'll fall asleep on his own. Last 2 eeks some mommies shared some 'sleep training' methods, maybe u wanna browse the archives for details? I've read somewhere that u can start training bb to sleep on his own when he's 3 months old.

Snow,
I've PM u. Getting that warmer too! Hahaa... hope it will help me to better gauge the temp, then warming ebm won't take forever for me. :p

April,
I'll go and add too!

Re: returning to work
So many mommies returning to work liao. I took no pay leave till yr end.. but the thot of returning to work and cannot see baby makes me sad leh. Hopefully i can adapt like you all.

Re: Latex Teats
I sterilise the latex teats a few times a day. But find that the rubber smell still quite strong leh. Is it normal?

hisstory
i had seen it in my sister when my mom caring for my niece.

last minute thing e.g. my mom will love to bring baby here and there, go over my aunt's place to stay and i also can't even locate where my mom is.

another example, my mother last minute will ask my sis come home early to pick baby up (reason: she feel that she had no freedom AND out of anger) she made thing difficult for my sis. one minute late, my mother will nag nag...

another thing: she love to claimed credit over this and that.

ruixuan
ouch!! Then the choice of a nanny is a wise choice..

If my mum wasn't going to care for my ger, we wld have put my ger at infant care. Partially to avoid having a maid &amp; thereafter having our privacy invaded as well as to avoid the typical difficulties in maid-employer relationships

We were thinking since infant care needs registration with MCYS, anything we can lodge a complain or sorts coz the centres wld have to uphold their reputation..

tweety,
i oso notice my ger's ger will turn red after cleaning so i will use a little warm water to clean her ear her ear again.

Hisstory,
*Envy* my mum oso stayin with me n helpin me with the bb. Sometimes i just feel that she dote on bb too much that i can't do things my way. Each time bb make a little noise she'll will carry. If i tell her abit, she will b unhappy. Dunno wat to do.
But i m oso glad that she's able to help me when bb gets fussy or when i need to take some time off for a breather with hubby..Sometimes i feel that i m so contradicting

happie
ur bb the first grand child for ur mum? I think grandparents wld always dote on their grandkids alotalot!! *hahah* I know what u mean by being so contradictory.. At times I love it when she doesn't interfere, on other occasions I wish so much tt she wld relieve me when i'm so exhausted with my ger..

But i also dun want to tax my mum too.. She does the meals &amp; the household chores &amp; on top of tt, care for my niece. Whats more, she's the one who takes care of my ger at night.. I think i'm going to have to go thru a steep learning curve when she leaves in end Nov

ruixuan
if i were ur sis or urself &amp; ur mum taking care of the bb, i wld also faint.. So many possible uncertainties

shint,
i tink most likely i gotta bring my #1 to the lunch. no charge for her, rite?

krex,
wat ur hb buy for u ah? cldn't find ur post on tat, either tat, my speeding skills really not up to par. i wish my hubby wld be so thoughtful too..

everyone returning back to work soon?? Me going back in 2.5 weeks...

donno how is it like to go back to work... hopefully i will persevere and carry on expressing my bm...

wah krex you wake up so early ah?? I die lah... I used to wake up @ 8am b4 i go on leave one leh...

vone, i am also a silent reader...

<u>formula milk</u>
I keep changing my fm.. so far she have drank enfalac, karihome, similac, neocate &amp; BM.. Now she is on enfalac ha &amp; bm.. and I change them abruptly... i am sticking to enfalac ha &amp; bm now.

Ruixuan,
Okie doc. U're included! U're #12 pax.

Faeriekim,
Yep, no charge. She so guai, can bring la.
Mine cannot. He'll go "Mama, I tell you something" and if I am talking he'll go, "Mama, talk to me". How to eat and chat in peace?

aurora,
sometimes after i wake up to pump, i cannot sleep liaoz ... so i post lor ... actually since pregnancy, i needed little sleep. Until now oso. In the day I seldom nap either .. but then i am still vv busy ..... dunno busy what oso. haaha.

Old oredi, sleep lesser ba ... kekeke.

My boy hav not poo poo for 2 days! Any solutions??

dongle: yes can pass the stuff to me? Err i pass u in cash can??

For those going to the gathering, I got 2 more boxes of Pigeon breastpads to let go at $8 each!

Btw.. i just changed my bb's milk teat to 2-3months (Pigeon wide neck) one n i am amazed he can drink so fast!? He can finish 120ml within 5mins........... He didnt vomit or feel uncomfortable after that, is it OK to let him continue using cos i thought the milkflow is too fast?