(2008/08) Aug 2008

lingling,
yah. he don't want full month celebration too but i insist so we have it for my friends only. so for 1st birthday, if we really go ahead then it will be like full month loh. so i don't know if i should just go ahead with it. sigh....

sylvia,
hahaha.... if not, i can't think of any reason for the high shipping cost loh. :p

when to intro meat to porridge?
I rem sme bb are havin meat nw. when can we intro? After fruit n basic vege?

& do sg sell fresh prune? I seem to see preserved ones only.

celyn,

maybe a huge huge box for individual so the rest of the shipping cost is for the AIR!! Hahaha!!

'I tot spree is to share shipping cost so dat we can save......

Wahahaha!!

My MIL taking leave!!

just now hb call her, she said taking leave next wk, will CHOOSE one day n come n visit me.

I immediately give the 'want to die' face. told my hb next wk I will be in zoo every day. Hahaha!!

she come oso dun help n comment dis n dat.... n when bb sleep n ask bb why always sleep leh. when she poo, she oso will keep asking..

Better hide!! any gathering next wk? Hahaha!

Sylvia you so funny. Playing hide and seek with your MIL.

I also haven't officially intro meat yet.
Though the other day I was having fish and chips and he kept looking at the fish so I gave him little bits to try. In the baby recipe book I've got they already have meat dishes from 6 mths onwards. So I guess anytime now is ok just that I'm too lazy to do it. It's easier to chop vege and steam.

celyn,
ya lo shouldnt use metal spoon but my MIL ask me to use lo.

linx,
bernice eat porridge lo. usual, cod fish/veg/pumpkin etc .. but lately hb added the grounded ikan billis powder so maybe more tasty so she eating 2 bowls. but i think also her appetite increase. even her HT cereal she can eat 5 tbsp now. but her milk intake still at 120ml every 3-4 hours.

sylvia,
we roasted the ikan billis ourselves and grounded it to powder.

Hi mummies !

Cat,
The cod fish you mash before giving to bernice ?

Sylvia,
You are damn funny. One day not so bad la, imagine she stays with you, even worse rite?

Babies' first birthday,
Looks like many mummies are planning parties hor... make me sound like a very bad mummy cause I haven even thought about it. After the full month celebration, we were so shacked that we told ourselves not to have any celebration with many people anymore ! Really looking forward to the birthday bash for all the babies though, hope it comes through.

need some advise. yu ze's great grandmother just passed away this morning. yu ze and me will not be going to attend her funeral cos yu ze is still very young. should i inform my babysitter about it? if he is not going to the funeral, can he still go to babysitter's place? is there any patang for this? babysitter's house got pray one.

sylvia
u very funny leh! everyday go zoo! haha...

i'm also thinking of intro-ing meat liaoz. my mil bought me a "first foods" book. quite gd. and like what mrs n said, the meats are included in recipes for 6mths & above. so, shld be ok to intro meat when u feel comfortable.

cat
i also add a lil bit of ikan bilis powder into E's porridge.

celyn
y don't u call ur bbsitter and ask her if she minds?

happy_mummy,
i mash the cod fish before cooking then add into the porridge when it's almost ok. my hb will slice it and put into the slow cooker. cos he uses the slow cooker but i dont. it will melt into the porridge too.

Me also want to intro porridge and fish liao coz I think she getting sick of cereal. Plus the last few days when she's sick, she's been only having half her usual intake. Lost quite a bit of weight.
kao_sad2.gif

Some questions for those mummies already introducing porridge and fish:

1) Those who grind the rice, do you still wash them? Coz like quite troublesome if I have to grind it everyday so thought of doing a batch and storing them. I remember some mummies do that right?

2) So if I cook porridge, then I no put the frozen puree right? Coz I cook the fresh vege/fish/ meat tog with the porridge

Cat
How do you do the ikan billis? I bought a packet already and it's been starring at me for the last 2 weeks coz I don't know what to do with it...

Sylivia
Maybe your MIL will say she wants to come to the zoo with you and bb....

Celynlee
Just tell your babysitter but hor..I think great grandmother already quite distant, so the mourning not so 'deep', so personally, I think should be ok.

I also not planning for big birthday bash. Think the 1st month celebration already enough. So birthday will just be family and maybe a few very close friends. ^^

krmeow,
i inform her liao. tomorrow, going to tell her not to dress yu ze in bright colour. though he is not mourning in a way but i think its better not to dress him in bright colours as a form of respect.

porridge:
1. i wash and sun the rice first
2. grind them and store in air-tight container
3. just take out whatever amount i need to cook
4. just add water and start cooking
5. i will cook with fresh vege or fish if there is not more in the freezer
6. for fish, its quite a big piece when i buy from market. so i will cut in small piece and put in baby cube to freeze. take out 1 to thaw the night before cooking.
7. for vege, i will also freeze them in small qty in baby cubes.

catherine,
i also want to know what kind of ikan bilis do you buy and how you do it? when you add ikan bilis power, do you still have fish in the porridge?

Celyn,
I also think you should ask your babysitte cause everybody's pantang level is different. Like do you believe if I told you that my friend's mother din attend her own mother's funeral because her son (my frien's bro) was getting married in 2 months' time? So some pp can be really pantang one. However, I busybody a bit. Should you at least go ? Can leave YZ with the baby sitter rite ? Later you dun go, ppl may have things to say.

Hashisan,
You got your pics already ! I haven leh, although this time not excited as you know why ... Mi-chan very cute even when not smiling leh.. and my mum who was with me say your boy lagi handsome leh !!

Btw, are you Indon ? Cause my father is Indon too, and that makes me technically have Indon blood ! hahahaha

Adding meat,
I hear old pp say, babies too young should not eat chicken meat as it causes phlegm. I am not sure you all believe, so I am sticking only to fish since Adel can't eat pork.

happy mummy,
i thought i should go too but hubby say no need cos fil say i stay at home with yu ze. actually, my uncle (mum's eldest brother) just pass away not long ago too. i didn't tell babysitter cos its on fri, so yu ze won't get to go over till mon. i also never attend cos of yu ze. but i dress down during that period loh.

hisstory,
i don't grind till very fine. just to make it grind it smaller. grind the rice so its soften faster. i will usually take about 15 - 20 mins to cook then keep in slow cooker to keep warm. also cos yu ze is eating the '11 grains' rice so its not of the same shape and size. '11 grains' rice contains australia brown rice, sorghum rice, buckwheat, barley, pearl rice, wheat, oat, job's tear, millet, gordon euryale seeds and black glutinous rice.

2297384.jpg

after grinding
2297385.jpg

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Oh, for a moment i thought u were grinding white rice.. But grinding does make sense for the 11 grain rice coz of their diff sizes the time taken for them to be cooked &amp; softened wld also vary

Just gave Ashley mashed potato today &amp; she liked it alot.. Think on weekends I wld give her potato instead of porridge! hahah, porridge must watch the flame.. hee

celyn,

How did your babysitter grind the 11 grains?
Using pestle and mortar or something else?

I'm interested to do this too!

Ya, i think ask your bbsitter if she's ok for you to bring Yu Ze to her place. Since she's ok, then u can go to to YZ's great grandma's funeral.

Celyn, Can I know where did you get the 11 grains? Is it really good? Looks very interesting which I never try before. Currently I am give my son Organic Brown Rice only.

hisstory,
before i give yu ze this 11 grain rice, i grind the brown rice too cos its harder to digest. but he had less than 4 meals of brown rice and i change to this liao.

valnsw,
i think she get medical hall to grind for her. i use the u-like blender (i bought from isetan, orange colour one) to grind.

babysitter is ok for me to bring yu ze to her place. although she is fine for me to leave yu ze at her place while i go to yu ze's great grandma funeral but yu ze won't want to sleep there and will fuss in the night. i get hubby to confirm with fil again loh. if its really ok for me not to go.

Cat,
So Bernice can take 2 bowls of porridge with ikan bilis powder?

Isit the full bowl? If so, it's quite alot that she can take.

Chevelle usually takes 2-3 ladle scoops of the porridge and we further mash the fish/pumpkin in it.

RE: ikan bilis powder
My mum was telling me this is what she used to feed me but I was a fussy eater.
She said can dry the ikan bilis and even brown powder and v fragrant.

She mentioned that Eu Yang Sang sells those ready grinded ikan bilis powder.

celyn,
hehe so u use the blender to grind.

I suppose any normal blender can do the job? hehe I got one brand-new blender that was meant as wedding present, still not used yet. It's those normal big ones. Not the u-like blender meant for blender food.

happy_mummy,
When you passed the Pigeon snacks to my in-laws' place, do you remember who you passed to?

Was it the maid or one of my ILs?

My hb forgot to bring back. Sigh...

Val,
I passed it to a man, he was carrying a baby. Quite young. It's 13A rite ? I ask if he was Val's in-laws and he said yes. Hope I din pass wrongly.

valnsw,
i think should be able to lah.

happy mummy,
i buy from ntuc. you see the packaging i posted. i'm like the promoter from this company leh. recommend people to try. hahaha....

Celyn, Thanks so much. I should go and check it out. You also mention the blender from Isetan in Orange color one. Can work with this?

happy_mummy,

Oic, ok that should be hb's younger brother. Ermz, but carrying a baby? I thought his kids are like no longer babies :p
One is coming to 4 yrs old and the other is coming to 2 yrs old.

yah yah !
A toddler to be exact ! Phew ! For one moment I thought wrong leh =D

Btw,
Did you got to Taka babyfair. They were selling the same snacks at 3.95. I asked the seller, she said ours is $4.50 leh !

happy_mummy,
didn't go to Taka baby fair.

huh? selling cheaper ah?
And I thought that time I was at JL got 10% discount over the original price of $4.90 + 5% rebate was cheap.

Anyway, alrdy got the snacks liao... Just look out for more lobangs. Can't wait to let bb taste the pumpkin xiao man tou. hehe

happy_mummy
Think you can get that from Ang Mo. I've seen it there.

Celynlee
So Yu Ze ok with the 11 grain rice? No contispation? Just wondering coz they are not as easily digestible as white rice. But nutrition wise, very good. Can I use the Munchkin hand blender to grind it?

celynlee: wow I didnt know there is such thing as that 11 grains kind of rice. so its more nutritious than normal rice? is it heaty/ cause a bit constipation or so far no prob with yu ze?
and how does it taste?
sorry for asking many questions. just curious because it looks interesting.

and the ikan bilis: mummies who use ikan bilis.. is it the salty one or not salty?

happy mummy:thank u
and dont worry .smiling or not smiling Adel will always looks his best.

dont forget to show us once u get it yeah?
but how come u stil havent gotten them?they did tell me latest by tue should get it tho.
yes I'm indonesian.mix mix

Sylvia: u are so cute. dont run away la.. ask your mil to go with u to the dobutsuen hahahaha..tanoshiiiyooo

Catherine: hmm I think Bernice eats a lot because she needs calorie. and all her body parts are growing.
a bit too early to worry about weight. there'll be time in future that she wont eat that much due to teething, so let her enjoy it while she can
and once she starts walking/cruising she will burn lots of calorie.

krmeow,
he don't have constipation with this so far. the only time he had constipation is when i feed him with ht cereal for 2 days. according to my babysitter, the barley inside will help prevent constipation. not sure how true is it. anyway, he will poo everyday. he enjoy this more than the brown rice which i give him in the early stage.

not sure if you can use the munchkin hand blender cos i don't have that.

hashisan,
hehe.... yu ze had this for more than 2 months liao. no constipation problem for yu ze. i didn't try it myself but hubby say its tasty cos he eats up all the leftover from yu ze. hahah....

celyn: okie, thanks. will try a small packaging for michan next week. this company should give free rice for u and yuze for promoting their product .hehe

mrs Ng: no.my son didnt get upset at all. being toddler I think he doesnt really understand sarcastic remarks. thank God.

i am the one who gets a lil unhappy. hehe

Celyn, So you mix the fish and vege together and cook ah?? Me hor, cook the rice and fish together. Then boil the vege. Mashed the vege and mix when feeding. Seems like so troublesome.