(2008/08) Aug 2008

morning mummies

m2b,
as wat snow say, ping chang xin will be good enough...dun be too stress.
now you all mentioned pri 1 reg, then i start to think...the primary sch opp my hse is my first choice lor but it also happen to be the one of the few good primary sch..my niece classmate live beside the sch also have to do pv leh...hiaz think by the time me also have to do it leh...
told my hb, he think i siao, think till so far..

yln,
why ur mil call you to report?? for me, no matter how i dun like my mil, at least she wont call me during ofc hours to talk to me about ger...

dun be too stress, my opinion will be maybe you will like to let kaer try out the cc fulltime first, then trf later??
now they are displaying signs of getting affection and attention..they noe by doing this type of behaviour, they will get the attention they want...

maybe you wan try my method, next time kaer throw tantrums, let them be, they can roll, scream and cry all they wan on the floor, you just show a normal face and carry on your things..soon they will realise mummy not sayanging them , they will stop..

take care of your throat, your rice bowl depends on it..haha coz i rem you have quite frequent of sore throats..

m2b
i understand what u mean. =)
lets pray hard together, the # of childs reg wun be too much over # of vacancies bah.

shirley
yes, things that cannot ctrl no pt let it affect ur daily life.
if u like me heng heng living next to the hotest school in that area hor, better do pv. -_-"
i mean its really very convenient to goto a school within walking distance lor, else next time send them thru n fro is no joke if distance is far leh. =P
nowadays doing pv is very normal le, if u are a person who noes very well what u wanted lor.
ha ha...we gotta do our best before we gave up, our kid's future is totally in our hand liao.

Hi Celyn,

I had a boy is Aug 2008, am just a silent reader of this thread. Was contemplating having #2 but like you i have no maid, minimal parental support. How do you cope with a bb and a 2-yr-old boy? Apologies if you find it to abrupt...

Shirley,
Trying to stay calm and wait for result tonight =P
Yes, if the school is near and popular, my advice is PV too...the school that we register #1 is not known to be popular but surprisingly this year, quite hot =(

Snow,
Yalor, praying real hard now...tonight will know the figure...1 thing for sure, I'm glad I shifted out of JW liao coz there's a battle there...all the better schools all have balloting even for w/n 1km...faintz!

m2b
u see rulang u will faint....ha ha...
yr 2008 sure damn competitive de lor, so many bb.
actually yr 2005 birth rate also much higher, me sweating now liao. =P

HI Mummies
Thank you so much...i feel so much better by just voicing out my concerns n all ur advice are great..

shirley
the prob is, my mil will give in to her tantrums..so kaer always throw tantrums there..but at home she is ok..afternoons MIL will go with maid to pick her so..she will start her nonsense again..

hahaha..on the point of who is reporting to me...its my hubby..cuz he will call his mum and ask how is kaer n what is kaer doing in the afternoons, n MIL will tell him what happened..etc..so he tell me lor...n i always hear the negative stuff!..so im really quite stressed lor..

Ya..i agree with what all u mummies suggest and advice...i should go for full day and let kaer train her manners...sigh..

yasminelala,
this is what i did when i know i was preggy with #2.
1. send my boy to cc once he reach 18 months old to free babysitter to take care of baby when baby comes.
2. sending my boy to cc early is also giving him time to get use to cc life. don't want him to think that we don't want him thus put him in cc after baby comes.
3. i adjust my working hours so that i can send my boy to take school bus to cc and fetch him in the evening. i also cook dinner for him daily.
4. so this had go on for about 2 months before baby arrives and no change to his lifestyle till now.
5. send baby to babysitter after i start work at about 2 months old.
6. daily, hubby will send baby to babysitter house in the morning before he goes to work. i will prepare and send my boy to take school bus before going to work. hubby will fetch baby back from babysitter's place if he is early. if not, he will come back and we all had dinner first then go fetch baby together.
7. my boy goes back to his room for last milk feed at 8pm daily. he will drink his milk, read books and do whatever in his room then fall asleep before 9pm or latest 9pm.
8. anytime after my boy sleep, its my own free time.

weekends:
i had both of them with us. my boy either nap at 11am - 2pm or 2pm - 5pm. we will have breakfast outside but lunch and dinner at home. we goes grocery shopping after breakfast. sometimes, we will do lunch outside if we are going out. now we had a part time cleaner to come and clean our place on weekends.

when i'm alone with both, i put baby to bed at 730pm. so that i can concentrate on my boy from 8pm onwards. i still continue to pump and bf based on my routinue.

me too got no help from maid or parents or in laws.

Snow,
For me, once I settle #1...Mae no issue liao

Yaman, Rulang, West Grove and even Jurong West Pri oso scary figures!!! Thus, I'm so glad I'm not there now lor...heart attack man!

My ex-neighbour register her son at JW Pri and after 1st day, she text me saying sure ballot liao...

snow,
same sentiments as you, ya lor yr 2008 realli a lot of bb leh...sweat man..think tell my hb do pv difficult man..he think $$ can do wonders lor..

m2b,
haha strong feeling raine onz liao lah..haha lets celebrate first..

yln,
my mil same as yours lor..but i always maintain the way i want lor..coz the way i discipline prove effective lor and ger normally will listen to me..haha at home i am always the bad guy..everytime ger naughty, mil, fil or even hb will say to ger, if you naughty mummy angry laio..then ger will stop haha so everytime MUMMY MUMMY ANGRY haha

yasminelala,
as you can see from celyn post, she is the wonder mummy among us. she can go along with anything and can close one eye on most issues.

celyn,
how YZ thomas train cupcake going?? me decide just get one big cake and cut haha lazy to find, moreover hb say cupcake for toddlers very wasteful, sure cant finish..me getting barney cake from prima deli leh...goodies pack also haha

shirley,
i bought him a thomas cake from polar cake. no more cupcakes. just a big cake to cut.

not wonder mummy, just do whatever i can loh and also to maintain a good mind. if everything also pick will go mad mad leh. hahahha....

Celyn,
Thanks for sharing. Helps alot in my planning as well as knowing "it is possible"... I think your outlook and adaptibility helps alot... kudos to you...

Shirley,
Yes, after reading Celyn's post, i think she is a super mummy. And the amazing thing is that she is still pressing on with breastfeeding... Salute to you, Celyn...

shirley
me too..thats y my girl behaves when i am around..but i cannot let her go on with throwing her tantrums when i am not around...so i gotta do something now..

m2b,I am still stuck there lei. No need to think of Rulang. but west grove is terrible too. JW pri is not so bad fr what I see.

yasminelala,
i'm a lazy and hack care mummy. mummies here will know that i don't care and leave my boy to explore as long as not super dangerous. eg. i won't stop him even when he play with drawers of cupboard. i will only tell him that he must be care or his finger might be caught by it.

m2b
ya ya ya...only heart attack once and for all...ha ha.... >D

cos that area is a new town with lotsa younger couples, so definitely lotsa kiddos de.
need ballot is not surprising lor. =P

shirley
now govt catch till very strict, no under table $ can do any trick in term of pri sch reg lah.
ha ha...think do pv easier, but its not guaranteed also hor.
like for the sch that is near my house, only 45 vacancies left allocated for pv and active grassroot leaders.
if that area lotsa active grassroot leaders, that phase will undergo ballot also. =(

trinitymummie
hi-5, teacher also complained to me a similar story.
but zynn din bite ppl, she wacked the little boy away cos he like to snatch thing from her.
i dunno how to explain, but think i myself will kick any stranger man away if he try to snatch my things leh.
how u going to teach her?
guide her to complain to teacher?
so that next time she grown up to be a complain queen?
or teach her to gong gong let ppl bully and just walk away, is it really correct?
how to judge? i really dunno also.
so this lazy mother here did nothing, let her wack till the boy dun dare to go near her lor.
like that nothing will happen any more...ha ha...

YLN

since you think is better to send to full day cc, then go for it.

Can u ask ur hb nt to call his mum n ask?
Or tell u only when u r back home?

I think kids are smart to know what they can do when they are with who.

u take care!! Weather no good ar......

Snow

let her wack lah. :p

coz it's their defensive skill loh. They learn to protect themselves via this way.

Trinity,

Can you tell that parent... teach their kid nt to snatch? then wont get bitten loh.

it's nt that anyhow beat wor

Celyn

hahaha!! I let bbm play n teach her not to open the wipes' packaging. plus becareful of fingers.

But nw she tiptoe n reach for the 1st drawer for anything there.... only worry knives n sharp items.

HB buai tahan... n lock loh. Coz took out n put everywhere. kept milk bottles n waterbottles all taken out n play....... Hahaha!

sylvia,
hhahahah..... i have 4 drawers in my kitchen cabinet. yu ze likes to open and close them and play with things inside too. now he knows his things like water bottle, bowl are inside 3rd drawer. so when ask him to take his bowl he will open and take out. last drawer, i put all the extra teats. he will also open to play. 2nd drawer, i have my mugs there. yu ze will open and close only. he won't take out the mug cos he knows i will scold him if he touch inside. he seldom open that drawer too. first drawer, like bbm he will tiptoe to see but still too short hahahah....

trinitymummie,
my son also got a 'love bite' before from a girl cos he snatch that girl toy.

sylvia
that is what i think also, cos she is a gal leh.
else next time met pervert outside, also dunno how to self defence lor.
if she is d 1 that snatch, at least i can teach her not to.
ha ha..

trinitymummies,
sliding door also can play mah. my boy is able to open and close my full glass kitchen sliding door too loh.

celyn, u the can!!! taking care of 1 kid with not much help already kan kor but u take care of 2~~ but it helps when u have a supportive hubby and both kids very guai n cooperative.. mi jus one kid only, i wanna surrender liao.. thou like you, i have no maid/parental/in-laws support, but my sister sometimes help me take care of my son when she's back in sg. I think for me the biggest "problem" is the CC is not ready yet.. still under renovation. I guess when Braiden goes CC, things will be easier for me? Cos my hubby work sometimes work 24hrs type.. so everyday its just me, me, me... I think i complain/whine more than u lei~~ mi so lousy type lah.. I admire ur capability!!! :> But i really very envious ppl who have a good maid/parents n in-laws help... I can only wish~~

celyn

hahaha!! BBM tiptoe n can see liao. so she can reach for whatever she is keen in wor.

anyway.......... she knows how to unlock the lock liao...... then show me happily how to unlock......

Think they like to play with what are around? I only very tired with her bottles, coz she will put everyone in her mouth . sometimes ask for water to put inside.......

I lock one big shelf coz she took the ceremic plates. n she took those very small one n play. Think the sound making is interesting pah. :p

snow

lawyer is free when the hb is lawyer loh. Hahaha!!

ya... snatch will tell bbm... share with the other kid. if the other kid snatch fm her, I just look n see loh.

but if those bully her then I will put a stop when it's over or when BBM shouted for help when it's painful. then I will tell the other kid it's painful, let's share and play together.

nini,
braiden is guai also what. at least you can bring him out to enjoy buffet with you. i can never go buffet with yu ze loh. cos once he had enough, he will run liao. doesn't matter if mummy eat already or not.

i learn to see open many things after having children. don't have too much expectation then won't have too much disappointment and you will be happier.

sylvia,
yu ze is short loh so he tip toe liao still can't see then will pull you to carry him to take loh. :p

morning mummies.
me now most of the time in lab, cannot log on msn liao... =(

sylvia
even if the hb is so free, and they think court got time for bb fighting case?
ha ha...then everyday at least few thousands cases rite?

teaching them to share i believe most parent here did, but my way of teaching is for requestor to request sharing properly 1st. =P
so if just snatch from her, she will just wack.
there was once a neighbour kid snatch away her thing, her 1st reaction is went into the house grab the nearest thing to wack that person....which is, the broom....ha ha....

i'm not sure if its wrong, but if a stranger snatch ur handbag away, what will be ur reaction as an adult? tell him we must share? >D

Halo Mommies!

Rata,
My advice is PV for JW...at least a higher chance as it is an earlier phase...that's provided you want the popular schools in JW...this year, schools liek West Grove, Rulang, JW Pri and Shuqun all hot! And 2004 supposed to be lowest birth rate wor! Tsk tsk

Snow,
I agree, Zynn is defending herself! For my 2 gals, I know Mae can defend herself whereas Raine is the softer type
Mae can say "NO" to a stranger who tries to take her thing (play play only) =)

trinitymummie,
i would have taken urgent leave no matter how urgent work is in office. at most is after bringing her to see doc to find out what is the cause before going back to work. did you inform the teacher to monitor her for you. sayang. hope she is just trying to get your attention and not in real pain.

snow

I will do the share when... the other mum around loh. Hahaha!!

Ya... that's why BBM said share while snatching toys nw.
Ok... I hv to do otherwise liao. no gd.

trinitymummie & sylvia
its same like in the eye of law lor, the person who started the fight is always the culprit of the whole fight.
most important is to teach them how to ask permission to share properly, not to quietly suffer from bullies. -_-"
especially now school bullies casese are getting more, ppl will not dare to bully u if u are a person who noe how to take care of urself. =)

snow
ya agreed.

when she was younger, also got those bully, so hv to protect. got one time still even use arm to press on her neck n cant breath loh.

now older, hv to teach her to protect herself liao.

ruixuan
gd afternoon. =)

sylvia
ai yo, how come those kids so bad de.
ya lor, more and more bullies so gotta teach them how to protect themselve.
especially gals ya?

mulberry
this sunday 4-6pm @ atlantis city inside delta sports complex, 5 mins walk from redhill mrt.
hee hee... =P
any problem getting there, pls call me hor.

celyn: ur rite..I must learn to "see open"

hmm.. i dont know why Braiden also started to pick up fights liao.. Bring him to playgym where there where many kids also.. I wanna let him learn to share/interact before he go CC. But seems like he prefers to play by himself.. And he doesnt let other ppl touch his toys (cars,trains).. he will beat the other party or push them back..very posessive! Sometimes he will share, sometimes he wont.. Even when the kids guai guai playing there, he will go over n push them...he tinks its funny..argh! I feel sooooooo paiseh!! The ang moh mommies give me a hard stare..while the japanese mommies jus smile. I just keep apologizing and scold Braiden.. But he like one ear go in one ear come out. But one thing i discover..the 'mei mei' babies, he will go over n sayang them.. once he even give his toy to her, hug her n kiss her.. lol so loving.. but the next day he go playgym n beat ppl liao.. He seems to "can" bully ppl but when he go my sis place, my niece is 1 mth older than him but very big size.. Also very naughty!! Keep pushing him and grab his coller n dont let him play their toys.. She even use a plastic fork to poke Braiden's face..

trinitymummie,
i see benjamin tham at kk for both and now he just started on his own clinic at tmc.

nini,
yu ze also like that. he will love and sayang meimei but in cc will snatch toys loh. just came back with a scratch on his face today cos he and a girl snatch toy. i think it the same girl who bite him previously when he snatch her toy.

Hi mummies.

YLN,
How's ur throat? Gotta take care. Weather no good.

I was shocked when i signed Anvelle in at cc this morning. She has been the only kid in her PG that attended full day cc since Tuesday. There were no other signatures on the attendance list. When her teacher called me to pick her up fr skool due to fever, there were only 3 kids. Out of 8 kids, 1 went on holiday, 4 on MC n the remaining 3 were keeping the teachers busy with tissues n cleaning the runny noses!

Talking about school bullies, I once saw a Pri 1 gal at a clinic with bruises and bite marks all over. Her mum said tt she was pulled to the toilet by a Pri 4 gal and pushed against the sink/wall because she refused to give when the P4 gal said she wanted her earrings. Den the bigger gal pulled the P1's hair n banged her head against the wall. The little gal finally decided to give her the earrings but she could not remove them fr her ears. So the P4 gal pulled at her ears. Luckily someone came in and stopped all these.

trinitymummie,
yes. had to go tmc now. don't know his charges cos he delivered for me in kk before he moved to tmc. i think forum has a thread on him.