(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn
there are 2 type of doing...if sahm can learn thru play everyday with their kid, ftwm like us most likely is send them to let some prof to train during wkend lor...ha ha...we are not ks, just bonding time lesser after less out our resting time. >D
talk more to them, u can even diff ppl speak diff lang with them...u will be surprise, they can auto switch channel when they talk to diff ppl de.
their brain cell sensitivity to lang absorption is especially high during 2-3yr old time,pls dun challenge me where i got this info from but can choose to ignore if u dun believe okie? =)
i'm very tired at work to always challenging ppl, need to prove facts and findings kind...sianz lor.

Good Morning Mommies!
Ydy on leave to celebrate Mae's bday and she fell sick on her BIRTHDAY! Can cry lor...didnt have much sleep ydy coz need to check her temp, plus she has so many request, change bed, pillow and water bottle...but ok lah, at least she is still well to make requests hahaha Today supposed to be on csl, but have to come bk to do payroll thingy...just called my mom and she said Mae is a ok...hope it stays =)

Snow,
I totally agree that every individual has their own thinking and way of doing things =)

You know Mae learning to sing the hokkein song of sky dark dark hahaha quite funny! =P

Krex,
Good luck to your trying of a gal =)

Celyn,
Now that Mae started gg playgroup, I dun do much with her at home except reinforce the phonics she learn at GUG and story reading =)

celyn,
don't worry, i think Yu Ze will pick up something good from childcare. Mine still bumping at home... heheheee... think i will prob start him on part-time childcare first. see how.

Snow,
you are right lor... FTWM - i tend to contract out the extras to the centres, me also lazy. But come to my P1 boy, really not enough just to contract out. cos he being a boy, very playful and teachers complaining he is not paying attention in class so his progress is very very slow. he is easily one of the last in class at the moment. So now i try to spend 1 hour 3-4 days a week after work with him revising his school work. very tough. this is from me experience with this boy lah. but my gal is different from him, don't know if it is because boy and gal different. She can read his Primary one chinese text book now. :p or maybe after this first boy, i scared liao and started to her on reading earlier... but come to Jerold, the 3rd one, i'm again lazy... but seriously i think gal and boy different, gal more hardworking and easier to teach. boys very hong sim.

m2b
hope mae recovers soon.

ya, some time is cos one went thru a hard time due to not so highly literate that is why push harder for their own kid to get higher education.
they are not wrong, its solely individual's life experiences. =)

zynn now also nua at home during wkend nia, nothing to do will keep pestering me..ha ha..

rona
ur theory is not wrong, i have total 14 nieces/nephews....and i can see boys more difficult to get logic into them, gals mature earlier. =)
but dun worry, they will outgrow de.
now cos they still dun understand the relatiion of study properly and their future, so give him some time bah.

snow,
just that the education system here doesn't allow for late bloomers... they are seriously disadvantaged leh... so gotta push push and push... machiam like giving birth to him 7 years ago, i pushed for like 2 or 3 hours before he is finally born. very siong!

rona
understand...must e far sighted also.
when u compare our kids to kids in other asia countries, we are really slower liao. =)
next time, maybe its other country ppl leading us instead le. =P

m2b,

oh dear, hope mae is better now. J didn't have a very good b'day celeb either. got scolded by daddy for throwing tantrums, then hit and fell against a chair while playing with this cousin. thankfully on his actual day, we had a good outing!

celyn,
you brave leh, me till now still dun dare bring gal do it.

heard frm old folks, one year like only 3 gd days..kwan yin tan day do hor, ear hole wldnt close leh..

shirley,
this mummy very hiao one. so want her girl to have it too. do it young so they don't know and won't fight much too.

rona,
problem is bring to where. my babysitter say in sept also can do.

regarding the seimpi trial which was proposed to be on 22nd aug, the school has not gotten back to me yet if its available and still on, so please do not put it in ur calendars yet..pls go ahead and make ur appts as a free available date..

i will update again..if its on..n if many mummies cannot make it..then we'll see can arrange some other date again..

celyn,

i think misaki had hers done at a very young age. Want to do, do early, coz they are less likely to protest & makes it easier to get it done..

celyn,
my 2-cents, better use a GP. cos she is young so better go GP. I know my GP does it, but in ulu pandan leh...

I'm bringing jerold for the pneumococcal vaccine injection... i cheapskate mum, first and last jab for him. there's a new brand, Synflorix - covers 10, more then Prevnar. anyone has any experience on Synflorix?

rona,
can you sms me your GP address. let me ask around and if no reliable place to do it then i go to your gp.

hisstory,
that's what i feel too. i saw baby did it in gold shop before.

celyn,
hashisan brot misaki to pierce ear when she was 3mo. she did it in 1 of the goldheart shop, think it's the 1 in central.

Rona,
Hi5!
Me also bringing baby K for his 1-n-only pneumococcal jab after d 8 Aug bash.

Just celebrated baby K's birthday today. Din noe helium balloons are such hit w d kids! In case you mummies wanna get any, i'd recommend the balloon packages from Balloons Paradise. Value for $$$, as compared to the other bps!

rona/ mousse,

how come still got jab? tot finish at 18 mths alr? i rem J has a cert of all his jabs liao.

Hi mummies.

How's everyone? Been so busy with work. Missed all of you.

Rona/ Mousse,
I checked with my PD on the pneumococcal jab the last time we were there. Although the govt said that each child must hv minimum of 1 jab, it is best to have 2 jabs although our kids took it after 18 mths as this will make the immunity even stronger. I am also still considering if I should bring Anvelle for the 2nd dose. Anyway, we need to do the chicken pox + MMR one again to totally prevent it. But hor, like bo hua hor, I need to pay $120 when the MMR at 7YO should be covered by MOE. Haiz... Dilemma!

Shint,
Agree with Snow. Every child develops differently. Take a step back and observe the kids. You will be surprised by what they say or do. For example, I hv a 6YO cousin who Anvelle calls "Ku ku" (Uncle in Teochew) but prefers Anvelle to call her Korkor. Anvelle regards him as Kuku when talking to us but calls him Kor Kor when she sees/ plays wif him. She is also able to speak to my gran in simple Teochew (eg. eat, sleep, cut, open) and English to the rest of us.

Nana,
My PD said around 2yo needs only 1 dose only, no need to take a 2nd dose later. However, if you start the vaccination on the third month of the child's life, then you will have to take the full 3 doses.

Agreed with the chix pox. I went for the chix pox + MMR on too. later on, i may just give a dose of chix pox and let him take the MMR oral form in school when they go for BCG booster.

Halo Mommies!
Just went to register #1 ydy...didn't know the process itself is so stressful...plus w the wait...real frustrating hahaha

Maybe I shd hv done PV at that school last year coz Phase 2B only 32 places taken...hiaz, now can only wait and pray =)

m2b
dun look back lah, just look forward.
till now still looks ok lah, hopefully by tmr its still within the # of intake lor. =)
if u live within 1km, will have priority to ballot 1st de mah.

Snow,
Yalor, bo bian now too hahaha
My parents' pl is w/n 1km but as I'm using their addy, so if ballot it's considered between 1-2km lor...tats why abit stressed...

m2b
oh, ok.
then lets hope these 2 days not much ppl reg bah.
dun be too stress lah, cos u cannot ctrl anything now liao....life still gotta goes on, the gals will feel ur stress also u noe? =)

Krex, Rona, Mummynana,
Only one pneumoccocal jab cos baby K is 2 yrs old. At 1-2yrs, need 2 jabs. Below 1yr, need 4 jabs... i tink. Will prob take d vaccine from GSK.

For baby K's actual birhday tmr, we're heading to the Bird Park!

was very busy yestd @ work..my throat's still sore, cough ..
..will do a review today again..hopefully dun have to go see ENT..

I'm just wondering if any mummies here have this problem...recently kaer has been hitting my maid..and throwing alot of tantrums at her..it only happens when my mil is around or at my mil's place...at home , she is not hitting her..but sometimes will say that she dun want my maid to take something or do something for her..the situation is bad at my mil's place cuz my mil (despite me telling her she has to scold kaer in a stern voice) dun really teach her properly...
im not sure if this is a phase she is going thru, all i know is it even if its a phase, i have to nip it in the bud before it becomes her character!..so, im just thinking if putting her away from the maid and my mil's environment will be better for kaer..she behaves ok in school and will not dare to hit anyone..so she is behaving better at home and in school..so im suspecting its cuz of the presence of my MIL that turns kaer in a monster..should i put kaer in full day cc then?
what is stopping me is that i already have a place for her in a church kinddy...so i will want to transfer her there next jan...so if i put kaer in full day cc..and she becomes good again.will she turn into a monster again when i switch her to the kindy which is only 3 hrs per day, and thus will have more time again at home with MIL and maid?

morning mummies

yln,
i guess it depends on you. are you against cc and insist on kindy for kaer or you don't mind being in cc at all and willing to give up the kindy next year. not sure if this is a phase cos i don't have a maid to start with.

celyn
ya...thats my dilemma too...the cc she is attending is ok, n kaer is settled already..but im not too sure and comfortable with their pre N, N and K1/K2 programmes...so..thats y im kinda very 烦 now...

Its very stressful when i get calls to say kaer did something bad again or kaer threw tantrums etc...so...sigh...n my work has been really bz lately..so im just totally not up to making a rational decision now..

morning mummies. =)

mousse
happy birthday to bb kaiwei.

yln
actually u can still send her to full time even if u wanna transfer her to kindy next yr rite? =P
like what u said, its just another passing phase.
maybe let her go "bmt" half yr in cc will improve, half yr later she might already forgotten about her current behaviour?
they dun have permanent memory now de wor, unless things keep happening everyday.
like what celyn said, it depends on u.

m2b
st. m after 2nd day, still got 12 vacancies.
think u no need too worry lah, today is the last day le.
even if still have ppl going to reg, it wun be alot bah.
cos u see rv and acs # of child reg, think most of that area ppl went there liao...ha ha... >D

Good Morning Mommies!

YLN,
If I'm in your case, I will let Kaer stays in full-day cc coz that will minimize the contact w MIL and also instill discipline in the child
Just my opinion =)

Snow,
Let's hope the no dun go up too much today as there are some parents who will wait and see till last day to make their decision which school to register...keeping my fingers crossed till I see the figure tonight man...urgh... =P