(2008/08) Aug 2008

calling 1,2,3....who is the one that did the atm fund tt for the bb bash to me on 23rd?
pls update me, cos no name reflected in my ib.
thx. =)

m2b,
Wow, good leh. the PAP kindy my son went to, doesn't teach beyond 20, and no addition and subtraction. therefore, no multiplication as well. But my friend's gal's PAP Kindy, the standard is very high, there's simple journal writing, nos 1-100, multiplication and division...

mine, jialat, needs to take the rocket and still can't catch up with my friend's gal, they are of the same year, except the gal is slightly older by half a year nia.

rona
journal writing?? really?? some of my 15-16 yos dun even know how to write leh!..wow..must ask them go PAP n learn liao...!

snow,

oh, u used ovulation strip? is it ex? when i conceived jonah, i just monitored my cycle. when my mucus was thick and stringy, i knew i was ovulating so i just tried lor.

did u intend to have 2 girls or u wanted 1 boy and 1 girl? if my 2nd one boy i can forget abt a 3rd kid liao :p

rona,
I din try natural Dr Woody did a c-section on me and he din say why. Then I asked him why, is it becos my bones too small? and he said yes wor.

So 2nd time i din wan to risk it lor .. straight go for C-section. Can choose date some more and dun wan to try natural and then c-section again, double the stress.

Me ah. Havent not decided to go for it or not ... let it go natural but by end of the year must decide liaoz ba.

For the family I mentioned .... I din really kept in touch with them or was really close to them, heard it through another friend ...
This chap suddenly told me abt it cos he knows I have 2 boys liao and who knows i may try for 3rd one and wanted to let me know to be careful if I ever get pregnant again.

Then saw the other message from another fren's fb status.

Hope they all dun feel too sad.

morning mummies. =)

rona, yln
thik its time i go school with #1 liao also...ha ha... >D

krex
its ex, but cos i dun really understand the concept that u mentioned so have to use a faster and easier way to detect ovulation lor...hee hee..

i prefer gals, that is why i keep all my #1 clothings and stuffs for #2.
ha ha....many ppl belive 3rd 1 will be diff, so many if #2 is boy again then #3 might be gal?

Good Morning Mommies! =)

Rona & Snow,
Regarding reading, I really must thank I Can Read classes becoz it taught #1 how to read and at abt 4yo+, she is already reading well and independently...thats y I SURE let Mae goes next time! =)

m2b
i might send zynn to the harbourfront 1 early next yr also. =)
but actually now PAP also got teach phonic le, so was thinking if its still necessary leh...

Snow,
I won't start Mae so early coz if too early, will be at the TCS stage...my colls' kids who were at that stage think it's a waste of $...luckily my #1 started at PRP stage and very fast progress to ICR stage...think PRP onwards is more useful...so I'm thinking of sending Mae end next year or in 2012 =) Maybe we can go HF 1 together then can jalan together when they in class hahaha

BY the way, I enquired with dphotofolio about BP package for photo session.

Anybody interested? Minimum 10 to sign up.

I asked Fenny to email me the details.

Kids & Family photography

-1 hr session
- 4 x S5R print
- return all photo in DVD format
Price : $250
MOQ: min 10 families, max 15 families

Package validity: til 31 Oct 2010 (photoshoot needs to be done by 31 Oct 2010)
To enjoy this rate, min 10 families to sign up
the package with $100 deposit by 31 Jul. The package valid for 3 months period till 31 Oct.

EDIT: For the other terms & conditions, can see my next post below.

Sorry for posting so late, was very busy.
I got the rates last Monday but only managed to squeeze time today to post.
I think need to sign up by 31 July.

Maybe can ask for extension...

Think the T&C are pretty standard, the photoshoot only on weekdays 10am-7pm exclude PH, no extra charge if parents and grandparents shoot together w the kid etc...

For the full list of T&C read the attached file here:

mime_pdf.gif

Family Studio Photography_BP rate.pdf (23.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Snow,
Actually I can't rbr clearly when Raine started but I know she was w ICR for about only a year or so...if I'm not wrong, she started when she was 4yo and stopped when she's 5yo coz by then she can read well aldy and progressing to comprehension which I can teach her at home

She started w PRP straight bcoz she had a strong foundation of phonics and abit of blending aldy (thanks to GUG and her cc)...and after 3 lessons at PRP, she progressed to ICR as the teacher felt that she is ready...

Yes yes, Zynn &amp; Mae can be classmates again and create havoc in class hahaha =)

m2b
oic...think that will depend on individual also ya?
cos my col's son in prp quite long liao, she keep complaining no progress. =(

haha...yes yes yes, maybe can jio noah also. =P
dunno how the rest can concentrate with 3 of them walking around in class. >D

Snow,
Ya, I think depends on individual too...my coll's son was stuck in TCS and PRP for quite some time too...but overall my frens and colls find ICR useful and can see results =)

Ya man, Noah too and the teacher sure quit after 1 term hahahaha

wah M2B and Snow,
the two of you planning to run ICR off by a class huh? think they will lose money... ;P

yah, agree phonics reading program is good. but should not forget about sight reading also, cos there are words that are not phonetic.

M2B, Snow, Rona,
I went for the I can read program assessment but Quan dun like the classroom, looks quite boring so din go lor.

I dun have a specific method to teach him but just kept reading books with him everyday and he picks up himself.

Dun do that much with Kai but hopefully he can pick up by watching his brother. He loves to read too.

Sometimes without proper phonics training myself, I oso dunno how to teach him how to form words in the phonics way.
When come to spelling it's even more tough - wonder what is a good method?

I wan to teach him myself cos teaching English and Mandarin I still can do, not like art ... i am not good in it.

Who has good pointers on that can share?

His CC teaches phonics using Letterland.
But i really dunno what they are teaching ... haha. So long he can read well, i am quite happy liao. Now have to work on Kai.

I can read oso not cheap .... but i have a branch just next to my place so it's convenient.

Today I asked my son's CC if they teach spelling at all? The teacher said they dun teach even up till K2 level .. i almost fainted leh.

Good Morning Mommies!

Shint,
W a strong phonics backgd, spelling is a breeze for my #1...really! I just need to give her once (sometimes I even forget)...long and difficult words, she will try to pronounce herself before we correct her (if she's wrong)...but like what Snow says, it might differ from individual but for me, I give ICR programs a BIG thumb up! =)

At K2, she is reading those thick books w/o much pics liao...(glad she likes reading) But Mae doesn't seem to like read...she likes to terrorize the books!!!!

Hehe I'm not pro to gauge what level is Quan in but if you are comfortable and happy w teaching yourself, just continue =) Yes, I agree ICR is not cheap but glad it is over for #1...must save for Mae now hahaha

It seriously is a load off the shoulder when the kid can read by himself/herself. Now I only headache the spelling part cos the school dun teach at all.

So maybe I should enrol him into I CAN READ so he can be better with his phonics.

Should I start him now or at 5 u think?

shint
me also someone who noe basic phonics nia leh, not in position to gauge...hee hee...
but think u can let him try the prp level directly liao if u wanted to enrol him in? =)

art is all about creativity, as long as u dun restrict them then everywhere can learn.
playdol model making, finger painting, shape stamping, etc.

Shint,
If you are keen, can always go for a no obligation assessment at the centre...they will be able to tell u which level Quan is in =)

Snow,
My #1 is very poor in arts coz other than arts and craft in school, we seldom let her do much arts at home =( She has been pestering me to bake w her (my gdness)...

m2b
guiding kids to do art sometime can really make the whole house real messy, so sometime i also lazy to do too much....ha ha...
sometime just find a simple pic, call her to try draw it out in her own way lor.
who noes, u might be surprise. =)

baking har...she now addicted to baking ya?
sending #1 to bakerzin to learn bake cheese cake 3wks later, think that is easier. =P

Shint

Can you remember when did you starting spelling? A bit too early even before N1 leh. Dun pressure the poor boy.

I always remembered what my Professor told me:

One has a lifetime to learn. Kids should be learning at their own phase, it's sad to see little ones being pressured at such tender age of 2 when they should be laughing and playing happily. Let them build blocks, explore what's around. Dun follow the paper chase society and let the little ones suffer

It is no wonder the suicide rates are getting higher for those at younger age. Bcos this is the works of Kiasu parents that drives the kids crazy.

My neighbour's daughter is primary one in one of the most prestigious in Bukit Timah (shall not mention). Staying in Punggol and travelling to Bukit Timah to studying. EVeryday hear her playing piano and sometimes can hear the poor gal quarrel with the mother.

This is one of the shouting conversation we over heard:

Mum: Why are you so stubborn? Why dun want to listen to what I say?
Child: I dun want to do it
Mum: What is your problem?
Child: My problem is you!

Mrs Teng,
missed you!

Your neighbour's gal is very smart, knows how to quarrel with her mum. mine is not so smart, open his eyes in the morning and the first thing he does is switch on the tv and watch octo. and when he is back from school, after showering, the first thing he does is also switching on the tv and watch octo... :p

can die leh, my this boy.

but one thing i will never do is to send to school far away, like your neighbour's case. cos i think proximity is very important.

shint,
why don't you ask Quan to teach you phonics? since he is learning it in school, maybe he knows? and if he is doing well, i think you just continue to let him read on his own, read lots of books and i'm pretty sure that he will pick up spelling in no time. no need to push him so much ok? he is only going to be K1 next year? 2006 baby? same same like my #2...

Shint,
i just watched the video, aiyoh, Quan is reading so well! This series of books are written based on phonics, so i think he really is ok, no need to go ICR liao. wah, good leh, you save money!

Rona

Missed you too! and your kids of cos.

My neighbour is the typical kiasu parent type. Even Kindergarden also send to Eaton House. Wat can I say? Those type who bring the gal out to shopping everyday when she was younger. Dun cook and buy hawker food type. And dun let her gals play with my small ones, like see ghost like that.

And she's the same age as me.

Mrs Teng,
i think your neighbour is more then the typical kiasu parent... she is the super-duper kiasu parent...

morning mummies. >D
ha ha...精彩,太精彩了。
long time never see this kinda posts exchange in here liao.
well...everybody have their own view to their own life, there is no definite rite or wrong unless u are in that person's shoes and noe what that person went thru b4...my teacher teach me one. =)

krex
very effective, i only used once for both pregnancy.
tested positive, do it, then kena liao. =(
cos i have a longer cycle, so i only started testing on the 14th days.
normally use 2-3 stripes, then tested ovulating soon liao.

snow,

so if u want girl, u use strip to test for ovulation and then do the deed 1-2 days before peak?

wah like that gd leh. dun need to waste money on pregnancy test kit

Wah............. all about kid's development.

So what to ask about what they teaching?
Phonics? number 1-20? got add n minus?

morning mummies. =)

sylvia
normally nursery then need to noe 1-20, K1 learn add and minus.
but kids 1-2yr old are 记忆力天才, 2-3yr old are 语言天才.
it depend on how individual mummy wanna guide + explore their own kid's ability, but once the stage is over its over lor.
hee hee....got what i mean?