(2008/08) Aug 2008

Good morning mummies : )

Von
Thanks for collating the photos.
Will send my gal one soon

Pinky
I let my maid sleep on a mattress cos she share room with my gal. No more space to put an extra bed. I got those foldable ones from seahorse so she can fold and tuck it away when not in use.

Celyn
Glad to hear yr arm healing well : )

M2B
The book sounds interesting. Is it good? My hb is not the reading kind leh maybe I shd also read and tell him the pointers.. heh.

Msapple

I can totally understand how you feel cos my #1 was also very difficult to manage at one time.
I think he is abt the same age as yr gal.. He is turning 3 end this year. And yes, I also use the cane on him when I buay tahan his nonsense. However after each caning I will feel like sh** cos I know it is no good to cane him when i am angry cos I will only be beating him out of anger. So nowadays I dun unless 101% necessary. The cane is more like a "threat".. Now he knows, when he is misbehaving I will ask him " What do you think mummy is going to do when you are not behaving? "
Then he will say " mummy cane.. I dun want cane..." Then he will stop his nonsense.

Like Shint's boy, mine also must use soft method and the praising method works totally for him. I also try to use the reward system on him. My main problem with him is he cannot sit still when having his meals so I will reward him with a after treat ie a mini connetto ice cream or his favourite dounuts.. If he dun finish his meal he will still ask for it but I will stay firm and not give him at all. Children remembers and if we do not practise what we preach to them then next time it is very easy to "manipulate" us.

When I start to discipline, nobody dare say a word. My hubby will keep quiet and if he feels that I was too harsh with him, he will tell me after everything is over and never in front of my boy. My in laws those quite manja with the grandkids one and I know they dun approve my method but they will not interfere which I appreciate. I will not want him to start running to anyone for solace once I start scolding him and he thinks he can get away with it.

Cheer up.. being a mummy is not easy. I am also still learning how to manage my boy but with patience, I think it helps alot. Now, he will still get into occasional tantrums but he knows what he will be in for once he start all the nonsense ie no more his fav tv shows, confiscate his toys, naughty corner, etc... At the end of the day I always tell myself that hopefully with the right discipline, the kids will grow up fine. Maybe after all children also go thru phases.

Hi Medusa,

Thanks...cos currently, my maid is sleeping on a bed. I'm shifting next year n was thinking not to buy a bed for her n oso not much space to put an extra bed lor as I might be converting the room for my son when he grows big...so thinking to get her foldable bed fm seahorse. What will she think if ask her slp on a mattress? The current hse belongs to my parent.

Good morning mommies!

Shint,
i think whether all these methods we discussed on handling temper tantrum toddler work or not, is ready depend on different kid, some very fast can see that their behaviour improve, some very slow. Maybe my girl is one of those that take longer time to see the improvement?. Will continue to adhere those method and help her manage her behaviour better. This is all that i can do and of cause most important is to be more patient with her ba.

hey, my #1 also alway bang on the toilet door, asking my hubby to come out accompany her. My hubby said everytime the mood to shit is spoilt by her. haha. And my girl can really keep banging non stop and keep screaming and crying UNTIL he come out. No matter how u pacify her, no any method (distraction, scolding, coaxing, rewarding) can get her to stop doing that unless the daddy really come out. You see the different! She want mean want!

hisstory,
yes it's work. but mine take very very long time to get her to give up running out of the spot. Then she will be in the spot keep shouting and crying. i told her if she stop crying for 1 minutes then i will let her come out, but still she continue and i repeated the message again after awhile. Cause scare she didnt get the message. The first time she take more than 30minutes to stop crying, subsequently it take shorter and shorter time. So it do work for my girl, now my girl take abt 10min to cool down and stop crying (if we ignore her after passing the condition message).

M2B,
I also feel that ur #1 is more guai than ur #2. #2 seem to be more active right.

missysz,
Taka member got discount / rebate now? so does it mean that the C also can get the rebate if use taka member card?

Morning Mummies

Eve & Sylvia
Happy 1st B'day to Kieren & Meredith!

eve & sylvia
happy bday to kieren & meredith! =)

m2b
sounds like a gd book ya?
maybe gotta recommend my hb this book also...hee hee...

missysz
so far hb compared the price, we agreed wait for taka member sale.
for those non-member, bb fair better. =P

msapple
nope, this weekend no taka member sale.
as usual, should be around early oct bah...?

medusa15,
mine soft method, rewarding method and the praising method doesnt seem to works very well. If we ask her to behave then I will buy ice-cream/sweet or give her watch Tv, she also dont want, (all her favourite - which I dont really want to use this to reward her, cos i scare she will threaten me with her nonsence to get her favourite which I very seldom want to let her eat. I asked the bahaviour educator and she agreed too and ask me to use sticker or drawing or toys instead but i tried, she dont want also); the more we talk to her, the more loud she is. So still the ignoring method work better but our ears got to suffer. For her If we said to confiscate anything she will cry even louder, then another round of tantrum come. Tried for sometimes, it just dont work that fast i think

snow74,
will wait for oct then but most likely will still go down to see see..hee

msapple,
alas, NO. this is not applicable for C. ;p

Morning, mommies.

Happy bday, Kieran and Meredith!

Anyone been to the Taka BB Fair yet? Any gd buys? I am looking for the Gerbers Body Wash n Shampoo. Been to many places but they said they are not bringing in liao. I especially like their Lotions... The oatmeal smells gd and very lasting. And can use very long leh. I am only finishing my 2nd bottle after 11 mths.

missysz
u are welcome. ;)
me too leh, will still go.
cos normally huggies ultra will have some discount there during bb fair, sometime the price is quite gd lor.

mel ocean, snow, mummynana,

Thks for the birthday wishes!

Time really flew past unknowingly. My baby is now 1 YR OLD!! no longer a baby but a toddler le.

Snow,
I also dunno leh. Been checking everywhere but can't find. See if I can sneek down to taka n JL sales to take a look.

Eve,
Times flies hor. Last year this time, I was still training my asst and thinking when to go on maternity leave.

Re: Maternity Leave - Balance
Have you cleared all your maternity leave? I still hv balance leh. Hw ah?

Snow,
U gng to Taka BB Fair? Can let me noe if u happen to see it?

<font color="#CD3278">good afternoon mommies</font>

<font color="#CD3278">Kieren &amp; Meredith</font>
Happy burfdae!!

<font color="#CD3278">ms apple</font>
Must be quite hard on u to be the one who's always disciplining.. Hopefully Amabel realises &amp; abides by the rules.. *jia you*

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
How do u discipline Mae? What are some areas u're already disciplining her in?

Happy Birthday to Kieran and Meredith!

Medusa &amp; Snow,
There are some pointers here and there that are applicable although the context in based in US…bottomline, father’s role in a daughter’s life is VERY IMPORTANT! =P Mother’s role is take for granted 1…father’s involvement shapes the whole life of the daughters.

Msapple,
YES! Mae is more active as compared to #1…imagine my neighbours commented last time jiejie so quiet no noise 1 hor, Mae like always screaming or shouting…tsk tsk

Hisstory,
It is not easy disciplining Mae, seriously…we tell her off sternly, she will start sobbing liao…hahaha, but we will preserve!

hisstory &amp; m2b
when u saw the sad expression on ur bb's face, u really still can be stern ah? =P
they never struggle or cry loudly, just look down quietly and drop a drop of tears...haiz...
normally made me feel like they are the 1 kena bullied, i'm wrong like that leh... -_-"

snow74,
hahahah.... yu ze also like that. he will keep very quiet, then frown and start to cry very loudly. like we are the big bully and he is very 'wei qu'.

ms apple
jia you on the behavioural training! it'll take a while. with clear rules &amp; consistency...she'll get the idea soon. with all behavioural training, i always tell parents to expect it to get worse, before it gets better. once you ride it out with clarity &amp; consistency, you'll reap your rewards later. jia you!!!

Msapple
Guess must really use a lot of perseverence and patience when disciplining our little ones.. Hang in there!

M2B
Ok thanks, will go and check it out : )

Snow
Yes I agree.. sometimes see them cry, heart also soft... then look like we are the criminals like that.My boy sometimes can see he like fighting back the tears then he "bian zui".. that sight of him is very ke lian... : (

celyn
ur yu ze still will frown and TEH u..kaer..she will only look at me lor..then walk away!..so the more i scold..the more angry i get lor..cuz she bochap one...

<font color="#CD3278">M2B &amp; snow</font>
but it's also a gd sign tt she starts sobbing yah? Tt may indicate she knows she's wrong? We also do tt with Ashley, and then she wld stare hard at us to figure out if we're scolding her. And if we glare long enough, she wld start to pout &amp; wail..

But after tt will also sayang &amp; explain what she did wrong.. My sis calls her "woman who gets hurt easily" (rong yi shou shang de nu ren)

Thanks mommies for the encouragement.
Never give up, hope her behaviour will get better and better.

M2B and hisstory,
when I told my #2 firmly or angrily not to do certain thing, she wont give a sad look or cry but will scream at me and wanna fight back, pull away my spectacle, hit my face or pull my face, the most i stop her the more she do that. Faint! My relative said my #2 seems to be no better than her sister. !!!!
When my #1 scream, she follow her scream lor. Argh... *headache*

celyn &amp; medusa
ya lor ya lor, the more they swollow their tears kinda pattern the more we started hold back our anger ya?
ha ha....sometime really wonder where they learned that from. -_-"
i laughed when i 1st saw that leh, really look on floor and drop 1 drop of tears...goodness!

hisstory
think ashley will be a very well behave gals in future, parent gotta be stern and persistent to achive that. =)

msapple
jia you!
ur effort will be paid back in future.

Msapple: It takes alot of patience to discipline the children.. Perhaps u 'shoudn't' flare up easily infront of the kids? They learn very fast.. My friend's daughter also like that.. my friend got hot-tempered n her daughter (coming 2) is like that.. not happy use her head bang the wall..aiyooh. When she angry, her kid even more angry... So she use the gentle approach n tell her nicely..or ignore her then when she cool down then ask her nice. Can u dont do this PLEASE? i think kids learn v fast... if they see u always angry.. they will also be an angry person.. tats why i tink lah. thats why i always ask my hubby dun keep swearng when driving if not baby first word will be KNN.. haa

Hisstory, Msapple &amp; Snow,
I think if parents perserve, results will show 1 day...kids nowadays really smart so its an uphill task...but we SURE can achieve it! Give ourselves a pat on the back for the past year

Snow,
Their pattern makes us wana laugh at times right? Hiaz, ku2 rou4 ji4 man!

Nini,
My hb swears when driving too!!! Don't know why they are so easily agitated when driving...tsk tsk MEN!!!

Msapple
Yes am sure our efforts will pay off someday. : )

Snow
Ya lor, so farnie yr gal! Am sure your heart abit ached when see her like that.. So drama haha!. Kids very smart nowadays....tsk tsk.

Nini
Yes I agree they pick up things very fast lor..Their mind is like a sponge.. absorb very fast and all the good and bad stuff.
Once I "wa lau" in the car and immediately my boy repeated after me. So from then on we very careful with what we say in front of him..

YLN
Hahaha! Yr kaer so cool!

m2b
ya lor...when u feel like laughing, unlikely u can act like angry liao lor. =P

medusa
when they get smarter, mummy hair will be whiter...ha ha... >D

yln
did u always walk away when hb said u?
maybe kaer pick up from there? =)
or her daddy always did that?

Nini &amp; Hisstory
Ya.. keeping the boy distracted is the way to keep his mind off my boobs! Had to bring him down for a walk.. then offer lots of snacks.. but it's working (keeping fingers crossed).

Babyemma
Cool! I'm so happy for you that Mark has taken well to cow's milk. Today I tried again for breakfast and tea.. although he doesn't quite gag as a response compared to when I give him FM. But once he sees the milk in the spoon.. he'll refuse and turn his head away. Must sneak it in when he's distracted.. sigh..

Snow
Oh! Thanks!! Now.. I wonder when my hb has time to go with us.. do you know when the fair ends?

M2B
Hee.. she's so cute!

wendy
when i first intro-ed cow's milk to E...and he saw his magmag cup with white liquid, he would turn away or push the cup away too. but it took him a week to finally accept that this is life. no boobs. poor boy. haha. but he's actually happy to see his magmag cup after his nap now and drinks from it willingly. perservere!!
good job on keeping him off ur boobs! heeeee....

Timmin
E is so adaptable
One week was all he took. I think D will take longer than that cos I think he is more dependent on my boobs than E is to yours. Haha.. but yes, I'll keep at it and pray very hard!

Oh! I'm so happy that D has finally learnt how to self-feed small pieces of food now.

AND.. he can now sign 'please', 'thank you' and 'more'! Haha..

But CANNOT talk yet.

went back to taka bb fair again cos I decided to buy the little tikes kitchen set. hahaha. shall not get the coupe this time.

rata
i saw some swimwear not sure if it's thermal

M2B
i tell bernice sternly she also not scared lei. sometimes i smack her hand to make my point across eg she likes to squeeze my breast and sometimes she will squeeze the maid's breast when my maid carry or play with her. my maid also another stupid one, she dont tell me but she like very proudly go tell my mom. so i told my maid off and said that she has to stop bernice from doing it. Bernice dont know what is right or wrong but she should know.

Wendy
I spoke to this student from NUS telling my about their studies on signing, usu the child will take longer time to speak cos they can sign what they want, so no need to speak.

Cat
Hmmm.. but other studies show that signing doesn't delay speech leh. As long as speech is always accompanied by the sign.. there shouldn't be any reason for bb not wanting to speak.

Anyway now.. although he can sign these words.. we dunno if he really understands what the words really mean yet.. haha.. but I think he is getting the hang of it. Like today during teatime, I offered him some bread &amp; jam. After that, he pointed at it and signed MORE. So I guess he knows

<font color="#CD3278">ms apple</font>
*jia you* okie? Parenting is no mean feat and we aren't born with the abilities. We take time, and somehow we wld get the hang of it.. Hopefully very soon for u!

Sure hope tt Aisleyne wld be easier to discipline after she sees how firm u are twd Amabel

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
*cross my fingers &amp; toes* Coz i think my father has forgotten abt parenting skills, so i notice he speaks to/scolds my almost 3yo niece like he is twd an adult

Quite worried tt Ashley might follow my niece's footsteps.. *argh*

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
It's truly quite amazing tt I actually survived 1 yr of parenthood, and it really didn't seem so bad afterall!

Oh btw, men aren't the only one who get agitated when driving.. I get pissed off when there are bad drivers on the road too! hahah, but I dun swear lah.. I wld glare! Swear no use lah, they can't hear us!

<font color="#CD3278">timmin &amp; Wendy</font>
Ashley had her 1st FM just now!
Gave the bottle to her &amp; then she gave a strange look.. Dunno issit coz she cld smell/taste tt it was diff fr BM.. Anyway, she took to it like a pro aftertt..

Now I've got to figure out how to properly cut down my pump sessions.. BF sure doesnt seem as diff as stopping it

<font color="aa00aa">Eve/Sylvia</font>
Happy First Birthday to Kieren &amp; Meredith!!

<font color="aa00aa">April</font>
happy advanced birthday to Denzel!

<font color="aa00aa">Msapple</font>
I am so amazed at your patience and firmness with ur #1, thanks for sharing! She will appreciate it all you have done for her when she is a mother in the future!

Wendy,
I'm also trying to teach Isaac to sign. I've so far seen him sign 'hungry' and 'more'... but I oso dunno if it's just a coincidence or if he understands the meaning of it. But anyways, I think the fun is really in being able to communicate with baby... talking will happen eventually - unless there's other underlying problems... so I'm not too concerned abt that - yet. I've been doing 'thank you' quite regularly, but he hasn't done it back yet.

Snow,
Yalor, their bian zui expression makes us wana laugh and immediately forget abt their wrongs liao...

Hisstory,
I oso find Mae's 1st year passed by too fast...hoping time will slow down abit...yes, it isnt that bad after all =P

Cat,
Mae likes to pinch my hand so I will always tell her sternly no...dun know if she understd...find that Mae quite scared of hb so maybe can get hb to discipline her...heehee

Rbr to take pic of Bernice's new toy to show us...must be very fun to play with...