(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn
gd to hear that, very fast u can carry and play with yu ze liao. =)

many ceo dun have flying result in their studies u noe?
yet they earn big $, no worry in eat and wear kind.
btw, chose drunstick doesn't mean he can't study leh.....whose logic lah?
ha ha.... >D

rona
ur fren can go to dyslexia association or KKH for her child to be assessed. KKH assess children up to 6yrs. but if i'm not wrong, i had a student who obviously has dyslexia, but he couldn't get diagnosed for dyslexia till 7(? not sure). this isn't my area of specialisation. so maybe ur fren can call them up and enquire. sorry can't be of much help.

snow74,
yu ze's father logic loh. hahahah.....

i already carry yu ze once in a while but not often. use my right hand to carry him and left hand just sort of support a bit.

Nana,
I used Ecreative for a Piglet 3D cake for #1 4years+ ago...the cake is nice looking but must compromise on the taste though

Snow,
You tekan your sis...just joking...
My parents and ILs dun practise that so we didnt do too =P
Haha, I prefer my gals to be the women behind the successful men so as to enjoy life mah...dun want them to work so hard...=P

Celyn,
Glad that your hand is recovering well...can't wait to carry YZ right?

celyn
ha ha...think his father is abit too gan cheong liao ya? =P

m2b
cos she take care of them during day time leh, so its easier for her to prepare all those things lor....hee hee....any excuses u can think of lah.
agree, no need to be so tired. =)
but its abit stressful to live in the so-called upper class, so prefer they have a normal + peaceful life.

snow74,
this man, everything also kan cheong one lah. already told me not to watch tv when yu ze study in future. what you think leh.

Nini,
mine exactly like what you said, is because she jealous of the 2nd one coming along, and the way my girl behave is exactly like what you said but more worst cause she tend to hurt herself to get the attention. What I usually do is ignore her totally, letting her scream and cry till she siong. But when outside, it depend i will let her scream till she siong, if really disturbing, then i will carry her out of the place to a quite corner let her cry till she happy.

Snow74,
eh....that is what my parent and in law think lah. My girl called me "Monster" when I get real angry. My hubby said when I ki siao, i really crazy but of cos wont hurt my girl lah, just that can be really loud and fierce. But just trying to make my girl scare of me lah. Every year CNY, when MIL give me ang bao and said some blessing word, she will said 祝你身体健康,..., 脾气好一点。Argh... since we married every years she sure said this to me

hisstory,
yah you are right, now my girl angry, the expression exactly the same as mine, my hubby said really look like me lor. lol~
I use naughty corner when she's 2 years old

msapple,

Snow,
We just want the best for our kids =)
Now reading the book "Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters"...quite nice...hb won't read 1 so I read then tell him lor...jialat rite?

Msapple,
My hb is the 1 with bad temper and my MIL everytime nag at hime to control his temper (think she appreciates me more for tolerating his son??) hahaha

I guess whenever 1 totally lose our cool, we can really be a different person...me last time also very bad, now with kids liao, better

celyn
think most man are so nag ya?
hee hee... =P

msapple
when ppl ki siao liao, mostly will be fierce lah.
not only u....hee hee...i can't remember what i used to slap #1 face before also, cos so tired liao she still so choosy and dun coorperate. =P
as long as u noe u are doing something gd for ur gal, should persist on.
others wun noe till they see the whole pics, especially mil. =X

snow74,
i also leh. the pregnancy book that i bought, i pass to hubby to read. then he will tell me things i need to know. hahahah..... i don't like reading.

Snow/ Celyn,
I noe the cake is nice but very ex lor. Some more, he wans to add cubes wif the letters ANVELLE and a figure 1 leh. The lunch at Fullerton will kill me liao lor... Machiam marrying daughter like tat. Now tt Fullerton allows me to decorate wif balloons, I hv to get some too. Where do u mummies get ur balloon bouquets from ah?

Snow,
You are a lucky gal. I am always the one reading den like news broadcaster like tat, present the summary to my hb.

M2B,
Both my hb and i have very bad tempers. Even Anvelle is showing her colours now at 11 mths. Next time she grow up dunno hw ah... Sigh sigh

How to send pictures to von ? PM cannot send attachement mah ... must have her email is it ?

hisstory,
if Adel is asking for a new wardrobe, he won't get it that way ! hahahaa... first he was stripping his bottom in the play pan, then later threw it down the balcony, then he fell head down into the bin. I agree with you, he is really hilarious ! Wonder whose genes that is ? hehehe..

YLN,
not on half day ! Just going for election training so no need to go school ! 9 - 5.30 leh !
BTw, can still join gym free trial ?

Celyn,
sorry to say that, but if close friends do that , are they really that close to you? hmmmmm.......

Msapple,
I use naughty corner now for adel not that he understands lah. Just put him in the play pan and let him cry like mad. but he is one year old, so one min only lah ! hahahha !

celynlee and snow74,
so good ur hubby will read and summarise for you all. I am the one who read alot.

snow74,
yah true but to them they said until like I very jialat like that. But sometime think about it, shouldnt beat them out of anger lah. but really very very angry

happy_mummy,
same, i also put my #2 down in playpen, just let her cry till she stop (now she now she cant get the way out so cry for awhile will stop). Cause very difficult to carry her, she want me to carry still want to struggle when I carry her. pek chek!

celyn
read less than 10mins, he will find me sleeping liao. =P

mummynana and msapple
envy u, have the skill to read and present. =)

msapple
if still can ctrl hor, its not consider very angry liao rite?
i feel guilty that time is cos i slapped on her face, which after that dun think its gd ya?
can cane hand cane leg, but face...hmm...

<font color="#CD3278">ms apple</font>
Sometimes when we sit back &amp; think abt how the way kids mimic adults, it's really quite funny!

But at the end of the day, we need to show tt we mean business &amp; really persist in it.. Cannot give in, otherwise we wld be very jialat..

What kind of a naughty corner? I'm just thinking coz now they are already mobile, so they can zao fr tt corner.. How to make sure they stay there?

<font color="#CD3278">happy mummy</font>
heheh, Adel's mummy a 'cher leh.. Surely she wun give in so easily! heheh

Ur genes lah.. U funny also mah!

Hmm, u going for elections training somewhere at West Coast yah? Boring place &amp; training.. Bring sthg to read. Btw, u fasting now?

hisstory,
yes , west coast ! But going with hubby, so makes it better ?(actually I not sure also ! ) Will bring things to mark ! I have TONS of marking liao ! and yes, I am fasting =)

I just put adel in the play pan cause the play pan is in a corner ? otherwise put in exersaucer at a corner, he cannot climb out yet ! hahaha .. good idea or not ?!!

Btw, I PM you.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Aug baby collage</font>
Please email your photo to Von at [email protected]

<font color="0000ff">msapple,</font>
Your girl so sweet will cover blanket for mei mei. My #1 sometimes will behave that way also, he will hug his mei mei and said I love my mei mei and I share my things with her. But then when he not happy or when he jealous he will just push away her mei mei lo. sigh. . .

Think my temper worse than yours coz your MIL dare to ask you pi qi hao yi dian, mine dun even dare to speak out anything infront of me, so my hubby suffer lo. ha!!

Snow, Celyn &amp; Msapple,
My hb doesn't like to read books so I read then tell him his importance in the gals' lives...find it jialat man...hahaha

Snow,
I find the book not bad but context in US so might not be that relevant but some pointers here and there are good...I like 1 point "Be The Man You Want Her To Marry" =P

Nana,
My temper used to be bad too but think compared to hb's, mine is chix feet and I find my temper getting better with #2 lor...

M2B,
I agree with you on the point, "Be the Man You Want Her to Marry".
I told my hb that, so that Chevelle's future hubby will be a gd one just like her daddy.
I told him up to him to believe it, cos I think most girls marry somebody who is like their daddy.
I suppose, somewhat true in my case.
I told him, u dowan Chevelle to marry somebody lousy right? So he better buck up lo...
Then he keep quiet, never say anything. haha

there is also a saying tat a man usually picks a wife who possess similar qualities/traits like his mommy...so for those who has a son, please protray correct image for good DIL..;p

cocomo,
was very busy... #2 sick, whole nite cannot sleep coughing and having fever. been like that for 2 nites liao! i walking around looking like vampire - dark eye circle and very pale face... what is this Aug baby collage?

Jen,
Got to wait leh, no time to post and got to re-size! i'm very bad with re-sizing!

cocomo,
my relationship with my in law not bad actually, we still can talk and laugh one so that y she still said that to me, want me to change.

Think sibling are like that ba, jealous but after all are still sibling, staying under one roof, same blood, so will still love each other one?

Hisstory,
My daughter behaviour educator taught me to find a corner that is empty with nothing that will interest her, must be very safe to put her there. If it is an open space at a corner and if she tends to zaos from that corner, keeps carrying her back to that spot. I did that, and the scene is like fighting like that; struggling, screaming...

This is what I taught and do after seeing the psychiatric and Behaviour educator.

How to manage tantrum

Ignore tantrums; must be completely ignored. Do not look or speak to her. If it is safe walk away and pay no attention to her until tantrum stops. As soon as she is quiet and behave well, praise her
If tantrum does not stop, tell her what they have done wrong and the consequence. You have not done what mama asked. Now go to naughty corner. Take her to an uninteresting but safe room or space. Tell her she must be quiet for 1 minutes before they can come out. Give reminder even though she might be upset or angry.
Return to her when she has been quiet for a minute, prasie her for behaving well. If tantrum occur again, return them tonaughty corner again
If tantrum occurs when you are out, use ignoring aforementioned method if possible. If not possible, may need to use quite time which involve a safe and quiet place to sit with the child. Tell your child they must sit quietly for about 30 secs. If the child does not quieten down, as a last resort pick them up, go home and take them straight to time-out.
If managed well, it are less common in 3 and 4 year olds.
As children learn to solve problems in other ways, they have fewer tantrums.
They may not outgrow of tantrums without the help from parent.
So now part of our task is to teach her to manage frustration and express anger in appropriate ways.

5 things we need to do and carry out when we get home;
1. Warning; give 3 warnings
2. Time-out (naughty corner)
3. Praise (hugs) and reward (a sticker) often whenever she behaves well
4. Ignore difficult behaviours ~ cry/scream it out * only return when she stops
5 Eliminate boredom
Don't resort to cane them, but explain to them - this is the fail part about me now.

happy_mummy,
think 1 year old toddler is still too young to know what is naughty corner ba. Mine can climb up and trying to get out of the playpen and exersaucer le

<font color="0000ff">Rona</font>,
aiyo hope your #2 get well soon. sayang for me! You also must take care k.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Aug 08 Toddler collage</font>
Von is very kind to offer collate all the photos of our toddlers at 1 year old and do a collage for us. Whoever interested please email her your toddler photo at [email protected]

<font color="0000ff">msapple</font>,
My relationship with IL not bad la just that I am very fierce when scolding or caning my kid so they also dare not interfere. Furthermore they staying in Msia so still 相见好 lo. ha. . .

msapple,
I'll share on how I handle my #1.

I've concluded that hard methods dun work well with my #1. Praises do. He is the CHI LUAN BU CHI YIN kind. Though he is scared of my hubby beating him but praises works better for him.

I dun beat him that often but sometimes I do when I am really angry. What I do is to take away things he treasures most .... ie, Story telling time at nite where I read him a minimum of 3 story books. I'll minus one if he misbehaves and add 1 if he is a good boy. I tried to use hard method, end up he more mischievious and do the same thing. Then I started the praises ..... he;ll come back and tell me "Mama, the bus auntie say I good boy" "Mama, teacher says I am a good boy" and he wants me to give him praises and rewards for being a good boy. Even sometimes he misbehaves, I'll pretend I din bother and tell him I prefer him to behave - not to be bad mannered.

Sometimes when he dun listen, I'll reduce his TV time, tell him he cannot play his favourite toy .... so far it works for him. Nagging him, beating him dun work well cos with their short memory of pain (their memory on the rules are great!) .... they'll quickly repeat the same mistakes.

I noticed that it might not be that they are purposely doing it but they may not be so aware of it and do that thing that makes us mad. Furthermore, they'll learn punishments are the way and will do that to others.
I do punish #1 and ask him to stand on a piece of paper and cannot move around and once, i told Kai Kai not to do certain things and Kai Kai still continued. #1 saw and then told me "Mama, I think Didi wants to stand on paper" (to be punished). So he learnt that don't listen to mama means standing on paper. Either beating or standing on paper(naughty corner) does have an emotional impact on them. I've stopped the paper punishment. hehee.

How about trying out the praising method? say, when she does not do things that make you angry, you will praise her and reward her? and that u are really happy with her.
Of course need to punish when necessary but not so often till it does not matter to her if you punish them or not.

Ultimately what they want is for us to love them.

Perhaps to let them know we still love them but their actions are not right. I'll also make a deal with my #1 and do the GOU GOU SHOU ZHI and say "It's a deal" - make it more fun to have him follow the rules. Then again it works for him quite ok cos he is ok with following rules and he prefers to avoid the punishments.

It's not easy but we;ll have to come up with different methods to work with the different kids, to counter their "patterns". Hope you can find something useful.

msapple,
Jus read what you post on the 5 items. You're right.

1. Warning; give 3 warnings (by the count of 2, my #1 will slowly stop his nonsense)

2. Time-out (naughty corner) - Mine was the stand on paper or to cut his favourite TV time, story books.

3. Praise (hugs) and reward (a sticker) often whenever she behaves well - I'll check with him what happened and praise him for being a good boy cos nothing else happened. Dont wait for -ve things to happen then react .... be proactive so she knows she dun do anything, she'll already get your attention and happy face.

4. Ignore difficult behaviours ~ cry/scream it out * only return when she stops
---> I'll tell my son to stop crying because I'll say "Darling, stop crying cos I cannot hear you .... " "I cannot hear what you say if you are crying" "Please speak clearly and not cry cos I don't know what you want"...... then #1 will stop and articulate what he wants which of course I know and then I'll explain to him. by then he cooled down liao and stopped crying oredi cos he needs to speak properly ma.

5 Eliminate boredom -- this one ... hmmm, I am teaching him now how to get himself busy and not always getting attention from adults cos he vv bored. Boys get more hyperactive. I told him he can play his toys, read a book, turn on the music or go play with Didi - a lot of things to do isn't?

happy_mummy,
Adel so cute, can throw his pants out of the balcony. if u had captured that on video, it'll be so cute!! hehee.

Happy Birthday to Baby Anna &amp; Phil...

We are getting to the end of Aug liao... most babies will have their BD celebration aledi...
time flies, my baby aledi 13 months young... hahah....

Shint,
the behaviour educator taught us something like this too, and we do follow Till now we still do that but still she throw tantrum often and is not easy to get her stop except ignoring her. But of cos with the educator's advice and methods, it do get better compare to last time but still very stressful to handle her

Re: Aug Toddler Collage
Heehee... My Sep bb can join in the fun ma?

valnsw, missysz,
I would agree on tat. I chose a hb wif the same fiery temper as my dad and the same love for cars and adult remote control toys. So they are always full of topics to talk abt. But I hope my gal doesn't go for someone like her dad though. I hope she has a more proactive n romantic hb to love her...

msapple,
someone has to do it lor. my hubby will not do anything until he gets damn pissed. I guess mommies will take on this role .... that's why we are vv WEI DA. It's not an easy task but we're here to support each other. Keep it up ;)

I think in time to come, we'll be glad we took that effort to help them manage their behaviour better. For my #1, it's his hyperactiveness and constant needing attention - his teachers are telling me that he needs to learn not to ask for so much attention. I thikn he is bored that's why. They said his learning is good but due to that, hé is also distracting the other kids and leading them to "rebel"in class and teachers sometimes finds it a challange to manage him cos his pattern is ever changing and amazingly creative.

He's always asking for someone to accompany him to do everything - watch TV, play toys, etc etc. I am in toilet bathing he oso come bang the door and wants to come in ... i din allow that and told him to go play with his toys. I need some timeout oso know ;)

Cocomo, mel,

Tbanks for the email address ! I've sent the photo ! =)

hisstory,
I replied your mail. Pls check ya ?

Shint,
the problem is, I din see him throw it down ! He was sitting by the grill of the balcony and I saw him trying to throw his bib down. When I went to stop him, I saw him sitting in his diapers only ! When I looked down, the pants was downstairs liao !

Krex &amp; Snow
Thanks.. will have to keep out for those sales then

M2b
Wow.. haha.. even fisherman's friend? That is quite hard core!! Haha.. which flavour does she like?

Hisstory
Yes.. sure looking forward to hearing your good news

Just as I was lamenting abt how often D suckles.. today there was a breakthrough.

He woke up as usual at 530am so I nursed him. Then he napped from 730-8am. My hb was with him and I disappeared into the bedroom cos we thought we.. or rather my hb can try offering him the bottle with cow's milk after he wakes up. Didn't work of course.. my MIL then came and kept him entertained (otherwise, he'd demand to be nursed upon waking up). My hb and MIL left for work at about 815am. I left with them and brought him to the market to buy spinach. Came home.. and fed him breakfast.. then bathed him. He only fussed to nurse at about 10am!! Happiness.. that's like a 4.5hr interval!

Then in the late morning, I went to my parents' place. He nursed again at about 1pm and napped till 2pm. After that.. didn't nurse again till about 6pm!!

Wonder if this pattern will continue tmw. The only thing is that my MIL won't be around to entertain him when my hb showers and get ready for work. Which means I'll either have to bring him down earlier to take a walk or try and keep him distracted with other stuff.

Will let you know how it goes!!

Wendy: Braiden still wants to be nursed to sleep.. abt 2-3x a day. Besides that he takes well to solids so he dont 'snack' on mommy's milk so much. :p Keep him distracted or give him some baby snacks to eat ba?

<font color="#CD3278">ms apple</font>
Ah, tt's how it works.. So have to keep repeating putting them there, and the conditions in which they can be 'released'

Oh yah, like Aisleyne, Ashley can also climb out of the walker.. hahah..

<font color="#CD3278">val</font>
I agree! I think most women marry man who are quite like their fathers.. heheh

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
Tt's a major improvement! Sounds like as long as he's distracted enough, he can avoid relying on ur boobs.. heheh!

bring him to the playgrd? Then he can get distracted by the kids &amp; the fun!

Keep us posted!

<font color="#CD3278">happy mummy</font>
Got it!

Drinking fresh milk

today mark finished an entire packet of magnolia freshmilk small pack 200ml

well i put the milk in magmag straw bottle and gave it to him to hold....for half an hour he held it in his hand and he finished it all by himself...

no forcing..no caoxing..i just let him hold it and with other hand...he played with his toy, sucked, watch tv, played with toy, sucked....repeat...repeat... and finally finished the milk!

so happy this is the first time Mark has drunk anything more than 30ml of milk(non-breastmilk) at one time

im begining to understand now...Mark is drinking just like when he's breastfeeding..i think my boobie lets down in small quantities and mark feeds for about half an hour each time...when he was a 1-3 mths old baby he would feed for one hour sometimes...( i call this grazing...like the sheep eating grass..eat small amounts but eat whole day and can eat alot)

so i guess...ive found my milk solution...can probably stop breastfeeding soon Hooray!

Oh and have to add..i think its really hard to suck on the straw....i tried it!

so i guess like breastfeeding..he has to work hard for his milk..that's why he enjoys it

sigh and all this while i thought i had to make the hole bigger and bigger on the advent teat so that he would drink more!

morning mummies. =)

wendy
receive an email by gaia that they are having some promo in taka bb fair, u might like to try?

happy_mummy,
Now I can understand why sometimes I see pants, bibs, diapers below the flats, apartments.. hhahaa. Used to wonder how come diapers are not in the rubbish chute , now it has come to light ;)

Mommies who are going to the Gymboree trial tomorrow ...
I've misplaced my voucher ... find here find there cannot find leh ....how?
means I cannot go oredi is it? anyone going has extras??

morning mummies

rata
i went to the fair yesterday. bumped into gayle and her pretty maid there too ;p it's the usual stuff. most brands on 20% eg mustela, pigeon, avent, combi, etc. can trade in old bottles and buy the wide neck pigeon at half price.

Good Morning Mommies!

Snow &amp; Val,
The book teaches how importance daddy’s role is in the life of the daughter…I’m trying to finish it fast and do pointers for my hb…hope he buck up too! Hahaha

Msapple,
My #1 scared that I ignore her so will behave but I see in Mae a totally diff character…Mae won’t take it hard 1, must try the soft way and must be really really patient man…I very scared I can’t discipline Mae coz #1 so much easier to discipline…hiaz

Guess there is no right or wrong way of discipline, just which way works with which kid?

Wendy,
Believe it or not, Mae likes everything so any flavour will do…minty sweets that my #1 said too hot, Mae takes it like any normal sweets…my SIL said Mae’s hobby is eating…hahahaha

mommies,
i was just wondering...it is better to buy during take member sale where we can get 20% + 10% discount? haha..any shopaholic mommies can advise?