(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hee! Hee! Nowadays have to log in when D is asleep. Have to keep him away from the computer when he's awake. He has discovered the off/on button of my computer and has been playing with it until my computer when kaput!

Nini's survey:-

Mrs N's D
1) How many times a day is your baby drinking and how much is he/she drinking on average?
breakfast ~ 80-100ml, afternoon ~ 80-100ml, evening ~ 180-200ml. But he has whole milk with breakfast cereal (~ 50 -100ml) and sometimes yogurt for desert.

2) Where does he/she drink from? (milk bottle/sippy cup/straw cup/baby cup)
Sippy cup, bottle (last feed only)

3) What FM are you giving?
Nil

4) Still latch-on? How many times?
Nil

hisstory D has shown interest in picking up the spoon and feeding himself so should encourage him to do so. Besides he seems to enjoy it. Will make life a whole lot easier if he is a bit more independent. Nowadays I just help him load the spoon and he will grab it and feed himself. Thank goodness it's not as messy as I thought it would be.

krex maybe you could try letting Jonah pick something else to eat, like his favourite fruit? Guess you just got to keep encouraging him or better still eat along with him. He might try and copy you.

Mrs Teng wow your cake is such a work of art! Well done.

Timmin I've started weaning D to wholemilk but I'm adding it to his cereal at the moment. He's still on EBM. But will slowly replace EBM with wholemilk eventually for other feeds.

babyemma I think it is more painful to watch another person in labour. I remember watching a video on labour a week before I delievered and thinking 'oh no do I have to go through all of this!!!' Yah the pain is slowing becoming a distant memory. However now that I know what labour pains are really like I wonder if I'll have the courage to go through it without any pain relief again.

morning mummies

YeEEEEah, TGIF!

Rata
Woah, spoon feed can feed that much....

Mrs Teng
The pooh can look vibrant & nice! yummy...

Dongle
ur maid classic le, she got no brain? use bleech to wash bb's cloth! Ai yo....

morning mommies. =)

twinstar
once maid's hand started to be itchy, u got no choice but to return her le.
cos u wun noe what else she will touch next. =(

sylvia
ya....cos i'm those easily forget thing type of person, so gotta ask whenever i remember lor. =P

Can we do a suvery

snow74's zynn:
1) How many times a day is your baby drinking and how much is he/she drinking on average?
4 times, 150ml.

milk bottle.

friso

nope...cos she bite me.... -_-"

Can we do a survey

Eve's Kieren
1) How many times a day is your baby drinking and how much is he/she drinking on average? -
180ml (3 times a day)

milk bottle - he'll drink from bottle 1st. He'll usually drink half of the amt then refuses to suck. I'll transfer the remaining milk into a cup n feed him by spoon.

Friso Gold

no

morning mummies

Yuuri/Krex/mel_ocean/nini,
bernice will do the same.. the min she sees the milk bottle she will shake her head furiously and will start crying.. wah lau.. milk only lei not like i trying to give her injection or what. so i just BF her to calm her down, then I will slowly bring out the bottle and then i try to give her again. i succeed 50% of the time. haha. but if she drinks she is not fussy about what milk. i give isomil/enfa/similac.. anything also can. only IF she wants to drink.

gayle
bernice sometimes will be diff to feed. she has this really irritating habit that she likes to be fed with chopsticks. i think why is cos when we steam the fish prev we will use chopsticks to feed her. dangerous i know but started with my mom la. anyways.. now if she is not in the mood she wont open her mouth to the spoon. but we use chopsticks to feed her the porridge she will open cos she associates it with fish. but occasionally she will know it's not fish then we have to dig into her porridge to find the fish give her.. then she happy .. eat .. then we give porridge again. damn irritating !!!!

dongle
wah .. ur maid is bad !!! my fren maid also ever do such "black magic" stuff to the kids to make them listen to her so as to make her job easier.

nini
bernice drinks cordycep + red dates water every alternate weeks. my mom will double boil then we give her to drink for a course of like 3 days. about 150ml a day replacing water.

Can we do a suvery

1) How many times a day is your baby drinking and how much is he/she drinking on average? 4-5 times. each time 150ml

bottle

3) What FM are you giving? enfa/similac/isomil/meiji

yes. 3X at least

Rata;
Impressive.... mine use syringe feed sometimes take 45mins to finish 160ml. Depends on my xiao jie's mood one, sometimes 20mins she able finish all.

snow,
sometimes i think is it becos i am at home alot so i SEE more things or mistakes. when i go out alot, she is a perfect maid n very helpful. my mil loves my maid n say she is very gd cos she ask my maid to do everything when she comes to my place including taking care of gg n bathing her, changing etc. i must say she is detailed in some areas like cooking 4 gg n cleaning. she is more meticulous than my sil;s maid. so i ask myself am i expecting too much. but now is a matter of character flaw n not mistakes anymore.

babyemma,
its becos of these labour docs that i procrastinate starting a family until now. i have fear of giving birth since 12 yrs old! dun give up trying but dun b too stressed either. no mense doesnt mean u r not ovulating. all the best

Can we do a survey

twin star;s gg
1) How many times a day is your baby drinking and how much is he/she drinking on average? -
180ml, 150ml, 120ml, 210ml ( 4times )

milk bottle - still medium teats
will choke on straw cos suck too much then spits everything out

Nan HA 2
( dunno when to switch to level 3 tat starts frm 10mths )

no

twinstars
maybe gotta really find a time to sit down and talk to her properly?
find out what she is thinking, and let her noe she will lost her job if she continue to have itchy hand.
but after much scolding and she still repeat the same mistake, then i think its a problem of mentality which nothing can change ya? =)

i understand ur feeling, cos its damn sian to train another maid all over again....especially when u dunno if that new maid is anything better rite?

dongle
ur maid from indon?
most of them noe abit of this black magic thingy 1, but mostly use it to protect themselve lor.

babyemma,
The barney mascot is from Mr Bottle. Is a package together with face painting, balloon sculpturing.

Can we do a suvery

Msapple's Aisleyne
4 times of breastmilk. Morning=200ml -220ml, breakfast=100ml + cereal/bread, noon=200ml -220ml, Night-latch on

milk bottle

All breastmilk unless cannot meet the demand then enfalac A+(if needed to give FM). Planning to intro freshmilk soon

yes. 1 times at least

dongle,
Scary! Your maid is indo or Phil? If indo i can go ask my maid whether she knows what is that.

rata;
i dun know, may be is the milk bottle scare her, when A saw me prepare milk, she crawl away le.... Her reaction told me that how much she hate milk...

morning mommies! TGIF but i have to work tomorow. shucks! stupid company..;p

mrs teng,
nice cake! i saw in FB just now. next time can order birthday cake or anniversary cake from you but u stay abit far from me. hee...maybe we can have another gathering then we get cakes from you? hee

dongle,
Thank God that you have sent that maid off! She is so scary. I hope the lil pops on Cayla are better or gone now!

Krex, msapple,
what brand of fresh milk do you recommend? serve cold? J is not into his milk these days too. I also don't want to force him liao..

Rata, A used to drink smilac, nan, now enfa.... may be mix 1x pediasure in future... me oso dun where went wrong, waste a lots money on FM milk & yet A dun appreciate....

tree nymph
yea man...lucky my acct servicing person say can go liao, no point staying since client cannot give approval. Argh. I worry kena another late night today! Sianz...

dongle
whoa u stressed siah...today is not a TGIF for me siah...bleah.

This morning woke up earlier to 'pei' my lil Falisha and play with her abit. Hahaha...feel better. Seeing her perks up my day loh! haha...(for now)

She duno learn from where how to dance and twist her hands n waist left to right whenever she hears music or watching her dvds, and like squatting up n down then become like bouncing...haha so funny! LOL..

morning mummies

i just wake up after sending yu ze to babysitter at 615am. so shiok, didn't know i sleep till so late.

dongle,
oh no. so scary.

sam,
i send you the dumax voucher yesterday. finally did it, paiseh.

carseat survey

Cat - Maxi-cosi
celynlee - concord (from mothercare)

rata;
me not so worry nowaday, A solids intake consider ok & i'll intro calcium in other forms, may be give cheese..... If A stop drinking FM, i can't force her anymore, my PD said at least she got drink for her 1st yr. ask me not to worry....

Now she oleli turn 1, 能喝多少就多少, can't force her....

missysz,
I will wait for another 2 weeks before intro whole milk to Aisleyne. I prefer Pura brand. I used to give meiji brand to Amabel (elder girl) but i found that meiji is using old milk from a report sometime ago so after that not very comfortable in giving that anymore. Still give but not that frequent.
For me I will only serve it cold cos warm it will easily intro bacteria. I only simmer (not boil as the milk to hot only when is for cooking otherwise it will corgulate)

Maybe when I more free, i will start to make soya milk for Aisleyne. If not Soya pork stock.
Soya = iron
iron = brains!!
that iron is the thing that forms the brain intelligience!!!!

hehe

Timmin
Hey.. have been hoping to catch you online at FB.

Wanted to ask abt E taking UHT milk. In what mode is he drinking it?

I've still not succeeded in getting D to take FM. He is still gagging. Tried Similac, Isomil and Nestle already. My friend passed me some Friso so will perhaps let him try it this afternoon (if time permits).

But this morning after reading that you started E on UHT, I let D try some. Reaction not as strong as to when given FM but still 'shivered' - at least no gagging. Sigh.. how man like that. how to wean the fella off my boobs?! I only managed to give him a few spoonsfuls of UHT.

Then today he also rejected his breakfast cereal TOTALLY. Double sigh.. he has been taking it pretty ok for weeks then today dunno what happened. So.. went to buy CHEERIOS and will try feeding him that for breakfast tmw.

Oh yes.. wanted to ask also. How come E took his MMR/Chix Pox at 12mths? My PD told us to bring him back for it at 15mths.

Otherwise.. hope all has been well with the two of you

msapple
after what u wrote, tomorrow onwards very difficult to find soya beans le...and soya beans price will goes up. =P
ha ha...

re: maid
my maid is indonesian... checked with my malay colleagues & the malay cleaner at my place that it's a piece of quran writings on the outside but inside the pouch, duno what isit... BUT they say it doesn't look good & ask me to throw far far away... they also say that seems that she has planted in purposely to cause harm & ask us to make a police report... HB just went to NPP & now gg to call MOM & agency... what a drama siah... last night i couldnt sleep till 2am+ cos kept thinking & felt extremely uncomfortable... damn sian with all this maid thingy...

msapple,
How to make soya milk or soya pork stock ah? hehe...better buy this afternoon, tomorrow probably no more stock liao!

dongle,
Can imagine how chilling it is...you might wanna do a thorough clean up of your place to see if there's anymore strange artifact.

wah lau...my staff just made a mistake that cost herself $50. feel bad for her, but is her own fault. what till u guys here the story, u wouldn't believe got this kind of customer too.

someone ordered takeaway, another staff passed the $50 to the cashier to pay. Cashier thought $50 is from couple at table 2 and proceeded to process their bill. when the take away is ready, then the 2 staff realised the miscommunication, the $50 is from the takeaway customer n not the couple at table 2. but u know what, the couple at table 2 took back the change from the $50 that wasn;t even theirs to begin with n they left!!

aiya, i also dunno what to do. if wrong order, i can cancel and will not ask the staff to pay. but this is a $50 that if i were to pay i'd have to come from my own pocket. $50 not much, but to the staff is quite alot i guess...but their own stupid mistake lah. not first time somemore. she offer to pay the $50 straightaway n i didnt say anything. i was just amazed that the couple actually took the change n left! talk about a free meal, this one u get paid somemore! bad karma coming their way!

is it v bad that i let the staff pay herself?

sometimes ah...their mistakes can kill me one. yesterday, someone ordered a bottle of white wine, she go open red one. (another staff not the same $50 one) ehh...i ask her she want to take home n drink or not? she say ya, so i charge her cheap cheap $20. this one still ok, our own stock can give big discount. but today one is $50 out of no where lor!

still cannot believe got this kind of customer! how on earth can u take change back when u didnt even pay yet! n then quietly leave!!! n they ate like only $15 + so can u imagine, they took abt $30 n left. if like this they also happy, good luck to them.

snow,
hiaz. sian....

dongle,
my indo friends that keep a black pouch that has stones inside is to protect themselves. anything diff, like black mesh is ...............questionable liao
can feel yr frust. hang in there

Gayle,
Last time I worked in F&B during school hols, and we are expected to cover for such mistakes ourselves...I think I recall a colleague's table just walked off without paying and the company did offer to cover half the cost cos it was a few hundred bucks. Cos that restaurant was v happening and crowded at that time....

Your that couple also must be smiling from ear to ear...free meal +money!

Btw, you mentioned before your restaurant is called E-Sarn issit? Did you have an outlet at sixth ave before?

hmmm...ya i think she shd cover the mistake herself. maybe i will pay half from the tip money so not so tough on her.

yuuri
yup is same as sixth ave one. my mum running that one, now im running pasir panjang one. u eaten there b4?

<font color="#CD3278">yuuri</font>
hahah.. U're funny ah! Okie lah, u smart mummy..

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
Oh gdness.. I really hope tt stuff she left behind was unintentional..
Wld u still be getting Indo maid like this?

<font color="#CD3278">Gayle</font>
Aiyoh, such unscrupulous ppl w/o integrity.. So u're going to ask tt staff to pay tt $50? I also dunno if I were in ur shoes..

<font color="#CD3278">MrsN</font>
I was looking at Ashley the other day &amp; i was tempted to let her try feeding herself. Finger fd she has no probs, it's spoon feeding now.. But when we let her play with a spoon &amp; 'ask her to feed us', she can more or less do it.. Maybe I shd try for fun

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
Sounds like fun!! heehee.. When's the party??

<font color="#CD3278">Huichin</font>
*cross fingers &amp; toes* tt u dun have to work till so late today!!

hi dongle - does ur maid kmow u sending her away? Maybe she knows that is why she puts all these weird things. Ya better destroy and check carefully ur entire house to see now such stuff...If u r a Christian, can ask ur pastor to do a blessing on ur house.

Hisstory,
Oops I tink I'm late..Happy Birthday to Ashley!!

I love your balloon bouquet, very sweet leh!
And oh, where did u get the inflated ball pit slide? looks fun!

Gayle,
Oh, E-sarn is your family's? We like the food! Have not been at the sixth ave one lately though. How's the one at your side? Are the cook the same or do you have to train again?

Tsk tsk tsk - the customer really got no integrity!

Gayle,
Your family got Thai blood? Last time, I always see E-sarn when I go to the post office, but never had a chance to try cos cannot find parking. Is the sixth ave one still there?

Hisstory,
Its just a dinner - at a restaurant at suntec city this sunday. small gathering for immediate family members of about 20+ (including the kids and the maids). I'm excited with the cake! hehehheee

Dongle,
wah, your maid jia lat! is she from east java? I heard indon from east java more like that leh... try to get from central java or west java ones. nowadays i heard the better ones with good experience went to taiwan, hong kong or other places liao. and the quality of maids got worst cos indon not that simple-minded anymore...

celyn,

can't rem if i tried dumex mamil. i think i tried the below 1 yr one and jonah did drink that time, but only becoz he still liked milk, haha.

yuuri,

what is dreamfeed?

timmin,

what is UHT milk? can find in NTUC? how is it diff from normal fresh milk?

brie,

i'm trying to find out if they open on certain saturdays. they lady told me they're open tmrw but i can't make it. how long did yours take to repair? mine pump tube is loose and makes a lot of noise when the pump operates. have had to use a rubber band to secure during the last few days when i was still pumping.

mrs n,

i usually let jonah hold his own biscuits coz' that's his fav. still dun want leh. he will take and throw on the floor, then look at me to feed him the rest of the biscuits. same with cheerios. put in the bowl and he will play with it and throw on the floor also.

missy,

i let jonah try pura and meiji full cream milk. he only drinks in the morning on weekends when dopey. other times he doesn't seem to like it very much. i think it smells and taste different from FM and BM.

mrs n
i've actually been putting FM into E's oats and food for months already. and he has been taking it well. but once it was milk alone...different story! argh!

wendy
i saw ur msg the other night! by the time i came back to the comp, u were offline already. hee...

i've been giving E his milk in his magmag cup. i've tried a normal cup and spoon too. reaction is the same. so i reckon the mode of drinking is not the problem, it's the MILK that's the big problem! haha...

E's reaction to FM is the strongest too! he doesn't want to have anything to do with it. it's like poison. UHT seems to have the least reaction, so i'm sticking to it...till he gets better with it, then maybe try fresh milk.

i'm also thinking HOW TO WEAN?!?! argh. getting him to drink that 1 feed is SO tiring already.

re:mmr/chix pox jab
dunno leh. my doc told us to go back @ 12mths, so i went back. i tink some bbs here have also taken???

krex
the difference between uht and fresh milk is that uht is heated to 150 degrees (if i didn't remember wrongly!) and fresh is heated to 75 degrees. that's y uht doesn't need to be chilled as long as packaging is not opened whereas fresh needs to be chilled. the reason for heating up milk is to get rid of bacteria. and cos of the heat, some nutrients is lost as well. but i've read up and the difference in the amt of nutrients in uht and fresh is not significantly different. i tink only a little bit of vitamin D...

Rona,
You can slowly walk there, don't need parking!!!

Krex,
Dreamfeed is feeding when they're sleeping lor. Learned from Rata, but didn't work for me.
Last time I tried to teach Kes to self-feed biscuits also he will keep throwing away and wait for me to feed. Then I told my mum to dedicate 1 day to teaching him...so whole day on-off she will guide his hand to take the biscuit and guide his hand to put the biscuit into his mouth. The next day voila! He can self-feed already!

Krex,
UHT - Ultra High Temp milk. those tetra-packed ones like magnolia, marigold etc... comes in 250ml a pack, 6-packs shrink-wrapped, selling between $3.30 - $4.40 at supermarkets with quiet a few brands available. got the idea?

timmin,
Actually some time back, straits times did a comparison between fresh skim milk, fresh full-cream milk, fresh HL milk, UHT milk, condense milk and evaporated milk. I read through but now cannot find the article. its sometime during beginning of the year liao...

Dongle, Rona, Ruixuan, Jillva, Mommies,
Thanks for birthady wishes to Kai

Mrs Teng,
Thanks for the wonderful cake u made ... Kai was struggling to get near the cake the moment I showed it to him when I reached home with it.
My #1 who don't like to take pics even pose with the cake to take pics.

It was a tasty and fabulous looking cake. I mean it it, still left half in my fridge. Yummy yummy. Too bad I have sore throat, can't eat too much. Any mommy wanna taste it can come over ;)

Kai enjoyed himself very much yesterday - First at Polliwogs (Must go again!) and then evening, at home with his unique and nice cake which is definitely a great memory - wonderfully captured using my new camera. heheh.

Heng I bought the new camera else i would not have capture such nice memories. Highly recommended - Panasonic Lumix FT1 (waterproof, shockproof, HD video) ... vv good
Very happy with its performance so far.

Shall find time to post some snipplets here ... the others are partially uploaded in FB.

Thanks to Jen for being my "BIG" umbrella to shelter me to Mrs TEng''s place ... hehhe. Else the wonderful cake might oredi got drenched before reaching my place ... hee.

<font color="#CD3278">ReiRei</font>
Many thanks for the well-wishes

We rented the toys from toys4rent.. Wanted a car also, but they only have trikes
Anyway the ger's only interested in the ballpit.. hahah

<font color="#CD3278">Rona</font>
I'm excited to see Mrs Teng's handiwork!