(2008/07) July 2008

Pb, so ngiao!! I hope you have an exit interview with big boss and I hope you dun keep quiet then...

Thomson plaza ah? Pb want to lunch someday??

Mich
it's not that I am so gian to keep the notes and books. I would certainly leave them when I go. But the fact that she fel the need to ask for them! Goodness gracious great balls of fire! Speechless. What next? Tell me I must pay 10cents when I go toilet? Remember girls, this is a woman who signs up for courses and leaves halfway to blatantly go shopping. How happy am I to leave her!

Sure lunch at Thomson some day. wanna join us?

Smiggle
How are you! And how is the pregnancy!

lunch at thomson - me too..can it be next week pretty pls? wednesday? thursday?

my last working week this week b4 i take off for early pre-maternity leave
. 4 days more..la dee daa

pinkB - u took the words right off my mouth - goodness gracious great balls of fire indeed!

It's only Monday and I'm drained and exhausted already.. I wanna take a long long long long break!

Thanks, Youpi abt northpoint..maybe I should check it out..heard they renovated the place..

So who's going for the SCB race with kiddos in dec? Wanna go together? Selected time slot?

I've got motion sickness so I can speak on behalf of lixun n say it's really no fun feeling sick like that! N I still get it now with cabs n sometimes my hb's car! Good excuse for him to switch cars again!

An interesting thing to look out for. A play called "When the Bough breaks" produced by The Necessary Stage, about a woman's struggles with postnatal depression and her recovery process.

12 nov (noon-2pm at KKH auditorium) and 27 nov (10am to noon at nanyang poly auditorium)

Call 63942205 or register at www.kkh.com.sg

PB,
Haha, that Poppy wear diaper now is super duper cute! You must have been laughing for at least 5min!
Ooh, Poppy can go sit on the potty herself? Good girl! Boys ah.. problematic. Cannot sit. Stand... will spray all over the place, especially the left leg.
Guess Hugo would have taken the training notes and stuff home. So she only assumes that everyone will act like her. So when's your last day? We should go out the next day and celebrate!

Can anyone with boys enlighten me on how to improve my process? Cos Declan can tell me he wants to pee, but is there any way I can get him to pee on his own without dirtying himself?

youpi,
Guess that's the downside to having sweet boys. It's just so tough balancing sweetness and assertiveness. Good luck to teaching assertiveness.

smiggle,
Ah, Declan did that pee whenever take off diaper/shorts thingy too. Then I told him Wait Wait Wait when I took off his shorts, and that worked!

cin,
Yay to early pre-maternity leave! Remember to tell little beanie that you want to attend Halloween ok?

cin,

Woo hoo!! pre-maternity leave! take that time to rest and be with sophie bean. once lil bean pops, it is a whole new experience. a bit challenging i must say, cos i really feel guilty about not paying enuff attention to Wuffy.

Halloween,

I am still pumping abt 8 times a day.. a bit disruptive to go out at this moment. and Wufferine is going to take jab on 29th, so i guess i will give the party a miss. When i feel more confident, will try to bring her out to meet all the kor kors and jie jies!

bbp,

ya..trying to squeeze out every last drop to give her, if not enuff, top up with formula. heehee... but wufferine is a smaller continental car. she is drinking about 100ml now. last time wuffy was already at 120ml by week 3!

Hey mummies, where do your kids have their meals? At the table with you? Poppy is in high chair now but it's getting tight cos her legs are long. Thinking about booster seat. Any recommendations?

Batgirl u very kut lat to pump 8 times a day. Ok now i try to squeeze in 6 pumps a day already like no time to do it. A bit lazy also coz see the amt so little like meaningless leh :p but cannot drag too long also. Usually night time i skip the night pump and it will take much longer for me to clear in the morning and it wil
l still not clear. Got to pump again 1 hr later.

cin bunny enjoy the pre pregnancy holiday! I really enjoyed mine that time. But i was a lousy mummy, coz I enjoyed it because it was 'me' time! Something which I have not had for 2 years ...

I realise my temper is getting shorter by day. Usually I will flare up once a week *sigh* yesterday I blew up at hubby again coz the night before i woke up 2,4,6am .. think its the lack of sleep. And mini xun was super duper cranky the whole day yesterday so i didnt have any nap. By the time it was night, I was so tired. In the end, hubby did a nice thing. He took over taking care of mini xun last night so I could sleep.

Think got to get him to do it once a week so that I can recuperate before I flare up at him again. I know its bad for our r/s but just cant quite help it.

vent vent
Mr C thinks i m VERY free as i m on leave this week. we had one of those senseless arguments this morning bcz he ask me to go and get a parcel for him at the post office. then complained that i anyhow leave the netbook everywhere. then talk abt my family's shortcomings.
totally random attacks.
i already in v bad mood as on leave not to go out, but to tk care of kids and do some house keeping (like filing our bank statements and wash curtains). plus he is working this entire weekend. so my bad mood just spilled over into a noisy discussion that had C1 stop in his tracks and look at both of us.

with children and maid around ah, fight also cannot fight properly.

jace,
sleep deprivation doing strange things to our temper. tis a phase. hang in there....
we all know flaring up is not good for the relationship. however a well chosen word of appreciation can work wonders on HBs, well, at least on mine

qian hu pix on FB
Mr C uploaded to his own profile. and is from iphone.
qing, pb,
i will log in later into his account and change the photo album settings to 'frens of frens' can view also.

youpi,
i still think you have a good problem.
of course, the world is most at peace when ALL children know how to give and take, but we cannot raise others' children for them ya. so can only tell our own child to be firm.

C2 bullying C1
well he does. i saw C2 kick C1 purposely when C1 went to sayang his didi. the psychoing has got C1 properly loving his didi (most of the time), now it has to go the other way too. need to tell C2 to love C1 back, and not treat kor kor as a punching bag.

Cellow,
I totally understand the cannot fight properly part. Imagine my scenario with all the in laws too. Nowadays I dun care Liao. I just let it out. Cannot tahan Liao.

BBP: does dec stand straight? Bbg doesn't splatter on his feet leh..it just goes in between?

Poppy's thighs r too squeezy in the ikea high chair? Tot there's lots of space? But the belt broke long ago n we use a nappy to tie him down haha

Mich
There are animal toys at The Better Toy Store, 4th level, Ngee Ann City. They are a good size for toddlers to grip, not too small. We spent an hour in the shop this afternoon, the boys going slightly mad, surrounded by so much temptation.

PB
We all sit at the small Ikea table, haha. At the big table, it's the Ikea highchair, but once big brother gets out of the booster seat, the small one will wiggle his way into it. LOL on Poppy wanting her diaper!

Bbp
Show Dec how to hold himself and aim away. Knees slightly bent, arched forward, can help. After the pee, do the tap tap tap to finish off the last drops. Or get Mr Bbp to teach Dec lah.

Cellow
When we talk in a more aggressive tone to each other, S will scold us. "Stop it, I do not like it when you talk like that!" So the parental fight club must shut down or take on a different facade when the kids are within sight and sound.

Jacelyn
Do you or your hubby have motion sickness too??
D has bad motion sickness and it came full blown only after he turn 2. Till now he still is prone to it that's why I do not dare to drive the kids alone for journey that will be more then 20 mins.
Haven found a cure though I have bought the motion sickness bands for him. Not sure if it works too but so far wearing the bands he has not vomitted.

bbp
Very hard aah......even now D once in a while 'forget' to hold his own penis he will pee out of the bowl.
But he ummmmm managed to go toilet n pee by himself.....when he was 2+. He had to tip toe to reach the edge of the toilet bowl so quite okie then.....hehe

Cellow
U can tag urself to the photos and we can view as well.

youpi
Wow......S is so good.....hehehe
D will ask me "Papa naughty is it?? We ignore Papa.".....hahaha

All I can say is: It sounds like it's so fun to pee as a boy.

DD
No, poppy's thighs are fine. It's the knees - they will get scrapped if I don't put her in at an angle cos her legs are so long!

Guess what mummies - no, not preggie. I have lost my voice! Already had cough and sore throat, courtesy of poppy's playschool, now made worse by haze I think. I'm the "horse whisperer" now. Can only whisper! Should I bring magna-doodle to work tomorrow?

Pb, no voice? Straight away 2 days mc? Hack, go with patch on your forehead, look miserable and maybe mc for rest of wk!!! Hugo 'pay'!! ( in a way...). Evil evil .....

Mich
If I didn't have an event tomorrow I would have gone for Mc straightaway. Came into office and got a nasty note from Hugo saying I cannot claim for a particular taxi ride. Should I fight for it? Sigh. It's only $20 lor. She everything also want to try to "save". If it were so across the board I wouldn't be so upset. But it's so double standard because SHE claims for the same things.

My ego is not worth only $20, unlike hers. If $20 to such a wealthy person can make her happy, so be it

11 days to having to tahan the wicked witch of the west

ok the qian hu photos are tagged to my name in FB
thanks for the tip, dor!

peeing - boys
hmm, maybe i shd try to teach C1. or rather Mr C shd try to teach C1 how to aim.

I think because you no longer have to face her anymore, you should stand up and fight your case so that YOU give her a bad time today so that the rest of the 11 days you dun need to put up with her.. if you have a case, which surely you have, else you wouldnt' have claimed in the first place. right? follow what the policy says and I SAY, FIGHT (less the voice)!!!

I better confirm with H.R first before I FiGHT FIGHT FIGHT or else wait I lose even before going into fighting ring hehe.

Do you girls remember the song from the 90s called "You're Unbelievable"? By EMF is it? It plays in my head each time she does something to me.

yes, FIGHT. and I say, respond with head shakes, shoulders hold up high, then release with huge sigh, each time she is "unbelievable" , right in her face. I mean, no better chance then to do this then now, right? the more she gets nasty, the more rebuttal you do (subtle or not), i think she deserves that... Grrrr!

Jacelyn,

the 8 times pump is really damn sian lor. so i am digging out my old korean serials and watch as i pump to motivate me. Just finished "Full House", going to "Jin San Sun" next. haha! one serial can last me about 3 days of pumping.

My ideal is 5 pumps a day. but now have to be more kut lat, cos not enuff milk lor.

PB,

haha! yeah, better get your ammunition ready before you go and FIRE! Hope you can get a bazooka and blast her silly head off!

Toilet training..

ermmm...not doing anything yet. but recently wuffy has been telling us that he wants to "shhh shhh", so we will put a stool out for him at the toilet bowl and he will pee into it.

Doggiebb
Was at library yesterday and saw these books and thought about talia somehow. Girly but yet not too guniang

Slugs in love.By Pearson O'malley
Don't kiss the frog. Princess stories with attitude. Chosen by Fiona waters

mich
toyrus have'
i have seen them there.

PB
barbie sit by herself. she has her on dining table and chair. (which also is her playarea) they develop a bad habit for her. eat and watch TV.

cellow
finally saw the picture.

batgirl,

i really salute u eh.. i pump plus latch hor.. i think max one day also abt 6 times only eh. night time i always "oversleep" my pumping time. i slp like straight 5 hrs b4 i realize subconsciously tt i haven pump n faster wake up go pump. daytime i will wait till Clovis wan milk n latch. sometimes he will oversleep his 3 hrly feeding time also. den i will start engorgement n end up after latching still have to pump. n sometimes noon when i am napping, CL might not wake me up to bf him.

anyway... i wondering ah.. noon time when i bf Clovis, he will suck n suck nonstop for abt an hr. n eventually slp. but when i take out n wanna pat him to slp, he wakes up n cry for more. n he had been this way ONLY in the noon. evening wun have such problem.. anyone can enlighten me??

I also need enlightenment. BB is giving me a hard time. For the past few days, she has been crying from 10pm to 1am timing. Carry she will stop. Put down cry. But I dun wanna let her have the habit that once she cry i carry her so i try to ignore. But it is getting on my nerves so much ... ... Why why why? Sometimes she can cry and then eventually sleep .. sometimes really got to carry and walk around. 7 weeks old liao behaving like 1 week old new born -_- sigh.

Just now after 1pm feed, she also cry. I fed her 100 ml of bm tot she does not have enough so topped up with 40ml of FM, she finished up abt 20ml then dun wanna drink anymore. No wet diapers but just close her eyes and cry... i bo chup and she cry for 15 mins then slept. i was like huh. whats wrong??

I think I need a breather from looking after this problem bb. But there is no one to take over from me. Guess this once again confirm that I cannot be a SAHM.

Holly,
I recalled that newborns take about 20min of soothing before they fall asleep. So maybe next time you want to take out, wait another 5 or 10min more? Cos when they are in deep sleep, it's easier to move them without them waking up.

Jacelyn,
Try and burp her. Last time with Declan, if he cried but wasnt' hungry nor dirty, I would just burp him, and 80% of the time, it works. So maybe she just has alot of air in her that's making her uncomfortable.

Jace, is mini-xun having colic? if its a particular time consistently at night, think it could be due to colic, in that case, bbps method of burping and soothing will help. xun-mummy, mini-xun is only 7 week old. Its naturally she needs more comforting and sayang-ing and carrying, espcially if something could be bothering her.. so at this stage, put your "brain" aside and dun worry about the part of "setting bad habit"... give her all the love at those times, carry, rocking... hold her in your arms, sing to her.. your voice, your body warmth, your heartbeat are the most soothing and best remedy for unsettled sleep... no one else but mummy's closeness is all she needs...

so rest while she rests, and when you can tell from her crying that she is uncomfortable, calm her down (and yourself too) with music, lulaby or even your own singing... enjoy the process (dun think of it as a problem) and endure!!!

YOU CAN DO IT, XUN-MUMMY!!!

Jacelyn,

Yah, I think it might be colic. You put "ru yi" oil? Or you give her colic drops?

Mini Xun drinks 100ml..aiyoh..my little continental beetle is drinking 110ml, and looks like she wants more type. drink until the neck also disappear under the folds of her chins.

Try bbp's burping method tonite, might help.

Holly,

I also suffer the same fate as you when i latched bbJX. feed for 2 hrs, unlatched, i dress up, she start crying again. so in the end i top up with FM. Hence, i decided not to latch but pump, at least i know she is fed enuff. I no patience la. Hopefully experienced latching mummies can shed some light on your experience.

Holly, batgirl, same fate with latching think worst. Can latch n unlatch the whole afternoon that's why now I only pump. Latch her for comfort.

Bbp mich batgirl thx for the advises. Tried colic drops before but didn't work so I stopped. Maybe should try again. Mich u made me rethink abt wat I have been doing. Dunno why this time I am more impatient. Maybe her cries are like screams so I buay tahan. But then again if is colic how come she can still fall asleep herself?

Batgirl let me know when ur confinement over. I wanna visit u! I abit pantang so got to wait till confinement over
before bringing mini xun to visit u. Hee. Going out of the hse is the way to keep me sane!

Ladies I so feel like giving u all a big hug!! U are the best!!!!!

Batgirl I forgot to mention mini xun drinks 80 to 100 ml but shortEr interval. Sometimes 2 hrs she will scream. Longest is 2.5 hrs. Nv really 3 hrs during day time.

Jacelyn, go with your heart.. how to know which cries is due to colic or not? which times she can fall asleep on her own? like adults, sometimes we are so dead tired, but just cant get to sleep, sometimes due to sickness, sometimes no apparent reason.. dun go with reasoning.. go with what you feel.. at times when she can go back to sleep.. good. at times not, your mummy power will be all she needs.. shower her with all your love for now... she's only 7 weeks old!! OK? Hugs... you can do it!

Pb: LOL I remember that song! Don't think I'd be as nice as I if I were in ur shoes

Cellos: couldn't add comment on pics but i spotted c1 wiv his toy in hand: fan!

Jacelyn: the girls r right..bb's at this stage needs lots of comforting n loving so dun worry abt bad habits now..I had bbG in a sling all day with ms during maternity leave to make him sleep n he turned out alright now too mah..

Hang in there n take a deep breath..u r probably more snappy this time round cos more tired wiv Xun girl to look after too? It will only get easier over time so ganbatte!

Jacelyn, had a better night today?
my CL leaving on monday, you can pop by anytime after that ba.
I still have no confidence to bring bbJX out alone so will still be "confined" at home. :p

jace,
looking after bbs esp NBs w their unpredictable pattern is VERY different fm working hor. just love mini xun during this ML time as best as you can. there is no such thing as spoiling the NB w love

[aside, spoiling our todds are another matter]

sahm
no way no way no way can i be sahm. these few days w the boys have been... exhausting. even though i dun seem to be doing much and hv helper.

hmmm.. bf'ing mummies,
after u all latch, will u all still pump? if dun pump, the supply will go low anot ah?

i realise if i latch n pump. the nx latch, bbC will be like not enuff milk to drink like tt... so i thinking of not pumping after latch eh..

hello mummies!
haven log in and so many things to catch up!!!

Jace
this temper thing is normal. after 2 kids my temper has escalated. soemtimes it's the only way to get anything done!!! so it's really normal....

PB
so when is your last day? must be counting down to it...

michelle
those animal toys can find from HDB shops. i know some shopping centres and toy shops also have them. forum shops also have. i think popular also has. i got one dinosaur one.

spending one whole month with eboy may make it harder for him to go back to sch. jx was sick and spent 4 days at home and already clinging to me when she went back. she was ok to go but she did cling for a while.....

cellow
i also wonder how my time pass when i m at home iwth the kids. but its easier for me know cos sometimes they can entertain themselves...it will get easier when they are older!

i intend to look for a full time job. any lobang let me know.
i majored in econs and was doing pricing/strategic planning previously.

yesterday was quite upset with jh. we made pizza for his dinner and when i took it out i told him not to touch anything cos it's so hot. being such a disobedient boy he went to touch the pan and immediately regretted it. initially he din dare to cry but after a while he couldn't hold it anymore and cried buckets. had a blister on his finger from being burnt. and cos he was so fussy during dinner jx also kept disturbing me and i lost my mood for dinner.....

but at night he was very sweet. i had been having gastric attacks every night when sleeping and it's really painful. told him i m sick and if he always make me angry i will die faster. he got quite upset. so after praying for the kids i asked them who wants to pray for me. he said he wants and he prayed that i will get well and live forever. quite funny. as a kid he's always very sensitive. whenever he thinks abt me going to heaven next time, he will cry. can tell he loves me more than jx loves me. that's why they say mummy's boys....

Cin_bunny
Mt A - For L's birth, the hospital gave me Dr Tay Hock Beng Dicky (6354 6789). Funny name, but he was excellent. No pain at all, and he has a fantastic bedside manner.

Jace
Yup, it sounds like mini Xun may want to be burped. Sometimes one burp is not enough to clear the air. Just continue until it's all out, else it will be painful for her. Hang in there, it WILL get better!

Thx mummies letting it out here really makes my day better. At least I feel that someone understands what I am going through! Cellow, sama sama no way am I gg to be sahm. I cannot take it. So once again salute to all sahms!!!!

SY ya my temper just riseeeeee up n up. But now hubby finally agree with me that bb is really tough. He gave me a tight hug last night n told me he is here with me. Guess that makes me feel much better too. I am looking forward to the days he is on leave so we can go out n enjoy!!

Batgirl ok will try n see which day next week. Will drop by to visit u! I only go on hse visits with bb. Cannot go shopping yet coz very troublesome to bring stroller out. Carrier will be too tiring if go shopping. So hse visits is wat I can manage for now!

Anyway remember I mentioned my sis is moving n my mother is gg to shift in to her place. Now as it approaches me and hub are discussing how to cope with it. Mornings are rush enough now. Next time we got to bring both kids to macpherson ( my sis new place is there) before heading to work n after work will go tere for dinner n pick up the kids before gg home. Thinking of the journey itself is tiring enough.

Oh yah forgot to reply dor. Yah I got motion sickness n gues it's in the genes. Where to get the waist band? Maybe will go try it out!

holly,
the theory is that the emptier the breast, the faster milk is produced... but you also need to rest...
i cannot rem wat i did for C2 liao... but basically i pumped only once or twice a day during the first 6 weeks. all the other times, i latched. i dun think i even brought out the pump till maybe around 2 weeks or so.

jace,
hi5! this is the only place where the gutter stories of mummyhood are told. when i m w other frens, they look at me as if i m crazy/ungrateful when i start on such rants. i have healthy babies - check; i have a supportive hb - check; i have enuf milk and bfeedg going well - check. so wat's there left to complain abt?
lots as it turns out. some moments are just ... i need to tell someone now and get some sayangs b4 i BURST. haha.

qian hu pixs
dd, haha! yes fans fans and more fans are still C1's favs. not the fishes at all.

Quick one
Cin bunny: jiayou!

Jacelyn
It is wrist band, not waist band! Seasick bands. Not sure where got sell. I read that diving shops have, but maybe Phramacies too

Pb oops !! i got waist n wrist mixed up! Omg where is my brainnnnnnnn guess this is wat a crying bb does to me.

Seriously now I think definitely no more #3!

youpi
yeah from young jh has always been sweet....

jace
your hb so sweet. at least he knows that u r not having easy time. oh my, it's going to be quite tough rushing here and there with 2 kids. mornings i already have problems waking 2 kids up for sch. cannot imagine how u r going to do it. maybe try out first and see how it goes. if not then think of Plan B!

cellow
what qian hu pics? i wan to see too! u brought C1 on farm tour there?