(2008/07) July 2008

Michelle
Last time when Ashley was coughing we went to Sin Seh since it doesn't get better after almost drinking western medicine for 2 months. the Sin seh gave a yucky colored medicine (doesn't taste nice btw)but within 1 week her cough subsided. Sin Seh said the pleghm would be out through vomit and also through faeces.

Normally when my kids have cough I would not give them anything acidic like oranges, grapes, strawberry. Depending on the pleghm - green yellowish ones means heaty while the white one means cool, so must give the right food. My MIL also said not to give chicken/chicken stock, so I'll cook using pork instead. No dairy too, like milk.

If the cough is bad and the pleghm is yellow/green, normally my PD will give some antibiotics too.

PB & all other mummies who had received spam mail from me
sorry, think my acc was hacked into again... just rectified the spam n chged my password... thks for the note...

batgirl
i think bbs alwys chg pattern one lor... my lil A usually wake up once a nite also... but last nite was straight from 10pm to 6am... heehee... coz she cluster feed frm 8-9pm... so i guess she is full enuff and slp longer...
erm for the 1st mth i think the best way to increase ss is to latch n latch leh... but for ur info, i'm drinking raspberry tea for boosting of milk ss n i think it works for me... the mother's milk nursing tea doesnt work for me... nvr try fenugreek so cant comment on that...

cellow
aiyo... *sayang C1*

morning mummies.

ask u all ah... how much should i b giving a NB if is EBM? n by now i am day 4, how much supply roughly should i b having ah??

I'm here at Royce now, Youpi!

holly
lil Anya started off with 30ml... then slowly i increase abt 10ml every 2-3 days... just look out for signs like bb still sucking at the bottle after he finish the milk... n also if bb cries for milk b4 2hrs... FYI, my lil A was drinking 100ml every 3 hrly when she was abt a mth old..

Batgirl i have also turned into pumping only :p no more latch on. Dun feel bad. I felt bad initially but realise I should just do what I think best fits me + my sanity ... that way I can take good care of bb too =D
Now I only pump 4 times a day. Yield abt 600ml per day which is short of what mini xun wants and so usually supplement at night with formula (suits us well too coz no need to warm up milk). Hmmm should try out what JSP did - to drink raspberry tea. haha
Oh yah she is now drinking between 90 - 120 ml depending on her mood. Usually I give her 90 ml of EBM. if she still not satisfied, will top up with 30 ml of FM and see how much she can finish. But sometimes she cant even finish the 90 ml of EBM *heartache* so far wasted alot of FM liao lo ... lucky it can be bought by money :p

Holly, sorry ah I was latching mini xun at day 4 so I have no idea how much to feed bb. According to my CL, bb start with 40 (or was it 50) ml. Not sure how true is it because I latched on xun girl that time too. As for supply, no idea too! :p I recall I had engorgement on day 3 and had to keep massaging to clear. But didnt pump out coz latch on that time. Good luck!

Re reading, YAH! Me and hubby are now also thinking we are not exposing xun gal to enough books! I have just placed order for some books in one of the BPs. Lucky she goes to school else I think she will never be learning things from us.

We realise something over the weekend: XUN GAL HAS GROWN ALOT! We went for a wedding lunch and brought out the maclaren for her to take her nap in. Suddenly she seem so overgrown for it! Came home and weighed her ... think she is like 16kg now! Shocking!! Looking at her carefully, she definitely does not look like she is 2Y 3M old!! Now we are thinking is she too overgrown??

DD, shiok! On leave ah!

Oh oh one more! My helper has arrived last Friday and she has been a great help so far. Hopefully it will last. She is from Myanmar and her english is quite good and she knows chinese too! My mum speaks to her in chinese and she can translate the exact meaning to me in English. Pretty impressive. Hopefully she does not disappoint me. *My house has never been so clean for the last 4 years! wahahahahaha*

Jacelyn
i only started drinking supplements after 2mths leh... n the way to increase milk ss for the first 2 mths is to latch or pump frequently... which means as often as the bb drinks... i was pumping every 3-4hrly when bb was 2MO... so u need to pump more frequently to increase ss leh...

We are back at kkh, just took an X-ray hope it's all clear, I have a hunch that it will be clear

And guess who is coughing badly too?

5 nights I din sleep.

At times like this I really appreciate my office ppl for being supportive.....

Arghhhhh........the iphone did it again.
Typed typed typed on the small keyboard n it didn't get posted!!!!

youpi
Ummmm I am forever buying ma.....hahaha
But mostly replenishing the stuff and hehehe my own boliao stuff.
Oh do u actually want lots of boxes all sizes?? cos I actually have afew which I had flattened and packed into that box I was telling u abt waiting waiting waiting for weeks to be thrown out. N lo n behold....it always happens that hubby jus nice finally threw them away on Fri. (but I manage the save that box I was telling u)

And so now I have another box from drugstore, this week should have Gap and another bigger drugstore box and a small 1 too.
See how much I am "saving"?? ;P

PB
WOW taekwondo!! Dun play play aah....hehe

Jacelyn
WAH!! Xun is 16kg!!!!!!

Michelle
Poor you. Its also lack of sleep that makes u prone to getting the virus as well.
Hope you both get well soon n get more sleep!!

mich,
is your hunch correct?
YAY to your office pple for being supportive.

jacelyn,
there is no toooooo overgrown for young children. eventually they sprout like beansprouts (my ah bu's analogy), grow up tall and lanky, no longer so round.
i m still waiting for C1 to sprout.... i looked at him one day fm the side and my my, his little tum tum is still round.
YAY YAY YAY for your house being super clean! and for the great helper.

latching vs pumping vs feed FM
this is the (former) breastfeeding nazi's take.
latching of course is best for increasing ss, maintaining ss, bonding w bb, less washing and sterilising etc etc blah blah. however, if a mummy is tired of latching, then take 2 days to pump, then latch again.
and if mummy is tired until she wants to give up bfeedg altog, then i say pump. some breastmilk down bb's throat is better than no breastmilk at all.

but hor. sometimes i think it would be so much easier to parent C1 if he were still latching.... i miss that v much. *wistful*

holly,

NB drink abt 30ml to 40ml. I pump around that amount on Day 4, but that is after latching. As mentioned before, I got engorged on Day 3. So I put cold compressess as the pumping and latching dod not help reduce the stones on my chest.
lo and behold, now I think my milk supply drop dramtically after the cold compresses. (Cellow, tried searching the book on the effect of cold compression but dun have leh -- I still got chance to increase my supply hor -- Worried.. :p)

By the end of Week 1 i increased to 50ml of EBM, the couple days later to 60ml. Week 2 I raised it to 80ml, now I am giving her 90ml at after Week 2. I think by Friday I have to increase to 100ml or more liao cos got growth spurt.

Jacelyn,

Yah..for my sanity, i also pump lor (I am also harbouring thoughts to stop bf and go on FM 100%!! hahaha!! Cellow, JSP, quick list down all the benefits of bf to keep the evil thoughts out of my mind!!) I know that guilty feeling. Wufferine is now drinking 90ml every 3 hrs on average (day time can be one feed per 2 hrs, nite time, can go up to 5 hrs per feed). She drinks 8 times a day, i pump 7 times.. so means 1 feed is FM also for me. hiaz.. just try my best, as long as it doesn't make me too pek chek to give it all up. :p

JSP,

Where to get that raspberry tea? I taking Chinese herbal remedies to boost supply. Took it the past 2 days, no signs of increase yet. Fenugreek i have heard..but they say you will smell of it??!!

mich,

I know that feeling, the last time wuffy was sick for 1 mth, i also sent him for X rays, blood tests..all negative. So in the end i resorted to a mini confinement for him, ie no going out till he is fully recovered. It is hell to keep wakingup at nite to take temperature and sponge the kid and cleaning up after the kid after he vomits.

Hope Eboy gets the all clear. I think better dun go back to school for the rest of the week or till his sickness gets better. Keep him warm ba.

U also take care of yourself hor, drink more liang teh. *pat pat*

batgirl
i get my ss of raspberry tea bags frm vitakids... its from traditional medicinals n organic n caffeine free... heehee... u can do it one mummy... take one day at a time... that was wat i told myself too... n its coming to 6mths for me liao... i also heard that after taking fenugreek will have BO... eeks!!!

thank you everybody for your well wishes.. lung infection lah.. but think recovering already cos today no fever ! yay! he's on anti-biotics now and 4 hourly ventolin puff... hope the cough will get better...

Just left eboy with my MIL and now back home sneaking a nap..

chat with you all later..

my boy today keep latching... but i still manage to pump 50ml to store for night feeds. i am gonna give him abt 40ml EBM at night per feed ba. to ease my CL's thoughts but yet dun over feed him. I calculated his weight, he should b taking max 40ml nia. but she keep insist wanna give 50 to 60ml. -.-" but he is too small to drink so much le. sure reflux one..

michelle
eboy's xray ok?

that time my sil told me that her god daughter cough for ver long and when they saw TCM the doc told her fren to cut out ALL fruits and biscuits for a few months. My colleauge also said her doc said the same thing.

jx's fever gone liao but dunno whether shd let her go back to sch cos i scared she catch something else again....

your office pple really nice and supportive. got lobang or not?

batgirl
dun need to feel bad abt pumping exclusively. last time for jh i also did tat. only latch him when he was abt 5 months old

i took fenugreek before during jh's time. your urine will have maple syrup smell if the fenugreek works. that's what the LC said.

yesterday my kids surprise me with their words.

jx fell asleep in the car and woke up when we reached cold storage. at cold storage after buying what she wants, she told me ' i want to go home. i m tired.'

jh even funnier. i was cutting fruits for him and jx and i told him to look after jx. but he kept coming to the kitchen to look for me. so i asked him why he is not looking after jx. he said mei mei is playing by herself.

me: mei mei can play by herself. why you cannot play by yourself too?

JH: Mama, every body is different. some pple can play by themselves and some ppl cannot.

i was really impressed by his answer! he really used my words at the right time on me. i dunno how to rebutt that......

Cellow
I agree to that haha
Somehow I believe E is closer to me and listens to me more(compare to when D was this age) is becos she is still latching.
N D who weaned at 13mths......the way he sees my milk is like poison....have to force it down his throat hahaha

batgirl,
you know the old adage of be careful wat you ask for....
here are 100 reasons why. hahahahahahha. i luuurve the one abt faster and more permanent wgt loss.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends breastfeeding
The American Dietetic Association promotes breastfeeding
Breast milk is more digestible than formula
Not breastfeeding increases mother's risk of breast cancer
Baby's suckling helps shrink mother's uterus after childbirth
Formula feeding increases baby girls' risk of developing breast cancer in later life
Formula Feeding is associated with lower I.Q.
Breast milk is always ready and comes in a nicer package than formula does
Breast milk helps pass meconium
Breast milk contains immunities to diseases and aids in the development of baby's immune system.
Breastfeeding satisfies baby's emotional needs and increases bonding between mother and baby
Breast milk provides perfect infant nutrition
Not breastfeeding increases mother's risk of developing ovarian cancer
Nursing helps mom lose weight after baby is born
Pre-term milk is specially designed for premature infants
The World Health Organization and UNICEF recommend it
Breastfeeding protects against Crohn's disease (intestinal disorder)
Formula feeding increases risk of children developing diabetes
Breastfeeding baby helps decrease insulin requirements in diabetic mothers
Breastfeeding may help stabilize progress of maternal endometriosis
Baby's suckling helps prevent post-partum hemorrhage in mother
Not breastfeeding increases mother's risk of developing endometrial cancer
Formula feeding increases chances of baby developing allergies
Breast milk lowers risk of baby developing asthma
Formula feeding increases baby's risk of otitis media (ear infections)
Formula feeding may increase risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS)
Breastfeeding protects baby against diarrheal infections
Breastfeeding protects baby against bacterial meningitis
Breastfeeding protects baby against respiratory infections
Formula fed babies have a higher risk of developing certain childhood cancers
Breastfeeding decreases chances of developing rheumatoid arthritis
Breastfeeding decreases child's chances of contracting Hodgkins disease
Breastfeeding protects baby against some vision defects
Breastfeeding decreases chances of osteoporosis
Breast milk aids in proper intestinal development
Cow's milk is an intestinal irritant
Formula-fed babies are more at risk for obesity in later life
Breastfed babies have less chance of cardiopulmonary distress while feeding
Breastfed babies have less chance of developing ulcerative colitis
Breast milk protects against hemophilus b. bacteria
Breastfed babies require shorter pre- and post-surgical fasting
Breastfeeding results in less sick days for parents
Breastfeeding enhances vaccine effectiveness
Breastfed babies have less chance of developing necrotizing enterocolitis
Breastfeeding contributes to optimal child spacing
Breastfeeding is easier than using formula
Breast milk is free
Formula is expensive
Formula costs the government (and taxpayers) millions of dollars
Breastfed babies require fewer doctor visits
Breast milk always has the right proportions of fat, carbohydrates and protein
Breast milk acts like a natural tranquilizer for baby
Breastfeeding acts like a natural tranquilizer for mom
Breast milk tastes better than formula
Breastfed babies are healthier over-all
Breastfed babies are less likely to die before their third birthday
Breast milk is always the right temperature
Breastfeeding mothers spend less time and money on doctor visits
Fewer waste packaging products
No bottles to tote.
Breastfeeding may lower the risk of developing high cholesterol
No need to refrigerate
Cow's milk is designed for baby cows, while human milk is designed for human babies
Breast milk aids in the proper development of a baby's gastrointestinal tract
Breast milk provides natural pain relief for baby
Human milk is the perfect food for a sick infant
A breastfeeding Mom gets more sleep
Babies that nurse are happier at night
More sleep for dad
Less equipment to maintain and store
Less equipment to buy.
Breastmilk has never been recalled due to manufacturing problems
Fresh breast milk is never contaminated with bacteria
No need to worry about which brand is better
No need to worry about adding contaminated water
Breastfed babies get fewer stomach infections
Facilitates proper dental and jaw development
Breastfed babies have less tooth decay
Less money spent on corrective orthodontia
Better speech development
Less chance of baby getting eczema
Breastfed babies have great skin
Less spit-up
Breastfeeding is better for premature infants
Breast milk contains no genetically engineered materials
Breast Milk contains no synthetic growth hormones
Lack of breastfeeding associated with multiple sclerosis in later life
Less chance of inguinal hernia
Better cognitive development for low birth weight babies
Better social development
Decreased risk of baby developing urinary tract infections
Suckling optimizes hand-to-eye coordination
Breastfeeding protects mothers against anemia (iron deficiency)
Breastfeeding mothers spend less money on menstrual supplies
Breastfeeding is a self confidence booster for mom
Breast milk may help combat eye infections
Breastfeeding may lower blood pressure in Childhood
No worry about latest ingredient discovered to be missing from formula
Much nicer diaper changes
Breastfed babies smell fantastic
It's what breasts were designed for!

taken fm http://www.promom.org/101/

Oh yes did I mention E was already okie with toilets. So it was back to normal but I've been very careful to avoid flushes (trying to learn to read the lights to know when it will flush) and going to handicap toilets with her.
N who knows yest we waited for handicap toilet at taka n waited so long. So we went out to pass stroller to hubby n D and went into a normal cubicle.
N it had to flush when E was sitting on the seat all ready to pee. And she cried all red and scared even though I was hugging her already, and told me she dun wanna pee......sigh
N cos so many toilets are flushing too I jus insisted that its not our toilet that flush it is other ppl's toilet n insist she pee.
She did pee but.....not sure if my nightmare with public toilets gonna start again....sigh

dor,
I just remembered something! With regards to flushing toilets, take toilet paper, wet it and then stick on the sensor... then it can't tell when people move around so won't flush when E is on it!
Should have remembered earlier to tell you... so sorry...

BBP
REALLY??????
I didn't know hw the sensor works but most times can see light before it flush but sometimes no light at all. Was abt to google to see hw to stop flush ahhaha
I did think of bringing post its out to stick on the sensor before but didn't cos not sure if it works.
Thanx thanx, I'll be bringing a pad of post its out with me from now....hehehee

cellow,

WOW! 100 reasons!! hohoho..thanks! With this and JSP's "take each day as it comes", will try to soldier on happily... :p I will try ba... hopefully i will get some encouraging signals from the boobies as the supply increases.

JSP yah I know got to pump more or latch more but its really hard to squeeze in time to do it in between the feeding and coaxing the girl to sleep. I always try to slot in one more pump if I can.

Batgirl yah my theory is like what cellow mentioned above, some BM is better than none =D

Holly seems like ur supply is pretty good for day 4!

Jiayou ah everyone!!

Toilet training, xun gal seems to be showing signs of being ready for toilet training. She will say she want to xiao bian. Sometimes is fake one but most of the time she will pee. In school the teacher also told us she has the ability to do that. Pretty happy! =D

MIch
E-boy okay? Now tell Mr Mich to take good care of you yah?

Dor Dor
Yes, different sizes also okay. If I can get enough big ones I will make an obstacle course for the boys, haha.

DD
Had to go to the bank this morning so could not go to Royce. Sorry to have missed meeting BbG and you though.

SY
Wow!

Cellow
I also "luuurve the one abt faster and more permanent wgt loss" but somehow it did not work for me leh! Even though I bf #1 for so long and am still tbfg #2! Humphfffff!

eboy looks sooo much better today, altho face still a bit pale.. think he is recovering already.. dunno why everytime cough, will infect the lungs one de? sigh.. must think of how to strengthen his lungs and improve his immune system after this...

LOL on cellow's 100 reasons.. think one reason is enough - its the best gift for the baby, once a lifetime. you miss it, you never get it again.. it was this reason that made me pump pump pump like dunno what day and night.. even go out shopping, also pump.. haha...

happy birthday, DD! hope you had a great time with bbG at Royce!

dun dare to go back office tomorrow and see the work pile up.. shudders... tomorrow will have hard time waking up...

and my throat hurts, i;m couhging and blocked nose.. sounds like eboy symptoms hor...

oh, btw, SY, eboy sees Dr Yong Yin Peng at KKH. She is a resident senior consultant at the private children's clinic.. she's the best... very caring, very engaging, very patient, explain everyhting to me before she give any medicine.. today she was suppose to only see appointment patients but made an exception to see eboy.. and i like it also that all the facilities are there.. and normally for Private Children's clinic.. no need to queue to take x-ray, blood test etc.. today i take queue number, walk to the room, straight away get served.. and teh nurses are great..

Reading all about how the late Mrs LKY made time to spend with her children has not only brought tears to my eyes but has made me realise that above everything, I choose motherhood. Working here has made me a grumpy ogre and my family has had to live with that. On my deathbed I'll look back and think "that job was not worth it".

I wonder if I could put that in my resignation letter

C1 is sick since monday
yo-yoing fever. throat infection w big ulcers. dunno if hfmd. went to PD ystday but tis a replacement, not my regular PD. will bring him to PD again tmr morning as the fever is still there and worse.....

HE IS NOT EATING!

this is very unusual for my eat-everything-recycle-bin. all my mummy instincts are on high alert.

PB
Have you opted for freedom from Hugo? *clap clap!*

Cellow
The ulcers must be huge if you can see them. Sayang C1, hope the PD provides some enlightenment and help.

HK Disneyland
Mummies who have been, do you recommend it?

cellow
look out for blisters on his hands n feet... if got ulcers in the throat plus fever could be HFMD... can try to give him porridge water if he dun wanna eat... n make him drink loads of water...

Poor c1..ya lots of fluids, soup, milk n liquid porridge?

Actually bbg's eating of solids (lunch n dinner) has reduced to just a few spoonsful too..should I worry?

finally can post
i tried in the morning. but still cannot

most of our kids are ill huh...
is it the weather?

Cellow
ya, keep a look out for HFMD ah...
be careful...

Kids all sick. Poppy still coughing but at least not as bad liao. My mother's kid also sick. My dose is duck today.

Cellow
Yikes that sounds very suspiciously like HFMD leh, with the ulcers in throat. Better get it checked!

DD
Poppy also sometimes has a lick of apple or yoghurt for dinner. I try everything from pleading, begging, screaming, persuading, forcing, ignoring to TV, moving locations, using different bowls/plates/spoons/fork/hands, re heating, re cooling, "cooking" on her mini stove... Phew. I'm tired! Haha

Youpi
I have yes. For the sake of my sanity. But I'm also very scared about the next step. If no job how?

Oh just to update everyone on the vacuum cleaner situation cos the Delphin/rainbow craze was hot a few weeks ago. We bought! A kracher! Small cute yellow and cheaper :D best part, it is my bluebunny's best friend!!!! I got home to clean floors yesterday and did not have anything to do with The cleaning myself :D :D :D

Youpi
Is Mr Youpi still good friends with your Miss Rainbow?

PB
Congratulations on your upcoming liberation!

Since BB is going back to work, it should be okay lah. Good on BB for giving you clean floors!

And yes, Mr Y is still paktor-ing Miss Delphin, yay!

Sick kids
Could they have picked up something from CC?

cellow
sayang C1. Must be painful to swallow the food. Hopefully it's not HFMD. Feed him plenty of liquid and soupy stuff. Hope he gets well soon!

PB
Good for you. I am also thinking right now. I do not find my work interesting anymore, sometimes I'm bored to tears...Probably hit a plateau.. I need something refreshing. hmmm But it's a difficult decision since my workplace is quite flexible in hours and it's so near to my home.

SDchick
Well for me I agree with the big picture and like some key people and respect the way they do things. But I work with "someone who wears prada" and feel like I am betraying my own conscience when I do certain things under her instruction. Unfortunately I feel no pride working here and even embarrassment working under Hugo.

Guess what? A friend called me yesterday and said two of her friends (who did not know each other) gave her unsolicited comments about MY BOSS and said "poor PB for having to put up with her!".

In a way it is silly to leave a reasonably well respected job, but I am not happy (depressed and miserable even) and this has affected my family life.
Youpi
Oh yes, BB is starting work soon. Are we fated to never enjoy the fruits of 2 incomes? Haha

pb,
tis not silly, tis v sensible. esp if you are embarrassed by the mere fact that you are working under hugo.

would you rather have poppy draw 'mama happy face' w smileys or 'mama angry face' w frowns? the answer becomes so obvious then.

sd,
i was asking myself the same qn just now as i celebrated w farewell lunch for a colleague. wat would move me out of my job w its supportive teammates and flexi hours.... for now, nothing. things might change in future.
just send your CV around the market... who knows wat might happen. good things come to those who dare. live a little dangerously - haha.

I wanted to post this ytday..

PB, I totally agree with your quote of the day... i question my existence in my company dealing with a bunch of dead woods. vs spending quality time and imparting my legacy to eboy. the choice is clear, right? so why i am still here while the little one is coughing away at home....

oh dear, so many kiddos sick. Cellow, is it HFMD? if it is, you gotta be careful too, adults can kenna also. Better quarantine him and away from clement. Hope C1 gets the all clear.

PB,

Sanity is important too. Job can be found again. Time lost being unhappy is lost forever. Take a break, and look for another job. Life is too short to be

cellow, poor c1! Hope he'll be fine soon and not something serious. Dun worry about food intake while they are sick, can choose to give glucose instead of water. Dilute the milk. They will tend to lose weight so quickly but they gain back energy quickly. Meanwhile, make him comfy as much as possible, feed small meals regularly.

cellow
is C1 ok?

jx also sick,having throat infection

michelle
did u ask pd why his lungs get infected everytime he coughs? my kids' lungs always clear when cough cos theirs not real cough. it's always drip from the nose tat cause them to cough

pb
congrats!! BB is ever so understanding....

so angry with hb!! he always so inconsiderate twd me. i was watching a show halfway and he just switch it and dun even know where i stopped. it's a recording. at least when i switch off his recording i m considerate enough to forward it to where he stopped. he always feel that these are minor things but it shows how considerate u r

anyway, today i called jx's sch and asked abt how strict they are abt kids who are sick coming to school. cos jx keeps catching things from sch. the principal said they do try and she told me abt an incident that happened last year. one kid had chicken pox and she suggested to the parent to keep the sibling at home in case the sibling caught it. the parent actually went to mcys and moe to complain and the principal got a warning that she cnanot do that as there's no guarantee that the kid will catch it. what kind of policy is this? no wonder hfmd never stop....

I have a question: how do i know bb is hungry?

What happened was: mini xun drank 110ml at 830 pm last night. However at 9+ 10, she was crying again. Unitl 1030 she was literally screaming and so I tot she might be hungry, gave her another 90 ml of EBM and she finished all. At 11+ she cried again. I gave another 60 ml but formula this time round coz I am not confident that she is definitely hungry and wasting formula is not so sim tia. Anyway she finished it all too. After that she was eh ehing and i just ignored her and fell asleep. Guess what, she fell asleep herself too (dunno what time but she definitely did not cry loudly) and *drum rolllllllllllllllllll* only woke up at 530 for milk!

So now looking at what happened, is this cluster feeding? But my problem is, how do I know that this is cluster feeding? What if I overfeed?

Hopefully this is not one off and it will last and get betterrrrrr.
With 5 hrs of straight through sleep for me, I am feeling much more refreshed now :p

jace
i think wat u experienced was definitely cluster feed... n dun worry abt over feeding coz they very clever... will stop once they full... n sometimes they just wanna latch for comfort...

if my ger is really hungry, she'll cry or whine when i say "u want milk milk"... if not, she'll stop crying when i carry her up n play with her... u will be able to tell whether she is really hungry after some time... the cries r different...

heehee... my ger slping for a straight 5-6hrs since she was abt 3 weeks old... so i think mini xun wanna give mummy a break...

Zombie mummy very jealous hearing about nice nights of uninterrupted sleep... Poppy has been waking up a lot at night. Not unlike a newborn. I think she is telling us "you sure you want another baby?"