(2008/07) July 2008

urmmmm
i threw out all the korean food i had at hospital..
bad memories; need more time..
my boss is away these two weeks.
so anymore lunches?
crab beehoon again or i dont mind prawn mee:0

doggie, and anyone else familiar w tanjong pagar....
got bus from tras st to orchard anot?

nyet, doggiebb sounds nicer than mousiebb.

Hello mummies!! Been busy with little bb (still nameless for now as we have not decided yet :p)

Thanks Cellow and Youpi for visiting!!

Update on little bb. She cleared jaundice test yesterday and gained 200g in 3 days so i am pretty happy. :p

Havent had the time to read all the posts yet just saw Mich had a longggg post on her staff. *pat your shoulder** Not that i wanna rub into it but i have been pretty lucky with good staff :p hee hee

And Smiggle CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lunch tomorrow??! I join in (spiritually only)!

i need to go the other way round. walk to tanjong pagar mrt, then take mrt to orchard, then walk to Mt E. C2's impt for vaccn is at 2pm.

but but i think mrt is super crowded.
maybe just ask those sitting in the reserved seats to give them up for me bah... and look as pathetic and tired as i feel... haha!

ok set. no makeup for me tmr.

ok back to on-topic
tips for making toddlers brush teeth anyone?
C1 clamps his mouth shut whenever a toothbrush comes within sight. i blame the old maid. mil told me that she used to force open C1's mouth and just use the finger brush (plus toothpaste) to clean his teeth. haiz.

goooood riddance! (to the maid)

cin,
That's a good idea. If I did buy a Delphin, I think the beds would only be vacuumed once a month too.

Jace,
Clearing jaundice is always good news.. yay!

Cellow,
Hmm, how about singing? Singing in terms of eees and ahhhs always helps Dec keep his mouth wide open. Is he interested in brushing his own teeth? That could be a start?

cellow

find a book where the characters adore brushing their teeth. mine is a chinese book where xiao xiong (little bear) and ging gang absolutely go nutters when it comes to brushing their teeth. and i would tell the boy, who needs to brush teeth? xiao xiong? xiao zhu? xiao tu zi? didi? while he starts to answer me, i would be brushing away already! muahaha!

okie i am off to lunch!

Delphin
we invested cos we share it with my mum, i only do it once every 2/3 mths for my bed, kayden's bed and the sofa.. on and the aircon.. its very good.

Brushing teeth
kayden watch barney bursh and he tries but only ends up eating the toothpaste..
or i brush together with him..

everyone, hold your horses.. still early..
im worried abt what the gynae say.. and u all know 1st tri very unstable.

Hi gals!

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Come and support my BP on Taiwan Spree Kids Fashion!</font></font>
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4462820.html?1283836913

The price of kids' apparels is very reasonable, some are less than $10 including shipping! And the quality is good!

Support support me okie?

Cellow
I threaten E with dirty teeth and those teeth will drop off and she cannot chew her fav foods.
But she does brush her own teeth with D then I will take over and brush for her n that needs threatening lor hehe.

We used to do singing during D's time.
This is the way we brush our teeth, brush our teeth, brush our teeth...hehe

Then do the super kua zhang. Show me your teeth and WAH!!!! SOOO CLEAN!!!

jacelyn
Wah u sound great leh like so refreshed!!

Jacelyn
Agree with Dor. U really sound great!

Brushing teeth
I let poppy put toothpaste on brush by herself and she'll eat it while I wash my face. Then I'll brush her teeth while she brushes mine.

Cellow
Very funny. When I read ur post saying "the old maid", it took me a while I realise u were refering to ur ex helper, and not ur MIL lol

Had my appraisal earlier. Hugo was, unsurprisingly giam siap with points. I think she graded me as a "normal" employee, and not as a newbie. The diff is that as a newbie I was still doing the same things as a regular employee so obviously I'd get lower scores for not doing things the way they are "usually done". A bit unfair la.

Anyhoo. Is there a lunch outing tomorrow?

PB... tell me again... why is your boss Hugo?

Jacelyn,
you still sound so chirpy... which is great!
home already?

SY
I transferred to your a/c already. Ref is 3119565735.

Jace
What was Li Xun's reaction to her baby sister?

cellow: hubby WANTS a 2nd bb, but not quite willing to chip in coz he thinks I'm overprotective.. kid can be left to play himself or let maid or parents handle.. n not forgetting how often he travels for work... that kinda mentality lor.. sigh..

i want fried chix too! but don't think I can make it.. drowning at work groan! LOL on jace joining lunch spiritually.. it's good to have chirpy people like u around :D

ooh i thought you were doggiebb coz you are a doggie person

brushing teeth: i do all sorts.. make him smile.. count each other's teeth.. of course.. ants are always everywhere when he's naughty haha.. ants biting his teeth if they are dirty.. muahahaha! every mosquitoe bite he gets are ant bites coz he didn't finish his milk or coz he spilt his milk hahahahaha think i really should cut some slack in the ant story... skali he grows up hating/being terrified of them unnecessarily! but hmm.. he doesn't freak out when he sees a real ant..

haha cellow, when i read your post, i also went: wah! she must be really sore to have called her MIL an old maid (you don't have a mean bone in you) then realised u meant ur helper too hahaha

someone has a surprise fever out of the blue...
could it be the big molar that's sprouting 17th tooth!

macritchie still on? go for a walk there?

wah just heard from my dad that he wrongly deposited cash (thru atm) to wrong acc and now they will not refund the money unless the stranger consents to it??? is that fair?? if i had unknown money banked into my acc n wanted to keep it, I sure say i dun consent wat, and i get free money just like that? is this really correct procedure? any banking people here?? can't believe my parents just accept that it's their error n is willing to let go that not-so-small sum of money!!

hello! haha thanks! ok la. I think having a CL does help. Get more rest.

Cellow, yup home liao ... came home last friday. According to gynea everything is great - wound recovering very well. She does not even need to see me for review after 1 week. Just to see her for pap smear after 6 weeks.

Oh yah Youpi, lixun's reaction to mei mei - surprisingly great! She seems to love mei mei alot. She will go and kiss mei mei's forehead and attempt to sayang her head - which we deem as dangerous coz the strength she use is not really considered sayang. haha the best part is, we fixed up the kitchen set we bought for her before bringing her home and the moment she is home, we told her this kitchen set is mei mei give her one. So now, whenever we ask who give this to you, she will say mei mei. Maybe thats why she loves mei mei.

She see me breastfeeding mei mei she look very amazed. When she see me pump she also look very amazed. The reactions are quite cute. hee

DD maybe because it is deposit cash via atm thats why got to get the other party to consent? I mean maybe there is no way for the bank to check if this is a geniune error or not, unlike internet transfer they can see what is the original a/c the money came from? My guess only ... but should still fight for it.

I guess being 2nd time mummy i kan kai more. Last time when i gave birth to lixun, i was extremely troubled by my lousy milk supply. This time round, though the supply came, it is still not enough for the time being. Got to work hard to make my breast produce more. haha. So this time round, not so troubled because already know its not easy. So hopefully the supply will increase fast with all the hard work!

DD
Some years back it was in the papers re people depositing money into wrong accounts. Technically the banks can't do anything cos they are not involved in the transaction. Suppose could appeal and ask them to try to contact the other party.

You and your ants ah.... So funny lor! Can u imagine is G grows up to be a botanist and jumps each time he sees and ant cos he imagines mummy says "G, if you don't drink your milk, the ants will come and bite you!"

Speaking of fever
Poppy also got one suddenly. Could be the other molar coming. The last one, appetite went down and she kept putting her finger in her mouth. Seems the same this time.

I'm on course today! So had a bit more time so I made porridge for Poppy's lunch! Hehe feel like such a gut lat mother

Jace
Awww so nice that you feel so relaxed! Glad to hear that all is well

i gotta fly kite for lunch.... big rains started here. C2 has slight cold, better not go out in big rains.

kko kko nara
1. mich
2. doggie

dd,
ah niang does have a mean bone, maybe several. i try not to show it too often. *grin*
with C2, i learn to see open re C1 being "kid can be left to play himself or let maid or parents handle". tis really ok to let him be alone and be bored for a while.

cellow

if C2 has slight cold, maybe shld delay the 6-in-1 too. Not good to inject when they are not in the pink of health actually.

kko kko nara

nobody else ah? mich two of us go eat also no fun, cannot order a lot, still wanna go?

re lunch
if my fren not meeting me later i will join in.

re 2nd kid
hee sure more relax one. no choice also. so i find the jx is more independent than jh in terms of play. but jh is better in terms of pple. he lets more pple handle him. cos maybe he was taken care of by maid

cellow
give the brushing teeth thing some time. jx was difficult for a period of time and always bites us. it's easier for her cos she has jh as role model. so best if u can brush in front of him so that he knows that it's something that we do everyday.

jace
hee, sounds like u r having a good time and great that xun is so happy with her sis!! good job!!

DD
i think a bit hard for your dad to get back his money unless the other party ask the bank to reverse the error. maybe get the bank to contact the other party?

re macrichtie
shd be going in evening....havne confirm plans yet cos hb too tired everyday to discuss abt it!

Smiggle
Oh wow. Hope you are well now! Let us know your findings after visiting the gynae!

PB
Yep sure is good to have a sibling to share happiness and troubles, especially when we're not with them any longer.

Michelle
Since you are the manager can't you sack the guy? He is just so irritating hor. These people must get a warning. Can't you warn them that if they were to keep this kind of late sms-es they would be replaced. That should give them something to think about seriously.
Just give him the ultimatum if by certain day he can't produce the mc, you are going to deduct from his annual leave. Don't quit because of them. You can replace them. I mean with that kind of attitude, they will probably finding job outside now anyway. Show them who's boss.

About the MC, doesn't the HR dept handle that? Just let HR know that no mc has been given so deduct annual leave or whatever.

Delphine
In the end we purchased one and have used it last night to clean the mattresses before my MIL comes today.

DD
Really mr DD said no help for you if go for 2nd child? hmms... I wonder if you do have the 2nd one, will he totally ignore. I don't think so right? Anyway it's your decision, think about it carefully. Maybe when G is bigger you can think about no. 2. It's never too late. See Ashley and Emma. 7 year difference in age.

Cellow
Brushing teeth. I brushed together with Emma or ask ashley to brush with her. Another thing, I bought 2 brushes, one I gave her and the other I use to brush for her. Told her that I brush first and then she can do it afterwards. And yes, like Dordor, I also did the super Kua zhang thingy hehehe..

Jacelyn
Congrats again and jia you for breastfeeding.

Ashley has been sick. I went to A&amp;E at KK last Monday nite cuz her fever has not subsided for 5 days. Doc say antibiotics dose not strong enough. hmmmm. anyway she doesn't have fever now but cough badly. Another thing. cuz she's been so sick and weak, she became a crying, whining, bratty princess. When I'm at work she refused to eat and drink her medicine. I'm so irritated.

SD
Geez, how come the doc couldn't just give Ashley a sufficient dose of antibiotics from the very beginning? The poor girl must be feeling very uncomfortable. I can't imagine her as a "crying, whining, bratty princess". She's such a sweet, caring jie jie. Hope she gets well soon!

Jace
Wow it's great that Xun gal loves her mei mei. The kitchen set is a very good present! BM production will take about six weeks to stabilise, don't worry.

DD
I'm sure Mr DD will not be immune to baby#2. How can? Big age gap: it's okay. As they grow up, the difference in years gets narrower and they'll get along on the same level more easily.

Mich &amp; Esq
When is a good time for me to pop by and return the clothes? Or maybe at another lunch meeting with the mummies?

Sd
Me too. Cannot imagine Ashley as bratty at all! She must really feel quite yucky. Poor thing

Youpi
Just curious. If bm takes about 6 weeks to stabilise then during these 6 weeks, are we supposed to bf exclusively? Like when I first started out with poppy, my milk only came in on day 5.

I'm not preg la. Just curious, as I often am about many things

poor ashley.. hope she gets well soon..

mr DD will only play with bbG.. and not for too long as well.. so that's what I meant by not helping out (with the milk bottles and diaper etc).. big age gap means i'll be an old woman liao leh haha

anyway won't think so much about it lah.. we can never tell if we are making the right decision or not...

wonder how fried chicken tastes in cold cold weather like this...

lunch
did any1 meet for lunch today then???

thanks for the concern, doggie. C2 was actually ok, not slight cold, blocked nose due to excess hardened bi sai. so jabbed him lor. now fingers crossed no fever!

pb,
on your wondering wondering aloud
yes can bf exclusively. bcz supply = demand, so if bb suck suck suck this time cannot get so much, the next latch session will have more... bcz bb's sucking signals to the body to inc milk pdn. supply will equal demand eventually, yes within 6 weeks.
that's why hor, smtimes got too much also.

DD
Banks cannot jus deduct money from ppl's account. They have to give consent before the bank can deduct.
N that person is so mean not to want to give it back, did they contact the person and the person refuse?? There's nothing the bank can do actually if the person refuse to allow the bank to do the withdrawal but they definately have to help contact to ask. N normally the person will not refuse lah unless is really an idiot.
Okie i've been out of the industry for very long but I think troublesome for the person too as in the person must go n make a transfer or withdrawal to return back the money lor. Not as simple as jus deduct and transfer thingy.

I dun really like to use fear tactic cos like u I worry the kids will have the fear next time too. But dunno why D screams at the sight of ants......sigh

SD
Poor Ashley, she must be really so uncomfortable. But poor you gotta tahan her whines.

Virus n germs these days are so horrible. The kids can't totally get rid of their cough n phlegm. So sick of giving them meds but if I dun give they start coughing more.....arghhhhh

jace,

Wow! you sound so chirpy!! I hope I can be as chirpy as you when my turn comes.

SD,

Same here..quite difficult the sweet and so well behaved Ashley being bratty at all! hope she recovers soon!

dor dor,

ya..the virus and germs are very persistent these days. Wuffy was sick for almost 1 mth plus, damn sian to give him medicine and monitoring his temperature at nite.

PB
Yup, bf exclusively. As Cellow said, ss=dd and your body is a really smart piece of work - very responsive - where baby is concerned, so there's no need to worry. Before milk comes in baby can survive on the colostrum. It may seem that you are bfg endlessly, all the time, every 5 minutes without a break even to pee or do a #2, but as the weeks pass, the breaks will stretch

Vaccinations
Checked L's book and realised that he has not had a single one since he was 7 months old. Hmm.

Youpi/Cellow
I wonder.... Maybe your bodies/boobs are smarter than mine? Haha.

I totally caved when the nurse at hosp said "u got no milk and ur baby is hungry. Can we feed her formula?". To me it sounded like "your baby is hungry. Are you really not going to feed her?".

I also don't think I had any colustrum until day 5, when everything came in. So I wonder. If for #2, the same thing happens, what if really no nothing till day 5, then does baby really not get anything till then?

Aiyoh. Better go dig up all my baby books again.

Youpi/Cellow, actually i also not sure if my supply is enough. Can different bodies reaction differently? Like what PB mentioned, ur bodies are smarter than ours?
Bb is latching on constantly during the day. I do see milk oozing out from her mouth just that she is always not full. I suspect because the flow is not as fast so she dun feel full? But at night i tot its better to rest so i pump and let CL feed her. Sometimes not enough, she will just supplement one feed with formula. While i will set alarm clock to pump every 3 hrs at night. Hopefully this is enough :p.
But then again, got to face every growth sprout *arrrgh* and restart everything lo.

Poor Ashley and poor SD. Hope she recovers soon... oh and your MIL coming back *again*... seems like jst ystday that she left. Back to being an angel, SD!
Jiayou!

Smart bodies/boobs
Jace, PB,
HAAAAAAAIYOOOOOOOR. Biologically our boobs are designed to meet the milk needs of bbs. Where got smarter or stupider bodies one de!

Jace,
Learn to side latch while lying down and you dun even have to get up during the night to pump. get even moooooooorrrrree rest. haha (this is lazzzzzyyyyy cellow speaking)
unnamed #2's look changed? her cheeks are more pinchable now!

PB,
that nurse hor, shdnt have said that to you. shd have encouraged you to latch latch latch.

yes it can feel like latching every 5 mins, but the breaks WILL stretch and get longer.
just to share, C1 was not latching well at all after hosp stay... (bleep bleep) someone gave him 2 feeds of FM, voila! nipple confusion. took me 2 months+ to get him latching properly again. sooooooo angry at that someone then, however well meaning she was.

C2 by comparison latched on imm after the chop chop delivery. half hour right side then half hour left side. no one came in to disturb me until we were done (bcz my super detailed birth plan indicated so). then first week, every 2-3 hours latch in the day, night 3-4 hours. ss stabilised v fast. within 10 days, i got excess to store liao.

day 2 for C2, i squeeeeeezed out drops of yellow colostrum to show Mr C, bcz he casually wondered aloud if got milk anot, C2 got enuf to eat anot. i knew he gotta see for himself, if not ah, ah boy will be fed FM liao.

re brushing teeth
so this is wat i gathered
1. sing while brushing... ahh and ehh... bbp's declan.
2. book on brushing, ask who needs to brush teeth, doggie's T2
3. tell E teeth will drop off, brush w D then take over... dor
4. 2 toothbrushes, one for E to brush herself, one for mummy SD to brush

this morning i tried brush in front of C1. then i told him to open his mouth. he ran away giggling, expecting me to chase him.... but no time in morning, so i gave up.
tmr is PH, try again. wish me luck!

jace,
she is such a beauty!!!!!!!! sooo pretty!!! *drooling*

cellow,
brushing teeth ah. i do it with bosco beside me n brush to let him see since he was 12 mths. den teach him the "eeeeee" n "ahhhhh" to open the mouth n brush. need time.

haha yah her cheeks quite cute n ysh think she changed a bit wor...

cellow i think ur boobs really smarter la. if only i latch every 2-3 hrs i will be very happy. now is every half hr interval only leh.

yah practising to lie on the side to latch n try to pump after every latch or squeeze in a pumping session in between to up the supply. hopefully i am like u got excess to store. 10 days is out ... i aim 20 days hahaha

pb u know i think tmc nurses are like that. i think got one nurse squeeze my boob to see got milk or not on day 1 lo. lucky got something if not i am sure she will make such comments too!

teeth brushing, lucky me. xun gal love to brush teeth, esp after taking the yogurt snack. she will say: sweet stuck in the teeth n request to brush teeth! maybe she is a cleanliness freak :p

Cellow
U know what? You've just reminded me that my gynae laughed when I wanted to discuss my birth plan. Also he asked me to chop my fingers off when I had carpel tunnel SYndrome. Hmm. Not a really nice chap.

Will u rec ur Gynae? Anyone got a nice warm Gynae to rec? Pref at TMC or Mt A.

Bluebunny knows better than to interfere in any milk production sessions. if he asks me to give up, it would be becos he sees how tiring it is. And of course, There's also the frustration of "why is that joker able to sleep at night while I'm up feeding OUR CHILD?!!" hehe.

Weekend plans!
Visiting Indonesian Embassy for open house (sd want to join me?)
And on Sat going to get our photo taken for IKEA catalogue!

Oct 9 and 10 old supreme court will be opened to public before it gets turned into an art gallery. Check it out, got tour times wan:

Http://nationalartgallery.sg/openhouse

jacelyn,
C2 had jaundice, that kind of borderline need to hospitalise type. so he was very sleepy. *i* had to set alarm to latch him.
all in all, think tis good that #2 is latching every half hour. your milk ss will stabilise faster.

pb,
i got a nice warm gynae for C2. very open minded. he delivers at all the 4 pte hosps. TMC, Mt A, Mt E and gleneagles.
his bill also very nice and warm... not!
my purse was crying in pain after paying his bill. natural delivery and hosp fee all out of my own pocket some more. luckily post and prenatal is 80% covered by company.

i tell you ah, when you got 2, poppy will then be with bluebunny most of the time, then there is less of the frustration of "why is that joker able to sleep at night while I'm up feeding OUR CHILD?!!". i reckon i m less frus w Mr C this time around, bcz he also got the pain of looking after C1 in the night, esp when C1 is sick and coughing. hehe.

holly,
oh no oh no... i m 13 months late then!

Re chirpy Jace,
I realised cos Jace has always been a chirpy gal! I highly doubt I will be chirpy at any single point during my pregnancy or childbirth or post that, except oh yes... when I got high on the laughing gas. Veeeeerrrrry haaaapppppy.

PB,
Eh, horrible la you. Old maid = MIL. What ever will you MIL think?? Heehee :p
Technically, Hugo was't wrong in appraising you as a regular, but I think all bosses normally give chance to newbies, but Hugo being Hugo. Oh well. Go apply at Cin's company la.
And you ARE a very gut lat mother lor. Baking and cooking and freezing her portions. If hubby and my roles were swapped, I would demand that he learn how to cook. Oh no wait, he would just outsource that to the maid.
Caving when nurse said no milk? Yeah, me too. Plus Sir Dec did not want to latch too.

Dd,
I agree kids can be left alone to play on their own, which I feel is necessary to promote independence. But that part about leaving them to the maid and grandparents... I disagree cos no matter what, it's the parents who deal with discipline problems. I'm VERY sure the maid and grandparents will just give in to 80-100% of Dec's whims and wants, variation depending on the particular individual with grandfathers being 100%.
And Old Maid = MIL for you too? Tsk tsk :p

Re having more kids and letting go,
Haha, my cousin-in-law told me the same thing about letting go when you have more kids. She said:
#1 - you want to and need to control everything and everything must be done according to your style
#2 - most things are ok when they are done generally in the direction you want cos not so much time to control everything liao
#3 - you want to help me take care of the kid/kids? Take them!

SY,
You sms me about MacRitchie plans ok?

SD,
Hang in there. Ashley is such a sweet girl usually, so it must irritate you even more that she's behaving like this. It'll soon be over and the sweet girl will be back!

Re BF:
But how do you know if they are hungry cos they didn't have enough the previous round?
Maybe it's cos we are experienced the 2nd time round, we will find it easier. And we'll know when the nurses are being helpful vs interfering.

youpi,
Haha, so it seems like you're even further back for vaccinations. But we have to get them up to speed when we send them to school right? I recall reading something like that in one of the school's websites.

Jace,
She's sooo cute!

Old supreme Court sounds so interesting!

re nurses being helpful vs interfering
I find that Mt A nurses are generally helpful. And TMC nurses .... well I encountered 2 unhelpful-cum-interfering ones already during my visits there.

bbp,
"how do you know if they are hungry cos they didn't have enough the previous round?"
you will know. bcz they will scream again very soon! during first 2 weeks i offer boob every time bb even ehs, or by timing. budden both boys were very quiet babies.
then later, i rock, sing, do other things to amuse to test if they are really hungry, or just bored.

"that part about leaving them to the maid and grandparents... I disagree cos no matter what, it's the parents who deal with discipline problems. I'm VERY sure the maid and grandparents will just give in to 80-100% of Dec's whims and wants, variation depending on the particular individual with grandfathers being 100%" - that's why you are a SAHM!

your cousin in law is sooooooo right! *wry grin*

haha sounds like i should change my nick to chirpy Jace instead? :p

btw we have not quite decided but bb's name should be Ling Xun. =D Ling as in the chinese word for door bell. Xun is the same as #1. Hopefully we dun change our mind again haha

well hello chirpy jace!

your confinement like very free hor. like mine for C2!! still got time to play FB games. wahahhaha.

oh breastfeeding...
One of Mt A's LCs hor... like very the buay gum I din have any qns to ask her abt breastfeeding during C2's time... then kept asking me questions like which side, wat are the positions.... and i cannot rem at last wat qn i answered wrongly, but she ws macam so happy that i answered wrongly so that she can correct me!

sometimes you just hv to laugh! (and roll your eyes silently)

bbp,
you mean is it equally miraculous and do i marvel at C2 as much as i did C1?

hmm

not as frequently i must say... simply bcz lack time. but the intensity of love (or watever is the warm feeling around the chest region) is still the same. so yes.

did i answer the qn?
i had to think a while abt wat you were really asking.

To be honest, I have no idea how to explain my own question. It's the feeling of wow-ness that I'm talking about... eh, see, I also dunno whether I answered your question.

with C1, tis consistently and regularly - WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW

with C2, tis only when i have time to look at him properly - WOW. then need to scuttle off to tend to C1, tend house, tend my job, watever else... then again WOW. i dun do wow-ness as frequently, but the intensity is still the same. wow-ness never goes into lower caps.

ok?