(2008/07) July 2008

Dor, I am looking for a dentist too.. my wisdom tooth ache for so long liao.. sometimes cause my gum to swell but i just endure.. scared of dentist leh.....

woo hoo... how was everybody's weekend?!?! Mine was great! and tiring! I made two cakes over the weekend! haha...

today will be shifting my office liao...... thread moving slowly... anybody around????

dor, think its not too late to stock up on calcium pills leh.. else nex ttime old liao, easy to get osteoporosis looh.. especially you BF both babies for so long... go take take take..

dentist:
My dentist is from GPA dental, her name is Dr Chong. She's very nice and gentle. Another one is Dr. ong, also from GPA. very professional bunch. But they're pricey. I only visit for serious things kekeke... My daughter went there for her tooth matters. For general cleaning I went to neighborhood dentist in AMK.

Dor,
sounded like gingivitis? but check to dentist to make sure. The dentist in AMK is Life Dental, but quite a number of queue unless maybe can go in the morning. AMK hub also have NTUC denticare. Not bad.

Weekend was good. My brother came to visit and we went to Sitex. Bought myself a netbook kkk.

SY
I'll transfer via ATM later k? Will let you know once I made payment. How to get the stuff from you?

youpi
glad that L's diet has increased
your BM power la, can sustain him!

dor
i go to royce dental at ghim moh. not very ex. $35-$45 per session i think. please go check, cos you've really not been for a l-o-n-g time!

michelle also, go get your tooth check!!

girls, book sale! but for us, not kiddos

http://monsoonbooks.com.sg/bookstore/

Michelle
saw ur cakes on FB, how was the taste??? u used phil cheese should be nice rite..
i had plenty of cheesecake over the weekend..

Dordor
my dentist at tanjong pagar, toofdoctor.
Not bad, very professional..

Dentist
After reading the posts, I have discovered that my dentist is v ex! $120 for normal cleaning. Can go to PB's dentist three or four times!

BbG
School hols now mah. It'll be crowded everywhere! Did you all have a good time anyway? PIctures?

yoohoo

I am back from bali! very fun but very tiring trip. The little girl was an angel throughout but the boy wore his cranky pants occasionally! he absolutely hates to sit still for the plane rides and only would quieten down when offered biscuits!

ok! let me go read through postings now.

baby tantrums
e-boy has learnt to throw tantrum. ytday at giant, he wanted something and we din let him, he sat down on the floor and sulk. when we carry him up to stand, he will struggle from our grip and continue to sit down and sulk.. if we carry him in our arms, he will start to yell and then struggle to want to come down.. little terror!!! is this the so called terrible 2? cos it started at 16 months.. and pls tell me its a phase.

gooood morning!

dentist
i was reading and thinking - with 8 teeth, does C need to go to the dentist yet?
i have been guai guai going to the dentist every year - no fear of dentists for me... they are just another medical practitioner mah - till C came along... the last time i went to the dentist was last jun in kuching (cheaper mah). she is very gentle but unless you wanna fly to kch... *grin* in Singapore, i go to NTUC dental care at parkway.

it felt like i went here there everywhere w C1 over the weekend, but really it was mostly trips to the wet mkt, supermkt, and having him push his stroller around these areas after we had dinner outside.... although a fren fm MY did drop by with her 2yo Alexander (plus HB + MIL + sister in law who stays in Singapore and the hb) after cycling at east coast, so i had fun watching C interact w A boy. A boy has a fascination with cars too!!!! tis a boy thing, i reckon

HB wallet
his is falling to pieces, he uses a card holder instead of a wallet. so guess where all his coins go to when we are out tog?

but he is very particular in his requirements, must be black, and must open up on the shorter side, and cannot be button opening, must be snap openings... (i dunno if i described it correctly)

starxin,
at least your HB agreed to put D in childcare, one step at a time

do1nk
sentosa is still overseas ah

michelle,
the cheesecakes on FB look fantastic and feedback indicate they taste delicious too, well done!

another time he threw tantrum was when we reached my IL house and going into the lift, he din want to go up, wanted to go out and play instead.. so when we pushed him into the lift, he sat on the floor and sulked again! how how how? ignore, scold? or cane? (gasp!)

cellow, hey thanks. the cheesecake got good reviews, but not the choco butter cake .. the cheesecake so much easier to do loh.. dun even need to bake..

anyway, hubby liked both loh.. i bake for him one, so if he likes it, then it made my day liao.. hee hee...

michelle

E boy only sulked? mine will kick his legs and throw himself backwards while screaming and crying at the top of his voice! we carry him away swiftly and talk to him in a stern voice and then distract, it works most of the time. this is new to me too because talia never threw tantrums like that. mummies, any other methods to calm them down pls?

he will yell when we attempt to carry him away loh.. cannot even touch him... i think i will try the 'walk away and leave him alone method" and see if works.. he throw himself backward? hurt his head??? most of the time distraction works...

i was gonna say E boy stopping at sulking is very good liao.

doggiebb,
^5! C does the same. kick his legs (if we are carrying him), throw himself backwards while crying and screaming, or ... this is even more drama.... run to the nearest other adult (if avail) or the nearest wall or table and bang away on the legs with his little fists while screaming.
also carry away swiftly and talk sternly 'talk softly if you want smthing' or 'no screaming' or smtimes just a single word 'enough!', then distract. most times, the distraction works and tantrum stops. so i think we are doing the right thing.

phew, i m not alone!

michelle
same. poppy is like FZT, will straighten her arms so i can't carry her and if i manage, she will throw her body backwards and squirm

i just try to distract. 'look at the birds! trees! grass! woooo... leaves! are there any caterpillars there?' o_O

trikes
hey girls where to get trikes huh? those kind where we can push from the back? the mothercare one is tooooo ex for me!

youpi
i think my dentist could be more thorough. but for that price, hard to complain right?
maybe cellow's NTUC one is worth a try!

cellow
i remember reading somewhere (babycentre or something) that we should start bringing our kids to the dentist at 1 year. but i can't even get poppy to open her mouth for me to brush her teeth (now she's just sucking on her toothbrush and 'brushing' her teeth by herself), if i bring her to dentist, sure pay money just to sit on the chair wan

trikes. PB, GIANT have.. $42.99. Eboy one was from Carrefour... also 40 plus... after that can convert to let them ride on their own..

we converting to let eboy ride today... my FIL say he will remove dunno this part and that part... haha...

chope
trikes- does it mean that the kiddo can also steer? then if they want to steer and we also want to steer then how? who overrides who? or is it the stronger person wins?

pb

i have one of those trike which the adult can push from behind and i noticed those are very hard to pedal. and yes, the stronger person wins.

i bought another trike from toy r us which is about $79 which talia can pedal very easily. learning to pedal is actually a skill to be acquired. many todds will actually use their feet to propel themselves forwards.

the trike
http://the-upperroom.com/?p=321

Hi mummies.. gloomy weather outside.. and I’m leaving my baby tonite after tucking him into bed.. for a horrible 4 days.. major separation anxiety on my part.. already plan to bring his other security blankie along.. for myself hahaha!

Dentist: me no fear dentists.. coz used to wear braces! Go see them so often til not scared…but I’m keeping all 4 of my wisdom teeth if possible..I still go back to this place @ AMK ave 10.. small place manned by the young dentist and his asst (who doubles up as the receptionist!) zero waiting time haha.. smile link 6453 7453

Wah youpi.. wah your dentist uses branded fluoride perhaps.. :D

Haha smiggle your dentist very professional but name so playful: toofdoctor

bbG’s kinda not opening up to brush teeth too.. really should bring them to the dentist already? His premolars r coming out fast.. he’s got 12 teeth now!

Mich.. how did your cakes turn out? Will go check out your FB pics soon…Happy office moving ah.. nearer to hb too? Can go for more lomantic lunches now..

Doggiebb: hehe at least he can be pacified wiv biscuits

I think all our kiddos are starting to show tantrums huh.. mine will get angry and will swing his arms and bat me off.. and in the process will kinda bat his own face and cry too haha!

okie must find time to upload pics too...

someone mentioned jwt trial..*blush* now u know why I'm not the trial queen ah....

youpi,
Yes your dentist sure is very ex! My dad goes to this dentist cos he gets very good discount cos he is a senior citizen and unemployed. He brought me there once and it came up to 70plus I think 80 dollars and I already complain like siao!

Michelle,
I'm pretty sure everyone will tell you that it's a phase. Declan does it too with screaming and flinging his hands down in front of him, but becos he has a quick temper that dies down just as quickly, it's not too bad. And anyway, he only behaves badly when he's tired (I hope I'm right and it's not the indulgent mother in me speaking). Whatever the case, I think my hide has become loads thicker after having him.

Cellow,
What the heck is snap opening?? As you can see, super newbie here. I just leave all these things to my hubby cos I have already run out of patience getting stuff like these for him.

PB,
Oh yes, for Declan, it ranges from helicopters to butterflies and when I'm really desperate, my handphone. I'm eagerly waiting for the day I can get an iphone cos sometimes even my hp doesn't work on him and he FLINGS my hp to the floor. Of cos I sincerely hope he doesn't do that to an iphone. *cue sound of heart breaking*

doggiebb,
Ah, your post about Philston and Philson reminded me of something. When kiddos have such similar names, don't parents get confused? Cos I have 2 students who are sisters and they have similar names too. And I always have to think really hard before addressing any of them by name.

doggiebb
thanks! nice trike! is tali's the convertible kind too? did you remove the adult push handle? cos it looks like it doesn't have it, from the pic

wow the 2 boys really look alike! and boy are their names similar!

registration for school
so over lunch, i popped out to LSH at Mountbatten Sq and registered C for 1 Mar 2010 half days in the mornings. now i m feeling lost and boo hoo hoo abt it all, separation anxiety kicking in early?

and since i was there, i asked the principal abt kicking and screaming and yelling. apparently VERY age appropriate since the kiddos do not really know how to communicate their wants yet, so screaming and yelling is one way to 'talk', and biting (yikes) is another way. now i m REALLY looking forward to wat C has to say himself in words, instead of all this current screaming. what also works, according to the principal, is saying 'mummy will come to you more slowly next time if you yell'

total fees paid = 772.35
660 as deposit, 107 for registration and 5.35 for insurance.

and gotta get a backpack for him to carry his own stuff back. any recommendations?
.... plus when I told HB need to get backpack, he was like 'ha! get helper to carry his stuff la, anyway, he doesnt like things put on his back'
how to convince HB??????? very duh smtimes his reasoning. here i m trying to get C to be more self reliant n independent, and there he is... with his own reasoning.

pb

nope. this is not the convertible type. the first one i had which was horrible to pedal was the convertible type. this toy r us one is actually the second trike i bought.

yeah, my friend's sons' names are really similar. we brainstormed for her and came up with alternatives like philwin, philliot but unfortunately her hubs like philston. so until now they don't use this name, and rather use his chinese name. kua kua!

pss pss. the elder boy is actually the baby in zoe tay's similac advertisement shown on TV earlier in the year.

cellow

*pat pat* the feeling our little babies are growing up is a very strange bittersweet mixture of emotions. will get a lot of these when they do more and more "firsts".

bbp,
same la. C only does so when he is tired and/or bored, and it dies down relatively quickly, like a passing thunderstorm. the longest was 5 mins (i think) but certainly felt longer than that - at that time! ^5 on cultivating the thick skin!
... snap opening, should google and show pix, but darn lazy.

pb,
yep i think it was the babycentre article that got me thinking abt dentists for C. budden... like poppy, he treats brushing as more mom-mom time bcz the first teeth toothpaste is so sweet... dio dio dio.

Cellow,
I hope when Declan goes to school, I will remember to make him carry his own bag. I don't know why, but ever since a long time ago, I don't like it when I see kids just passing the bags over to their helpers or mom and they happily galloping away. It just doesn't feel right.

doggiebb,
Yup, I recall you telling me about Philson being in the Similac ad. Eh, just realised something. You mentioned that your friend is having a #3? Is this friend Philson's mom? If it is, I wonder what her #3 will be called! *grins and eagerly awaits*

do1nk,
Ooh yes, and in the process of batting everything away, Declan does hit his hand on stuff too. And of cos cries.

PB,
So I guess I should be grateful that Declan still allows us to brush his teeth. And when I passed him the toothbrush this morning (for distraction while trying to keep him on the toilet bowl), he actually requested for toothpaste!

Cellow, Doggiebb, Michelle

At least your babies dont self injured themselves.
Kayden learnt how to go bang/knock his head against anything.. If we stop him from what he wants, he will head for the nearest wall/fixture.
I need a helmet...

Dentist
so where are the dentist for babies?? Kayden got ugly teeth.. can put braces now

bbp,
no it doesnt feel right for me too. another talk with HB might do the trick.
speaking abt dependence on the helper, i realise that now even the adults are getting dependent... previously we used to wash our own cups, now everyone (including me) just dumps them into the sink. hmm. nope, doesnt feel right.

smiggle,
if he injures himself, does he scream harder? for me, the most impt is for C to realise cause and effect, bang head = pain, so dun do it again.

bbp

yup! she's the one! if its a boy, i will be eagerly waiting too! muahaha!

smiggle

mine does! he flings backwards and will hit his head and then go and wail louder! screaming I WANT I WANT at the top of his voice. those are the moments i feel i am going to lose it and wanna smack him!

one funny thing though was as we have let him flung himself once or twice and he realised its painful so now when he knows if he fling he will hit the ground, he will lower himself slowly onto the ground and then continue crying! sometimes i dunno wanna luff or be angry!

dentist 4 bb:

omg..muz bring bb to dentist liao?? mine has got like 16 till i lost count le..cos i neva count fast enuf den he closes his mouth le...

trikes:

i bought those can pushed by mummi fr de back n can be removed for 3-wheel n subsequentli 2-wheel pedal kind of bicycle..dun noe if tat's wat u r referring to...tat one can get fr normal bicycle shops oso..

doggiebb
SAme!!!
He will cry lor, then we heart pain lor..
Kayden will test water by slowly knocking his head.. his purpose is to make us kanchiong and he doesnt get hurt in the process, ANd he gets what he want!

Oh, ya
i smack him... close to buying a cane liao..
my hand hurts more than him lor.. thick-skinned fella

Hihi!

Back from HK and feeling damn tired! It was a good trip but my legs feel as if it is going to pop out of its sockets! No joke man, carrying a sack of rice around the streets of HK. HK isn't exactly flat land..hohohoho

Re Thread being quiet..

I think it is the hol season so most of the regulars are out of town. hehehe..was suprised to see that the current thread wasn't already archived!

Mich,

So what did you hubby give you huh? So envy leh... My hubby would never surprise me like that.

SmiggleP.

Wow! Kayden knocks his own head? I guess he knows it is an effective tool against you. It may sound cruel, but try not to give in to him the next time he does it?

Re Trials:

Just to refresh memory.

On 4 Dec (this Friday) there is a Socatots trial running.

On 5 Dec (this sat) there is stage and such trial running.

one trip to HK, memory gets zapped or rather time stood still.. :p

SY, thanks for organising iherb, will pick them up this Sat/Sun. :p TT the fund later on!

Starxin
Saw Gynea n confirm preg liao?? Congrats.

Better take ur calcium since ur preg bb needs the calcium n u too.
Normally suan feeling I will use mouthwash religiously and will be okie in few days.

Jacelyn
Wah thanx....no pain dentist huh............hehe
Got ur Pm too thanx....I'm actually more lazy at making appt. Been thinking of going since working days since I can claim but.....too lazy till now.
Then see I'm worried sick....hehe
Heng now feels much better but the redness still there maybe see next 2 days hw.....cos I still dread going to the dentist not to mention hw I'm gonna park the 2 kids when I'm seeing the dentist.

Michelle
Wah u wisdom toothache still can endure 1 aah??
Not that I dun want to take the calcium, its actually run out liao....then lazy to go to gynea jus to buy calcium pills.
Then waited for hubby to give me a date he can go with me so I can go for my long overdue pap smear n shunbian get the pills.
But wait n wait n wait see lah hw many mths liao lor. Finally booked my checkup cos I dun bother abt hubby liao lah jus dunno hw I'm gonna be checked if hubby cannot make it there....hehehe

SD
AMK cheap n good huh but which means have long waiting time? cos I know the 1 my mum visits in the neighbourhood always must make appt for the next mth.
Really hor then got problems hw aah by the time appt date the tooth already cannot save liao lor.

Rayna
Thanx thanx, will call to see if I need.

PB
Wah urs very far leh but seems cheap though. hehe u know lah I am lazy to go n I dread where the kids will be when I have to go.......
Push trikes I got mine from carrefour but i feel its abit late to get 1 now. Cos we bought 1 for D last time which I recently sold away as E seldom sits on it now as she will want to walk n run when she sees D running.
Plus the trike we got is alittle hard to ride cos i think its too far n D never manage to pedal it.

Smiggle
Urs is far and sound ex leh is it??..........hehe

do1nk
0 waiting time?? sounds great!!

Dental
ThANX mummies for being so generous with ur dental contact so i can call 1 by 1 to get the earliest slot(hopefully I dun have to).

N so I shall be nice in return to tell you abt this dental for kids I got from other mummies.
Its School Dental Care at Health Promotion Board tel:64353782.
I think its only for kids and they seem very popular cos as usual I took my time to finally call to make an appt for D n my appt is in JANUARY. I was like huh dun even have any weekday timing? and they were like No cos its sch holiday ma.
So I've never been there yet but a review from another 3yr old's mum was that they were very nice and she was surprised her 3 yr old actually allow the dentist to check his teeth.
But anyway the great thing is their charges start at $8 and she paid $8 flat for her son's 1st dental visit.

So even though its far, I'll give it a go cos I dun mind paying $8 even if the only thing our kids will do is sit there n look pretty........hahaha

Tamtrums
Ember has started hers too though a milder version cos she sai nai. Just yesterday she wanted to take my biscuit and I told her "NO just bite" Wah her waterfall jus started like that man. But I stood firm and she tried again. I said No again n she wailed again. Then seeing that I didn't sayang her and korkor was too busy eating his biscuit to sayang her, she walked to the kitchen to find her Papa.
N I can hear her loud n clear as she walk to the kitchen called Papa and wailed. Sigh..........not looking forward to her terrible 2s.

SD
Thanx for the info.....which made me do a search on it and seems like its really gingivitis. Then I feel so gundo why I never search abt it(like I always do) and jus feel so fustrated dunno what to do abt it.....hehe
Then I read on n it says 1 of the causes, malnutrition. Improve your nutrition if it is poor. Me??? Malnutrition........LOL

The patient will be taught proper mouth and gum care.............LOL

dor dor,
The kids dental hor.. where is it located?

PB,
I want your dental contact! Ghim Moh is like my hangout place nowadays, cos we always go there for breakfast like at least once a week. PM me can? Xie Xie!

Yah the tantrums ar.. sometimes my own fault also. Cos so late already, I clearly know it's his bedtime, but I still can't resist going to NTUC for grocery shopping. So of cos I bring him along. Ok, how hard is it for you guys to bring the kiddos to supermarkets? My technique to make him sit in the trolley is to keep changing the item that he's currently holding so that he will be too busy checking out the item in his hand and won't look around and go ah ah ah to every single item on the shelf!

Dordor
yar my hb also have early stage of gingivitis. The doc advised the proper way to brush teeth - circular motion and not up and down motion. cuz up and down will make the gum recede more. something like that.

And yes, that Life Dental at AMK central - it's like 1 month in advance kind of appt.

SY,
Thanks for organising iherb purchases. I've transfered 47.35 last nite via Atm. Are you going to stages and such this weekend?

Sd
any lunch coming up? i can bring the stuff for all who are going..

re dentist for kids
i got to bites inc at tanglin shopping centre. Dr Ong very very paitent. think can go when they are 1 year + going on 2.

cannot wait to give C the fish oil from iherb so that he (hopefully, fingers crossed) sprouts more vocab soon. with less screaming and yelling and tantrums. hehe.

bbp,
*envy*
C ends up looking at the wheels on the trolley. And then wants to push the trolley himself... usually one of us gotta steer for him, then the other goes zipping thro the store to get the stuff we wanna buy.

only occasionally can we distract him with stuff from the shelves.... and he will always look at the fruits and tell me mom-mom, MOM-MOM AH!!! getting louder and louder like we starve him at home. *pengsan
dunno whether to laugh or cry!

hi sy,
can i collect the fish oil from your parents place? its nearer to my home. please let me know when is a good time to collect from them. appreciate if you can PM me lest i missed ur msg here

Cellow,
Eh, ok, I will learn to appreciate my son then, although the trying-to-grab-everything-from-the-shelves really makes me feel like I'm doing some go-kart driving.

On 4 Dec (this Friday) there is a Socatots trial running.

On 5 Dec (this sat) there is stage and such trial running.

Can some kind soul PM me the address and timing?

Stage and such. 5 Dec confirmed. We have 9 pax for now. Will confirm on timing and address later.

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) bbp & declan
3) do1nk & bbG
4) Qing & Barbie
5) doggie and thaddie
6) batgirl & wuffy
7) Ezekiel and e square
8) youpi & L
9) SD & Emma

we should receive a confirmation email from stage and such soon but dun panic first if you don't. will trigger you soon, with address as well. SD, i will forward them the address. thanks. do1nk, the email I provided is your gmail account. batgirl, the email I provided is your singnet account.

ok back with more details later.

Socatots Trial!

The free trial is on 4th Decemeber, Friday 10am to 11am at Turf City.

Address as below.
#01-17 & #02-05 Turf City, 200 Turf Club Road

thanks Mich! I have not yet receive any email yet..but i guess I will wait first.

bbp,

Wuffy is like declan, the hands must be busy holding something in the shopping cart or he will make a lot of noise!

missyz
sure i will put your stuff and batgirl's stuff at my parents place

when want to collect, just sms me first before u go down.

recently so busy...jh having hol classes in sch so everyday i have to go fetch him to and fro (not taking car though) so it's been a busy busy time. and with jh at home, jx's schedule all messed up. she dun wan to take her naps at her usual time n will only sleep at 2pm or 3pm....but good thing is i knock both of them out together so at least i can have some me time!

cellow
will eating fish oil make them talk more? jx still a lot of bb talk but can make out some things that she says. she loves to say bye. where ever she goes she will say bye to ALL the pple. and today i heard her tell maid 'shoe where?' quite funny.

i can't decide whether to change my helper or not. my hb really can't stand her cos she is either dumb or acts dumb a lot. and when u ask her to do A, she always do B. the reason i m considering letting her stay is cos i think the kids are finally getting used to her and she dun have off days. so i m willing to close one eye to her lack of common sense.

SY

i was the one who told cellow. I have read that fish oil and i think specifically omega 3 is very beneficial for kids with speech apraxia and other expressive speech delays. the dosage shld be large enough though for the first 3 months.

i did it for Talia at 18 mths when she wasn't as forthcoming with words and there are a sudden explosion of vocabulary after the oil supplementation. I am not sure if its really the oil or that the time to talk has come.

Anyway, I found this thread of mummies talking about this as well.

http://www.mothering.com/discussions/showthread.php?t=808445

oh the book i read was "The late talker. What to do if your child isn't talking yet" but this book deals mainly with apraxia and not other developmental delays though.

doggiebb,
how much liquid fishoil did you give talia intially? or just go with the recommendation on the bottle...

i read the thread. interesting.
C is having problems expressing with his limited vocab - ah-ah, mama, papa, wawa and dada... but knows how to point to various body parts, his clothing articles, the various relatives (yiyi, popo, kongkong) when asked. so expressive got problem, but receptive ok.

both mum and MIL say dun worry. he ll learnt to talk soon enough. tis not so much worried, tis that i m eager to hear what he has to say instead of the screaming n yelling when he cannot express himself fully