(2008/07) July 2008

holly, want to try getting the humidifier? you can still turn on the aircon and it keeps the humidity in the room, so not so dry and tough on the throat. what we used to do (when we were on the enerygy saving campaign), we turn on the aircon to cool the room, then turn it off the next few hours and use 2 fans to ventilate, then turn on again once the coolness is gone.. I think that may "trick" him into thinking he still in aircon room?

anyway, hang in there... take care k?

wah, this thread moves really fast. I'm lost heh

re: HK
i also wanna go! never been there before and the flight's not too long so should be ok for the little 1. but i don't speak cantonese. will that be a problek?

re: Mandarin
my parents speak mandarin to my son. they see him about 3 days a week. we speak English to him

wah ethan do somersault himself? bbG takes our bed as his playground.. climbs onto the pile of pillows and quilt n tries to slide down..

do you think fans are more economical than air conditioning? when we had to sleep without the aircond, it was one for us, one for bbG and one for our doggie... think we ended up spending more on utilities that way?

backdoor via history lor haha.. i usually go via favourites but the threads r missing..

do1nk,
Not a bad attempt

Dec still calls orange as ball, no matter how hard I try to tell him orange.
Me: Declan... or-range
Dec: Or!
Me: Ok, very good. What is this?
Dec: ..... BALL!
*Peng san*

Michelle,
I face that many-people pressure all the time nowadays. My ILs are back from China.
Somersault - haha, for a period of time, Dec wanted to do it on his own ON THE FLOOR. Luckily he only went as far as putting his head to the floor.

kylene,
Haha, this thread moves SUPER fast. I don't even bother to try and catch up liao.

somersault.. yes he actually did it, to all our surprise. and it ended with 3 adults screaming and ethan boy grinning... he has been putting his head on everything for the longest time.. now on the bed, he will move his butt.. then slowly tip toe... and then push his legs hard, one swift motion - somersault! I hope he will stop doing this now that he has learnt the skill to do it!! cannot leave him alone on the bed. NEVER!

I can never get ethan to utter a single word.. the book says to point to him and repeat and repeat... i have repeat sooooo many times for sooooo loooong liao.. he still refuse to open his golden mouth to speak...

but this morning is really funny, cos everytime we approach the car and when there are other cars of a different colour around, i would ask him "is this our car?" then will say NO, this is not our car... then will go on until we reach our car, and tell him, YES this is our car.... this morning when i asked him, he actually din respond until we reach our car, he nodded. so i think he knows red and black also! (of course he definitely does not know the make and model lah... hahaha)

Kylene,
haha... this thread really move very fast....

Re: mandarin
ya, we do speak mandarin & english @ home... sometime my mum speak to them cantonese, and my MIL speak to them hokkien

michelle,
ethan know how to do Somersault .... good!

now that do1nk mentioned, haven't heard from dustee for a few days right? maybe she brought pomfret out to avoid her mil... hehehe...may not be a bad thing

Michelle,
at least your in laws understand that little kids need some form of discipline. try explaining that to my parents and mil... cannot say too often.. my mum once commented, "so niao.. no one will go near your son!" omg.. this coming from my own mother...

my boy tried but failed every time he tries to sommersault. dunno where he learn this from also.

my ex's niece didn't talk till she was 3 yrs old. but she's really very very smart little girl. so no worries, smart boy like ethan will surely open his golden mouth eventually. who knows, his first clear audible word may shock you hehe...

holly,
maybe you try Michelle's method with the air-con lor. or get the humidifier. cough really don't play play coz cough too long no good for the lungs.

do1nk,
i tried imagining your 3 fans in the room.. hehehe... quite funny the image hahaha..

My IN laws are both english speaking and dunno how to speak mandarin. My mom speaks to him in mandarin but only 2-3 hours a week. However, Ethan loves the Chinese songs and he will watch quietly. My MIL will watch with him and tell him in english when some pictures come out.. but wonder if it confuses him, like sometimes we say this, sometimes we say that.. will he know they are the same, but just different language?? you get what i mean?

so how do you all do it? do you point to something and then specifically say it in both english and chinese?

btw, in the Little neuro tree class, the lessons are conducted in three languages, and it is very obvious that he is more attentive in english and not the other two, but he still listens..

I am probably the only one in the house that can speak mandarin and so wondering if i should just keep doing it non-stop.....

just now i type super long n den cannot post.

mich, steph,
humifier dun help at all.. he still continue coughing with the humifier on. the on and off aircon method i myself cannot tahan. i cannot tahan a stuffy room de. if never on aircon n no open window, i will wake up immediately. now wat i do is on the aircon for him to get into slp den after that i off the aircon n on the fan when he is asleep lo.

kylene,
indeed this thread move very fast de. only quiet times might be weekend le.

bbp,
bos also everything also ball. -.-" ask him call his uncle, kaofu, he say BALL! ask him call his grandma, popo, he say BALL! ask him call his auntie, jiu ma, he say BALL! ask him wan to eat wat, he say BALL! everything also BALL!

Re: Mandarin
one of hb's friend spoke only English at home. his son shook his head whenever someone spoke to him in mandarin or calls him by his chinese name. he didn't like the language. so yes, maybe wise to expose our kids to mandarin now.

i speak both English & Mandarin. but was told better for 1 person to speak 1 language to child. my hb & mil speak to boy mostly in English and my parents mostly in Mandarin. sometimes i'll speak in dialects to son also.

bbG, yes lah... fans consume less electricity than aircon lah... coincidently I am working on a Green Project for my organisation thus i know these figures for reference.

A typical split unit air-con system consumes about 1500WH of electricty (depending on BTU). A fan? only 75-100WH. However, to achieve the cooling effect, it also depends how the air is blown. The trick is to remove the heat around the body from the top to bottom (in this case, a ceiling fan is great). if not, let your fan oscillate upwards and let the hot air rise and cool air drop....

mandarin
this is exactly what happened to my nephew. he was totally not exposed to mandarin. when he was in pre school and kindergarten, still alright.. as he went into primary school, he started losing interest in the language so nothing goes in. to him, it is HARD. he said he cant think in that language at all. imagine his essay? he can write things like, wo zuo le hao shi, wo very proud of myself. half half one loh.. and all characters he memorise, but no understanding at all.. this dec his parents sending him to Tianjin school in China for crash course 1 month!!!! thats why my brother was telling me, better start young loh... he PSLE next yr loh.. all other subjects score so well, chinese he always fail..

mich,
he is slping on matress on the flr. funny thing is. if he wakes up in the middle of the night, he will crawl up to our bed (tatami style) n slp beside hubby. once he even climb over hubby n slp in the middle of us. =P

oh really ah.. hmm.. i have no other suggestions liao.. how about letting him wear loose clothes? those cool cottony clothes?, sleep on the floor, and let the air come down from the top to bottom?

Somersault or bend over and peep thru legs: bbG has never done this at all!

Bbp: bbG tends to call anything round ball too.. and he can’t say orange so he says orr as well
haha bosco calls everything and everyone BALL!

But it’s really cute when he make all the animal sounds.. his fav: growling for the lion/tiger.. he does the monkey and dog too.. used to say meow as well.. but now he’s confused between meow and moo.. so he goes MMM for both!

Ceiling fan: mich.. u sure or not.. I pestered hubby to install a ceiling fan in our playroom so no danger posed for itchy kiddy fingers into table fans (and more space on the floor) but we can barely feel the air coming from it now! 1,500WH vs 100WH? Serious? So I can turn on 10 fans in fact! We try to sleep wiv the fan when hb’s away.. coz he must have total darkness, total silence (close windows) to sleep…duh!

Trying to picture bosco climbing over mountains and hills to get into mummy’s bed and sleep in between hee

breakfast for the babies
I think I ought to be more innovative and start giving bread with cheese spread like bbG’s idea for my boy. He is taking cereal for breakfast every day!

Michelle,
Is E-boy inspire to be a gymnastic next time? hee..u know when I bought J to the gym class, the instructor actually got all the babies to do somersault!
Btw, we can change hands coz I am also waiting for j to open his golden mouth..

missysz, ya ya, now i know.. ethan must have learnt to do the somersault from gym class! cos they do it to him (assisted) every week so he must have got the somersault motion oredi and did it himself.. funny he even knew how to move his bum bum a few times before using his legs to give a hard push! haha...

*shaking hands with missysz* on E and J's golden mouth... BUT J is running liao loh so I release your hand again...

bbg,
your ceiling super high is it.. ceiling fan directly above should feel really cool.. unless your ceiling is super high, OR you did not install one with the appropraite power? total silence? then how he sleep with bbG around? haha...

my ceiling is not high leh.. and the playroom is really small..and we switch it on to the max you can hear the air being whipped yet can't feel the breeze.. wonder if it's got to do wiv the 2 different heights of the ceiling

Hey girls,
how are things?? I will be going to malacca for 4 days with my dad for treatment .. Really pray hard.. These few days condition seems better but we are still worried coz doc says counting by the weeks....

PB
hehe u have so many cravings means when u back will have more lunch gatherings.....hahaha

Ronnie
No need envy jus try more lor....sure can get 1 girl girl.....hehe

Michelle
hehe got crowd watching ur 'show' aah....stress hor
Normally when start to teach NO will have to tell them firmly n loudly "NO" n if they dun get the message, will have to repeat "NO" then move them away from that area totally. Keep doing then they get the idea. That's what I do lah.
I abit more lucky cos maybe E is #2 I shout louder she will jus stun there for awhile n stop what she's doing......hehe

youpi
My #1 doesn't go to sch but he gets all those nonsense from the auntie n uncles downstairs. N I think he gets a kick out of receiving them cos he doesn't ask to eat them at all.......haha

Steph
Actually you jus have to be very positive n believe you can do it. U are their mum, surly u can take care of them right?? Jus take it 1 step at a time n no stress.

Ehh little girls come with higher pitch voices too leh. U should hear Ember scream. Everytime she screams near my ear I get ear block for awhile. Think going to be deaf soon.....hahhaa

Language
I used to speak to Damien in mostly English. Actually I didn't realise (cos we mostly speak mandarin with family) until inlaw n kpo ppl downstairs asked. But cos used to it I jus continue lah. Then he started his JG classes after Ember was born n he so loved the chinese teachers that he picked up mandarin n now is the Chena boy lor. Ppl talk to him in english he either ignore or reply in chinese. Even his gym class teacher told me she tot he couldn't understand english at 1st.......arghhhhh

Hi e2, how are you? go all the way to malacca? hope all turns out well for you. take care....

dor, really ah, keep saying NO? my boss was telling me to develop a No voice, but I tried and still no effect. maybe must keep doing it loh...

I can do lunch 2mr! Crab bee hoon anyone?????

last night ethan walked like 5m unsupported!! and he very funny one.. we have to let him stand up, and then you can see that he put his hands by his side, like waiting for us to say OK you can walk now.. then he started walking... its really cute to watch.. i did upload his walking video on his blog.. very funny...

Holly, how is bos? feeling better???

mich,
seems better. he never cough thru out the night but i still on the aircon at minimum for him, so he slept thru. only until this morning i hear him cough and i woke up to off the aircon n he was ok again. when i use the nebuliser on him this morning. he never struggle anymore. hehe. he sat there guai guai, but occassionally give out a whine den quiet again.

holly, that is good to hear! bosco is a strong boy!

oh cin, i saw from your FB recently rgding your trip to cameron highlands. can you PM me the details like where to stay? etc? cos I am planning for a big time family drive up to cameron, we have like 10 adults and 6 children loh...

Ehh u 2 hor use the favourites to come in right?? Cos the rest cannot come in ma.....hehe
I also use my favourite link for times like this.

Michelle
What ur boss say is correct but hor have to.....develop that voice 1 leh. Hw to say aah....
Sort of like when u say it u mean it. N when Ethen hear you speak in tat voice its like a no argument kind lor so he knows that when u say "NO" u mean NO. I do that with D when I want him to follow what I say n no arguments.

But it doesn't mean that u keep saying NO NO NO NO no no no no.....hehe
Maybe for a start when Ethan does something that is wrong you say loud n clear "Ethan, NO" n bring him away from there. If he wants to walk back then let him but make sure he dun do the thing he's not supposed to even if u have to stand right beside him watching. Everytime he does it again jus repeat "NO" then bring him away.
So he will know that he can't do that.

Actually I think mummies got more power cos we more firm bah. Cos hor Damien with my hubby hor always hear arguments 1 leh. D will argue with him then both of them like small kids quarrel like that lor very BTH. Until I have to shout over to ask them what's wrong when I have already said "NO".
Then wah u suddenly hear PEACE.......

Holly
Poor Bosco gotta Neb. U know hor that time D gotta Neb also very jialat lor cos he refuse n cry. But heng he listen to me 1 so I tell him he is like a dragon who breath out smoke. Then he okie but will still fuss when he needs to be neb.
So Bosco very guai to be neb.
I remember Dani also okie with Neb.....so guai.

dor, thanks for your tips. WIll keep trying loh, cos according to my MIL, ethan still like to go to the fan to play with the buttons and the wires loh... i have the feeling hor, the more we say no, the more they want to do it .. will that happen? so meanwhile, i am practising my NO voice.. NO, NO, NO, Cannot!

harlow 3 mummies who have backdoor key..

holly, is bosco ok now?

anyone heard from qing and if barbie's gone for her op?

bumped into jacelyn during lunch juz now aiya if i saw your msg earlier.. would have jio-ed you to RP for lunch :D

NO voice: I bellow like deep thunder but bbG does not even flinch or bat an eyelid.. and i dun wanna turn into those hysterical screaming mummies leh.. sigh.. how to discipline this naughty fella..he's learnt a high pitch scream when he doesn't get his way!

hey e2, how are you holding up? how come must go melaka for treatment? can take it as a mini holiday too? let your dad enjoy the sights and simple life there or must he stay in at all times? how are your boys too?

bbG, i just had lousy lunch in my office canteen here.. bleah!

Think Qing mentioned the op sometime in early Oct? anyway, she is joining us for the BiBinogs this sat so think not gone yet bah...

oh, Ethan has also learnt to scream and pout when he does not get his way.. but he is easily pacified with other things so he stops quite quickly. BUT i so need to develop my NO voice..

eh, I mean Qing mentioned barbie scheduled for op in mid Oct, not early Oct..

btw, think PB should also be on the plane home liao, hor??....

oh she did mention huh..coz i recalled in her blog she had 2 weeks grace in sep b4 doctor told her to go for op..

so cold today.. got a sniffling nose too..

Quick one cos got to do so many things.

If the boy screams at home, I can still stand my ground and refuse to respond until he says what he wants. Luckily, he hardly screams outside cos there's just too much things to see.

*waves my backdoor key*

i also have! so quiet wor!

this sat going to be a mad dash. trial at 3.30pm, then go home pick ger, dash for birthday party at 6pm!

it's been a while since I last post.. has been very very busy, gotta work in the day time and go for part time studies at night and sun afternoon. Feeling a bit guilty towards hao ran as I left very little time to accompany him... and hao ran is down with flu again... lots of phelgm (thick and green colour) & nose blocked..T.T

kylene
welcome^^

E2
glad that your dad is feeling better.. I pray that his condition is improving

michelle
hao ran also behave in the same way.. the more we say NO, the more he will do it.. And before I can say NO again, he will imitate my NO action by sticking out his finger and moving it sideways.. ><
And when we scold him, he will purse his lips and cry really bitterly like we bully him..

mandarin
it's better to expose them earlier. My colleague's daughter simply refused to speak mandarin.. even when my colleague speaks mandarin to her, she will reply in english and tell her mommy to speak english

bbG
take care.. go home early so can snuggle up in warm warm blanket.. hehe

Woa... finally managed to get in. Forum was down. now i think it's impossible to catch up!

anyway, was quite bsuy past couple of days. brought my boy to take a look at childcare. had a big quarrel with inlaws cos they disapprove of sending him to childcare.
cried all night cos they accused us of being bad parents and all. SIGH

bbp,
right now, my parents take care of my son when I'm working. since I'm PT, the other days i take care of him. MIL used to take care of him 2 days a week but stopped cos she said it's very tiring. now she only comes for a couple of hours to play with him. so u see, inlaws don't want to take care of him, yet opposes to us bringing him to CC!

my purpose of sending him to CC is mostly for social interaction. cos i find that he's very shy in front of other children.

E2,

not sure what illness your dad has but I hope he gets well soon
why do u need to go to Malacca for treatment? no offence but isn't Medical treatment in S'pore quite good?

mich! finally forum is up..lol..no one asnwer to yr crab bee hoon call..sayang you. what details you want? we stayed at eu yan sang, hilltop bungalow..it's not 4 star at all but livable..the nice thing is that there's a cook on site so can request anything..we even had bbq and steamboat
the weather was super cool and nice !

finally, i get to post..
forum down plus i started work this week...
new job quite demandin, so very tired...

Im at parkview sq, bugis... any mummies there for lunch???

Rena
good luck for ur trip, hope it helps ur dad...

Michelle
Kyaden must be the noti-est boy i seen. He purposly do thing which we frown on.. scream scold and beat dont work on him...
If he doesnt get wat he wan, he go "kok" his head on somethin.. He noes that if he injured himself we will give in to his demands...
Total damage= one fan remote control, one tv remote control, one light remote control, my wallpaper has a mark already, 1 glass milk bottle, 1 cup, my hp and...dunno wat else...

kylene,
If your IL don't want to take care, who do they expect to take care?
Yah, alot of moms here want their kids to go into CC for the interaction. Right now, I'm also wondering if I should do that, even though I'm a SAHM.

cin,
Your cameron highlands trip looked super duper nice. Made me gian to go.

smiggle,
Bugis so near town, sure can lunch meet up one.

First graffiti in the house by Mr Artist Declan... my bed.