(2008/07) July 2008

bluey,

hahahahaha i can imagine my HB's face if i even suggest trying the breast pump on his chest...

thanks for the offer on comfy kangaroo nursing tanks. have PM-ed you already - 2 tanks for me!

hi julysweetiepie..
i bot my plastic caps from one of the shops at mount alvernia.. normally hospital's shop will sell.. i tink bout 20cents ea? as for the glass bottles.. u all noe hor.. can get from the nurse

rachel

tot Mt A selling at $0.70 each ?not that cheap as $0.20 leh.

bluey

bb is of good wt lah !! dont take too much durians, wait too heaty for your boy ah.

SY: wah...stress til you got contractions? take a deep breath and remind yourself, it's juz work...dun get too worked up.. think happy thoughts...can go on ML soon and not bother with work! :D

coconut: are you girls talking about the big green kinds or the botak beige shelled kind like thai coconuts? my MIL gets them from shop n save..think it's $1? see her chopping it very easily leh..must find the softer spot then chop there..and you'll find a thin layer where you can poke your straw into...empty the water then continue to chop a bigger chunk off so can slowly dig into the flesh...yum.. must have one tonight when I get home..

PERSPIRING: do you girls feel much warmer lately? I'm someone who gets cold very easily previously...past months were fine, but I've been sweating profusely lately like I put on an extra layer of fat overnight!

Hey mummies

I am actually edd on 9 Aug.
During my 32weeks scan, my baby head has engage and my gynae said it will be early. I saw from book that if baby head engage, it will be out in 3weeks to 4 weeks time. I wonder if it is true. As this is my second bb. MY first bb was 3 weeks earlier too. Any mummy having the same incident as me.

PB,
I got this walk and ride stuff from my friend during my bb full month...now she still enjoy playing it so much...

do1nk,
I took those thai young coconut that can be found in the restaurant..i always buy at the shop at upper serangoon..selling the teow chew porridge...2.60 buck each...very sweet...now taking once a week

Haven't been here for weeks! The past few weeks were very hectic in my office as I was handing over my jobs and wrapping up my projects ... glad it's finally over *phew*

Gynae said BB is 3.1kg now :) But he's still facing front so hopefully he'll turn soon. No wonder my tummy is very painful now everytime he moves, all his limbs are facing front!

Sweating
Tell me about it! I'm still sweating in 20C aircon with fan set to medium. Worse is I get breathless easily if the temp is warm so my electricity bill is super high now :-(

Maternity pads
How long approximately we need to use maternity pad ah? 1 week? 2 weeks? Will it be like having heavy period after delivery?

Re: Sweating
I also sweating a lots leh..but still manage to survive with stationary fan on to no.2 without aircon..but i'm sure i can't survive without air-con during confinement..

RHS,
how many weeks r u now?

I"m now 36 weeks..tomolo will see gyane...dun think my bb oledy engage as my tummy still look high. My 1st one never engage even until i'm 39 weeks...so end up i C-section. Hopefully this time round will engage then can go for natural lol

PB,
hmmzz...then i tink i go cold storage n get tonite

bluey,
I dont tink my gynae will ask me to do Strep B test also cos he did not ask me to do for #1 too. So I guess dont need to do bah?

Re : Perspiring
I also need to on aircon and fan at nite when i sleep but i set aircon thermostat at 25degrees lah...cos thats the best temperature that wont consume so much electricity

RHS,
That time for my #1 heavy flow only lasted for 3-4 days. After that I switched to normal pads liowz

just back fm gynae coz got brown discharge , gynae say i'm already 2cm open liao so next tue morning go back to him in the morning to insert pill than go hospital to get ready for delivery.... he say my labour would be a fast one before 12noon bb will pop out liao....

serene,
how come still must wait till tuesday? gynae don't think you'd dilate more from now till then? that's 4 days away leh.......

dentist
i survived the dentist chair!!! but was damn stressed about it lor, coz very scared of dentist. but coz mine is female, and she's a mum, so she was very gentle. but she said, that my pregnancy nausea and throwing up of gastric juices might have eroded my teeth enamel
now i got old woman teeth. sigh.

first teeth
i saw first teeth at kiddy palace, about 20% off. the toothpaste alone, normally $17, now $13. then the smaller tube with the finger brush, normally $27 then now $21. is that cheap? should i stock up? (even though baby not born yet hehe)

Mad

wah ur bb is engaged so early ??? but u r not even 36 weeks now right ?

my #1 was out at 37 wks 6 days too.

gynae says my #2 will be early as well.

serene

so u have past 36 weeks by next tue right ?
insert pill to induce contractions ah ?

actually 2cm can still last for weeks for some preggie leh. why the hurry ah ? cos of the brown discharge?

anyway good luck to u !!

wow serene..all the best ya

my gynae said my baby girl still not engaged yet..but amniotic fluid not much :p..she will see me again next friday and decide if i will get induced :p

yay, weekend's here..happy weekend ALL

xiaoyang,
I'm 37 weeks now

My gynae asked today if I want to test for GBS but he didn't check if my baby is engaged or not. Anyway I kinda feel that my baby will be overdue because my period cycle is long, so the EDD may not be that accurate.

pinkbunny,
I saw in another thread that you are aiming for drug-free delivery? Me too! I took hypnobirthing class and engage a doula ... hopefully can have natural and drug-free birth.

serene,
All the best to you!

xiaoyang,

I have not got mine yet .. so I can't comment on the quality.

Btw ... till now ... only 2 ppls are interested so the order might not take place.

Maybe you could consider till sunday.

Today @ TMC pharmacy, I saw this destiny creame is going @ 2 for $20, I think. Hope I am not wrong.

My baby not "out" yet so I "pantang", will not buy first.

If interested, maybe you could give the pharmacy a call to confirm.

star,

u mean me? ... I purchase 4 already @ 19.99 each.

Since they email me about the deal ... just check if gals here are interested.

bluey:

haha...
i din noe u got 4... i got onli 2.. maybe i can get 2 more.. hee.. let me tink abt it..

nursing bras:
heard we r supposed 2 get bigger sizes, rite? s in bigger den pregnant times or prior pregnant? den is increase in cup size or the broadness?

Updates!
Poppy is 3.1-3.2kg. and mama bunny’s weight did not change from last week! Gynae (who was surprisingly very nice today) said it’s cos I’m on leave liao then not walking around so much that’s why water retention go down, and weight never go up.

He said water level seems fine so I can tahan a bit longer, right? Err… not really a big fan of walking like ogre but ok lor… tahan lor. And I forgot to ask if I am dilated liao.

Re perspiring
About 1 month ago I was always feeling hot hot hot, like got a layer of oil over my skin. But now I’m rather back to normal liao.

Re coconut
So upset. Today bought a coconut from carefour and when we brought home, it tasted FIZZY and SOUR!!!! Walau.

Xiaoyang
The walk and ride thing looks very fun hor?

Re maternity pads
Today I thought ok la, better bring one or two out just in case. WALAU they are damn long lor! Maciam like can cover from my belly button up to the end of my butt crack wor! Hehe.

Serene
So exciting!!!!!

Dustee
Clap clap, congrats about conquering the dental appt! my hubby thinks his wisdom teeth are re-growing so he’ll go for a check this weekend. Maybe I should too.

RHS
Yup I am hoping for drug free. Maybe it’s too ambitious but I’m rather disciplined when it comes to pre natal yoga, perineum massage, raspberry leaf tea… so I hope all these little things help la
main concern is I already have a bad back from previous accident so I don’t want to make it worse by epi-ing… Kempate!!!

Re OPERATION FAT COW
Today I dropped my gynae appt card and struggled to pick it up. Ultimately my hubby picked it up for me but not without laughing at how funny I looked first. So I decided to hatch a very evil plan. Tomorrow I will put a bag of rice in a haversack, make him wear it in front (like kangaroo), and on top of that, strap some cushions to his stomach and make him wear it the time he is at home. See if still funny if he knows how it feels to carry around all this weight and be so clumsy! Bag of rice only 5kg… I think I will put his weights in there as well. Hmpf. See if he still dare to laugh at lao niang next time! Best part is that he still blur blur, does not know what I have in store for him tomorrow *evil face*

dustee
i also dun noe leh but i told him we would like to wait till next tue coz just right for my confinement lady to come in .....

Ibt
gynae say i dun need to induce leh today is b coz i went shopping at orchard than found out that i got brown discharge so decide to rush down to c gynae than he check 2cm dilate but still can tahan for few more days for me but hor he say these few days dun walk abt ....

cellow, PB... thanks for consoling me. there were a few times old uncle / auntie gave up seat for me, i really wonder how come some teenagers nowadays are so inconsiderate.

went to gynae today, my bb "slim" down!! last week 2.9 kg, today only 2.7 kg haha... my gynae very efficient, 2 weeks ago he just asked me which hospital i want to go, so i just said TMC, then didn't know he did the booking, until i received a letter from TMC today...

it is a weird feeling as dunno when bb will come out... scare i go out halfway then suddenly bb wants to come out :p

Lbt
Alamak!! I tot piyoz long ago posted saying go deliver liao so long huh.

Serene
Congrats seeing ur bb real soon liao huh.

Pinkbunny
Ur gynea got do VE check for u anot??

Bluey..

U mentioned tat ur #1 when give birth is 2.6kg then tat time u at how many week? So doc induce for u or waterbag burst?

Hi mummies...

Usually when induce will take how long? Heard tat induce very fast bb will come out?

Hey Labbit

Yah it is early. My baby head engage during my 32 weeks visit with gynae. How many weeks are you in now.
The last visit i went, my blood pressure is on the high side, went for blood test to see if i have pre-eclamsia. Now waiting to see gynae 2 weeks later.
Yesterday i felt my pelvic area swell. Seems like she is getting lower. Wondering if she comes out by 34 or 35 weeks, will it be safe.

serene

so ur gynae will induce u next Tue ??

PB ya .. so did u gynae check ur cervix ?

Evon

every preggie experience with induce birth is different. Some may end up with emergency c-sect, not sure is it because the body is not ready yet?

mad

ya that seems early. not sure if your gynae will order the jab to mature the bb's lungs.

I am now in 37th week... so sitting on the waiting bench. Everyone asked why am I still working cos I have cramps on and off but still bearable.

My #1 came out on 37 weeks 6 days .. so wonder if #2 will follow suit ?

rightfully bb born after 36 weeks is consider full term but at 34 or 35 .. i think they are still very well developed. So not to worry

what is the wt of your bb now ?

these past few days, don't know is it coz the baby is moving further down and getting more engaged (assuming there are different 'levels'), i really walk like i've been sitting on a horse (y'know, legs open wide wide and step outwards) even ducks walk more glam than me lor.

and some more tonight got a wedding dinner to attend at fullerton, and my friend (the bride) said dress code is fabulous..... and i'm intending to turn up in my birkenstocks :p coz that's the only pair of shoes i can still wear comfortably! and er, my birkies have no diamonds lah hehehe

Labbit

At 32 weeks is 2.1kg, my gynae said is growing well.
Maybe because i walk too much. I am doing a sales job thus got to walk alot.

Usually second bb should be earlier but i dont expect so much early. Anyway my first bb is a boy and now is a girl. What abt you?

Dustee

You so funny, you really wearing birkenstocks huh. Me too, dont have much choice on shoe and i am still wearing the only pair of heals to work. Want to buy a nice and comfortable shoe, NO SIZE. Usually wearing 7 and now got to wear 9. So in the end, i didnt buy at all.

Me too, walking like a duck. Pelvic area swell and i can feel pain sometime. Do you?

Evon,

My #1 is abt 38-39 weeks @ 2.6kg+.
Gynae say mayb is my genes to have smaller baby.
No induce ... just sleep @ labour ward for 12 hours and waste $$.

But I m happy ... because deliver for #1 is easy, just 2 push and she is out.
Hope so for #2 too.

mad

ya ur bb is of good wt leh .. just hope she can tahan a bit more. Or u can take leave to rest at home ?

my #1 and #2 are both gals

bluey

wah 2 push only .. sud sud sia .. i think I pushed 5-6 times and my #1 is only 2.44kg ! aiyah becos of epidural lah, I can't feel anything ! nurse say push I push lor ahhaha

Labbit

The problem is i am selling corporate diaries and it is my peak season of the year thus got to work even harder now. Hehe.
Yah today i was telling her too. Tahan around 35 to 36 weeks should be better.

mad

oh ya .... then what you intend to do now ?

serene

my gal head also v low but gynae says my cervix still thick, so can tahan a while more.

u will be week 36 next week right ?

more babies popping soon... cool!!! mE juz realised 1 difficult thing tat i reali can no longer do due 2 moi big big tummi...

i cun seem 2 be able to cut moi toenails.. den whichever angle i try, like pressing on the tummi n end up i feel like suffocating.. sob... wonder if hb will be kind to help me cut the next time round b4 delivery....

piyoz delivered! can't wait to hear her birth story..too lazy to read back but she was having some symptoms or pains right?

cin_bunny..you could be next in line to deliver! excited? remember all the stuffs mrs wong taught us? I don't! hahaha!

PB: wow..poppy's made the 3kg mark...hope my little one will too...

juz had my yummy coconut! check out shop n save (thai coconut wrapped up in a clear plastic)

feeling very warm again... okie dokie you girls have a great weekend! ciao!

serene

wow your labour will be a fast one! sounds like u r next?

dustee
no the first teeth is not cheap. most places sell it with the finger brush at 21 already. anyway, buying from US website is only abt 6-7 sgd after conversion. if u wan to stock up, i let u know when i buy again.

re sweating
i have been sleeping without my blanket for the longest time! always feeling so hot...

realise my boy getting sticky again and he has been climbing to sleep beside me every night again. tink he can realise #2 coming...

cin_bunny
that time my gynae also commented my fluid not much but then after some measurement he said ok and still can wait. for my #1 the same thing also happened. maybe try drinking more water? dunno how helpful is that

bluey
mine also a small gal. only 2.5kg at 37 weeks. he said prob 2.8kg at birth. so still got space for her to turn...

hi lbt

will be 38 weeks next week..and doc just said amnio fluid low but never say how much..anyway, i got mild GD so she said if baby engage by end next week, then can induce wor :p

Do1Nk - i cant remember a thing..lol..i better bring her book to the labour ward to read :D

hi SY - drinking water helps? okaayy..am going to drink gallons now ;)

man- it's hot outside...melting melting..

sad... de weather is so hot.. n the aircon failed on me.. it started leaking water... sob sob.. dun noe if hv time 2 change a new aircon unit in time or not...

How is everyone this hot hot HOT Saturday?

Looks like more and more mummies are on the verge of popping!
My darling is still high and happy in my tummy. No sign of engagement, no sign of wanting to come out yet.

We went to the Botanic Gardens for the Singapore Lyric Opera performance just now. It was very nice! Then took a stroll down to Tanglin Mall for dinner and along the way, caught sight of the fighter jets doing their routines for NDP. My boy was quite thrilled

Star,
You still have time to get your air con unit fixed before confinement - do it! You'll need it! ;p

Re: Induction
It's not always fast, though I've heard that some women can be induced and give birth two hours later. Often, it also depends on whether the baby and the mummy's body are ready. My #1 was induced on a Monday morning; he came out on Tuesday night. I brought three or four books to read and I think I finished them all!

Maxi Cosi Cabriofix:
Sorry to go off-topic, but mums with the above infant carseat, how do you take off the cover to wash it? I got most of it off, but can't seem to detach it from the bottom (crotch guard strap). Help please! Thank you!