(2008/07) July 2008

hi there mummies! wah wah wah so many posts, gotta slowly read. 3rd day in a 3-day w/shop.

dustee, you really need to sleep a lot earlier then - posting at 6am!!

jenny, congrats.

re: ML
intend to take only when bb pops to maximise my 12weeks of maternity leave. Anyway agreed with my boss that I would take 10 weeks straight (read: dun bother me - my hp will be off as well) then work half days from home from 11th week to 14th week... Boss good - anything also can discuss. Just got him in Apr 2008, during one of our 1st conversations [non-bb related stuff], cannot even rem wat qn I asked him, and he asked me my opinion back. Seeing my hestitation, he told me 'No is an acceptable answer too.' Wow, never know a boss can say that. Resolve to reason w Cedric when he is older and out of bb stage, not just impose my will on him.

Thought by law, coy supposed to give 8 weeks, then the govt pay the coy for the other 4 weeks?
SDchick, cinbunny, your company policy to give you only 8 weeks meh...

Star.... u ok this morning?

i guess too many posts to catch up

went for my check up yesterday. bb still doesn't want to turn. she is still 2.5kg @ 37 weeks. seems like never gain weight. but gynae said got space to turn as she is small.

Good morning ...
Still working today but looking forward for tomorrow as I will "see" my baby again.

I just hope that the gynae will tell me something like lbt's gynea ... which means that I will deliver my baby #2 soon. Dun really like the feeling like a " fat sitting duck" now.

I got a new PC education software for my 4yr old daughter yesterday.
I think this is one of the best software which I have brought. Graphics is very good and is 3D.
So if mommies do let your kiddies play with computer ... can consider this.

My gal is playing the Preschool ... I guide her for abt 15 mins and then she was left to play by herself. Good for me, as I could rest

http://www.knowledgeadventure.com/jumpstartworld/Default.aspx

ML
I'm a PR so only get 8 weeks. Hiiks... So if want to extend, must use AL or UPL. My boss is a little unpredictable. Sometimes he's ok, sometimes he's not. depending on his mood. Tsk tsk tsk.. As whether or not UPL will affect appraisal.. I guess different company/boss has different view on it.

Pee on a stick
Exactly!! with the big tummy, it's so hard to "aim" hehe.. Last doc visit I emptied my bladder in the office (wrong move!!!!) so when I reached the doc place, I only have a little left and with the tummy there I only have like 1 drop on the stick hahaha...

Cordlife
Aiyo how come diff answer ah... anyways, I would just be kiasu and call them when I go to hospital and also after giving birth.

went to see gynae yesterday. bb boi is 2.3kg at 34 weeks. testes has descended and head is down but not engagaed. and will do my strep B 2 weeks later.

enjoying my leave at home! lalala!

SY,

Yup ... I got the 3D one from the website. (Jumpstart WORLD)
I brought the downloadable one ... too lazy to look for it at the retail.
I call Popular, they say they dun carry the 3D range.

Dun get the none-3D ones ... quite boring and the graphics are not nice. They are recently on sales all over Singapore.

Jenny

I am using Mona too ! I used her for after my 1st pregnancy and I can see results too. But a col of mine use her but the results arent fantastic.

But she is really popular as her charges are low.

btw congrats to u !!

how many weeks are you when you deliver ?
labour story ? pictures ?

dustee

my cramps started on Tues ... yest nite kana also so i went to sleep. Now wake up and felt better ...

bluey
i was thinking of buying that over the web as well but couldn't decide cos i dun wan my boy to be addicted to PC

did u go communicasia and broadcast asia?

doggiebb
i also wan to enjoy my leave...
but boss said cannot go on leave yet.

SY,
Although registered ... but decided not to go.
Actually wanna go n see all the new technology ... I m a "technie freak".
But I think they see preggie lady also dun wanna entertain one. So go there also "gong gong" walk around.

I actually told my gal that she could only play for 1 hour at nite when I am back.
But she also have to show me that she hv did 1 simple page of writing from a "assessment book" which she would do in the afternoon with the maid. Other times, she would play with her own toys like lego & cooking stuffs.
I tried very hard to "balance" her "lifestyle" for her ... so if I m on leave or in the weekends ... It will be going to the library, beach or park, lor.
Well ... being parent of this era ... what to do?
But I dunno why, I just resent the idea of sending her for classes like mindchamps, etc.
Maybe I find them too ex$$ and over-rated.

hi hi...

the cramps r bad.. till i had 2 wake up several times in the nite.. den hubbi asked me put medicated oil.. smhw i tink nt bb popping yet la.. cos i got no mucus plug n stuff s yet.. so gotta bear w de pain in de meanwhile..be still going work in the pm 2day..

me and my bak chang wishes everyone a very good morning!!!

fiona
hehe your gynae is funny!!

yesterday it rained as we were going out for dinner and hubby reminded me 'you sure you want to wear your new birkies?'. hmmm. so sayang. got new birkies but got to protect them from the rain. my stomach will prob keep the top dry, but the bottom will still get wet la hehe

dor dor
i also failed strep b, don't worry. you got your pills to take? augmenten i think. and the nurse said she'll put me on the drip during delivery. which means.... i still can eat or not ah? hehe. very yeow kwee.

dustee
eee why your boss like that one?? UPL means we don't get paid leh. does he think we like it? basket. and if the company is more pro family, they would give more leave to mothers, and we wouldn't even have to consider UPL!!! grrrr. i'm angry on your behalf!

re tailbone pain
A SIGN OF LABOUR? i've been getting it on and off la, but last night was quite intense. i am still not sure if i am getting BHs or is it just poppy shoving her butt into my tummy. cos my tummy is always like quite hard lor hehe.

re insomnia
don't worry, i also wake up at about 6 plus cos my hubby's alarm is so irritating. then after i push him out of the house i can go back to sleep till about 10
take afternoon naps, they're good for you!

re peeing
i have to pee before i leave every destination, and pee again when i reach the next. so most times when i reach clinic, i have to pee. hubby always says 'are you sure? cannot tahan a bit more? you know you will have to pee on the stick very soon right?'. i tell him 'do not underestimate my bladder. sure got more to come one' haha. now i try not to go squatting kind cos i very scared i will fall forward and hit my head. centre of gravity. haha.

btw now going toilet, stand up, sit down also make alot of noise. very paisay! haha

re cramps
last night i think i got some also. late at night. in lower stomach and pelvic area. but just went to sleep. was just wondering, is this something to be worried about or not? but then thought aiyah if i'ts the real thing, it would be more painful than that right?

jenny
come back and tell us your experience!!!!!

lbt..
it's on n off.. i onli ever experienced once menstrual cramps n de pain was worst off.. so i tink i shld be ok n bear w it loh.. hope today will be feeling beta...thanks 4 ur concern, ya?

star xin

you are welcome. cos mine was persistent, like menstruation cramps.

gynae says to worry only if it's on and off ... so if it's gets more regular, then it's real contractions.

rem to time your contractions, how long it last each time and the frequency of it.

take care !!

last nite my hubby was telling me i can be a sahm till next year after chinese new year when i hear that i was so happy coz i could spend my time with my bb.....

viginal pain
i seem to have pain below for the past few days together with tummy pain ...sigh i dun noe pregnant got so many problems .....

lbt:
Oops... u mean on n off likely 2 be reali contractions... Oops.. tink i reali gotta take note..

bb..u r onli 34 weeks plus.. tahan bit more lah.. 38 weeks den pop, can??

serene
me too got a bit of cramping last night in virginal area. and lower tummy. haha ya lor, people always say 'pregnancy is a beautiful experience! you will enjoy it!'. nobody tells us about:

- having to pee 100 times a day
- incontinence
- waking up in the middle of the night due to leg cramps
- having difficulty finding the right position to sleep
- cannot eat this, cannot do that
- walking like an ogre
- old woman hands
- elephant feet
- losing your centre of gravity
- constant drowsiness
- giving up our calcium to our tenants
- BH
- (hopefully) temporary memory loss
- mood swings
- sensitive noses

feel free to add on to the list!

re cramps
me also havin menstruation like cramps since yesterday... the pain still can tahan so jus ignore lor... tink the real tink would be more painful than tis rite???

Congrats Jenny... do share ur birth experience n photos leh... i tink all of us waiting lor...

star xin
if hte cramps are consistent and regular, need to be careful.

serene
i also have pain at the vaginal area cos of bb's weight. your hb so nice. let u be SAHM....

PB
i can't sleep. when i sleep i dream a lot esp abt my work. then very conscious of the pain cos when i turn, i need to be very careful if not the pain will start shooting thru again...

bluey
yeah very hard to balance everything. when i get home, i try to play with my boy. then after that i will change him and then read and then we will talk until he falls asleep....

i dun really believe in relying on classes cos the best teachers are still the parents as we understand our kids best. but of cos teachers being professional have some pointers that we can learn from. i do keep in close contact with the teachers in my boy's sch so that i can reinforce the things he learns....

Jenny,
Pictures? Birth story? Do tell!

Dustee,
You can take the three months of ML as your SAHM-trial, and see if you can ta-han staying at home and being with bb all day.

Do1nk,
Strep B is quite common. It's just that you will need to be on a drip during labour & delivery to ensure that bb does not get it, as it can be harmful to bb.

I was also wondering whether we can eat? ;p

star xin

yeah, that's what my gynae told me.

oh so a few of us having cramps already. wonder if it's symptoms of labour coming ..

i rem in the pm when i was in the labour suite i was allowed to eat, then puked it all out due to the side effects of epidural.

so moral of story is eat before going to hospital? i can imagine myself standing at Mt A taxi stand stuffing myself with curry puff...

oh i am so sleepy now. sorry mummies, i have to go lie down now. sudden attack of drowsiness even though i got up just before 10 :S

Sttar,
Do take care, and update us of any developments, k?

Serene,
That's a very thoughtful gesture from your hb, to suggest that you be SAHM

SY

i rem I ate leh .. cos I was v hungry. I took breakfast, then gynae says must put on drip to induced contractions. then they put me on the pill to induce bowel.

the kind of gesture fm him b coz i told him before bb is 6mth i dun dare to let maid take care n i can work freelance as an interior designer which i can earn more for each project that y he agree to let be SAHM.....

Water Bag Burst
sometime when sitting down watching TV i wonder were it burst suddenly?

ask u all orh.. do u all hear pple saying when pregnant.. due 2 hormonal changes.. sm parts of our bodies will turn blackish.. such as de armpit areas, neck, nipple surroundings?

i neva used 2 believed until of late.. i find moi armpits kinda blackish.. kind of depressing... so i m so used 2 wearing sleeveless clothes...

will it go back 2 normal thereafter?

serene

it may burst anytime. most likely after ur mucus plug is out. So always observe what is on your pantyliner.

mine burst when I was standing talking on the phone ! then I went to the toilet, sat on the toilet bowl and more water gush out from V.

hehe labbit, so drama!

i'm also wondering how it will be for me. wait walking halfway at orchard road then must kiap my legs together and try to walk fast fast to find a toilet? hehe

serene
looks like that is a good option for you

star
me too. got darkish armpits. and a bit dry too
hopefully will go away. maybe vitamin e creams will help? dunno...

the darkish armpits will go away ... but will take time. I remember mine like 1/2 to 1 yr.

No signs of giving birth yet ... sian .. really tired of "carrying" the weight in my tummy. And still have to "entertain" #1. She is full of energy.

I think I will go facial today.

bluey,
What's ur EDD? Maybe still early, and your baby still wants to grow bigger.

Ya. Today is super hot. Again woke up last night due to heat wave ~~

hehe ... my EDD is 12 July.

Just complaining only ... my gal was born around 2.7kg.

My boy is now abt that weight, so hope that I will give birth soon so that I dun have such a BIG baby to deliver.

I forsake my plan of having durian this week ... afraid that the baby will grow too big.

hahahaha! picture PB kiapping legs at the knees and walking bow-legged to nearest toilet! thought the book says it will flow slowly if standing or sitting (coz bb acts like a plug) but will flow more if we are lying down..

DoggieBB: wah..your gynae even checked to ensure bb's testicles have descended? wonder if mine will even do a scan or not next week...

eating when in labour: so do you think it's a good idea to eat when we know we are going into early labour and will have to go hospital soon? Coz if the whole ordeal takes like 12-24hours, we'd be starving at the end of it! but if we do, will we produce poo fast enough to be removed by that enema...or will we risk having some excretion when pushing baby out *blush*

cellow, CB & SDchick: will your babies be SG citizens? if yes, then you still can get the 3rd month entitlement right? I'm a PR too.. but my little baby most likely will be a citizen and must serve NS some day! haha

wah bluey..you sound like you are already on ML leh...go pedicure lah, facial, like so shiok!

BTW...I found my universal travel adaptor to use on the pump leh..but still dun dare to try it out in case I blow up the pump leh..super duper sure the voltage thingy is compatible for SG? *paisay* I damn "dumb blonde" when it comes to such stuff...must rely on techie people like u..though this is not really a technical issue?

about baby being SG citizen:
for me, it's a def yes. cos then will be eligible for bonus, PAP kindergarten etc. easier for her la.

these few days i keep feeling like i want to ps leh. hmmm. and SOOOO sleepy but cannot sleep :S my tummy seems to be permanently hard

do1nk, PB, celeste
you are right, the coconut juice doesn't taste nice after days in the fridge. but i still finished it though.. and i had durian after that.. and i'm prefectly ok.. no LS. haha...

re eating in delivery suite
we are not allowed to eat, in fact they put us on glucose drip as well so we won't feel hungry. we can eat as full as we want before admission, but the minute before going into delivery suite, the nurse will ask you to go toilet try to do big biz first... just incase later when we push too hard, the s*** comes out.. haha.. very embarassing one.

i think i will stand outside hospital doors with all my snacks and lay out my picnic blanket. la de da....

sorry girls, who was it who was recommending PD in tiong bahru area? cannot find the post liao. soryr, can post again? searching in the thread only came up with 3 names - dr fong yang, dr edmund koh and dr woo bit hwa. ???

re: ML
confirmed i'll be starting ML next Mon, so tmr is the last day of work for me before popping. finally can have a good rest before the big day.

re: delivery
i've discussed with my gynae about induction and will be admitting to hosp on next Fri pm and hope baby can tahan till Sat then come out. only thing is my gynae will be away during that period so another doc will be delivering for me instead.

re: facial & pedi
i'll make appt to have these done at the beginning of next week before my freedom gets put away for a mth.

re: pigmentation
oh yes, we do get skin darkening at these sensitive areas but it will eventually fade off.

re: eating in labor
i did and also puked all out due to the side effect of epidural.

re eating
for my #1 i ate lunch and then after that wasn't allowed to eat anymore. so imagine i went without food for more than 12 hours....

fiona
so u will be delivering next week? our EDD same...but u delivering so fast.

SY,
ya lor...me now a bit kan cheong liao...gonna spend some time looking through the things i've prepared.

you dun worry about yours, there's still space for her to turn, you can try the exercise some of the mummies here did to encourage baby to turn.

water bag bursting
so now, when go shopping, need to bring extra panty and bottom or not? if not...... got one wet patch in pants a bit paiseh hor :p

pain pain everywhere
sit at sofa also difficult. back pain stomach pain. lie on bed also pelvic pain. then i think the baby is leaning her whole butt on a certain spot at the tummy, so that patch of muscle/skin damn sore for me. gynae say walk more, but walk 5 mins liao will be super breathless, and groin area will pain. alamak.

pigmentation
yeah that day my mum commented 'why your armpits so black?' booohoooo.

swimming
so.... at 37-38 weeks and beyond, safe to go swimming or not ah? but then, suppose water break then i wouldn't know coz i'm already inside water? hmmm. so hot leh, really feel like going for a dip. a big fat whale going to the public pool.

fiona
dun think i wil do the exercises. my gynae not keen on intervention. he says if can turn, she will turn. if cannot, maybe got some blockage.

rain
i did get some extra toothpaste. let me know how many u need. when it comes i let u know.

dustee
good to carry extra set of bottoms with u or put a towel in the car.