(2008/07) July 2008

PB are you peranakan? wondering why you know so many malay words.. hehe

haiz..I'm sloggin in the office working my butt off man...

steph, how do we know what's the average weight of a baby at each week? I did my scan at wk20 and my baby was 850gms! super over weight??

community message from pinkbunny:

shoulders hurting? put your finger tips on your shoulders so that your elbows are facing out and you kind of look like you're in a power ranger costume. then rotate. first to the front for a few times, then backwards for a few rounds. it's quite nice and relaxing

doink

850 grams!!! *eyes big big*

mine was like 300 grams nia! is the gynae going to put you through the oral glucose tolerance test?

if i remember correctly, at 20 weeks mine was 340 or something. next saturday is my next appointment! can't wait :D

another community message from pinkbunny. saw in motherhood mag. 10 super foods for preggie mummies:

1. broccoli
2. grains
3. eggs
4. oily fish
5. nuts
6. green vegetables
7. dairy products
8. lean red meat
9. bananas and oranges
10. water

cin-bunny,
thank you so much. they have a branch in katong! :D

do1nk,
i asked the doctor doing the scan. but she said its ok... will ask my gynae again during next check up.

is it possible for miscalculation of the gestation week?? but my cycle quite regular one...

today no mood to work.. feeling lethargic

I was quite sure I heard her say 850gms leh.. oh no..not only have I put on so much weight.. but so has my little baby?

so far no mention by gynae about gestational diabetes or anything leh..

okie I better ask her again next week when I go for my wk24 check..though I don't think she'll be doing a scan..

Hi Ladies!
Been a long time since I dropped by... seems like everyone is doing well and the thread super active as usual! Been really busy at work and now finally got a breather! Not much better at home 'cos my boy has been throwing terrible tantrums every night for the past week!!! Getting him to sleep has been a nightmare!

Gender update
I'm expecting a boy AGAIN!!! Thinking of handling 2 rascals is giving me cold sweat man! Will be having my gynae appt tomorrow... looking forward to seeing the little one!

SY
Sorry have lost track but where did you go for holiday? Sounds like you had fun! Was supposed to go Perth end of this month but din materialise due to family matters
Think I'll be grounded till next year!

Pinkbunny
LOL! Bangkok and Taiwan... quite different lei! Maybe you can consider Taiwan lah since you worried abt the Songkran. I was at Phuket during Songkran once and things can get a bit wild, esp when you have some siao ang mos around... but not sure how it'll be like at BKK thou. Maybe can hide in the shopping malls... don't think they'll be splashing there!

Pinkbunny,

referring to the link you provided, if i'm not wrong, think the site calcute gestation weeks starting from day 1 of our ovulation. but my gynae calculates starting from fertilisation of the egg by the sperm...

can anyone help clarify... thanks. can't be asian babies bigger than ang moh babies one mah?! *blur* again...

SNL,
congrats on a prince
dont worry so much....mabbe both of them will enjoy playing with each other and wont bug u so much? Thats wat i am hoping....hopefully my ger and bb will entertain each other, so i will only need to step in when they "quarrel or fight"? *lol*

hi all long time never log in cannot caught up...

but saw this

july mummies FTP (first to pop)/shortest labour fund. contributions of $1 for gift for (a) the first mummy to pop in july (b) mummy with shortest labour*

1. pinkbunny
2. labbit
3. Bluey
4. Jmon
5. Delphine
6. do1nk
7. SY
8. Ling

add me in ok for the contributions of $1 for gift then how to made the payment also PM me better...

sy,
my cough just recover for few days then now come back again.... make me so sick ....

do1nk,
wow yr bb 20 week 850g that big leh..my at 22 week only 450g some more my gynae said my bb head big then the body small make me so scare leh...hv to wait till the next appointment see how my next appointment is on this coming monday..hopefully by now the head and the body is normal size make me so worry when the gynae break this news to me...then from the pic that the gynae print out can see the head is really bigger then the body...

anybody hv a guide line on the weight for our baby? (eg. on how many weeks the baby should weight how many gms)

Busy busy busy… finally it's Friday!

Youpi,
I was reading… wow you have so many slings? And you are still buying? Since you are 'sling expert', can I ask which type of sling is better? Cotton, sateen or silk? Thinking to get one, hubby stopped me during the expo fair, but after think twice, thrice… will go ahead to get one.

Oh ya, curious.. why only during plane take off and landing then can breastfeed? Hmn... did I read wrongly?

Baby weight
My little babeV is 600gm at week 24. so it's perfect size, even though I've gained 3kg only so far. Gynae said what I've gained all go to baby liao… thank God, I was thinking what wrong with me!

Do1nk, wow you have a super chubby baby… a baby boy right?

Re maid
My maid is coming in two weeks time. As this is my first time employing maid, and she's fresh young indo maid, I'm also planning to draft a schedule for her. Hopefully she can follow and picking up fast. Ops.. Someone said indo fresh maid takes months to get trained? Oh dear….

Oh bluey, yes the blog http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/ has very comprehensive info about maid, I'm actually using the guide/schedules posted there as my guide to draft my own schedule..

Pinkbunny,
On the super foods for preggies
Item no. 9, I heard banana is no recommended as it's very cooling… I've been avoiding it. Some also said oranges can cause lots of phlegm in baby, but due to its rich Vit-C, I'm still taking, in moderation lah.

Shichida programme
http://www.shichidamethod.com
Came across this, it seems quite good. As a kiasu mum, thinking to send my boy for that when he's reaching 18 mos.

SNL
welcome back! congrats on your boy boy! aiyah taiwan and thailand sounds quite close mah hehe. some more both falling asleep... hehe.

ya i think they won't be splashing in MBK keke. i'd prefer BKK atually. even though i've never been to taiwan. cos i'd love to go to hot springs and it'd be quite sad to go there and not able to go for so many things. like walk on top of taipei 101 for instance!

sonic
i heard that breastfeeding at landing and take off is good cos the suction helps clear their ears and that makes them cool the babies down and not be so kanchiong

about bananas i think my CL was saying certain ones are OK and certain are not. i don't take oranges that much either. dunno why but gynae asked me to avoid citrus (and strawberries and kiwis). but everything in moderation la hehe

all that talk about yakult made me go out and buy it during lunch. shiok! how much can we drink a day? the bottles so small, i can finish all 5 ler.

ling
i think it's normal at this stage for baby's head to be porportionally bigger. don't worry unduly ok?

about the $1 contribution i think we just collect at the next meeting la. bo li yew i ask everyone to transfer $1 to me la hehe. wait i run away with the money how??? hahaha

steph
dunno leh. maybe that's just used as a guide cos no one has done one on asian babies leh? hehe. and what if mama is asian but papa is angmoh, then how? follow what list? *scratch head*

pinkbunny,
u bought yakult? Haha...u very cute also. Dont drink too much lah....1 bottle a day or every two days drink 1 bottle...remember everything in moderation

pinkbunny,
u really wanna finish all 5 bottles ah?

i 'charm' leh... from morning till now i keep eating. dont know how much KG i put on... jia lat

morning ate Mee Soto, then later colleague gave me 1 big curry puff. lunch time eat Ebi Rice Burger and milk tea. then now munching choc bread and kopi.... sigh....

haha ya i bought yakult. one bottle only? :S they should make bigger bottles, man. no la JMON. say only. but really possible lor. so small, the bottles... one only la, i only had one.

lao niang is SUPER sleepy now. my lunch haven't even digest, my colleagues already talking about going for ice cream for tea break. wah biang. sometimes i wonder who is the pregnant one leh

kekeke. me too! whole day i have been stuffing myself. breakfast at home at 7am then reach work, hungry but had milk biscuits. then colleagues said come let's go to canteen so ok lor. i had soon kueh, one piece of carrot cake (like yam cake kind) and a bit of fried marcaroni. then 12 o clock i hungry but everyone not hungry so i bo bian, munched on biscuits first. lunch at 1 plus was fish ball noodles and then i just had yakult. wah.... must be very squashed for my poppy inside now hehe

do1nk
i went to see gynae at 11am, then admit at 3pm and then at 4pm + he came to burst my waterbag, then i think the contractions got stronger but still bearable. the bursting nto as painful as i thought. maybe he was talking to me also so i din feel it was that bad

i know for some pple if they dun take epi, the labor takes forever too come cos they keep thinking abt the pain so they dilate very slow...

i think the only thing abt taking epi too early for some pple is that the effect wear off before the time to push come. but shouldn't happen. nowadays they can control the epi qutie well. one hour before the time i was due to push, they turn off the epi.

re bb weight
think mine must be the smallest at 500gm at 25 weeks....

SNL
i went to sydney when my boy was 10 months and osaka when he was 21 months. hee, so this #2 is a made in japan..haha..had fun with him but really tiring. if u go to my blog, u can see the pic of our hol. but i need to invite u to view my blog first... so PM me if interested

ling
my cough also comes back on and off. i think some pple are just more prone to falling sick during pregnancy. so take care!!

sonic
shichida is pretty expensive. some pple think it's good but some pple think ok only. the thing is parents must do the follow up conscientiously at home.

for my boy, i went for a few trial classes before. the one i like best is kidsloft. u can try that.

pinkbunny
i m not sure abt adults but for bb/children, they are not suppose to eat those del monte bananas cos those are cooling. they shd buy those malaysia bananas (they call it hong2 rou4 jiao1). think shd be the same for us?

pinkbunny
Oh, breastfeeding at landing and take off is meant to protect the little ears. Suaku i.

avoid citrus arh, maybe only during 1st trimester? As it irritates our stomach hence triggles nausea and heartburn? By now I think can take lah, but like you said, everything in moderation

postnatal massage
Is it too early to book one now? Anyone got good recommendation? prefer those using cream instead of traditional oils ones.. cheap and good one??... Hehe..

SY
Yeah, I heard that too, shichida is quite expensive. and not all went for that will turn out super smart though.. Still depends very much on individual's acceptance level. hehe.. Actually I wish that I would benefited from it thru my involvement too.. But too old liao, maybe not effective on me.

re bb weight
no worries on that, we still got approx 3 more months to go... the little one will pick up on her weight soon.

pinkbunny,
my gf chinese, hb angmoh.. son follow his daddy.. hope this helps. hehe..

bananas:
don't take those selling in supermarket with the DEL MONTE sticker. the smaller ones i think ok bah...

sonic
that's what i heard la. doesn't necessarily need to be breastfeeding, just as long as baby is sucking on something. milk bottle or 'chut chut' also can.

post natal massage i booked liao. cos i learnt my lesson from CL episode. scared the good ones get snapped up very quick. hehe. mine is $540 for 7 sessions of 2 hours each if i remember correctly. i think some of the mummies here have good deals too.

steph
hmm. ok

banananana
really ah don't take del monte? i like leh ;S

bra
another bra episode today. in the office today only girls so i said 'ok my nehneh very tight and back very pain so i will unhook my bra ok?'. (and very appropriate, the song on the radio was I WANT TO BREAK FREE by queen).

one of my colleagues said 'don't lose your extention hook this time hor'. then after a while i went to the toilet to rehook and guess what??? the ext hook wasn't there! haha. so had to call my colleague to ask her to look around my table to check. indeed, it was on the ground

kua kua kua.... hehe

me and my rebellious bra wishes everyone a great weekend!!

Celeste
Yes, yes, that's what someone told me before too... the two of them can entertain each other... we just step in when they fight!

pinkbunny
you never fail to make me laugh with your posts! but what happens if a male walks into your office???

Sonic
Some of my frens from the March 06 thread send their kids to shichida and they swear by it. Think there is a programme on channel 5 on it now. Perhaps you can watch it.

Sy
Cool. Have pm you on the invitation to view your blog.

TGIF!!! Enjoy your weekend everyone!

pinkbunny
u are really funny. how can this happens not once but twice?? Waiting to hear from u the third time... Hehe...**don't beat me!!**

SNL
Is it? Which day and what time Shichida is on channel 5? I hardly watch TV. The moment I'm home, I'll make time for my boy...

happy weekend to all!

Hi Sonic,
Can breastfeed anytime on the plane lah. But as PB said, when you bf during take off and landing, the sucking motion helps alleviate air pressure in the baby's ears, so there is no discomfort for him/her. Most kids don't know how to equalise the air pressure by themselves, so they may have painful eardrums. It is not just bfg that can help. Anything that causes the sucking and swallowing motion will do. So you can also bottlefeed, or give baby something to suck on, or a toddler something to chew on, like Gerber puffs. I bf 'cos it's the easiest and most convenient method for me

On slings
Not expert lah, just like them lor. We never used a stroller - till now, still no stroller - so I depended on the sling A LOT! Cotton and silk 'hold' better at the rings, cotton sateen is softer and cooler, silk is definitely more glam. So it depends on what kind of look you want. I had more than one so that I can use the other when one is in the wash. And I used different slings for different occasions (eg: wedding = silk sling) and to match different outfits! ;p

july mummies FTP (first to pop)/shortest labour fund. contributions of $1 for gift for (a) the first mummy to pop in july (b) mummy with shortest labour*

1. pinkbunny
2. labbit
3. Bluey
4. Jmon
5. Delphine
6. do1nk
7. SY
8. Ling
9. Youpi

Another category to consider: Heaviest or longest baby?

1. pinkbunny
2. labbit
3. Bluey
4. Jmon
5. Delphine
6. do1nk
7. SY
8. Ling
9. Youpi
10. cin bunny

good one, youpi! shall we go with heaviest or longest baby, mummies? i'm with longest. some of us are told baby's weight from our scans so not much surprise there. longest, a bit hard to gague. how about it?

wow we have $10 in the pool now! cha ching!

dunno why me and my bra extentions got so many stories hor? lucky my department only got 2 guys. and i was very sure they were away today when i unhooked my bra and i was wearing a loose top la. but it was really damn funny. i was on my handphone in the toilet calling my colleague and laughing so much i couldn't really form my words.

youpi or maybe like comic strip. THE RETURN OF PINKBUNNY AND THE BRA EXTENSION! or nancy drew style PINKBUNNY AND THE MYSTERY OF THE BRA EXTENSION.

pinkbunny
U mean both of u lying in bed prepare for sleep liao then discussing where to go aah??....heehhe
I normally talk to my hubby at that kind of time too cos that's the only time we can talk but always endup I talking to myself in the end cos he dun response means sleep liao n dunno which part he sleep already.......sigh

N BIG THANKS for the bb weight link. Cos was a little worried bb was too small cos her weight was 430gm at 22wk n saw that the weights u all posted were much higher compared. Doesn't help that my auntie commented my tummy was small for a 6mth yest cos 1st preg I only get comments tat my tummy was big n bb always over averge kind. But saw the chart n seems bb was right on target...hehe

Steph
Urmmmmm aren't they the same thing??
Ovulation then got egg n the egg can't last more then 24hrs I think so no diff ma.

Sonic
Not only take off n landing can BF. But BF so that it eases the pressure for bb cos normally takeoff our ears will pop cos of the pressure so for bbs get them to suck something to take off the pressure.
We took our son to HK for his 1st birthday n dunno is it becos its SQ the takeoff n landing was very smooth n fast. Plus my son will only bf if its time for milk so didn't get to BF him but he was not affected at all.

Preg cannot take the delmonte bananas only cos its cooling the other types can take.

do1nk
I heard taking epi might make u dilate faster leh. Cos when contractions the nurse will ask u not to 'ren' cos if u 'ren' will be hard to dilate so need to relax but how to relax when u are in pain aah?? So some gynea rather the patient have epi so they relax can dilate faster.
But still I didn't take epi la cos I scared of needles n the side effects I rather tahan.

good morning mummies,

hmm...today's i'm the earliest. no need to go office but hungry so got up and look for food..

pinkbunny,
you made my day! so nice to start my day with a hearty laugh !! if you have a pool for most comical mama here, think we all know who's the winner! hahha...

dor_dor,
i'm also confused. there're some due date calculation tool on a few those ang moh website, where you key in the 1st day of your last mense, then they calculate your due date and gestation week for you. i tried, the due date is close to what gynae told me but the weeks of gestation always different. hence, i assumed the website start calculating gestation weeks from either 1st day of our last mense or ovulation.

but i suppose we just use these charts as a guide. best is ask our own gynae. coz they know us and our baby best ;)

travel:
wow.. all these talks on travelling make me miss my carefree days. can't wait to be able to travel again..

1. pinkbunny
2. labbit
3. Bluey
4. Jmon
5. Delphine
6. do1nk
7. SY
8. Ling
9. Youpi
10. cin bunny
11. stephsg73

wah dor dor you 100% natural birth ah? clap clap. you are my ou xiang
no prob about the chart thing but someone was mentioning that it's for ang moh babies so ours may be a bit diff, i dunno? ;)

aiyah both hubby and i woke up so early, dunno why. and both hungry so went for early breakfast at 715am. then got back, tired, so napped. by the time i got up, too lazy to go for yoga liao hehe.

youpi,

thanks for the tips on sling. guess i just get a cotton one to try out first... just in case i'm not able to master the sling skills later..

Steph
Actually dun have to worry about the gestation period or edd liao. Cos ur gynea only base on ur last mense for initial EDD. But after that they will guage by bb's growth already. That why sometimes u see some ppl's EDD kanna push forward or push backward.
N not all bbs r due on their edd some much earlier some much later so dun stress over the date lah.....hehehe

pinkbunny
hehehe actually $$$ is my main objective. U know how much an epi cost anot?? I told my hubby I rather he buy me a Gucci diaper bag with that money....hahahaha

sonic
there are actually a lot of itneresting websites with suggested activities for kids. let me go and dig and post here.

i dunno how effective shichida is but i know my hb will never agree to send my boy there so instead, i end up buying lots of materials to do things with my boy at home. last time i also wanted to send my boy for playgroups but my hb vetoed all of them...so in the end i just try to do everything at home lor. dunno whether it's actually more economical or not but i end up buying a lot of stuff..haha.

SNL
okie, will invite u to view my blog.

re bb weight
i think those links cannot really follow exactly right cos usually refer to angmoh babies. last time i had this pregnancy book and my bb always look lighter cos the book written by ang moh mah.

dor dor
my bb also small. now already 25 weeks but only abt 500 gm. but still got 3rd trimester....anyway i hope she won't be too big like 3 kg also cos will be harder to push out? my boy only 2.85kg and i push for an hour and half....

I am from Mar Mummies. I have 2 brand new, unopened pack of Drypers Newborn (28pcs each) to let go. Bought both at $14 and selling for $12. Can provide delivery for Bt Merah and Jurong West area.

I over-bought and DD outgrew by week 2.

<font color="aa00aa">hey mummies,

im from mar thread, selling away unopen new GNC fenugreek pills for $20, expiry date 08/11. anyone keen sms or call me direct @ 91466419. thanks.</font>

1. pinkbunny
2. labbit
3. Bluey
4. Jmon
5. Delphine
6. do1nk
7. SY
8. Ling
9. Youpi
10. cin bunny
11. stephsg73
12. Serene

re: contractions
they feel like menstrual cramps.
For those who have NEVER felt menses cramp before, well, experience it!
For those who have it EVERY month last time, well, nightmare is back.
this time must have epidural again. Last time had epi and delivery was so shiok cos I don't feel pain at all and don't even know when bb was out. Just imagine I had constipation and pushed out (by daily pooing practice)

SNL,
so will you try for #3 for a girl?
I choose not to know the gender this time but if same as the first one, I would like to try again. but HB said no more #3.

do1nk, dor dor,
yah, epidural helps to relax = dilate. for me, I was so tensed that it refused to dilate anymore and it was 1am. so tiring.
Just delivered last year, so the experience still very fresh in my mind.

haha dor dor. ya very ex. about $400 plus is it? but i think it's also that there are side effects of epi. not sure what though.

i think i'll opt for natural until if i really cannot tahan then scream EPI!!!!!!!!!!!! haha. i'm hoping all these yoga classes will come in handy!

OMG it's sooooo hot these days! yesterday i showered 4 times leh. jialat mummies, we're giving birth in july leh. will be damn hot. i think i will hide in air con room throughout my confinement period hehe.

speaking of confinement, i was wondering - what are you guys going to wear at home? normal t-shirt? but then when you BF then pull up all the way, then stomach won't be cold meh? wonder if those cheap pjs at the market (the very obiang ones, got huay huay ones la) are comfy. anyone knows? i told my hubby that's one of the ways to ensure the husband stays away of his wife's side of the bed after she gives birth! hehe

Ladies, sorry to interupt.

I have two pieces of SwaddleMe to let go.
Brand New, Unused. Only opened up to check. Packaging still intact.

Small Size: 7 to 14 pounds.
Colour:
Kiddopotamus - Swaddle Me Microfleece Adjustable Wrap, Ivory

Kiddopotamus - Swaddle Me Adjustable Infant Wrap, Pink

REtailing at $29.90.
Willing to let go at $20.00 each.
Collection at CCK or via postage. Postage to be beared by buyer.

Pls PM or email me at [email protected]
1326402.jpg
1326403.jpg

pinkbunny,
you bathe 4 times? will dry out the skin ah. must put lots of moisturiser.
For nursing at home, wear anything and strip in the bedroom.
make sure you have tv or radio or internet. Can get very bored when expressing milk

Re: admission registration
Mummies, remember to go to the admin to "book" your room for delivery during your next check up.
must bring IC of HB and yours if you want to deduct from both CPF medisave

Hi mummies / mummies-to-be

I have the following up for sale. All are letting go at discounted rate.

1) Herbal Bath - 10 pkts (2 sachets in each pack)
2) Maternity disposable panties - 2 pkts (5 pcs in each pack)
3) Batiste Dry Shampoo - 2 cans
4) Palmer's Nursing cream (used once) comes with 4 pcs breastpads
5) 10 pcs Pigeon Breastpads

Interested, pls email me at [email protected]

im from mar thread, selling away unopen new GNC fenugreek pills for $20, expiry date 08/11. anyone keen sms or call me direct @ 98281868 thanks

jeanyard

ya lor. just shower to cool down. even felt hot and bothered in aircon room. jialat.

really? tua guang guang with CL in the house? paisay leh...

booking of room... hmm. i thought i remember gynae's nurse say book in 8th month only. but never mind, willl ask again. thanks!