(2008/07) July 2008

lbt
hee, maybe cos gal so i not too worried abt her size. my boy also like that. smaller than ave. gynae said prob take after me. i do take beef but seldom cos hb doesn't take...

i dun take iron pills also...hee, maybe i shd just make more effort to drink milk, take beef and eat durians..haha

3D
no prob. i m at hill street.
let's go for lunch one of these days. u wan to PM me yuor contact?

celesteblur
for both my trips, my parents went along so i had help. not too bad. can steal some time for me and hb by 'dumping' my son with my parents. it's actually very tiring and more restrictive as the schedule has to work ard his meal times and nap times. i find it actually easier to bring him when he was younger. when he was 10 months and still breastfeeding, so much easier. i only brought along a slow cooker to cook porridge for his dinner. but when he's older and can walk, wah, all of us really tired out.

pinkbunny
that wd be nice if they can find the gown. so interesting...

youpi,
Amara Santuary is quite nice! The rooms are quite nicely done up and also got quite spacious bathtub such that both me, hb and my ger can soak inside together having fun!
But the buffet brekkie nothing much...variety quite little also...but overall service quite good, they also provided bb cot for my ger

I tink travel with bb especially if u do BF shld be okies...but what I am worried is that if they happen to fall sick *touch wood* during the trip then super sianz...especially when my ger is at cc and falls sick like at least once a mth...*sigh* so i wont noe when she wont be sick!
scared waste a few thousand on the trip and then end up suffering thru the trip.

SY,
so shiok! If my parents not working and can go together with us then i wont mind bring bb on holiday!!

delphine,
from wat i heard its better to apply for WP for confinement nannies from other countries lehz.

JMON,
I am still tinking bout Bintan...hb now at reservist after his reservist i am around 28-29 wks....think still can take ferry hor...haha...but need gynae's letter?

celeste blur
we bring all the medicines along lor. make sure we bring the normal ones for fever, cold, cough etc...really a lot of things to bring!!

oh, my dad is working but my mum is not..hee every time we have to spend a lot of effort to coordinate our timing cos my dad has a lot of meetings and travels for work as well. my japan trip last year shifted dates so many times. but also quite lucky cos in the end we got some tickets on offer....

Jmon
your relatives are in Msia right? shd be ok...easier to travel when they are young actually.

SY,
*sigh*...the only time when my parents can go on holiday is CNY period....BUT CNY is usually super crowded and more exp if u wanna go on holidays....tats y no chance to go with them

boh pianz...must be like my hb's bro. He bring his whole family for holidays when his no. 1 is pri 3 and no. 2 is K2. Then he really let go man...1 year go 2 holidays....went Japan, Aust, HKG etc! *lol*

serene,

Mayb you wanna try JPB or JackFocus for maid? These are the 2 I tried before.
My friend try Nation also quite reliable but agent charges seems to be higher. Only can change 1 maid within 6 months.
These are some agents that have their "own" pool of maids.
Other agencies, I dare not try.

BUT getting maid is heng suay one
Nothing much to do with agency one.

wahh pinkbunny.soo cute
))

1321067.gif

balestier steamboat place is at AH HOOD road (i think 1-2 blocks before Baby Avenue Store). The name of shop is Whampoa Fish Steamboat if I am not mistaken..and when you go into the shop, you will see lots of pictures of shop owner with some celebrities. hope this helps

SY,

Wow, your bb must be a season traveller. Envy

Still dare not bring my gal overseas by plane.

I encountered once when I was making a biz trip to australia ... 1 baby was crying till she was nearly out of breathe when the plane is taking off and landing beocz she was "strapped" to the small little "tray" (bassinet?)

bluey,
haha...last time when i was in Sec Sch and went Aust with my mom, there was this family bring 3 kids along...youngest i tink is toddler, oldest is kindergarten, happened that all 3 kids fell sick cos the weather was like 5-10 degrees there and end up the family didnt get to enjoy at all, kept staying in hotel room nursing the sick kids....thats y i quite scared of bringing young kids overseas

celeste,
my sil who's going to deliver in may08 just came back frm bintan, dont think she get letter frm gynae leh

SY,
ya, relatives in m'sia but diff environment mah. hope he wont fuss lor

haha. ok i think we are grossing everyone out with our bunny talk.

i think ferry don't need letter ba. only plane cos of the pressure.

hubby's assignment due dates changed so if want to go for holiday, must look at different dates liao. suddenly he can take 3 days off, so plus weekend it is 5 days! woohoo!

so r u still going to thailand? don't think I'll be going anywhere til the little one is out of my tummy...though hubby may be going on biz trips and leaving me behind
*grumble grumble*

do1nk
haha @ mad hare effect! i love bunnies. i think they are the cutest things. the love affair started when i bought a heatable wheat pack for my back pain. the kind that can be microwavable kind. it's in the same of a PINKBUNNY. but it was so cute that after a while i felt very guilty putting it in the microwave haha. my hubby also has developed a liking for bunnies cos of me. e.g. our honeymoon was dubbed "bunnymoon" haha

bkk - the time that we can go is prob songkran festival and i'm so afraid that they will anyhow throw water at me and become really rowdy and with this waistline i think i better not la. plus we both feel $800 for 3 nights in bkk sounds like alot. however now we are thinking of 5D4N in tokyo, which is about $1.4k per person haha. see how la. now still searching.

hehe ever thought of adopting any bunnies from hrss? (sis n bro-in-law are bunny-siao people too)

I heard that the cherry blossoms are blooming now and the weather is nice and cool! (should go soon if you are thinking about it) and here I am in the recently quite humid and warm SG *grumble grumble*

JMON, pinkbunny,
I asked travel agent liowz...they say before 26 weeks no need gynae letter. But after 26 weeks need to get gynae's letter juz in case they refuse to let u board the ferry

Re : Mommies with toddlers also
Anyone of u all have No. 1 crazy over Barney? They are coming to Spore 5-8 June at Suntec, but i check the sistic website still no info on buying the tickets.

celeste - for ferry, above 24 weeks actually cannot take liao.. i also planning to go bintan.. will be gg next week when i week 25, need gynae's letter.. hope this helps..

caitlyn,
24? I thought is 26.....haha...tink i really blur *lol*. So as long as got gynae letter then can take the ferry? but they never say maximum is up to when?

Garfield,
Which paper is the confinement nanny story in? I tried looking for it in the Straits Times but couldn't find it. Thanks!

i dunno when need or don't need letter but every time travel since preggie, i got a letter just in case! because hor, sometimes they will be nice to you and give you better seats

adopting rabbits? i would love to but my hubby says we will already have our hands full with poppy so when she's a bit older lor. i think kids that grow up with animals are more compassionate.

do1nk, cherry blossoms also see heng suay one! cos they only go into full bloom a few days at each 'state'. the last time i was there i missed it by a few days so only saw a few flowers hehe. tonight discuss with hubby again lor. i also feel quite guilty for talking to him about holiday when he is struggling with assignment. but if i don't then how, when his assignment over then plan would be too late liao

Question on baby's first month:
Do you count it as after 4 weeks, or on the same date the next month? ie. botn 8 July, first month celebration is on 8 Aug. Or is it after 30 days? I can't for the life of me recall what we did the last time!

cin_bunny you must be born in the bunny year too right? hehe

aiya lbt..where got old...I'm very close to your age too.. 1st baby some more.. at least you oredi had #1..

maybe dats why my lao-kok-kok body already starting to ache all over though tummy not full blown size yet..haha

PB, ya..I think kids should be taught to love animals.. pets will teach them to be more patient and loving..provided you guys dun abandon them once bored...

do1nk
don't abandon the pets or the kids

youpi
i have no idea! but my mum says cannot do AFTER the 'actual' day, so maybe earlier is better. and it's usually on a weekend for convenience sake. eg if your baby is born on 8 july then maybe the best dates for you are 2 or 3 august?

saw this in another thread. yippee? scarley must sign up first or what

NTUC Income giving Free EXCLUSIVE gift to new born

Congratulations on your new arrival. To celebrate this joyous occasion, NTUC Income is presenting you with an EXCLUSIVE gift.

To receive the gift of love, register with us now.

Rules & Regulations:

Promotion is open to all with new borns 12 months & below.
Each participant is allowed to submit only 1 entry.
Gift is not transferable or exchangable for cash.
You will be receiving a call from us for gift redemption
Promotion is only applicable for Singapore Residents.
http://www.income.com.sg/newborn/

wah pinkie
thanks for the link .. scared by the time our minnies are out, the promotion is over ?

do1nk

eheh ok ok sorry we not LAO lah hor ?

ya lor labbit. that's usually the case right? by the time it's our turn, promo over liao haha

ok ok, nobody is lao. all chio and swee ok?

welcome mama

pinkbunny,
which cupcake you ordered? I found $2.50 for one v ex cos my budget only $7 per gift box.

Re: NTUC goodie bag
I've taken it before. a lot of goodies, including milk powder and shower foam

jeanyard
ONE CUPCAKE $2.50??? walau. i think the ones i got was a few cents only. like 80 cents maybe. but you have to remember that it's not the high class kind. it's the typical old school shop kind, the kind of shop that sells swiss roll and chocolate rice roll. but it's soooooooo goooooood

maybe by itself it will not look too happening. but i will put icing on it to personalise it a bit.

by the way, box also don't expect nice nice one hor. it's typical white paper box with cheena red words on the cover one.

these cupcakes i will use for the party. and most people will be invited. but if it's like distant relatives that out of obligation must give cake kind then i think i may just buy a few boxes from the standard places cos i don't think they would appreciate the effort put in anyway. know what i mean?

i haven't ordered yet. i got it for my housewarming. don't think they even have a phone number that we can use to place orders. must go there and tell them one. it's chin mee chin confectionary at east coast road. kind of opposite five star chicken rice. next to holy family church

Thanks pinkbunny..

Btw, anyone already taking iron/calcium/fish oil? My gynea only gives me prenatal vits.. but I dink I rem my previous gynea gave me quite alot of pills... :x

welcome mama (who are we calling mama haha! maybe will call u autumn)

so far my gynae only gave me folic acid and iron pills (coz I was a bit anaemic).. no other multi vits coz I've been putting on a lot of weight *blush*

hey mummies, how about we all pull together to contribute $X (like $1 or $2 only la, no need to write cheque) each to a pot, and we can then use that moolah to buy something for the first person among us (in the group that contributes, to be fair) that pops in july. just for fun la. popping must be for natural situations hor. not for no reason go to hospital on 1 july midnight to get induced hor. but if doc says must induce for whatever reason, then ok la, counted. ai mai?

btw i am so craving for cupcakes now!!!!!!!!! me and my big mouth, start the whole cupcake talk and now i'm so gian. argh.

Re : Children's pocket money
I was juz reading another forum...aiyo...they say nowadays in primary school a plate of mixed vege rice with 1 meat, 2 vege costs $1.50! Imagine next time we have to give kids how much pocket $ *peng san*....i still remember my time one bowl of laksa is only $0.60! *lol*

pinkbunny,
the cupcakes I see on internet has very nice icing with delivery.

Mama,
no need extra mineral tablets if your diet is well balanced.

yaya.. I tink also betta to call me autumn.. haha :p Type wrongly when registering.. :x

Eh.. I stopped folic acid 1 month+ and started vits.. but i also put on alot of weight leh.. since nov till now.. i put on 12kg wor.. :x Haha.

Maybe tml then ask doc again.. *blurs* Tml going for detailed scan!!! Sooo scary~~ *cross fingers* wish for boy boy~~

jeanyard
ya lor. those are very expensive. but i really don't think the price is justified. $2.50 per cupcake! wah. i will lick the paper that comes with it sia. and if guests don't finish i will FORCE THEM to eat! haha

but i'm very cheapo la. if it's cheap and good, why not
giam siap soh! ... oh wait, wait. "soh" is very old. giam siap CHIO haha

mama aka autumn,
can change ur 'mama' nick to 'autumn' one leh. think go to ur own profile there to change.

jeanyard,
so free to log in ah...

cravings:
no cravings at the moment, but keep thinking of food leh ;P

celeste
wah last time my pocket money $1 still can save money leh!

tip for those of you who don't like eating veg:
try to take fruit juice that has veg inside. just now i tried green apple and celery, very nice! but keep burping celery smell haha. maybe eat more then my "celery" will increase hor? keke.

do1nk

u dont look like u put a lot of wt leh .. only ur tummy is big lah !

i am taking fish oil, iron and calcium pills daily.

pinkie !
on lah .. first to pop ? hmm 2nd time mummies like us are likely to go first ..

i'm taking calcium, iron and pre natal vits every day. no fish oil but think i will start buying cod liver oil. strangely, i've always liked the weird taste since i was a kid.

labbit
on la! count you in! $1 ah! hehe. virtual money for now. the next time we meet then all O$P$ ah! keke.

FTP (first to pop) fund. contributions of $1 for gift for the first mummy to pop in july
1. pinkbunny
2. labbit

copy and paste!

do1nk - yes yes, i same w lbt, bunny year ;)

pinkB - first to pop, no prob..so even if they pop in June rite? ;)

am hungry..nothing to eat around here! sob sob