(2008/07) July 2008

do1nk

do u know u will dilate faster when U r more relaxed ? After I took the epidural, I dilate quite fast. Cos I was v relaxed and watching TV liao ahahha

Steph/do1nk

wah ur babies are huge leh !! gynae ask u gals did the GS test ? that test is horrible according to some mums. be careful of what u eat ok ? anyway as long as bb is doing well can liao.. but be careful dont have too big babies, if not gotta go c-sect leh.
my bb was only 376g at 20 weeks and 740g at 24 weeks leh !

sonic

me me me !! I enrolled my gal into Shichida when she was 13 mths old. She has just completed 2 terms. Will start the next term soon.

how old is ur elder one ?? let me know if u r going .. then we see can meet in school or not

btw my gal's class is on Sun 230pm at Toa Payoh HDB Hub.

dor dor

epidural cost abt $500 per tube/dosage. some ladies need more dosage cos dilate v slow. I rem I din finish using the tube ... i was staring at it .. still got abt 1/4 left ...

pinkie

maybe u can bath more regularly w/o washing hair. means like wash hair once, else u may end up "tao hong" when u r old hahaha ok that's what my mummy says ok ?

last time I also strip and stay in aircon room to express milk cos it was super hot in Aug 2006 ! then end up got scolding from my mum. ANyway just wear a t shirt and nursing bra will do.

ya, ya, only chiang chwee la most of the time. didn't wash hair all 4 times la! my granny also used to say everyday wash hair can go tao hong keke.

thing is my stomach gets cold easily. and when that happens, i usually get stomach ache. guess need to get some obiang pyjamas hehe

my next appointment is 5 april. like very long never see my poppy liao

Sy
I very chinchay 1. At least can see the weight nearby I happy enough liao.....hahaha
Still babies ma...keke
But then jus realised a few of my friends bb's not big at birth too so okie lah smaller nevermind easier to come out also healthy can liao....hehe

pinkbunny
Yah lor about there n dunno need to add extra for the person who jabs u anot. Seems diff hos charge differently also.
My friend's side effects is she will shiver. N she had that for very long now not sure cos she jus had her 4th bb. Cos she went C-sec so no choice always epi.

I used to wear my tshirt n shorts at home n if I need to BF I will lock myself n in room if my mil is around cos I will take off my top. Wah so siok man dun even feel like wearing back after BF......hahaha
But now am trying to look for those button front with shorts so its easier for me to BF if my son wants to run in n out of the room.
If u scared tummy cold maybe can wear those.....urrr wat they call it aah binder??

Re. Glucose test
That was my nightmare man. Imagine they took my blood n I felt so faint. Lucky hubby was with me n I got to sit in the lorry all the way with him for delivery cos I felt so faint throughout. Then he rushed me back for the 2nd blood test.
The nurse say maybe my blood sugar level is low that's why I feel faint. So feel abit funny lor sugar level low but I still tested positive for it. Hopefully dun have to go through the test again this time.

mornig mummies! monday... sian...

dor dor
the button kind with shorts i think they sell at market, less than $10 per set. i just wonder if it's as cooling as the shopkeepers claim it is. i also saw at CK dept store yesterday but all very big. like giant size. i asked my hubby: eh if i wear this, will you still want me or not? he said: yes of course!... but not when you're wearing that. haha.

good kangtao
oh! at CK yesterday i realised alot of their things are cheaper than most places leh. eg. i bought johnsons head to toe wash on promo at NTUC in the afternoon at $5.95 i think. but it was $5.50 at CK. johnsons pink lotion is at $6.90 in those neighbourhood beauty shops, i thought very good deal liao, but at CK it was $.6.20 normal price. walau

hey dordor hope your sugar level ok this time!

good morning ladies

SNL,
I hope the 2 kids can get along! Then wont have so much headache

pinkbunny,
Hehe...i like the bras...$3.90 only, i usually wear them during maternity cos no wire type...got some designs very comfy one :p
Last time CK's stuffs quite cheap not oledi a bit more exp liowz.

Re : Shopping Spree!!!
Yesterday...so shiok...went Suntec, then went Toys'r'us with my hb and ger. Ended up splurging on toys for my ger. Bought a Lego set (original $122, with star card member only $79.90!), a barney plush toy (she's a barney fan) and a fisher price doodle board...haha...tink i am crazy liowz *lol*
...i tink i so unfair, havent really bought anything for my No. 2...hehe

hey can i let out steam a bit? i've said before that my mother is not so excited about my pregnancy right? or at least she's not shown any excitement in any way through her actions. so just to release some steam i wrote about it in my blog cos it was really affecting me. i mean, first grandchild right, so no reason to not be excited what.

and my mother in law (who reads my blog) writes to me this morning and says so many nice things that i really want to cry in the office. she's halfway around the world and i get more love and concern from her than i do from my own mother from halfway across the country.

pinkbunny,
dont be sad...or is it juz ur mom donno how to express her emotions? Some ppl show their care n concern in their heart but is "paiseh" to express it out
*hugz*

dor dor
hee, my boy so small i still need epi..haha...

pinkbunny
is your family not used to expressing concern? i m sure your mother is excited but maybe not used to expressing it? some older folks feel awkard abt expressing certain things.

your MIL is so sweet. she's also half your mum.
sometimes it's even harder to get MIL to be concerned so that's really sweet of her.

i decided to change my new maid. cannot make it. no common sense and quite stubborn. we decided on it after getting my mum's maid to evaluate her. also, my last few days at home with her was so frustrating that i think my boy bore the brunt of my temper at times. so better change her out since she only been here a few days....

thanks girls.

i don't think expressing concern is the problem. my family is very close and very physical. we hug alot and i think i also say before, i always kiss my parents goodnight last time, up to the time i moved out. so that's not the problem. she really seems like she's not interested la.

she's only 49 so i guess age is not the problem in that she's not part of 'older folk' category. but rather, she feels too young to be a grandma so very resentful. instead of asking how i am (6 months preggie and she's not asked yet), she's asking me things like 'so what should the baby call me to make me sound like a young and hip granny? not AH MA hor, cos it sounds so old'. ????!!!!

she came once with me and held my hand during gynae appt but that's one of the few times she showed any interest at all. i can really count with one hand how many times she's shown recognition about my being pregnant.

all those books i read about how mothers are sweet to their daughters during pregnancy always make me cry cos my own mother doesn't bother. she's more interested about showing face to distant relatives (who probably don't even know my name) and insisting i must deliver muah gueh cakes to them.

hello, prorities a bit sala right??

PinkB - your MIL so sweet..my ILs are complete opposite..totally no interest, until today, not even sure they know due date or baby's sex! the only thing they hv asked or shown some little itsy bitsy interest in is if baby is going to be msian or sporean citizen *eyes rolling*

wanna exchange in laws? hehehe

am sure yr mom will change after she sees how adorable poppy is..maybe she distracted with lots of things on her mind..she did buy poppy her gold chain right?

pinkbunny
some pple are just like that....they act like they dun really care but actually they do. maybe after bb is born, u will be able to see her concern. i remember for my first one, my dad also dun say much but maybe cos it's the father figure so he always says things thru my mum. and they always show it thru small little things like making sure i eat fish when we eat together etc. but they won't really talk abt it.

your mum is really young....

hehe cin bunny, you can keep your ILs la, i'm holding on tightly to mine! i really love her. but somehow, she's still not MY mum and i would prefer to be this close to my own mother.

we bougth the gold chain because it was a 'by the way' thing when we went to get si dian jin for my SIL and i accompanied my mum on that trip cos she said my SIL would prefer my taste more. and i'm the one who asked her for the anklet cos i told her i felt it was a very appropriate grandma gift and asked if she minded. :S

SY
i hope you are right. if i were part of a traditional family that keeps to themselves then i would accept this non show of affection but the thing is i'm not, so that makes it harder. i mean, with dads, usually they are less affectionate, but this side of my mum is something new to me and it just makes me feel really yucky.

anyhow, told my hubby i will not bother liao. don't want to make myself sad with things i cannot control. just think happy thoughts. like shopping in bkk.

btw, this is a good site for anyone who needs ideas on cooking: http://wokkingmum.multiply.com/photos

SY,
yuppies....if the maid no gd "chang2 tong4 bu4 ru2 duan3 tong4" send her back and dont drag....its not easy to find a gd maid *sigh*
Then who help u jaga ur kid now?

pinkbunny,
I guess your mom still cannot accept the fact that she's going to be grandma, but usually from what I see once the bb is born things might change

dor dor,
if you have low sugar, you can take all the chocolate cakes and desserts!!
I have started my sugar-free diet for the glucose test 3 weeks.
Have been eating bread and light meals for 1 month already and no chocolate cakes. wah, buay tah han.

pinkbunny,
can we trade our ILs?
I was just telling her that her curtain for bb room was too thick and the wind can't come in and she says she thinks it's good.
what can I say man?
Is your mum the "modern" type?

lbt,
i didn't take any glucose test.. don't scare me.. think my bb big coz i've been drinking fish soup and taking my calcium pills?! self console heheh..

dor_dor,
you mean gynae will re assess edd based on bb size?

pinkbunny,
your bro just got married recently right? maybe your mum was overwhelmed with the preparation and all so neglected you a bit. my sil just gave birth last week and since then, no tonic soup for me.. but my mum can tell me what she's making for sil... wah lau.. she think i saint!? hahaha.. but i do feel a bit sour sour lah..

anyway, my mum wasn't too excited about my sil and my pregnancies earlier. she kept saying she won't stay home take care of grandchildren. she'd rather go shopping and play mj. guess what!? since sil gave birth, my mum has been busy carrying her grandson around the house and push off her mj sessions..

me now thinking maybe i shd start learning how to make tonic soup myself

haha ok everyone, hands off my MIL! she's mine!

jeanyard
i think your MIL thinks it's good to keep warm so that won't get hong sip. old style thinking is like that i think. my mum, modern mum i guess lor.

steph
yup my bro just got married. but even so, before the wedding plans also she wasn't really involved in the pregnancy. at least yours has made tonic soup for you! mine just said 'must drink alot of black chicken soup. go market, buy the chicken, tok into small pieces then double boil'. she bought me double boiler for christmas and since then i've been making my own soups.

i've always been independant as a child but i just thought maybe pregnancy will trigger some instinct in my mum but i guess not la. suan le. i'll just stick with independency. shouldn't have expected anything anyway. i got the recipe books, just make my own soups and cook my own food la!

PINK POWER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

pinkbunny,
that's the spirit! you're my idol ;) my mum make for me coz on the way mah... she making for sil.. my parents more traditional.. i'm daughter married out liao... my son's surname follows hb.. you get what i mean!? as long as hb and mil dote on us, i think we should feel very blessed liao

aiyah steph, no need ou xiang talk la *blush*. yup as long as hubby is nice to us is good enough liao. mine has been very supportive in eating all the dishes i've been trying out at home hehe. and we all have each other, july mummies!!!!

wise saying:
kao sua, sua doh,
kao lang, lang doh,
kao gagi, xiang ho!
(translation: depend on hill, the hill will fall. depend on people, people will play you out. depend on yourself is da best!)

who was it who wanted medela pump:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1306411.html?1206930524#POST4567044

morning all mummies...
so envy u all have gd mils...
mine.. dun give me trouble can liao..
so I really rely alot on my mum...
and I have been staying at my mum's place cos I cant do any housework...

pinkbunny.. my mum also a grandma at 50.. hehe..
she also say she so young be ah ma..
but she say only lah..
go ard telling ppl she going to be ah ma..then keep on laughing..
so I guess they just dun know how to express..

hehe jaslyn, good MIL but uninterested mother, trade off la!

mine even not telling people about my pregnancy. relatives ask me cos they see my stomach. *shake head*

suan le suan le! ownself take care of ownself!

Toking bout MIL, heng my MIL still okies...she doesnt bother about me. We go to their place once a week for dinner.
But I depend a lot on my mother, especially when my hb works on Sunday..my mom will drop by in the mid-afternoon to help me....otherwise i really peng san from handling a toddler + housework + being pregnant....tiring! *sigh*

agree agree..take care of ourselves and hv little or no expectations of others
..except hubby la..that one they no choice..lots of expectations on them..hahaha ;)

we women really something.. handle so much .. give ourselves a pat on the shoulder !

mummies with more than 1 kid,
when did you start planning for your 2nd kid? my first not even out and pple already asking me when to have 2nd one :S but i'm already mid 30s liao.. don't think i can cope with a 2nd one. would like your opinions. thanks

the less you expect, the less you'll be disappointed. btu i cannot help but add in... very sad to not be able to expect some attention from your own mum

that being said, PINK POWER is strong!!!!

celeste.. thats gd ah..
my MIL is bother until I scare ah...
everything I must help her do, help her think...
every now and then will call up.. until I dare not to ans her call...

cin bunny.. of course must have lots of expectations on them.. haha..

hi.. include me on this..

july mummies FTP (first to pop)/shortest labour fund. contributions of $1 for gift for (a) the first mummy to pop in july (b) mummy with shortest labour*

1. pinkbunny
2. labbit
3. Bluey
4. Jmon
5. Delphine
6. do1nk
7. SY
8. Ling
9. Youpi
10. cin bunny
11. stephsg73
12. Serene
13. Jaslyn

aftn all..

cin_bunny - agree 101% with u abt e hb thingy! they willingly sign "contract" which allows them to put high high high expectations on them..

steph - i din conceive no 1 easily so i just shun qi zi ran.. who noes, conceived no 2 when my boy only abt 5 mth..

july mummies FTP (first to pop)/shortest labour fund. contributions of $1 for gift for (a) the first mummy to pop in july (b) mummy with shortest labour*

1. pinkbunny
2. labbit
3. Bluey
4. Jmon
5. Delphine
6. do1nk
7. SY
8. Ling
9. Youpi
10. cin bunny
11. stephsg73
12. Serene
13. Jaslyn
14. caitlyn

haha delay delay bangkok booking until now either fully booked or sky high prices. $400 for tickets on SQ before tax leh! wah. we'll go end of the month la. but. i'll be 29 weeks liao. gulp

hey ladies,
my mom is also a 50year old ah ma.

pinkbunny,
my mother also a bit hack care.
i tell you it might be the menopause.
my mom mense have been irregular lately.
they come and visit her almost every other day loh. and the cramps are killing her. she hasnt ask about the baby too.

pinkbunny,

in fact my relatonship with my mum wasnt gd till i got married, she was the one taking care of me all this while by side without any complain fm her. when i was down on my luck at one time she was the one who keep encouraging me to stand up and stood by me (recent case was when i was terminate my the company she call me everyday hope that i would stand up on my feet n live happily) when she know that i was preganant she was v happy but she couldnt take care of my kid partly b coz of my sil

caitlyn (caitlyn)

wow.. that was fast! my mum was telling me 6 mths after giving birth can aim for ox baby :S she think my hb marksman! hahahah... but seriously, shd be quite siong right? having to take care of baby and pregnancy?

Monday blues ....

Starting to worry abt the changing of maids.
Need to get "more" cams up and running in my house to monitor the new maid.
Pacify my gal "increasing tantrums" over me.
Have to find time to study for an exam in may.

suddenly ... I forget I m also a preggie

Pinkbunny
*pat pat* dun be sad. Maybe she's not used to the idea of becoming a grandma at such a young age... her heart will surely melt at the first sight of her grandchild!

As for GSS, think usually start at end of May.

Sonic
Check for you liao, the Shichida programme is on tonight at 7.30pm, Channel 5. It's called The Perfect Child or something like that.

Youpi
My ds1 just turned 2 earlier in March... really TERRIBLE TWO!!!

Jeanyard
Try for 3rd one ah? Unless can guarantee a girl... hahaha... even my eldest sis who has 3 boys was cautioning me from having 3 'cos she says very tiring!! So see how it goes with no. 2 first.

SY
Got your invitation... thanks!

Dun be so stress abt your maid, ok. Hope the next one will be better!

Update
Went for my appt last Sat and gynae said my bb is now abt 600g at 23 weeks... according to him, that's abt average weight...

re:planning for no.2

i know the guidelines is to plan to conceive when bb reaches 18 mths old so that our body can rest before pregnant again. But I conceived when my gal is abt 15-16mths so I guess my body has rested.

Not too soon else our body is not strong enough. That's what I feel.

Pinkie ..

at least u have ur MIL to care for u .. some ppl may not even have any ??

i count myself lucky to have caring parents and in laws to prep good food for me during pregnancy and taking care of my child. No complaints !!

steph - was v surprised i striked so fast also.. coz when i was trying for my no 1, i was told by 4 diff drs i wun be able to conceive naturally.. (but by some miracle, i did), so we thot we may just have this 1 n only.. but who noes, we got lucky again.. but yes, v shiong.. i not really able to take care of my boy..

Jaslyn,
u stay with ur MIL?

Re : Planning for No. 2
I actually considered a 2 yr age gap so I stopped my Bf at 14mths and conceived when my ger was around 16mths. But I feel that my body like never really rest enuff cos this time round i seem to be more tired than when I am pregnant with No.1. Not sure if it is becos i BF for sometime and never "bu" my body enough
or is it becos we have more stuffs on hand with a active toddler.

lbt - agree with u.. think best to let body recover fully.. like for me, this preg liek much tougher initially.. body also like weaker..

celeste, caitlyn

hmm my 2nd pregnancy is much easier leh. No MS, no ache, no ligament pains etc. Maybe I too "bu" during confinement liao.

caitlyn ur case different, cos u conceived again within only a few mths. U must take care leh ....

u know we women age faster after each birth cos we lose a lot of blood. So must really eat well during confinement and talk abt diet later ok ?

pinkbunny
your mil is sweet and nice.
about your mum, I got the feeling that she's still adores you very much. Being her own kids, no matter how old the kids are, mummy will still care very much.
maybe she went thru hardships where her mum also didn't do anything for her when she had you at very young age that time, so now she wants you to experience same so you would appreciate her more?

Re mil
my mil also never asks me how am I doing for my both pregnancies. all she interested is whether boy or girl. after that she pretends nothing happen. There was once, I asked my hubby to hang clothes for me, she said why ask the man do the job, she hints that I should be doing although she already knew I'm expecting. Hubby told her that now modern days, men also do houseworks, she got angry.

dor dor
I'm going to have the glucose test done next month. If you see someone fainted at KK's TPS, that's me!

jeanyard
me also have been very strict on my diet, so I truly understand how you feel. Pregnant should be enjoying good foods hor, but we are not..
but last visit gynae said my baby is not big, so can relax a bit now. Yeah.

lbt
My boy is 16mos now, planning to enrol him into Shichida programme before I'm due so I could go with him.

How is your gal doing so far? Has the shichida did any wonder to her?

yeah, think we can meet in school because I'm planning to go Toa Payoh HDB hub too since it's near my place.

lbt,
my 2nd one...aiyo...handle hsework, working handle my active toddler....really tiring
my 1st trim was even worst...MS was worst than No. 1 *lol*

Jaslyn,
not staying with MIL also....actually i feel that can stay next door, walking distance or anything but if under the same roof then bound to have conflicts

monday blues indeed, wiv so much work to do too..

and all these mother/mother in law woes.. I guess everyone's different, and we can't really change a person so juz have to make the best of things and try not to get too worked up by it? no one's perfect I guess... I'm staying wiv my in-laws..and staying together can make things worse.. but I guess there are WORSE MIL's out there I heard...so I juz constantly remind myself to close eye close ear and try to get along lor..

cin_bunny...your MIL is the S'porean? hehe.. maybe worried your baby may not get SG shares next time? kekeke

SY
you are so ON. Usually I do not have much time (and most importantly patience) to teach my boy. I borrow many books from library, thinking to read together with him but he could only spares me less than a minute. I got to coax and literally 'drag' him over, which makes me so tired.. So I rather send him to school and get the expert to do the job. My hubby agreed with me coz he himself got no time too. We are so 'shi pai'...

Is your new maid a fresh maid or transfer maid? Hopefully your agent don't charge you for replacement. Mine coming in next two weeks. a new one, hopefully all goes well. *crossing my fingers*

celeste..
oic..
ya.. if stay in the same roof sure to have conflict.. thats y from the beginning I dun wana stay with her..
like my hubby's friend..
his wife cant get along with his mum.. then quarrel then no choice have to move out..
I find that if this were to happen..
then in long term relationship will not be gd liao...