(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Roooller,

”金银花“ can buy from any 药材店. it olso one of herbal. Some pppl boil as herbal tea. because it can 消毒。it really useful apply it on ur bb pimple area..

Bonjovi,

Mb try give ur bb drink some blank warm water after 1 or 2 hrs after feeding milk. then bb can clear his heat and yellow through pee pee (urine).

soya
my HB side big family and is the only nei sun so bo pian, husband got 10 bro and sis relative also a lot

my side only my family and some close fren which is about 30 plus pple the rest is husband side so i dun wan to do all the cleaning cos no maid mah and our house only 3 room so hve to do it somewhere...

<font color="aa00aa">Yesterday nite i suddenly had fever and felt cold as well. Then i can felt my right breast has engorged, so i quickly wake up and pump out the milk. While pumping, i can feel my temperature start to go down. This continue for 2 sessions of pumping. Someone had similar situation? Can the BM taken by the baby?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">riz, thanks for ur explanation. Hopefully my baby jaundice level has gone down below 100 by tomolo. Really heartpain to see them kena poke.

Linda, if u plan to take up poly jab package, u had to prepared to wait very very long for ur turn. Tat day my hubby bring my baby for jaundice follow up at poly when she's one week old, and she got the priority to jump Q. But even with the priority, the whole process oso took for more than an hour plus oredy.

bonjovi, th epoly priority was given to baby less than one mth old and senior citizen. So for baby taking the jab, normally is more than a month liao, so unless u r so 'heng' tat no smaller babies on tat day, else really can wait for few hrs.</font>

felicia...
any red patches on ur breasts? do monitor... if got any part of breast is painful, massage there hard to clear. yes... BM can still be taken by bb... no worries...

pris...
dats alot of pple... no wonder u need a chalet. hehe... have fun... when u checking in?

<font color="aa00aa">soyabean, no red patches. Initially i tot is mastitis, but seems like not lor. But from morning till now, no more fever.</font>

felicia...
i see... then dats good... i ken mastitis on my 2nd week... it was terrible... running high fever and half of my right breast was practically red.

Hi bonjovi/ felicia
Thanks for the advises...guess it also got to do w which polyclinic too? Mine at woodlands prob long queue cos lots of old folks... hmm... will check w hubby since he's got to fetch to &amp; fro. My guess is he will tell me go GP cos he wont be paying hahaha....
Bonjovi, can share why your cousin recommended 5-in-1 instead?

Hi pris
6-in-1 istaken 1.5mths. 5-in-1 is 1 mth. Actually hor, additional HiB is the diff, hence my question to bonjovi. U be taking 6-in-1 too?

Hi danryan
i was guessing its the aircon too... but my #1 cannot sleep w/o leh... will hv to find a way. Last night VERY cranky, couldnt sleep, i suspect its the nose. Then this morning 7am till now just fell asleep in my arms, as i type... but not deep sleep too. I rubbed some cherry vicks on his chest, hope it works.

Hi Priscilla!

must wake up to pump otherwise cannot sleep.

GP's charges are cheaper, but when comes to development assessment,they arenot very professional.

linda
yesterday sleep without aircon....bb gerl seem slept well and this morning i pump her nose clear the yellow nasal too....

felicia
keep pumpimg or BF yr bb to stop yr breast fr engoge again....i will BF my bb gerl till no more swollen and now much better if i felt a bit swollen i will give more BF than formula

Dan,

where do u buy the nose pump? safe to be use on bb?

Felicia,

Engorgement can also bring temperature up, not necessary mastitis.

Pump and pump and latch and latch to reduce it. if it cease within 48 hours then shd be fine. if it persist u can see lactation consultant. Normal engorgement shd cease within 48 hrs. serious engorgement can last within 1 week.

Last mon i went back to office distribute full mth cakes and past 1 feed time, my breasts engorge n so painful i quickly rush home to pump out.. heee.

Btw do u all know how much milk bb take during 4th month n 5th month? cos i am storing BM for use after ML, not sure to keep how much in 1 container.

ellysia...
better to store the BM in smaller quantities... when need to use then mix... safer... dun store in the exact quantity...

roooller...
wats wrong with ur maid?

roooller,
y giving up ur maid? i tot she is alrite ya?

i will be opting for 6in1 too.. goin to PD for the jabs.. was told the 1st jab will be done on 6th wk.. my PD charing at $440 incl medi n consultation fees.. issit ok? does PD include the development asssessment like poly does?

Congrats to all mummies who have popped! Welcome to the world precious ones!!

Wow...so many new posts! So busy with #1 and #2...no time to come in and post. Trying to catch up on the posts now.

Am trying very hard to get as much attention to #1 coz he is big "J" now. So, whenever #2 is sleeping, I will spend all the time with #1. Gosh, its like NO "me time" at all...

BM - It is already more than 2 weeks and my MS is still low - only 80-90ml per pumping. So, whenever I express it out, I will just store 30ml per bottle since my gal drinks around 30-60ml per feed. During the nite feeds, my DH will mix 30ml EBM and 30ml FM so that no matter what, my gal will still some BM in her. I think its time to take fenugreek liao. Was trying to wait till confinement is over.

5-in-1 or 6-in-1 jabs - Since #1 was A-OK with the 5-in-1 jabs, I think we will stick to the same for #2.

<font color="aa00aa">mine a bit complicated lar...in short, i had been paid full maternity leave (3mths) liao from my ex-company. now on new job, so i start tis wk, which is e starting of my 7th wk of maternity. therefore, physically my ML is oni 6wks lor</font>

crystal,
oh ok.. new job now hur.. i actually feel like goin back to work nw.. but i tink when really time to go back i will be sad.. haha

JP,
Just read the following article about MS, the link : http://pediatrics.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ/Ya&amp;sdn=pediatrics&amp;cdn=health&amp;tm=8&amp;f=00&amp;tt=14&amp;bt=0&amp;bts=0&amp;zu=http%3A//www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/low-supply.html

You get very little or no milk when you pump. The amount of milk that you can pump is not an accurate measure of your milk supply. A baby with a healthy suck milks your breast much more efficiently than any pump. Also, pumping is an acquired skill (different than nursing), and can be very dependent on the type of pump. Some women who have abundant milk supplies are unable to get any milk when they pump. In addition, it is very common and normal for pumping output to decrease over time.

Hi BabyCupid!

actually according to my CL, it is about 35 days to 40.

Don't get too angry. Eat all these confinement food while you can. After this period, these food would be too heaty for us. Just tell youself that you are eating to get back your nutrients lost during pregnancy and delivery.

jus back from salon... went to dye and cut my hair for baby showers.... Need to see too many pple liao no cut hair cannot man...

Re: Confinement
My MIL told mi Confinement 40days, I told her no lah... 1 mth already cannot tahan still need to do for another 10days... She say after CL leave she will cook for mi... I so scared man.. scared of her cooking...

<font color="aa00aa">Dan /ellysia,
me now will pump every 3hrs. Dare not drag till 4 hrs, coz really afraid will get engorgement again liao. Sometimes, before 3 hrs, i oredy pump out.
Really cannot imagine wat'll happen when go bak to work. If engorgement happen during meeting, really cham.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Confinement :
My MIL said can do till 40days, but no worry, by day 30, can resume normal life style, just tat you continue eating confinement food to 'bu' only.</font>

My bb just went for 2nd jab Hep B injection (1 mth old) at the Polyclinic. I told the nurse that I want the 6-in-1 package. But seems that the 2nd Hep B in the 6-in-1 should be together in the 3rd mth. Is the nurse correct to give the 2nd Hep B jab now?

may i know which polyclinic offers 6 in 1 cos i tried calling the one near my place, it doesn't.

btw, i just went to see a lactation consultant in kk today. she told me that one month before i go back to work, she will teach me how to pump only 4 times a day so that i can manage my work...but now i have to be very hardworking in pumping every 3 hrs...

will share with you all next time. thanks.

and also my lactation consultant told me to get fenugreek to increase my milk supply. i went to kk to check that 100caps cost $29.50. i got a bottle 200cps at only US$12.99 excluding shipping from drugstore. some more same brand from gnc. any mother interested? maybe i can consolidate to place order.

Priscilla,
Re: Confinement
My mum also told me 40DAYS! But frankly for me 28days or 30days doesnt make any difference. Eat still eat confinement food with ginger and wine lo. I also start bath after bb full mth. 2x a day cos feeling so hot!

feifei,
Ask you how to really define colic baby? Means only cry at night and scream? Mine she is like that and I keep suspecting she is colic bb. I didnt do anything just carry her to sleep at times. You mention Ridwind can get from PD or? Does it really helps? How long will see improvement?

aiyo... really meh? danzz.. nvm tml my mil wun be ard for bb shower cos frends day.. i will eat the buffet..

Yoyo,

i've bought the "金银花".
i was told must wash v.clean as the herb itself is dirty too
may i know how long i need to boil?
then just apply the liquid on face?

jenny,

i went kkh today too.. need to submit my ger's pic for the foot and hands print frame. Went to the guardian store in kkh, the medela's sales lady told me, besides taking green papaya soup, we can actually eat papaya to increase milk supply too.. i just bought a BIG papaya back from market while i' was on my way back

you wanna order fenugreek from Drugstore??

Saw some of ur discussion on polyclincs n tot I would share wat I know.

Polyclinic
--------------------------------------
For polyclinics they actually are under 2 diff healthcare providers NHG n SingHealth.

From wat I know last time NHG only have individual(free jabs) n 5-in-1 jabs. Singhealth have the 5-in-1 n 6-in-1. Can call to check prices n make appt immediately.

AMK is under NHG n the 1 at SK is under Singhealth. Heard from some ppl they queue at the SK 1 for very long.

My son now 21 mths has taken his hep B n 5-in-1 jabs at AMK polyclinic. N I highly recommand that place as their waiting time is really VERY short. I always made appt since his 1st visit n normally once I reach the next number to be called will be mine no matter how many young bbs I see there.

N if he needs to be checked by the doc we can 'jump' queue cos the nurse will either ask me to bring the file into the doc room or they will bring it in n after the patient comes out we will be next.

They only have the 5-in-1 jab available and its a package which includes all the development checks for bb so u jus pay once.

But I recently realised this appt thingy only works for bbs below 2 yrs old. Cos I intend to let my son take the chickenpox jab after I deliver my #2 n they told me after 2 yrs old no need to make appt so I presume we will have to join the queue then.

Hope this info helps.

Hi gers,
havent been here for a long time. My bb has managed to kip me very occupied. I m expressing my BM now. I have almost stop BFing, switching to bottle feeding EBM. Found that it is easier to monitor her intake and she wun demand feeding at irregular hours. Bb is exclusively on BM or EBM. She's a preemie, so lower milk intake. She's already 1.5mth &amp; only on 100 - 130ml per feed, every 3hrly.
I m gg back to work on 21 Jul, taken 10weeks liao and straggering the remaining 2 weeks. Oh gosh, I am so looking forward to gg back to work. I am starting to stock up on my EBM liao.

Felicia,
I suspect that I wun have so much time to pump after I go back to work and the ss syre drop. I am hoping to put my bb on EBM exclusively up to 6 mths wor. To make my investiment (on pump) worth, I should give her BM for up to 4 mths, Hehe.

Feifei,
How are you?

ZuEn,
Morning! You up too
Me too.. Feeding pumping again haha. Actually your gal eating well ok. Normally recommended feed for BB below 2mths is 90-100ml. When stepping 2month, drinking 120ml. So do not worry okie. Mine now just 1mth 2days, she is drinking about 100ml too
Every 3hr feed. I also pump out. Normally latch during the day but always not enough cos she seem to be keep crying for milk. So soon I also let go. You still not bad. I already mix FM! Guess my goal is want my BB to eat well sleep well most impt. Eat well is done BUT sleep well is again headache!

Feifei,
I will be waiting for you kind advise about colic.. any other mummies also experience this? BB cry &amp; scream at night? How to solve? Though I am 2nd time mum BUT my #1 never get all these !

JABS
-----

Anyone one going to SBCC for jabs? They are still usig 5 in 1 if I am not wrong. I will still stick back here since my #1 also visiting PD there @ GlenE. Also now I can use CDA so think for me still prefer PD.

I think its each preference. SOme prefer Jab makes a simple one BUT when bb sick go PD (since below 1yr old more weak)
Mayb for my own thinking is PD is always monitoring my BB as 1st yr we will be always visiting them for jabs. So its the best to ask &amp; monitor when we visit PD

Pic to share. Nicole grown alot too. Now she is BOTAK!
I shave #1 hair too in order to avoid 4mth hair dropping theory.

1534657.jpg
1534658.jpg

(1st week) (1 Mth)

Cynthia,
Good morning, my girl is up &amp; screaming for milk again. She is sometimes more accurate than the alarm clock, haha. Bb below 2 months old only drink 90 - 100ml? some of the bbs already drink 120ml when there are a few weeks old wor. Anyway, Lil ZuEn is growing well so I m not too worried about how much she feeds each time. However, she still has alot to put on to catch up with her peers.
I used to latch her on but she can suckle for 1+ hr and demand feeding every hour. I think maybe she was just suckling for comfort. So I started to bottle feed her in the night. As time goes on, I became lazier and am starting to substitute latching to bottles more &amp; more. ;p

<font color="aa00aa">Jenny, do share with us about the 4 times pumping when ur lactation nurse teach you, ok? I'm very interested in it oso. hehe...

Zuen, at least u still let baby latch on, me just one week plus, oredy total EBM liao. Me oso plan to give baby EBM for at least 6mths to recover back the pump cost. hehe..</font>

morning girls,
my bb has not been sleepin tat soundly in e nite. every 10mins or so wil make a sound or move. then in e wee mornin after her feed, she cant sleep well liao. noise frm nose is quite loud, dunno izzit nose block or phelgm in her throat.
CL said is normal, but onli these 2days she is not sleepin well. always kicking n doing stretching.

Felicia,
Initially, I felt quite bad that I latch her on lesser &amp; lesser. However, as I get more &amp; more tired with each passing day, the more I bottle feed her with less guilt, hahaha.. I was hoping to try latching her until I go back to work, but I think difficult. When I latch her on in the day, I regret doing so when she's at my breast forever. ;p

mrswrx,
My bb does the stretching thing very often too. After a while, she will make so much noise indicating that she wants to be carried. Aiyo.

Hi Jessica
I gotten this chart from PD and hope it clarfies your queries.
There are 3 types of schedules.
5-in-1 / Modified 6-in-1 schedule
1st mth - Hep B,
3rd mth - Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Polio and Haemophilus influenzae b (this is the so-called 5-in-1)
4th mth - 5-in-1
5th mth - 5-in-1
6th mth - Hep B (This hep b jab can be taken with 5th mth's 5-in-1 for convenience of parents. If so, that the jab will be called 6-in-1, hence called "modified 6-in-1" schedule)

6-in-1 schedule
1.5 mth - Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Polio and Haemophilus influenzae b, Hepatitis B (so called 6-in-1)
3rd mth - 6-in-1
5th mth - 6-in-1

So if you took the Hep B at 1st mth, then you prob taking the modified 6-in-1 package, which will have the 2nd Hep B shot at 5th mth.