(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">sarahteddy,
my sentimenets exactly, saw yur post oni after i posted.

bonjovi,
gwen had pretty bad BF jaundice too in her 1st couple of wks after birth. wat her PD from RH suggested &amp; we did was we stopped BF totally for 3 days. those 3 days i still pumped but stored in freezer &amp; we feed her on total FM during those 3 days. her BF jaundice dropped from 14.5 to 8+ after 3 days. since then, it hasnt surfaced. u may wish to try.</font>

roxy..

my ger is taking lesser now.. she drinks like 90-100ml only nowadays.. ist normal?? last time she can drinks 110-120ml.. she's in her 5th week now.

bonjovi...
try to sun bb for a while everyday... no need put under direct sunlight. jus place bb somewhere bright can already. it will help to rid some of the jaundice.

roxy,
ya lor.. he already drank 90ml when he is 1wk old or so.. den i see the FM can stated like 90ml is for 1mth old one.. den i was like... den my mum said tat only a guide.. depends on bb oso.. but when he is 2wks close to 3wks.. he having colic.. n his intake started to reduce to 60ml per feed.. den i gave him the ridwind and nw he resume back to 90ml to 100ml.. we tried giving 60ml.. he refused to slp n crY for milk.. so got to give him another 60ml den he will slp or kept quiet..

bonjovi, most importantly is to make sure bb liver function is working properly n not the cause for his "yellowness" hence must do the liver blood test... n skin colour not so important, look out for his eyes white, is it white tinged with blue or yellow at the edges? If still yellow, then bb still having jaundice... but as long as liver function is ok, breastmilk jaundice is ok n will go away by itself. No need to sunbathe bb anymore as it doesnt help and will just cause bb to get sunburnt... n this period, monitor his stools (must be yellow/brown colour, cannot be greyish) pee must be colourless or yellow, cannot be like brownish tea. If liver, stools n poo are ok, bb is fine. Isaiah already 7 wks but still having yellowish tinge to skin, but tmc n polyclinic PD clear him, says no need to worry... so u dun worry so much too

hi soyabean
im not sure, i tink FM and BM is the same? Coz Im now feeding bb similac n BM... the instructions on similac also says 120ml for 2 mths bb...

hi aprilmum
My bb also same as urs... last time drink 90-100 every 3 hrs, now drop to 50-60 every 2 hrs... i guess as long as they are putting on weight it doesnt matter how much they drink, babies should be putting on average 200grams per week... get a digital scale and weigh yourself first then carry bb... like that can get bb weight...

For bb having jaundice, mummy maybe try stop give bb BM few day until jaundice go away. if not BM will cause the jaudice more serious..

This is my MIL experience for my newphew last time.

For my own bb, when he delivered on last week, doctor said he olso having a light jaundice, but due to i dun have much BM supply, so i didnt give him BM, i dun know is it because this reason that he didnt take BM,so his jaundice go away faster.

Now my bb is ok without jaundice..

<font color="aa00aa">ladies, today my ger is exactly a week old. My hubby bring her for jaundice check up today at poly and was told her level is 137. The nurse said is mild jaundice but will need to go back for follow up this saturday.
Can someone advise me wat is the bordeline level of jaundice?</font>

Bonjovi
Baby jaundice can try ng ki, can be bought from medical hall... My gal after 2 weeks clear liao...

Use the packet, put it in the bath tub with water, soak it for a while and bath baby with the water... it works for my gal...

going to siglap to see dr lim later cos baby got phelgm...

sarah teddy,crystal, yoyo, prisicilla, soyabean n roxy

dr monioring him. \bb jaundice started day 9. after 2 days at hosp, gone down. went up again n i stopped breastfeeding for 3 days as advised by dr. hwr,jaundice level went up again after i started bf. he has gone for all the lever test, urine test n even thyhoid test. all test shows
tt he is fine. i even stopped taking all ginger n herbs n his reading last fri is still 14.

yes, i tried the ng ki too.

felicia, i was told that as long as it does not reach 300 its at the safe zone,

sorry to intrude but I have a unopen pack of Huggies Ultra S size to sell at $12 as my girl has outgrown it....collection can be arranged around town area...

interested please email me at

Hi crystal/babycupid
hehehe... I agree... It seems like other people's babies all better, can sleep in pram. Mine almost never too. She can sit well till about 18mths then she will try to climb out.

BTW, NTUC having diaper sales. huggies, mamy poko pull ups, NTUC housebrands, fitti, drypers. Worth to stock for larger sizes. Check the JTS thread

<font color="aa00aa">bonjovi, so below 300 is ok lah.
Quite heartpain when i heard my hubby and mil said baby need to poked with needle to get the blood to test. Wondering if this saturday follow up will need to poked again or not.

btw, saw tat you said ur baby jaundice was coz by breastfeeding, so does tat mean u cannot BF your baby?</font>

bonjovi,

I was at PD's clinic yesterday and PD decided to do a blood n liver test to see if bb's jaundice has gone up as she commented he looks very yellow,she suspected him having Breastfeeding Jaundice and the main thing is that bb has not put on weight since he was born 17days ago,I told PD that since he was born, he has always been sleeping alot, doesnt really interested in milk, always fall asleep when I was BF him, PD said because he has not taken enough of my BM, that is why he is so tired and fell asleep during feeding time, I was so sad when I heard that, thinking my MS could be low, thats why he is not getting enough, but he didnt suckle enough to stimulate the supply. Her suggestion was for me to stop breastfeeding him for 5days, put him on FM to help him increase his weight,and to stop jaundice. I think this is best for bb at the moment, so I started giving him Similac FM today. I also express milk out while he is on FM, to maintain my supply.My main worry is nipple confusion, and that he may not want my nipple after 5 days.

Fennie,

for jaundice babies, they are very sleepy, so have to try ways to wake babies up to feed.

I suppose now baby on FM. Is he drinking well now?

Don't worry about nipple confusion. Worst case, express milk out to bottle feed. Baby still gets BM. Take it easy, don't stress yourself, otherwise MS will be affected. : )

felicia, that was what was told to me by dr. yes, need to poke at foot to draw blood. i also feel v sad that why i refuse to see when they draw his blood.

hmm, i still wish to breast feed him n m trying to change my diet. but i am seriously considering to stop. his jaundice did drop when i stop breastfeed for 3 days few weeks ago,

Fennie, my bb also tend to fall asleep, i asked the breast consultant n told tt we have to keep tickling him to keep him awake. may be u ca try that. it is very tiring in the nites cos half the x bb sleeping n u may feel like giving up.

dun worry about the confusion. i manage to breastfeed n bb suckles well although he was on formula milk for 3 days. just that bb may forget how to suckle fr breast initialy. that is my experience cos most of the x i latch but i bottle feed sometimes too.

dun worry ok, he will put on weight soon,

Sarahteddy/bonjovi,

thks for sharing.i think bb dont know how to drink from bottle as well, cos there's alot of milk flowing out of his mouth when he was drinking from bottle today, and he just threw out his 3rd feed of FM of today,most of the 60ml feed he had just awhile ago. yes, its tiring to wake bb up in the middle of the night, cos i tend to doze off myself.today i am trying to express out my milk as bb is on FM, can only get 70ml total from both breast, which means he is really not drinking enough cos he always fell asleep on just 1 breast, I really hope 5 days of FM will help him put on weight and he can be more alert.

Babycupid,
I asked my PD abt the Ridwind today, was told to stop giving bb if her colic situation is better..meaning she doesn't cry and scream at nite lor..

Of cos can make appt, tink u can call them lor..

Today my ger just had her 6in1 jab, I am so proud of her cos she din cry at all, can smile at me somemore, my heart melted when I saw her so brave...=D...Was given some med to give her..PD told me b might get abit cranky tonite, and might hv fever tonite so i hv to be more alret lor...Hope she is okie..

Tera,
Jiayou lor, u can do it ger!

Felicia,
I din shave her lor, onli aft her 1st mth, i brought her to trim some of her sideburn and behind lor..Bu she de shave leh..

soyabean,
tks for the tips, will do e exercise lor =D...Haiz, tink the 1st few wks i lazy, nv wake up to pump milk to stablise the supply, dats y now so little MS...Well, told myself i tried liao lor...now still taking my fenugreek..

When can we let our bb sit in these carriers?

crystal,
hehe..tks ger...If onli we can organise a gathering when all our bbs are slightly bigger, then can carry each other bbs...so nice..=).

aprilmum,
my ger drinks abt 120ml every 3hrs if FM, if EBM will be every 2hrs....

ur MS not bad lor..ur hard work pays off..

Fennie
maybe yr bb not taking the hindmilk that is rich in fats therefore not putting weight...

Just come back from PD, bb put on too much weight liao... doc say jus give around 60ml can liao... cos now baby drinking about 80 to 90ml and i think from week 1 till now ard 28days, baby put on ard 800g...

Doc say to reduce milk intake... Told my MIL not to give baby water she dun believe now doc say dun feed baby water... she now diam diam and can tell mi today she dare not give bb drink too much water.. 'kaoz' dun admit she give baby drink too much water...

Now i have to monitor baby if got fever a not, doc say scared bb coming down with some kind of infection... cos phlegm and doc ask to use nose drip to clear baby nose... haiz....

<font color="aa00aa">Priscilla, can i know why cannot feed baby with water? I just started given my ger water today leh coz i saw her skin bit like dehydrated.</font>

felicia
Doc say BM 70-80% is made up of water liao... so no need to feed baby water...think if on FM have to feed baby some bah.. scared too heaty.....

Felicia,

Can give a bit of water but not too much. Best give BM. Got nutrients and calories. If gives too much water, baby's tummy will be too full to take milk.

Priscilla,

Dr Lim actually said your baby is over-weight? My boy is now also taking 90 ml too for every 3 hrs. He is 2 weeks old and have gain almost 200g. Hope my boy is not gaining too much weight.

sarahteddy
Mi gal over all gain 1kg liao in less than 1 mth
not too sure if really overweight a not.. but he say to reduce to 60ml.. tried jus now but baby cannot drink 60ml lor... think have to slowly reduce lor...

Fennie,

before you feed your baby, have you ensure that your baby's tongue is down? If the bottle nipple is above the tongue, baby cannot drink the milk and it will flow out of his mouth.

Some babies need to be burped a few times in one feeding, so that they can take the milk better.

For FM fed Babies, there is a high tendency that they will spit out a bit of milk. Saw a few babies in the nursery actually spit some milk out even being burped by the nurses. WHen I looked at their feeding records, they are fed FM. FM is not that easily digestable as compared to BM, so it is crucial to burp babies more.

BonJovi,
Heard from My PD bb on TBF will take up to 2mths or so to clear their jaundice due to our hormones. If partial will take about 1mth. If none can be less than 1mth. My gal clear her jaundice about 3weeks plus cos I was partial BF. Dont worry Just monitor ur bb okie

Hi Felicia, my gerl had jaundice too.Its common lor..
1st check was 249, next day test again 237, nd to go again then came down to 214 ,everiday oso kana poke at te tiny feet...but wat to do hv to do the test..te reading depends on how many days the bb is born.. i tink total i went poly for abt 5 days..finaly it came down to 84..as long as its goin down after the 10th day..shld be ok..below 100 no nd to go for check agn.
Jaundice usuali peak at the 7-10 days..if it is reducing then no worries.. hv asked doctor on bfdg when bb has jaundice..she said absolutely ok to bfd cos BM digest fast and will flush out the jaundice fast too..jus tat durin tis jaundice period try to avoid ginger..bfdg will not worsen jaundice it will jus prolong oni..
eventualli will still go away..no wories..

bonjovi/sarahteddy

Can check with you if you are going back to dr lim for baby vaccination???

How much do they charge for 6 in 1???

I not too sure if wanna go back to them or go Poly

Pris
How ur bb phlegm n flu?
Mine still not ok and can feel a lot of mucus is stuck at the back of the throat. She have postponed her Hepb jab and I think I have to postponed it again. Seems like the nose drop and the phlegm solution is not helping much...
:-(

Priscilla,

don't think i want to take the vaccination package from Kinder Clinic. Compared the price to the GP where my gal had hers, i need to fork out additional of $260, and that does not include consultation fee.

I will go back to GP again.

feifei,
thanks for the information.. i have slowly decreasing the ridwind.. jus put 1 or 2 drops instead of 0.5ml.. i will call kid's clinic to check again..

Diaper on promo at NTUC - MP/NTUC/Pet Pet worth to check it out. Johnson wet wipe 3 for $10.50 w/free hooded towel. Pigeon wipe only the one in box is on offer @ $5+
Pampers on promo at Gaint @ $54+ for 2 boxes

Fennie
U may want to test diff type of teat also.
I tried nuk &amp; milk flow out from side of the mouth &amp; bb seem to be choking abit. Now on pigeon &amp; the flow is alrite for her.

Felica
If on BM then i suppose there is not a need to feed water. FM tends to be heaty so feed abit of water. My parent &amp; those older gen always tell me to feed water but i remember reading an article tat plain water is infact not so gd for infant.

Pris
I m also trying to reduce my bb BM intake. BB is 23day old tend to be satisfy after taking 130ml but i realise if given tat amt she tends to be cranky over the stomach wind &amp; will puke quite often. I reduce to 110ml now &amp; its works alrite. Will make noise cause not enough but give pacifier to suckle for awhile &amp; she wil b okie.

soyabean
Ya lor.. its the breast tat is giving diff supply, i still tot its the pump.... keke

star
Baby still having phlegm, can hear baby making lots of noise while sleeping... Flu like no more liao but nose bit block.. got to continue with the medi for nasal congestion.

Doc scared that bb coming down with some kind of infection so ask mi to monitor if bb got fever a not.. if there is got to call and inform them...

Sarahteddy
their charges a bit on the high side lor.. yesterday, consultation fees already 60 bucks lor and baby got slight nappy rash and the cream cost only 12 lor... damn ex...

Hi Priscilla,

though kinder clinic is expensive but if you go to their Mt A Clinic in the morning, you will be greeted by a big crowd. Quite a number of the parents is waiting for Dr TT. The Mt A clinic used to be smaller but they shifted to 6th floor and have a bigger clinic. Still some parents have to wait outside and there is a long sofa placed along the corridor.

I will go back to GP for 6-in-i. Cheaper and more convenient.

sarahteddy
so early wake up liao.. my place raining heavily and wake up to pump milk lor...

I do agree with you that gp is cheaper and more convenient.. I hve yet to call poly clinic to ask for their pricing cos mine downstairs only... thinking of going there cos can save more lor....

Hi star
My boy also blocked nose... But I am trying not to bring him to the doc cos I hope not to intro medication to him so young... but he is cranky at night lor... have to tahan... I will watch for fever as you have mentioned.

hi pris/sarahteddy
I called Polyclinic, they charge $326.10 for the 6-in-1 jab package, which includes 4 jabs and 2 physical development assessment.

The GP I normally go to for my #1 is charging $110 per jab. So the diff is about $100. I thinking if shld go Polyclinic but scare the queue. Nurse says 3rd month and 18th month must see doc so must queue.

cynthia, thanks for the info. i will go for blood test again next week and decide how. i am ok with his having jaundice only worry about it getting too high n now knowing how to monitor him at home. glad to know some bb takes 2 mths to clear. another option for me is to try fm and bm since my supply has been getting lower too. not sure if it is due to my feeling stress.

priscilla, i wld be going to the polyclinic for the vacinations. went last fri but they can;t do it on bb cos he has jaundice.

Linda, vacination by polyclinic is by appointment after the 1st visit. so maybe waiting time need not be too long. ( me guessing only). Also, bb has priority queue. it took me an hr total for seeing nurse, dr and blood test during my last visit with bb.
will be taking 5 in 1 instead as recommended by cousin.

linda
my gerl has nose blocked too but i bought the Nuby Nasal &amp; nose pump....
now she sleep peacefully....try not to on aircon dfor awhile...she sleep wif aircon on the day one...so now use fan only till she's ok.

cynthia, thanks for the info. i will go for blood test again next week and decide how. i am ok with his having jaundice only worry about it getting too high n now knowing how to monitor him at home. glad to know some bb takes 2 mths to clear. another option for me is to try fm and bm since my supply has been getting lower too. not sure if it is due to my feeling stress.

priscilla, i wld be going to the polyclinic for the vacinations. went last fri but they can;t do it on bb cos he has jaundice.

Linda, vacination by polyclinic is by appointment after the 1st visit. so maybe waiting time need not be too long. ( me guessing only). Also, bb has priority queue. it took me an hr total for seeing nurse, dr and blood test during my last visit with bb.
will be taking 5 in 1 instead as recommended by cousin.

Mornin Mumz...baby wif flu usualli will end up wif phelgm cos te mucus flow back to te throat...
Danryan is rite..no aircon lor..will make it worst if ON aircon..
medications for bbs are very mild so it will take longer time for bb to get totalli well again..
No worries .they will be fine as long as they do not hv fever over a period of time ,shld be fine ..

morning...

crystal...
tgif no diff to me... cos now still confinement. haha... but this sun is baby shower... after that, my life will be in a daze cos we'll be getting new maid, moving house end of the mth... packing stuff... renovating the new house... i do hope these will not affect my expressing and my MS... but well, i will try my best. if hv to supplement, oso no choice liao...

feifei...
how much MS do u hv now? anyway, jus rembr, little BM is better than no BM.
ur bb still benefiting.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
sure, we can look @ organising one when all the babies r older, think couple of mths back we did spoke abt having a gathering somewhere in Aug or so when all of us ve cleared confinement, with the bbs.

felicia,
cos bbs below 6mths their lungs &amp; kidneys ve not fully develop to wk @ 100% capacity, hence drinking anything more than 60ml of water per day will cause bb's brains to "drown" n also bb's body cannot expel the excessive water fast enf.</font>

soya
Hi 5!!!! Mi also this sunday baby shower...

Hopefully still have time to EBM out for baby cos will be doing it at chalet and lots of guest estimated 100 plus pax...

Lucky not doing it at home else will clean like mad....

pris...
wow... at chalet... very happening...
actuali hb and i dun even intend to hv one... but MIL insisted... so ok lor, we'll do it, but not at our place, but at her house... :p and i didnt invite a single fren of mine... oni close relatives...