(2008/06) June 2008

Felicia, Ellysia:

Ok. Got it. If water bag breaks, its red alert and i shouldn't delay at home..

But if its only contractions and bleeding still can wait a while..

Ellysia: thanks for the explanation on contractions. So i jus rem 2 things, it won't go away no matter which position i change to and it hurts..

Fennie: Why you have to use bed pan after delivery? Is it a must? Thot after labour should be ok to go toilet le..

Fennie, if you cannot feel a thing, how wld u know u wanted to pee?

I'm just imagining even if we in the delivery ward w/o epi but got those monitoring things stick to us, we can just plug out and go toilet right?

just to share...my gynae made a silly joke today when i was there for a visit this morning.

he asks my hb to grow his hair longer so that when im in labour it will come in "useful"... haha i laugh so loudly that i can almost hear my jaws crack!...my hb initially abit blur...catch no ball till i explain to him...silly him

mylittleprince,that's what I intend to do.. haha! remove it! Of course, the nurses will be upset with you lah... just have to bear with it.

Morraine: Haahaa.. you very funny.. =P

Cactus: i didn't know got such thing as labour ward tour eh.. think i call TMC n ask.. they won't scold me hor..

Angel, no lah! I'm sure they won't scold you.

Angel, got this from TMC website.

"Hospital Tours
To familiarise yourself with our services and facilities before your delivery, you may wish to join our hospital tours conducted daily at 11am and 2pm, except on Sundays and Public Holidays.

The itinerary includes visits to the labour wards, rooms, nursery, Thomson ParentCraft and Patient Service Centre. Do sign-up at the Information Desk or call 6250 2222. "

angel...
ive been experiencing this pain for quite sometime liao...used to it just wanna complain here lol...gynae says its normal...sigh

shycloud: i dun understand why must hb grow long hair? for you to pull when you in pain is it?

sorry ah.. me blur blur...

Cactus, thanks for the info. Will get hubby to go with me for the tour.. REali got such thing eh.. so interesting.. heehee..

<font color="ff6000">angel z

ha ha ya la!! longer hair den can pull easily! lol

i better ask my hubby to start growing coz he jus cut his hair over the weekends!! so now start growing jus nice! *lol*</font>

angel...
yes...supposed to come in handy and let me "pull" when in pain..haha cos hb's hair quite short now...so gynae make this silly joke...crappy fella...

Morraine, shycloud: Haahaa.. Icic.. tink pull the shirt and hands more likely ba.. cos more accessible and easier to reach.. heehee..

Shycloud: your gynae crappy eh.. haahaa...

Hey gals... as far as i know TMC and Mt A got hospital tours.

During one of my Mt A ante-natal class lesson, we were brought up into one of the delivery suite. I was expecting to hear some screamings. but thank god didn't hear any. haha... But it's good to visit once. at least more familiar when the D-day comes!

Oh... Another qn (sorry.. so many qns)

I was reading thru the list of stuff to bring in the hospital bag (which was posted in our yahoo hoterhood group). And i saw that need to bring 1 big n 1 small towel. Big 1 for shower and small 1 for cleaning of breast.

Need ah?

<font color="ff6000">angel z

im not bringing any towel myself coz GlenE gives one toiletry bag with one small face towel inside already and the big towel are available easily too

Morraine: TMC website jus put there sanitary towels (optional for us to bring).. Guess i will jus bring in case loh..

Bye Cactus

angel z,
i use epi, thats y after delivery,legs nump, therefore cannot get off bed to toilet

mylittleprince,
only the legs nump, thats y cannot get off bed to go to toilet,can feel that i need to pee

angel,

TMC has hospital tour. i ored went to TMC for hosp tour few mths ago. they will also provide the ward $$ list during the tour.

for the contractions, do time yourself when do each contraction last. 5mins gap is red alert too.

i pack 1 small towel in my hosp bag. i didn't bring big towel cos dun intend to bathe. if bathe i also use non-rinse shampoo and lotion, try not to touch water.

i see.. so u r more experienced than us.. btw.. may i noe wat does gleneagles provides.. i oso opt for gleneagles.. missed the hospital tour last 2 week so dunno wat they provide.. ha ha...

<font color="ff6000">erm if my memory did not fail on me la.. coz i delivered my #1 in 2005..

they give one toiletry bag for us (inside have shampoo, body wash, toothbrush, comb &amp; face towel) &amp; baby bag (inside have those free gifts from sponsorer) &amp; pampers &amp; free bottles of milk u chosen &amp; baby wipes.. tats about it but i heard now they give oso one bb t shirt oso..</font>

oooh... then think i dont bring toiletry since they provide.. will jux bring pads, nursing gown, bra..heee....

<font color="ff6000">ya ya and if u dun mind using theirs la.. for me i dun mind using but i wanna use my own shampoo and conditioner ha ha..

rem to bring ur disposable panties!</font>

ooh ya... disposable panties... ;p i dun mind using but will use my own cleanser..etc... oh ya.. i hv been trying to figure out how to use the loop lad.. will the nurse teach?

<font color="ff6000">they will wear for us once we have delivered inside the delivery suite before we are being pushed to our ward and they wil wipe us oso slightly..

after tat time i used their pads.. subsequently i use my own pads already..</font>

if cant bathe or touch water, how to clean e btm area after birth leh?? wil be super messy when pee or change pad mah.

mrswrx,
have to clean bottom to keep it clean and dry, then apply spirit to heal the wound, stitches.

in fact, what my hb come up with an explanation y in ancient days, women not allowed to bath, i think it is back in china then when weather is cold, and no water heater, thats y the tradition, you can buy chinese herbs from medical hall specially for confinement to boil n bath

fennie,
wil buy tat. then everytime go toilet can use normal water to clean? since e herbs onli use when at hme bathin mah.

mrswrx,
yes, just make sure you use clean water to clean everytime you go toilet, then pat dry, and apply the spirit your hospital give you, it will heal very fast

fennie,
ooook... me long winded. in case hospital no give spirit, use water can already hor? i cant imagine how dirty n sticky n smelly it can be. eeeeeeeeeee.........

mrswrx,
i am leaving office soon, there's a JL sale at Marina SQ for Robinson members, going to see if anything to get for bb, still short of some things, tty tmr, have a nice evening

My girl MC at home, so me no work, free to post.
The DAY is getting nearer yes? Packed all the bags already?

mrswrx
The spirit is VERY good. I got another bottle from Guardian cos I finished the hospital one within days. Used it everytime i visit the loo and washed my pte area. I also try to "air" my bottom each time after i wash too. Somehow, putting a pad on a wet and sticky area doesnt appeal to me. :p Can use square cotton pads to pad it on.

My SIL's MIL didnt allow her to touch much water during her first birth and she develop a nasty infection down under. *OUCH*

Towel, sanitary towels, toiletries - Mt E provides that. Unless you prefer your own lor. They also give a goodie bag in a diaper bag when you discharge include a " I am a Mt E baby" shirt for baby and some samples.
Gleneagles last gave a very nice haversack style diaper pack.
I wonder of Mt E changed their design since 2004 though.

Fennie
Epidural case, they dont insert the urine catheter for you? My case they did. I didnt even know I pass urine into the bag lor.

May I suggest that you try to drink 2 botts of chicken essence before you go hospital to give yourselves the extra boost? Some older folks even suggest eating a meal but not too good in case emergency c-section.

Fennie: didn't know that epi will last so long.. must use the urine bag after delivery? can try other ways, e.g. husband can't accompany you to the toiley?

Ellysia: so immediately after you give birth, you dun intend to touch water at all?

Actually when can we reali bath with water? I mean normal bath without use of herbs too.

And if i'm going to get a CL, will she get the chinese herbs for me or should i get myself? Cos i dun know how to buy? Jus go to chinese med hall and tell the person that i wan chinese herbs for confinement can aledi, is it?