(2008/06) June 2008

cactus

yah my mum told me will not faint, the IV will prevent tat.

cos i had fainting spells before, so scared of tat feeling.

my mum said most impt is i must have confidence in gynae.. then will have courage to deliver.

cactus,

Then the smell comes from Morraine, Ellysia and you. haha....

Actually i just go to washroom for a while only and when back the posts was like dont know gone where. Tats why Morraine was not able to catch up when i said i smell someting from her side.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia

urine bag is must attached dunno wat thing to ur urinal tract there leh.. very painful one i supposed.. urine pan is placed under u la so u stil lie down to urine, dun need to get off bed

wahahah anyway the bb is soaked oso when he or she is out so no diff if its due to our urine or watever lor wahahahah

felicia

wahahahah i tot wat smell!!! soon u wil see mushrooms cultivating too!!!</font>

Was reading thru all the threads..

So this means that we dun need to do exactly what the nurses tell us to do, is it?

As long as we are not comfortable with it, e.g. using bed pan, we can refuse and insist on going to toilet?

Cos i dun think im comfortable with using bed pan too.. so embarrassing..

Felicia:

Morraine: I think you're referring to the cathether. It hurts. But usulaly it is only put in after epidural has taken effect.

Angel: We need to decide for ourselves what is for the nurses' convenience and what is for our safety. Once we decide not to listen to them, we need to take full responsibility for whatever happens to us. Best is we need to just read up more, speak to more pple, then decide for ourselves. Of course make sure our hbs agree with us.

<font color="ff6000">angel z

it depends though.. if u are on drip den chances of them allowing u to go to the toilet wil be super low, coz its troublesome and if u are on epi, u wil not be able to support urself well? so its risky..</font>

Ellysia
After reading your comments maybe based on all that you head abt Govt hospital. I agree if you want to have better exclusive SERVICE (eg. Queue, friendly nurse) in KKH, u hv to pay more. But I do not agree if you want to have better FACILITIES, u need to pay more. Really, today i get immediate attention at the Fetal Assessment unit and the top Prof in KKH for all my scans cos my complication requires these attention. I didnt have to wait more than 15mins each time i arrive. Yet i pay subsidy. So in terms of treatment n care, money doesnt really speak cos life is at stake. Just my experience to share. So Cactus was emphasizing the facilities n emergency tat govt had. In fact, my own TMC gynae swear that she feel comfortable nw that i am in KKH cos those old medical team were once training her. So she say they knw their stuffs well.

<font color="ff6000">cactus

yeap! but even no epi is enforced, we will be on ctg so guess its not wise to opt to move out of the bed, the nurses wil curse and swear! *lol*</font>

Cactus, Morraine:

But this is my 1st time preg so i better not be so rebellious, right? Cos there are many things that i dun know..

But if there is no complication, we shouldn't be on drip, right?

TF just said in a nutshell what I was trying to say.. haha! Well done!Couldn't have done it better. Yes... KKH has top notch facilities and the top brains. KKH spends alot of $ on research &amp; training. They conduct teaching sessions for other O&amp;G doctors. And if it is a complicated pregnancy/case, or emergency, it's probably the safest place to go to. ALthough I must qualify, for diagnostic issues, Camden Medical Centre may be better or just as good. but delivery, KKH is the safest place to be in. Both for bb and mommy. If have $, then pay for the frills like deluxe suite at KKH and TPS. If not willing to spend high amounts of $, rest assured care will still be given to complicated cases. And it will be good integrated care, unlike in a private practice, where even the hospital and the O&amp;G doctor may not have mo4 qi4.. not to mention the PD and the anasethetist and all thesupport staff in event of emerg.

morraine,

wah in this case i also prefer pan than bag liao.. piang. dun want bag.

TF,

Yr case is special.. tink they have to pay more attention for yr case. or bec of connection cos i tink one forummer help u rite.

my tat colleague also have a complication case, she pay subsidy but her treatment dun tink as good as yours.

actually i am quite surprise cos i tot if got complications shd have better treatment.

Another question: when our water bag broke and we are summoned to the hospital by the gynae. We will go straight to the labour ward? Or go into normal ward first?

I dont think i'm able to pee if using bed pan. I saw my mom used it before when she was hospitalised due to cancer. And she was shouting pain when the pan is putting under her. Tats why bit probia on tat.

I was thinking if they dont allow us to use toilet then can we use adult diaper? Dont laugh at me for this , ok?! I'm just trying to use my imagination to think of oth alternatives. But not sure if able to pee in it or not.

cactus

at least yr hb is brave enuff!

i tink my hb hard to say, maybe he will keep silent le. sometimes he dun speak up one, esp if things he is not sure of.

angel,

I am told by my gynae tat if waterbag broke and her clinic is open, i go to her clinic. if her clinic is close, i go straight to A&amp;E. A&amp;E will assess and if ready for labour, will be straight to labour ward.

Angel, depends on how dilated you are and how your labour may progfress. when you go to hospital, you willbe checked by a midwife/resident doctor. and told where to go.

Cactus: Thanks for the clarification. With the plug head in our hand, not pain meh? I got super low threshold for pain..

Angel, only pain for a minute or 2. when they put in the plastic tube into the vein, then a couple more seconds for the pain to fade away. I'm quite fair skinned. when they put the plug in my arm, my skin was red from pain for a minute...

angel and cactus,

i can imagine how painful the IV plug is bec' previously when i go checkup for my eye at SNEC, they always inject a tube and paste the tube over my arm for 30min to 1 hour (can only remove after i see consultant), it is v painful throughout.

Ellysia: OH! is it? water bag broke liao still go to her clinic ah? then when really going to give birth soon, how are you going to travel from clinic to hospital?

Or the location of your gynae is aledi in hospital?

My gyane only said jus call him if i have any signs of labour.

Cactus: So if i'm not so dilated and i'm told to go to nomral ward 1st.. I should have more freedom to do things inside there, right? Things like go toilet and eat snacks..

Ellysia: Ouch! That sounds painful.. Think i read you mention b4 that your threshold for pain oso very low.. mine too.. think we sama sama..

Goodness.. now thinking of it, the moment we admit into hospital is pain from beginning till the end man.. *faint*

<font color="ff6000">cactus

cool couple! ha ha

felicia

cannot la.. adult diaper when u are going to deliver!! anyway bed pan how come painful? onli placed below u wor..

aiyo den ur hospital bills will be very ex coz of the extra misc charges of diaper for u!! haha</font>

Felicia, OIC! Sorry for not understanding! I think it might be do-able.. but will be tricky cos need to get the diaper on and off. also, if you are strapped with the CTG monitoring thing, not sure if it will get the way of your diaper.

Ellysia
No, mine was complicated due to my age (over 35) n bb's heart. So in itself, there aren't many cardio specialist around. So imagine if i'm in TMC, i have to travel betwn 2 pte hospital, TMC n Mt E, one for gynae n one for heart. In KKH, the heart center or anythg u name it is all there n the old professors are all there, including the cardio pediatrician (the cardio ped. doc (Mt.E one) on standby even b4 baby born). Tat y they will come to knw u if u got complicated case, even b4 u knw them. The forumer only help me to do my referral quicker w/o queuing at Poly lah.

Cactus
BTW, wat actually hapen when they announce code red.. ward XX.. over the speaker? Always get to hear that when i go for my scan. Someone emergency? Doctors n specialist must gather?

angel,
I think Dr Ang will try to evaluate our signs 1st thru phone call before he decided where we shld go.
Coz i remember there's once when i'm in his clinic, there's a lady cames in and told the admin tat Dr Ang asked her to come down to clinic as she had some bleeding, might due to sign of labour. So maybe he want to check her dilation before he decide whether need tat lady go to hosp or not.

Cactus: Ok.. Then hopefully i go my normal ward 1st then.. think it will be very scary if the 1st thing i go to is the labour ward and see other mummies trying to give birth.. If go normal ward 1st, at least i can go there to prepare myself mentally...

TF, I dun know about code red. I only know code green is crash c-section which is a mega big thing. But yet, if there is a code announced, then certain pple have to get their act together. If it is not an emerg, the nurses will call the respective doctors on their hps.

Felicia:

Ya.. Once when i was waiting for my appt, i oso saw one mother going to give birth soon cos she is bleeding and dr ang asked her to lie down in the other room first (the room where we take our weight).

But what i'm concerned is then if i report to dr ang at his clinic then how i travel to TMC? Still got strength to walk to car and go hospital meh? Actually i'm oso not sure what will happen after water bag breaks? Immediately contraction will start?

morraine,

I tot the bed pan is those stainless steel pot with some thickness about 5-6cm?? is it? I dont know, coz i nvr try but i saw my mom was shouting for pain when she used it, maybe her case is diff coz her bum oredy in pain.

I'll be bringing my own adult diaper. hahaha.... just joking lah.
But frankly speaking, if the environment is uncomfy, i'm not able to release leh.

Morraine:

Is it? I always got this pic in my mind tat labour ward is one big room where all the mummies are inside and we can all see one another.. Heehee..

Hear ppl scream oso quite scary, right? Hopefully i won't scream too loud n scare other mummies..

Angel, in 10% of the cases, waterbag was rupture BEFORE contractions start. only in other cases, waterbag will rupture during contractions or need to be manually ruptured after admission to hospital. Once ruptured, contractions will etiher start (if not started yet) or become more severe. Cos bb's head loses the cushioning and will start to push down even more.

Angel, in labour ward, all mothers are in different rooms. separate rooms. have you gone for the labour ward tour yet? If not, you may want to go soon.. just to be mentally prepared.

<font color="ff6000">felicia

yeah u are rite on the bed pan.. erm i supposed they dun bother oso even if u urine coz i recalled when they broke my water bag oso leaking like mad they oso like this.. jus change onli and wipe the floor lor.. lol

angel z

ha ha no la!! its too drama rama!! den the hubbies wil get to have a bird's eye view of every other patient meh!! ha ha ha</font>

aiyo...u gals really chat alot haha...trying hard to keep up with the posts...

gosh im in pain now...left upper tummy...my skin is numb liao!!!

Cactus, so that means most of us would have our waterbags rupture during contractions loh (90%)..

So i have to look out for contractions 1st, right? By the way, real contractions will be painful, right? Cos right now the Braxton hicks contractions that we are experiencing are not painful.. Jus uncomfortable.. So the real ones should be painful, is it? I scare i can't differentiate between the real ones and braxton hicks..

angel,

my gynae clinic is at TMC itself. if yr gynae clinic is at different location, do check with yr gynae directly.

if u are not ready for labour, then they will ask u to go home one..
i tink once dilated have to go labour ward liao. unless labour ward no vacant room, then put at ward first.

Cactus: i can request for labour ward tour? How?

Morraine: oops!! ya hor.. then all hubbies can see other people too.. not very nice.. heehee.. didn't think of that..

Shycloud: You ok? Hopefully its not serious..

angel,

In my opinion, if water bag burst, most probably Dr Ang wont ask us go down his clinic, coz i know if din monitor closely after water bag burst, might get infections. Am i right,ladies?

angel,

my gynae explained the following:-

1) Contractions - real labour contractions, tummy will tighten for a short while then release, then tighten again. after u lie down, u still feel uncomfortable and contractions won't go away. and pain. tat is most likely real contractions.

2) Water bag burst - water will flow for some time. it will wet pants and if u put pad, u notice water flow out to the pad. It shd be colourless. Some colleague told me is a feeling of urine but from virginal area.

3) Blood/pinkish discharge (show)

Any of the above 3 happen are signs of labour. Item 1 and 3, u can delay at home. But if waterbag burst must ASAP go straight, dun delay.

mylittleprince,
i was awkward when i had to use bedpan after my delivery, as I still couldnt feel a thing when they moved me to the single room, very paiseh that the nurse have to wait at my bed for me to urine, then clean me

<font color="ff6000">angel z

ha ha ha cannot la.. den the mummies wil be screaming to protest and not for level of pain! ha ha ha

mylittleprince

i doubt so coz u wil be strapped with CTG</font>

Tyli,

I tink if we appear at TMC but is false alarm, if we stay in ward we may be charge but if didnt stay in, maybe a minor charge like admin charge or someting. We can get MC from gynae in such case to cover our absence at work.