(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff6000">ellysia

erm im not sure on the danger oso but its like the baby wil eat their poo? but once the doc identify the bb have poo den they wil ask for c sect which happened to my gfren</font>

morraine,

oic.. i heard tat my hb's bro when born, he ate the poo and my MIL say not v good. but dunno why not good.

For this reason, if your waterbag burst outside hospital, your doctor/nurse will definately ask you if the leaking liquid is clear or have odd smell or if it's coloured.

ellysia,
i think mrs wong mentioned b4..if bb eat the poo it will cause respiratory problems..dat's y need to take bb out asap..

<font color="ff6000">yeah yeah so if u are induced and when ur gynae is the one who break ur waterbag for u.. he wil check on this factor first</font>

cactus,

No worry, since i'm posting this out, means i'm willing to take any comments, no matter is good or bad. And i think this is a good place for us to discuss and give opinion so tat we can think better.

For me, i had bad experience with c-sec, tats why i had been sticking to my vbac plan though they're lot of ppl around me dont encourage me at all. Even my mil is asking me go to c-sec to avoid any complications. But i still go for it. Just tat when i heard such issue, i'll need time to think and evaluate. I dont wish to make any haste decision w/o think carefully.

So, most probably now i only need to know my gynae confidence level for my vbac plan and oso emergency c-sec if needed. I even told hubby my decision in case of any urgent decision is needed during my labour.

cactus,

ministers even if govt hosp will be treat better bec' they dun have to queue with us commoners and they probably get better treatment so they will get the best facilities with best staff. commoners like us who go in, is hard to say.

If want to get better facilities at KKH maybe better pay more. cos i believe different grades at KKH will probably have difference experience.

One thing abt govt hosp is tat trainee docs are often send to govt hosp first, and i understand tat trainee docs may be assign to patients at C ward for example cos they cannot choose their gynae. Then cos of the bulk of patients, the staff tend to more busy and no time to pay more attention to those who need it.

I still heard many bad experiences at KKH..
My colleague told me her experience at KKH quite bad, the sonographer not v experience and they give wrong report to her..gynae sewing stitches not as nice etc..she has experience in TMC and overall she feel TMC is better.

Felicia,

I can understand, i also feel c-sect is scary le.
I tink most of us will prefer to experience natural if possible.

cactus,

Hmm i tink delivery ward at TMC also dun allow walking around le.

I once tot of sneaking in food to eat too, but my mum told me strictly to follow advice and not eat bec she seen one patient cannot wake up after c-sec cos eat before c-sect.. or someting like tat..quite scary.

Ellysia, dun worry lah. can eat but remmeber can only drink clear fluids and easy to digest food. cannot wake up after c-section is prob the anaesthetist[ fault.

as for walking around, the nurses are just too lazy or busy to track us lah.. that's why refuse to let us walk around. it doesn't mean cannot walk cos it's bad for bb and us. actually, it's beneficial to walk around and not be stuck to the bed during labour.

cactus,

yup foreign trained docs can go govt or pte hosp.

I understand from my hb's doc fren, many foreign docs are send to govt hosp, but they accept those from india etc and who cannot write legible reports and always give funny prescriptions etc. the standard of foreign docs at govt hosp can be worst off than pte hosp from wat i understand..

my hb has 3-4 doc frens, btw. so everytime i join their makan session, got a lot of such debates.

there is new advice, I think it is WHO advice, that labouring mothers should have food and drink during prolonged labour because our uterus is a muscle and muscle needs glucose to work effectively. if uterus has no glucose, cannot contract well, contractions may not help bb descend. Just a thought you may want to have.

Ellysia, those foreign doctors at govt hospitals are not consultants and above.
No fear no fear. If you are paying class patient/private patient, you can request for a consultant of your choice. no fear that you will be seen by those foreign doctors. :p

cactus,

my mum keep scold me when i say i want to sneak food.. ask me to listen to medical staff advice lol..

i see how lor.. dun tink i will sneak in food. will ask medical staff and i tink if labour is too long, sometimes they may allow some light food.

cactus,
ya, agree with you tat we really need our hubby's support and understanding for our needs. Tats why i told my hubby, he shall be my spokesman during my labour time as i just want to concentrate on my labour process and not to ask me to think (or make decision) , as i dont think i'll be able to think wisely during tat time.

SO, both of us has to had the same agreement in case of anything happen and he can speak on behalf of me.

Ellysia,
Hopefully all of us can had a smooth natural delivery!

cactus,

i pay for a senior consultant at SNEC but was assigned to a foreign doc before! LOL of course i pay less for tat visit. but frankly speaking, i dun feel safe letting the foreign doc check bec' he seem so inexperience! He check my eye so long.. piang and the light shine too long until i feel so uncomfortable. But cos i dun want to make another trip and SNEC dun have so many senior around and plus senior always wait so long.

tats why i say if go govt hor, must pay more or else get less treatment i guess.

cactus,

bored at work then debate with me lor!! Heeee!

I will ask my gynae or nurse for food if long labour. Wont' want to run the risk to eat secretly then any implications.

cactus and felicia,

wat can our hb say during our labour?

i scared my hb too block head dunno can be my spokesperson or not. everytime i must tell him v clearly wat i want then he will help me say one.

my uncle saw a Dr Ang at SNEC for his eye prob. very good, he said. senior consultant.

my grandma saw a female doctor at TTSH.. my mom scolded her loh.. she felt SNEC is better.

actually of all the govt hospitals, SNEC is best. But I udnerstand gleneagles and Mt E have good eye doctors too.

i was reading some pregnancy book and realised thre's few method of birthing. I remember there's 3 types. One is squatting, another is bend down with ur hand on the floor. And the most common one is lying on the bed with leg open up.

Not sure if we are allow to try oth birthing position if we had prolonged labour?

cactus,

i tink u have gotten better treatment cos of yr hb. And previously in KKH is private suite so different.

tats why i prefer to keep my fingers cross when it come to comments on hospitals.
Actually even when i heard bad stories abt KKH, i still dun tink its tat bad.

Last time we got colleague go KKH for delivery (her hb is rich and she is an executive so nothing to do with cost), other colleagues keep saying why she go KKH lah.. why not pte is better lah etc etc.

i tink i rather reserve my comments lor.. maybe tat colleague like KKH mah. Maybe she prefer certain gynae and she attached to KKH lor.

Actually, i tink most impt factor is gynae, much more impt than the hospital. wat do u tink.

cactus,

yr hospital delivery ward is how far to the toilet?

I didn't see any toilet near the delivery ward at TMC. if want to go toilet and not use bed pan, how if toilet is v far??

<font color="ff6000">i tot every delivery ward wil have a toilet attached?

cactus

i had epi tat time but i was stil able to move about coz i opted for minimal dosage</font>

ioio,

OH i explain before in past mths posting, cos last year my right eye macula area crack and bleed, i can't see well, have to do minor op which is drug injection in the eye. I had to do it twice as it recur again after 4 mths.

No reason why the area crack but doc say its more common for people with high power.. i had 1300 degree each eyes.. scary hor. the eye aged faster for people with higher degree, such prob occur for old folks but in my case it is earlier cos my eyes ored age faster due to higher degree.

cactus,

hopefully u have strength to walk to the toilet while contractions!

Before we give birth we be given a pill to insert to make all the waste come out right.. my colleague say cos all the pain come together with contractions hor, can't tell when the big biz is stopping and she accidentally dirtied the labour bedsheet, the nurse scold like anyting.. so pai say.

cactus

hospital bed quite uncomfortable dun u tink ..
i remember the bed at sonographer is so uncomfy, i lie down for 30min i had backache liao, buttock so pain. i doubt the delivery ward bed will be comfy.

<font face="Verdana\Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">ellysia.. tks for ur explanation.. me missed the posting i tink and thought it's due to pregnancy..hope ur eyes recover soon... </font>

ioio,

ored recovered but tink recently maybe recur liao. i still monitoring. but at the moment, even if it deterioate i cannot go for any checks or any op bec' it will affect bb.

morraine,

u still at home meh? why bored.

<font face="Verdana\Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">ellysia, yup i heard got to clear our bowel first, esp if taking epidural wont hv feeling at all and can jux pass motion without knowing beforehand... </font>.

but having said that, we patients do things at our own risk lah... need to balance out risk to our well being and patient autonomy.

cactus,

I dunno if i have the strength or not, hee. i had v low pain threshold, i hope i wont't scream too much wait nurses gossip abt me.

nurse have to follow doc policy mah. anyting happen to us they also dun want.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia

nope at work but no mood to work! *grin*

cactus

ya i agree tat we just have to do at our own risk lor</font>

<font color="ff6000">i recalled tat time when i was on epi already but i felt like i wanted to urine den they ask me to hook me on the urine bag but i refused! i said i dun wan! i want the urine pan den they say i sure cannot feel anything but i can lor!! and i indeed pee alot lor!!! </font>

ioio,

yup but i heard with or without epidural, also have to remove bowels first.

actually my colleague said bowel removal is before epidural but cos inject pill inside so won't have feeling.

morraine,

cos yr dosage not many tat time? but good tat u can still feel a bit.

if use urine bag means on the bed lah..pan u can go down to urine right.

morraine, you could pee cos prob your epi was min dosage.
most mothers cannot pee at all...!

Ellysia, yes. need to remove bowels. and we need to pee constantly. If not, bb hard to go down and labour will be longer. Also, if it is c-section, cannot have full bladder if not, harder to locate the uterus, and may cut wrongly.

cactus,

if we faint during labour due to pain, how is the staff able to save us??

I wanted to tell my gynae to save me if i fainted lor.. but i scared i tell her, she will laugh.

cactus and morraine,

if dun pee then jiat lat lah! wait push for bb, pee all come together then bb soak with pee, eeksss...

Ellysia, I dun think any mother has ever fainted before leh.. cos our bp is monitored and as long as there is enough fluids in us (whether through us drinking of IV line), we can never faint. Unless no oxygen caused by heart attack/asthma/whatever lah.