(2008/06) June 2008

TF
hopefully we can both achieve our plan. My fren just gave birth she say she was kept holding off the epi but she say she really could not take it anymore when she was 3cm dilated and asked for it. After 25 mins she was 7cm and another 25 mins she was fully dilated. So she say next time she will straight aways ask for epi.

Danryan
yours is 3rd pregnancy should be very fast leh. You experience liao haha

Re: IV plug
ya the IV plug quite painful, when I went for my surgery last time it really was very painful and can feel the needle inside my hand all the time and after took out still feel the after pain and my hand was swollen

ZuEn,
u mean u dun hv craving for fast food? for me, I hv lor..liked Carl's Juinior Burgers and fries recently cos not so salty =)..hee

Ellysia,
Ya, ya, it is me lah. No use de. I gets super conscious of the BP thing the moment I sees it. I can already feel my heart pumping when they strapped the thing on. I is lousy. ;p Even when I measure at home, the moment I get conscious of my BP, it will shoot.

cactus,
ya gynae did mentioned tat it's gonna be an avg bb...not too big nor small...his guess on the bb weight @ birth is ard 3kg...aiya but me small size leh 3kg sounds abit too much for me haha...cos im experiencing much pain in my left upper tummy and its making the skin ard it numb...

dun worry...ur bb will weigh ok...
anyway the weight is just an est. most impt...is being healthy...jia you!

Ellyisa,
once we go into the delivery suite where we wait for our dilation, already hv to insert e IV plug liao..cos in case we need to be on drip, its there lor..

ya lor, i also realised I eat alot this month..So ur bb's head is down already?

cactus,
Ya lor, the IV plug can only be plugged in for 3days, after that, will hv to remove and change new one...heng we all can go bk after 2nites...

veniz,
Do take care ya...

ND,
hi ya..wow, ur fren dilate really fast leh...I also tinking e moment i go in, if gynae ask me , i quicky opt for epi, dun wan to let myself suffer so much =D...

Feifei, your statement about ruyi oil has baby smell, hee, made me think of something when my son was only a few days old till the couple mths old.

I rem whenever I bathed my son with J&J Top to Toe, I wanted him to smell nice nice. But no matter how long I bathed him, or apply nice smelling powder on him, after 10 mins, he still had this bit of sweaty smelly smell. Then two months later, a relative told me that my son has a wonderful baby smell (those smell like babies just woke up from a night's sleep smell), and they claimed not all babies have this. Do any of you mums elder children have this 'baby smell' when they were young?

feifei,
I am a normal preggy mummy. Of course I love fast food, even way before preggy, hehe. But I try to stay off. Like wat Veinz says, I try to eat more proteins.. But very difficult during breakfast and lunch.. I try to take as little carbo during dinner as possible.
if I go fast food, I will request for fries without salt.. as if that helps. It is like ordering a Mac meal, upsize the meal, then order a diet coke to make onself feels better, healthier. Haha.
Me gg off le. Gg for lunch, run some errands, then go see bb le.

bizz,
my son also like the smell, he's 8yrs old, whenever he has wind, he wants me to apply for him.Can i ask if you know how much your mil got the herbs for?

anyone got the herbs from causeway point?heard its $1 per pack, but have not gone to check yet

cactus,
Okok, no worries, good to be mentally prepared.
I rem my worst experience with needle/injection was when I went for my wisdom tooth extraction and the injection was made into the top part (ceiling) of my mouth where there's no flesh, only bones/cartilage. The pain was so intense I almost died!

Shycloud,
Avg bb - so good! Mine at last visit (31 weeks) already slightly overweight, so now wait till next week to see how much weight gain, hope it's not too much.

Cactus,
I have a bad feeling when my gynae said bb will come early, she was referring to inducing before it gets too big. I hope I am wrong. Will clarify with her again on next visit cos I dun want to induce, if possible.

Tera, I understand your concern. If I were in your shoes, I won't want induction either... If your bb is truly very big compared to your size, maybe you can cut down on protein and carbs. I believe it will help slow down bb's growth. Just to share, some doctors like to induce cos they are more in control of the timing of the birth esp if they are planning a holiday. Also, from the books I've read, the differnet labouring positions a mother can assume can actually increase the size of her pelvic outlet.. and this will help a big bb move out with less problems. If you are induced, chances are you will be asking for an epidural. With epi, you cannot move around and will be in bed, limiting your freedom of movement.

ND... yes must jia you.

Cactus
Mrswrx says she also kena poke the 1st needle too thick (maybe for her vein) n the blood overflow. Then the nurse change to thinner one immediately again.. So thin vein also cannot lah cos there's a certain size of needle tat they can use until.

cactus,
u are so right! i happened to speak to a coll last night who went through 2 induced pregnancy and she told me epi is pretty much a must, also the labour tends to be rather long-drawn. :| then the nurse at the antenatal class also advised against inducing cos bbies tend to be sleepy and not latch on well for first day (i rem u had mentioned this before).

cos at my last visit, when doc told me bb no need to wait till 40th week, i forgot to ask her if she meant that bb will be induced. i only asked if natural birth is possible so the next time i will ask her. i also recalled that my fren who just delivered in feb, under the same gynae, had her bb induced cos it was getting too big.

fei fei, i think so lor. He sweated a lot, and since young (around 4 or 5 mth onwards) had this super attitude problem, such as when he didn't finish all his milk or puke out all cereal coz he did not like the taste, I scolded him, he will turn his head the other way, did not want to face me. Lucky now that stage is over (esp the smelly smell, hee).

Fennie, i think LS Lim is very biz this week as he also has to handle the patients of my gynae. He kept telling my sat I can see other docs (Dr Tracey Lim & Dr Quek), whom I think not many patients look for them coz the nurses there will recommend LS Lim most of the time.

Cactus,
At last visit which was my 31 weeks 2 days, my bb was around 1.8kg. Problem now is I cannot recall if it was 1.78 or 1.87..grrr.. cos if 1.87, it is really quite big, I think. :p

What is certain is that doc told me it is above avg and at the rate it's going, it's def going to hit more than 2kg when I am in my 33 weeks and def more than 3 kg when I hit my 40th week. My hubby is very big-size and has heavy bones. Plus I am not small size so I think bb will have tendency to be quite big. I already tried my best to control my diet in 2nd and 3rd trim plus exercise but seems like it's not much use.

Zu En,

at least yr mum dote on yr bro. My mum dote more on my younger bro lor. cos she always feel he need more attention and help as he is younger and more dependent and now also got depression.

sometimes she also complain to me her frustration then i can only listen.

Veniz,
oh no, then i think he will not spent too much time on the scan, in fact my appt was last sat, postponed to tomorrow cos hb cant make it, cant wait to see bb, so will just go, that means also waiting time will be longer this week

Tera,
how big is your bb at 31weeks?how come its overweight?

cactus,
I also heard if opt for epi too early, most likely hv to do emergency c-sec..but some mummies after taking epi, really helps them to relax and dilate faste wor..

Tera,

ya not much use one. me also try to eat less but also like that..bec me and hb also big bones lor. same same.

I asked gynae if pass due date then how, she said must induced if past due date and she usu dun let it past 1 week.. so i guess if pass due date a little i will ask gynae to induce liao, dun wanna wait too long bec' wait bb weight will be too big.

how come yrs is considered overweight? My bb is 1.9KG at 32.5 weeks but is normal weight.

roxy / zuen,
yeah, glad in a way tat bb gwen is growing n may cross the 2kg mark by the time she is borne.

roxy,
bb isaiah is definitely growing bigger than bb gwen...hmmmm...maybe i self comfort tat ger grow smaller than boy is ok? kekekee.....

zuen,
bb zuen will be strong n fine, dun wori too much abt the scan alrite? keep us posted after yur scan...my nose also had been blocked the last few days. dun reai feel so fell. think down wif slight cold.

elaine,
yur SILs reai buay zi dong but at least yur hb 'listen' to u, which is great. vent out here lar...my MIL also choked me up since last nite n till now i m still mad. she dun stay here but yd nite in front of my face, simply tell my FIL to do reno to my kitchen & master bedroom again after i deliver. I was like WTF! it is my hse, my kitchen, my BEDRM n u dare to interfer in w/o the basic decency n respect to ask me jus cos u think u r an elder?! i rejected her outright n know wat? she can still go tell my hb (her son) after i said no tat she is getting my FIL to do the reno wk. my blur hb who wasnt in the pic in the 1st place also blur blur jus replied yeah yeah....he kenna frm me the min we stepped out of my ILs' hse till tis am! Darn!!! i think my MIL has nothing to do n finding problems now....also ve the decency to suggest selling their hse n move over to my plc yd nite. i pretend i nvr hear tat!

i told hb liao, respect has to be earned. I've always respect his parents for the sake of them being his parents n they r elders. if they take everything for granted n push me beyond my limitations, i dun hesitate not to respect them as well. if one day i dun respect them, told my hb oreadi it is cos they dun deserve it anymore! anyway, my MIL ownself said, when she told my nephews she wan moved to their plc (my SIL's hse) to stay, the kids whom she had been feeding n looking after for 8 yrs, tell her NO! they dun welcome her @ their hm....wat a ironic joke!

cactus,

gynae suggest from week 36 should exercise, climb stairs, walk a lot etc so tat can avoid overdue.

i considering maybe i shd start taking coconut drink since next week is my 35th week liao.

cactus,
gynae induced me when my #1 refused to come out 9days after due date, and i rber i asked for epi immediately when i feel pain, after that i couldnt feel anything, and slept thru the dilation, the nurse help me by asking me to push when needed, and fortunately, was able to push him out, without having to use forceps or C-sect, but i have heard abt effects will be gone if administered too early, but they can also increase the dosage if its too mild, not too sure abt the procedure

Ellysia, if you are not keen to be induced but past EDD, you can ask for another scan to be done to check if placenta is still okay. If your placenta is okay and water level still okay, no need to induce. But if you are okay with induction, then go ahead with your doctor's advice. Most doctors don't allow pregnancies to continue beyond 10 days after EDD, but there are benefits to letting labour start by itself. Unless of course, placenta is aging and water level is decreasing.

Fennie, in Singapore, we don't have patient controlled epidural still... unlike in US.. so we are at a disadvantage. we can only tell the anaesthetist if we want to feel some pain, or no pain then they just give the dosage based on guess work.. but patient controlled means, if we fel pain, we just press a button for more epidural medication...it's more responsive.

no worries, Fennie. actually our hospitals have a long way to go before we can catch up with US... the technology there is so much more advanced. if epidural was patient controlled, I don't mind being more open minded towards it. The only concern I'd have in such a situation would be the suprression of our normal pain relieving hormones once we take a bit of epidural.. but all this thinking is moot cos we dun have patient controlled epidural in singapore.

actually for surgery, we do have patient controlled morphine apparatus.. but dun know why for epidural we dun have... sigh.

Fennie, dun worry, I am sure he will do the scan for you. Maybe you can ask him more questions when he was doing the scan, so he can show more? Just a suggestion.

cactus,
tat IV needle u mentioned, although small but very painful ley. one of my gf jus went for op to ve her cycts removed - a 4-hole operation. the conclusion: the pain from the 4-keyholes op doesnt hurt after the GA wears off. in fact, it is the site where she had the IV needle inserted tat hurts her like hell.....i hear oreadi i go weak in my knees liao tat time....now feel the same again...oh dear....

Felicia: Thanks. Aledi save Dr Ang's no. in my hp.

Roxy: Wa.. your gynae so power.. see him every week.. but seems too much.. 2 weeks still ok..

Sorry mummies to intrude, i have below items for cheap sales! Pls PM me if interested.
Collection at AMK.

1) Adhesive Maternity Pad (Brand: Kotex) - 1 BN pack(10pcs)+ 1 Open pack but each pad is individually wrap(6 pcs) = $4 + $2

2) Disposable Underpad(Brand: UroPlast) - 5pcs = $2
Very useful for protecting your bed against postpartum blood stain after discharge from hospital.

3) Ultra Mini for urine leakage(Brand: Tena) - 19 pcs = $3

4) BN Special Grade Dang Gui Ginseng Blood Formation Essence (1 box=75mlx6 bottles) = $12
1371961.jpg

5) BN Special Grade Instant Cordyceps Ginseng Plus (1 box=75mlx6 bottles) = $12
1371962.jpg

Free gift for purchase > $4 (1st come 1st serve):
1. Half bottle Cocoa butter stretch mark cream (Brand: Palmer's)

2. ~ Half Tube Nipple sore cream (Brand: Palmer's)

Back from my lunch, hope everyone had a good lunch. ;)

cactus/ellysia/fennie,
Many thanks for the reassurance ladies, really appreciate it.
Will def ask my gynae at next visit if bb's wt is still above avg and the plans moving forward. Just want to make it clear that I will not want to induce just becos bb is bigger unless it's life-threatening or something.

Cactus,
Doc din measure my pelvic size but knowing my own physique, I consider it quite big, keke.

Tera, I personally think it's a good idea to make it clear that you won't induce unless it is life-threatening. Pregnancy is just a couple of times in our lives... I don't believe it's osmething to be taken lightly and we shoudln't be pressured into doctor's convenience or whatever... sorry for saying this. I'm quite a cynic.

feifei,
I drank one last sat liao. :p My mum bought it for me. It was very shiok and refreshing drinking it esp in the afternoon in this hot weather.
But I think I heard my mum tell me to drink the next one another 2 weeks later.

cactus,
No worries, I agree with you. In cases where we do have a choice and in such rare occurences (pregnancy), I think we have a right to exercise our choice and decide on what we want unless it's life-threatening.
Well, I may have mis-interpreted my gynae, as in she may not have induction in mind (I hope). We shall see what she says in my next visit.

Oh btw, I just checked with a fren of mine who delivered in Dec and who shares your stature - both of u are very petite. And she told me her boy was 3.12kg and she delivered him naturally (with epi). So don't worry too much ok? I believe you will be able to do it as well!

fennie,
i dunno leh..i go back then ask for u..my mum bought for me..think she placed an order with my auntie in msia..

Oh! Forgot to add, my mom delivered me 4 hours after she reached hospital! I'm a Mt A baby.. but sad to say, the doctor who delivered me passed away 2 weeks ago... .

actually ladies, as we are thinking about birth and labour pains, do we actually think about how our bbs feel? It must be quite nerve wrecking to be pushed down down out into the open.

cactus,
that's a thought. as we are happily anticipating their arrival, it's prob quite scary for the bb? as in to have to move from their comfort zone of 9 months (our womb) into a foregin land. hehe.

Tera, precisely. In Singapore, births are so medical... in other countries, mothers have the option of labouring at home with support from midwives... even facilicities such as birthing stools, warm baths need to be pre-booked and are not commonly found. In the states, hospitals have an attached bathroom to room in the labour ward, allowing the mother to have a hot shower. divine!

Ellysia
wa that is really a lot leh...hehe I think now at our stage we really can eat alot. Me too, last time cannot even finish one meal but now finsh the meal still order another nuggets to supplement!

Re: confinement herbs for bathing
Anybody intending to get the confinement shower from littledreamers? Or anyone used before? I dun want to use herbs to bathe leh cos my sis say use already feel not clean

Veniz
must take care, sick means sick, office not happy also bo bian mah. If not go office also no productivity.

feifei
i think the epi helped her dilation in a way ba. But then i thot sometimes epi will hinder the dilation progress and prolong the labour instead?

cactus
ya my frens gynae is the perfect example. She kept urging my fren to induce cos she has holiday plans. From w36 kept asking her to induce until my fren manage to drag until w38.