(2008/06) June 2008

cactus,
yup, same as me leh...duno wats that hor?cos its not itchy, i lust leave them alone but quite alot wor..duno is it heat rash..

TF,
=)...enjoy the changes lor =)..bery cute de..me 33wks liao, can feel bb's elbow also..hee

feifei, thanks so much.

TF, yes. I will continue to pray and have faith that my baby can come home with me on the same day.

ZuEn, we have come this far, like I said, the last lap of our marathon, we must jiayou !!!

does anyone experience feeling like muscle tear or skin tearing inside at the tummy?sometimes, while yawning, or when movement abit too big

hi hi....
went for checkup yest... baby is now 1.3kg at 29 weeks. gynae says she may be quite short at birth cos she said her legs quite short. :p

i hv put on 2.3kg in the last one mth, so now total weight gain is 8.3kg... my snacking in the last one mth has INDEED paid off... :p

btw, hv u gals chosen the PD for ur baby? yest during my checkup, my gynae asked if i hv any PD in mind, but i said no... cos i dunno who are the PDs in GlenE. So i left it up to her to recommend me one. Mummies at GlenE, which PD will ur baby be seeing?

cactus,
tks ger =)..

Oh ya, another thing, does anyone experience their nipples hor, got abit of flaky? how to say, its like dry up kind of yellow thing...mayb its the dry up colstrum? but my bra wasn't wet wor..hmm..

Den during breastfeed hor, how to clean our nipples? cos now, sure got dirt trapped inside, me dun dare to peel them off cos bery sensitive now..hmm...

soyabean,
hi ya...how heavy is ur bb now leh?

PD? hmm...not yet wor, me tining of getting one that is near to my place, easier wor..

soyabean,
for my #1, my ex colleague recommend Dr Chan Kit Yee from the Singapore Baby n Child, since then, always bring my #1 there for injection, or when he was sick, cos went to see GP also nvr recover, hv to go to her again after seeing GP,this time think will still go for her, since they also have a clinic at Mt Alvernia, easier

mornin gers,

jus back frm gynae check. bb wt slightly less than 1.1kg @ wk28. i ask if bb is small, but doc says ok leh, consider normal size. i love my doc weighin scale, cos onli 500g increase. stil maintain at 2.1kg gain frm preggy.

soyabean,

My #1 was delivered at Glen but my gynae nvr asked me to choose PD leh. The PD just suddenly came to my room and introduced himself as my bb's PD after my delivery. Then i only go back to him (the PD clinic is at Glen as well, cant remember his name oredy) once at a week after my delivery.
Then after that all injection was done outside Glen.

mrswrx,
yes 1.1kg @wk28 is normal.. for me is oso ard there.. 1.261kg @wk28.. tml is in my 32wk.. so wonder hw much he has grown.. kekeke

Now i resting at home....yesterday took halfday....don't feel like working

mrswrx
wow...u gained so little

feifei
its normal wat u found at yr nipple...just keep clean lor....

Danryan,
tks for the advise...=)..was so worried that i might hv bloaced ducts..keke...

All,
anyone tinking of gettin gdiaper bags? nay idea where to find?

mrswrx
Baby still within target cos smtx gynae estimation of weight may nt be accurate, so gv +/-. Unless very obvious such as your bb have nt hit 1kg by nw. Ha, u can tell your hubby u gain the least among all mamas here. So he can anxin.

feifei/cactus, it may be rashes wor. later on will itchy. For my case is started with red spot, later on it become itchy n stretch become rashes all around my stomach. Have been like that for 2 weeks apply rashes cream also not ok. Now my hands got rashes too. yesterday appear on left hand. today notice that right hand also got. My suggestion is to seek doc’s help and get the cream to apply on.

tf,
i called him after gynae check. told him bb onli 1kg+/-....seems small eventhough doc said ok. he onli comment bb wil be 'jiao xiao ling long'. oh, he expects me not to gain wt on myself lor. so we'll c wat he said abt my size when he's back frm trip.

Hi Sharon, thanks for the advice. I'll continue to monitor. so far the spots are quite far apart and are not itchy yet. don't think I want to apply medicated cream if I can help it. applying normal moisturizer seems to help!

Mog,
Glad to hear that the doppler test results turned out fine. My bb weighs only 1kg at week 30. Hopefully, she can gain more weight soon. I not greedy, she 1.5kg and I will be happie liao. How is the doppler test like? I asked my hb to go for the apptm with me. Any idea if hb is allowed in the room. Aiyo, I can feel myself getting gan cheong over the doppler test. -.o"

feifei,

i had some oily residue or something on my nipple, and its not easy to wash off, even with shower foam, not sure what is that, maybe its the same thing you mentioned

Fennie,
Could be hor...hmm...tink we just leave it lor =D...

All,
Will u all be buying the ruyi oil to standby?
Understand that there are 2 types, one type is milder than the other type...

feifei & fennie, heard fr the talk that it's the natural oil that acts as something like lubricant that protect the nipple, it's harmless.. jux clean it with clean water will do...

I was busy the whole morning, no time come in to chit chat, but now goin for my lunch liao, so come in to announce "lunch Time"! hehe......

hi feifei...
baby now abt 1.3kg... at 29 weeks. as for PD, baby will need one after birth... cos that few days in hosp, baby will be checked closely by the PD, and if any follow-up needs to be done e.g. jaundice etc, will usu follow up with the same PD until the prob is cleared. we can go to other PD if we wan to after that i suppose.

hehe... i use LeSportsac bags as diaper bags... they are light and waterproof and nice...

Fennie...
I heard of Dr Chan Kit Yee... but heard the clinic very busy... my gynae recommended me another PD Dr Chan something oso... but I'm sure its not Chan Kit Yee. :p

Felicia...
i see... for me, my #1 was wif KKH, so i didnt bother which PD is being assigned.

ZuEn, the doppler test is just like the detail scan we did at Week 20. Just that you will see a graph to monitor the blood flow. They will measure the left and right uterine artery, umbilical artery and middle cerebral artery (according to the report I got). The radiographer will also measure the baby head, tummy, thigh etc to give a est. weight. The report is available immediately after the scan. Hubby is allowed in the room. Don't worry too much about the test, it will be fine

ioio,
thks for the info.you mean breastfeeding mothers support group organized a talk this coming saturday?is it a free talk, cos i know they have a series of 4 talks over 4 saturdays and it cost about $35, any info abt the talk this sat, 12 April?thks

soyabean,
Ya, Singapore Baby n Child always very busy, even if you make appt, sometimes still hv to wait when you are on time, and its more expensive to have injection with them , as compared to GP,but Dr chan very experience lor, and they have about 4 outlets in Singapore, but Dr Chan goes to different place on different days, so have to call to check her schedule

Feifei,
my diaper bag from my last pregnancy, still looks new, so i will just wash it, and use it, its pierre cardin, got from JL 8yrs ago, also got a matching smaller bag, and a baby carrier, i used the smaller bag mostly cos i was bf my #1 fully for 6 months, no need a big bag, thats why it is still in good condition

fennie, i didnt sign up for the series cos tis sat me not free to attend.. it's $15 a session for non-member.. tis wk topic is on "Breastfeeding in the First Month" i feel tt the talk is very enriching, the instructress share a lot of her personal experiences, it's quite practical overall...

Mog,
Haiz, I gan cheong bcos I am afraid to hear bad news. Although I noe gan cheong wun help. Moreover the doppler test done by a sonagrapher and not my doc. So I worried that my spirits will be further dampened by her remarks. Aiyo, I noe it is stupid of me to think so far lah.
Is the detail growth scan part of the doppler test?
Did your doc explain why bb was smaller in size? Until now, I did not hear any explanation from my doc. He only ordered the doppler test. I hope he will explain when I see him after the doppler test.

Felicia,

Clarins card can i think the max is 10 percent off or it goes by points accumulation system. Last time I used clarins, the membership use IC to update pts system. Upon hitting certain pts, can redeem clarins product.

Your Friend's MIL hor, really leh... How come bird nest she cook herself? If I'm here, I buy bottled ones better. I think my MIL pissed with me cos I'm consuming bottled form bird nest and she cannot request to eat. But I think my MIL and your friend's MIL very stupid, they wanna eat, just suggest to the HB they'll cook for our behalf lah, like tt get to eat liao loh. My MIL lazy. Dun wanna brew for me. No tonic also. So I don't wanna be so nice to offer her bird nest since she don't dote on me.

My MIL dun understand English also. So what she did is those letters we left on our table, she took it to my FIL and ask him what it is. Once I came home, I saw them reading something but I nv bothered. Later my FIL came in and pass me the letter to return me. I was like"What? Our letters you take to read for what?"

But they very smart, they see the letter head if from bank they won't open. I tell u, if they open, I sure ask," Why you open? You want to pay for our bills issit?" Even their own credit card statement, sometimes purposely leave it on our room table. I know what they trying to do, get us to pay on their behalf. Some months hubby will take it out back to them cos he don't wanna pay. And they'll choose not to pay and let the interest snowball, then next mth give the bill to hubby again. *Angry*

Haha, I don't need to cook dinner one, cos my food always got thrown away or my MIL will cook off my food to eat between herself n FIL. Last time hubby and I bot Pancake mix. When I made pancakes in the morning, my MIL came out and hang ard e kitchen to spy on my every move. Super stressful. After tt when I'm done, we asked her she wanna try. She tried and started saying not nice, no taste, too oily etc. Openly tell my hubby better don't eat too much of these.

Waliao, she herself so lazy sleep until 12-1pm, nv once made breakfast. When I make breakfast, she wake up to spy n make all these comments. My hubby also another idiot. He nv really talked back at her for me. He just went " Har na Har na, not nice then you don't eat loh". And she threw away in front of me.

Ellysia, my hubby refused to put infant care cos he said they cannot give the baby full attention. My MIL insisted she wanna try although hubby told her of her condition. She can even say her twin sister can take care also, can last time she also brought him n his bro up.

U know hor, both my hubby and his bro grew up with frequent visits to docs and down with asthmas attacks and hospitalized. She called that good record? Her sis also another one. Her grandson everything also cannot eat. Not even a sip of cold drinks at 3 yrs old. New yr time can only watch other children indulge in all the snacks but he cannot touch cos of his poor health. They keep saying the baby is born with poor health etc.

I dun wanna gossip abt health so much cos my baby not out yet. I also stress over her health being. Haiz... But poor health is under my MIL care, I think might be worse liao...

Kelcqi,

Taking care of children nowadays is diff from children our generation leh. My MIL before taking care of my #1 oso said how she can take care of my hubby and my hubby's bro while she still can work. But after taking care of my ger, i always heard my MIL said 'aiyo, why last time my kid nvr like this, nvr like tat leh?' Mine is a girl leh, imagine boy might be more naughty.

Moreover, as our parent or PIL is getting older, they had no energy like young ppl to handle small kid. Even myself, sometimes i oso surrender when my kid is so active till i'm too tired to handle them.

But is really very important for small kid to build up their health since infant times, so that they wont always be sick when bigger.

SO, you might want to discuss with ur hubby on the best alternative to benefit ur bb and even for ur ILs.

Been a busy morning for me as well. Just came back from lunch.

Mog,
Hey, glad to hear the good news, your bb cleared the doppler test!

Kelcqi,
Have been following some of your posts, your MIL really quite ultimate. Must give her a Monster-In-Law award liao. Actually, what I heard is that at infant care, the caregiver baby ratio is usu quite ok like 1 caregiver to 2 babies. Maybe you can check out some infantcare centres near your place? I can sense a lot of hesitation abt u leaving ur bb with your ILs and I can understand why so I thought it might be good to iron out the caregiver arrangement now rather than when bb is older cos it might be quite disruptive then. Just my 2 cents worth of thoughts lah.

Sharon,

It is bec yr hormones clash with bb hormones, from wat i understand from colleague. get the cream frm yr gynae will be better.

mrswrx

Yr bb weight seems ok at 28 weeks. Mine is 1.3KG at week 28.5 and is average wt.

feifei,

I bot the ru yi oil but didn't see 2 types selling. Only see 1 type.

cactus,

If yr rashes worsen, stop using yr cream for stretchmarks. sometimes could be bec of the stretchmark cream.

zu en,

Doppler test is like our detailed scan, just slightly longer. Its at the same place.

Thanks for your advice, Ellysia, but I don't think it's because of the moisturizer.. cos before preg, I was already using that brand of moisturizer. The red dots aren't all at a place, and aren't itchy, so I dun think they are getting worse either. but I will continue monitoring. So far, I apply the moisturizer once in the morning, and once in the evening.

Kelcqi,

Or u can find those caretaker neighbour near your new house?

Actually i tink maybe infant care will be better than letting yr MIL take care.

My hb also at first dun like infant care.. then later my MIL complain tat her leg no good so maybe cannot take care long term, then my hb start to consider infant care.

For my case is opposite, now both side parents like both not v willing to take care. My hb heard his mum complain abt leg then my hb being filial so he worried for his mum, then try to push to my mum now but my mum, as i say before is a bit depression lah, i also dun want to pressure her and let her take care w/o supervision.. so i tell hb best to give to MIL care cos my mum side v ma fan..
anyway in the end the conclusion not final but i intend to leave it to see how the situation going to be. now plan so much also use, see wat situation then flexible lor.

worry so much now also no use. just find out more info now abt infant centre etc, then be prepared lor. If yr hb dun want, tok to him a few times maybe he will accede.. men usu dun take our words seriously but when we pester or seem determined then they will take it seriously one.

and when tok, tok nicely, determined but dun throw temper or depressed.. men tend to shut off when we display emotions le.. esp yr hb must have seen yr MIL display emotions so many times, he be sick of such actions liao.

cactus,

Maybe is hormones. careful if spread ask cream from gynae. I got 2 colleagues got this kind of case liao.

ellysia, ic.. actually i have been applying rashes cream gynae give to apply for a week. Much better but today I notice the rashes spread to other area which are not affected. The cream is going to finish soon and got to wait till next appointment to get the cream.

My gynae advise not to use stretchmark cream but all the while I was using my office Noni cream n oil which not purposly meant for stretchmark. She recommended J&J baby oil which I find it is good.

Kelcqi
Take it to extreme to discuss wif your hubby tat if say PILs doesnt exist, how would both of u arrange for your child. Cos be prepared tat once we rely on someone around us, we will build expectations of that person, whether maid, MIL, infant care, etc., handling it. So if any of these choices do nt meet your expectation (even if its nt this MIL of yours), then the best will be in your own care. If both of u decide to choose these choices, then be prepared for the expected problems.

In fact the most crucial years of a child is 1st 6 years of development, once this path sets right, later years will be easy. So its worth your own care in these 1st 6 years.

Get your hubby to participate in the final decision with you so he sees the picture. Smtx u might want to consider bringing him along for those Family talks so that he starts to absorb the knowledge of all these imptc n put u and baby in priority. Like also in marriage talks, etc.. they often speak that a man should see himself married and have his own family and nt bringing mother into their family matters. At least all these comes from the 3rd party mouth like counselor, rather than from u.