(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia,
my colleague said can collect or get from hospital.

angel_z,
yr hb so sweet hor, wun let u go alone to sale or crowded places. i usually go myself on 1st day of sale cos hb dun like to go on wkend cos of crowd and cant c things. then wkday he has to work, in e end i hav to go alone. buy things aso i buy myself. but taka service not bad, they hav free delivery or their sales boy will help u carry heavy/bulky items to car or taxi stand.
i quite free at work, so wil be @ e sales on day 1. heehee... hopfeully can buy most items.

TF,
I can understand ur worries.
Coz during my #1, i oso keep looking at the pot and even check the bottles after each boiling session. But now, i'm very ok with this method. But i stop sterilised everyday when my girl reach one year old. But we'll pour hot water directly to the milk bottle every morning only.

Ellyisa,
ya lor, cos i bot 4, 3, then my fren gave me 3, then sterliser comes with 1 big one n 1 small one so add up alot lor..hehe..I bot them during e taka sales 20% + 10% lor..

Hv small sterliser? Cos during MRs Wong's class, we hv a free 125ml Avent bottle wor..hmm..

This thurs also my 5th elsson liao...next tues going for e talk at the sch, u also rite?

Felicia, I also use the boiling method, last when water is boiling, then add teats and turn off the gas. If not wrong, I rem in Mrs Wong classes 4 yrs ago, she mentioned this boiling method is recommended, but we have to always remember to off the stove when water is boiling, otherwise the bottles may be boiled down to plastic. When the water is boiling, let it boils for around 7mins before turning off the gas, this will thoroughly sterilize them. Not sure if she touch on this topic anymore.

Anyway, about shopping, last Thurs I overestimated myself. after visit to gynae, I went on shopping and makan spree till night. By less than half a day, I was already feeling tired and felt cramp on lower tummy area. Had to sit down frequently to rest. Not as strong as I was in first preg, thus, for you ladies who are going shopping, please get friends or partners to be with you.

Veniz,

During my #1 pregnancy, by 3rd trimester, i'm still shopping around. I always go to orchard after my visit at Gleneagles. But now only entering wk24 in another 3 days, i'm oledi feel tired after walking few mins. And always want to faint. Occasionally will feel breathless as well, so i had avoid climbing staircase.

feifei,

U bot during the taka sales? I tot the sale is 6March?

Tonight is my 5th lesson then next week will go for the doctor talk

liew,

U mean milk storage bottles can collect from hospital free right.. i also heard from colleagues. But must be thick skin and ask from them

Felicia, ya, my #1 preg, I still can meet friends at least twice evenings after work for dinner, and sat for halfday shopping. So much energy, Now, where has my energy gone to? After Thurs, Friday I stepped into office with a major headache and discomfort, had to take half day MC and slept at home from late afternoon till yesterday (on and off). Now still feeling tired and cannot focus well. We women 'gu ming'.

Mog,

My colleague recommend me to get Pigeon storage bottles which is bigger than avent one.

Maybe tmr i go pop by at JL sale in this case.. tonight got lesson cannot go.

Felicia and Veniz,

Then i guess i am worst than u 2 lor. My 1st pregnancy and i ored feel so tired shopping and going out to crowded places liao.

Ellysia,
It was e normal taka sales lor..tink was b4 cny leh..or b4 xmas..can't rem liao..=D..

So we will be attending e talk together next wk lor =D..its on e 11th rite? ;p..

All,
For ladies who are JL member, u might wan to try buying Carlson wet wipes cos its e cheapest and quality not bad...Cost $5.50 for 3 packs of 80pcs each. $5.50 is before discount somemore..During e last 20% sales, I bot 3 packs liao..=D

ellysia,
ya. and actually,hospital only give us one bottle and ya.. she really thick skin for asking more bottles..
to me, i will buy extra from outside and material will be more better as they given.

feifei,

I didn't check the date. Is the doctor talk same date for all? If same date then will be a lot of people.

Mog,

U mean the JL sales is cardmembers sale? Anyway i have robinsons card so consider cardmember?

Is it available at all outlets of JL?

liew,

I also paisay to ask for more bottles lah. So i be buying lor.

Morning Ladies

Update on my latest check up on last Friday.
BB weighing 735gm @ 25th weeks...doc said 99% bb gerl.....I only gained weight 1kg since my last check up 4weeks ago....

<font color="ff0000">felicia*

im not sure if TMC practise the same as GlenE or not which is they have a range of milk brands to choose from

danryan*

congrats on ur minnie </font>

liew,
ya lor, since only using to wipe bb's bum , cheap cheap can liao =D..

Mogudog,
diapers is 15%, then 20% is for all other brands except avent?

morn all...feeling super tired..think must be monday blues..hehe..

danryan,
congrates on ur minnie too..

Ellysia, yah the Robinson card can use, not too sure if it's available at all outlets of JL, try the bigger store in Orchard or Marina Sq for more choices.

feifei, yes, I think I saw the diapers is 15%, can't recall for all other brands.

Felicia, thank you. I am much better already, now back to work liao, but having Monday blue, plus the weather is making me so sleepy.

feifei &amp; ellysia,
think i will buy 3 big pack diapers for store it.. (2 pack 70+pcs mamy poko diapers and 1 pack 70+plus drpers diapers)
my colleagues said diapers is the worst siong for bb......

Morraine,
Glen can choose milk powder? Aiyo, how come i dont know again?! Last time my girl delivered there, the nurse nvr told me. Anyhow, when i registered tat time, the staff told me they'll give watever brand their supplier give them. But luckily the brand they give my girl is wat i expected to give to my girl. hehe...

Mogudog,
Good to hear you're better.
Me oso Monday blues, keep yawning though got works to do and i had to cover my collegue whom is on leave today.

liew,

I tink i will stock 1 S size diaper then 2 or more M size diapers.

Judging by my last checkup, most likely my bb will be big size so dun tink i will buy NB size.

If 3 packs are all same size, then i guess i better buy M size. Cannot imagine bb can use up S size so much leh.

Do u all tink its v hard to buy bb clothes and diapers and stuff like tat.. cos its v hard to imagine how big bb will be when he is born etc. Me and hb always find it v hard to buy stuff when we haven't seen our bb in person yet.

Ellysia, PS the outlet kinda small but can try la, I thinking of popping by the Orchard one tomorrow during lunch time if my colleagues can accompany me.

Felicia, take it easy, lunch break soon. Can go out walk walk relax for a while.

<font color="ff0000">felicia*

can can coz i recalled, the nurse ask me.. u want wat brand to choose den i tel her i want similac lor den my SIL who delivered there oso 3 weeks after me chose NAN for her personal preference</font>

feifei,
You all assemble the furniture yourself? Isnt there much knocking to be done? I am worried that my mum will make noise if she noes that I helped put together the furniture. She already warned me about shifting my bed cos we bought a baby cot last week, to be placed in the bedroom. Need to do some shifting to accommodate the cot.
I bought this plastic inflatable thing for changing of bb diapers from Ikea. Actually, I oso duno useful or not, just looked very cute, hehe.

Felicia,
Ya, I intend to buy the pump before delivery. I rather take the risk, just in case I got BM but no time to buy pump after delivery. I oso read that it is better to bring the pump to the hospital.. another just in case.
I will have a steriliser at home. Can we put the bb bottles and stuff on the normal dish drainer after washing? Afterall, they will be clean after sterilisation. Then I wun buy the drainer.
You mentioned about bb medicinal products. Wat are they huh? I oso noe "ru yi yu" and nappy rash cream. ;p

Angel_z,
I am intending to go down next Sun night. I dun want to squeeze with the crowd. I think this weekend will be very crowded since many had been waiting for the bb fair to take place.

danryan, don't worry, your baby not small lei, mine oni 598 grams at week 24, think even smaller, so long gynae says healthy can liao. Don't worry too much.

Ellysia,
Dun the storage bottle and milk bottle depend on the type of pump that we buy? I tot some pump can only use certain specific storage bottle or milk bottle. Or I mistaken liao?

Zu En,

I feel it is better to get bb dish rack bec' i won't want to mix my own bowls/plates etc with bb bottles. In case bb bottles become dirty by food, then dunno and we put inside steriliser. Steriliser only sterilise but if got dirt won't clean out right..

Anyway i still feel safe to separate our own stuff with bb stuff... plus my mum will be using my kitchen to cook her own meals also.

Toking abt kitchen stuff, for me i always rinse all my utensils before using, becos sometimes i saw fruit flies, mosquitoes, ants in my kitchen. Play safe.

ellysia,
ya, agreed with you. but my colleague said one day roughly need to use up 10-20 pcs diapers.. its scary you know. that why she said very siong... gosh

Zu EN,

If yr pump is the same brand as the milk storage bottles, u can pump directly to the storage bottles.. some system allow that.

If different brand, i will have to pump into the bottle provided by my pump, then transfer to milk storage bottles.

liew,

I heard is 8-10 pieces of diapers per day for newborn. That will be 280-300 diapers for the 1st month.

We can estimate and see how many diapers provided in the packs or else wasted how? Then discount become not save money, become overspend.

i intend to use cloth nappy in the day. buy those nappy liner to avoid too much staining. then at night use diapers.....

diapers very siong....

I intend to use disposable diapers bec' my mum refuse to wash cloth diapers. Then me in confinement cannot wash so much also. I ask my hb if he want to save cost he can wash himself.. and of course he dun want to. So no one want to wash, then buy disposable lor.

But i got cloth diaper and liner as spare, in case bb got golden butt and need to change to cloth diapers.

Last weekend my mum just told me must keep away from cold water for 3 mths.. and not only 1 month bec' she said in the past, people do confinement for many months one...

I hear liao pengz..

Btw i read tat we must drink many fluid when breastfeeding. So in confinement if we only drink milo or red date water, drink so much will be thirsty right? I still cannot understand why cannot drink warm water lah. I mean i can understand why cannot drink cold water but warm water also cannot?..

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

for me i stil drink warm water during confinement coz i cannot stand drinking only red date water, coz im used to plain water and i hate it when my urine is so yellow!! and from wat i understand.. they say drink water wil get bloated or dunno wat </font>